You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

13 cars involved in multiple collisions in a hailstorm on the M7 in Tipperary

None of the injuries sustained in the collisions are understood to be life-threatening.

M7 Roscrea RTC 180118 Traffic backed up on the M7 at Roscrea following one of this afternoon's collisions

ONE PERSON HAS been airlifted to hospital while a number of others were also injured following a number of separate incidents in poor weather in Co Tipperary.

As many as thirteen vehicles were involved in multiple collisions on both sides of the same stretch of the M7 near Roscrea.

A number of cars and vans collided with each other, crashed into barriers or left the road between junctions 22 and 23 west of Roscrea. The collisions, of which there were five, occurred within seconds of each other at around 3.30pm.

Fire crews from Roscrea, Newport and Cloughjordan stations along with a fleet of ambulances attended the incident. Gardaí and motorway maintenance crews quickly set up diversions.

The Athlone based Emergency Aeromedical Service air ambulance has taken one casualty from the scene to hospital in Limerick. A number of others have been transported by road ambulances. No one is believed to have suffered life-threatening injuries.

Initial reports to the emergency services suggested that up to thirteen vehicles were involved. The collisions occurred following a heavy downpour of hail after a bend and on an incline.

The motorway remained closed in both directions between Roscrea and Moneygall for about four hours.

As at time of writing, the northbound lane has reopened, while the road southbound remains closed between junctions 22 and 23.

Efforts are continuing to clear all the vehicles and debris from the scene.

Read: Brewing up a storm? War of words between UK and Irish forecasters over naming of ‘Fionn’

Read: ‘We should remove the Eighth Amendment’ – Micheál Martin has changed his mind

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

View 33 comments
33 Comments
    Mute FrankDapavia
    Favourite FrankDapavia
    Jan 18th 2018, 7:57 PM

Thankfully nobody has been seriously hurt.
    Important to reduce speed in inclement weather conditions.

Mute Jane
    Favourite Jane
    Jan 18th 2018, 8:06 PM

@FrankDapavia: generally if they airlift someone it means they are seriously hurt.

Mute FrankDapavia
    Favourite FrankDapavia
    Jan 18th 2018, 8:28 PM

@Jane:
    “None of the injuries sustained in the collisions are understood to be life-threatening”

Mute Jane
    Favourite Jane
    Jan 18th 2018, 8:46 PM

@FrankDapavia: bit serious enough to be airlifted

Mute Tom Tom
    Favourite Tom Tom
    Jan 18th 2018, 8:49 PM

@Jane: Sometimes it’s quicker, especially when there are multiple casualties. A major incident plan will utilise multiple resources. It doesn’t mean seriously injured parties.

Mute oh i dunno
    Favourite oh i dunno
    Jan 18th 2018, 8:52 PM

@FrankDapavia: not life threatening doesn’t mean not serious, two broken legs would be serious but not life endangering, but continue to bicker, it seems to be all you do here.

Mute Jane
    Favourite Jane
    Jan 18th 2018, 8:57 PM

@oh i dunno: sorry didn’t mean to bicker.

Mute oh i dunno
    Favourite oh i dunno
    Jan 18th 2018, 8:59 PM

@Jane: I wasn’t replying to you Jane.

Mute Philip O'Dowd
    Favourite Philip O'Dowd
    Jan 18th 2018, 9:38 PM

@FrankDapavia: I was in the tailback not far from the main incident n/bound. Accidents do happen but some people on the M7 today speeding excessively for the weather conditions! Need to slow down people.

Mute FrankDapavia
    Favourite FrankDapavia
    Jan 19th 2018, 9:00 AM

@oh i dunno:
    You looking for an argument?

Mute Caoimhin O'Murchadha
    Favourite Caoimhin O'Murchadha
    Jan 18th 2018, 8:21 PM

I know that part of the M7 well, even on a dry road it’s a bit dodgy downhill on that bend at 120km so I’m not surprised there was a pile up there when conditions are so bad, glad there was no serious injury’s.

Mute Pat Lonergan
    Favourite Pat Lonergan
    Jan 18th 2018, 8:52 PM

@Caoimhin O’Murchadha: what good drives at 120k in a hail storm?….oh wait

Mute oh i dunno
    Favourite oh i dunno
    Jan 18th 2018, 9:01 PM

@Caoimhin O’Murchadha: 120kph is the limit, not a target.

Mute James O Lone
    Favourite James O Lone
    Jan 18th 2018, 8:48 PM

Always accidents on that section of the motorway after heavy rain I live locally and know lads with the fire service who once there’s a downpour are guaranteed to be called out unfortunately sometimes to fatalities

Mute Jarlath Murphy
    Favourite Jarlath Murphy
    Jan 18th 2018, 7:56 PM

Sounds dreadful!

Hope they all recover soon.

Mute jenni
    Favourite jenni
    Jan 18th 2018, 9:53 PM

@Jarlath Murphy: not the first time there’s been a pile up at that spot. I got stuck behind a 7 car pile up only last year. The road is good, but it’s boring…and the most dangerous thing on it is the “off ramp” for Roscrea. You’d want to be able to manouvere a rollercoaster to get into that exit quick enough.

Mute j4VEpUO8
    Favourite j4VEpUO8
    Jan 18th 2018, 8:00 PM

Arrive Alive Folks.

Mute Ding Ding Denny
    Favourite Ding Ding Denny
    Jan 18th 2018, 7:57 PM

Did Met Eireann name this storm??

Mute Joey Navinski
    Favourite Joey Navinski
    Jan 18th 2018, 9:19 PM

@Ding Ding Denny: Storm Hailey?

Mute William Grogan
    Favourite William Grogan
    Jan 18th 2018, 8:05 PM

There are some seriously stupid people driving cars.

Mute Carina Clarke
    Favourite Carina Clarke
    Jan 18th 2018, 8:38 PM

@William Grogan: give the volume of collisions on the stretch of road, Id be more of the view of it being shite road planning.

Mute Mjhint
    Favourite Mjhint
    Jan 18th 2018, 8:43 PM

@Carina Clarke: Excellent comment although its wrong to blame any incident fully on the road. Its nearly always a chain of small events that cause these incidents but yes poor road planning & structure do play an important role. Also we could do with a lot more smart road signs in known danger zones to manage trafic better.

Mute oh i dunno
    Favourite oh i dunno
    Jan 18th 2018, 9:06 PM

@William Grogan: Fully agree, as a professional driver covering approx 3/400 kilometers per day i am aghast at some of the things i see, I’m surprised i don’t come upon more accidents than i do really. I am actually more surprised the fatality rate is as low as it is, the standard of driving in this country could be described as appalling at best. We really need to look at re-testing every 10 years.

Mute Thomas Maher
    Favourite Thomas Maher
    Jan 18th 2018, 10:13 PM

@Mjhint:
    That stretch of road is known to have regular accidents.
    It’s terrible planning, the off ramp to Roscrea as mentioned is a real hazard.
    There was a crash there within days of that section of the motorway being opened.

Mute brendan H
    Favourite brendan H
    Jan 18th 2018, 10:19 PM

@Carina Clarke: Or people driving with summer tyres instead of all season tyres for this climate.

Mute Carina Clarke
    Favourite Carina Clarke
    Jan 18th 2018, 10:26 PM

@brendan H: I have all season tyres on my car. They are marginally better for stopping distance. What drives me batty in this Country is the insistence of having exits signposted after the turn along with a load of signs in the one place blocking other ones. A great example of this is in Dublin looking for the N4 past the mater hospital. The sign is completely blocked from view. Also signs blocked by greenery. Rubbish road lighting on dual carraigways but the hedging not being high enough or dense enough on the central.divide to drive with headlight on as your blinding the oncoming traffic on the other side of the dual carraigeway.

Mute John Loftus
    Favourite John Loftus
    Jan 18th 2018, 10:40 PM

@Carina Clarke: Bad drivers cause crashes,not taking weather conditions into consideration. I’m from Scotland & you never see people driving like this in wintry conditions. Slow down & use your gears,not your brakes.

Mute Grainne Keegan
    Favourite Grainne Keegan
    Jan 18th 2018, 10:56 PM

@Carina Clarke: agree with you some signs as for m50 are not clear which lame to get into you could nearly be going to say n4 city bound as sign for m50 northbound is to the right where it should be under the road on the left side. I live here imagine the problem for tourists or people not familiar with the area.

Mute Paul Coughlan
    Favourite Paul Coughlan
    Jan 18th 2018, 11:07 PM

@Carina Clarke: or is it road building.

Mute Md Pavlova
    Favourite Md Pavlova
    Jan 25th 2018, 11:36 AM

@William Grogan: not only with stupid drivers can hapen like that.there was man with more than 20 years expir…. it can hapen with everyone.

Mute Paul O Meara
    Favourite Paul O Meara
    Jan 18th 2018, 8:04 PM

€€€€££££$$$$$

Mute Desmond Wisley
    Favourite Desmond Wisley
    Jan 18th 2018, 8:49 PM

Bad accedent on m18 South of Crusheen exit again hail on road

Mute Trevor Connolly
    Favourite Trevor Connolly
    Jan 19th 2018, 1:16 AM

T