You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

John Murray in studio this morning Brian McEvoy

RTE presenter John Murray talks frankly about his depression

The RTE Radio One presenter returned to his 9am radio slot today and spoke to listeners about how badly he had been affected by the illness.

RTE RADIO ONE host John Murray has spoken frankly about the depression which left him unable to work for more than six months.

The broadcaster returned to his 9am slot this morning after an extended sick leave and opened his show by explaining to listeners how badly he had been affected by the illness.

After beginning with a brief joke about Roy Keane, Murray said it was great to be back on air and thanked his family, friends and production staff for their support over the previous months, before explaining how he had been affected.

Murray described how quickly the depression and anxiety had hit him.  ”One minute I’m happily presenting this radio show and enjoying life, the next I’m… gripped with anxiety with the simplest task proving beyond me,” he said.

“Depression doesn’t just drop in for a quick hello and run for the hills,” he said. “It took a fancy to me… and boy did it make its presence felt.”

He said that one of the worst times of day had been the mornings “when the day ahead became something to endure rather than enjoy”.

He thanked all the people who had sent him cards, emails, mass cards and letters of support for “helping me get back here this morning” and urged anyone experiencing depression or anxiety to reach out and talk to someone.

His wife Miriam Donohoe tweeted to thank listeners for supporting John:

Many Twitter users also tweeted their support for his openness in discussing his illness.

Read: John Murray returns to RTE Radio 1 >

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

49 Comments
    Mute gastrophase
    Favourite gastrophase
    Nov 4th 2013, 9:51 AM

Be well John and kudos for speaking up!

Mute philip farrelly
    Favourite philip farrelly
    Nov 4th 2013, 10:00 AM

Well done John on speaking out about your depression, it will give hope to an awful lot of people, including mySelf.

Mute Dau&night
    Favourite Dau&night
    Nov 4th 2013, 11:14 AM

and fair play to you Philip for being strong enough to say that as well. Respect.

Mute Jim Walsh
    Favourite Jim Walsh
    Nov 4th 2013, 10:18 AM

While I wouldn’t be a regular listener to his show I did catch him this morning. Fair play to him for an open and frank admission of his battle. Depression is a cruel illness and because it isn’t an obvious physical ailment it still today tends to be shunned or not talked about.

Also fair play to RTE who seem to have supported him during this period by keeping his slot for him. Part of the reason that most people are reluctant to admit or talk about having depression is the fear of how it will affect their job.

Mute Michael Whelehan
    Favourite Michael Whelehan
    Nov 4th 2013, 2:08 PM

Absolutely spot-on Jim.

Mute Vinny
    Favourite Vinny
    Nov 4th 2013, 10:01 AM

We’ll done John
    Depression drains your energy, hope, and drive, making it difficult to do what you need to feel better. But while overcoming depression isn’t quick or easy, it’s far from impossible. You can’t beat it through sheer willpower, but you do have some control—even if your depression is severe and stubbornly persistent. The key is to start small and build from there. Feeling better takes time, and you can get there if you make positive choices for yourself each day.

Mute Bridget O'Hanlon
    Favourite Bridget O'Hanlon
    Nov 4th 2013, 10:11 AM

Well done, John. Very brave to address the issue of depression so openly. People who never suffer it have no idea how debilitating it can be, and entirely beyond your control. Hats off and welcome back

Mute Ronan O Siochain
    Favourite Ronan O Siochain
    Nov 4th 2013, 10:04 AM

Thanks John, your openness this morning has helped a lot of people who respect you even more than before.

Mute Stephen McMahon
    Favourite Stephen McMahon
    Nov 4th 2013, 10:27 AM

I know someone with depression and its a terrible thing. Cant do anything, even the simplest things, for himself. To be totally honest its hard not to get annoyed at times when he is bugging me to do stuff for him as I have quite a busy life an I try to stay supportive. But its tough or everyone involved. Well done to John for talking about it. Many people don’t understand and believe the person just needs to “Cop on and snap out of it”, If only it was that easy.

Mute RollyDodger
    Favourite RollyDodger
    Nov 4th 2013, 10:56 AM

Indeed Stephen… hard sometimes to qualify someone say struggling with mortgage arrears, bills, business going under etc etc you can understand being depressed anxious etc and then others who you assume have everything to not be depressed are just as depressed. Its a Debilitating condition…

In parts of the world where they do not have enough food to eat and worry about how will they stay on this earth while others with everything in their grasp looking for ways out of it… its a crazy world. Depression is a terrible thing.

Mute Ann Mc Loughlin
    Favourite Ann Mc Loughlin
    Nov 5th 2013, 3:47 AM

I think you’ve nailed it there. When someone who appears to have everything, or at least not a bad existence compared to others, suffers from depression there’s the added struggle of actually knowing this. You beat yourself up constantly because in your heart you know you aren’t struggling with the things others are and people pointing that out only heaps the guilt on. No one and I absolutely mean no one wants to be feeling so low, it’s a dreadful illness and just like any illness the all the patient wants to be is well. Best of luck to everyone suffering hope your recovery will be soon and complete and I hope you have the love and support of some kind patient people. And to those kind patient people stay well and strong, it will get better for your loved one.

Mute Kevin Smyth
    Favourite Kevin Smyth
    Nov 4th 2013, 10:36 AM

We’ll done John. Only recently, Stephen Fry talked about his long battle with depression. Someone wondered how he could be depressed, when he’s got money. He tried to explain how it’s like any disease, in that it doesn’t choose it’s victims based on wealth.

As long as the topic is avoided and swept under the carpet, their will be ignorance. Get it out in the open. Depression doesn’t like open spaces. As far as I’m aware, support is the best weapon in fighting this debilitating sickness.
    Best of luck to John and everyone else who’s suffering depression.
    “I’m not a praying man but, Superman, if you can hear me”. Homer Simpson

Mute Jane Hayden
    Favourite Jane Hayden
    Nov 4th 2013, 10:02 AM

Great to hear you back John.

Mute joe reid
    Favourite joe reid
    Nov 4th 2013, 11:33 AM

Glad to hear John back on the airwaves. Wishing you health and happiness. Depression does not only effect the individual but the people we love and are close to us. I do not know how my lovely wife/ best friend has managed to stay at my side. Every day is difficult , a form of endurance test. It is great to hear well known personalities talking about their personal battle with depression. My battle continues.

Mute Padraig McKeon
    Favourite Padraig McKeon
    Nov 4th 2013, 4:56 PM

Joe, your sensitivity to those around you despite the weight bearing down on you is every bit as inspiring and encouraging as any well know personality. Be well.

Mute dominic
    Favourite dominic
    Nov 4th 2013, 10:13 AM

Delighted you are back John.Beir Bua.

Mute Bill Butler
    Favourite Bill Butler
    Nov 4th 2013, 10:13 AM

Fair play to you John wish there were more people like you on the airwaves.now while your at it blast the political class while you have that mike.

Mute sean o reilly
    Favourite sean o reilly
    Nov 4th 2013, 10:28 AM

Welco.e back John. Mornings weren’t the same without you.

Mute Anne Marie Fitzgerald
    Favourite Anne Marie Fitzgerald
    Nov 4th 2013, 10:41 AM

What an inspiration to us all – go raibh maith agat John.

Mute Lillian Guerin
    Favourite Lillian Guerin
    Nov 4th 2013, 10:42 AM

It also seems like John has support n respect from family n friends, so basic but so vital. Thank u for speaking out about ur depression :-)

Mute Audrey Maughan
    Favourite Audrey Maughan
    Nov 4th 2013, 2:15 PM

A good thing happened today. John Murray returned. :-)

Mute Aoife
    Favourite Aoife
    Nov 4th 2013, 11:10 AM

Silverharp, it doesn’t matter who’s talking about it, it’s irrelevant. The point is that we get a discussion going about mental health issues in this country because we just don’t talk about it. And that is detrimental to anyone with depression because not talking makes it a million times worse – trust me I know. To the likes of Conor and John I say thank you for getting the country talking about such an important issue. It’s a very brave step and you are great to do it. Great to have you back John. RTE1 wasn’t the same without you! Stay well x

Mute Silverharp Harp
    Favourite Silverharp Harp
    Nov 4th 2013, 12:42 PM

Well as I am not allowed to be critical of the role of RTE personalities and talking heads in relation to the wider community I just think it would be better to hear bottom up stories like the recent ones on suicide which were much more powerful. the 15 minute news cycle like chinese food will be soon forgotten

Mute Emily Elephant
    Favourite Emily Elephant
    Nov 4th 2013, 12:46 PM

Not to disagree with the basic point that it’s unhelpful to pretend that it doesn’t exist, but most of us depressives have no desire to talk about it. Going to the other extreme of exploring every nook and cranny of it is probably not a lot better. I don’t think you are suggesting this, but some people (funnily enough, those who have a financial stake in it) seem to want to. We all cope differently. Plenty of us have packed depression in a box marked “Toxic – Do Not Open” and shoved it in the corner. The box is still there and not to be ignored, and it’s not shameful to have the box. But we don’t especially want to poke at it.

Mute kkkjsjsksk
    Favourite kkkjsjsksk
    Nov 4th 2013, 6:11 PM

us depressives – lol

Mute Mary Murphy
    Favourite Mary Murphy
    Nov 4th 2013, 10:52 AM

Welcome back John Murray, delighted that you are and great to hear you are on the road again. Well done on talking about your illness and great you got through it. Best wishes going forward and hope you and your family enjoy the moment

Mute Maria Mulvihill
    Favourite Maria Mulvihill
    Nov 4th 2013, 10:54 AM

Well done John you’ve done so well. Look after yourself

Mute Anne Marie Fitzgerald
    Favourite Anne Marie Fitzgerald
    Nov 4th 2013, 10:43 AM

What an Inspiration to us all – Go raibh maith agat John

Mute Blacksod63
    Favourite Blacksod63
    Nov 4th 2013, 11:02 AM

Well said and welcome back. Huge respect for you and yours.

Mute Francis Stokes
    Favourite Francis Stokes
    Nov 4th 2013, 12:16 PM

Used to listen to him when he was on Morning Ireland. Great to see John back on Air. Wishing him the best of luck for the future.

Mute andrew
    Favourite andrew
    Nov 4th 2013, 1:46 PM

Really, luck isn’t what he needs. It is a decent programme. The show is dreadful. The personal story is fair enough, but the problem is with RTE and its programming not with any individual’s health

Mute David Burke
    Favourite David Burke
    Nov 4th 2013, 11:34 AM

Well done!

Mute Margaret Martin
    Favourite Margaret Martin
    Nov 4th 2013, 5:36 PM

Yes I suffer from depression .maybe I should say I did suffer I’m on medication for it and am very well.can do everything I want to do.my professor is a wonderful man.pat mckeon.

Mute Marc Marcel
    Favourite Marc Marcel
    Nov 4th 2013, 12:41 PM

6 months is a quick recovery in the world of depression, though i’m sure he’s just finding his feet now. 3 years down would be an average minimum unless you’re not ‘that’ depressed or them pills work for some. someone told me recently they had a nervous breakdown, they’d been in hospital for a day and let home the next. it must have been something else as it certainly was not a breakdown. Sometimes highlighting it can make others aware of how much an easy excuse it is to use. It ain’t no Tuesday’s blues. Or another been told to go down to the cancer ward and look at all those people fighting to live while you’re feeling sorry for yourself. Thats another old nugget fired out by the ignorant. Wouldn’t wish it on them god love them.

Mute Rita O'Donnell
    Favourite Rita O'Donnell
    Nov 4th 2013, 5:08 PM

nice to hear u back on radio this morning all the best

Mute jerry slattery
    Favourite jerry slattery
    Nov 4th 2013, 7:26 PM

Never had a problem with Johns depression, It was an open secret as only in Ireland every dog in the street had heard about it and spoken about it ,
    What fascinated me was that the usual gutter press such as the Indo or Mail did not make one mention of it over the last seven months . I admire the editors of these rags for doing so and let the man have some privacy but I do wish they had the same respect for people in other areas of public life when they go through similar hell .
    We seem to live in country where the media decide who is going to be the victim this week and who’s life is going to be made hell and who is going to be let live in peace
    A powerful biased press is a dangerous thing to have especially when you consider how few people are involved in the game here .
    I would love to see some kind of debate around it here but unlikely if the removal of last nights post is anything to go by

Mute Petr Tarasov
    Favourite Petr Tarasov
    Nov 4th 2013, 11:32 PM

Well said. Five of my comments now deleted on this thread. Ludicrous.

Mute Patrick Davern
    Favourite Patrick Davern
    Nov 4th 2013, 8:29 PM

Just to say john I love your programme and admire you all the more for your courage and humanity

Mute james boylan
    Favourite james boylan
    Nov 4th 2013, 10:15 PM

I wish him well. Never liked his show though, thought it was terrible how for the first few minutes of his shows he would make jokes about other people’s problems, hope he has more respect for others now.

Mute james boylan
    Favourite james boylan
    Nov 4th 2013, 10:26 PM

Don’t write anything but fawning praise as your comment will be removed. I had a mildly critical comment of his show removed within minutes.

Mute Petr Tarasov
    Favourite Petr Tarasov
    Nov 4th 2013, 11:17 PM

I’ve had five comments deleted. Nothing offensive – I actually said I liked him as a broadcaster – and I named no names. I agreed with someone else that the media are awful quiet when one of their own do something indiscreet or criminal. All my comments were deleted, seriously losing patience with this.

Mute Petr Tarasov
    Favourite Petr Tarasov
    Nov 4th 2013, 11:19 PM

The criminality wasn’t related to Murray but to the alleged offences committed by Tom Humphries and the disgraceful silence of most of the Irish media. Imagine, say a footballer, was accused of the same thing.

Mute Natasha Alex
    Favourite Natasha Alex
    Nov 5th 2013, 11:40 AM

I recently have a good luck spell cast on me by Dr ekaka email: ekakaspelltemple@yahoo.com spell temple and I want anyone to tell me how it use to work because still I had this spell cast on me different companies has been coming to me for me to work with them and I do not really know which of the companies is the right one for me and I’m so happy because since last 7months I lost my job and I have been looking for job and I was unable to get one for myself till I had this spell cast on me so is there anyone that can advice me on which of the companies that is right for me? And I also thank Dr.ekaka for his help too anyone in need of help with spell I will advise you to contact him