You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

The stolen jeep. Justin Kavanagh via Facebook

"They've taken her bit of independence" - Son issues appeal after disabled mother's jeep stolen

Justin Kavanagh issued a public appeal on Facebook two weeks ago for help in locating his mother’s stolen jeep.

A MAN HAS asked for the public’s help in locating his mother’s jeep which was stolen from outside her home two weeks ago.

Justin Kavanagh issued a public appeal on Facebook two weeks ago for help in locating his mother’s stolen jeep.

It was taken from outside her home in Wolfe Tone Street, Mountmellick, Co, Laois in the early hours of Wednesday morning on 14 September.

Justin’s mother suffers from rheumatoid arthritis and he bought the jeep as a gift to enable her to leave the house more frequently.

The jeep has a small 1.1 litre engine and automatic gears. It has a registration of 96 – KE – 7092 and is a dark bottle-green colour.

“Since our Dad died she didn’t go out as much as she used to, then our sister passed away in 2012 and she almost stopped going out,” Justin said in his post.

The jeep was bought to get her out and about and try cheer her up and now these heartless thugs have taken that away from her.

His Facebook appeal has since been shared about 1,100 times.

Speaking today on RTÉ’s Liveline, Justin said that the jeep was taken from outside his mother’s house at about 2.4oam Wednesday two weeks ago.

He said that the battery was dead in the jeep, so it wouldn’t start.

14322724_1217064568315691_5244927725683632236_n The stolen jeep. Facebook Facebook

He said that the thieves had taken the battery from the jeep and replaced it with a different one.

“They actually replaced the batteries in it,” he said.

They actually went to the trouble of putting a new battery in it.

He said the thieves were seen on CCTV pushing the jeep away from the house around a corner, onto nearby Manor Street, where they replaced the battery.

“They haven’t just taken the jeep, they’ve taken her bit of independence as well,” he said.

A garda spokesperson confirmed to TheJournal.ie that the jeep remains on the stolen vehicle list and no arrests have been made.

Anyone with any information on the missing jeep can contact Mountmellick Garda Station on 057 862 4140.

Read: Blind woman ‘heartbroken’ after guide dog was taken away for being overweight

Read: ‘You can’t handle the truth’: Director of crisis pregnancy clinic stands by controversial claims

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

10 Comments
    Mute Larry K
    Favourite Larry K
    Aug 1st 2014, 11:29 AM

Definitely time the banks update their systems. This is getting way too common. The fees have gone up, start using them to provide a service!

Mute Karl Cleary
    Favourite Karl Cleary
    Aug 1st 2014, 12:57 PM

Most of the banks systems are ok. It’s just ulster bank who’s systems are outdated but will cost millions to update

Mute Steve Tracey
    Favourite Steve Tracey
    Aug 1st 2014, 1:35 PM

Karl
    Did you not hear of the Bank of Ireland problems?

Mute Jamie Murphy
    Favourite Jamie Murphy
    Aug 1st 2014, 2:51 PM

THIS! Most banks still use mainframes for a lot of their nightly transactions. They need to rebuild!

Mute Tom Red
    Favourite Tom Red
    Aug 1st 2014, 11:30 AM

Its Ulcer bank at this stage for its customers…

Mute Sat singh
    Favourite Sat singh
    Aug 1st 2014, 11:29 AM

Perhaps if they try to FIX the problem rather than FOX it
    as in your headline,the customers will be happier!

Mute vv7k7Z3c
    Favourite vv7k7Z3c
    Aug 1st 2014, 11:31 AM

Thanks for pointing that out :) I’ve FIXED it now.

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Aug 1st 2014, 11:41 AM

You FOX Michelle and your fixing !

Mute Loop De Loop
    Favourite Loop De Loop
    Aug 1st 2014, 11:42 AM

Continually having computer problems, yet continually increasing fees. Left them a year ago, terrible bank to deal with.

Mute Ted Carroll
    Favourite Ted Carroll
    Aug 1st 2014, 12:41 PM

Couldn’t have had a different experience with them myseflf. There was an issue about a year ago that was an inconvenience but I’ve never had another issue with them and always found their staff so helpful with everything. Mobile banking is down at the moment but you can still log on through normal means as well as using the full website through your mobile device. Very minor inconvenience unless you want to be offended by it.

Mute Loop De Loop
    Favourite Loop De Loop
    Aug 1st 2014, 2:10 PM

Never took offence to them, just got fed up paying through the nose for a service they couldn’t supply. You obviously weren’t affected when their computer systems went belly up for weeks, direct debits were being taken out twice, wages not going in etc. a joke of a bank.

Mute Ted Carroll
    Favourite Ted Carroll
    Aug 1st 2014, 6:58 PM

Yes I lost track of how much was in my account for a few days but it got sorted and they reimbursed me for two transactions that hadn’t happened! I pay no fees at all for my banking thankfully and they have branches open on a Saturday! Like I said some people go out of their way to be upset!

Mute Peter McGlynn
    Favourite Peter McGlynn
    Aug 1st 2014, 7:06 PM

Ulster bank is one of the better banks surprisingly enough. They were the last to raise their fees and they’ve a good rep for business banking.
    Had to leave AIB after 12 years with them – so rude and their fees were rocketing.

Mute Loop De Loop
    Favourite Loop De Loop
    Aug 1st 2014, 7:28 PM

Believe me Ted I haven’t got time to go out of my way and get upset with a bank. Way to busy to be checking accounts all the time in case they’ve made more mistakes. That’s why they lost me and hundreds of other customers over the last year or two. I guess some people put up with bad service and some don’t. Like I said, a joke of a bank.

Mute anthony mcloughlin
    Favourite anthony mcloughlin
    Aug 1st 2014, 11:30 AM

Thank god I’m not one of their 600 customers

Mute Larry K
    Favourite Larry K
    Aug 1st 2014, 11:40 AM

Well I am a customer and I’m praying to Joe Pesci that they get it sorted soon

Mute Richie Aprile
    Favourite Richie Aprile
    Aug 1st 2014, 11:27 AM

Call those 2 Canadian kids to sort it out.

Mute GATHERINGYOURMONEY14
    Favourite GATHERINGYOURMONEY14
    Aug 1st 2014, 5:55 PM

I remember the good old days when banks used to at least pretend that they were looking after their customers,
    when mobile banking was a lorry with a teller in the back.
    I’m off to the credit union thanks.
    No fee internet banking, direct debit, cash card facilities
    run by volunteers who don’t cost us €100 billion every 20 years or so.

Mute Mick Stafford
    Favourite Mick Stafford
    Aug 1st 2014, 11:43 AM

Feckin’ shower of bankers…!

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Aug 1st 2014, 11:41 AM

HACKERS !

Mute Chopper
    Favourite Chopper
    Aug 1st 2014, 3:27 PM

All those screenshots are from UK customers (Ulster bank in NI, RBS in UK).
    Is there any proof of ROI customers affected?

Mute Qwerty
    Favourite Qwerty
    Aug 1st 2014, 6:55 PM

NI is part of the UK. RBS in GB.

Mute Chopper
    Favourite Chopper
    Aug 1st 2014, 9:55 PM

Meant to say that!

Mute Falstaff Oldcastle
    Favourite Falstaff Oldcastle
    Aug 1st 2014, 1:00 PM

Thank god I left them after the last major F up. Their I.T section is absolutely useless

Mute Ian
    Favourite Ian
    Aug 1st 2014, 12:09 PM

Working now – first thing I notice is the direct debits have been taken. Back to normal, or what passes for it in a nationalised bank.

Mute Edmund Dantes
    Favourite Edmund Dantes
    Aug 2nd 2014, 5:15 AM

Ulster Bank couldn’t find their arse with both hands and a map !

Mute Eamonn Moloney
    Favourite Eamonn Moloney
    Aug 2nd 2014, 12:17 AM

Ulster Bank still use pen and paper. I rang today told by them my loan was with collections because it was in arrears. I said it couldn’t be and it’s most likely in credit. On hold for 36 mins while some eejit worked it out manually. At the end and after telling me 3 iMessage that I was in arrears the first eejit tells me I’m in credit and my account has been removed from arrears. They are a joke of a bank and shouldn’t even be in business.

Mute Mark Mc Partlan
    Favourite Mark Mc Partlan
    Aug 2nd 2014, 11:30 AM

Can they please change their debit cards. Such bad quality.