You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

The LulzSec logo and Twitter avatar Twitter

Four LulzSec hackers sentenced to jail for "cowardly and vindictive" attacks

“You cared nothing for the privacy of others but did everything you could through your computer activities to hide your own identities while seeking publicity,” a judge told the four men.

FOUR MEMBERS OF the LulzSec international hacking collective were sentenced to prison terms in Britain today for masterminding cyber atacks on major global institutions, including Sony Pictures and the CIA.

Ryan Cleary, 21, Jake Davis, 20, Mustafa Al-Bassam, 18, and Ryan Ackroyd, 26, saw themselves as “latter-day pirates” when they carried out the attacks on organisations which also included Rupert Murdoch’s top-selling British newspaper The Sun.

Cleary was jailed for 32 months, Ackroyd for 30 months and Davis for two years, while Al-Bassam was given a 20-month suspended sentence.

All four had admitted offences under the 1990 Computer Misuse Act.

The group were “hacktivists” with the LulzSec collective behind attacks that stole sensitive personal data such as emails, online passwords and credit card details.

LulzSec, an offshoot of the larger group Anonymous, existed from February to July 2011 and built up a huge international following, reaching 355,000 Twitter followers within two months.

They used social media and leaked details of attacks to journalists to further their quest of publicity, mainly through their chief publicist Davis.

The international group’s most high profile attack involved the extensive breach of Sony Pictures’ computer systems, which led to the personal data of thousands of Sony customers being posted online.

Sony lost details relating to 26.4 million customers in the attack which cost it €15 million, the court heard.

In June 2011 LulzSec took down the CIA.gov website in an attack masterminded by Al-Bassam, and the following month visitors to The Sun’s website were redirected to a spoof story about Murdoch committing suicide.

A photo of The Sun website after it was targeted by the hackers. (Yui Mok/PA Wire)

Britain’s National Health Service and Serious Organised Crime Agency were also victims of the group, who lived as far apart as London and the Shetland Islands, Britain’s most northerly outpost, and never met in person.

Stolen information was posted unencrypted on their website and file-sharing sites like Pirate Bay in 2011, the court had previously heard.

They also carried out distributed denial of service (DDoS) attacks, using linked networks of up to one million computers to overpower and crash websites.

The group’s activity collectively cost their targets millions of dollars and potentially left millions of people at risk from criminals.

“Serious criminal offences”

Andrew Hadik, lawyer for the Crown Prosecution Service, said the group’s actions had been “cowardly and vindictive”.

“Co-ordinating and carrying out these attacks from the safety of their own bedrooms may have made the group feel detached from the consequences of their actions,” he said.

They were in fact committing serious criminal offences for which they have been successfully prosecuted.

Sentencing the men at Southwark Crown Court in London, judge Deborah Taylor said some of their taunting of their victims made “chilling reading”.

“You cared nothing for the privacy of others but did everything you could through your computer activities to hide your own identities while seeking publicity,” she said.

- © AFP, 2013

Read: DDoS attack forces UK serious crime agency offline >

View 84 comments
84 Comments
    Mute Peadar Mor
    Favourite Peadar Mor
    May 16th 2013, 9:34 PM

Remind me again how many of Murdoch newspaper phone hackers have been jailed so far?

Mute Seán O' Dulaing
    Favourite Seán O' Dulaing
    May 16th 2013, 9:13 PM

I don’t for the life of me see how these people could be considered ‘heroes’, just because they launched a few DDoS attacks on websites associated to government or big business. They allowed criminals to get sensitive information on millions of ordinary people who could still be potentially defrauded.

Mute Tony Canning
    Favourite Tony Canning
    May 16th 2013, 10:01 PM

I’m not sure that many people do call them heroes.
    They got a lot of twitter followers not necessarily because people supported what they were doing but because they probably just wanted to see what they would do next.

LulzSec and Anonymous probably should be mentioned in the same sentence only if it’s made a bit more clear about the relationship there. That relationship is more about Anonymous developing into a more socially aware (for want of a better term) collective which annoyed some of those who would be more interested in chaos. LulzSec had some level of distaste for the “white knight” attitude and went out to actively hit on targets in a way that did more than try to make a point.

I missed my playstation for those few months…

Mute Alan Burke
    Favourite Alan Burke
    May 16th 2013, 10:04 PM

Tony hits the nail on the head

Mute Philip de Courcy
    Favourite Philip de Courcy
    May 16th 2013, 9:04 PM

Ok, who’s brave enough to say something about them online. Not me…. as you were boys!!!!

Mute Barry O'Brien
    Favourite Barry O'Brien
    May 16th 2013, 11:35 PM

What, they’ll DoS your broadband? The guys got caught because they’re amateurs with egos. If they were any good they’d have covered their tracks well enough to not get caught.

Mute Alan Burke
    Favourite Alan Burke
    May 16th 2013, 9:05 PM

Anonymous is not a hacking collective

Mute Graham Kavanagh
    Favourite Graham Kavanagh
    May 16th 2013, 11:18 PM

That makes it better?

Mute Alan Burke
    Favourite Alan Burke
    May 16th 2013, 11:41 PM

@YourAnonNews

Mute Barry O'Brien
    Favourite Barry O'Brien
    May 17th 2013, 12:04 AM

YAN is the antithesis of anonymous!

Mute Edward Malone
    Favourite Edward Malone
    May 16th 2013, 9:25 PM

Hanging out to dry, motto of the game in the crack down on hactivists.
    Far as I know there’s no proof lulsec were responsible for the attack against Sony that exposed customers details (they did exploit them but was minor and not related) this is after Sony hired two security firms to investigate and no links were found…
    What about their attack on Westboro Baptist Church? or support of wikileaks and many other attacks against agency’s and company’s that have zero respect for our privacy or rights?
    There’s a bigger story here, this article has no insight.

Mute Alan Burke
    Favourite Alan Burke
    May 16th 2013, 9:32 PM

The bigger story is quite easy to find however mainstream media will never report it.

Mute Peace for All
    Favourite Peace for All
    May 16th 2013, 9:05 PM

Well it’s better than Guantanamo , or being made walk the plank… Lulzzzzz

Mute simonjblake
    Favourite simonjblake
    May 16th 2013, 9:55 PM

Anyone called Mustafa is guilty.

Mute Seán O' Dulaing
    May 16th 2013, 9:45 PM

I’m safe so, I don’t download it, just stream it off sites!

No fap folder, no crime.

Mute Henry Sanner
    Favourite Henry Sanner
    May 16th 2013, 9:58 PM

everything you see on your screen is in effect downloaded to your PC. even this site.
    just because you cant see a folder with files you recognise as such doesn’t mean it isn’t there, and there’s always the IP history which can be checked at any time,
    but, yeah, as long as the pages you visit do not contain illegal material you have nothing to be afraid of.

Mute Tom Brennan
    Favourite Tom Brennan
    May 16th 2013, 10:13 PM

Just make sure you have the latest bang-up-to-date patches on your Windows platform, and regularly run virus checks and keep that updated regularly – then you should all be good.

You can view sites, even if the materials are questionable, read, illegal, provided and this is the twist, if you download the content, then that’s asking for it basically.

ISP’s do monitor and sniff out traffic hitting on their servers before the site’s data reaches your computer…. just saying :)

Practice safe hex! :)
    For those not in the know, hex is base 16 set of numbers and alphas

Mute Barry O'Brien
    Favourite Barry O'Brien
    May 16th 2013, 11:32 PM

Tom, you obviously misunderstand how the web works. If you view something, it has been downloaded.

Safe hex? Wtf? What ha hex got todo with it?

And while updated OS and AV is good practice, don’t think that’s enough to keep safe online. Signature based detection hasn’t been effective for years.

ISP’s can’t easily snoop your https traffic, not at all if the server requires client certificates.

Mute Tom Brennan
    Favourite Tom Brennan
    May 16th 2013, 11:38 PM

Barry – you’ve mis-read what I wrote – “ISP’s do monitor and sniff out traffic hitting on their servers before the site’s data reaches your computer” read that sentence again…

Safe hex is a play on the word safe sex…. hexadecimal is base 16 which computers understands, apart from octal and binary….

Mute Barry O'Brien
    Favourite Barry O'Brien
    May 16th 2013, 11:48 PM

I know what hex is. I just didn’t know why you were referencing. Didn’t get the joke.

I did read it properly. I pointed out that with https the ISP can just see a TCP packet with an encrypted payload so really the only useful information is the source and destination IP/domain.

Mute Barry O'Brien
    Favourite Barry O'Brien
    May 17th 2013, 12:02 AM

Oh, and btw, I’m being pedantic now but a computer no more understands base16 than it does base10 or base64. Computers work with binary. Hexadecimal, being 2^4, is just a more convenient way of representing binary than decimal.

Mute Jeff Keeley
    Favourite Jeff Keeley
    May 17th 2013, 12:39 AM

NERD get a life

Mute Barry O'Brien
    Favourite Barry O'Brien
    May 17th 2013, 12:44 AM

Jeff, luckily some people aren’t afraid of knowledge like you are or else we’d still be still in the Stone Age. Durrrrrr

Mute Jeff Keeley
    Favourite Jeff Keeley
    May 17th 2013, 12:47 AM

Go to sleep and dream about calculators. Your trying too hard to look intelligent

Mute Barry O'Brien
    Favourite Barry O'Brien
    May 17th 2013, 12:52 AM

Seriously? That’s the best you can do? Dream about calculators?

Whatever about me trying to look intelligent, you certainly aren’t trying. (Although I shouldn’t be surprised if you are trying but calculators is the biggest word you could think of).

Mute Sean O Luanaigh
    Favourite Sean O Luanaigh
    May 17th 2013, 10:06 AM

Barrys on a power trip to look smart

Mute Cpm
    Favourite Cpm
    May 17th 2013, 11:28 AM

@Tom – as soon as you visit a site it’s downloaded to your cache

Mute Jakim Berndsen
    Favourite Jakim Berndsen
    May 17th 2013, 3:13 PM

In fairness, it’s not overly difficult to make everything you’ve looked at online disappear locally. Don’t even need to be particularly computer savvy. Nor is it particularly difficult to cover your tracks online. The fact these lads got caught shows they were overly arrogant in their activities.

Mute Scorpionvenomm
    Favourite Scorpionvenomm
    Nov 5th 2015, 11:52 PM

Windows ?

Mute Philip leonard
    Favourite Philip leonard
    May 16th 2013, 9:33 PM

What about all women that watch porn ? Should they be locked up as well

Mute Dhakina's Sword
    Favourite Dhakina's Sword
    May 17th 2013, 12:57 AM

This article is making me feel out of touch. I’m lying, it’s making me feel old. Who is willing to admit that they can’t keep up with modern lingo?. Me, that’s who. A strange crossroads has been reached. An indigenous English speaking person now needs a translator, to translate the hybrid English/ computer language. Save yourselves, leave me behind, all I ask is that you leave me a bullet in the chamber for me.

Mute Mal
    Favourite Mal
    May 17th 2013, 7:02 AM

Do a course! You’d be amazed what’s floating around in air these days. It’s a whole other world.

Mute Mal
    Favourite Mal
    May 18th 2013, 10:25 AM
    Mute Will
    Favourite Will
    May 16th 2013, 9:17 PM

Good. Smart kids doing stupid things.

Mute Tom Brennan
    Favourite Tom Brennan
    May 16th 2013, 9:16 PM

For their acts of pure stupidity and self-ego massaging boosts – so called “h4c|<3r5 0f 7h3 \/\/0r1d un173" – pffftttt!!!

One word – LULZ!!

Mute Seán O' Dulaing
    May 16th 2013, 9:43 PM

Tom Brennan i5 l33t.

*bow5*

Mute Tom Brennan
    Favourite Tom Brennan
    May 16th 2013, 9:48 PM

#includeint main(int argc,char **argv){ while(1){printf(“First rule of hacking is you do not talk about it!\nSecond rule, refer to first rule!\n”);}return 0;}

Mute Tom Brennan
    Favourite Tom Brennan
    May 16th 2013, 9:50 PM

Meh! Comment box filtered out the < and > so that should have read #include<stdio.h>

le sigh! :D
    Cheers Seán!

Mute Sergé
    Favourite Sergé
    May 17th 2013, 1:15 AM

Hello /b/rothers.

Mute Alan Burke
    Favourite Alan Burke
    May 17th 2013, 7:44 AM

I see you’re new here Sergé. May I refer you to Rule 1.

Mute dna30
    Favourite dna30
    May 17th 2013, 11:38 AM

Am I reading between the lines correctly here:

In June 2011 LulzSec took down the CIA.gov website in an attack masterminded by Al-Bassam

Cleary was jailed for 32 months, Ackroyd for 30 months and Davis for two years, while Al-Bassam was given a 20-month suspended sentence

Mute Denise Friary
    Favourite Denise Friary
    May 16th 2013, 9:19 PM

I hope the Garda get the power to check computers of men who are down loading porn and send them all to prison for hard labour.

Mute Alan Burke
    Favourite Alan Burke
    May 16th 2013, 9:23 PM

Why?

Mute Denise Friary
    Favourite Denise Friary
    May 16th 2013, 9:27 PM

Alan,Because its wrong and leads to assaults on women.

May 16th 2013, 9:31 PM

Ah, here we go..

Mute Alan Burke
    Favourite Alan Burke
    May 16th 2013, 9:31 PM

Can you support that claim with statistics?

Mute AggressiveSecularist
    Favourite AggressiveSecularist
    May 16th 2013, 9:34 PM

So it’s ok for women to download porn? What about couples who watch it together?

Mute Philip de Courcy
    Favourite Philip de Courcy
    May 16th 2013, 9:37 PM

Menshealth.com did a survey. 87% of men have viewed porn online in the past year. Lock us up Denise. Hope the ban-guards don’t shirk in their responsibility of locking up their male colleagues!!

Mute Stephen Browner
    Favourite Stephen Browner
    May 16th 2013, 9:40 PM

Only 87%!

Mute Stephen Browner

She’s only taking the piss

Mute Seán O' Dulaing
    May 16th 2013, 9:41 PM

When women watch porn it’s obviously because they have been led to believe that women are inferior by the patriarchy that infests all MANkind and therefore want to be more like their ‘betters’ and engage in watching porn. . . . Or something like that.

Mute Alan Burke
    Favourite Alan Burke
    May 16th 2013, 9:42 PM

13% of men are liars

Mute Stuart Hyland
    Favourite Stuart Hyland
    May 16th 2013, 9:59 PM

I guess I’m going to prison so………what’s the going rate nowadays for gigs upon gigs of porn,

Mute Tony Canning
    Favourite Tony Canning
    May 16th 2013, 10:02 PM

Most ridiculous thing I’ve ever heard

Mute Lotusflower
    Favourite Lotusflower
    May 16th 2013, 10:10 PM

FFS Denise are you for real?? Would you suggest checking men AND women for naughty thoughts next….. huh?? Cos somebody’s gona be very very busy!!

Mute Cian McDermott
    Favourite Cian McDermott
    May 16th 2013, 11:42 PM

BS

Mute Seany Mc Donagh
    Favourite Seany Mc Donagh
    May 17th 2013, 12:17 AM

Fecking muppets. Enjoy the showers in prison plonkers

Mute Denise Friary
    Favourite Denise Friary
    May 16th 2013, 9:25 PM

The Garda should be allowed to check all mens computers to see if they are down loading dirty porn, and if so send them to prison for hard labour.

Mute Alan Burke
    Favourite Alan Burke
    May 16th 2013, 9:28 PM

Why? It’s not illegal.

Mute AggressiveSecularist
    Favourite AggressiveSecularist
    May 16th 2013, 9:32 PM

Face palm @ Alan

Mute Alan Burke
    Favourite Alan Burke
    May 16th 2013, 9:35 PM

She mentioned dirty porn. This is not illegal in Ireland and yet she calls for ceiminal proceedings. If she specified a particular aspect (i.e. child porn) that was I would not question it.

Mute Stephen Browner
    May 16th 2013, 9:39 PM

Define ‘dirty’ porn.

Mute Barry O'Brien
    Favourite Barry O'Brien

Don’t feed the trolls.

Mute Barney r
    Favourite Barney r
    May 16th 2013, 9:51 PM

They should start with your computer Denise

Mute Shane King
    Favourite Shane King
    May 16th 2013, 9:55 PM

Shagging in a field.

Mute William Delaney
    Favourite William Delaney
    May 16th 2013, 9:57 PM

What’s dirty porn ? Is the porn I watch clean…. eg….. Pop corn…

Mute guardian
    Favourite guardian
    May 16th 2013, 10:19 PM

I gotta try more trolling the responses are priceless

Mute Tony Canning
    Favourite Tony Canning
    May 16th 2013, 10:40 PM

I’m guessing the thought police would have to be called though?

Mute Lotusflower
    Favourite Lotusflower
    May 16th 2013, 10:55 PM

Precisely Tony!

Mute Ruth Barry
    Favourite Ruth Barry
    May 17th 2013, 12:06 AM

I think it’s a joke Alan…porn and hard labour, c’mon people’s

Mute straight2pt
    Favourite straight2pt
    May 17th 2013, 1:04 AM

Get a life

Mute Justin Credible
    Favourite Justin Credible
    May 17th 2013, 8:18 AM

I reckon by dirty porn she means anal

Mute Stuart Hyland
    Favourite Stuart Hyland
    May 16th 2013, 10:00 PM

One man one cup

Mute Ruth Barry
    Favourite Ruth Barry
    May 17th 2013, 12:11 AM

Anyone else thinking of the Futurama episode with the Nudar (naked alien hackers) in it and their sprungers while reading this article…..?

Mute Derek Durkin
    Favourite Derek Durkin
    May 17th 2013, 1:19 AM

Very poor headline. Can journalists not think up their own headlines instead of reguritating biased corporate media crap.

Mute straight2pt
    Favourite straight2pt
    May 17th 2013, 1:11 AM

Is it just me r would anyone else give that anti-porn freak Denise 1

Mute Alan Fitzgerald
    Favourite Alan Fitzgerald
    May 17th 2013, 1:35 AM

01110000 01100101 01101111 01110000 01101100 01100101 00100000 01101110 01100101 01100101 01100100 00100000 01110100 01101111 00100000 01110111 01100001 01101011 01100101 00100000 01110101 01110000 00100001 00100000 01110011 01101000 01100101 01100101 01110000 01101100 01100101

Mute Michael McLoughlin
    Favourite Michael McLoughlin
    May 17th 2013, 3:47 PM

Not sure they were caught because of leaving an online trail, the guy in the U.S. was caught and gave the rest of them up, old style. Wouldn’t community service be much better and out their obvious talents to positive use?

Mute Rory Walshe
    Favourite Rory Walshe
    May 17th 2013, 2:08 AM

These kids are most likely not the main people behind these attacks. Young lads persuaded to “hack” for Lulzec to cover the tracks of the main guys. Anyway hackers from these collectives have worked with the FBI to gather evidence against their own online friends after being caught so they get lighter sentences. A bunch of individuals is all they are.

Mute joe power
    Favourite joe power

Statistics say dat only 1 in 5 men watch porn on a regular basis

Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche
    May 17th 2013, 12:57 PM

They also say 4 out of 5 men are liars!

Mute Pat D'Arcy
    Favourite Pat D'Arcy
    May 18th 2013, 2:44 AM

Yo Joe, a link to back you up would be appreciated, otherwise I looks like you are talking BS.

Mute anthony byrne
    Favourite anthony byrne
    May 17th 2013, 7:11 AM

If they had any brains, they wouldn’t have Fcuked with the CIA, and prob wouldn’t have gotten time for sony and the like.

Mute Cian O Criodain
    Favourite Cian O Criodain
    May 17th 2013, 9:28 AM

Interestingly, what hasn’t been mentioned here is that Cleary suffered from Asperger’s syndrome and Davis had been diagnosed with depression. That said, Cleary was also found guilty of accessing child pornography, which lessens my sympathy for him somewhat.

A more thorough article can be found here on Ars:

http://arstechnica.com/tech-policy/2013/05/the-cutting-edge-of-cybercrime-lulzsec-hackers-get-up-to-32-months-in-jail/