You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
An account is an optional way to support the work we do. Find out more.
Flickr/Paul Arps
Sponsored
Take a walking tour around Dublin with these 10 landmarks from Irish novels
From Aisling’s date at Grogan’s in OMGWACA to Leopold Bloom’s Portobello birthplace.
IN IRELAND, WE are always surrounded by literary landmarks of the traditional sort. That’s especially true in Dublin, where you’ll find the Book of Kells at Trinity College or the statue of Oscar Wilde in Merrion Square park.
But have you ever viewed Dublin’s more mundane locations through the eyes of the character of a novel you’re reading?
Whether it’s a first date at Grogan’s in Oh My God, What A Complete Aisling, or a student flat in Normal People, spots around the city take on a whole new fictional life thanks to the authors who send their characters into locations we can walk by every day.
These ten lesser-known literary landmarks will bring the city into a new light through the immortal words of authors from James Joyce to Anne Enright.
Let’s start off on the north side and work our way south.
1. Time travel back to 1925 in The Gathering – The Belvedere Hotel
The Belvedere Hotel is actually only a block from the Garden of Remembrance, for another addition of culture on your stroll. Author Anne Enright often set her characters here, as the narrator imagines what her grandmother Ada’s life would have been like in 1925, standing ‘in the foyer of the Belvedere Hotel… while outside, Charlie Spillane cruises into Great Denmark Street, toward the wife he has not yet met.’ It’s an interesting twist to imagine your grandparents as though they were in a romantic movie set almost 100 years ago.
Google Street View
2. Careen through the north side with The Snapper – The Rotunda Hospital
Roddy Doyle really brought the north side of the city to life with particular 90s grit. During the emotional climax in the film adaptation of The Snapper, Jimmy careens from Barrytown through Summerhill to get Sharon to the Rotunda Hospital before her baby is born. There’s something particularly heartwarming about a father, no matter how frustrated and hurt he might be, putting it all away to protect his daughter – and future granddaughter. The Rotunda isn’t mentioned specifically in the book, but there is now a plaque commemorating its movie role, declaring the Rotunda to be the ‘Birthplace of The Snapper.’
samboal
samboal
3. Imagine Connell’s flat in Normal People - Brunswick Place
Having made your way over the river, your next stop is close to Trinity College. Student accommodation is a popular topic for Irish authors to describe – in fact, hundreds of fictional students have probably studied in bedsits around Dublin. Connell, one of the main characters in Normal People by Sally Rooney, lives just a stone’s throw from the college, while he navigates life as a student alongside friend and sometimes romantic interlude, Marianne.
When James Joyce’s Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man was published in 1916, student life for Stephen Dedalus looked a little different. But we can certainly all identify with accidentally missing a few classes; Dedalus misses both French and English before making it to the physics theatre at Newman House, where he has a lengthy philosophical discussion with the Dean of Studies as he lights the fire before class.
While you’re in the theatre, picture where authors Joyce, Kate O’Brien, Mary Lavin and Flann O’Brien all studied, before taking a spin around the new Museum of Literature Ireland, also situated in this storied building.
5. Suffer through a first date with Oh My God, What A Complete Aisling – Grogan’s
Beloved by Dubliners as a great spot for a pint of Guinness and a toastie, it’s hard to believe Aisling, the main character in Emer McLysaght and Sarah Breen’s hit novel, hasn’t been to Grogan’s. Luckily, her friend Sadhbh prepares and reassures her for a first date at the popular Dublin pub, explaining that the pub has an enjoyable “old-man” vibe that draws a nice mix of people. She makes sure Aisling is ready for her first date, complete with a borrowed pair of mom jeans.
6. Watch Catherine’s disastrous interview in Tender – The Central Hotel
English and art history student Catherine came from the country to study at Trinity College in the late 90s, in Belinda McKeon’s novel Tender. At one pivotal point in the book, Catherine interviews a fictional Irish author at the Central Hotel for the college newspaper, the Trinity News, a passage that is sure to make you cringe right alongside the protagonist.
Rollingnews.ie
7. Rehearse with the band of The Commitments - Camden Deluxe Hotel Remember that desperate rehearsal space Jimmy Rabbitte and his crew used (and abused) in Roddy Doyle’s The Commitments? Look no further than the Camden Deluxe Hotel on Camden Street Lower for a blast from the musical past – the scenes from the film adaptation were recorded upstairs in the hotel. While the hotel itself is now closed, you could pop into Jimmy Rabbitte’s pub just next door, named for the band’s memorable manager.
The Camden Deluxe Hotel in 2014. Mark Stedman
Mark Stedman
8. Take a school tour with The Hard Life -Synge Street Christian Brothers School Flann O’Brien’s comic novel features five-year-old Finbarr, who attends Synge Street Christian Brothers School, which is still in operation today and which O’Brien himself attended. Thankfully, the school has made a few structural and disciplinary changes since Finbarr’s time there in 1890, as O’Brien’s descriptions of the Catholic-run school aren’t terribly complimentary. He extends the same disdain to Westland Row Christian Brothers School, where Finbarr’s brother Manus attends, but his comic and contemptuous treatment might make you look at the schools in a different light.
Google Street View
9. Spot Leopold Bloom’s home in Ulysses - 52 Upper Clanbrassil Street
A literary walking tour of Dublin wouldn’t be complete without revisiting Ulysses by James Joyce. In the classic novel, the fictional protagonist was born at 52 Upper Clanbrassil Street, between South Circular Road and the canal.
Of course, Dublin is full of Bloom landmarks; at the midpoint of Bloom’s day chronicled throughout Ulysses, Bloom makes his way to the National Library for a literary chat with a group of poets and librarians, and you can think of him when you stroll by the Bleeding Horse Pub, Emorville Square, or even Holles Street maternity hospital, all places Bloom frequented on June 16th.
Google Street View
10. Head back to secondary school with Ross O’Carroll Kelly - Blackrock College
All of author Paul Howard’s books featuring the exploits of satirical rugby jock Ross O’Carroll Kelly are set in Dublin, so you’re bound to wander by quite a few of his haunts throughout the city. O’Carroll Kelly is fond of a walk down memory lane to tell of his days as a student on the rugby pitch at Castlerock College (thought to be inspired by Blackrock College and Castleknock College), or a night out at Lillie’s Bordello, which is now Lost Lane just off Grafton Street.
Google Street View
MoLI - Museum of Literature Ireland, a collaboration between UCD and the National Library of Ireland, will open its doors on September 21st. Inside, visitors can explore 10,000 square metres of exhibits. Find it at UCD Newman House at 86 St. Stephen’s Green. For more information, visit MoLI online.
Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic.
Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy
here
before taking part.
It’s people’s beliefs and they’re entitled to them. Already I see people ridiculing them in these comments which is out of line. Live and let live applies both ways
You’re right in a way. But also very wrong. Religion doesn’t live and let live. I never asked to be brainwashed from birth into believing in the existence of a celestial dictator that I had to bend the knee to every week. People should be left to their faith if it is truly their choice to have it. However in reality, it’s not.
But religion isn’t benign and innocent especially the Catholic brand, it’s tentacles stretch far and wide. From schools, hospitals and effecting people’s rights through law.
I agree with you to a point Anto but unfortunately it doesn’t work both ways particularly in Ireland. The catholic church has historically and continuely too much power in this country. The fact that non baptised children are excluded from places in state funded national schools is a disgrace.
No neo. I won’t. My parents had even less chance of escaping the tentacles of religion and therefore to blame them would be unfair. In fact it may be unfair to blame anyone specifically, but the word religion to me equates with innocent ignorance at best, and downright evil at worst.
The things some of you are saying aren’t that far removed from what Pegida say about Islam, or at least Islamism. That’s fine with me, express any opinion you want.
But I hope you spoke up for their rights to say those things when they were being attacked on the streets and Luas last Saturday
So Deborah, does someone wearing ashes on their forehead or abstaining from eating meat affect you much? The article was about the religious practices of Catholics on Ash Wednesday and the reasons they engage in these rituals, I really can’t see why anyone would feel out of kilter about this, if Catholics want to ponder their own mortality, no harm done.
I go to mass once a year at Xmas to keep the mother happy, the whole idea of standing in a cold lifeless room collectively chanting nonsense in the direction of a man wearing a dress is very unsettling for me. A bit off topic but Lourdes has to be the best get rich quick scam ever thought up, charging vulnerable people silly money for bottles of magic water and the church owns every hotel restaurant there too. I actually tip my hat to the guys who hatched that scheme, daylight robbery, dunno how they keep a straight face when people are forking over cash for the miracle water.
That’s actually quite unfair. We managed to shake it with logic because that is quite normal today. The brainwashing Isint as pervasive as it once was etc.. I am glad that I am alive now, because I genuinely don’t know if I had lived a generation ago, if my logic would have been sufficient to ‘shake it’. The more society as a whole veers away from religion, the more individuals will manage to see it for the hoax it is- but to call those who don’t weak is unfair.
It is quite fair… A lot of the elderly generation are not as religious as society makes out… My parents are in their 70s and were aware of the stigma associated with questioning it, but they still did, and now are able to express their doubts. It is always the dogmatic ones who have had their doubts, have had access to education, but decide to still espouse and promote it. They are not just unknowing fools to be pitied, but dangerous idiots who allow things like church crimes to permeate.
My granddad still says prayers for me and finds his faith quite comforting which sounds nice but that’s not just what religion does. If people celebrated in private and their church has no say on mine or the rest of the population rights I’d shut up forever but that’s not the way it is.
Do I believe God exists, No. Do I believe jesus existed, Yes. Do I believe jesus is the son of God, No. Do I believe in the immaculate conception, No. As one person put it Jesus was the best at PR at that time. There was hundreds if not thousands like Jesus at the time it just so happens he was the best at getting people to believe his story. Simple as that. All religion is man made end of. I’ll live my life by my rules. You don’t need religion to be a decent upstanding citizen.
@Deborah – It must be awful for you to live in a Judeo Christian society. You should start campaigning for more Islamic immigration and sharia law to be introduced here.
@Family – can you should me factually how your assessment of Christ is verifiably 100% accurate and historically correct – or are you claims simply based on your own personal opinion and not grounded on any documented evidence?
@JJ – People suppress and deny the knowledge of God to justify their desire to have no moral guidelines.
“For the wrath of God is revealed from heaven against all ungodliness and unrighteousness of men, who by their unrighteousness suppress the truth.” Romans 1:18
“Born under- what sorry?” said Harry. “Saturn, dear, the planet Saturn!” said Professor Trelawney, sounding definitely irritated that he wasn’t riveted by this news. “I was saying that Saturn was surely in a position of power in the heavens at the moment of your birth… Your dark hair… your mean stature… tragic losses so young in life… I think I am right in saying, my dear, that you were born in midwinter?” “No,” said Harry, “I was born in July. Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire See how silly you look when you quote a work of fiction?
@The Dude. Are you joking me? Can you prove the Bible is 100% factually correct? Did seas separate? Did jesus rise from the dead? Did Mary fall pregnant without sex? Heaven and hell exist? Where’s your proof???? I’m sorry but I won’t believe a 2000 year old book. I believe facts not the Bible.
@Family – then why – despite all attempts by all people like you throughout history – why have none of you disproven Christ’s life, death and resurrection? …or have you some unique new discovery that nobody else knows about? The NT is one of the most reliable and verifiable documents that we have from antiquity.
@the dude, how exactly is it verifiable? Also, how do you prove something doesn’t exist? I can say there’s an invisible Bugatti EB110 in blue circling Pluto. Sounds ridiculous doesn’t it? But you can’t disprove that. You’re using the exact same logic asking people to dispute jesus’ existence.
My sick father will be getting his ashes today….anybody that calls him or anyone like him that finds peace in religion come out and call him or people like him fools or idiots to their faces….I doubt ye would keyboard cowards. Would you call your own parent a fool?
John That’s just silly. You’re suggesting the older generation can’t be taken to task for believing in some bearded deity in the sky! Of course they can, albeit a little more gently and respectfully than someone say under 50 who should know better. They’ve had a life time of indoctrination starting when Ireland was a darker, church ruled place. But if you’re of the current generation and you believe that of the 3000 gods in recorded history, the Christian God is the one true God then you are a thundering fool.
John, you remind me of that idiot from boyzone who was threatening to batter anyone who “dissed” his religion. Why so defensive? It’s not like you know you are insecure about anything, is it? Anyway, the ashes thing isn’t supposed to do anything to help sick people anyway (according to religion) it’s just like a burka for Catholics, so don’t get hung up on it.
John, I’m not afraid to call your father a fool or an idiot. I don’t think he’s a fool or an idiot merely because he is religious. I think he is wrong and that some of his beliefs are foolish. I would probably not say this to his face, out of politeness rather than fear. Anyone who wants to talk about it or reads comments on The Journal is fair game, though.
Nobody wants to deny your father or anybody else’s right to believe what they want to believe. That is definitely a right of freedom. But that does not make them inscrutable. Muslims have a story about a flying horse as is their right but still not inscrutable either. There is no right not to be offended.
Deborah
Feel free to offend as much as you like, that’s your decision.
I would like to ask you this though.
Why do you feel the need to offend?
What is it in your life or what insecurity, bitterness are you carrying that you would feel the need to offend?
Why would you wish to offend somebody is sick? I think your comments say more about you.
Ahem journal .ie PAUL! Do you do any research? Your statement “While this is not mentioned in the Bible – in fact there is no direct mention of wearing ashes at all ” is totally false. Google ‘ashes in the bible’ and you get 25 places alone. Ashes on the forehead was always used as seen in the old testament , as a show of repentance and sorrow! Granted it was not in the form of a cross on the forehead because jesus wasn’t around but still, wearing ashed is in fact mentioned exactly for the same purpose as it is done today. It’s amazing the statements people make about the contents of a book they have never read!!!!
Well the Catholic Church doesn’t like to talk much about the Old Testament… People aren’t so crazy about the old nazi God from that era, before he got anger management therapy.
Like I said ” It’s amazing the statements people make about the contents of a book they have never read!!!!” Sorry to burst your bubble but there’s no mention of ‘going up to heaven with harps’ , so somebody has been misleading you! :) so that’s harp lessons out!
Missy, “homosexuals are an abomination and should be stoned, creatures without scales or fins are unclean, the wearing of wool and linen woven together is forbidden.” Are these all things you also subscribe to? I know you do, because they are in the book and the book is the gospel, the word of the lord and you obey because you are a good Catholic or are you?
@lesBehan. Lesson one: just because I have read a book does not mean I subscribe to everything/anything it says! Lesson two: just because I have read the book does not make me Catholic! Lesson three: Try to be a bit more rational. ;)
@the Dude, some rambling about the judging of the dead, I fail to see the relevance of this, feel free to believe in it, if you like, but don’t expect anyone else to take it seriously, if you’re dead, you’re dead, there’s more ‘evidence’ for reincarnation than for your final judgement.
This is the Catholic church responding to pagan traditions around the close of winter. I watched a TV history programme last night about how the church settled on a date for Easter. The Irish church it seems was for several centuries out of step with Rome over agreeing when Easter should be celebrated, leading to a church split after the Synod of Whitby.
Proof in fact that Rome makes the rules up as they go and has little to do with Christianity in its original form.
No Dude, Easter is calculated to be the first Sunday after the full moon, soonest after 21st March. This therefore means that Easter takes place between 22nd March and 25th April.
The Jewish passover takes place in May.
@Chris @Larissa – the point I am making is that Christ died and rose around the time of Passover according to the New Testament. Christianity has historically chosen to celebrate this event at a time we call Easter. The fact that the date varies from year to year is missing the point.
Inherent uncertainty?….do you have even a passing knowledge of the defenition of religious belief as opposed to that of athetism.The uncertainty lies with the beliver of gobbledegook whose fairytales can be ripped to shreds in a million ways…not he who has put childish things away.Incredible but quite sad also.
@Raymond – Please show me something from the New Testament that has been shown to be factually incorrect with 100% certainty and verified proof to back it up please!
@China – No it’s not. You are the ones who claim the New Testament is false and that God does not exist – and all things came into being from nothing. So go on – show me the verifiable proof that God does not exist. The truth is that you cannot – because you do not know. Rather, you hide behind your atheistic arrogance pretending you do know.
Now now Dude, no need to get angry and personal. You have it upside down – the bible is a book and this book makes extraordinary claims. Extraordinary claims require extraordinary evidence. Where’s the evidence? Prove that God doesn’t exist? – you can’t prove a negative. If you want to try, can you prove to me that vampires don’t exist? (since you started getting personal- I’m sad that you are using the pic and name of one of my favourite characters; the Real Dude would be upset by your silliness; prove he wouldn’t be!)
Raymond.
Read all the posts. All the smart Alec posts are coming from those who have an issue with faith.
Why would it bother you what I believe?
You see, you look at things from your viewpoint and not mine. We won’t and don’t see things the same as I do but that’s ok.
All Aboard to China..you have made a statement ” God doesn exist”, now please back that statement up with something other than your opinion. The burden of proof is on anyone that states something to be true and factual…which is what you’re doing.
Chris, well first I didn’t make that statement above; I was just taking the Dude to school. But yes I don’t believe that God exists (and I might have said it on other articles). Why – because I’ve no good reason to, zilch, nobody does. Do you believe that unicorns exist? Well suppose that I did and you said they didn’t and I asked you to prove they don’t; think about that for a minute and you’ll understand where I’m coming from. Back to the God question – you might say that we have a bible and stories passed down through generations etc but that’s it, just stories, no proof. Religious folk have a fallback position here – the Faith. That’s your get out of jail card. But again, no proof. I’m not going to try to prove that God doesn’t exist for the reason given above but if I was to try I might start by saying what about all the .pain and suffering in the world, to which you might respond with ‘that’s god’s way of testing us or that he doesn’t want to interfere’; very convenient and to be honest if God did exist then he’s a sadistic fook. Anyhoo, the starting position is that God doesn’t exist. Think centuries ago. Nobody had heard of a God; let’s ignore the myriad of other gods (Viking etc) for the moment. Then fast forward to a point where lots of people believe in a God and have masses etc. At what point along the way was it proven that God exists; no burning bushes etc, scientifically repeatable verifiable proof. There was none. And so God does not exist
You didn’t make that statement?? Do you believe he exists?? Yes or no – if no – then prove it. Do unicorns exist? No they don’t but then nobody has ever claimed that they did. There are many stories claiming God and Jesus exist ie people hearing and seeing things and then putting it to paper – its called…The Bible – the most published book in human history. Check out Bart Ehrman – a historian/atheist/agnostic who claims without a doubt that Jesus Christ existed. “God is a sadistic fook” – that may be – weather or not he is really really good or really really bad is irrelevant – he is not God because he promises to do nice, kind things for nice kind people, He is God because he’s the most powerful being in the universe.
Why do religious folk have such pent-up aggression. I’m wondering if you’re a troll. Did you read my comment and manage to retain the info? I said that I don’t believe God exists. I can’t prove a negative. You missed my whole point. Nobody has ever claimed unicorns exist? Prove that for me, would you? I’m not checking out some other lunatic. For the record, a bloke named Jesus Christ might have existed and might have done good stuff and have very good stuff to say but so what? Doesn’t prove anything. Most powerful being in the universe? What about other universes? Do they have their own gods? What are they like? If there a universe where their God is actually useful?
Pent up aggression? Lol! Paranoid much?? Of course you can prove a negative..for instance..can you prove that theres not a big grizzly bear lying beside you in bed right now? Of course you can..just show me… Can you prove to yourself that you havent got psychedellic pink hair..yes just look in the mirror… I think you’re getting slightly confused..the sentence ” God doesnt exist” is a statement that you’re claiming to be a fact yes or no? If yes then prove that fact to me please…if you cant prove that fact to me then theres every possibility He does exist..which is it?
Chris – what China is saying is as follows “I don’t want to be accountable to God as he is described in the bible – therefore, i have decided that it is better to claim to believe that he does not exist and suppress the truth that I know in my heart that he does – so I don’t have to face the fact that one day I will have to give account of my life to Him”
Let me get this right, this article is to explain why people get ashes on their head?. The population of Ireland is 85% Irish catholic, you’re explaining this to a relative monoculture.
95% of children are Catholics according to the breakdown of schools. Since we are making up figures, this one would do better if you want to pretend a country is somehow full of obedient Catholics.
Census figures are my source, in fact they are the only official source. I wont be getting the ashes on my head, but i’m fully aware of why it happens. Stop pretending like there are people walking around Ireland completely stumped as to why people have a smudge on their forehead.
It`s amusing to read the comments of people dissing and mocking the rituals of the RCC and other Christian religions, yet they tell us we must respect the hateful beliefs and practices of Islam.
i don’t believe in God and even if i did.. mass has nothing to do with God
nosy people standing at the back
suck ups sitting in the front
the local big noise putting a wafer in peoples hands/on their tongue
not to mention a basket being passed around
It’s Christians wearing a bit of ash on their foreheads like a badge of pride. Looking down their noses at less God fearing souls.
Idiots all of them to believe such nonsense
Once upon a time, over the course of many years, a few lads wrote a book. The story was falsely presented as a factual account of historical events. Some of the people who believed it to be true gained great power and use this book as a tool to oppress people. This continued for many centuries, with each new generation being indoctrinated into believing that the book was truth. Anyone that questioned this ‘fact’ was oppressed.
Over many years the book became fact, resulting in it become a cornerstone to society. As media and information became much more accessible, people learned of the truth behind this book. Unfortunately the bible bashers still have a hold on society, and because people are complacent, they still have an unjustified hold on society. This hold is getting weaker and weaker all the time.
So, what’s Ash Wednesday? It’s a tradition that some people still take part in due to centuries of guilt, oppression and fear. Fear of both the truth that their probably isn’t a God and the lie that if you don’t follow these traditions, you’ll spend an eternity in ‘hell’.
Liam
You are making the assumption that you are smarter than others. Never confuse intelligence with wisdom.
Absence of evidence is not evidence of absence.
You could do worse than read ‘Life after Life’ by Dr Raymond Moody.
You see that’s where you are being ridiculous. You’re mind is closed to anything beyond your limited thinking.
I’m not talking religion here. I’m talking quite compelling evidence for the continuation of consciousness after death.
If you’re mind is closed then that’s fine. Each to their own.
However, I can see curiosity getting the better of you and you will look up Dr Raymond Moody on youtube.
You will say you won’t but you both know you won’t be able to stop yourself because there’s a part of you that’s unsure of your position.
Tom, go back to sleep. Your posts are the most ironic things I’ve ever read. You’re not interested in reality or truth. You say I’m being ridiculous, but you still can’t disprove the existence of unicorns. There is no argument that you can present to me that I can’t poke full of holes.
Please, don’t use the word wisdom or intelligence when discussing religion again. There’s nothing wise or intelligent about dogma.
Liam
Where have I mentioned religion?
I never mentioned religion.
I made a reasonable presentation without mentioning religion.
Why the insults?
I don’t feel compelled to insult.
@Liam – The New Testament is one of the most verifiable and documented books in antiquity. It’s contents are even referred to many other historians of the time. For you to claim it is a made up fairy tale shows how uneducated you are. Do you think you are the first person in history to make such a claim? Like all the others before you , the proof against you is overwhelming.
@the Dude, so it’s historically verifiable that some middle eastern guy turned water into wine, awakened dead people, then got himself crucified and did a zombie impression after 3 days? I don’t know what you’re smoking, but maybe you should lay off it, and start to live life without religious blinkers, you may find you’re actually happier, and may even pluck up the courage to hide behind the picture of Jeff Bridges
During the troubles in Northern Ireland a southern Irish guy was killed by his own bomb in Britain. Some members of the British press came to the town he was from, it happened to be ash Wednesday and they noticed the mark on everyone’s forehead, gardai everyone.
They went into a pub and asked the locals why the marks on foreheads and were told it was in sympathy with the bomber.
Nuns and priests battered the love of their God into me with bamboo canes and straps leaving scars that still itch when I see ashes on people’s heads. It just makes me feel sorry for people that their lives and minds are so fragile that they have to believe in all of it as dictated by a church power with a brutal history rather than the genuine words of a carpenter who believed the world was about to end. Maybe Ireland would be more suited to something like Shinto which has more in common with Gaelic spirituality, based on a cult of ancestors just as there is below the veneer of Irish Christianity. If I walked down the road dressed as a Jedi I would be ridiculed, but the basic precepts that were taken to make the Jedi have been around for millennia, pre-date Christianity and have always been the basis of warrior spirituality in many cultures. Hollywood just make gazillions of bucks out of creating a new religion, as most religions do new and old alike, especially through merchandising. However, all religions are old stuff given new names and recycle the basics like miracles and super powers (in JC’s case from India). Back to the point. Wear ashes if you want but be aware the next time you ridicule a Jedi in a supermarket etc remember you hardly look sane with magic dirt on your forehead….and you make my scars itch and incense makes me vomit. Amen. PS. I’m not a Jedi unless it’s the census asking..
Patrick.
You’ve clearly had a bad experience but I think it’s affected your judgement.
The battered housewife would hardly be a balanced voice on the advocacy of marriage.
Tom, I can assure that it hasn’t affected my judgement and to be honest that was a very rude thing to say. Not particularly to me but to others who suffered heinous sexual abuse by representatives of that Church, which luckily I didn’t. Are you going to tell them that their judgement is affected too?
As for thinking of it, I have had plenty time to do that in the 50 years since the Nuns got their hands off me. I’ve been around the world a few times and lived amongst many cultures in my life. I’ve studied scripture trying to get to the bottom of it all, learning the languages as I went. I even picked up a decent spattering of Aramaic, the language of JC as well as that of Hebrew, Greek and Arabic. I’m a student of history, especially that of Empires. I’ve studied many different spiritualities/belief systems within their cultures and their histories. Ones that fascinated me still hold interest, especially those of warrior art and culture. One thing I am certain of, is that everything that everything the Church of Rome is based on, is a lie. I defy anyone who has to time to study the real history of the Catholic Church, the development of it’s theology, doctrine and enforcement, and remain a Catholic. It is staring into the face of evil and deception.
Once again, I would say you should take time to think about it. The devout obedient Catholic, or Muslim, is hardly a balanced voice in the search of truth and the advancement of humankind. We know that from the Church executing scientists and anyone who dared to print the bible or even practice their magic mass in their own language. Sharia cannot offer any defence against its atrocities either apart from that of the will of God. More recently there are the atrocities and genocide in Croatia in 1941 in which the Church played a major role. Yes Sir, there is nothing wrong with my judgement I can assure you, but you should question yours.
Patrick
You think I’m being rude?
You should read your own post again and your sweeping generalisations.
If you want a balanced discussion then please don’t be so rude to others.
Excuse me Tom, by the look of it, the last place to engage in balanced discussion is here with you. I take it you are referring to my comment about having fragile minds and should study the words of the carpenter? That is my personal experience of devout Catholics. Their minds are fragile as thinking outside of the doctrine generates fear of the unknown. A scared mind is a fragile one. My father worked for the Church and I served masses most days as well as benediction etc ad infinitum. I know what fear does to fragile minds.That is tame compared to what you offered in return. How dare you. To say that victims have no valid opinion because the experience has affected their judgement is rude in the extreme. That very attitude implies that the victims of Church violence and sexual abuse have nothing to offer in return and can be dismissed. I have had enough judgement and rude dismissal from your Church and it’s adherents to last me a lifetime, let alone being beaten to within an inch of my life by them. And now you are accusing me of being rude. The really rude thing is that in all these years I have never received an apology from any Catholic representative, or even just any Catholic, for the violence inflicted for not being able to recite the Catechism as a child.
As for sweeping generalisations, feel free to point them out. In the meantime if you want to debate the philosophy of the Carpenter and his wife in their own own language feel free, if that’s the type of balanced discussion you had in mind, but I doubt it.
Faith is a comfort to alot of people young and old at the end of there life i dont see that as a crutch for weak people and for all the people who think religion is forced on them at birth you have the right at a certain age to be what you want if people want to have faith then let them it dosent affect my day
I have absolutely zero interest in religion, none, does not move me one way or the other, don’t hate it don’t like it etc…married to a very religious man (albeit of different ‘religion’ to me), I see absolutely no harm in it, provided your not extreme, but there’s those in every religion.
It is, in fact a pagan practise that was, like so many others adopted by the Catholic Church. It is not biblical / Christian at all http://beaconoftruth.com/ash_wednesday.htm
Mother and son face losing home after change to tenants scheme
1 hr ago
Áras An Uachtaráin
134 members of the Oireachtas say they will not nominate McGregor for the presidency
14 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 161 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 110 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 143 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 113 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 39 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 35 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 134 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 61 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 74 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 37 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 46 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 27 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 92 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 99 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 72 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 53 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 88 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 69 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say