You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Twitter

'I don't think we broke the law, it was 20 seconds of madness': Restaurateur defends scenes at Dublin venue

Health minister Stephen Donnelly described the scenes in Berlin D2 as “reckless” and said it would be up to gardaí whether to send a file to the DPP.

A RESTAURATEUR WHO is involved with the Dublin pub Berlin D2 has said he was “appalled”, “very unhappy” and “embarassed” by the scenes in the venue at the weekend.

Speaking on RTÉ’s Morning Ireland, Jay Bourke said he had reviewed CCTV from the bar during the brunch event and was satisfied that the videos shared on social media showed “20 seconds of madness” and that the event was “well controlled” aside from this incident.

On the same programme, Minister for Health Stephen Donnelly said the videos were a “slap in the face” to all those following the guidelines and working hard to stem the spread of Covid-19. He also said it would be up to the gardaí on whether to prepare a file on the matter for the DPP.

The footage uploaded to social media showed customers at the Dublin city centre venue who were not social distancing and a barman pouring drinks into people’s mouths.

Customers were asked to stay in assigned areas which were marked by tape on the floor, but people could be seen dancing close together in the videos.

The videos provoked strong criticism, with acting chief medical officer Dr Ronan Glynn describing them as “reckless” and a spokesperson for the Licenced Vintners Association calling them “outrageous and appalling”. 

Bourke told RTÉ that he had reviewed CCTV footage, spoken to staff and also spoke to gardaí in relation to the incident.

“I’m satisfied I’ve got to the bottom of it all,” he said, and described how the venue was at about 20% capacity with staff wearing appropriate PPE and adhering to the public health guidelines.

“The 20-second clip was taken at ten to four,” Bourke said. “One of my barman jumped on the bar. It looked horrific. It looked like it had gone bananas… the footage doesn’t reflect what went on that day at all.”

He said people had been kept socially distant prior to this and – while young people have to “have fun”,  he would ensure “it will never happen again”. 

“It wasn’t a free for all, he said. “Up until that moment, it was a professionally-run establishment.”

Bourke said that the venue enjoys a good relationship with the gardaí, and he’d turned over the footage to them.

In the wake of the heavy criticism, he said that judgement should not be cast on the basis of the clips being shared online.

“I don’t think we broke the law, it was 20 seconds of madness,” he added.

Speaking generally, Health Minister Stephen Donnelly said behaviour like that seen in the footage from Berlin D2 was “reckless” and “poses a threat to public health”.

“We’re not messing around here,” he said. “We’re in the midst of a global pandemic.”

Donnelly said that the vast majority of businesses have been compliant with the public health regulations but added that places found to be in breach of these regulations should be shut down.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

174 Comments
    Mute Handsome McWonderful
    Favourite Handsome McWonderful
    Aug 17th 2020, 9:17 AM

20 seconds of footage more like. I doubt everyone went back to their 2m spaced tables to finish their Eggs Benedict once the cameras stopped rolling.

Mute Stuart
    Favourite Stuart
    Aug 17th 2020, 9:35 AM

@Handsome McWonderful: he should release a 2 minute clip then showing the 20 seconds was isolated.

PC
    Mute PC
    Favourite PC
    Aug 17th 2020, 9:39 AM

@Handsome McWonderful: The holier than thou attitude of most commentators is ridiculous. Young people having fun – fair play to them. And anyone that thinks this isn’t happening all over the country at house parties, in parks etc haven’t a clue. The public buy in to the lockdown went out the window 2 months ago. And this forum is full of paranoid hypochondriacs who are afraid to leave their houses because the government and media of put the fear of God in them. Open up the economy and get on with life – those in the very high risk category will however need to be shielded (should they wish to).

See 21 more replies ▾
    Mute Aoife Dooley
    Favourite Aoife Dooley
    Aug 17th 2020, 9:39 AM

@Stuart: I’m sure the gardai will see the full video. The public should not be the law enforcers….as this led to public hangings in the past.

Mute Big Smokey
    Favourite Big Smokey
    Aug 17th 2020, 9:42 AM

@PC: I don’t think most people are actually annoyed at young people. It’s the bars fault for allowing that to happen.

Mute Tricia G
    Favourite Tricia G
    Aug 17th 2020, 9:48 AM

@Aoife Dooley: Literal or metaphorical hangings?

Mute Bríann O Connor
    Favourite Bríann O Connor
    Aug 17th 2020, 10:19 AM

@PC: fair play to them? Dumbest thing I’ve read today, although it’s still early I guess.

Mute Conall
    Favourite Conall
    Aug 17th 2020, 10:32 AM

@Big Smokey: Adults are entirely responsible for their own behaviour. “The bar made me” is not an excuse. Of course I did stupid things when I was young, but I never thought I wasn’t entirely responsible for them.

Mute Andre le Flohic
    Favourite Andre le Flohic
    Aug 17th 2020, 10:46 AM

@PC: I will send you some sweets when you will be in hospital trying to breath

Mute Joe Toner
    Favourite Joe Toner

@PC:
    Jasus….. I bet you feel a whole lot better now that you got that load of s#ite out of your system!!

Mute Joe
    Favourite Joe
    Aug 17th 2020, 10:59 AM

@PC: 100%. The Journal seems to attract the perpetually in fear element of Irish society.
    The country needs to be fully re-opened. Covid is no longer killing people is this country. Look at the facts, move on with life!

Aug 17th 2020, 11:02 AM

@PC: More like socially responsible, caring people, than hipochondriacs. And shielding high risk people? Don’t you think that’s a bit selfish? Is keeping those minimum requirements 2m + face cover + high hygiene really that much? And just becouse there is few of egocentric ignorants out there doesn’t mean we have to be one as well.

Mute Conor Kennelly
    Favourite Conor Kennelly
    Aug 17th 2020, 11:06 AM

@PC: The phrase “get on with life” will sound rather glib and heartless to anyone who’s lost a loved one or is watching them fight for every last breath in an ICU. And while the disease is not suppressed or eliminated, those in high risk groups will never be able to get on with life in the way that they were used to, ie, having grandchildren visit, having an active social life etc.

Mute Sinead Foley
    Favourite Sinead Foley

@PC: this thread is also full of people who have lost loved ones to Covid , who are on the front line putting themselves at risk, of medics highlighting the short and long term effects of this virus. I’d rather rely on those who you label as “ holier than thou “ attitudes ( who are rightly outraged by a minority of idiots putting entire communities at risk by their selfishness ) than someone who hides behind their initials and metaphorically stamps their foot on the ground like a naughty child because they can’t do what they want when they want to. Spare us the histrionics and try to think outside the box/ playpen( delete as appropriate)

Mute Conor Kennelly
    Favourite Conor Kennelly
    Aug 17th 2020, 11:26 AM

@Sinead Foley: Well said!

Mute Ger Murphy
    Favourite Ger Murphy
    Aug 17th 2020, 12:11 PM

@PC: Well a lot of people have made significant sacrifices over past 6 months. Your glib, selfish and frankly brainless comment is either designed to get you noticed (which it has) or based on a lack of understanding.

Mute Margaret Stafford
    Favourite Margaret Stafford
    Aug 17th 2020, 12:36 PM

@Sinead Foley: thank you for your comment All my family are in Health sector I am afraid I’d be stupid not to be
    Dont deny anyone the right to enjoy life but needs to be within the current limits

Mute JĄŠ -
    Favourite JĄŠ -
    Aug 17th 2020, 12:36 PM

@PC: do what you want in your own home…. this is a business! people should be able to feel safe in a restaurant. Imagine booking a table for that craic to go on around you…

Mute Brian Madden
    Favourite Brian Madden
    Aug 17th 2020, 12:42 PM

@Joe: I’m not in fear. I have common sense.

Mute Woolly
    Favourite Woolly
    Aug 17th 2020, 1:02 PM

@PC: are you happy to pay for all those in vulnerable category who were contributing equally to the finances of this country to stay at home infinitum? These are people just like you who want fulfilling lives and experiences expecting them to be locked away so you can get on with it is a pretty disgusting attitude for anyone to have, we need to stick up for the rights of these “vulnerable” people to live their lives too by everyone adhering to the public health guidelines

Mute Anne Busher Collins
    Favourite Anne Busher Collins
    Aug 17th 2020, 2:15 PM

@Stuart: taking us for eejits

Mute *james obrien
    Favourite *james obrien
    Aug 17th 2020, 4:51 PM

@PC: well said .totally agree

Mute Conall
    Favourite Conall
    Aug 17th 2020, 5:30 PM

@PC: Hypochondria is paranoia. I’m immune suppressed and have been paranoid for years. Just because you’re paranoid doesn’t mean they’re not after you.

Mute Michael MC Evoy
    Favourite Michael MC Evoy
    Aug 18th 2020, 8:25 AM

@Joe: facts??? The facts are that there were over200 new cases over the past few days. The facts are that these were mostly younger people. That’s why there have been no deaths. The older people are more vulnerable. Younger people think they’re invincible and will live forever.

Mute John Killeen
    Favourite John Killeen
    Aug 17th 2020, 9:16 AM

The same Jay Bourke who admitted to “Significant misconduct ” in one of his previous pubs that led to him being disqualified from being a company director!

Mute Jonnie Marre
    Favourite Jonnie Marre
    Aug 17th 2020, 9:20 AM

@John Killeen: he’s an irresponsible £ool close them down now

alan
    Mute alan
    Favourite alan
    Aug 17th 2020, 9:23 AM

@John Killeen: Extra.ie have a very good piece on him. Strong stomach required.

Mute John Killeen
    Favourite John Killeen
    Aug 17th 2020, 9:55 AM

@alan: Winding up a company in order to avoid paying a staff member a court judgement. Classy type alright.

Mute filthypete
    Favourite filthypete
    Aug 17th 2020, 10:03 AM

@alan: christ that’s verbal fellatio of the highest order. You’ve ruined my breakfast.

Mute Peter Cavey
    Favourite Peter Cavey
    Aug 17th 2020, 10:16 AM

@John Killeen: I’m surprised he didn’t get his mummy and daddy to do the interview for him.

Mute Clare McNamara
    Favourite Clare McNamara
    Aug 17th 2020, 10:42 AM

@alan: just read it, awful stuff. He gets done for non-payment of VAT but still says the State should build a statue of him?! And his parents were bailing him out just 5 years ago. Something else

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Aug 17th 2020, 1:33 PM

@John Killeen: He does not believe in VAT

Mute Charles McCarthy
    Favourite Charles McCarthy
    Aug 17th 2020, 4:02 PM

@alan:
    On your advice I looked up that article.
    Unfortunately I did not manage to get beyond the following statement.
    “After an undergraduate degree in economics at Trinity, his long-blonde hair and stature earned him a brief stint as a Ralph Lauren model”

Mute frank_1916
    Favourite frank_1916
    Aug 17th 2020, 9:14 AM

it’s happening in a lot of bars nobody follows the guidelines after the fourth pint

Mute Tordel Back
    Favourite Tordel Back
    Aug 17th 2020, 9:31 AM

@frank_1916: Thise must be se strong pints if 4 of them regularly lead to staff pouring shots into open mouths while dancing on the bar…

Mute frank_1916
    Favourite frank_1916
    Aug 17th 2020, 9:42 AM

@Tordel Back: i just meant the social distancing part ,bar staff are ok but a lot of pubs are packed because others are closed

Mute N Feirtèir
    Favourite N Feirtèir
    Aug 17th 2020, 9:56 AM

@frank_1916: I’ve never been in a pub were the barman is pouring shots into customers mouths when swinging from the bar…

Mute Eugene Comaskey
    Favourite Eugene Comaskey
    Aug 17th 2020, 9:59 AM

@Tordel Back: Is this place mentioned a Pub, a Restaurant or what. Obviously it must be serving food. A pub does not need a licence to serve food, – just needs to be health regulations compliant. a RESTAURANT , along with being health regulations compliant, NEEDS a Licence to sell drink . So, take the liquor Licence from them , that will slow them down. The owner said there that this happened at 10 to 4 . Is that AM or PM.. .? .

Mute barry moore
    Favourite barry moore
    Aug 17th 2020, 10:28 AM

@Eugene Comaskey: it was at 10to4 pm the event started at 1

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Favourite Fiona Fitzgerald
    Aug 17th 2020, 10:48 AM

@frank_1916: Glad I’m avoiding them. Who is gulping down four pints in less than two hours? That’s ridiculous.

Mute frank_1916
    Favourite frank_1916
    Aug 17th 2020, 10:54 AM

@Fiona Fitzgerald: it’s the best way to stay safe

Mute Brian Ó Dálaigh
    Favourite Brian Ó Dálaigh
    Aug 17th 2020, 11:50 AM

@Fiona Fitzgerald: a lot of people are doing just that precisely because they have a time limit and open establishments are limited. Pre-Covid, were you ever in an Irish pub at closing time when people knew they wouldn’t be able to get more drink? It’s one of the busiest times of the shift as people buy copious amounts of drink to knock back into them. Now, however, it’s “closing time” all evening long and with nowhere else for them to go.

Mute Conor Noonan
    Favourite Conor Noonan
    Aug 17th 2020, 9:12 AM

Lock down Dublin.end of

Mute Richard Doherty
    Favourite Richard Doherty
    Aug 17th 2020, 9:22 AM

@Conor Noonan: lockdown this pub and irresponsible bars a lot being responsible get real

Mute Tomás Barrett
    Favourite Tomás Barrett
    Aug 17th 2020, 9:28 AM

@Michael Donnelly: has it?? Where did you get that figure from?

Mute Tordel Back
    Favourite Tordel Back
    Aug 17th 2020, 9:33 AM

@Michael Donnelly: “THEIR” chances? What do you think this is, skydiving? Bungee jumping? It’s other people’s lives and livelihoods they’re taking chances with.

Mute Big Smokey
    Favourite Big Smokey
    Aug 17th 2020, 9:43 AM

@Tomás Barrett: from the dumb yanks on twitter and Facebook

Mute Big Smokey
    Favourite Big Smokey
    Aug 17th 2020, 9:43 AM

@Tomás Barrett: from the yanks on twitter and Facebook

Mute Teckidecki
    Favourite Teckidecki
    Aug 17th 2020, 10:17 AM

@Michael Donnelly: and the prize for the most immature comment of the day goes to….go back to your playstation!

Mute Conor Kennelly
    Favourite Conor Kennelly
    Aug 17th 2020, 10:33 AM

@Michael Donnelly: If your figure is correct it assumes that three million people caught the virus assuming the more conservative mortality figure of roughly 1200. In any case, I think most people are taking as many precautions as they can. Also, I think people’s lives and health are far more important than the profits of some kip run by a businessman with some dubious business practices to say the least.

Mute Conall
    Favourite Conall
    Aug 17th 2020, 10:36 AM

@Michael Donnelly: It is nowhere like 99.96 %. That number was already debunked in the Journal. Fauci estimated a fatality rate of 1%, ten tomes worse than the flu.

Mute southside
    Favourite southside
    Aug 17th 2020, 10:37 AM

@Tomás Barrett: picked it out of me hole as Drummer would say

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Aug 17th 2020, 10:55 AM

@Michael Donnelly: Several people need to get it through their heads that it’s a virus. Yes, sometimes alcohol works against some bacteria and unhygienic conditions. But no virus cares what you’re drinking. Being tipsy and careless is great for passing it on in a crowd. It’s invisible. Some people are being truly dense and want to pretend that they can go out and act as if it’s a day off from the pandemic.

Mute John Lyons
    Favourite John Lyons
    Aug 17th 2020, 11:38 AM

@Michael Donnelly: so 1300 deaths divided by 27,000 cases or almost 5 percent death rate brought you to that ridiculous conclusion?

Mute Brian McNamara
    Favourite Brian McNamara
    Aug 17th 2020, 11:57 AM
    Mute John Waters
    Favourite John Waters
    Aug 17th 2020, 7:54 PM

@Richard Doherty: its not a pub !!End of.

Mute Keith Palmer
    Favourite Keith Palmer

“20 seconds of madness” Then we turned off the music & lights & everybody sat back down again.

Mute Tony Maher
    Favourite Tony Maher
    Aug 17th 2020, 9:47 AM

@Keith Palmer: i don’t believe that for one minute. I mean 20 seconds

Mute halfmanhalftea
    Favourite halfmanhalftea
    Aug 17th 2020, 1:41 PM

@Keith Palmer: He says he’s provided full CCTV footage of the event to the Gardai and to RTE so I guess we’ll see.

Mute my name
    Favourite my name
    Aug 17th 2020, 9:16 AM

I wonder if that barman will keep his job. He’s shocking reckless with stock

Mute Tricia G
    Favourite Tricia G

@my name: It was an event so maybe it was an open bar?

Mute my name
    Favourite my name

@Tricia G: how do you charge for or take account of free pouring Trica? There’s no way any pub and especially in Dublin would allow that. Every drop of drink is meant to be measured

Mute Tricia G
    Favourite Tricia G
    Aug 17th 2020, 9:25 AM

@my name: If the people holding the event supplied the booze.
    Wasn’t it a private event?

That was my first assumption.

But then, no one has the full information.

Mute my name
    Favourite my name
    Aug 17th 2020, 9:34 AM

@Tricia G: that’s a bit of a stretch Tricia but could be possible I guess. He’s still very reckless with someone else’s money is my point though

Mute Tricia G
    Favourite Tricia G
    Aug 17th 2020, 9:44 AM

@my name: I don’t disagree…… Reminds me of a wedding I attended in the US. An Irish couple, most of the guests were also Irish.

The rounds were margaritas, every round. Because they were “free”.

Only in hindsight did I realise how much we must have cost the couple getting married……. hopefully my gift covered my bar bill!

Mute Premier Fitters
    Favourite Premier Fitters
    Aug 17th 2020, 10:26 AM

@my name: lmao. Bril.

Mute Clare McNamara
    Favourite Clare McNamara
    Aug 17th 2020, 6:57 PM

@Tricia G: apparently it was an event organised by “social media influencer” Jess something or other. People bought tickets to the brunch so probably the ticket price included some booze.

Mute Billy Carroll
    Favourite Billy Carroll
    Aug 17th 2020, 9:17 AM

Don’t try and sugarcoat the fact that your bar allowed disrespectful , dangerous and reckless behaviour during this Pandemic

Mute Barry
    Favourite Barry
    Aug 17th 2020, 10:13 AM

@Billy Carroll: 3 months after our epidemic passed, I find the continued restrictions on bars, businesses and other social activities disrespectful and dangerous.

Disobedience seems to be our only way out of this.

Mute Munster1
    Favourite Munster1
    Aug 17th 2020, 10:22 AM

@Barry: its clowns like you that will cause a big second wave. Listen to the professional health advice.

Mute Barry
    Favourite Barry

@Munster1: the advice that said 2m or 1m distance?

The advice that said schools had to close or that said schools add no risk?

The advice that said masks save lives or can actually cause more infections?

The advice that said €9 meal good but €7.50 bad?

Anyone begrudging teenagers and people in their 20′s an opportunity to socialise, 3 months this after the epidemic passed is selfish and misguided.

The people in that video will be paying higher taxes their whole working life to cover this panicky overreaction.

Don’t insult people with differing opinions. It cheapens your argument.

Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond

@Barry: Iove a pint …wish the pubs were open, but the fact yor comment stated the epidemic passed three months ago is a revelation..The recent spikes go against your point. Granted they mostly came from exploited workers in meat plants , but the fact the numbers are up puts us back in a dark place. Agree if pubs were allowed to open vast majority would go back to their local..It’s going from pub to pub would cause the problem.

Mute Munster1
    Favourite Munster1
    Aug 17th 2020, 10:45 AM

@Barry: what a load of rambling nonsense

Mute Barry
    Favourite Barry

@Munster1: my post or the ever changing health advice?

You’re don’t seem to be a pleasant person.

Mute Barry
    Favourite Barry
    Aug 17th 2020, 10:52 AM

@Donal Desmond: the recent spikes are in healthy people who felt fine and had no idea they had a virus until someone stuck a swab up their nose.

We are seeking out people to justify our fear and continued freeze on our society.

Mute Monica Anderson
    Favourite Monica Anderson
    Aug 17th 2020, 10:59 AM

@Barry: But it hasn’t passed, that’s the point, and behaviour like that is why.

Mute Monica Anderson
    Aug 17th 2020, 11:00 AM

Mute Monica Anderson
    Aug 17th 2020, 11:00 AM

Mute Spailpeen Farrell
    Favourite Spailpeen Farrell
    Aug 17th 2020, 9:44 AM

Good man jay… single handedly responsible for the pubs not opening anytime soon.

Mute Tricia G
    Favourite Tricia G
    Aug 17th 2020, 9:21 AM

Anyone who claims this isn’t happening elsewhere is being really disingenuous.

Or has never been in a pub!

I know that my ability to follow the rules reduces the more I drink. Like the vast majority of people.
    I also know that it’s been so long since I’ve been in a pub having the craic that I’d be more likely to go a bit mad because this whole thing is stressful and the chance to let loose would be a powerful motivator.

Anyone saying otherwise is lying. And they’re either lying because they want to get back to the pub or they want the pubs to reopen for economic reasons.

Neither are necessarily bad but at least try and be honest with yourselves.

Mute Reuben Gray
    Favourite Reuben Gray
    Aug 17th 2020, 9:30 AM

@Tricia G: “Or has never been in a pub!”

I’ve been to thousands of pubs/bars around the world. I visited pubs in Dublin right up to the night they were officially closed in March (which engaged strict social distancing).
    I have never in my life witnessed a scene like the one in that video of a barman pouring spirits into peoples mouths.
    I have witnessed that in other countries yes but not Ireland.

Perhaps I just haven’t been to the “right” sort of pubs to witness that behaviour…..

So if it’s not behaviour I have ever witnessed in Ireland pre-covid, I doubt it’s behaviour I would expect right now.

Oh and perhaps that kind of carry on occurs at night clubs in Ireland, I wouldn’t know as I avoid them “like the plague” whether there’s a pandemic going on or not.

Mute Tordel Back
    Favourite Tordel Back

@Reuben Gray: Also, this is ostensibly a restaurant, not even a pub.

Mute Tricia G
    Favourite Tricia G

@Reuben Gray: Can I direct you to my point about “I also know that it’s been so long since I’ve been in a pub having the craic that I’d be more likely to go a bit mad because this whole thing is stressful and the chance to let loose would be a powerful motivator.”

And I’m surprised you’ve never seen a bartender poor shots into a person’s mouth, I’m not saying it’s a common occurrence by any means, but I’ve seen it happen (though not in Ireland where you’d never get a free pour)

BTW – I was more referring to the issue of people not maintaining social distancing after a few drinks. Because the people that could do it after a few drinks are few and far between.

Mute Tricia G
    Favourite Tricia G
    Aug 17th 2020, 9:36 AM

@Reuben Gray: I see you said you have seen it in other countries, apologies.

Mute Sam Harms
    Favourite Sam Harms
    Aug 17th 2020, 9:50 AM

@Tricia G: I’ve never been in a bar or pub where there has been someone on the bar pouring drinks into people’s mouths and I never want to be. If people act like this after a few drinks maybe they should look at cutting back on how much they drink. Every weekend in town before this or at any concert you would see people literally falling over drunk, puking everywhere or passed out on the ground, how is that fun or having the craic?

Mute Tricia G
    Favourite Tricia G
    Aug 17th 2020, 9:55 AM

@Sam Harms: Where do you see me defending or condoning the behaviour?

I was merely pointing out that a lot of people will not stick to the rules after a few drinks and if people were honest, they’d admit that.

The simple fact is, after spending months away from social gatherings, it’s not unlikely that people will struggle to stay away from others in a pub after drinking.

This has nothing to do with a bartender pouring a couple of shots into 2 people’s mouths and everything to do with the people dancing together.

Mute Sam Harms
    Favourite Sam Harms
    Aug 17th 2020, 10:10 AM

@Tricia G: well maybe if they can’t control themselves after a few drinks they shouldn’t drink as much or should wait until restrictions are eased to go out drinking. Social gatherings don’t have to involve alcohol

Mute Tricia G
    Favourite Tricia G
    Aug 17th 2020, 10:12 AM

@Sam Harms: So we keep the pubs closed. Glad we agree.

Mute Green Lentils
    Favourite Green Lentils

@Tricia G: This happened in a RESTAURANT

Mute Sam Harms
    Favourite Sam Harms
    Aug 17th 2020, 10:28 AM

@Tricia G: no the pubs don’t have to be closed. People can still drink and not get trollied. I’ve been to pubs and restaurants since they opened and managed to not fall out of the place drunk, and managed to maintain social distancing. If you’re only there for an hour and 45 minutes, unless you’re knocking the drinks back then you shouldn’t be getting so drunk that social distancing goes out the window.

Mute brian reid
    Favourite brian reid
    Aug 17th 2020, 9:25 AM

20 seconds of madness….Mr Bourke claims… how long does it take to transmit the virus during close contact….this is not Mr Bourke first premises to have misconduct in it

Mute SquintEastwood
    Favourite SquintEastwood
    Aug 17th 2020, 10:12 AM

@brian reid: according to hse it takes 15 mins….lol

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Aug 17th 2020, 11:02 AM

Yes. There is that. I wouldn’t grudge them that minute of madness. It’s not as if they were playing musical chairs for longer than that. I feel better about their chances If they distanced themselves immediately afterwards. And If the place was well-ventilated.

Mute brian reid
    Favourite brian reid

@SquintEastwood: would you take that chance with your life????

ed w
    Mute ed w
    Favourite ed w
    Aug 17th 2020, 3:25 PM

@SquintEastwood: 105 mins with a 9 euro meal :)

Mute Tony Maher
    Favourite Tony Maher
    Aug 17th 2020, 9:45 AM

Your 20 seconds could be me been cocooned for next six months.

Mute Patrick O'Farrell
    Favourite Patrick O'Farrell
    Aug 17th 2020, 10:39 AM

Jay Bourke, the serial tax defaulter who’s banned from being a company director? Same Jay Bourke who stated he had done nothing to be ashamed of and that the state should build a statue to him for all the tax he has paid???? He has displayed criminal intent bin his non compliance to tax codes over decades. If he was on social welfare he’d be called a fraudster.
    20 seconds of madness? He’s a serial about his activities and an arrogant man whose disregard for tax laws and regulations in this country are multiple.

Mute Padro Touche
    Favourite Padro Touche
    Aug 17th 2020, 10:21 AM

He sounds like a real ‘salt of the earth’ type.

“Typically unapologetic, Bourke said that he had ‘no sense of shame about it’, adding that the State should build a statue to him to honour how much money he had forked out over the years.”

“It was revealed in 2015 that his wealthy parents stumped up to clear a bank debt in a case that dated back some years.”

Mute Kevin50
    Favourite Kevin50
    Aug 17th 2020, 10:30 AM

Went for a meal last evening in the west of Ireland… restaurant tables laid out in line with Covid guidelines. A gang of 12, 20s/ early 30s age groups from the eastern side of country probably Dublin/Kildare after hearing accents rearranged the tables so they could sit together. No social distancing, definitely not all related. One even had a very young baby no more than a couple weeks old in her arms. Shortly after 5 lads from Cork 30s/ early 40s entered all sat together on a table suitable for 4 in good times, no social distancing. Very young staff on duty so hard for them to manage this. My point is that the demographic of the spread of Covid is mainly through under 45s0, this demographic need to cop on

Mute Conall
    Favourite Conall
    Aug 17th 2020, 10:40 AM

@Kevin50: Need to be told that if they want to be served, it’ll only be when they are sufficiently far apart. If their pint depends on moving apart, they will.

Mute Sam Greene
    Favourite Sam Greene
    Aug 17th 2020, 11:12 AM

@Kevin50: so u spent your time at your meal watching what other people were doing and how they were sitting….. this is what we’ve been reduced to?
    How do u know that all the people sorting together werent from the same family? Or that the 5 lads from cork went all staying in same accomodation on holiday.? For gods sake.

Mute Tracey Darby
    Favourite Tracey Darby
    Aug 17th 2020, 9:19 AM

Unfortunately your a liar you did actually break the law

Mute BriP75
    Favourite BriP75
    Aug 17th 2020, 9:36 AM

@Tracey Darby: sit on the fence why don’t you Tracey

Mute Tracey Darby
    Favourite Tracey Darby
    Aug 17th 2020, 10:47 AM

@BriP75: what I out taking on about ?

Mute Tracey Darby
    Favourite Tracey Darby
    Aug 17th 2020, 10:49 AM

@Tracey Darby: what you yaking about

Mute Fabio Dillon
    Favourite Fabio Dillon
    Aug 17th 2020, 11:33 AM

@Tracey Darby: whoosh

Mute Tracey Darby
    Favourite Tracey Darby
    Aug 17th 2020, 10:15 PM

@Fabio Dillon: ?

Mute Kavsie
    Favourite Kavsie
    Aug 17th 2020, 9:18 AM

“20 seconds of madness”

“slap in the face”

“outrageous and appalling”

“poses a threat to public health”.

“prepare a file on the matter for the DPP.”

guy pours two drinks in two peoples mouths from a bar counter,
    the same quotes above should be applied to Gov ministers & health officials , and others who also pour utter nonsense down our throats hourly

Mute Willie Murphy
    Favourite Willie Murphy

@Kavsie: Kick in the teeth for all the establishments that are prepared NOT to pour drink down punters throats, but aren’t even allowed to open… do you think?

Mute Kavsie
    Favourite Kavsie
    Aug 17th 2020, 10:15 AM

@Willie Murphy: their teeth were kicked out long ago by the Gov
    this incident has no bearing on the Gov decision as to pubs closed……..why are they not scrutinising more the ones open as to clusters etc etc, this video seems perfect timing to deflect from the Meat industry debacle

Mute Paul O'Brien
    Favourite Paul O'Brien
    Aug 17th 2020, 9:32 AM

It looked like a cross between a 90s movie and rag week. Fools pouring drink down the throats of fools whose actions are defended by a fool. An insult to all.

Mute Barry Teehan
    Favourite Barry Teehan
    Aug 17th 2020, 9:24 AM

right folks, your 20 seconds is up . Now back to your seats !!!

Mute Marc
    Favourite Marc
    Aug 17th 2020, 9:24 AM

“People could be seen dancing close together…” Maybe the Catholic Church saw this coming back in 1950 and all those killjoy priests were just trying to save us all from Covid all along?!

Mute ruairi
    Favourite ruairi

@Marc: But what about The Book of Jameson, chapter 1 verse d2; ‘And god said onto them; “open thy mouths and receive thy spirit from on high”. And there was much merriment and inhaling of powders’.

Mute BriP75
    Favourite BriP75
    Aug 17th 2020, 9:35 AM

Is it just me or is brunch when you have a late breckfast
    I knever had a full on disco at breckie
    Did they have Eggs
    Or were the 2gs missing
    Hmmm just a taught

Mute Tracey Darby
    Favourite Tracey Darby
    Aug 17th 2020, 10:57 AM

@BriP75: ye must be sitting on the fence there !so boring!

Mute Ian McDonald
    Favourite Ian McDonald
    Aug 17th 2020, 10:15 AM

Extra.ie has a good article summing up this guy. For example: “Typically unapologetic, Bourke said that he had ‘no sense of shame about it’ [a case with Revenue over under-declared VAT], adding that the State should build a statue to him to honour how much money he had forked out over the years”

Mute Tricia G
    Favourite Tricia G
    Aug 17th 2020, 10:32 AM

@Ian McDonald: Read that. What a Cee U Next Tuesday.

Mute tuco
    Favourite tuco
    Aug 17th 2020, 10:08 AM

People putting up on social media out for the “pizza” and a feed of pints all with arms around eachother putting up photos of themselves for the few likes and comments!!! absolutely no regard by either the owners or the general public.close these places down there is no need for them

Mute Irish Names
    Favourite Irish Names
    Aug 17th 2020, 10:11 AM

There needs to be an example made on a few fronts – corporate governance, imposition of business law, breach of COVID guidelines – shut it down and get a Garda investigation with the relevant authorities into the ownership structure and any potential breaches of company law.

Mute Are You For Real
    Favourite Are You For Real
    Aug 17th 2020, 9:46 AM

They should close all pubs today. Anyone going through the city centre over the weekend can see this behaviour all over and its a disgrace. We are in the middle of a pandemic and not one care given. Shut them all Down Today.

Mute Gerrard
    Favourite Gerrard
    Aug 17th 2020, 9:51 AM

@Are You For Real: are you for real

Mute Isabel Oliveira
    Favourite Isabel Oliveira
    Aug 17th 2020, 10:31 AM

A file for the DPP for people dancing close together & pouring drink. I guess old habits die hard. You can take the people of the Catholic Church but you can’t take years of the Catholic Church out of people .

This is all so ridiculous & alarming, That it’s shared by politicians on twitter without any regards for the individuals constitutional right to privacy & it was done deliberately to cause anger. Anger to occupy people with church yard non issues as if this handful of young people are responsible for:

Food processing & direct provision lack of basic conditions .

Care homes deaths

600k on hospital waiting lists

Crumbling economy

DSP inspectors @ airports

But let’s blame kids that have been locked for 6 months because we were all wise & beyond reproach at that age.

Mute Sam Harms
    Favourite Sam Harms

@Isabel Oliveira: right to privacy? The organisers and I’m sure other people who were there had it plastered all over their social media accounts.

Mute Isabel Oliveira
    Favourite Isabel Oliveira

@Sam Harms: do organisers have permission to 1 – film you and 2- put your footage on social media ? No they don’t. You have a constitutional right to privacy and the same right is also protected in the ECHR. Were these my kids I can tell you I’d be advising them to take issues further legally . Especially, with regards to cynical, populist politicians & government advisors in office who used this knowing full well what they were doing when sharing the footage.

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Aug 17th 2020, 11:09 AM

@Isabel Oliveira: It was a free gift to them, absolutely. People wanted scapegoats – to pile blame on some other group. That way, it can’t possibly happen to them, because they’re doing the right things. The politicians are relishing this deflection.

Mute Trevor Sheahan
    Favourite Trevor Sheahan
    Aug 17th 2020, 5:37 PM

@Isabel Oliveira: no right to privacy exists when you are in a public place. A restaurant is a public place.

Mute ᴛᴏᴍ49
    Favourite ᴛᴏᴍ49
    Aug 17th 2020, 11:40 AM

I searched “Dublin pub” on Twitter to see the video. There’s a lot of videos from that day. Definitely more than 20 seconds of madness

Mute Shane Fleming
    Favourite Shane Fleming

I didn’t think brunch continued until ten to four

Ed
    Mute Ed
    Favourite Ed
    Aug 17th 2020, 11:14 AM

Shut him down.

Mute Diarmuid Hehir
    Favourite Diarmuid Hehir
    Aug 17th 2020, 11:08 AM

You did break the law and it’s clowns like him that are keeping everything closed.

Mute Irish Sean
    Favourite Irish Sean
    Aug 17th 2020, 10:56 AM

“I don’t think we broke the law ” …it is illegal to free pour in this country and it was clear barman was doing this in video. As usual no agency will take responsibility for investigating. Hse will say it’s not up to them. Health and safety will say same. Guards will say they’re considering action and maybe send file to dpp and possibly object to licence renewal and will end up doing nothing. There should be a dedicated agency responsible for overseeing the hospitality industry with the power to fine or close anyone breaking the rules

Mute Hugh Mc Donnell
    Favourite Hugh Mc Donnell
    Aug 17th 2020, 9:59 AM

Unfortunately there’s plenty of others venues that won’t get the same coverage but will definitely have broken plenty of rules judging by what you hear from friends at work

Mute patrick o keeffe
    Favourite patrick o keeffe
    Aug 17th 2020, 12:20 PM

If Carlsberg did hard necks this Bourke fella is currently banned as a director so in essence he shouldn’t even be able to operate a licensed premises.

Mute patrick o keeffe
    Favourite patrick o keeffe
    Aug 17th 2020, 12:22 PM

@patrick o keeffe: https://www.independent.ie › pu…
    Publican Bourke in 7-year director ban – Independent.ie

Mute MickN
    Favourite MickN

Many of the very politicians who hid from comment when the factories and DP centres where blowing up numbers are now out screaming about the public, its like politicians fear a cohort business owners more than the people who vote for them.. Lots to think about in that..
    That said i dont condone what went on the weekend ,pull the license on that pub and the other pubs looking on wont be long falling in to line…

Mute Marcus Mc Cann
    Favourite Marcus Mc Cann
    Aug 17th 2020, 11:37 AM

they should look at the cctv for the hour before and the hour after that clip… see how many people observed the 105 min time limit in the bar. so many questions to answer here

Mute halfmanhalftea
    Favourite halfmanhalftea
    Aug 17th 2020, 1:48 PM

@Marcus Mc Cann: He said on RTE radio this morning that he’s reviewed the full 4 hour CCTV footage of the event and passed it onto RTE and the Gardai to review. The bloke would have to be daft to be doing that if it didn;t back up his ’20 seconds of madness’ claims.

Mute Jimmy Kinsella
    Favourite Jimmy Kinsella
    Aug 17th 2020, 1:26 PM

20 seconds too much. Fine and licence suspended – it’s not fair on the rural pubs that can’t open and the urban pubs playing by the rules. After the temple bar incident when pubs did open they should have known better.

Mute Rory Wilson
    Favourite Rory Wilson
    Aug 17th 2020, 11:43 AM

Seriously? Mr. Bourke wants us to accept that all had been calm and observing social distancing until, suddenly,( at Ten to four in the morning) a barman took it into his head to jump up on the bar and pour alcohol into the mouths of customers? This is how he thinks a bar should be run in Covid 19?

Mute halfmanhalftea
    Favourite halfmanhalftea
    Aug 17th 2020, 1:52 PM

@Rory Wilson: It wasn’t ten to four in the morning it was 15:50, this was an afternoon brunch! People should at least read the story before commenting.

Mute John Tobin
    Favourite John Tobin
    Aug 17th 2020, 11:45 AM

20 seconds of madness. The fact that you have made that comment goes to enforce all the reasons that you should be closed down. For you to expect people to believe that this episode was over 20 seconds. I have no doubt that this was out of control for the duration.

Mute halfmanhalftea
    Favourite halfmanhalftea
    Aug 17th 2020, 1:50 PM

@John Tobin: The owner said on RTE radio that he’s passed the full 4 hours of footage on to the Gardai and RTE for them to review.

Mute David J Warren
    Favourite David J Warren
    Aug 17th 2020, 1:04 PM

No matter how I play the scene in my mind, can I see, everyone social distancing etc. Then, going Crazy for 20 secs. And finally after 20 returning to a law abiding socially distant calm. This explanation where the situation not so serious is an insult to most people’s intelligence.

Mute Thomas Featherstone
    Favourite Thomas Featherstone
    Aug 17th 2020, 1:21 PM

I certainly won’t ever be going there, what a disrespectful insubordinate. If he had relatives/loved ones affected by this he probably wouldn’t do this. Ireland’s Dominic Cummings (1 rule for me, another for the rest of the country).

Mute Alan Murray
    Favourite Alan Murray
    Aug 17th 2020, 12:40 PM

Didn’t break what law? Jay’s law or the law of the land.
    There are two types of law you know!!

Mute Mick Scanlan
    Favourite Mick Scanlan

Nothing to see here move on about your business

Mute C_O'S
    Favourite C_O'S
    Aug 17th 2020, 10:04 AM

Drink in, wit out.

Mute Gavin Mckenna
    Favourite Gavin Mckenna

Well then show a majority of the 1pm to 4pm day footage, blur out faces etc for gdpr. Blaming it on a few seconds is easy if public never sees the full extent of what occurred.

Mute halfmanhalftea
    Favourite halfmanhalftea
    Aug 17th 2020, 1:49 PM

@Gavin Mckenna: The public don’t need to see it, the Gardai have it now and they can review it in full.

Mute Itsonlyme
    Favourite Itsonlyme
    Aug 17th 2020, 11:15 AM

I know we’re a respected equine nation but who’d have guessed there were so many high horses in the country?!?!?….

Mute Joan Murray
    Favourite Joan Murray
    Aug 17th 2020, 4:27 PM

@Itsonlyme: brilliant.

Mute Joan Murray
    Favourite Joan Murray

Mute Joan Murray
    Favourite Joan Murray

Mute Joan Murray
    Favourite Joan Murray

@Itsonlyme: brilliant. :):):)

Mute Furze
    Favourite Furze

Ah come on, I thought you are meant to sing happy birthday twice in the 20 secs.

Mute Eddie Michael
    Favourite Eddie Michael
    Aug 17th 2020, 2:30 PM

Take his lience to trade away permanently. Then make him work in the a+e with the covid patient’s.
    Bet nothing will happen to the business.

Mute 011Y
    Favourite 011Y
    Aug 17th 2020, 12:45 PM

Trust me. You broke the law.

Mute Joe Steel
    Favourite Joe Steel
    Aug 17th 2020, 1:48 PM

20 seconds more like 6 hours shut the place down and prosthetic no law people do what they like and it’s all ways the first time they say just to get off with it

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Aug 17th 2020, 1:33 PM

So you cant break the law in 20 seconds, thats a new one. So If I shot him for 19 seconds I would be fine by his reckoning

Mute Anne Busher Collins
    Favourite Anne Busher Collins
    Aug 17th 2020, 2:17 PM

Tell that to a small pub in rural Ireland. Absolutely an “entitled” person

Mute Marian Cleary
    Favourite Marian Cleary
    Aug 17th 2020, 1:27 PM

” I don’t think” sums it up accurately.

Mute Jacqui Curtis-owens
    Favourite Jacqui Curtis-owens
    Aug 17th 2020, 12:25 PM

20 seconds of madness….2 seconds to sneeze and cough….grrrrrrr

Mute Virus-free Turkey
    Favourite Virus-free Turkey
    Aug 17th 2020, 11:34 AM

But then, there’s no such thing as bad publicity according to the marketing fraternity. We shall see.

Mute Orela Krawczyk
    Favourite Orela Krawczyk
    Aug 17th 2020, 2:06 PM

So it’s went mad for 20seconds Please!! It obviously built up to that. People didn’t stay in their seats and weren’t stopped and so they went to get bar service and weren’t stopped. Things don’t just escalate out of nowhere.

Mute Tom O'Hanlon
    Favourite Tom O'Hanlon
    Aug 17th 2020, 11:57 AM

Why had it to be one of his pubs?

Mute Carmel Myob
    Favourite Carmel Myob
    Aug 17th 2020, 8:21 PM

Wonder what is meant when they say they enjoy a good relationship with the guards?

Mute Gerrard
    Favourite Gerrard

Stop judging book by its cover I bet it was a bit of madness at last song he said it was 3.50am. And you can be sure if it was happening all night somebody would of filmed more

Mute Mairead Jenkins
    Favourite Mairead Jenkins
    Aug 17th 2020, 10:19 AM

@Gerrard:Actually 3.50 pm. It was Saturday afternoon.

Mute Green Lentils
    Favourite Green Lentils
    Aug 17th 2020, 10:25 AM

@Mairead Jenkins: why don’t people read the articles

Mute Emma Gillen
    Favourite Emma Gillen
    Aug 17th 2020, 3:41 PM

Total publicity stunt!! Just wish I was there, were the shots free?

Mute Kevin50
    Favourite Kevin50
    Aug 17th 2020, 10:14 AM

Went for

Mute Steve O'Connor
    Favourite Steve O'Connor
    Aug 17th 2020, 1:28 PM

I was in there last week for an hour or so just before closing. Staff kept people to their tables and it was all run according to the rules. No service at the bar, table service only. Id be surprised if it was as mad as the video shows for more than a few mins.

Mute aidan mccormack
    Favourite aidan mccormack
    Aug 17th 2020, 2:18 PM

I blame the killers, if mister brightside wasn’t such a banger then nobody would have felt like getting up and rockin out.

Mute Redseat92
    Favourite Redseat92
    Aug 17th 2020, 1:05 PM

The LVA wouldnt be as enthusiastic about calling for this place to be closed if they were paid up members of the club..The LVA who like to portray themselves as the great bastions of health in this country by calling for people not to buy drink in the supermarkets.instead come in to us and we will make sure your drinks measures are correct and we will look after you..in other words dont buy cheap drink..come in to us and we will sell you the same drink at ripp off prices until you crawl on your hands an knees out the door again.

Mute Redseat92
    Favourite Redseat92
    Aug 17th 2020, 1:53 PM

Would the self styled Bastions of Health, close the off licences brigade LFA, be as concerned if it were paid up member of the club…?

Mute Redseat92
    Favourite Redseat92
    Aug 17th 2020, 1:09 PM

Yeah