You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

The post has been met with speculation over the seriousness of the claim. Alamy

Speculation over announcement that Lynx Africa is being discontinued

April Fool’s starts earlier every year! Or does it?

LYNX AFRICA IS being discontinued, the company has said.

The cosmetics brand made the announcement on its X account last night, though many users speculate the seriousness of the claims.

Africa, the brand’s second-longest-running fragrance, earned iconic status as its popularity and mass-production made it an affordable deodorant option for users. It also became synonymous with a stocking filler at Christmas time.

In its post Lynx said: “We know – it hurts (sorry if we’ve ruined your go-to fragrance) but don’t worry, the rest of your faves are still here to keep you smelling fine.”

lynx Post published to X by Lynx last night.

It added that the fragrance may one day make a comeback, before thanking and apologising to the account’s followers.

The post has been met with speculation over the seriousness of the claim.

It follows a very similar post that the Lipton’s Ice Tea company made this week on Instagram, announcing the end of its popular peach-flavoured beverage. The post was a joke.

liptons Lipton's published this fake announcement online recently.

Lynx’s announcement post is formatted and worded in a very similar way to Lipton’s image, which was met with some backlash from enthusiasts who did not appreciate being told that their favourite flavour of ice tea was to be cancelled.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

76 Comments
    Mute Kevin O'Brien
    Favourite Kevin O'Brien
    Fri 11:46 AM

Buy loads of it now and sell it for €200 a can, when it’s discontinued.

Mute Daniel Dunne
    Favourite Daniel Dunne
    Fri 12:39 PM

@Kevin O’Brien: Or just don’t throw out the collection of several Christmas gifts gathering dust on the top of the wardrobe.

Mute David Fox
    Favourite David Fox
    Fri 3:28 PM

@Lance Taylor: shut up you toolbox

Mute Uí Braonáin
    Favourite Uí Braonáin
    Fri 3:49 PM

@Lance Taylor: relax, no need to get offended. Standard marketing practice. They’re not going to follow through on their threats. Just a way to get free advertising. Coca cola do something similar when they take over local brands.

Mute james rowan
    Favourite james rowan
    Fri 8:41 PM

@Lance Taylor: shut up you gee bag,,,

Mute Peter Connaughton
    Favourite Peter Connaughton
    Fri 12:07 PM

I must dig out my Harty Cup medal next time I plan to go dangerous driving and walloping innocent people. “Here you go, garda sir” I shall say, and all will be well.

Mute Sea Spirit
    Favourite Sea Spirit
    Fri 1:51 PM

@Peter Connaughton: Its a disgrace, this fella must be lighting a candle every night.
    Total thug.

Mute Fergus O'Donnell
    Favourite Fergus O'Donnell
    Fri 2:12 PM

@Peter Connaughton: agreed. He’s pure fil th.

Mute Larry Betts
    Favourite Larry Betts
    Fri 1:34 PM

Some of these products are called Deodorants,some are called Anti Perspirants,others are called Body Sprays. I don’t care what they call them,as far as I’m concerned,they’re all a bunch of aerosols.

Mute Luas Vuitton - Penneys Drag Queen
    Favourite Luas Vuitton - Penneys Drag Queen
    Fri 2:20 PM

@Larry Betts: Not The Nine O’Clock News Swedish pharmacy sketch: “I want to buy deodorant please”. “Ball or aerosol?”. “No, it’s for my armpits.”

Mute Brian Hunt
    Favourite Brian Hunt
    Fri 4:06 PM

@Luas Vuitton – Penneys Drag Queen: I’m surprised I didn’t hear this before, but it’s a classic!

Fri 5:21 PM

@Brian Hunt: on YouTube – Swedish Chemists Shop.

Mute Brian Hunt
    Favourite Brian Hunt
    Fri 7:57 PM

@Luas Vuitton – Penneys Drag Queen: Thank you.

Mute Padraig O'Brien
    Favourite Padraig O'Brien
    Fri 11:57 AM

Is this news?

Mute keith fay
    Favourite keith fay
    Fri 12:05 PM

@Padraig O’Brien: yes it’s news, it won’t make headline news on tv but a news app like this can report on tons more stuff such as these lighter stories. How that’s cleared that up.

Mute P. V. Aglue
    Favourite P. V. Aglue
    Fri 12:45 PM

@Padraig O’Brien: No, it’s an advertising campaign

Mute P. V. Aglue
    Favourite P. V. Aglue
    Fri 12:47 PM

@P. V. Aglue: with Mcgregor as brand ambassador.

Mute Brian Hunt
    Favourite Brian Hunt
    Fri 12:53 PM

@P. V. Aglue: My thoughts entirely!

Mute Joe Beirne
    Favourite Joe Beirne
    Fri 2:16 PM

@P. V. Aglue: it would have to change name first I would of thought

Mute ANDY EARLEY
    Favourite ANDY EARLEY
    Fri 11:47 AM

It is an awful smell in my opinion

Mute sakk sa
    Favourite sakk sa
    Fri 11:51 AM

@ANDY EARLEY: I Hear You’re A Racist Now, Father!
    :)

Mute Brian Hunt
    Favourite Brian Hunt
    Fri 12:55 PM

@sakk sa: Take that back, you racist bigot

Mute Donal Sweeney
    Favourite Donal Sweeney
    Fri 3:03 PM

@ANDY EARLEY: cats pee!!!

Mute Dan The Man
    Favourite Dan The Man
    Fri 12:39 PM

Being replaced with Lynx Leitrim

Mute Brian Hunt
    Favourite Brian Hunt
    Fri 1:03 PM

@Dan The Man: With the more pungent essence of the farmyard!

Mute Setanta O'Toole
    Favourite Setanta O'Toole
    Fri 11:58 AM

Bad news for low effort present buyers.

Mute Ethan
    Favourite Ethan
    Fri 12:18 PM

Let me guess…Someone got offended by the name ?

Fri 12:21 PM

@Ethan: Toto.

Mute Ethan
    Favourite Ethan
    Sat 3:35 AM

@Luas Vuitton – Penneys Drag Queen: Great, now click your heels three times and try again.

Mute Larry Betts
    Favourite Larry Betts
    Fri 1:32 PM

If anyone contacts you and offers a load of men’s deodorants at a discount,it’s a scam. Whatever you do,don’t click on any Lynx.

Mute Eamon
    Favourite Eamon
    Fri 1:41 PM

@Larry Betts: Beat me to it again Larry.

Mute Larry Betts
    Favourite Larry Betts
    Fri 1:55 PM

@Eamon: Of course it’s a scam. If you look very carefully at the map of Africa on the can,you can see the outline of Nigeria.

Mute Brian Hunt
    Favourite Brian Hunt
    Fri 7:59 PM

@Larry Betts: You’re wasting your time here Larry, you should be on stage!

Mute Alberto Balsam
    Favourite Alberto Balsam
    Fri 12:17 PM

Lynx Africa always has and always will be the mark of a gurrier.

Mute Fergus O'Donnell
    Favourite Fergus O'Donnell
    Fri 2:13 PM

@Alberto Balsam: yup. The smell of desperation and stale body odour.

Mute ben wu
    Favourite ben wu
    Fri 11:51 AM

I don’t particularly like it, but they are correct in saying that it’s an xmas gift staple.

Mute Darth O'Leary
    Favourite Darth O'Leary
    Fri 1:19 PM

I wore that stuff as a seventeen year old and I still have PTSD about the leaving cert if I smell it off anyone

Mute Iano C
    Favourite Iano C
    Fri 12:23 PM

Ah, the smell of my teenage years! Not so much me but the lads who never showered…lol
    Java was for the country folk, Africa the Jackeens :)

“Africa” was a terrible name for it tbh. Admittedly, “Musk” has a much worse stink off it.

Mute Larry Betts
    Favourite Larry Betts
    Fri 1:37 PM

@Luas Vuitton – Penneys Drag Queen: Elon smells fishy

Mute Mr Sparkle
    Favourite Mr Sparkle
    Fri 12:10 PM

smells like getting me first fingering in Wez circa 2005

Fri 12:16 PM

@Mr Sparkle: you were 45 at the time.

Mute mcleixlip
    Favourite mcleixlip
    Fri 12:16 PM

@Mr Sparkle: hope your ring recovered quickly

Mute Ethan
    Favourite Ethan

@Mr Sparkle: Ah yeah I remember you with all the lads.

Mute Mr Sparkle
    Favourite Mr Sparkle
    Fri 12:34 PM

@mcleixlip: recovery requires rest days unfortunately

Mute j m m
    Favourite j m m
    Fri 1:29 PM

@Mr Sparkle: did he take you for coffee afterwards?

Mute Larry Betts
    Favourite Larry Betts
    Fri 1:38 PM

@j m m: Yeah,it was hot and steamy on the kitchen table

Mute Darth O'Leary
    Favourite Darth O'Leary
    Fri 1:24 PM

Any chance of an aul article on how the pope is doing?

Mute james rowan
    Favourite james rowan
    Fri 8:47 PM

@Darth O’Leary: still alive,your welcome,,,

Fri 11:49 AM

Racists.

Mute Phillip Smyth
    Favourite Phillip Smyth
    Fri 11:49 AM

Oh no that’s me skunked.

Mute Dan The Man
    Favourite Dan The Man
    Fri 1:39 PM

It’s rank stuff. The lynx oriental was waaay nicer smelling.

Mute sakk sa
    Favourite sakk sa
    Fri 11:52 AM

I Hear You’re A Racist Now, Father! -

Mute Jacintha Dumbrell
    Favourite Jacintha Dumbrell
    Fri 2:56 PM

Smells worse than Ireland is Full rally.

Mute Brian Hunt
    Favourite Brian Hunt
    Fri 8:09 PM

@Jacintha Dumbrell: Take a day off, please!

Fri 2:13 PM

The new Lynx aroma will be “Carvery Gravy”. 2 Johnnies been testing it for two years now.

Mute Karl Gallagher
    Favourite Karl Gallagher
    Fri 2:06 PM

If they discontinue Lynx Africa the Lidl ‘rip-off brand’ Cien Kenya will be devastated.

Mute Brian Hunt
    Favourite Brian Hunt
    Fri 8:06 PM

@Karl Gallagher: I’d have thought Cien Kenya would get a boost!

Mute Be Lucky
    Favourite Be Lucky
    Fri 12:04 PM

Always thought it was strange name my Family on one side are from South Africa and it smells much nicer than this.

Mute Thomas Devlin
    Favourite Thomas Devlin
    Fri 12:13 PM

@Be Lucky: the toilet in the old Conlets park smelled nicer

Mute den
    Favourite den
    Fri 6:18 PM

@Thomas Devlin: I remember it well Thomas, that was some stench!!!

Mute Donal Sweeney
    Favourite Donal Sweeney
    Fri 3:02 PM

Are Lynx tinkering with other scents? It seem to me they are. And what of the retail price? Some smkts charging e9 for 150ml? Get a life

Mute Larry Betts
    Favourite Larry Betts
    Fri 4:18 PM

@Donal Sweeney: Yes but it lasts 72 hours. Spray today,you won’t need to wash again til Monday.

Mute j m m
    Favourite j m m
    Fri 5:27 PM

Trying to remember four original scents when lynx was first released?
    Oriental.
    Musk.
    Amber…… what else?

Mute Brian Hunt
    Favourite Brian Hunt
    Fri 8:07 PM

@j m m: “Skanger”?

Fri 8:29 PM

@j m m: Fever?

Mute james rowan
    Favourite james rowan
    Fri 8:49 PM

@j m m: pussy,,,

Fri 8:12 PM

Smells like Benin spirit.

I’ll get me coat.

Mute Andy Gibson
    Favourite Andy Gibson
    Fri 2:44 PM

Virgins around the world will be distraught

Mute Jack Burton
    Favourite Jack Burton
    Fri 10:11 PM

It’s not a deodorant. It’s at best a cheap Body Spray / Cologne

Mute oliver kelleher
    Favourite oliver kelleher
    Sat 12:09 AM

Lynx looks and tastes much better than that Brut stuff Every time i use the stuff i spray it into my eyes or my mouth first because as i cannot see the hole where the jet spray comes out of Long Live Lynx The anti persperant, The deoderent ,The eau de Cologne The eau de Toilette The under arm stuff Call it what you like

Mute Chucky Arlaw
    Favourite Chucky Arlaw
    Sat 12:53 AM

Bring back lynx tempest was fresh

Mute Cheese Sandwich
    Favourite Cheese Sandwich
    Sat 9:22 AM

Bink

Mute Jack Burton
    Favourite Jack Burton
    Fri 10:06 PM

Bad memories of teenage boys masking BO with this muck.

Mute A D
    Favourite A D
    Fri 10:34 PM

The article is piece of advertising material.

Mute Rolf Kane
    Favourite Rolf Kane
    Fri 2:09 PM

Oh, no surprises there, one knew all along what was happening, but sure that’s situation with big speculative events, it is what it is now, at least one, knows now what to do, going forward as along as one stays in honour, the other party has or one would wish that they, would acknowledge their actions or maybe non-actions, there’s always tomorrow, to see how situations play out!