You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Puff adders are a venomous viper species. Shutterstock/EcoPrint

Scramble for antivenom as man in Dublin bitten by venomous snake

Puff adder venom destroys body tissue and the vipers are responsible for the most snakebite fatalities in Africa.

LAST UPDATE | 29 Feb 2020

A 22-YEAR-OLD man has been rushed to Connolly Hospital in Dublin after being bitten by a highly venomous puff adder snake.

The National Reptile Zoo was asked to supply antivenom to combat the tissue-destroying poison, however there currently isn’t a supply for the specific species of viper in Ireland and there’s a shortage worldwide.

The zoo has sourced ten vials of the medication from Liverpool School of Tropical Medicine but, depending on the severity of the bite, it could require up to 30 vials to combat the venom.

If required the rest of the antivenom will likely have come from Düsseldorf or Paris.

The man will have to be airlifted to Liverpool to receive the treatment or else the antivenom will have to be airlifted to Dublin.

James Hennessy, the Director of the National Reptile Zoo, said it is a “very, very serious” situation for the man.

“The thing about snake bites is, it could be what’s known as a ‘dry bite’, where you get away with losing only the tip of your finger, or it could have given him a full-on envenomation. And if the guy’s immune system isn’t 100% you know it can be enough to kill you,” he explained to TheJournal.ie.

Puff adders are an African species of snake with a haemotoxic bite, meaning they destroy body tissue. They are responsible for causing the most snakebite fatalities in Africa.

The zoo director added:

It tends to disintegrate and dissolve anything it comes into contact with. He’s almost guaranteed to lose at least a digit, depending on where he’s bitten, if not possibly a lung and it may cause internal organ damage and failure.

The Kilkenny based zoo is the 24-hour contact for antivenom in Ireland. It is not government-funded and provides it privately to individuals who have been bitten, however it only has antivenom for species it keeps.

The medicine is kept in centres around the world but there’s a worldwide shortage at the moment.

Hennessy believes it’s the first recorded potentially fatal bite in the history of the state, despite people keeping a wide range of venomous animals for decades.

The Herpetological Society of Ireland later released a statement saying that the incident was likely a “tragic accident” and the man had been keeping the snake as a pet.

“Snakes are amazing animals and many can make wonderful, rewarding pets. They are not out to get you,” it said.

The society said that venomous snakes have no place outside of their natural habitat or a professional setting and they are “especially unsuitable” for being kept in a regular household.

“We send our best wishes for a speedy recovery to the young man involved,” it concluded.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

76 Comments
    Mute Thomas Quinn
    Favourite Thomas Quinn
    Feb 28th 2020, 6:36 PM

Am I missing a bit of this story. Where and how was he bitten by this snake in Dublin?

Mute Derek Walsh
    Favourite Derek Walsh
    Feb 28th 2020, 6:41 PM

@Thomas Quinn: Presumably he or someone known to him kept it as a pet. If it was on the loose, that would have been mentioned.

Mute Miriam
    Favourite Miriam
    Feb 28th 2020, 6:48 PM

@Thomas Quinn: I honestly think it’s intentionally omitted to make the story “seem” to apply to us all, whereas if they mention specifically that it was the man’s pet, everyone just moves on to the next story. Oh and while we are wondering where the snake is we can also worry about the worldwide shortage of antivenom. eye roll! sigh! yawn! anyway, i do hope this man recovers

Mute Ger
    Favourite Ger
    Feb 28th 2020, 7:22 PM

@Thomas Quinn: yeah I saw the story elsewhere a few mins ago. It was privately owned.

Mute Paula Mackie Senior
    Favourite Paula Mackie Senior
    Feb 28th 2020, 7:33 PM

@Thomas Quinn: that would be useful. Is this puff adder on the loose or what?

Mute Shazam37
    Favourite Shazam37
    Feb 28th 2020, 7:50 PM

@Miriam: pffft. Friday night and the journal staff are tasked with coming up with stories while everyone else is in the pub and you’re b***hing about the content.

Mute Seaniecp
    Favourite Seaniecp
    Feb 28th 2020, 9:18 PM

@Thomas Quinn: yeah that was a strange omission. I was waiting to read it the whole way down.

Mute Miriam
    Favourite Miriam
    Feb 28th 2020, 10:49 PM

@Shazam37: fair point!

Mute Peter Cavey
    Favourite Peter Cavey
    Feb 28th 2020, 11:10 PM

@Thomas Quinn: I heard on the news this evening that the man was bitten on his tongue. Yep.. on his tongue.

Mute Bramley Hawthorne
    Favourite Bramley Hawthorne
    Mar 1st 2020, 8:33 AM

@Thomas Quinn: “… the man had been keeping the snake as a pet.”

Mute Seibh Ní Chonraoí
    Favourite Seibh Ní Chonraoí
    Feb 28th 2020, 7:14 PM

Important things to include in a news article :
    The place the incident occurred
    The date
    The time of day
    How the incident occurred
    What injuries were sustained
    Where on the person the injuries were inflicted
    If there is a dangerous animal involved, ensure the public are informed of it’s whereabouts and if there is any reason to be concerned.

Mute Andrew Nolan
    Favourite Andrew Nolan
    Feb 28th 2020, 7:37 PM

@Seibh Ní Chonraoí: Would you have left a comment if all the facts were given? The Journal knows what it’s doing…well sort of.

Mute Kevin O' Brien
    Favourite Kevin O' Brien
    Feb 28th 2020, 11:23 PM

@Andrew Nolan: you’re giving them way too much credit.

Mute Dave Hammond
    Favourite Dave Hammond
    Feb 29th 2020, 1:56 PM

@Seibh Ní Chonraoí:

should see how other media outlets report

The Irish Sun -Snakebite – Man fights for life after having his dick bitten by venomous snake

Daily Mail – Foreign immigrant killer snake bites Irish Man – fears for his life

RTE – Mary Lou Mc Donalds constituency has murderous killer snakes on the loose

Irish Independent – FFG funded hospital rescues dying snake victim. No comment available from Sinn Fein.

Sunday World – Latest Gangland fear strikes community as killer pets let loose

Irish Times – The index of Irish shares has been rocked and declined 1000% by latest snake incident and prospect of Sinn Fein in Government.

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Favourite Fiona Fitzgerald
    Mar 1st 2020, 5:57 PM

@Dave Hammond: A fair summary. Hope he recovers, well, as much as possible. Poor man.

Mute liam whelan
    Favourite liam whelan
    Feb 28th 2020, 6:35 PM

Where’s St Patrick?

Mute rice water
    Favourite rice water
    Feb 28th 2020, 6:42 PM

@liam whelan: currently on holidays returning on the 17th of March

Mute John Mc Donagh
    Favourite John Mc Donagh
    Feb 28th 2020, 7:12 PM

@liam whelan: YOU STOLE MY COMMENT!

Mute old man trucker
    Favourite old man trucker
    Feb 28th 2020, 7:16 PM

@liam whelan: the original snake oil salesman,I’ll see myself out

Mute DJ François
    Favourite DJ François
    Feb 28th 2020, 8:48 PM

@liam whelan: avoiding the coronis infected crowds

Mute Bopper Bops Holland
    Favourite Bopper Bops Holland
    Feb 28th 2020, 10:03 PM

@rice water: maybe not

Mute Garreth Byrne
    Favourite Garreth Byrne
    Feb 29th 2020, 6:56 PM

@liam whelan: St. Patrick seems to have been banished by the neo-pagans. Better phone Joe Duffy.

Mute lambda sensor
    Favourite lambda sensor
    Feb 28th 2020, 6:35 PM

Any idea how he came into contact with the snake? Is there a deadly snake loose in Ireland? Hope he gets all the help he needs, sounds awful.

Mute Matt Connolly
    Favourite Matt Connolly
    Feb 28th 2020, 6:39 PM

@lambda sensor: no need for hysterics, the answer is indicated in the article…” it’s the first recorded potentially-fatal bite in the history of the state, despite people keeping a wide range of venomous animals for decades”

Mute lambda sensor
    Favourite lambda sensor
    Feb 28th 2020, 8:26 PM

@Matt Connolly: you think asking pertinent questions is hysterics?!!! knowing the type of information I asked avoids hysteria.

Mute Stephen
    Favourite Stephen
    Feb 28th 2020, 8:51 PM

@lambda sensor: it was his pet. It was put straight back into its container after the bite. Unfortunately there is no law or license needed for venomous animals in this country.

Mute john doe
    Favourite john doe
    Feb 28th 2020, 11:09 PM

@Stephen: why doesn’t the article say that? Kinda important information in a story about someone getting bitten by a snake, in a country that doesnt have snakes, is where did the damn snake come from… no?

Mute Stephen
    Favourite Stephen
    Feb 29th 2020, 6:44 AM

@john doe: the article is wrong, it didn’t happen in Dublin. Its very, very easy to buy these animlas as there is no legislation. Things need to change and probably will after this.

Mar 1st 2020, 12:38 AM

@lambda sensor: too cold for a tropical snake to survive in Ireland outdoors, seems it was kept by the individual

Mute Thomas Claffey
    Favourite Thomas Claffey
    Mar 1st 2020, 3:20 PM

@Matt Connolly: TD’s???

Mute The Blue Dot Observer
    Favourite The Blue Dot Observer
    Feb 28th 2020, 7:00 PM

Our national news service mentions that the snake was “privately owned”.
    Pity several news sources have to be checked to get the fuller facts.

J
    Mute J
    Favourite J
    Feb 28th 2020, 9:00 PM

@The Blue Dot Observer: yeah except this is more of a blog than a news site

Mute brefanlfc
    Favourite brefanlfc
    Feb 28th 2020, 9:52 PM

@J: This.

Mute Mark Deegan
    Favourite Mark Deegan
    Feb 28th 2020, 7:35 PM

“Want to play with my pet Puff Adder?” – Said no sane person ever.

Mute Arch Angel
    Favourite Arch Angel
    Feb 29th 2020, 9:08 PM

@Mark Deegan: Exactly. Never mind with the who, where, how’s, we appear to have a select group of people, if you want to call them that, in this country somehow acquiring extremely deadly animals and keeping them as pets.
    I don’t for one minute think it’s a case of “oh how did that yoke get into me suitcase office while I was visiting Africa garda?”, they had to be smuggled into the country. Are the government and the Gardaí happy with this situation, are they content to turn a blind eye and say “ah sure he’ll be grand”. Ah sure we’ll wait until someone dies, maybe it’ll be a child…

Mute Maria
    Favourite Maria
    Feb 28th 2020, 7:02 PM

The reptile zoo in Kilkenny really is a brilliant place to visit!

Mute moneymaid
    Favourite moneymaid
    Feb 28th 2020, 8:14 PM

@Maria:
    Here here.
    Fantastic place, throughly enjoyed a trip there.

Mute Angry_Man41
    Favourite Angry_Man41
    Feb 28th 2020, 9:10 PM

Hope the poor guy survives. As an aside the standard of journalism in this article is shocking . No background as to where this occurred , who owned the snake and where is the snake now. Dangerous reptiles like this should only be held by Zoo’s or medical and research type facilities. They should not b the play thing of some clown.

Mute Stephen O'Mullane
    Favourite Stephen O'Mullane
    Feb 28th 2020, 6:51 PM

So we now have more shake bite victims that Corona virus patients.
    Over to you Minister Harris!

Mute Stephen O'Mullane
    Favourite Stephen O'Mullane
    Feb 28th 2020, 6:54 PM

@Stephen O’Mullane: …snake bite…

Mute Paul Somers
    Favourite Paul Somers
    Feb 28th 2020, 7:09 PM

@Stephen O’Mullane: Stephen, like really, do you think Simon has the ability to speak on behalf of the hse, doctors, nurses and fn everything. I pity the chap as he is the escape goat for many idiots. Think about it a different way he never applied for the role as health minister. Waterford whispers has nothing on you.

Mute FecklessBear
    Favourite FecklessBear
    Feb 28th 2020, 7:17 PM

@Paul Somers: so he’s remained, doing a terrible job, very handsomely paid in spite of his lack of qualification or competence, against his will?

Mute John Considine
    Favourite John Considine
    Feb 28th 2020, 7:21 PM

@Stephen O’Mullane: shnake bite…

Mute Phil O Stine
    Favourite Phil O Stine
    Feb 28th 2020, 7:23 PM

@Paul Somers: escape goat….seriously

Mute Stephen
    Favourite Stephen
    Feb 28th 2020, 8:03 PM

@John Considine: exactly John. Thanks for the dig-out

Mute John Considine
    Favourite John Considine
    Feb 28th 2020, 8:59 PM

@Phil O Stine: escaped from the nanny state probably.

Mute Ken Curran
    Favourite Ken Curran
    Feb 28th 2020, 10:35 PM

@FecklessBear: What Health Minister, bar Dr James Reilly, was qualified to make a success of that portfolio? Reilly also failed.
    I don’t blame Minister Harris for the current health problems but the overpaid, overstaffed administrators and managers at the HSE.
    Too many ‘systemic failures’ rather than I individuals being held to account.

Mar 1st 2020, 12:40 AM

@John Considine: escape goat?

Mute Ciaran Whyte
    Favourite Ciaran Whyte
    Feb 28th 2020, 7:04 PM

Darwinism?

Mute ⚡ Seánie ⚡
    Favourite ⚡ Seánie ⚡
    Feb 28th 2020, 6:59 PM

Here’s hoping the snake doesn’t contract the Coronavirus

Mute Mary Mc Carthy
    Favourite Mary Mc Carthy
    Feb 28th 2020, 7:13 PM

You need a licence for a dog …. but can keep venomous snakes here without one …… you could not make this sh*t up !

Mute old man trucker
    Favourite old man trucker
    Feb 28th 2020, 7:19 PM

@Mary Mc Carthy: far more likely to be bitten by a dog I’d assume

Mute brefanlfc
    Favourite brefanlfc
    Feb 28th 2020, 10:07 PM

@Mary Mc Carthy: I’d be extremely surprised if keeping venomous snakes in Ireland without notifying *someone* is legal; I’d hope not.

Mute John Kenny
    Favourite John Kenny
    Feb 29th 2020, 2:07 PM

@Mary Mc Carthy: If u get a snake license you could bring him for a walk but with a muzzle .great crack!lol

Mute Mary Mc Carthy
    Favourite Mary Mc Carthy
    Feb 29th 2020, 3:39 PM

@old man trucker: Far more likely to be killed from the bite of a snake

Mute stephen darling
    Favourite stephen darling
    Feb 28th 2020, 8:29 PM

Obviously the snake was smuggled into the country. If he survives will he be charged for having the snake

Mute XvSv
    Favourite XvSv
    Feb 29th 2020, 1:48 AM

@stephen darling: I’m guessing this unlucky guy is somehow connected to a Organised Crime Gang …A lot of OC Gangs across EU are getting caught with exotic / dangerous pets such as Crocodiles ,Tigers etc .. I’m guessing some have a fetish for deadly venomous snakes..

These animals use to express power & fear at the same time ..

High chance this guy could die … if the Puff Adder injected him with a full venom dose .. he won’t have to worry about the Corona Virus .

Puff Adders found throughout sub Saharan Africa .. they are quite common in South Africa ..

They the number one killer of People and Livestock in South Africa ..their venom bite is strong enough to kill a full grown Cow ..

They more feared than Mambas or Cobras which are also deadly .. but tend to attack less often ..

Mute Martin Conway
    Favourite Martin Conway
    Mar 1st 2020, 10:35 AM

@stephen darling: Pet Detective is here on the case!

Mute trebloc01
    Favourite trebloc01
    Feb 28th 2020, 6:43 PM

Can someone please tell us the snake still on the loose

Mute Elma Phudd
    Favourite Elma Phudd
    Feb 28th 2020, 6:50 PM

@trebloc01: guards picked him up on Serpentine Avenue

Mute Brian Farrell
    Favourite Brian Farrell
    Feb 28th 2020, 7:24 PM

@Elma Phudd: Athens guards took it to the zoo.

It enjoyed that so much, they have decided to take it to the pictures tonight.

Mute Brian Farrell
    Favourite Brian Farrell
    Feb 28th 2020, 7:24 PM

@Brian Farrell: the not Athens.

Mar 1st 2020, 12:41 AM

@trebloc01: read the article

Mute John Mc Donagh
    Favourite John Mc Donagh
    Feb 28th 2020, 7:17 PM

I understand that the principal diet of that species of snakes is rats– Pity his (the snakes) services weren’t used in the Dail bar last July!

Mute Seanboy
    Favourite Seanboy
    Feb 28th 2020, 9:24 PM

And the winner of the darwin award. Please see above

Mute Scott Ott
    Favourite Scott Ott
    Feb 28th 2020, 7:59 PM

The Zoo should be illegal all over the world.

Mute Quentin Moriarty
    Favourite Quentin Moriarty
    Feb 29th 2020, 12:08 AM

@Scott Ott: most zoos have effective breeding Programmes which will assist in the avoidance of extinction of rare species in some cases

Fota Wildlife park and the red panda an example

Circuses in the other hand

Mar 1st 2020, 12:42 AM

@Scott Ott: why?

Mute Power Hitters
    Favourite Power Hitters
    Feb 29th 2020, 2:38 AM

It’s an omen indicating cultural revolution is complete. The old Ireland is dead. The snakes have returned.

Mute Martin Keogh
    Favourite Martin Keogh
    Feb 29th 2020, 2:04 PM

There seems to be no proper regulations with regards to bringing in dangerous animals, how did he buy it in the first place ?.

Mute brefanlfc
    Favourite brefanlfc
    Feb 28th 2020, 9:56 PM

Coronavirus, snake bite… are the lager & cider industries indulging in some subliminal advertising? Coronaviral marketing.

Mute Billy Kavanagh
    Favourite Billy Kavanagh
    Feb 28th 2020, 11:37 PM

The snake is currently a TD in Leinster house

Mute Stephen Matthews
    Favourite Stephen Matthews
    Feb 29th 2020, 6:27 AM

Once bitten, twice shy

Mute Sean Dempsey
    Favourite Sean Dempsey
    Feb 29th 2020, 12:33 PM

Must have bumped into Leo

Mute Declan Dowling
    Favourite Declan Dowling
    Feb 29th 2020, 9:21 AM

I often woke up Saturday dying from the Shnakebite.

A fry up and 2 panadol lad.

Mute Lou
    Favourite Lou
    Feb 29th 2020, 8:24 AM

No sympathy if that idiot willingly kept that snake as a pet. Wasting everyone’s time now.