You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Pope John Paul II died in 2005. MICHAEL PROBST/AP

Vial thieves steal blood of Pope John Paul II

Sniffer dogs and 50 police officers are on the hunt for the deceased pontiff’s blood.

A TUBE CONTAINING Polish Pope John Paul II’s blood has been stolen from a church in Italy, sparking a region-wide search involving sniffer dogs and 50 police officers according to reports in Italian media.

The vial was stolen on Saturday from the San Pietro della Ienca church in the mountainous Abruzzo region in central Italy where the pope, who died in 2005, loved to go on skiing holidays, according to the Repubblica daily.

Police and sniffer dogs are sweeping the area, famed for its weathered stone houses and the little church where the head of the Catholic Church once reportedly took refuge in a storm.

Pasquale Corriere, head of the “San Pietro della Ienca” association, said there are only three vials in the world containing the former pontiff’s blood.

John Paul II and the Italian pope John XXIII, known as the “good pope”,  are set to become saints in a ceremony at the Vatican in April expected to draw hundreds of thousands of pilgrims.

© – AFP 2014

Read: Two miracles later and Pope John Paul II is on his way to sainthood >

Read: 9 reasons why Pope John Paul II was the best pope >

View 57 comments
57 Comments
    Mute Dee4
    Favourite Dee4
    Jan 27th 2014, 11:09 AM

why kind of sickos keep vials of dead people’s blood outside of research? the hocus pocus element of Catholicism is highly amusing and tragic at the same time.

Mute Michael Farrell
    Favourite Michael Farrell
    Jan 27th 2014, 11:10 AM

They must have to keep it to use in some of the magic spells.

Mute Martin Bishop
    Favourite Martin Bishop
    Jan 27th 2014, 11:12 AM

What kind of sick, twisted people?

The catholic church, thats who!

See 21 more replies ▾
    Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Jan 27th 2014, 11:18 AM

The same church that re-enacts a human sacrifice at mass then eats the body and drinks the blood of the victim. Not symbolically, they believe it literally, it’s actual flesh and blood.

Mute Brian Guilfoyle
    Favourite Brian Guilfoyle
    Jan 27th 2014, 11:27 AM

You leave Zombie Jesus out of this!!

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Jan 27th 2014, 11:36 AM

Can any red thumbers explain why they red thumbed for pointing out a fact?

Mute Martin Bishop
    Favourite Martin Bishop
    Jan 27th 2014, 11:37 AM

Dermot,
    Yet if any other religion believed they were eating somebody as part of their beliefs the catholic church would be quick to call it a cult or devil worship.

Eating zombie Jesus is just wrong,

Mute Declan O'Flaherty
    Favourite Declan O'Flaherty
    Jan 27th 2014, 11:43 AM

The whole thing is about a cosmic Jewish Zombie who was his own father can make you live forever if you symbolically eat his flesh and telepathically tell him you accept him as your master, so he can remove an evil force from your soul that is present in humanity because a rib-woman was convinced by a talking snake to eat from a magical tree….and you’re taking issue with a tube of blood?

Mute Kevin Elliott
    Favourite Kevin Elliott
    Jan 27th 2014, 11:56 AM

I red thumbed you Dermot because you are (probably deliberately) misinterpreting Catholic doctrine on the Eucharist. I’m sure you know it’s referred to as a bloodless sacrifice and there is no suggestion that Jesus suffers, bleeds or dies again during a mass. What Catholics actually believe is that Christ’s sacrifice is resubmitted to God in offer for the gift of mercy for the individuals who receive the Eucharist. The physical qualities of the bread and wine do not change only their ‘nature’

Mute Jim Flavin
    Favourite Jim Flavin
    Jan 27th 2014, 12:02 PM

Can any red thumbers explain why they red thumbed for pointing out a fact?”

– No of course they cant – they are the ”silent minority ”- . They call stupidity -”faith ” – and as u say believe a wafer is the actual muscle and bones of Mr Jesus – if one can get ” people ” to believe that rubbish – all is possible – unfortunately.

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Jan 27th 2014, 12:15 PM

Explain what you mean by the physical properties don’t change, only their nature?
    Obviously they are just simple bread and wine to a non believer, what do you believe they are?

Mute Declan O'Flaherty
    Jan 27th 2014, 12:25 PM

I can take this one Kevin…
    Dermot you know when someone takes magic mushrooms and believe that say.. their friend has turned into say… an elephant? Well it’s kinda like that except in this case replace friend with bread, elephant with flesh and magic mushrooms with bewildered gullibility.

Mute James
    Favourite James
    Jan 27th 2014, 12:56 PM

Declan, stop trying to be funny that same “piece” that you just wrote has been out for some time now, we’ve all seen it

Mute Declan O'Flaherty
    Jan 27th 2014, 12:59 PM

And?

Mute Kevin Elliott
    Favourite Kevin Elliott
    Jan 27th 2014, 1:02 PM

Dermot, Catholic doctrine refers to the substance of the Eucharist. By substance they mean the metaphysical reality of something beyond it’s physical properties. It’s a philosophical concept that I’m sure you can read more on

Mute Ginger Jihad
    Favourite Ginger Jihad
    Jan 27th 2014, 1:15 PM

Mass, what a load of shite! Hehehehe, the body of Christ, what a load of shite! Every time an article is put up involving the Catholic Church, it starts a race to the bottom in the comments section. You’d think by now people would have grown tired of shooting fish in a barrel.

Mute Ross Casey
    Favourite Ross Casey
    Jan 27th 2014, 1:16 PM

Ah Dermot Lane, a sad little man whose only joy is making fun of others.

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Jan 27th 2014, 1:22 PM

Ross where do I make fun of anyone here? Made some comments, asked some questions. I can see others poking fun, but I didn’t.

Mute Declan O'Flaherty
    Jan 27th 2014, 1:36 PM

In fairness I was pulling the p*** a little, Dermot is asking genuine questions… that no one seems to be able to answer.

Mute Barry Ryan
    Favourite Barry Ryan
    Jan 27th 2014, 2:05 PM

Your explanation still makes followers of Catholicism a bit crazy. Thanks for clearing it up though!

Mute Beabad Bishop
    Favourite Beabad Bishop
    Jan 27th 2014, 4:29 PM

The use of the word sacrifice is a bit of a misnomer. The character christ didn’t actually die in the true sense . if anything he cheated death , so not much of a sacrifice really. Especially when your Daddy can bring you back to life. Now if he had been crushed to oblivion and ceased to ever exist again in any form of realm , then that would be a sacrifice. But of course if he truly died and was never risen you wouldn’t have your religion now would you . All seems like a bit of an elaborate con trick to me.

Mute Beabad Bishop
    Favourite Beabad Bishop
    Jan 27th 2014, 5:03 PM

Children in this country have suffered a million fold more by the hands of the RCC than the character Christ ever suffered ! JP II played no small role in the cover up of some of that suffering . I wish we could bring him back to stand trial . A thousand deaths wouldn’t be enough for those protectors and facilitators of child rape.

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Jan 27th 2014, 8:25 PM

So, Ross the silence is deafening. And telling. Unable to debate, you resort to slander.

Mute Kieran Casey
    Favourite Kieran Casey
    Jan 28th 2014, 6:41 AM

Sure look at the history of Catholicism,and the Popes started wars killed thousands in the name of “God” and in recent history all the pedo’s it protected? When you want to get married you have to do a course where the holy father tells you how to live with your wife to be? Ffs i believe in Santa more than that pile of dung….!

Mute Mark Lillis
    Favourite Mark Lillis
    Jan 27th 2014, 11:53 AM

Isn’t Pope blood used in Chinese herbal medicine? It’s the reason Popes are so rare. Only 2 remain alive today and both in captivity.

Mute Brian Guilfoyle
    Favourite Brian Guilfoyle
    Jan 27th 2014, 1:25 PM

Fantastic!

Mute Paul Horgan
    Favourite Paul Horgan
    Jan 27th 2014, 11:14 AM

Quick , get Dan Brown on the phone !!

Mute Anthony Byrne
    Favourite Anthony Byrne
    Jan 27th 2014, 9:06 PM

Jaysus. Wtf

Mute Pauric McKenna
    Favourite Pauric McKenna
    Jan 27th 2014, 11:06 AM

Vial be back..

Mute Drew
    Favourite Drew
    Jan 27th 2014, 11:17 AM

Could this team of 50 police and sniffer dogs maybe be put to better use on ACTUAL police work… tracking abducted children, solving a murder case, breaking up a drug gang… At least it’s the Italian tax payers wasting money on such nonsense and our own…

Mute Daniel Wilson
    Favourite Daniel Wilson
    Jan 27th 2014, 12:11 PM

Probably the Vatican police, I would be be very surprised if an actual government put so many resources into something so hilarious

Mute Filthpig
    Favourite Filthpig
    Jan 27th 2014, 11:12 AM

Thieving vampires.

Mute Slow Harry
    Favourite Slow Harry
    Jan 27th 2014, 11:16 AM

Cant wait until the evil pope clone makes his appearance in a few years

Mute Michael Looney
    Favourite Michael Looney
    Jan 27th 2014, 8:00 PM

He already has!!

Mute eVeLyN hUgHeS
    Favourite eVeLyN hUgHeS
    Jan 27th 2014, 12:14 PM

I just can’t get the image of him skiing out of my head

Mute John Murphy
    Favourite John Murphy
    Jan 27th 2014, 12:38 PM

Why was he skiing out of your head?

Mute Ball Bag
    Favourite Ball Bag
    Jan 28th 2014, 7:18 AM

I had a dream I was skiing last night and the two guys on either side of me dreamt they got a hand job. Weird.

Mute Dermot O Dwyer
    Favourite Dermot O Dwyer
    Jan 27th 2014, 12:18 PM

Bloody thieves have no respect ….

Mute Séamus Mc Allister
    Favourite Séamus Mc Allister
    Jan 27th 2014, 1:52 PM

Could God not just tell the current pope where it is?

Mute Anthony Byrne
    Favourite Anthony Byrne
    Jan 27th 2014, 9:07 PM

The current pope probably couldn’t give a shit. Why would he?

Mute Peter Nolan
    Favourite Peter Nolan
    Jan 27th 2014, 11:19 AM

Plainly someone is hoping to clone themselves a Pope Army.

Mute James Patrick Smith
    Favourite James Patrick Smith
    Jan 27th 2014, 12:31 PM

Why was the vial kept anyway? More Hocus Pocus from Vat-Corp!.Thievery in general is deplorable so hope the pathetic thieves get caught.
    But what an over reaction to a drop of blood all those resources being used! I’m sure there’s missing people in Italy that could be searched for instead of the True Blood.

Mute Robin Hilliard
    Favourite Robin Hilliard
    Jan 27th 2014, 12:40 PM

Could they not just take some altar wine and transubstantiate it into JPII’s blood?

Seems the easiest fix to me.

Mute Steven Woodroffe
    Favourite Steven Woodroffe
    Jan 27th 2014, 11:18 AM

Someone is going to make their own church. Cloning baby!!!

Mute richardmccarthy
    Favourite richardmccarthy
    Jan 27th 2014, 11:54 AM

Why would you want to keep anyone’s blood unless its for research,not to mind robbing it,even worse than the old one of keeping ashes on the mantle piece.

Mute The Burning Van
    Favourite The Burning Van
    Jan 27th 2014, 12:07 PM

Are you kidding Saint Blood ! Be worth a fortune for it’s…. eh…. profit.

Mute James Patrick Smith
    Favourite James Patrick Smith
    Jan 27th 2014, 12:33 PM

I hear a drop of Papal Blood regrows limbs! and cures baldness!

Mute Una Leahy
    Favourite Una Leahy
    Jan 27th 2014, 12:31 PM

Whatever happened to ……Dust thou Art And Into Dust Thou shall Return.. Never heard anything more silly than having sniffer dogs out looking for blood!

Mute AARO-SAURUS
    Favourite AARO-SAURUS
    Jan 27th 2014, 12:26 PM

GREAT ODINS RAVEN!

Mute Vocal Outrage
    Favourite Vocal Outrage
    Jan 27th 2014, 11:35 AM

Check out the book ‘The Miracle Strain’ also called ‘The God Strain’ in some countries, right out of the plot

Mute Michael Looney
    Favourite Michael Looney
    Jan 27th 2014, 8:11 PM

Angelina Jolie and Billy Bob Thornton both had viles of each other’s blood around their necks and, excuse the pun, but got crucified by the f*cking church! Do as I say not as I do.. RCC the root of all evil!!

Mute Edmund Murray
    Favourite Edmund Murray
    Jan 27th 2014, 8:37 PM

ALL evil?? Seriously?? Even the RCC enemies don’t say stuff like that!

Mute Michael Looney
    Favourite Michael Looney
    Jan 27th 2014, 9:03 PM

I’m sorry, did I stutter??!!!

Mute Natasha Galligan
    Favourite Natasha Galligan
    Jan 27th 2014, 6:42 PM

I hear the coppers investigating this are out for blood ….

Mute Gráinne Ní Bhriain
    Favourite Gráinne Ní Bhriain
    Jan 27th 2014, 1:02 PM

Seriously that is gone nd sold in the black market

Mute Fergal Kelly
    Favourite Fergal Kelly
    Jan 27th 2014, 6:10 PM

Vile act.

Mute f m
    Favourite f m
    Jan 28th 2014, 12:52 PM

Not the worry they provably have vats of the ‘blood’ out the back just like all holy relics.

Take the cross of Jesus relics. If you add up all the wood across the globe that people claim is from the original cross of Jesus you would have enough to open a garden centre selling many built garden sheds out of it.

It amazes me that people believe this rubbish.