You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Shutterstock/Champion studio

Under 26 and on the dole? Labour has some good news for you - sort of

Young adults are currently paid a lower rate of jobseeker’s allowance.

Updated: 6pm

TÁNAISTE AND SOCIAL Protection Minister Joan Burton has said that a review into the impact of lower welfare rates on people under the age of 26 will be undertaken by her department.

Labour Youth, which opposed the cut to jobseeker’s allowance for under 26s since it was introduced in Budget 2014, has welcomed the news.

Speaking today, the chair of the party’s youth wing, Grace Williams, said:

“Age-based discrimination should not be allowed to continue. While I acknowledge that many young people are now securing jobs because the government has turned the economy around, I believe that we should be included in the national recovery to an even greater extent.

“To this end, Labour Youth will continue to fight to see jobseeker’s for under 26s increased.”

Williams went on to describe the planned review as “a step towards changing this policy”.

Jobseeker’s allowance is means-tested and the maximum rate for people aged 26 years or over is €188. The rate for people aged 25 is €144 per week, while the personal rate for people aged 18-24 is €100 per week.

€149 million

A spokesperson for the Department of Social Protection told TheJournal.ie the cost of increasing the €100 and €144 rates of jobseeker’s allowance for under 26s to the maximum personal rate of €188 would cost €149 million in 2016.

James Doorley, deputy director of the National Youth Council of Ireland (NYCI), gave the announcement “a guarded welcome”.

Until we get more detail on the nature and timeframe of the review it is impossible to know if this will lead to a reversal of the policy.

In 2014, the NYCI surveyed young people receiving jobseeker’s allowance and found that almost four out of ten struggled to make ends meet.

Speaking the Dáil recently, Burton defended the reduced rate received by under 26s, saying it is “a targeted measure aimed at protecting young people from welfare dependency”.

If a young person does not improve their skills, it will be much more difficult for them to avail of job opportunities as the economy recovers and they are at risk of becoming long-term unemployed from a young age. The measure aims to incentivise young jobseeker’s allowance recipients to avail of education and training opportunities.

“If a jobseeker in receipt of the reduced jobseeker’s allowance rate participates on an education or training programme they will receive a higher weekly payment of €160,” Burton said.

Read: Joan denies an unemployed man was told to apply for 200-300 jobs a week

Read: Joan Burton reckons Labour could win more than 30 seats

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

76 Comments
    Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche
    Nov 23rd 2015, 2:18 PM

This is not good news.
    This is the kind of thing you say when there is an election.

Mute Apogee
    Favourite Apogee
    Nov 23rd 2015, 2:24 PM

I was always surprised someone didn’t take a case on discrimination grounds due to age. Sadly, if they did, I’m sure they would have been lynched by any on here and beyond.

Mute Darren Norris
    Favourite Darren Norris
    Nov 23rd 2015, 2:41 PM

Lynched with good reason mate

See 20 more replies ▾
    Mute Lolo
    Favourite Lolo
    Nov 23rd 2015, 3:05 PM

Why good reason Darren? Can a 25 year old not legitimately be out of work and doing their level best to find it or are they always scroungers in your eyes?

Mute Darren Norris
    Favourite Darren Norris
    Nov 23rd 2015, 3:12 PM

If your out of school at 17/18 and still not employed at 25……then Lolo something is not right there

Mute Lolo
    Favourite Lolo
    Nov 23rd 2015, 3:33 PM

Is that what I said? No. The rate applies to anyone of that age whether they are a month or 7 years not working

Mute Darren Norris
    Favourite Darren Norris
    Nov 23rd 2015, 3:38 PM

And what? They would have less expenses…why do you want them to have this extra income?

Mute Thomas Maher
    Favourite Thomas Maher
    Nov 23rd 2015, 3:45 PM

Ok two articles on Labour. But nothing on the file sent to the DPP on corruption and bribery of two FG councillors. Or how the DPP are not expected to make a decision on prosecution untill after election.

Mute Brendan McGill
    Favourite Brendan McGill
    Nov 23rd 2015, 3:46 PM

Despicable vote buying attempts here.. Right out of the Pat Rabbitte School of Electioneering

Mute Noelle Mccormack
    Favourite Noelle Mccormack
    Nov 23rd 2015, 4:35 PM

And why do you presume they have less expenses, do you think they all live at home with mammy. Put a lot of thought into that now didnt you

Mute Suzie Murphy
    Favourite Suzie Murphy
    Nov 23rd 2015, 4:41 PM

What makes you think a 24 year old had less expenses than a 26 year old? How anyone expects an individual to pay rent, bills and live on €100 a week is beyond me. I’ve seen too many go homeless as a result of this after losing their jobs. It’s disgusting.

Mute Darren Norris
    Favourite Darren Norris
    Nov 23rd 2015, 4:57 PM

Not many people unemployed under 25 are renting and if they are they should not be

Mute Niamh Ní Caiside
    Favourite Niamh Ní Caiside
    Nov 23rd 2015, 5:26 PM

There are a small but significant number of young people with no parental support and unable to find work that are somehow supposed to live on €100 a week. Fact of the matter is they don’t so they end up in our homeless services, prisons, psychiatric wards and morgues. Those ‘lucky’ enough to not be in the final category find it impossible to move out of the one they’re in (or not end up in one of the other three) due to not having enough income.

Mute Darren Norris
    Favourite Darren Norris
    Nov 23rd 2015, 5:45 PM

Then means test it for this minority few. Dont just throw away 146 million.

Mute Jason Maguire
    Favourite Jason Maguire
    Nov 23rd 2015, 6:14 PM

When I was twenty four I was renting a flat with my girlfriend and our infant child. Id been working for seven years by then. Why shouldn’t I have gotten the same benefits as someone older. ?

Mute John Judd
    Favourite John Judd
    Nov 23rd 2015, 6:37 PM

If you are Under 26 , fit and healthy and you don’t have children there is no excuse not to be working !

Mute Lolo
    Favourite Lolo
    Nov 23rd 2015, 6:47 PM

Ah 25 year old has less expenses than a 27 year old? Some logic there Darren. Why do you want to deprive those who are legitimately trying to gain employment? Many of whom will have spent years in university and come out at the end with no prospect of a job.

Mute Bobby Phelan
    Favourite Bobby Phelan
    Nov 23rd 2015, 7:13 PM

Labour sell outs.

Mute Shane O Malley
    Favourite Shane O Malley
    Nov 23rd 2015, 9:09 PM

joan brutal has to be the most cynical politician in labours history

Mute Anthony Halpin
    Favourite Anthony Halpin
    Nov 23rd 2015, 9:11 PM

The bus has been fitted with slightly softer – compound tyres.

Mute Bean Ui Mise
    Favourite Bean Ui Mise
    Nov 23rd 2015, 9:24 PM

It’s too much money for doing nothing, whether by circumstances or pure laziness. Of course if the under 26 year old is unfortunate enough to have parents who actually go out to work he’ll get nothing if he lives at home.

Mute Deirdre Maher
    Favourite Deirdre Maher
    Nov 25th 2015, 10:03 PM

In what way would they have less expenses ? .. My friends son is 22 unemployed and looking for work .. He get €100 per week .. He lives at home with his mother who works on low income in council housing .. He pays the council €10 rent a week and gives his mother €40 for food and bills .. That leaves him with €50 .. For buses to interviews for phone calls for jobs ect .. €50 a week ! To dress himself and pay for any medicines he may need .. For the bus to the doctor ect .. .. So €100 is far for enough for anyone to try survive on and to try get themselves working …

Mute Suzie Murphy
    Favourite Suzie Murphy
    Nov 25th 2015, 11:19 PM

Lucky him having his mums hospitality then isn’t it? And just paying €10 a week. A lot of people don’t have that luxury. There are people who no longer have parents to offer them a room in their house. What are they expected to do? Why should someone whose made an honest living since 18 be forced back into their parents home if their lucky enough to be able to? It is agest and beyond a disgrace.

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Nov 23rd 2015, 2:21 PM

Cuts the core rate for under 26s

Spends the next two years insisting that Labour protected the core rates

Right before the election, promises a ‘review’

Roll on polling day…….

Mute Apogee
    Favourite Apogee
    Nov 23rd 2015, 2:25 PM

Burton announced last night she’d guarantee a repeal of the 8th if elected. Just 5 hours after Reilly announced he’d support it. Such a desperate woman.

Mute Paul Mc
    Favourite Paul Mc
    Nov 23rd 2015, 2:35 PM

The Labour party can’t sink any lower at this point, the might even announce the abolition of Irish Water next . Who can forget Gilmore and his promises at the last election or should I say lies.

Mute Rasputin
    Favourite Rasputin
    Nov 23rd 2015, 2:42 PM

I heard if Labour get re elected they’re promising warm summers and white Christmas’s from here on in.

Mute Armin Tamzarian
    Favourite Armin Tamzarian
    Nov 23rd 2015, 2:50 PM

Paul Mc – they’re the things people say coming up to an election… apparently

Mute Tom Kelly
    Favourite Tom Kelly
    Nov 23rd 2015, 2:57 PM

Can’t trust any of them. Sinn Fein have entered the real world in Northern Ireland.

Mute The Destroyer
    Favourite The Destroyer
    Nov 23rd 2015, 6:06 PM

should cut them more. Paying bums to sit around scratching all day. Every shop you walk into has foreign workers under the age of 3o id say. Where are the Irish people, too proud to take these jobs. Cut the dole in half across the board, that will save some money for some actual useful services. Whoever does that has my vote.

Mute Derek Billings
    Favourite Derek Billings
    Nov 23rd 2015, 7:02 PM

They can’t get the jobs. , I spoke to an Irish girl on the check out in lidl. She said they wouldn’t give ,her more hours. No one is shouting racism now. Doesn’t work both ways. Our own aren’t being protected. Lilly livered government. Yes sir no sir. Sorry now. Are we good now? Sure it was all our fault.

Mute Shakka1244
    Favourite Shakka1244
    Nov 23rd 2015, 2:21 PM

Is that going to be implemented before or after you win 30 seats at the next election Joan?

Mute Apogee
    Favourite Apogee
    Nov 23rd 2015, 2:31 PM

The only thing LAb need to review with urgency is the Greens party’s recent history. They’ll need to brush up on it as they’ll be joining them.

Mute Chris Murphy
    Favourite Chris Murphy
    Nov 23rd 2015, 2:25 PM

In an article posed earlier on your site today you used the exact same quote but instead said there were no plans to raise the rates.

“Speaking separately about the reduced rates of jobseeker’s allowance available to people under the age of 26, Burton said there are no plans to raise this.

Jobseeker’s allowance is means-tested and the maximum rate for people aged 26 years or over is €188. The rate for people aged 25 is €144 per week, while the personal rate for people aged 18-24 is €100 per week.

Reduced rates for those under 26 years of age is a targeted measure aimed at protecting young people from welfare dependency. If a young person does not improve their skills, it will be much more difficult for them to avail of job opportunities as the economy recovers and they are at risk of becoming long-term unemployed from a young age.”

Mute Eamonn Hughes
    Favourite Eamonn Hughes
    Nov 23rd 2015, 2:51 PM

Must be getting word down from HQ to change articles!

Mute Brian Deane
    Favourite Brian Deane
    Nov 23rd 2015, 3:39 PM

Labour’s latest idea to buy under 26 Dole votes with your money.

Mute Noelle Mccormack
    Favourite Noelle Mccormack
    Nov 23rd 2015, 4:40 PM

So in between trying to improve their skills, which costs money, fees, travel expenses etc, what do you purpose they do, live on beans i surpose or maybe on the streets, seeing as not all people under 26 have the privilage of living off mammy and daddy. Even when they do ‘improve’ their skills they will more than likely be used and abused on some goddam jobscam job, This is no country for the young and the best thing they can do it get out while they still can or be left to rot in it like the rest who have no choice

Mute Sandra Turner
    Favourite Sandra Turner
    Nov 23rd 2015, 3:20 PM

Its unfair to give under 26s less. When I was 25 I was married with a mortgage and one child. Id worked part time from age 17-20 and full time from 21. If I had lost my job id be fairly pissed off to get less than a 27 year old who never worked a day in their life.

Mute Diogenes
    Favourite Diogenes
    Nov 23rd 2015, 2:19 PM

What job opportunities?

Mute Kenny Hyslop
    Favourite Kenny Hyslop
    Nov 23rd 2015, 6:43 PM

I’m sure they’re talking about job bridge. Work 40 hours a week for an extra 20 quid on your dole and shut your mouth before we stop your money altogether.

Nov 23rd 2015, 2:32 PM

Its all labour today, plenty of opportunities for the “online warriors” to have their say. Labour tried to win support from the working class in the budget, failed. They tried the pensioners, the pensioners didn’t buy their lies. Now they’re trying to get support from the younger voters with nothing more than a token gesture by saying they’re investigating throwing them a few more quid in their SW payments. They’re getting desperate now. As joan said herself a few weeks ago about the online warriors must carefully consider their comments about cahill, the advice from the vast majority to joan would be that she should carefully consider the consequences of her actions over the last few years.

Mute Armin Tamzarian
    Favourite Armin Tamzarian
    Nov 23rd 2015, 3:27 PM

Cahill is very quiet these days… funny that

Mute Derek Billings
    Favourite Derek Billings
    Nov 23rd 2015, 6:55 PM

You mean our dissident senator

Mute Stephen Grehan
    Favourite Stephen Grehan
    Nov 23rd 2015, 10:08 PM

If i was earning 60 grand a year plus expenses for sitting on my hole in a redundant talking shop i would be as quite as a church mouse.

Mute Stephen Grehan
    Favourite Stephen Grehan
    Nov 23rd 2015, 10:24 PM

Quiet.

Mute Glenn Fitzpatrick
    Favourite Glenn Fitzpatrick
    Nov 23rd 2015, 2:33 PM

Research went and proved that younger demographics needed less incentive to get to work than older demographics. The cut was an ageist one not based on any sound rationale.
    Young people weren’t working because the jobs simply weren’t there, not because young people are lazy. This decision was a gross betrayal of young people on the part of the Labour Party. Props to LY for trying to call for its restoration in the recent budget but Burton couldn’t deliver that for LY or young job seekers then and it’s fairly outlandish to expect any progress on it now.
    This is pure electioneering and should be treated as such. Labour does not have good news for you.

Mute Derek Poutch
    Favourite Derek Poutch
    Nov 23rd 2015, 2:36 PM

Time is nearly up joan start looking for that job in Europe I,m sure hulk hogan can pull a few strings.

Mute Symbolism
    Favourite Symbolism
    Nov 23rd 2015, 2:55 PM

But sure there’ll be no need for Jobseeker’s Allowance with all the jobs Kenny and co. have promised. Are we still that stupid to believe election promises. Labour is dead. Let’s be thankful for that.

Mute Dave Murray
    Favourite Dave Murray
    Nov 23rd 2015, 3:05 PM

Fool me once, shame on you.

Mute IrishGravyTrain
    Favourite IrishGravyTrain
    Nov 23rd 2015, 2:28 PM

Though it was going to be a €100 travel voucher to be used with every One Way ticket abroad.

Mute Seamus Brady
    Favourite Seamus Brady
    Nov 23rd 2015, 2:56 PM

I think that Labour are grasping at straws They’ll start making more promises same old crap but nobody believes them anymore.

Mute MulticultBloodbath
    Favourite MulticultBloodbath
    Nov 23rd 2015, 2:44 PM

Loan Burdon – no thanks

Mute Unitedpeople
    Favourite Unitedpeople
    Nov 23rd 2015, 4:00 PM

First they cut it – then they wish to make themselves out as great for trying to increase it. You couldn’t make this stuff up – but Labour can apparently!

Mute William Mcgee
    Favourite William Mcgee
    Nov 23rd 2015, 3:21 PM

More bull from labour before the election ,Vote Labour and get stabbed in the back , and they will tell you its for your own benefit . Bring on the ballot box and a happy New Year .

Mute Motherofdivinejebus
    Favourite Motherofdivinejebus
    Nov 23rd 2015, 3:09 PM

Here is a very good analysis of what is REALLY going on behind the media propaganda, i was given it this morning, well worth a read and lays a lot of lies bare….
    Here is just a snippet of whats in it – Highly recommended

Scandalous Suppression of Bad News for Government by RTE
    It is SCANDALOUS that this is not being covered on RTE after all the hype for FG last week
    Radical Parties Reach 30% as Labour Drops—Stephen O’Brien, Sunday Times 15/11/2015
    ” The Labour Party’s poor result(in B&APoll) is echoed in the satisfaction ratings , where there is a FIVE POINT fall in the number of people satisfied with the government performace with Enda Kenny, the Taiseach, is down 2 points to 31%(satisfaction) and Joan burton, the Tánaiste drops to 34%” -Sunday Times to-day
    Labour Disaster in B&A Sunday Times Poll
    Good Poll for the Left and Sinn Fein
    Core Vote
    FG 18, Others20, SF 17,FF14, Lab5, undecided 26
    Excluding Undecided(no filters)

https://paddyhealy.wordpress.com/2013/10/27/labour-lowest-for-decades-in-red-c-poll/

Mute Gerald Gallagher
    Favourite Gerald Gallagher
    Nov 23rd 2015, 3:24 PM

More Labour BS to try and get a few more votes back

Mute Jack Bowden
    Favourite Jack Bowden
    Nov 23rd 2015, 4:26 PM

Maybe they should make the standard payment €144 for everyone. That would be fair and it will save us some money. We spend 20,000,000,000 (20 billion) on social welfare every year. We need to protect the vulnerable tax payers in society.

Mute Jack Bowden
    Favourite Jack Bowden
    Nov 23rd 2015, 5:39 PM

Or maybe they could just give above inflation increases year after year. That would get them votes and no political party has ever had the courage to criticise increases in the social protection budget in the history of this state. So that would be a win win politically for them.

Mute Kenny Hyslop
    Favourite Kenny Hyslop
    Nov 23rd 2015, 6:44 PM

You find a place to stay in Dublin for 144 euro a week and I will personally buy a chocolate watch.

Mute Stephen Kearon
    Favourite Stephen Kearon
    Nov 23rd 2015, 4:59 PM

Earn or learn, no able bodied 18 year old should be getting tax payers money to do nothing, it’s long overdue the cycle of dependency be stopped

Mute Rashers Tierney
    Favourite Rashers Tierney
    Nov 23rd 2015, 8:26 PM

In the name of the fine Labour men who have gone before (who would vomit in disgust at the current party, and what it has become) I can’t wait to dance on the graves of Wabbitte, Gimme more and job-bridge Joan. In time a new and authentic Labour party may arise, although I’m not too hopeful of that. The important thing is that Labour in its current incarnation must die, and soon.

Mute Apogee
    Favourite Apogee
    Nov 24th 2015, 1:18 AM

A new Labour party will probably form up in the vacuum that now exists. Plenty of people me are left with no alternative but to vote Independent. Eventually, any new Lab party will not rise from the ashes of the old one, but will have to come from an amalgamation of current motley crew forming up. Not a bad prospect if the Social Democrats become the central lynchpin and attract in other high calibre Independents.

But Lab won;t rise again of the Greens and PD’s fate is anything to go by.

Mute Ciara
    Favourite Ciara
    Nov 23rd 2015, 2:38 PM

Very happy to see this review taking place. I know how much work Labour Youth has undertaken in the past two years trying to make our senior party understand why these cuts were both unequal and ineffective. It’s taken longer than any of us would have liked but finally we’re making headway with this review which should provide the evidence to back up our arguments and support our calls for policy change.
    I also know that people on here will try diminish that work – it’s kind of what you do in the comments section – but at the end of the day if this review results in even a partial restoration of jobseekers to U26s it’ll have achieved far more for the equal treatment of young people than griping on here ever could.

I understand there will be a public consultation as part of this review. It would be great if anyone reading this who was or is affected by the cut could send in their experience. The more stories we can get sent in, the more likely it is that the review will be favorable to our POV in its recommendations.

Mute Paul Mc
    Favourite Paul Mc
    Nov 23rd 2015, 2:44 PM

Ciara, Grow up this is Ireland in the here and now Labour have no shame they have enriched themselves at the expense of the poorest section of society. If you are considering a life on the gravy train I would suggest that you join Fine Gael as the Labour party faces extinction.

Mute Darren Norris
    Favourite Darren Norris
    Nov 23rd 2015, 2:46 PM

Self praise is no praise as they say Ciara. Considering your a fellow Labour Youth yuppie it is hard for you to see how they turned their backs on the nation until now, a few weeks prior to an election.

Mute Joe Phillips
    Favourite Joe Phillips
    Nov 23rd 2015, 2:46 PM

Ciara… before you embark on your political career… you should consider not saying things like
    “I also know that people on here will try diminish that work – it’s kind of what you do in the comments section”

You’re basically pre-emptively attacking anyone who has anything less than positive to say about Labour. For that reason, I hope the youth group goes the same way of your senior party.

Mute Motherofdivinejebus
    Favourite Motherofdivinejebus
    Nov 23rd 2015, 3:04 PM

I just popped onto your Twitter Page Ciara……………….Ha,Ha,Ha,Ha,Ha……………Cheers for the laughs – I nearly swallowed my Nebuliser reading it
    Go on ya good thing! You`ll go far, but not in Labour as they`ll be extinct

Mute Screaming Toddy
    Favourite Screaming Toddy
    Nov 23rd 2015, 8:08 PM

Ciara you blinkered fool. You’ll fit right in at Leinster House with that level of bull already at such a young age.

Mute Screaming Toddy
    Favourite Screaming Toddy
    Nov 23rd 2015, 7:51 PM

Good news if you are gullible.

Mute @mdmak33
    Favourite @mdmak33
    Nov 23rd 2015, 9:16 PM

Labour will not have anything to do with it after the GE,thank god.

Mute Maunie Cregan
    Favourite Maunie Cregan
    Nov 23rd 2015, 9:30 PM

out out labour – we need a one party government and not a minor party with limited support shoving their unpalatable politics down our throats !!!

Mute Gash
    Favourite Gash
    Nov 23rd 2015, 6:08 PM

Where is the news story?

Mute Karl Monaghan
    Favourite Karl Monaghan
    Nov 24th 2015, 12:27 AM

L is for Labour
    L is for Lice

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lGpP2qTDDdY

Mute Willy
    Favourite Willy
    Nov 24th 2015, 5:16 AM

Labours way.. Fu(king liars…

Mute Karl Monaghan
    Favourite Karl Monaghan
    Nov 24th 2015, 12:20 AM

Having worked between the ages of 16 and 25, I never remember paying 50% of what was owed to the government in tax…

Does this 18 – 24 year olds are entitled to pay 11.5% VAT and 25% PAYE Tax???