You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Jonathan O'Brien. Laura Hutton/Photocall Ireland

Sinn Féin TD tells Labour backbencher to 'shut his mouth' after homeless brother revelation

Eric Byrne asked why Jonathan O’Brien’s family did not “take in” his brother, who is a recovering drug addict.

Updated 4.10pm 

SINN FÉIN TD Jonathan O’Brien says that he is not expecting an apology from Labour backbencher Eric Byrne after “ignorant and flippant” remarks made about O’Brien’s brother in the Dáil.

During Leaders’ Questions yesterday, O’Brien interrupted Tánaiste Joan Burton to reveal his brother is homeless as she spoke about the government’s plans to tackle the issue of homelessness among people who have completed drug rehabilitation programmes.

Deputy Maureen O’Sullivan had raised the issue, citing the example of a person who has been drug-free for 20 months, but has been forced to live in accommodation with drug users.

A government reconfiguration before Christmas meant that some drug-free hostels were required to admit drug users. That is something that O’Sullivan said worried many drug users, quoting one man whom she had met.

His great fear is for his fellow addicts in the house, that someone will lose his or her life through relapse. He states that he has been through many services in his time and has learnt what works and does not work, and the house where he resides is a perfect example of what does not work. He attends 12-step meetings which tell him to avoid persons, places and things connected to drug use, and that has been impossible to do with the reconfiguration that has taken place.

“As a result of that reconfiguration, there is now widespread heroin use. There is dealing and chaotic behaviour. There are multiple relapses. There has been at least one serious overdose and there are debt issues as well.”

Heated Dáil exchange

When the Tánaiste resumed her answer, O’Brien interrupted, telling her she “did not have a clue”. He revealed that he has a brother who is homeless and a recovering drug addict. He said his brother had been forced to go back into a hostel where drug taking was happening.

That prompted Labour backbencher Eric Byrne to interject, eliciting a strong reaction from O’Brien.

Deputy Eric Byrne (Lab): Why does his good family not take him home?

Deputy Jonathan O’Brien (SF):  Shut your mouth.

Deputy Derek Keating (FG):  A Leas-Cheann Comhairle, that is completely out of order.

Deputy Pádraig Mac Lochlainn (SF): Deputies should have a bit of common decency.

Deputy Derek Keating: It is completely out of order for Deputy O’Brien to tell another Deputy to shut his mouth.

Deputy Eric Byrne: What would one expect from Sinn Féin?

Deputy Derek Keating: He should withdraw the remark and apologise.

Deputy Pádraig Mac Lochlainn: In the circumstances, Members should have a bit of common decency and cop themselves on. The Deputy is the first one to run to the television. He should cop himself on.

job dail Oireachtas TV Oireachtas TV

Speaking to TheJournal.ie this morning, O’Brien said that he hadn’t planned on bringing his personal experience into the debate, but had been angered by the Tánaiste’s answers.

“It’s frustrating because [what the Tánaiste suggested] doesn’t address the issue. She was just giving an answer for the sake of giving one.

“I’m sure she doesn’t want to see recovering drug addicts coming out and ending up back in rehab, but the answer she gave doesn’t solve the issue on the ground.”

On Byrne’s comments, O’Brien says he has yet to receive an apology, nor does he expect one.

That’s the kind of person you’re dealing with, who will make ignorant and flippant remarks.

“He’s entitled to his opinion, but he simplified a complex problem. If it was as simple as he suggested, there would be no homelessness. This is coming from a man who spent 20 years on a drugs taskforce.

“There are real people behind these stats and the solution is more complicated than that.”

‘Hesitated’

Deputy Byrne could not be reached for comment this morning.

Speaking on RTÉ’s Liveline this afternoon, the other govenrment TD involved in yesterday’s exchange, Fine Gael’s Derek Keating, said he had not heard O’Brien tell the chamber that his brother was homeless.

“I did not hear Deputy O’Brien make reference to homeless. I heard him say something about his brother,” he told Joe Duffy.

Keating said that if he had heard the full contribution from O’Brien he would “hesitated” before raising the matter with the Leas Ceann Comhairle and asking for it to be withdrawn.

“My comment was solely in relation to the circumstances that arise when TDs begin to tell each other to shut up,” he said.

- additional reporting from Hugh O’Connell

First published 9.40am 

Read: Fine Gael and Labour will cut taxes, Sinn Féin will abolish some. So what will Fianna Fáil do?

Read: Senator Catherine Noone reports abusive tweets which wish her raped or dead

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

239 Comments
    Mute ciara walton
    Favourite ciara walton
    Jan 16th 2015, 10:03 AM

Labours comment to O Brien is enraging. When I was 10 I would’ve asked in all innocence “why don’t their families mind them”. Then you grow up and realise the utter complexity surrounding these issues.
    Primary school children would carry themselves better in the Dáil than most of the TDs in there.

Mute John O'Neill
    Favourite John O'Neill
    Jan 16th 2015, 10:31 AM

Low and dirty remark…exactly what you’d expect from Labour TDs these days…

Mute Spiderman_Irish
    Favourite Spiderman_Irish
    Jan 16th 2015, 10:59 AM

This is what happens Ireland when you buy into “personality” over “policy.”

We never questioned Labour or Fine Gael when they needed our vote, now they are aristocrats and snob citizens. Drug abuse is a problem a huge one. It doesn’t makes these people less of human beings. It can make them dangerous though but with the right funding and reform “people” can get back to an ordinary way of life free from drugs. It just takes “will” and “action.”

But then again Labour and Fine Gael are too busy protecting universal entitlements and setting up large expensive quangos for services we already pay for than thinking about the “average person” and their welfare.

See 17 more replies ▾
    Mute Ann Buggy
    Favourite Ann Buggy
    Jan 16th 2015, 11:11 AM

Wouldn’t worry a whole lot about them there day’s are numbered no matter how much they blow there trumpet this week people see through them

Mute Spiderman_Irish
    Jan 16th 2015, 11:13 AM

Wow so there are people out there that red thumbed me en masse for that? Cool beans.

Drug addiction is like an illness. We have cracked up this week about people lying on trolley beds but there are hundreds of people around the country sleeping rough, most of which have “an illness.”

Is that acceptable considering cancer patients and sick people at least get access to the health service in some shape or form and stand a chance of being treated properly; with the outcome being positive in a lot of cases?

Yet we feed people metadone and send them on their way with drug addiction. Come off it. The best case scenario for the state by the looks of things is that these people die.

Mute Rusty Balls
    Favourite Rusty Balls
    Jan 16th 2015, 11:28 AM

Drug abuse is endemic in every facet of Irish society, you may not see it but its there never the less and you will be aware of its effects. It was a shock for me some months ago when I was taking a short cut down a side street with my son, thankfully a bigger lad than me, we passed a group of young lads, some sitting on the ground and others smoking. I didn’t give them a second look and just nodded saying something like “lads”, my son grabbed my arm and pulled me along This caused me to look at the group again and it was only then that I noticed the needle in the arm of one and stupidly I turned back to see if he was alright, I thought he may have been diabetic or something. Yeah I know, stupid. Some of the others immediately moved and began asking if we “had any odds or a couple of smokes”. My son told them where to go in no uncertain terms and practically dragged me away, when we were a few yards away he asked me if I didn’t smell the “exoctic tobacco”. Now I know this might sound a bit odd to many but I’ve no idea what it smells like, still don’t, and I’m happy that way.
    This was just yards away from the main street of a major town in broad daylight in Ireland, and I’ve no reason to believe my experience was anything unusual. Every time I recount this story to others everyone has a similar one to tell, seeing people shooting up in broad daylight on O’Connell Street, having a family member who the love dearly but have to turn away. Its heart breaking.

Mute John Joseph McDermott
    Favourite John Joseph McDermott
    Jan 16th 2015, 11:37 AM

“Low and dirty remark…exactly what you’d expect from Labour TDs these days…”
    They are fighting a rearguard action against wipe out-with many of their votes going to Sinn Fein come next election.
    Expect more scurrelous activity from Joan the Moan & Co in the coming months.

Mute Spiderman_Irish
    Jan 16th 2015, 11:39 AM

And not only that Rusty but I often see people fighting because of drugs, money, and/ or robbing people for both on O’Connell Street.

The thing is these people are ill, they see nothing other than the drug and how to get it. They would go through you for a 6 pence in order to feed that habit. Hence why they are ill. They don’t see logic or reason but with genuine help, support and decent funding we can get these people back in some shape or form to what you or I am.

Mute Sergeant Yates
    Favourite Sergeant Yates
    Jan 16th 2015, 11:42 AM

Why did the SF deputy bring up the reference in the first place – could he not have spoken in general terms.. i think because he was looking for the sympathy vote… the issue of homelessness is indeed complex and the barb by the Labour TD was crass… but the SF made it a political issue when he mentioned his brother… what difference does it make and did that needed to be put in the public domain? – For what purpose did he say it. Answers on a postcard to politics 101, C/O trying to get re-elected.

Mute Spiderman_Irish
    Jan 16th 2015, 11:44 AM

If someone brings up the issue of potholes in Cork or Donegal are they looking for personal sympathy?

Mute Rusty Balls
    Favourite Rusty Balls
    Jan 16th 2015, 11:47 AM

@Spiderman Jaysus I didn’t realise it was that bad, but what do we do? Do we write them off or try to help them, clearly some can be helped? I know of a couple of ex addicts who have recovered, I know you can’t make someone recover, they have to want to, but surely if there is some sort of method or means out there then we owe it to our citizens to try. If it was my son or daughter I know I’d want to try anything. If we balance what this drug plague is costing the nation in terms of crime, methadone, healthcare, etc. against investing in treatment it could be beneficial for all. Doing noting sure as Hell isn’t working.

Mute Spiderman_Irish
    Jan 16th 2015, 12:09 PM

Well a lot of people think the best way is to create a load of clean houses where they can shoot up in a safe and controlled environment like what happens in some countries. Some think rehab the way to go but I think it is a mixture of both. Both have positives and negatives but the “key” is a change in mindset from “skum” to “people that are ill” and then treat it as something akin to a disease or a mental illness.

Mute Spiderman_Irish
    Jan 16th 2015, 12:14 PM

One of the great failures of this government is youth and young adult unemployment. Many people turn to drugs, drink or general hopelessness that would have otherwise been paying taxes to fund these services. The health system is a joke. Every year it is being cut and it is funding less and less each time. If more young people could get into the bracket that pays proper tax in this country we would have more money to pay for these services.

Instead many are living on the live register or emigrating. Those that emigrate are really just paying tax that we need here in Ireland to another country. They had 4 years now….is this the best that FG/LAB can do?

Mute Kay Keane
    Favourite Kay Keane
    Jan 16th 2015, 12:19 PM

Typical response.

Mute Patrick
    Favourite Patrick
    Jan 16th 2015, 2:00 PM

Previous to the US invading Afghanistan heroin wasn’t anything near the epidemic it is now. After that the opium industry exponentially increased . Theres drugs in every small town in Ireland now and the law are doing nothing other than hanging around estates arresting peaceful protestors. Such an upside down world we live in.

Mute Prov. Shinnerbot
    Favourite Prov. Shinnerbot
    Jan 16th 2015, 2:45 PM

Only Sinn Féin are allowed use their family for political point-scoring.

Mute Sheik Yahbouti
    Favourite Sheik Yahbouti
    Jan 16th 2015, 3:39 PM

Seargeant, I’m guessing he might have been enraged by JobBridge Joan’s flippant remarks which may have caused him to become intemperate. Just a guess on my part.

Mute Eddie O'Connor
    Favourite Eddie O'Connor
    Jan 16th 2015, 3:41 PM

Not exactly correct. For the Taliban years supply dropped but before that and since it has flowed from Afghan. Mexico is the becoming the major supplier, with a huge upsurge.

Mute Josie Jennings
    Favourite Josie Jennings
    Jan 16th 2015, 4:03 PM

No Prov. Shinnerbot, other parties use Sinn Fein’s family’s for political point scoring!

Mute Roisin O'Connell Hayes
    Favourite Roisin O'Connell Hayes
    Jan 16th 2015, 5:52 PM

I’m sorry spiderman but drug addiction is not an illness like cancer.no one ever had a choice with cancer !!!! You have a choice to out the first needle in your arm or not.and don’t give me any thing about disadvantages. I’m from a “disadvantaged area ” and not everyone does drugs

Mute little jim
    Favourite little jim
    Jan 16th 2015, 9:54 AM

Hang on, he’s spent 20 years on a drug task force?
    The incompetence runs deeper than I thought.

Mute Sol thai
    Favourite Sol thai
    Jan 16th 2015, 10:04 AM

It was probably paid un vouched expenses. with a clown like that on drugs task force how could it ever work. political appointments bring country down just look at state of judiciary.

Mute Layne Staley
    Favourite Layne Staley
    Jan 16th 2015, 10:19 AM

Keep banging those nails into the labour coffin deputy Eric Byrne.

Mute Spiderman_Irish
    Jan 16th 2015, 10:54 AM

It just raises the questions of what we do with people that are on drugs and homeless?

Something isn’t working and there appears to be no appetite to find solutions to the problem of substance abuse in the capital. We need to get these people off the streets, reformed and back working and living like the rest of us. We have had this problem in Ireland and in Dublin in particular for decades and nothing has been done about it.

Labour’s comments are cruel and unhelpful.

Mute John R
    Favourite John R
    Jan 16th 2015, 11:12 AM

Spiderman_Irish, more can certainly be done in this area but we need to be careful not to propagate the belief that all that is needed to reform drug addicts is some form of Government master plan. Nobody makes you put a needle in your arm. There are a whole range of reasons why people do and I am not judging them for it. Any one of use can end up in a place we never intended when we embarked on a course of action. But people cannot be compelled to cease their addiction no matter how many interventions. The fact that this SF TD feels insulted and offended and feels the need to blow off about it is simply more personality politics.

What will assist in this area is focussed, logical and national interventions. But it costs a great deal of money which has to come from somewhere. Do we take it from the health budget, the social protection budget or the education budget because that’s where all the money is spent in this country. For better or worse if people are given a choice between spending scarce public funds on an effective national drug treatment programme or more special needs teachers they will vote for the latter all the time. If people are given a choice between spending scarce public funds on building better prisons and prison programmes that might offer genuine rehabilitation opportunities as opposed to an investment in hospitals they will choose the latter all the time. It is far too easy to blame politicians for our own prejudices. Politicians know what it takes to get reelected and as all public expenditure involves choice and competition for the available funds they will put money into what people actually vote for rather than what people talk about. Very sad but very true and that is why we do not have better services for drug addicts.

Mute Spiderman_Irish
    Jan 16th 2015, 11:23 AM

I agree John but many do. There are many people living with drug addiction in its many guises across all walks of life. However the LAbour TD clearly made a personal remark about a family member. So this must apply to Labour as much as SF.

I absolutely agree with you on the lack of appetite on behalf of the wider electorate but something has to be done. I am not saying legalize it or create clean houses like they have in Bern. What I am saying is that they need to rehabilitate the people and spend money that way. People of course will fail no doubt and people will wonder why we would spend money on something that will have a high failure rate. But right now doing nothing is akin to saying “Let’s stop all treatment of aggressive illnesses” because it is cheaper to let nature take it’s course.

I bang on about this regular but we have the money for a lot of things that need funding. End universal payments to people on high salaries i.e get rid/ reduce the Children’s Allowance and State Pensions to people that “do not need them.” Redirect that money somewhere. Drug rehabilitation is one area that needs a lot of reform and Ireland could be a world leader if we start off small and see the effect one well funded scheme, see if it can deliver and then roll out nationwide as money starts to come back into the economy in the next 3-10 years.

Mute Johnny Al Lenn
    Favourite Johnny Al Lenn
    Jan 16th 2015, 11:35 AM

Well one thing which might help would be a massive overhaul of drugs policy, for instance decriminalising possession of small quantities, prison is not a cure for addiction and can worsen certain situations, and by not wasting time and resources finding, arresting and processing users these resources can instead be applied to finding suppliers. Could also legalise cannabis as it is as harmful as coffee and use the tax intake to fund treatment services for those dependent on addictive substances, including alcohol and pharmaceutical products.

Jan 16th 2015, 11:39 AM

“Hang on, he’s spent 20 years on a drug task force?
    The incompetence runs deeper than I thought.”
    I wonder how much money he accrued in expenses etc. during those 20 years.
    If he had been on the “prison visiting commitee” as well, he could have doubled his earnings..!!

Mute Spiderman_Irish
    Jan 16th 2015, 11:43 AM

I don’t know about legalizing Cannibis as it might send the wrong message. People will talk about the places where it is legal but the best thing to do with most substances is to avoid them. Full stop. There are side effects to its usage including mental illness but the legal stigma must be relaxed for addicts and more them towards reform. Other than that I 100 percent agree with the waste of money on fighting users as opposed to cracking down on dealers. Good point.

Mute Cupid Stunt
    Favourite Cupid Stunt
    Jan 16th 2015, 11:57 AM

I think cannabis should be legalised as it’s no way the same as meth or cocaine, having it illegal puts it in the hands of unscrupulous unregulated dealers. I can guarantee you that if alcohol was made illegal tomorrow that the same unscrupulous unregulated dealers would be selling drink and that drink would be tainted with paintstrippers or whatever. Drink has major issues and a detrimental effect on our country which would only be exasperated by making it illegal.

Mute Con Manne
    Favourite Con Manne
    Jan 16th 2015, 12:34 PM

Indeed Layne. Then he was so far up on his high horse, he couldn’t be reached.
    A distasteful interchange between the unacceptable and the unbelievable.

Mute John R
    Favourite John R
    Jan 16th 2015, 12:36 PM

Spiderman_Irish, I find myself in agreement with you. I am not a fan of universal benefits which do not take account of income. The State has scare resources in the social sphere and should largely apply them for one of two primary purposes (a) to help overcome or mitigate income disadvantage (2) for broader societal benefits (e.g. education and health areas). However, I would not be confident that the funds released would be applied in the manner you propose because there would be competing demands for those additional resources. This is why I believe that raising public awareness and consciousness is critical if reform is to succeed. Other than that I honestly believe we could do a great deal better here instead of treating drug addicts as low life scangers who deserve what they have coming to them.

Mute Praise Hope
    Favourite Praise Hope
    Jan 16th 2015, 4:54 PM

Well why didn’t he take his brother in? He said he’s off drugs. oh but of course sinn fein expect the government to do everything for everyone with no money to fund any of it.

Mute Niallers
    Favourite Niallers
    Jan 16th 2015, 9:41 AM

Stay classy Labour..

Mute E
    Favourite E
    Jan 16th 2015, 9:56 AM

The cheek of him insulting the government’s agenda of ignorance.

Mute An Ciarraioch
    Favourite An Ciarraioch
    Jan 16th 2015, 10:04 AM

This is why Connolly and Larkin are so mortified and spinning in their graves .

This ignoramus Eric Byrne , late of The Stickies – Workers Party – Democratic Left and now The Labour Party , who should know better .

Obviously , the problem of drugs has never visited his Family ?
    Just how could an Elected Representative be that gross ignorant and insensitive ?

See 24 more replies ▾
    Mute buzzbaron
    Favourite buzzbaron
    Jan 16th 2015, 10:08 AM

Having spent 20 years on the drug task force, you would think he might have learned a thing or two about the issue.

Mute Luke's stalker
    Favourite Luke's stalker
    Jan 16th 2015, 10:11 AM

Eric Byrne and Derek Keating are absolute pigs.

Mute An Ciarraioch
    Favourite An Ciarraioch
    Jan 16th 2015, 10:15 AM

Joan Burton , An Tanaiste , on RTE1 Radio , presently , making a complete ass of herself !
    She is completely losing it – on air !

This Government and its Taoiseach and Ministers , is in complete disarray .

Mute Cuppantae
    Favourite Cuppantae
    Jan 16th 2015, 10:34 AM

To tell an elected member of a Parliament to “Shut their mouth” is completely out of order, while the Labour TD should have used some decorum and worded his comment maybe a little better, there is no excuse for vulgarity. It demeans the value of our democratic institutions…then again its not unknown for a member of SF to try snd cause a stir in the Dail…

Mute james comiskey
    Favourite james comiskey
    Jan 16th 2015, 10:40 AM

Yes you would think he would be in Sinn Fein not attacking them

Jan 16th 2015, 10:46 AM

Cuppantae I would suggest it is Labour in this instance demeaning the value of our democratic institutions…..

Mute An Ciarraioch
    Favourite An Ciarraioch
    Jan 16th 2015, 10:48 AM

Cuppantae – The ould Gerryphobia virus is still there in your bloodstream a Chara ???
    Hard to weigh things up in a balanced way , when you are running a Blueshirt temperature , isn’t it ?

Mute Luke's stalker
    Favourite Luke's stalker
    Jan 16th 2015, 11:01 AM

It is far far worse to say what Byrne said. He deserved a punch not just a telling off. You’re obviously just a troll

Mute Spiderman_Irish
    Jan 16th 2015, 11:02 AM

Cuppantae if I slagged a member of your family with a problem they have…..someone say like your “Mother” or your “Brother or a situation that they were in, and how you were doing “nothing” about it; what would you do?

Would you look at me or would you cross the room and have words with me?

Mute Prov. Shinnerbot

Comrade Ciarraíoch, I hope their Gerryphobia gives way to Gerryfever! #tiocfaidhárlá2016

Mute Paul Mc
    Favourite Paul Mc
    Jan 16th 2015, 11:36 AM

He should have said shut your mouth you ignorant Labour Langar.

Jan 16th 2015, 11:41 AM

“Honk-honk”

Mute JournalStasi
    Favourite JournalStasi
    Jan 16th 2015, 11:50 AM

Serious question… Why do people expect the state to solve every problem? I’m sure the family have tried to help this poor man , but if his family haven’t been able to get him off drugs then what makes you think strangers will do any better?

Mute Were Jammin
    Favourite Were Jammin
    Jan 16th 2015, 12:03 PM

Because those strangers would have specialist training in dealing with and assisting addicts and direct access to other professionals who could assist the addict in other aspects of their treatment/recovery?

Mute Yvonne Byrne
    Favourite Yvonne Byrne
    Jan 16th 2015, 12:21 PM

If memory serves me, and I may be wrong, but I think that was Brendan Lynch. Husband of Kathleen and brother of Ciaran

Mute D H
    Favourite D H
    Jan 16th 2015, 12:27 PM

Because Journal stasi when it comes to personal problems such as addiction sometimes outside help is more effective. There is embarassment of needing help, and in some cases its those closest who may be in some way seen as the root of the problem by an addicted mind. It can be easier to open up to strangers and the effectiveness of group therapy for addiction has been proven to be very beneficial and supportive. When youre an addict chances are you dont have the money for private treatment centers so there is nowhere else to turn but to the state. And its in our interests to help addicts who want help as the less addicts we have the less crime associated with addiction we have

Mute An Ciarraioch
    Favourite An Ciarraioch
    Jan 16th 2015, 12:32 PM

Prob.Shinnerbot – FG / Enda’s Troll – A Wolf in Sheeps clothing .
    A Faker , all the way – just like Enda !

Mute John Hanlu
    Favourite John Hanlu
    Jan 16th 2015, 12:50 PM

“20 years on the drug task force” surely this should show people how ineffective the likes of E Byrne is. The use of illegal drugs have exploded in the last 20 years, what the hell has this “drug task force” been up to? Drawing down plenty of expenses?

Mute Prov. Shinnerbot
    Jan 16th 2015, 1:04 PM

Comrade Ciarraíoch, as unquestioning Adams supporters, does that make us Gerryatrics?

Mute An Ciarraioch
    Favourite An Ciarraioch
    Jan 16th 2015, 2:02 PM

Prob.Shinnerbot – It just proves that you FG Trolls suffer from Gerryphobia Virus !!!!!!!

Mute Sergeant Yates
    Favourite Sergeant Yates
    Jan 16th 2015, 3:15 PM

Its hard to figure out who is the parody and who is the true supporter… an ciarrioch or Shinnerbot. The quest continues.

Mute Prov. Shinnerbot
    Jan 16th 2015, 3:32 PM

Sergeant Yates – FG / Enda’s Troll – A Wolf in Sheeps clothing .
    A Faker , all the way – just like Enda !

Mute William Willis
    Favourite William Willis
    Jan 16th 2015, 10:07 PM

You’re right – Exactly. And if he’s like that in parliament, what’s he like at home?

Mute Jonathan Bambury
    Favourite Jonathan Bambury
    Jan 16th 2015, 10:34 PM

Dirty little pampas tramps ….

Mute Stephen Duggan
    Favourite Stephen Duggan
    Jan 16th 2015, 9:45 AM

A new low by labour, they are about as left and working class as my right ball.

Mute Gerard McAuliffe
    Favourite Gerard McAuliffe
    Jan 16th 2015, 9:46 AM

Is your right ball ultra conservative?

Mute Alan mulvey
    Favourite Alan mulvey
    Jan 16th 2015, 10:32 AM

Next they will want rent allowance done away with as sure shouldn’t there familys be looking after them

Mute Darren Mullen
    Favourite Darren Mullen
    Jan 16th 2015, 10:37 AM

Gerard I would think It depends on the direction the middle part swings.

Mute Stephen Duggan
    Favourite Stephen Duggan
    Jan 16th 2015, 10:52 AM

It’s more right of centre, but can retract in extreme cold to centre;)

Mute Paul Somers
    Favourite Paul Somers
    Jan 16th 2015, 9:50 AM

Disgusting that Eric Byrne made such a flippant comment, amazing that he worked on the drugs taskforce for over 20 years and has NO common sense, brains, compassion or comprehension.

Mute Paul Somers
    Favourite Paul Somers
    Jan 16th 2015, 10:38 AM

Correction – disgusting that any educated person would make such a flippant comment in any circumstances, made worse since as he worked in the drugs taskforce for over 20 years. Politics aside.

Mute Fiona O'Sullivan
    Favourite Fiona O'Sullivan
    Jan 16th 2015, 3:35 PM

The worst thing about it is that is what this man actually thinks. He thought it and he spoke it. And it reflects a lot of what these politicians think. Another made the remark to just “ban sleeping on the streets” as the answer to homelessness. So far removed from reality, but unfortunately, these are the people mapping our lives.

Mute Kerry Wynne
    Favourite Kerry Wynne
    Jan 16th 2015, 9:55 AM

Have to wonder at the headline on this. Emphasis being on Jonathan O’Brien’s response rather than the diatribe from Eric Byrne, who not for the first time is showing is showing ignorance.

Mute Andrea Rock Massey
    Favourite Andrea Rock Massey
    Jan 16th 2015, 9:49 AM

A completely ignorant comment by Eric Byrne and it’s very obvious that he has absolutely no first hand knowledge about the issue. He should be ashamed of himself.

Mute buzzbaron
    Favourite buzzbaron

Would of said the exact same thing. Absolutely none of his business. Labours erradication cannot come quick enough.

Mute 007
    Favourite 007

Should have walked across the floor and knocked him out only thing he’d understand.

Mute Sergeant Yates
    Favourite Sergeant Yates
    Jan 16th 2015, 11:45 AM

Violence against anyone is not recommended even if they are Shinners.

Mute JournalStasi
    Favourite JournalStasi
    Jan 16th 2015, 11:56 AM

Ye the shinners understand and are experts at using violence.

Mute Denis Reidy
    Favourite Denis Reidy
    Jan 16th 2015, 12:20 PM

@JS, maybe you should check out Byrnes previous form. Ref. cork machine gun murder

Mute Yvonne Byrne
    Favourite Yvonne Byrne
    Jan 16th 2015, 12:30 PM

@Denis Reedy I don’t think Byrne had anything to do with the Cork murder as far as I know it was Kathleen Lynches husband Brendan

Mute Denis Reidy
    Favourite Denis Reidy
    Jan 16th 2015, 1:19 PM

@Yvonne, apologies on the Cork ref., you are correct and it is Berenard. As for previous form “The next time you see senior members of the Labour Party, and now ministers of the Government of Ireland, spouting on about the necessity for politics only, and their rejection of violence and ‘paramilitarism’, just remember where they came from, what paths they followed, and what utter hypocrisy they cloak their political histories in.”

Mute Mr L.Jay
    Favourite Mr L.Jay
    Jan 16th 2015, 9:43 AM

Thugs in suits supposedly representing the people.
    Shame on them all

Mute BERTIE
    Favourite BERTIE

Labour are completely lost by now, their heads are so far up their rear ends even decimation at election time couldn’t enlighten their complete denial of their betrayal of the people that voted for them

Mute I LOVE MY COUNTY
    Favourite I LOVE MY COUNTY

If he’s going to bring his personal life into debates as examples then he better be prepared to answer questions such as the one he was asked. However, it was slightly crass from Fine Gael TD also….

Mute Ray Comerford
    Favourite Ray Comerford
    Jan 16th 2015, 9:27 PM

Exactly!

Mute Tim Kearney
    Favourite Tim Kearney
    Jan 16th 2015, 10:30 AM

i am Listening To Burton with Sean O’Rouke. .. all they are doing is talking over each other….. Labour …never again …

Mute CreditTiger
    Favourite CreditTiger
    Jan 16th 2015, 10:58 AM

Is Banshee Burton being harangued out to dry……again!?!

Mute Niamh McGaley
    Favourite Niamh McGaley
    Jan 16th 2015, 11:13 AM

All she ever seems to do in a “debate” is speak / shout over everyone else

Jan 16th 2015, 11:44 AM

She got professional lessions in how to do that.
    Used to be the most moany and useless speaker in her party.
    Now she shouts down the other speakers until everybody else has given up..

Mute Carl O Fhionlaoich
    Favourite Carl O Fhionlaoich
    Jan 16th 2015, 9:46 AM

Labour wasters extradionaire, who is that idiot to bring a persons private family issues into the public eye, i know how that would have been handled outside the dail, the shinner was not out the labour idiot was.

Mute rory conway
    Favourite rory conway
    Jan 16th 2015, 10:11 AM

Carl , in case you did not notice it was “the Shinner” who brought the “family issues” into the public domain.

Mute John R
    Favourite John R
    Jan 16th 2015, 11:24 AM

Carl hadn’t noticed Rory because he didn’t read the article before commenting. Too busy to read but not too busy too post.

Mute M Bowe
    Favourite M Bowe
    Jan 16th 2015, 1:37 PM

The shinner brought personal experience and knowledge to the debate. The FG lackey of lab brought ignprance and contempt to the debate, and that is after 20 years on the drug task force..

Mute Carl O Fhionlaoich
    Favourite Carl O Fhionlaoich
    Jan 16th 2015, 1:56 PM

I should have been clearer in what i meant, i know the shinner mentikned it first so he was trying to show he has personal experience of the topic and the labour idiot crossed the line by questioning his families decisions and how they as a family dealt with it.

Mute Caoimhghín Ó Tuama
    Favourite Caoimhghín Ó Tuama
    Jan 16th 2015, 10:36 AM

No fan of SF, but this is a perfect example of why they are totally upsurging Labour. A Labour party with no connection to working class areas is completely irrelevant.

Mute Snorre N Skalagrimmerson
    Favourite Snorre N Skalagrimmerson
    Jan 16th 2015, 10:23 AM

Eric Byrne so beautifully shows the crass uncaring face of Labour “the liars” party. Keep talking Eric you are so very hot!

Mute Garry Flood
    Favourite Garry Flood
    Jan 16th 2015, 10:10 AM

Disgustingly underhand tactics from Byrne .

Mute Garry Flood
    Favourite Garry Flood
    Jan 16th 2015, 10:16 AM

low

Mute Thomas Aquinas
    Favourite Thomas Aquinas

It is a legitimate question. What are this man’s immediate family doing to help him? Do they not have the means to do so? Why is the State the first resort?

Mute Sternn
    Favourite Sternn
    Jan 16th 2015, 10:00 AM

Who is to say they haven’t, many times over? Your suggestion attacks an innocent family and tries to shift the responsibility the government has to society to a single family and at the same time casts the family in a negative light when you have absolutely no knowledge of what that family has tried or what else has transpired here. It shows a complete lack of knowledge of the family, the situation involved, or any basic human empathy towards a family which obviously has a serious issue on their hands, in the exact same manner the FG/LAB TDs did.

A total like ‘let them eat cake’ moment, which smacks of disrespect and is filled with complete ignorance.

Mute shane murphy
    Favourite shane murphy
    Jan 16th 2015, 10:33 AM

@thomas you really are a numpty and live in a bubble I know the man and his family you haven’t a clue what they have and are and always will do to help like most families there is only so much that can be done its called addiction for a reason so stop with the thick comments about something you absolutely know nothing about!

Mute Thomas Aquinas
    Favourite Thomas Aquinas
    Jan 16th 2015, 10:42 AM

It is a legitimate question. As you know the man and his family you are in a position to answer it. What have his family done? Do they have the means to help him? Why is the State the first resort? You choose to interpret what I asked as criticism. It is not. We have to be prepared to ask the hard questions and remember I did not put in the public domain that this TD has a homeless brother. He did and since he decided to politicize his brothers situation he has to deal with the questions that come up.

Mute shane murphy
    Favourite shane murphy
    Jan 16th 2015, 10:50 AM

@thomas they have tried everything to help you name it they did it and im not just saying that they have tried everything and the government wasn’t their first stop they did everything themselves and they are still trying he only used his brother as an example of a person who is trying very hard to get clean but when you put an addict in with a recovering addict there is only 1 outcome! He didn’t bring it up for sc#m like the labour dick to berate him and his family and nake it out like they are doing nothing to help just like you implied ignorance is a dangerous tool!

Mute Sternn
    Favourite Sternn
    Jan 16th 2015, 10:51 AM

There, you did it again. ‘Why is the state the first resort’? Again, you are stating something you nor anyone in FG/LAB have a clue about. How many times has this person been in treatment? Do you not think treatment was the first resort? What other measures did the family take? Your assertion that ‘the state is the first resort’ like the family tried nothing else is completely ignorant just like the statements made by FG/LAB. You do not know that to be true, but your obvious bias and complete lack of empathy leads to you make statements which you have absolutely no clue if they are true or not, but you are going to go ahead and say them as you are not worried about the individual in question nor the family, you seek to demonise this family and portray them as people who are completely unable to deal with their own personal issues even though there is no evidence of that, other than your speculation which you put forward as absolute fact. It shows ignorance and contempt all in one, in this case for an entire family you do not even know.

It’s no different than someone saying why are all the people who are signed on lazy? Why do drug addict just not ‘say no’ to drugs? Why is it all immigrants come here to steal our jobs? You make an assertion about a group of people who you have no idea about nor know what they have done or their personal situation in efforts to fit them in to your own predetermined, degrading stereotype.

The fact you do not see this and have done it twice now shows your own ignorance.

Mute Thomas Aquinas
    Favourite Thomas Aquinas
    Jan 16th 2015, 11:31 AM

It remains a legitimate question Sternm. You are guilty of exactly the same thing you accuse me of. You know nothing about me or of my family circumstances or of the health situation of anyone related to me. When a TD decides to bring a family member into a political discussion whether to score political points or not that family member becomes part of the game. I have put forward nothing as an absolute fact. I have asked a legitimatec question. And my family had to deal with an alcoholic uncle with a serious mental health issue for 30 years of my adult life with zero State support. We are still dealing with it as it has impacted on his kids in a profound way. So don’t effing lecture me about not having a clue. At the same time ask yourself why the State has a responsibility to solve every problem. It does not. In fact the more the State was involved with my Uncle the worse his condition became. Every time he was sectioned by the State he got worse. Every time my mother took him in and cared for him he got better. Every time he was let loose on the street he got worse. Every time my other Uncle brought him home he got better. So spare me your censure and your leftist sanctimony.

Mute John R
    Favourite John R

Sternn if you have finished your rant and stopped beating our chest and publicising your nobility of spirit can I just say that Thomas asked a question which is legitimate. The SF TD put the matter into the public domain. Having done so he could have taken the opportunity to explain just how difficult it is for even the best intentioned families to stage a successful intervention without appropriate State support structures.

Addiction is a societal problem and not just a matter for Government. Unfortunately and despite all the well intentioned views about addicts on this post it is quite evident that society in the main does not give a fig about addicts if it involves diverting resources from other social benefits such as hospitals and schools etc to addiction treatment. If society did care we would not find ourselves in this position because in our clientelist State these services would already have been provided. Do not expect this to change any time soon despite SF chest beating. We have been here before many times with different parties. When SF eventually get into Government they will find that there are numerous competing options for limited State funds and that the citizenry have strong views about where these funds should be invested. Drug treatment comes close to the bottom of the list in reality. This is a tragedy but it is also true. In order to change this we will need to change public perceptions. This will involve a mature debate and the telling of real life stories. Behind most addictions there is an extended family who are also hurting and living with the constant worry of their loved one dying. I hope we can have that debate instead of taking the opportunity as is being done here to bleat about our moral superiority because a Labour TD has said something offensive.

Mute Pablo
    Favourite Pablo
    Jan 16th 2015, 12:33 PM

@John R …… had to read through a lot of crap to finally see a measured, well articulated response. Good to see someone not thinking along party lines and leaving the emotion out of it. Well said.

Mute Lasair Aireáinnach
    Favourite Lasair Aireáinnach
    Jan 17th 2015, 2:33 AM

Thomas
    Because rather than the SFer talking about the state being the first resort he is talking about how the state is compounding the issue, how the state which is supposed to support rather than hinder it’s own citizens is not doing so, but whose inefficiency is making matters worse. Rather than the inclusion of a family issue in the SF case, it shows the councillor knows what he is talking about when attacking the policy of the government. The emotional response was on the part of the government declining to debate how things may be better handled, instead he decided to swipe back with an emotional response.

Mute Yvonne Byrne
    Favourite Yvonne Byrne
    Jan 16th 2015, 10:06 AM

Labour is now engaging in the “low life” form of political discourse that heretofore was the preserve of Fine Gael.
    I’ve also noticed that Govt backbenchers have been instructed to use their Dail contributions as an electioneering tool. This is unacceptable this should be done on their own time and certainly not at OUR expense. This is NOT what we’re paying them for!

Mute Robbie Sargent
    Favourite Robbie Sargent
    Jan 16th 2015, 9:55 AM

So Eric Byrne and Derek Keating are in the Dail.

Mute gavin delves
    Favourite gavin delves
    Jan 16th 2015, 9:58 AM

Joe the family probably try to help and he didn’t want it don’t put up a stupid comment if u don’t know the full story

Mute Joe McGovern
    Favourite Joe McGovern
    Jan 16th 2015, 9:47 AM

Fair point raised by Byrne. The State needs to do more, but perhaps families need also to help their own.

Mute Andrea Rock Massey
    Favourite Andrea Rock Massey
    Jan 16th 2015, 9:53 AM

It’s not as easy as that. Your primary responsibility is for your own children, the last thing your children need is to be living with a drug addict.

Mute John Healy
    Favourite John Healy
    Jan 16th 2015, 10:10 AM

That’s true but could the family not help pay his rent? I know if I had a brother in a similar situation that’s what I would do. Byrne was out of order but O’Brien, as a former councillor in Cork and whose party are now in power on the council there, can’t expect us to believe that he, in particular, is unable to do anything for his brother.

Mute Dennis Laffey
    Favourite Dennis Laffey
    Jan 16th 2015, 10:25 AM

Families are not always in a position to help. Even if they are they might not be willing to continuously leaned on by a person not willing to help themselves.

Mute RonanM
    Favourite RonanM
    Jan 16th 2015, 11:17 AM

Dennis are you telling me a TD cant help. Im sure this SF TD is not struggling like normal families which cant help.

Mute Cupid Stunt
    Favourite Cupid Stunt
    Jan 16th 2015, 11:33 AM

As someone who has had the misfortune to have a family member with addiction problems I can tell you it’s not as simple as letting them live in your house, various reasons such as having kids around, space issues, stealing, mood swings. If your not qualified in that field and have an emotional attachment to the person its probably not best to get involved unless it’s in a minor capacity. I suspect the minister is of the spare the rod and spoil the child generation, and with twenty odd years on a quango dealing with these issues and a response like that it’s no wonder we haven’t moved on as a country when it comes to these issues.

Mute John R
    Favourite John R
    Jan 16th 2015, 11:37 AM

Cupid a very good and reasoned post which has actually contributed to the debate. Well done. More please.

Mute speak up
    Favourite speak up
    Jan 16th 2015, 5:22 PM

@john Healy who’s to say the family haven’t given him money or tried everything in their power to help? (If they actually have never attempted to help him then disregard this) it must be very difficult to have to cut someone off but sometimes it is all you can do otherwise you can become an enabler and that’s not good or helpful. I think without the facts and full history of that man’s family there is no right to point fingers of blame,it’s very insensitive. He can bring it up in a relatable way of course but there is no need for a snipe comment that points a finger not at him but his entire family. Its not right buts it typical playground stuff from this government

Mute gerry campbell
    Favourite gerry campbell
    Jan 16th 2015, 10:28 AM

That’s the trouble with the Daìl , out of touch ignorami, like Eric Byrne , throwing glib comments, on important issues they have no clue off , we should be thankful for the insight.

Mute Stephen Fagan
    Favourite Stephen Fagan
    Jan 16th 2015, 9:56 AM

Legalize all drugs. Make money from the tax benefits and produce safer options for people. Use the money spent enforcing the ridiculous drug laws to build clinics where users can go to inject, but in the same place , can receive treatment for their illness, which is addiction.

Mute Carlow Wexford
    Favourite Carlow Wexford
    Jan 16th 2015, 10:05 AM

That’s what’s done, successfully, in Portugal, but they also have a big social services plan in place for each registered addict, helping with housing, job, psychology, living in society.

Mute John Healy
    Favourite John Healy
    Jan 16th 2015, 10:14 AM

Well I guess you haven’t been to Lisbon lately. Rough sleeping by addicts is at an all time high. Services have been cut to the bone. Take a stroll along Avendia Almirante Reis in the city and see how successfully it works.

Jan 16th 2015, 10:48 AM

That’s what austerity does to services John Healy same thing happening here.

Mute John R
    Favourite John R
    Jan 16th 2015, 11:22 AM

Kerry, in an ideal world we could afford all the services necessary to do everything. Alas we don’t live in that world. People are so quick to cite Portugal regarding drugs or Iceland regarding banks or Argentina regarding debt repudiation but only focus on the upside and ignore the downside realities. They then seek to apply only the upside to Ireland ignoring the flip side of the coin. Anyone who believes that by deregulating hard drugs addiction rates are going to decline is deluded. Any benefits from taxing drugs would be swamped by the rise in health costs and other social issues. There are upsides of course but there are also many downsides. We Irish are not noted for our restraint when it comes to addictive substances.

Mute Johnny Al Lenn
    Favourite Johnny Al Lenn
    Jan 16th 2015, 11:50 AM

It’s a fallacy that legalisation leads to higher rates of drug use, statistically the opposite has been shown to be true time and time again. Our current drug policy based on the U.S model which has lead to the highest level of incarcerations on the planet there only exacerbates the situation, so while we may disagree on how it could alternatively be handled, the current policy not only does not work but creates an even more volatile situation and needs to be reformed urgently.

Mute shane murphy
    Favourite shane murphy

Well done Jonathan they should be told shut up every time they open their mouths we have had enough tripe and lies to last a life time! It was a highly insensitive and ignorant comment to make he should be ashamed of himself hope he never has to see what addiction does to his family hope your brother is doing better! Stand up for the northside bud we will back you all the way tell edna Kenny I said he’s a lange!

Mute PAUL NICHOLSON
    Favourite PAUL NICHOLSON
    Jan 16th 2015, 10:33 AM

Ahhh Labour the soon to be extinct party.

Mute Deirdre Dee Harkin Flannelly
    Favourite Deirdre Dee Harkin Flannelly

Bring all our addicts home to roost……were it only that easy.

Mute Ben Dover
    Favourite Ben Dover
    Jan 16th 2015, 10:25 AM

Only the anti-shinners brigade would be ok with that comment

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Favourite Neal Ireland Hello
    Jan 16th 2015, 11:38 AM

I’m an anti-shimmer and I’m appalled at the Labour eejit.

Mute Ben Dover
    Favourite Ben Dover
    Jan 16th 2015, 12:36 PM

One hundred thousand apologies to you ,Neal .

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Favourite Neal Ireland Hello
    Jan 16th 2015, 1:46 PM

Okay don’t overdo it.

Mute David Welsh
    Favourite David Welsh
    Jan 16th 2015, 11:14 AM

A very human moment in such an artificial place. It was quite a shocking juxtaposition. Deputy O’Brien and his family have my sympathy. This must be hell.

Mute Robin Tobin
    Favourite Robin Tobin
    Jan 16th 2015, 11:19 AM

Fair play for standing up for your brother.
    Labour and Fine Gael are the lowest form of an in humane party ever in government. They are seriously out of touch and are fighting now in the disbelief that we do not know what is good for us.

They will be shocked after the next election when Fine Gael and labour get dumped by the electorate.
    Self serving parties who loath the electorate as dirt under their shoe.

Jan 16th 2015, 11:48 AM

They will only get dumped if enough urban voters come out and vote.
    Their farming vote is rock solid (Fine Gael)

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Jan 16th 2015, 7:43 PM

Let’s put this farming vote to bed straight away ….
    Fianna Fail’s heartland was always small rural farmland . Fine Gael’s always larger progressive farms.
    Now the farming vote has gone to Ming and Fitzmaurice and other politicians who are able to find solutions not spin !
    When the price of milk drops this year then the only Fine Gael farm vote will be large finishers of beef , chicken farmers and those involved in the highly profitable Food processing industry !

Mute Charles Rex
    Favourite Charles Rex
    Jan 16th 2015, 10:13 AM

A touch insensitive from fg but the best response from obrien would have been to outline his familys position. It could have illustrated the turmoil a family experiences when one of their own has an addiction and the obstacles faced in supporting someone in recovery. If someone is going to bring something personal to the floor it is reasonable to expect questions though I doubt the fg guy was that interested.

Mute Charles Rex
    Favourite Charles Rex
    Jan 16th 2015, 10:29 AM

Eh labour guy. Seems my coffee hasn’t kicked in yet…

Mute shane murphy
    Favourite shane murphy

@charles neither has the drugs

Mute Charles Rex
    Favourite Charles Rex
    Jan 16th 2015, 10:50 AM

Shut your mouth

Mute shane murphy
    Favourite shane murphy
    Jan 16th 2015, 10:54 AM

@charles very good lol come on though its disgraceful for a person in his position with his involvement in drugs unit to make a comment like that

Mute Charles Rex
    Favourite Charles Rex

I think the shinner missed an opportunity to outline what any family goes through here. The question was loaded yet pertinent. What can a family do? What aren’t the government doing? Are there additional supports a family needs? This should open a much wider discussion.

Mute John R
    Favourite John R
    Jan 16th 2015, 11:18 AM

Charles, this rational approach of yours to this topic is outrageous and may short circuit the debate on this forum. Is this not against the Journal policy or something? And I also see that you want to open a wider discussion? A seasoned Journal Head like you should know better. Personally I am outraged.

Mute Charles Rex
    Favourite Charles Rex
    Jan 16th 2015, 11:21 AM

My apologies… fcukin shinners are always at it!

Mute shane murphy
    Favourite shane murphy
    Jan 16th 2015, 11:38 AM

@charles this has nothing to do with alliances this is about moral conscious and the fact a man in his position would say an ignorant thing like that bang out of order thats is he should apologise and take a kick in the nuts for been an inconsiderate tool bag and a langer!

Mute Charles Rex
    Favourite Charles Rex
    Jan 16th 2015, 12:20 PM

Shane, (I’ll ignore the vast canvas that could paint sinn fein and moral conscience) you’re right. Obrien missed a chance to throw labour guys question back in his face with interest.

Mute Charles Rex
    Favourite Charles Rex
    Jan 16th 2015, 12:28 PM

How hg

Mute shane murphy
    Favourite shane murphy
    Jan 16th 2015, 12:30 PM

@charles He took the moral high ground something labour knows nothing about or was it fg did the coffee or drugs kick in yet?

Mute Sternn
    Favourite Sternn

Addiction is a disease and is recognised as such in Ireland. It’s why we have medical treatment available. I wonder if O’Briens brother had another diseased that left him in a wheelchair of FG/LAB and some of the posters here would be as disrespectful? Or if he was afflicted with autism?

What? Your brother is in a wheelchair? Why doesn’t your family deal with it? Why should the state have to worry about some disabled person? Why is the state the first resort when deal with the disabled in YOUR family?

The sentiment is exactly the same. Either we as a society help those who are sick no matter what the affliction, or we start attacking the sick, disabled, and elderly and leave them out in the cold to deal with their illnesses on their own, which apparently FG/LAB have no problem doing.

Mute Patricia McCarthy
    Favourite Patricia McCarthy
    Jan 16th 2015, 10:19 AM

What about the Pharmaceutical Corporations? Do they have any interest in rehabilitating some of the people whose lives have been destroyed with the drug culture. And the alcohol corporations. Instead of sponsoring sports stars, what about paying back a little and setting up some homeless units.

Mute Antrim
    Favourite Antrim

SF at it again. Typical.

Mute shane murphy
    Favourite shane murphy
    Jan 16th 2015, 10:35 AM

@antrim come on now you just cause he’s in sf if someone said that to you and your brother was like that bet you would do more than tell him shut up??????

Mute CreditTiger
    Favourite CreditTiger
    Jan 16th 2015, 11:08 AM

His bretheren would most likely move into the narco-lodge anyway, just to ‘give his head peace’!!

See 28 more replies ▾
    Mute Antrim
    Favourite Antrim
    Jan 16th 2015, 12:11 PM

Everytime there a handling in the Dail or Stormont it’s always involving SF, they are a belligerent party that still act as if they have a private army to do their bidding for them. This is not the 70′s or 80′s, republicans need to learn to have respect, nobody will simply ‘shut their mouth’ just because some republican says they should. It’s the same way Gerry Adams called my community ‘b******s’ not that long ago, they have respect for nobody.

Mute M Bowe
    Favourite M Bowe
    Jan 16th 2015, 1:42 PM

Antrim have you just admitted to being a sectarian bigot, because that is the people that Adams called ba**ards, and you just claimed them as “your community”???

Mute Antrim
    Favourite Antrim
    Jan 16th 2015, 2:00 PM

Adams said unionists were b******s, im a Unionist so obviously he referred to me and the wider Unionist community. You think being a Unionist makes one a bigot anyway, your minds are already made up, im tired explaining myself. If you think I’m a bigot then fair play to you, I don’t give a damn. Republicans just think the rest of the island are below them but in reality they are the biggest gang of bigots going.

Mute M Bowe
    Favourite M Bowe
    Jan 16th 2015, 2:50 PM

In reply to a question about Gregory Cambell’s curry my yoghurt comment Adams referred to ” blind bigoted hatred of people and not just catholics, of Presbyterians, of church of Ireland, of Methodist. .. of evsrybody, bar the people who share theid own very narrow vision of the world. But what’s the point?
    The point is to actually break these bas*#rds. And what is going to break them is equality. .
    So are you now putting yourself and the entire Unionist community in the above described grouping?

Mute Antrim
    Favourite Antrim
    Jan 16th 2015, 2:51 PM

Im reporting this comment

Mute Antrim
    Favourite Antrim
    Jan 16th 2015, 2:53 PM

I’ll report any comment in future where I’m called sectarian or a bigot.

Mute Antrim
    Favourite Antrim
    Jan 16th 2015, 2:55 PM

Adams called the Unionist community b******s, end of story. He has a cheek speaking about equality.

Mute Antrim
    Favourite Antrim
    Jan 16th 2015, 3:08 PM

And by the way Gregory Campbell was a clown too for what he said but for SF and especially Adams to try and take the moral high ground over the unionists is quite laughable. What Campbell didn’t do was brand an entire community ‘b******s’.

Mute M Bowe
    Favourite M Bowe
    Jan 16th 2015, 3:14 PM

But you regularly call Republicans murders etc without an iota of evidence.
    You will also find I have asked you a question, not made an accusation!

Mute Antrim
    Favourite Antrim
    Jan 16th 2015, 3:27 PM

They were/are murderers that’s why. Are you saying they aren’t?

Mute Antrim
    Favourite Antrim
    Jan 16th 2015, 3:29 PM

M Bowe it wasn’t your comment I reported it was the other comment from Shane that has since been deleted. It was him that called me the sectarian bigot.

Mute M Bowe
    Favourite M Bowe
    Jan 16th 2015, 4:02 PM

Missed that Antrim, gabh mo laith sceal.

Mute Antrim
    Favourite Antrim
    Jan 16th 2015, 4:05 PM

No problem

Mute shane murphy
    Favourite shane murphy
    Jan 16th 2015, 4:50 PM

@antrim you’ll only be reporting the truth ya big baby

Mute Antrim
    Favourite Antrim
    Jan 16th 2015, 4:57 PM

See you are at it again. Everytime you accuse me of sectarianism or anything like that without proper cause then I’ll report you. I will speak to you no problem but not while you are trying to blacken my name on a daily basis.

Mute Antrim
    Favourite Antrim
    Jan 16th 2015, 5:00 PM

Reported again. You have a right to an opinion but you’ve no right to keep saying things about me that aren’t true, I don’t do it to you. I hope you get the message real soon.

Mute Antrim
    Favourite Antrim
    Jan 16th 2015, 5:01 PM

Accusing me of being anti Irish when I am Irish myself, that just underlines your nonsense.

Mute MícheálO'Muíneacháin
    Favourite MícheálO'Muíneacháin
    Jan 16th 2015, 5:13 PM

Speak for yourself BIGOT , the rest of us on the island of Ireland just try to live a decent life , & get through these tough times!

Mute shane murphy
    Favourite shane murphy
    Jan 16th 2015, 5:16 PM

@antrim you need yo make up your mind awhile ago you are a unionists with the British flag and now your irish with a tricolour which is it? You can’t call me a bigot or sectarian for the simple fact none of my comments are of that nature where as everything you write is of a sectarian and bigotry veiw hence the reason I call you those things stop saying those things and ill stop calling you those things and we both know the reason you reported me because I’m right and you can’t admit it you haven’t won 1 argument to suggest your not and when I point it out to you you get odd cry and report me how dear you you big child

Mute Antrim
    Favourite Antrim
    Jan 16th 2015, 5:57 PM

You are the one having offensive posts removed, if I was writing anything offensive or anti-Irish then it would be removed also, that isn’t the case though. If you want to talk to me then drop the false accusations. I won’t stand for being insulted on a daily basis by a person that doesn’t even know me.

Mute shane murphy
    Favourite shane murphy
    Jan 16th 2015, 6:08 PM

@antrim the only posts that got deleted are the 1s you complained about because they told the truth about you and you can’t handle it! Oh so you’ll talk to me if I agree with you thanks bud but no thanks i m not a hypocrite just keep reporting me id rather say the truth and get the post deleted at least I’ll know myself what you really are add coward to the list aswel no debate just report me nice job!

Mute Antrim
    Favourite Antrim
    Jan 16th 2015, 6:22 PM

I just don’t like people telling lies on me mate, I won’t tolerate it. All I can do on here is report the comments I feel are offensive. It would be easier if you just grew up a bit and spoke like a civilised human being.

Mute shane murphy
    Favourite shane murphy
    Jan 16th 2015, 6:41 PM

@antrim I think I have been more than civil to you I argued as much as I can with you gave you facts to counter everything you say and prove you wrong and you still have the same hard line listen to no one stance which also implies you have a bigotry veiw on things now I didnt call you a bigot there so don’t cry this time

Mute Antrim
    Favourite Antrim
    Jan 16th 2015, 6:45 PM

You can’t be civil and be calling somebody a sectarian bigot in every comment. Doesn’t work that way.

Mute shane murphy
    Favourite shane murphy
    Jan 16th 2015, 6:51 PM

@antrim yes you can especially if the person your saying it to is being bigotry or sectarian!

Mute Antrim
    Favourite Antrim
    Jan 16th 2015, 7:05 PM

Im going to waste no more time on this matter now. If you want to talk to me in future then keep it civil, if you refuse to keep it civil I’ll continue to report your posts.

Mute shane murphy
    Favourite shane murphy
    Jan 16th 2015, 7:13 PM

@antrim I will keep it civil if you stop with the sectarian bigotry comments its as simple as that and thats why nothing gets through to you you keep ending the argument with im not listening anymore if you fo it again im reporting you for telling me the truth supported by facts!

Mute Ten Major
    Favourite Ten Major
    Jan 17th 2015, 8:17 PM

So how did the whole reporting thing go for you Antrim?

Mute Dylan Prendergast
    Favourite Dylan Prendergast
    Jan 16th 2015, 10:01 AM

Can the TD not take in his brother himself? I’m sure he’d be able to. And “shut your mouth” sounds like SF language anyway. Imagine them in power… Any word said against them and the heavies would smash your window.

Mute Robin Tobin
    Favourite Robin Tobin
    Jan 16th 2015, 11:31 AM

Beauty is in the eye of the beholder, you must be blinded by Fine Gael, labour sterilised rhetoric to damage to families homes, incomes etc.. I would rather a few bad words from Sine Fine than the disaster economic hardship and regressive budgets Fine Gael and labour have lashed at us since taking office.

Bad language won’t damage my living standards or income so I will consider that when I cast my vote next time.

Fine Gael labour out of touch with the people of Ireland and includes drug addicts, homeless people and families, hungry children, people on hospital trolleys etc.. It was not bad language that effected these people but labour and Fine Gael regressive budgets.

Mute Catherine Mill
    Favourite Catherine Mill
    Jan 16th 2015, 12:13 PM

Language is language . Who decided what is deemed bad and good language anyway?

Language is just energy

Mute Business Cat
    Favourite Business Cat

Torn on it.

Ridiculous retort by the Shinner.

However the point raised by the labour fella was both legitimate & insensitive at the same time.

Mute Dennis Laffey
    Favourite Dennis Laffey

There’s only so much that a family can do about those kinds of issues. Take the following into account:
    * Family may not have the money/room to house another person
    * Person may be dangerous
    * There may be children involved
    * There are years and years of pain and mistrust built up
    * This may not be the first time the addict has been through the process

The family might have been through this many times. No doubt they (including the Mr. O’Brien) feel huge amounts of guilt for not being able to help him. The Labour fella obviously hasn’t the inclination or ability to empathise. Not what I would expect from a representative of a party which prides itself on a social conscience.

Mute Drew
    Favourite Drew
    Jan 16th 2015, 10:01 AM

SF just don’t want anything brought up that would hurt the portrayal of ‘country on its knees, crisis here, epidemic there’ that it’s pushing to win populist support and instill a sense of fear and desperation…

Mute Watcher-on-the-Wall
    Favourite Watcher-on-the-Wall

What the hill are you on about Drew?

Mute Bill Madden
    Favourite Bill Madden
    Jan 16th 2015, 10:58 AM

@ watcher on the wall…… not a supporter of any party, but if the shoe were on the other foot, you don’t think SF/ FF/ IND, would throw that (or worse) at an opponent, you can be sure they would!

Mute Watcher-on-the-Wall
    Favourite Watcher-on-the-Wall
    Jan 16th 2015, 11:04 AM

Bill, you’re absolutely right, but Drew’s post doesn’t seem to relate to the article and seems to be a random generic rant

Mute David adams
    Favourite David adams
    Jan 16th 2015, 9:58 AM

If this were me i would have apologised. And then waited for him outside and give him a good talking too. And tell him to mind his F.ucking business

Mute Dermot Mc Loughlin
    Favourite Dermot Mc Loughlin
    Jan 16th 2015, 1:01 PM

Typical government response…it’s not our job to help people.
    People being ripped off in shops?….sher shop around.
    People can’t afford to feed their kids?….sher tighten your belts.
    People struggling to pay additional taxes destined for IW and the black hole of bankers debt?…..sher its only the price of a pint per day.
    People are homeless?….sher what’s their families doing to help?
    Sick people lying on trolleys for days?….sher that’s fianna fails fault.

The FG and lab trolls who comment here know their government is useless, it’s why they use fake accounts.

Mute Denis Reidy
    Favourite Denis Reidy
    Jan 16th 2015, 1:59 PM

Well said Dermot, unfortunately you could cut, paste and edit that to any party in power.

Mute Tim Kearney
    Favourite Tim Kearney
    Jan 16th 2015, 11:06 AM

Eric Byrne could not possibly be a Labour Party Member… The People’s Party would not condone his remarks…

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Jan 16th 2015, 12:57 PM

If Mr Eric Byrne TD was awake at any time during the 20 years on a task drugs force…he would know the answer to the question he asked, so this was just a low blow to get a pat on the back from his cronies.

Mute Proinsias Ó Foghlú
    Favourite Proinsias Ó Foghlú
    Jan 16th 2015, 10:13 AM

I feel sorry for Jonathon O’Briens brother but he got himself into the mess, the state cannot be expected to cater for every little whim of those who fuked up their own lives. They need to get on it with it and make do, the taxpayers are doing more than enough to try an alleviate their situation.

Mute Were Jammin
    Favourite Were Jammin
    Jan 16th 2015, 11:40 AM

Pretty ignorant comment Proinsias. Would you tell a heroin addict who first turned to drugs after a childhood of sexual abuse and neglect that they had ‘fu**ed up their own lives’?

How about that lad on the TV3 documentary who first got addicted to drugs when his mother used to dose him with sleepers and valium to keep him quiet, who then had a lifetime of addiction issues, eventually culminating in heroin addiction. You reckon he ‘fu**ed up his own life’?

Mute Proinsias Ó Foghlú
    Jan 16th 2015, 11:47 AM

Without doubt Were Jammin they’re hard cases and I do feel sorry for them but the state and the taxpayer cannot be expected to cater for all their expectations, the state and the taxpayer was not responsible for putting them into the situation.

Mute Were Jammin
    Favourite Were Jammin
    Jan 16th 2015, 12:14 PM

@ proinsias:
    The ‘state and the taxpayer’ are ‘not responsible’ for children being born with down syndrome. Should the state not ‘cater for’ their families ‘expectations’ such as special needs assistants and medical cards?

The ‘state and the taxpayer’ are ‘not responsible’ for terminally ill cancer patients. Should the state not ‘cater for’ their ‘expectations’ such as a warm hospital/hospice bed and a dignified passing?

The ‘state and the taxpayer’ are ‘not responsible’ for people growing old. Should the state not ‘cater for’ their ‘expectations’ such as a weekly payment to ensure they do not starve or freeze to death?

If you take issue with the idea of a welfare state, you should move somewhere where your taxes are not used to support the less fortunate……like somalia.

Mute Proinsias Ó Foghlú
    Jan 16th 2015, 12:54 PM

I think most reasonable people do not equate people with special needs, the elderly or terminally ill patients with drug addicts.

As it happens I do have some issues with the welfare state but that is going off topic,

Mute Were Jammin
    Favourite Were Jammin
    Jan 16th 2015, 1:11 PM

So, if one person who is terminally ill from lung cancer after a lifetime of smoking, and another need treatment for drug addiction after a lifetime of physical and sexual abuse, who should get the taxpayers coin?

See how ignorant and myopic your ‘fu**ed up their own lives’ comment is? You’re making generalisations and exposing the fact that you are trying to score tawdry political points with a subject you obviously know little or nothing about.

Mute Proinsias Ó Foghlú
    Jan 16th 2015, 1:31 PM

You are at it again Were Jammin, you are misrepresenting my posts. I never stated that I was going to deny treatment to anybody !

However I did state: ” the state cannot be expected to cater for every little whim….”

In other words if reformed or recovering drug addicts have to no other option that accept a place in which other addicts are using then they have to get on with it!

Mute M Bowe
    Favourite M Bowe
    Jan 16th 2015, 12:21 PM

“20 years on a drug task force” the depth of his knowledge and understanding just runs as far as how to collect his allowance for being on such a committee.

Mute TR909
    Favourite TR909
    Jan 16th 2015, 2:34 PM

20 years on the pigs back it would seem.

Mute Colin Deane
    Favourite Colin Deane
    Jan 16th 2015, 1:12 PM

Another nail in the coffin for labour. Well at least there good at something

Mute Dylan P. O'Keeffe
    Favourite Dylan P. O'Keeffe
    Jan 16th 2015, 11:28 AM

If this happened at Leaders’ Questions yesterday, why is it only being reported now. All in all a worrying exchange.

Mute Charles Williams
    Favourite Charles Williams
    Jan 16th 2015, 1:14 PM

Is this a new Labour policy, if you have a family member with an addiction take him home. Problem is they won’t stay at home due to their addiction.Do Labour also suggest that the mentally ill and special needs also be taken home and would this solve all our social issues.?

Mute men in black hoods
    Favourite men in black hoods
    Jan 16th 2015, 1:43 PM

Horrible pig of a man

Jan 16th 2015, 4:22 PM

Labour as well as F.G. are scared of the gains S.F. will make at the next election because the main 3 parties are doing things with Berlin, Brussels and Frankfurt that is destroying Ireland and they do not want anything to interfere with that or their pals… Greed is at the E.U.s core now with lobbyists and pals of pals.

Mute M Bowe
    Favourite M Bowe
    Jan 16th 2015, 3:50 PM

So Eric Byrne has finally shown labours true Thactherite leanings. To quote the witch.
    ” I an homeless, the government must house me, and so they are casting their problems on society, and who is society? There is no such thing. There is individual men and women and their families”.

Mute codered
    Favourite codered
    Jan 16th 2015, 10:18 AM

I don’t see why we cannot steralise drug addicts in return for methadone. At least put it on the table as an option. Or get rid of methadone and herd them off in droves to an uninhabited island off the south coast with enough food and water to complete cold turkey. Then bring them back in staggered groups to work on state run farms well away from urban centres. There steralised and off heroin at least they can contribute to the well-being of the rest of us.

Mute David Thomas
    Favourite David Thomas

Ever hear of a guy called Hitler?

Mute shane murphy
    Favourite shane murphy

Your an ignoramus well done to whoever reared a yoke like you!

Mute Sternn
    Favourite Sternn
    Jan 16th 2015, 10:55 AM

Can we sterilize stupid people who suggest sterilization as well?

Mute Tim Kearney
    Favourite Tim Kearney
    Jan 16th 2015, 11:00 AM

@ Codered … It must feel fantastic to be perfect… You plonk…

Mute Robin Tobin
    Favourite Robin Tobin
    Jan 16th 2015, 11:25 AM

Addiction is a revolving door. For example they will try it and get addicted. Then come in contact with a friend of a friend and try it again. This is the revolving door, because every time they try it they are scared they will die from an inflated heart that will kill them. When they recover they feel lucky and will do it again. Addiction needs a brain transplant not cold turkey because the problem is to keep drug free.

Drug users see a filthy toilet, dirty run down derelict house as a clean place. I never took drugs but I understand as a relative of someone who did temptation open the drug door again to the users cravings.

Mute Gerard Wyer
    Favourite Gerard Wyer
    Jan 16th 2015, 12:22 PM

DNFTT

Jan 16th 2015, 4:17 PM

What do you expect from Labour, it is like telling monkeys not to throw s…te at the visitors in the zoo. F.G. and Labour do not get it because they live in a different world from the rest of us.

Mute NFSN
    Favourite NFSN
    Jan 16th 2015, 2:04 PM

The complexities of addiction and homelessness sometimes make the issue of trying to help family members extremely difficult and no family/family member should be judged for how they handle a particular situation. Every family’s situation is different, every family has a different story. While Family support groups don’t tell family members what to do in difficult situations, they can provide vital support to members in order to help them cope with difficult situations such as the one faced by this TD. For more information please visit our website http://www.fsn.ie

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Jan 16th 2015, 4:54 PM

The Labour Party have crossed a line – now families of politicians are open season …..
    Not so wise when we see what Europe has to say about political families !
    Let’s sit back and see what develops …

Mute Lasair Aireáinnach
    Jan 16th 2015, 5:23 PM

“Deputy Eric Byrne (Lab): Why does his good family not take him home?”
    Your EU lackey govt do not give a sh$t about the Irish – they are here to implement EU austerity/mass-immigration social engineering policies. TIme and again we have seen the smart-ar$ed answers from FG/Lab to the Irish ppl.

“Deputy Derek Keating (FG): A Leas-Cheann Comhairle, that is completely out of order.”
    No, FG your obeying EU masters instead of serving the Irish people is out of order.

Deputy Eric Byrne: What would one expect from Sinn Féin?
    Byrne. what do we expect from marxists whose habit has always been to turn into the oppressive business suits of tomorrow. We expect austerity/mass-immigration and other contempt for the Irish from you.

Mute Colin Reilly
    Favourite Colin Reilly
    Jan 16th 2015, 4:59 PM

If you’re going to bring your personal life to a place of national debate then consider that one of your many opponents may debate with you, ‘shut your mouth’ is not a phrase which should be uttered in a place of national representatives.

Mute Tap Solny
    Favourite Tap Solny
    Jan 16th 2015, 11:52 AM

It was the Shinner who brought the question of his brother into the debate – nobody else. You cannot be expected to raise an issue and not expect comment on it.

Mute TR909
    Favourite TR909
    Jan 16th 2015, 2:33 PM

FG troll retort 101: always attack Sinn Fein no matter what the issue is.

Mute Roy Dowling
    Favourite Roy Dowling
    Jan 16th 2015, 5:57 PM

If a sitting td in the dail doesn’t help his own brother why should he expect the government to do it?

Sinn Fein claim to have all the answers to the countries problems but the td can’t even house his own brother…

Mute Niall C
    Favourite Niall C
    Jan 16th 2015, 6:28 PM

And if he did manage to get him housing he’d be accused pulling strokes to give his brother precedent over others in desperate need of housing.

No win situation.

Mute K.J. Lane
    Favourite K.J. Lane
    Jan 16th 2015, 4:49 PM

Shinner brings up brother to make political capital then reacts with false outrage. Classic SF.

Mute Tim
    Favourite Tim
    Jan 16th 2015, 12:33 PM

Sf has no respect for elected representatives, rules or opinions that differ from there’s. And always revert to school yard bully boy tactics.

Mute TR909
    Favourite TR909
    Jan 16th 2015, 2:35 PM

You’re so wrong. The shameless comments from the labour td are beneath contempt.

Mute Lasair Aireáinnach
    Jan 16th 2015, 5:29 PM

TR909
    Austerity, helping out the international bondholders, mass-immigration where Irish people lose out, water charges and the contemptuous comments by Mobile Joan, when will you learn, this govt view you with contempt, to them you are nothing, you are peasants. Your policiticians are in it for prestige, power, fame and to be part of the globalist jet-set biggies. They are being totally in character. Either you get rid of them and replace them with people who serve the Irish or continue with treacherous parasites.

Mute Charles Mcdonald
    Favourite Charles Mcdonald
    Jan 16th 2015, 2:44 PM

Leaves his own brother homeless and on drugs!!!!!

What an awful human being. Seems shinners always have issues. I think you can’t be accepted in unless your mad as a bag of cats

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Jan 16th 2015, 7:45 PM

Perhaps Sinn Fein have more respect for the Republican notion of self-determination than other more controlling political partys currently holding the rump of Dail Eireann together !

Mute Declan Gartlan
    Favourite Declan Gartlan
    Jan 16th 2015, 5:01 PM

This place is full of Sinn Fein trolls if the man is of drugs why on earth would you not give him a room or rent an flat for him perfectly reasonable comment or is the government going to do everything for everybody looking for the government to change your Baby’s nappies next Ffs

Mute TR909
    Favourite TR909
    Jan 16th 2015, 8:05 PM

FG troll

Mute Alan Scott
    Favourite Alan Scott
    Jan 16th 2015, 10:08 AM

Run to the television you might have heard this back 40 years ago

Mute Catherine Mill
    Favourite Catherine Mill
    Jan 16th 2015, 12:11 PM

Are these men or boys. its like reading a script from a school scene?

Do we pay these boys to act out?

Mute Bluemist
    Favourite Bluemist
    Jan 16th 2015, 8:21 PM

SF again PR stunt

Mute Ten Major
    Favourite Ten Major
    Jan 17th 2015, 8:46 PM

Blueshirt mist damages your political vision. Listen to today at one on Rte radio 1, even Francis Fitzgerald wouldn’t defend Byrne’s ignorant outburst. He refuses to apologise so he is toast at the next election. Somehow I doubt he will even run.

Mute Simon Haden
    Favourite Simon Haden
    Jan 16th 2015, 8:55 PM

The usual hipocrasy from Sinn Fein. They never stop digging holes for themselves.

Mute amos brearly
    Favourite amos brearly
    Jan 16th 2015, 12:55 PM

Shit happens.

Mute Mccart Brenda
    Favourite Mccart Brenda
    Jan 20th 2015, 6:34 PM

Am here to testify what this great spell caster done for me. i never believe in spell casting, until when i was was tempted to try it. i and my husband have been having a lot of problem living together, he will always not make me happy because he have fallen in love with another lady outside our relationship, i tried my best to make sure that my husband leave this woman but the more i talk to him the more he makes me fell sad, so my marriage is now leading to divorce because he no longer gives me attention. so with all this pain and agony, i decided to contact this spell caster to see if things can work out between me and my husband again. this spell caster who was a woman told me that my husband is really under a great spell that he have been charm by some magic, so she told me that she was going to make all things normal back. she did the spell on my husband and after 5 days my husband changed completely he even apologize with the way he treated me that he was not him self, i really thank this woman her name is Dr Aluta she have bring back my husband back to me i want you all to contact her who are having any problem related to marriage issue and relationship problem she will solve it for you. her email is traditionalspellhospital@gmail.com she is a woman and she is great. wish you good time.
    He cast spells for different purposes like
    (1) If you want your ex back.
    (2) if you always have bad dream
    (3) You want to be promoted in your office.
    (4) You want women/men to run after you.
    (5) If you want a child.
    (6) You want to be rich.
    (7) You want to tie your husband/wife to be yours forever.
    (8) If you need financial assistance.
    (9) HIV/AIDS CURE
    Contact him today on: traditionalspellhospital@gmail.com

Mute Con O Callaghan
    Favourite Con O Callaghan
    Jan 16th 2015, 3:17 PM

That remark is as low as a sneaks belly!