You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

RTÉ News

Police-killings comments: Karen Bradley says she didn't believe what she said

There have been calls today for the UK’s Northern Ireland Secretary to resign.

LAST UPDATE | 7 Mar 2019

THE UK’S NORTHERN Ireland Secretary Karen Bradley has repeated her apology for saying that the deaths caused by soldiers and police during the Troubles “were not crimes” – adding that she didn’t believe what she said.

Bradley has faced calls to resign over her statement in the House of Commons yesterday, where she said the deaths in Northern Ireland “that were at the hands of the military and police were not crimes”. 

She added: “They were people acting under orders and under instruction and fulfilling their duties in a dignified and appropriate way.”

In a statement today, she said she was “profoundly sorry for the offence and hurt” that her words had caused. 

“The language was wrong and even though this was not my intention, it was deeply insensitive to many of those who lost loved ones.

I know from those families that I have met personally just how raw their pain is and I completely understand why they want to see justice properly delivered. I share that aim and that is why I launched the public consultation on addressing the legacy of the Troubles.

Speaking to RTÉ News tonight, Bradley said again that she was “profoundly sorry” for the offence caused, and said she didn’t believe what she said.

If I could turn the clock back to 11.45 yesterday, I would do so in a heartbeat because I never intended to cause hurt, upset or distress or to give anyone the impression that I believe what I said. It was not my belief.

She said that the families and the people of Northern Ireland “need someone to deliver for them” and was “determined to deliver for them with the government”.

We will deliver justice for those families.

TheJournal.ie / YouTube

Bradley had already sought to climb down yesterday from her initial comments, later saying she hadn’t been referring to any specific cases, but was simply “expressing a general view”.

In her statement today, she said the British government’s position is “clear”. 

We believe fundamentally in the rule of law. Where there is any evidence of wrongdoing this should be pursued without fear or favour whoever the perpetrators might be. That is the principle that underpins our approach to dealing with legacy issues and it is one from which we will not depart. 

She did not go as far as acknowledging that killings committed by British forces during the Troubles were crimes. 

As well as investigations currently under way into crimes allegedly committed by members of British security services, there have already been cases where soldiers have been convicted over killings during the Troubles.

Media reports in the past week have indicated that four ex-British soldiers could be charged with the 1972 shooting of unarmed marchers in Derry on Bloody Sunday.

‘Totally inappropriate’

Tánaiste Simon Coveney was asked in the Dáil today by Fianna Fáil’s Dara Calleary to address Bradley’s comments, which he himself described as “absolutely callous and completely out of order and totally inappropriate”.

Calleary referenced comments made by former Foreign Secretary Boris Johnson in a column for the Telegraph newspaper at the weekend, where he said would be “a storm of utter fury” if up to four ex-British soldiers were charged with the deaths of 14 unarmed marchers in Derry on Bloody Sunday in 1972.

“It’s easy to dismiss Boris Johnson, he’s paid to be bizarre,” Calleary said, adding that Bradley’s comments, however, cannot be ignored.

Sinn Féin’s Pearse Doherty added that Bradley’s remarks were “outrageous and ridiculous”. He said it was important to note that her comments followed on from a statement from British Prime Minister Theresa May about protecting serving and former British soldiers who committed crimes.

Doherty said the comments of both women “are an insult to families who have lost loved one to the British Army”. He said victims’ families, some of who have been campaigning for decades, deserve justice.

Responding, the Tánaiste said he met with Bradley in London yesterday evening and made it clear where the Irish government stands on the issue. 

He said her comments caused “intense” concern, distress and hurt for families whose loved ones were killed.

Coveney said Bradley’s attempt yesterday to clarify her initial comments was “important but perhaps not enough”. 

He noted that in her additional statement today, Bradley said she is “profoundly sorry” and “recognises the seriousness of the statement that was made yesterday”. He also said she may comment further and make contact with victims’ families when she is in Belfast later today. 

But he acknowledged that the timing of the comments “couldn’t be worse”, as the families of the 14 people who died as a result of Bloody Sunday await a briefing from the Public Prosecution Service for Northern Ireland next week.

He also referenced last week’s decision by the UK Supreme Court that an effective investigation into Pat Finucane’s murder was not held. Finucane, a 39-year-old human rights solicitor, was shot dead by loyalists paramilitaries in front of his three children and wife Geraldine, who was also injured, on 12 February 1989.

Coveney said both cases have placed a “heightened focus on legacy issues”.

Taoiseach Leo Varadkar also addressed Bradley’s comments, telling reporters that he had met victims’ families in the past and that they are still grieving, still hurting and a lot of them have questions that are unanswered.

He said her comments were “insensitive and they were wrong”.

Bear in mind what we’re talking about here is, we’re talking about the killing of civilians, not combatants. We’re talking about peaceful protesters in Derry on Bloody Sunday, we’re talking about Ballymurphy, we’re talking about Kingsmills, we’re talking about Dublin and Monaghan. And we need a British government that is at least open to the possibility that these killings of civilians could have been crimes – and indeed there have been convictions for such killings. In that context I really think the comments were wrong and insensitive. 

When asked if he thought she should resign, he replied “Not going to go there”.

Calls to resign

Victims’ families and political parties in the North have led calls for Bradley to resign.

John Kelly, whose brother Michael was killed on Bloody Sunday, told the BBC that her comments were “outrageous”.

“Her place now is untenable, she should go,” he said. John Teggart, whose father was killed in the 1971 Ballymurphy shootings, agreed.

He said: “What Karen Bradley said is that the soldiers who murdered my father – 14 bullets went through his body, ripped chunks out of his body – that soldier acted in a dignified and appropriate way.

For Mrs Bradley to come out with insulting, despicable insults to families, it’s an absolute disgrace.

The SDLP and Sinn Féin have also called for Bradley’s resignation.

SDLP Leader Colum Eastwood said the comments were “absolutely appalling”, while Sinn Féin deputy leader Michelle O’Neill said they were “outrageous and offensive”. 

With reporting by Michelle Hennessy, Órla Ryan, and Gráinne Ní Aodha

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

175 Comments
    Mute offtheball
    Favourite offtheball
    Mar 7th 2019, 7:31 AM

What a pity there’s no nationalist representation in The Commons to pull her up on those comments – instead there’s just the DUP to applaud her!

Mute tubbsyf
    Favourite tubbsyf
    Mar 7th 2019, 7:37 AM

@offtheball: Yes, let’s attack SF here

Mute Clifford Brennan
    Favourite Clifford Brennan
    Mar 7th 2019, 7:44 AM

@tubbsyf: You leave the SDLP out of nationalist representation? It’s a fair comment.

See 31 more replies ▾
    Mute Darren Bates
    Favourite Darren Bates
    Mar 7th 2019, 7:49 AM

@Clifford Brennan: no MPs man

Mute Clifford Brennan
    Mar 7th 2019, 7:50 AM

@Darren Bates: I know that. Its still a shame there’s no nationalist representation to pull this clown up though.

Mute Jane
    Favourite Jane
    Mar 7th 2019, 7:59 AM

@tubbsyf: it’s a fair point.

Mute @kudzu_dub
    Favourite @kudzu_dub
    Mar 7th 2019, 8:09 AM

@Clifford Brennan: why recognise a parliament that fosters bigots like this?

Mute Chris OB
    Favourite Chris OB
    Mar 7th 2019, 8:10 AM

@offtheball: idiot

Mute Clifford Brennan
    Mar 7th 2019, 8:12 AM

@@kudzu_dub: Why? Because of times like this:
    https://youtu.be/MKVGO2eZKvE

Mar 7th 2019, 8:40 AM

@tubbsyf: and rightly so, fence sitters letting the DUP control May

Mute Doire
    Favourite Doire
    Mar 7th 2019, 8:56 AM

@offtheball: why take seats in foreign government? Agreements were made in Stormont then ignored and never implemented. Swear oath to British crown to sit up at the back and be ignored.

Mute Kerry Wynne
    Favourite Kerry Wynne
    Mar 7th 2019, 9:47 AM

@tubbsyf: What is wrong with some that they ignore what she said and use the opportunity to deflect and once again talk about SF when the people voted for them not to take their seats. Let’s ignore the democratic will of the people.
    What Karen Bradley said was outrageous and deliberate. There was no misunderstanding. Her words were cold and calculating when she stated ‘that people acting under orders and under instruction and fulfilling their duties in a dignified and appropriate way’ So it seems there is a dignified and appropriate way to murder someone, known to the British Army and their apologists.

Let’s also ignore the hurt caused to so many families yesterday. The families of those murdered in Ballymurphy currently sitting at an inquest (finally) listening to how their loved ones were murdered (or is that dealt with in a dignified and appropriate way), the families of the victims of Bloody Sunday currently waiting to hear if there will be anyone charged with the dignified and appropriate shooting of their loved ones. Reavey family, Miami showband, the list goes on and on.

‘Pulling her up’ what effect would that have? The words and meaning were out there so someone challenging it in HOC would not have made any difference. Time to get behind these families and for once ignore the pettiness of whataboutery.

Mute Daniel Roche
    Favourite Daniel Roche

@offtheball: the nationalist community vote SF cause they know there policy, having a go at a party that actually keeps there promise,I’m not a SF voter but I am a republican,now back to what this woman said.

Mute offtheball
    Favourite offtheball
    Mar 7th 2019, 10:11 AM

@Chris OB: that’s a great argument.

Mute offtheball
    Favourite offtheball
    Mar 7th 2019, 10:12 AM

@Chris OB: thanks I didn’t know.

Mute Larry Doherty
    Favourite Larry Doherty
    Mar 7th 2019, 10:20 AM

@Clifford Brennan: what good would it do? We had three former SDLP leaders in Westminster for years – Durkin, Ritchie and McDonnell. (Tells me more about the opportunism of SDLP party leaders and their commitment to politics in the North – sure they are great travellers, aren’t they.) Before that we had Gerry Fitt, the first SDLP leader, who was allegedly a Republican and a Socialist when he left here and ended up in the House of Lords alienated from his own constituents and curiously known as Baron Fitt of Bell’s Hill, which is in County Down, no where near his former constituency. Likely his old constituents did nt want him to be associated with them. Yes indeed, great results for nationalist politicians, who take their seats in Westminster?

Mute Patricia Mcnamara
    Favourite Patricia Mcnamara
    Mar 7th 2019, 10:31 AM

@Gus Sheridan: I am a Shinners but believe that they should sit in parliament ( personal opinion)
    They could leave out the oath to queen which is outdated anyway
    Times have changed and we must change with them

Mute Niall Binéad
    Favourite Niall Binéad
    Mar 7th 2019, 10:41 AM

@Patricia Mcnamara: for a member of our party, you’re way off the mark here! Times have changed and we are forever changing our strategy and tact, but to do what you ‘wrongly’ suggest, is ludicrous and deluded!

Mute Karen Wellington
    Favourite Karen Wellington
    Mar 7th 2019, 10:43 AM

@Patricia Mcnamara: MP can’t take their seats until they swear the oath under the Parliaments Oath Act 1866.

Mute George Bradley
    Favourite George Bradley
    Mar 7th 2019, 11:50 AM

@offtheball: run yourself then you can pledge allegiance to the queen. Because it’s no big deal to you.

Mute Mr Bojangles
    Favourite Mr Bojangles
    Mar 7th 2019, 12:15 PM

@Kerry Wynne: You nailed it.

Mute T Beckett is back
    Favourite T Beckett is back
    Mar 7th 2019, 1:16 PM

@offtheball:

Pull them up?

What difference does that make?

Sinn Féin should have nothing to do with those monsters.

Mute Mjhint
    Favourite Mjhint
    Mar 7th 2019, 1:25 PM

@Patricia Mcnamara: wow I admire that. As someone who doesn’t agree with SF I thought it was just the drone of TAL that SF supporters respond to but clearly in your case I’m wrong. New ideas are what’s needed in Ireland & thinking like yours although unpopular with status quo shows at least some light. politics in Ireland doesn’t do new ideas & that’s why ff fg lb & others a pointless in investing votes in.

Mute Joe Phillips
    Favourite Joe Phillips
    Mar 7th 2019, 1:30 PM

@offtheball: A pity there’s no Irish nationalist party pledging allegiance to the Queen of England? No it’s not. It would be a disgrace if there was. You didn’t think that through at all.

Mute Mícheál Ó Fallúin
    Favourite Mícheál Ó Fallúin
    Mar 7th 2019, 1:47 PM

@offtheball: ye Sinn Fein etc etc… ffs

Mute Liam Carlin
    Favourite Liam Carlin
    Mar 7th 2019, 2:16 PM

@Doire: if not taking a seat why stand for election ? Why draw the salary? Why claim the expenses? Surely by standing for election and then not taking the seat are you not denying your constituents proper representation in the government which regardless of your personal opinion on the rights or wrongs of it , does in fact have jurisdiction there ?

Mute Karen Wellington
    Mar 7th 2019, 2:37 PM

@Liam Carlin: you cannot draw a salary until you take your seat, you cannot take your seat until you’ve sworn the oath. All that aside; SF are protesting an illegitimate government, if the oath were to be abolished they still wouldn’t sit.

SF candidates are elected on the platform that they will not recognise an illegitimate foreign government. The voters know this and still chose to vote for them. You might not agree with how northerns spend their votes but that’s democracy and you’ll just have to move past it.

Mute Doire
    Favourite Doire
    Mar 7th 2019, 3:29 PM

@Liam Carlin: because if they dont stand the nationalist community have no reason to go out and vote. What happens then is every DUP and UUP councillor that stands has no opposition and in turn a bigger platform in Westminster, they walk through the process with no opposition. As for the salary and expenses, when elected they are entitled to them. They are continually voted on the mandate that they will not be taking there seats. This is not new information.

Mute Sandra Duffy
    Favourite Sandra Duffy
    Mar 7th 2019, 5:07 PM

@Joe Phillips: just cross your fingers while spouting meaningless words. Half the parliament are probably anti monarchists doing the same. Boycotting is doing feck all good.

Mute Karen Wellington
    Mar 7th 2019, 6:03 PM

@Sandra Duffy: they don’t recognise British parliament as a legitimate government, the oath isn’t the real issue and abolishing it won’t change the policy of abstention. But you’re right several MPs have taken the oath with their fingers crossed or with the added caveat that they think it’s BS.

Mute Christy Dolan
    Favourite Christy Dolan
    Mar 7th 2019, 8:09 PM

@offtheball: what use would that be? Let the world see these fools for who they are. Nationalists would be a tiny tiny corner in the room anyway with little to no speaking rights. Don’t need House of Commons. She doesn’t mean a word in her apology so why engage?

Mute Declan Leonard
    Favourite Declan Leonard
    Mar 7th 2019, 8:14 PM

@offtheball: sdlp.try fact checking

Mute Joe Phillips
    Favourite Joe Phillips
    Mar 8th 2019, 12:06 AM

@Sandra Duffy: what in the sh!te are you on about? They literally ask for, and receive, their votes with that policy. What exactly do you think should be their approach with Brexit negotiations?

Mute paddy fox
    Favourite paddy fox
    Mar 8th 2019, 12:54 AM

@offtheball: aye right as if that would make any difference

Mute Darren Bates
    Favourite Darren Bates
    Mar 7th 2019, 7:48 AM

These Northern Secretaries have very little concept about the realities of the north. Why take the job if you have no idea of it? Mo Mowlam would be horrified to think that this is what’s become of her office. I’m not asking them to have a PhD in the peace process, but even just be aware that their government carried out some horrible attacks on innocent people, purely because of those victims’ politics.

Mute Joe Johnson
    Favourite Joe Johnson
    Mar 7th 2019, 8:38 AM

@Darren Bates: The Brits will never learn about Ireland it’s culture and it’s history. Even basic irish history tells us the Ulster Plantation didn’t work out and the problems it’s caused with division still ring through to this day.

Mute great gael of Eire
    Favourite great gael of Eire
    Mar 7th 2019, 10:34 AM

@Joe Johnson: The Ulster plantation was a huge success for the British, Ulster went from being the most troublesome part of Ireland to the most loyal. Still loyal to this day. Everywhere the Brits went, they deployed the tactic divide and conquer. Look at India, they portioned it before they left. Same with Ireland. A partitioned country is weak and most partitions have caused wars and death.
    They partitioned
    - Ireland – Northern Ireland
    - India – Pakistan
    - Israel – Palestine
    - Ottoman empire after WW1
    - Africa

Mute Karen Wellington
    Mar 7th 2019, 12:33 PM

@Anthony Avenell: lead by example you absolute child.

Mute Michael Lynch
    Favourite Michael Lynch
    Mar 7th 2019, 2:28 PM

@Anthony Avenell: A nations parliament is a reflection of its society, refer to Houses of Lords and Commons. I rest my case.

Mute Charlie
    Favourite Charlie
    Mar 7th 2019, 3:02 PM

@Anthony Avenell: The British haven’t left this island you clown

Mute Skybloo
    Favourite Skybloo
    Mar 7th 2019, 6:33 PM

@Anthony Avenell:
    I’m having a right belly laugh at your comment. Loving our British friends making absolute clowns of themselves … I’d go as far as saying that you couldn’t make all this shit up, but then you do.

Mute Joe Johnson
    Favourite Joe Johnson
    Mar 7th 2019, 10:07 PM

@great gael of Eire: Ulster didnt work out for the native irish and never will.

Mute Fachtna Roe
    Favourite Fachtna Roe
    Mar 8th 2019, 8:02 AM

@Anthony Avenell: Cuirtear “iománaíocht” ar sin, Sasanach.

Mute Leadóg
    Favourite Leadóg
    Mar 7th 2019, 7:45 AM

The sooner the British establishment/ government, Tory or labour, fuks off out of irish affairs the better it will be for everyone on this island.

Mute Gerry Campbell
    Favourite Gerry Campbell
    Mar 7th 2019, 7:51 AM

@Leadóg: as the Unionists might say about our crowd. Anyway far from being an eejit, I’d say that woman wants out, tried and tried ,but Theresa is too busy with Brexit, she just committed political hara Kiri to get sacked.

Mute Anne Marie Devlin
    Favourite Anne Marie Devlin
    Mar 7th 2019, 8:03 AM

@Gerry Campbell: surely it would have been easier just to resign. Don’t forget that it’s not the first time she has shown her deep ignorance if the north.

Mute Karen Wellington
    Mar 7th 2019, 9:42 AM

@Gerry Campbell: I wondered that too, but like Anne Marie says; resignation was an option, and she is a proven dunce when it comes to her political portfolio

Mute Larry Doherty
    Favourite Larry Doherty
    Mar 7th 2019, 11:43 AM

@Gerry Campbell: speaking of Teresa May, did nt she look an abject diminutive figure sitting behind Karen Bradley yesterday. Brexit is definitely taking its toll.

Mute 2thFairy
    Favourite 2thFairy
    Mar 7th 2019, 7:56 AM

It’s indicative of the level of knowledge that the English have about their own Irish history. The issues of the north are not part of any history lesson in school. The wider public and high ranking politicians have not been educated on this and so are not armed to deal with it in any way. Their ignorance is astonishing but understandable.

Mute 2thFairy
    Favourite 2thFairy
    Mar 7th 2019, 8:05 AM

@2thFairy: what’s also astonishing is she hasn’t seen fit to apologise.

Mute Bruce van der Gutschmitzer
    Favourite Bruce van der Gutschmitzer
    Mar 7th 2019, 8:30 AM

@2thFairy: I’ve said it before-they’re education system is set up to keep them ignorant as they are rightly ashamed of their past. They don’t have history and geography as core subjects (although geography was changed stupidly) like us which would help make informed decisions and statements here. Instead, such figureheads can blissfully swan through their career without any real knowledge of the people they are ‘governing’ over. Look at Dominic Raab. Brexit minister, goes to the north to discuss the border and we find out he doesn’t even know what’s in the Belfast Agreement. These are the fools that Theresa May thinks have the aptitude to make decisions.

Mute Patricia Mcnamara
    Favourite Patricia Mcnamara
    Mar 7th 2019, 10:32 AM

@2thFairy: they probably made her apologize

Mute 2thFairy
    Favourite 2thFairy
    Mar 7th 2019, 3:41 PM

@Patricia Mcnamara: either that or she read my post..!! Lol

Mute Michael Heery
    Favourite Michael Heery
    Mar 7th 2019, 10:34 PM

@Bruce van der Gutschmitzer: not to forget 300,000 killed in kenya independence war.

Mute eharry
    Favourite eharry
    Mar 8th 2019, 1:34 AM

@Bruce van der Gutschmitzer: seems like we no longer have history or geography as core subjects in Irish schools anymore either, #lestweforget

Mar 8th 2019, 8:44 AM

@Michael Heery: considering that was post ww2, considerably, they’ve a lot to be embarrassed about there. Was there ever an official apology?? It’s the Bengal famine that always bugs me. At least 4 million ppl starved to death so Churchill could have backup food stores. When that knowledge starts making more waves…..they make a film about him!

Mar 8th 2019, 8:46 AM

@eharry: true. No thanks to Brutal Minister Bruton. He has taken back education a couple of years. Absolute chancer. They’ll be brought back soon enough though I think.

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Mar 7th 2019, 7:39 AM

So murder is “fulfilling your duties in a dignified and appropriate way”? She should go now.

Mute Derek Moean
    Favourite Derek Moean
    Mar 7th 2019, 7:35 AM

So it’s ok to shoot unarmed civilians. Then go back to England as if nothing happened.

Mute @kudzu_dub
    Favourite @kudzu_dub
    Mar 7th 2019, 7:42 AM

@Derek Moean: only if they are Irish, or one of those pesky brown people from the colonies.

Mute Tom Ryan
    Favourite Tom Ryan
    Mar 7th 2019, 9:00 AM

When the IRA murdered people it was called murder but when British soldiers murdered people it’s called wrongdoing, Ms Bradley whether it was IRA or her majesty soldiers doing the killing it was all murder.

Mute Leo Massey
    Favourite Leo Massey
    Mar 7th 2019, 7:51 AM

What else could you expect from a Tory?

Mute Michael Lynch
    Favourite Michael Lynch
    Mar 8th 2019, 12:16 AM

@Leo Massey: …what you expect from a pig but a grunt.

Mute Lottie Skinner
    Favourite Lottie Skinner
    Mar 7th 2019, 8:06 AM

Another well read,informed Tory politician.

Mute Shane
    Favourite Shane
    Mar 7th 2019, 5:33 PM

@Lottie Skinner: well read Tory Politician… a contradiction of terms, if ever there was one.

Mute Donal Knight
    Favourite Donal Knight
    Mar 7th 2019, 9:21 AM

So the Nuremburg trials weren’t necessary after all.

Mute Paul Murphy
    Favourite Paul Murphy
    Mar 7th 2019, 11:47 AM

@Donal Knight: Actually they weren’t but as victors they allies could do as they chose. the Nuremberg trials went after the people they wanted held accountable as opposed to those who actually pulled the trigger. The reverse has happened up north where the people to be held accountable on the security forces side , government, civil service military authorities have never been brought to task. Very easy to point the finger of blame at a 19 year old who has been through the likes of Aden and or other actual shooting wars having indoctrinated him with very tough military regimen for the first 6 months of his military career where everything his superiors said was godlike. Things have changed in that world but back in 1972 the major of the enlisted in the likes of the Parachute Regiment were from tough back rounds, from lower class, poor education Northern England, new nothing about Ireland and its history, having been trained as shock troops for the cold war and then dropped in to a province that was nominally part of their own country, where there were Unionists and Loyalist and another group who hated them with a passion… and then told to shoot. Yes some were over enthusiastic in the carrying out of their tasks, but the superiors gave an undertaking to the government at the time to sort the problem. Why aren’t these and the government ministers in front of the courts?

Mute Shem Romanowski
    Favourite Shem Romanowski
    Mar 7th 2019, 12:23 PM

@Paul Murphy: Nevermind that, she shouldn’t be saying what she said. she should take responsibility for what she said. Apologising isn’t enough, especially in such topic like NI. She is incompetent and should resign immediately.

Mute Ooby Dooby
    Favourite Ooby Dooby
    Mar 7th 2019, 10:24 AM

“no offence, but soldiers shooting innocent children in the back as they run away, is appropriate and dignified” – Karen Bradley

Why is she still in office?

Mute Al Fresco
    Favourite Al Fresco
    Mar 7th 2019, 9:26 AM

Must be a great comfort to the families of people who were killed by soldiers in the North to know that their loved ones were dispatched in a “ dignified and appropriate way.”

Mute Andy mc Laughlin
    Favourite Andy mc Laughlin
    Mar 7th 2019, 9:22 AM

Fairly ignorant comments to make. She has basically said that the findings of numerous tribunals that cost tens of millions are not worth anything. Does she not realize the British government has apologized for some of these atrocities. That in itself is an admission of crimes committed by the security forces. And don’t get me started on the loyalist death squads that operated for years sanctioned by the very top level of the British government doing the dirty work off the British state. Using methods developed all over the world by frank kitson. This woman should be educated before taking on a job where she is suppose to be non biased to either side.

Mute Colm O'Leary
    Favourite Colm O'Leary
    Mar 7th 2019, 8:58 AM

100 years on and the British are just as ignorant about Irish politics as the day they left….even the ones running Northern Ireland. There’s an excuse for the general population but to be the Northern Ireland secretary and to not know that comment would cause offense is just plain ignorant!

Mute Cal Mooney
    Favourite Cal Mooney
    Mar 7th 2019, 9:01 AM

@Colm O’Leary: You do understand part of Ireland is still occupied?

Mute Colm O'Leary
    Favourite Colm O'Leary
    Mar 7th 2019, 6:49 PM

@Cal Mooney: of course I do! What’s your point? I was quite clear in what I said wasn’t I?

Mute Richard Burke
    Favourite Richard Burke

If she’s the best T. May can find for a senior positions. God help the U.K.

Mute Patti o furniture
    Favourite Patti o furniture
    Mar 7th 2019, 8:41 AM

How stupid can people get, think before you spout verbal diarrhea, world is gone mad

Mute George Salter
    Favourite George Salter
    Mar 7th 2019, 7:42 AM

I didnt take offence. It’s more the level of competence involved. These are basic facts related to the role.

Mute matthew o reilly
    Favourite matthew o reilly
    Mar 7th 2019, 8:03 AM

@George Salter: were any of your relatives murdered by the British security forces if not your not being offended means very little

Mute George Salter
    Favourite George Salter
    Mar 7th 2019, 8:22 AM

@matthew o reilly: Thank you for missing my point entirely. I was brought up in Dundalk diring the troubles. I do know a bit about the situation.

Mute Cal Mooney
    Favourite Cal Mooney
    Mar 7th 2019, 8:57 AM

@George Salter: I am delighted you personally were not offended. Bully for you. Glad you won’t need to give her comments a second thought.

Mute George Salter
    Favourite George Salter
    Mar 7th 2019, 12:18 PM

@Cal Mooney: Oh ffs. Are you actually capable of reading my comment, or is it beyond you?

Mute Seriously stunned
    Favourite Seriously stunned
    Mar 7th 2019, 8:36 AM

To little to late love.

Mute Sean taoiseach
    Favourite Sean taoiseach
    Mar 7th 2019, 7:54 AM

The Nazi SS WHERE ONLY OBEYING ORDERS murder is murder she should hang her head in shame and be sacked

Mute Margaret Doyle
    Favourite Margaret Doyle
    Mar 7th 2019, 9:55 AM

She’s never heard of the H blocks then? Ignorance is bliss. How I wish they would read some books.
    They must know the English education system is akin to 3rd World schools.

Mute Karen Wellington
    Mar 7th 2019, 10:22 AM

@Margaret Doyle: catch 22; their system is so woeful that they’re not aware of how far below the standard they fall

Mute Michael Garvey
    Favourite Michael Garvey
    Mar 7th 2019, 10:08 AM

Wow. What did she intend?

Mute Shane Hickey
    Favourite Shane Hickey
    Mar 7th 2019, 10:10 AM

So all those years of denying the existence of a shoot to kill policy, they were lying?

Mute Niall Binéad
    Favourite Niall Binéad
    Mar 7th 2019, 10:34 AM

She needs to go! She said she didn’t intend to cause offense, but she did….. blatantly, callously and unemphatically of what’s the norm of a British MP when it comes to the 6 counties of Ireland!

Mute Anthony Avenell
    Favourite Anthony Avenell
    Mar 7th 2019, 11:48 AM

@Niall Binéad: What a load of Bull you talk. Take off your bigoted head and wake up to reality. No one really cares about Ireland because all you do is complain and try to blame everyone else for your own pathetic condition.

Mute Karen Wellington
    Mar 7th 2019, 12:26 PM

@Anthony Avenell: could you try being mature about this topic, you know like you’ve advocated for above?

Mute Stephen Blood
    Favourite Stephen Blood
    Mar 7th 2019, 1:31 PM

@Anthony Avenell: think you have uk and Ireland mixed up its all the foreign peoples fault our country is a kip why did they follow us home after invading there country

Mute Kavo
    Favourite Kavo
    Mar 7th 2019, 5:24 PM

@Anthony Avenell: “our own pathetic condition” have you not been following brexit? Your country is the laughing stock of the world right now, there’s only one pathetic country in this conversation and it’s not ireland.

Mute Malachy Guilfoyle
    Favourite Malachy Guilfoyle
    Mar 7th 2019, 8:27 AM

At least have cop enough to keep your mouth shut if you don’t know enough about a particular subject.

Mute Seamus Murphy
    Favourite Seamus Murphy
    Mar 7th 2019, 10:40 AM

In the words of her former leader “Out! Out! Out!

Mute Rob Cahill
    Favourite Rob Cahill
    Mar 7th 2019, 11:32 AM

She knew exactly what she was saying. A disgusting excuse for a human being.

Mute Anthony Avenell
    Mar 7th 2019, 11:44 AM

@Rob Cahill: So you are in to bullying women. What a sad individual you are.

Mute Karen Wellington
    Mar 7th 2019, 12:20 PM

@Anthony Avenell: is she on this forum? Studying her portfolio would be a better use of her time

Mute Beircheart Breathnach
    Favourite Beircheart Breathnach
    Mar 7th 2019, 1:48 PM

@Karen Wellington: Yawn.

Mute Karen Wellington
    Mar 7th 2019, 4:18 PM

@Beircheart Breathnach: “I think a little bit of maturity is in order. Stop throwing your toys from the prom just because you have no argument!!!!” – Beircheart Breathnach

‘prom’ is probably supposed to read pram.

Mute Kieran Mccarthy
    Favourite Kieran Mccarthy
    Mar 7th 2019, 10:32 AM

Feck sake, Ask Bradley to name the 6 counties and see what you get. Her comments yesterday and those of her compatriots towards Ireland, demonstrates clearly why republicans dont sit in that parliament. But hold on a while, FF/SDLP will probably do so in the near future, and then the Irish question will be sorted once and for all.

Mute Colleen Kilbane
    Favourite Colleen Kilbane
    Mar 7th 2019, 12:14 PM

Not surprised as she is (I think) the sitting MP for Staffordshire regiment where the infamous Black and Tans came from and their murderous activities during the War of Independence is well documented. As they say the apple doesn’t fall from the tree

Mute Colleen Kilbane
    Favourite Colleen Kilbane
    Mar 7th 2019, 12:20 PM

@Colleen Kilbane: sorry should read “sitting MP for Staffordshire where the infamous Staffordshire regiment and Black and Tans came from

Mute Tom Kelly
    Favourite Tom Kelly
    Mar 7th 2019, 12:02 PM

Sums up the way the brits think.. end of

Mute Ro Molloy
    Favourite Ro Molloy
    Mar 7th 2019, 10:57 AM

The ignorance of a large number of MP’s regarding Ireland is very worrying. Particularly conservative MP’s.

Mute Ann Kehoe
    Favourite Ann Kehoe
    Mar 7th 2019, 9:57 AM

Loose lips sink ships.

Mute Anthony Avenell
    Mar 7th 2019, 11:43 AM

@Ann Kehoe: Not if your nation takes the cowards way out and claims neutrality.

Mute Karen Wellington
    Mar 7th 2019, 12:15 PM

@Anthony Avenell: so your ignorance extends to world history, not really that surprising.

Mute Kevin Barry
    Favourite Kevin Barry
    Mar 7th 2019, 10:44 PM

@Anthony Avenell: Arseling, butt out.

Mute John G,O'Driscoll
    Favourite John G,O'Driscoll
    Mar 7th 2019, 2:47 PM

Just shows you that Ms Bradley knows as much about the North as she and her colleagues know about the ‘masterplan’ of ‘implementing’ Brexit !!! Flying on the seat of their pants and pilotless in the process.

Mute Larry Doherty
    Favourite Larry Doherty
    Mar 7th 2019, 3:03 PM

Lets Boycott the so-called Anthony Avenell. Don’t even respond to him. He’s a wind up.

Mute Paddy Ryan
    Favourite Paddy Ryan
    Mar 7th 2019, 9:09 AM

Why are people so surprised, plastic bullets were never allowed on mainland Britain, it was always ok to shoot the Irish .

Mute Tanks a Minion
    Favourite Tanks a Minion
    Mar 7th 2019, 10:11 AM

@Paddy Ryan: “Mainland Britain”? I think you mean Britain.

Mute Anthony Avenell
    Mar 7th 2019, 11:39 AM

@Paddy Ryan: It was also seen by the Irish as okay to blow up innocent children and women in an entirely indiscriminate fashion. Rubber bullets are much less lethal than bombs and lead bullets.

Mute Karen Wellington
    Mar 7th 2019, 12:12 PM

@Anthony Avenell: no it wasn’t, you seem to be the only one supporting or condoning the IRA and their crimes.

Mute Gisbert Bayertz
    Favourite Gisbert Bayertz
    Mar 7th 2019, 3:06 PM

A complete tool

Mute James Reidy
    Favourite James Reidy
    Mar 7th 2019, 6:13 PM

When she made that comment Sammy Wilson was noding in agreement, No surpise there with WILSON!

Mute Matt Dillon
    Favourite Matt Dillon
    Mar 7th 2019, 3:46 PM

Showed her true colours

Mute Frank Lloyd wright
    Favourite Frank Lloyd wright
    Mar 7th 2019, 3:10 PM

Soldiers who operated on behalf of the British state came into a working class area in broad daylight, shot down my neighbours and friends. This was a tactic developed by Frank kitson to cow the local population. https://www.historyireland.com/volume-22/frank-kitson-northern-ireland-british-way-counterinsurgency/

Mute Jo Croft
    Favourite Jo Croft
    Mar 7th 2019, 1:16 PM

Too late

Mute Richard Burke
    Favourite Richard Burke
    Mar 7th 2019, 8:40 PM

She said she was sorry for what she said.
    But take note: She didn’t say she was wrong.
    Being sorry is not good enough.

Mute Alex Kinsella
    Favourite Alex Kinsella
    Mar 7th 2019, 2:24 PM

It generally helps to put things in context.. The misinformed should read Breige Voyle’s account of the murder of her Mother:

https://www.mirror.co.uk/news/uk-news/shattered-daughter-speaks-out-ballymurphy-13161424

Bradley should be sacked never mind resign.

Mute Terri McCormick O'Gorman
    Favourite Terri McCormick O'Gorman
    Mar 7th 2019, 2:46 PM

Too little, too late!!

Mute Shane
    Favourite Shane
    Mar 7th 2019, 5:21 PM

She made those scurrilous remarks in the House of Commons… if she was genuinely sorry, she’d issue her apology there & correct the record…
    Her original comments are indicative of the total ignorance and lack of care regards Ireland that characterises the current British government. It also shows how arrogant the British establishment still is.

Mute Kevin Molloy
    Favourite Kevin Molloy
    Mar 7th 2019, 7:49 PM

This comment from Karen Bralley which is supported by the rest of her party shows the contempt that the British Government has for the Irish,this was always so and always will be. Any Irish person who expects to get justice from the British Government has never studied Irish History.

Mute sean de paore
    Favourite sean de paore
    Mar 7th 2019, 11:20 AM

I watch a lot of the UK parliament on tv and the only representation the Northern Ireland nationalist ever get is from a handful of Scottish Nationalist MPs. Hopefully at the next election people will finally realise this instead of wasting their votes on Sinn Fein, the party who always talk the talk from the sidelines or further away, they seek proper representation in Westminster.

Mute Billy Nomates
    Favourite Billy Nomates
    Mar 7th 2019, 3:51 PM

@sean de paore: The people who vote for Sinn Féin are already familiar with their policies and thus are happy with them if they vote for them. Dope

Mute Dev Boyjonauth
    Favourite Dev Boyjonauth
    Mar 7th 2019, 1:25 PM

Too little too late! Theresa May should fire her!

Mute Colm O'Leary
    Favourite Colm O'Leary
    Mar 7th 2019, 9:06 PM

An apology in a quiet room is to little too late. She stood up in the House of Commons and stated what she did. That’s a very different kettle of fish. For a woman that is effectively the prime minister of Northern Ireland to say something like she did shows the ignorance of the British people when it comes to Northern Ireland. Just do the decent thing and resign!!

Mute Kevin Maher
    Favourite Kevin Maher
    Mar 7th 2019, 9:04 PM

So of proves the point. They do not even consider us human. To them we are just animals.

Mute Darren Thibeaud
    Favourite Darren Thibeaud
    Mar 7th 2019, 10:03 PM

Out…Next!!!

Mute Karen Wellington
    Mar 7th 2019, 10:08 PM

She’ll be looking for a new job come Monday

Mute Niall Sheridan
    Favourite Niall Sheridan
    Mar 7th 2019, 1:07 PM

Airhead.

Mute Marion Dunne
    Favourite Marion Dunne
    Mar 7th 2019, 10:47 PM

Would Karen Bradley say it wasn’t a crime if British soldiers shot and killed 13 Englishmen in London?

Mute Front Line (Retd)
    Favourite Front Line (Retd)
    Mar 7th 2019, 9:29 AM

No one is above the law not even those who enforce it. It was a rash and stupid comment and said without thinking.

Mute Padraig Salah
    Favourite Padraig Salah
    Mar 7th 2019, 9:38 PM

When she got the job she said she didnt realise that catholics and protestant voted by religion.

The troubles were on tv every night fof 30 years and she didnt know this.

For a high profile job its shocking.
    If I appointed a new manager to the irish soccer team and they later said oh i didnt realise a soccer team has 11 players youd be like wtf.

If anything it just confirms the brits ignorance to ireland. U think about stuff like how they called our towns like corcaigh cork how derogatory the way they anglicised them, but i cud write a book on al that so yeah there u go.

Mayb one day we wil reverse anglicise our place names.

Mute John Quinn
    Favourite John Quinn
    Mar 7th 2019, 10:28 PM

Now I understand why there is no nationalist representation in the British Parliament…

Mute Christy Dolan
    Favourite Christy Dolan
    Mar 7th 2019, 8:03 PM

She is not one bit sorry. You could have more respect for her if she had and balls to own her statement and stand by it. She needs to look up the basic concepts of her own legal system too as to what a crime is

Mute davey boy
    Favourite davey boy
    Mar 7th 2019, 7:55 AM

She cannot be that stupid, maybe she actually wanted to get fired and get away from the hateful bastar.ds that represent the people in NI.

Mute Cal Mooney
    Favourite Cal Mooney
    Mar 7th 2019, 8:59 AM

@davey boy: The DUP? While I can’t blame her from wanting to get away from a party with its roots in sectarianism etc, her party teamed up with them. Why does she not resign from the Conservatives then if this was her motivation.

Mute davey boy
    Favourite davey boy
    Mar 7th 2019, 9:22 AM

@Cal Mooney: why would she resign her seat? Secretary of State for NI is probably the worst job you can get (next to Brexit Secretary). Who is their right mind would want that job.

Mute Karen Wellington
    Mar 7th 2019, 9:45 AM

@davey boy: she could resign her cabinet position without giving up her seat. If she were deliberately playing the incompetence card it would come back to bite her on the arse every day for the rest of her political career; would you give this woman another cabinet position?

Mute Anthony Avenell
    Mar 7th 2019, 11:56 AM

@Karen Wellington: Who in their right mind would want anything to do with either part of Ireland? Both parts are full of bitter, sad and rather dangerous people, who would return to violence for the weakest of reasons. For goodness sake , look froward and not back. You can’t change the past but you can make the future happier.

Mute Karen Wellington
    Mar 7th 2019, 12:08 PM

@Anthony Avenell: Those who do not learn history are doomed to repeat it.’ – George Santayana

Seeking justice for crimes and atrocities committed and condoned by the State in living memory isn’t whinging, do you think the city and people of Birmingham are just whinging about the past? Or does that only apply to the muck savage?

I asked you in another article if you were / are a squady, you might not have seen it but could you answer the question now please?

Mute Tommy C
    Favourite Tommy C
    Mar 7th 2019, 11:32 PM

I didn’t mean what I said! Can we just go back to where you believed I was a repatible Secretary Of State and i can keep my job representing everyone in Northern Ireland. I promise I will study the history of this place I have been sent too. They just thought me nothing at school about it that makes any sense now. Forgive me please.

Mute Joe L
    Favourite Joe L
    Mar 7th 2019, 9:12 PM

She says that she doesn’t believe what she said yesterday. There’s a fair amount of people who don’t believe what she’s said today either!
    Another Tory fool!

Mute Grainnewhale
    Favourite Grainnewhale
    Mar 7th 2019, 11:46 PM

The role of Secretary for Northern Ireland has been completely downgraded – who has ever heard of James Brokenshire or Karen Bradley before now – two lightweights.

Mute Craig Clancy
    Favourite Craig Clancy
    Mar 7th 2019, 2:10 PM

No she’s not!!!

Mute fianna1
    Favourite fianna1
    Mar 7th 2019, 10:20 PM

Only saying sorry now as she was pulled up by Irish gov as it so wrong to make that comment in her role – she only concerned bout saving her own skin & being fired .. not genuine at all on appalling happenings & cover up..

Mute Colm O'Leary
    Favourite Colm O'Leary
    Mar 8th 2019, 8:47 AM

Now if you were really sorry you would stand up in the House of Commons and make all the points that you did, say that you were wrong and beg the public for forgiveness. It’s not only what she said but where she said it that is so unforgivable! She stood at the heart of the British establishment and sold Northern Ireland out. Told her fellow tories and the DUP what they wanted to hear!

Mute Marianne
    Favourite Marianne
    Mar 7th 2019, 9:23 PM

TOO LATE..PLONKER

Mute TamuMassif2019
    Favourite TamuMassif2019
    Mar 8th 2019, 2:21 AM

One thing this makes you realise is that if N. Ireland was really part of the UK then they wouldn’t treat or think of it so differently. It wasn’t until the IRA attacked within England they took notice but yet it also shows British views towards N. Ireland as well. If what the police and army did was done in the UK, then there would be civil war but yet it was ok to do those things in N. Ireland. So what does this tell us about government ministers sent to N. Ireland, that it isn’t the best government job going and the brightest are never chosen for that position?
    Then that is at the heart of it, Mays government seems not to have the best trained people for their jobs in any ministry they hold.

Mute Cal Mooney
    Favourite Cal Mooney
    Mar 7th 2019, 11:33 PM

Because so many comments are already posted, so very few will get to see this one. I am more disgusted at FF and FG pretending to give a crap about the likes of the Bloody Sunday, Ballymurphy, Dublin Monaghan, Belturbet, Miami Show band, Glennane gang, Loughlin Island, Shoot to kill policies of the English during the troubles. Our own FOI shows that they were at least supportive and at best apologetic of the murders carried out at the request and with the support of the British military.

Mar 7th 2019, 1:43 PM

Oh dear. Another bash the Brits session. It’s a strange forum where someone advocating peace and a happier future gets their ability to comment disabled, whereas those who advocate bitterness, violence and retribution are allowed to comment unhindered. Very, very odd .

Mute Karen Wellington
    Mar 7th 2019, 4:19 PM

@Beircheart Breathnach: who has been disabled?

Mute John Hetherton
    Favourite John Hetherton
    Mar 7th 2019, 7:04 PM

@Beircheart Breathnach: I’m sorry, are we not allowed to express our outrage at state sponsored terrorism and murder perpetrated by the British government it’s security forces and it’s military. My my my apologists for the British come in many hues. If you are so fond of their high morals please feel free to emigrate to the UK.

Mute Ro Molloy
    Favourite Ro Molloy
    Mar 8th 2019, 9:46 AM

@Beircheart Breathnach: I think in this case the “brits” bashed themselves with ignorant comments.

Mute Anthony Avenell
    Mar 7th 2019, 11:19 AM

Leave the poor woman alone you sad people. Stop living in the past, swallow all your bitterness and hatred and just get on with your sad little lives.

Mute Cal Mooney
    Favourite Cal Mooney
    Mar 7th 2019, 11:29 AM

@Anthony Avenell: Is that you Arelene???

Mute Anthony Avenell
    Mar 7th 2019, 11:45 AM

@Cal Mooney: Who the hell is Arelene?

Mute Mad Worldman
    Favourite Mad Worldman
    Mar 7th 2019, 1:38 PM

@Anthony Avenell: don’t you forget that England was warring tribes before the Romans arrived and quickly raised a white flag and collaborated. The same thing happened when the Angels and Saxons arrived. Same with the Normans. You would have rolled over for the Nazis as well but for the Russians. The Scots and Irish didn’t roll to bullies and never will!

Mar 7th 2019, 1:45 PM

@Mad Worldman: Better than being cowards like the neutral nations.

Mute Larry Doherty
    Favourite Larry Doherty
    Mar 7th 2019, 3:05 PM

@Anthony Avenell: Lets Boycott the so-called Anthony Avenell. Don’t even respond to him. He’s a wind up.

Mar 7th 2019, 3:47 PM

@Larry Doherty: I think a little bit of maturity is in order. Stop throwing your toys from the prom just because you have no argument!!!!

Mute Karen Wellington
    Mar 7th 2019, 4:15 PM

@Beircheart Breathnach: did you forget that you just posted the ‘super mature’ response “Better than being cowards like the neutral nations.”, how about you practice what you preach?

And maybe open a book, take a look at what Irish neutrality actually entailed; like Irish Coast Guardsman and Blacksod lighthouse keeper Ted Sweeney and his contribution to the war effort from the coast of Co. Mayo. You’d be speaking German today if it wasn’t for the Irish.

Mute Karen Wellington
    Mar 7th 2019, 4:24 PM

@Karen Wellington: *I’m assuming you’re British (English specifically), just correct me if I’m wrong, no need to piss yourself with outrage

Mute Grainnewhale
    Favourite Grainnewhale
    Mar 7th 2019, 11:49 PM

@Anthony Avenell: Ah yer one who made a ‘bags’ of that Christmas song by ‘All I want for Christmas is you’ – can’t enjoy that song anymore

Mute Richieh85lfc
    Favourite Richieh85lfc
    Mar 7th 2019, 10:59 PM

“She never meant what she said”?it shows the attitude that these politicians have and lack of thought as to what comes out of their mouth. The absolute ignorance and stupidity astounds me and it’s a common occurrence within the dail too. Unbelievable

Mute Fred Coloe
    Favourite Fred Coloe
    Mar 8th 2019, 8:33 AM

And Sammy Wilson was nodding along enthusiastically when she was making her comments. Makes a nonsense of gender equality too. She proved, beyond doubt, that women are every bit as capable, as their male counterparts, of making fools of themselves.

Mute Ro Molloy
    Favourite Ro Molloy
    Mar 8th 2019, 9:42 AM

The more I think about this the more I believe she was just stating the conservative policy on all things Irish. They are terrorists we are always right.

Mute Jason McCutcheon
    Favourite Jason McCutcheon
    Mar 7th 2019, 11:06 PM

Wow she said something publicly she didn’t believe!! This lady must think we are all stupid! You can retract s comment but not stupidy !

Mute paddy fox
    Favourite paddy fox
    Mar 8th 2019, 12:54 AM

Fuxk off back to England

Mute Roger Camp
    Favourite Roger Camp
    Mar 7th 2019, 7:27 PM

Why offensive. She was only telling the truth.

Mute Karen Wellington
    Mar 7th 2019, 7:49 PM

@Roger Camp: why apologise and admit she was wrong then? Weak and ineffectual or incompetent and ill-informed?

Mute TamuMassif2019
    Favourite TamuMassif2019
    Mar 8th 2019, 2:24 AM

@Roger Camp: The truth never will be found in sectarianism or young men joining organisations like the army etc in order to find out what its like to kill another person without getting arrested for it…

Dani
    Mute Dani
    Favourite Dani
    Mar 8th 2019, 10:41 AM

Its shocking in her position that she has so little knowledge of the troubles and peace process.