You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
An account is an optional way to support the work we do. Find out more.
PA Wire/PA Images
Syria
May criticised for Syria air strikes with Corbyn accusing her of bowing to 'whims of the US president'
The British Prime Minister said, “We have done it because we believed it was the right thing to do”.
10.33pm, 16 Apr 2018
BRITISH PRIME MINISTER Theresa May and French President Emmanuel Macron faced anger from lawmakers for conducting air strikes with the United States in Syria in both leaders’ first major military actions since coming to power.
May said lawmakers were right to hold her to account for her actions, after the premier proceeded with the strikes without prior parliamentary approval.
“But it is my responsibility as prime minister to make these decisions. And I will make them,” May said of the intervention.
Opposition Labour leader Jeremy Corbyn called for new legislation to stop governments launching military action without lawmakers’ backing in most circumstances.
“The prime minister is accountable to this parliament, not to the whims of the US president,” he told a packed chamber.
Labour leader Jeremy Corbyn speaking after Prime Minister Theresa May made a statement to MPs in the House of Commons over her decision to launch air strikes against Syria. PA
PA
Following Washington’s military lead remains a sensitive subject in Britain, where memories of participation in the US-led invasion of Iraq in 2003 are still raw.
May, in office since July 2016, rejected the notion that she took orders from US President Donald Trump, saying her decision was based on Britain’s national interest.
“We have not done this because President Trump asked us to do so. We have done it because we believed it was the right thing to do,” she said.
Lack of public support
But a poll showed scant public support for the move.
The poll by Survation for the Mail on Sunday showed 36% in favour of Britain’s participation in the air strikes, 40% against and the remainder undecided.
Of the survey’s 2,060 respondents, 54% also agreed with the statement that May “should have held a parliamentary debate and vote before intervening militarily in Syria”.
May’s speech was followed by a heated debate during which some MPs called on Britain to welcome more Syrian refugees – rejected by May – and continue the diplomatic push to end the seven-year conflict.
Prime Minister Theresa May makes a statement to MPs in the House of Commons over her decision to launch air strikes against Syria. PA
PA
Outside the Houses of Parliament, the Stop the War coalition once chaired by Corbyn was due to hold a demonstration.
The group said the strikes “will have done nothing to end the war” and “risked dramatically widening” the conflict.
‘International legitimacy’
In France, Macron has faced similar criticism for attacking Syria without consulting the legislature.
He defended the move as well as his constitutional powers in a TV interview yesterday.
“This mandate is given democratically to the president by the people in the presidential election,” said Macron, who became France’s youngest president in May 2017.
Macron, 40, has been criticised from both right and left.
National Front leader Marine Le Pen has accused Macron of failing to show any evidence on the use of chemical weapons by the Syrian regime to justify the strikes.
Jean-Luc Melenchon, head of the hard-left France Unbowed party, has also condemned the strikes, while the leader of the centre-right Republicans party, Laurent Wauquiez, said he “did not believe in punitive strikes”.
But at a press conference in Paris today, Macron said France had acted with “international legitimacy”.
He argued that the operation was legitimate despite not being sanctioned by the UN since under a 2013 UN resolution Syria was supposed to destroy its chemical weapons arsenal.
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic.
Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy
here
before taking part.
@Roj Blake: Why didn’t the government help prevent this conflict? Lots of civilians and children were killed in Eastern Ukraine before all hell broke lose. We should be looking for a peaceful end to this crisis not supporting the propagation of violence to pander to Biden’s death wish of egging Putin on. We need peace not war.
@The Irish love this shy….: but your pushing your pro putin stance again.. every normal Irish person fells bad for the atrocities that putin has done to Ukraine , the rest are not NORMAL human beings
@Joe Mc Dermott: different point of view equals not normal human beings, that sounds very nazish in fairness…did you think this comment through before you posted?
@Roj Blake: Not sure about a democratic elected government. If I recall the current lot replaced the previously democratically elected government by force in 2014.
@Joe Mc Dermott: Did you say the same to George Mitchel or Mo Molam when they were pushing for peace on this island? Aren’t we normal human beings as well? Weren’t we worth it? What type of man are you to be supporting death? Is that your legacy as a “NORMAL human being”?
@Ross O’: in case ye guys didn’t see the headlines, putin and his orcs invaded Ukraine, raped and murdered men women and children and all ye want to do is castigate Ukraine and blame them for what’s happening. So yes it’s not normal.. ye all call for peace with a Russian stance bur never once called for putin to get the fu#k out of Ukraine, and guess what.. then you’ll have peace that you crave for..
@The Irish love this shy….: “supporting” death is all he will ever do, because he’s far too cowardly to actually boot up himself and put his own neck at risk for what he pretends to believe. I find a good rule of thumb is that anyone who supports war and bloodshed, but isn’t fighting and shedding or spilling blood themselves, should be mocked and then ignored. Never give cowards the impression that they matter, because they never will.
@Martin Caulfield: You recollect wrong this ‘current lot’ won an overwhelming majority in an internationally observed and validated election. This ‘current lot’ is a result of a popular revolt on foot of russian meddling, a president who was elected on a mandate of closer ties with the EU turned course under external pressure from Moscow and tried to get away with returning Ukraine to Moscow vassal state status. You know all this but for some weird reason you engage in purposeful misinformation in favour of a Russian despot.
@Joe Mc Dermott: Therein lies your problem, you’re only looking at the headlines when theres more to the story.
Point to me where I castigated Ukraine?
Point to me where I blamed them for being invaded?
Point to me where I displayed a pro Russian stance?
You shouldn’t be generalising people like that. You have zero idea what’s going through my head. Bit of advice – try thinking before you say something baseless so as not to appear as ignorant as you have done in these comments.
@Alan B: The Ukrainian people elect a president, and a parliament.
They elected parliament passed legislation recognising that the Ukrainian people wanted to move into the European world.
The Ukrainian people then elected a president who promised to bring that about.
That president – a Victor Yanukovych – then reneged on that promise, scrapped those plans and began a process of re-integration with russia.
The Ukrainian people – having been subject to russian oppression – were having none of that and protested.
Yaokuvych set his goons on the protesters, killing over 100.
The Ukrainian parliament removed Yanokuvych from office, and he fled to Moscow.
(Yankuvych was one of the those selected by Putin as a puppet to replace Zalensky, but the russian invasion failed to topple the Ukrainian government.)
Yanukovych has international warrants out for hos arrest for mass murder and fraud.
It was Yanukovych – a russian puppet – that tried to undermine and overthorw Ukrainian democracy, not the Ukrainian people who stood firm to protect their democracy.
@Ignatius J Reilly: Thank you. It’s awful to see human beings think that the only way to stop death is more death. It’s not the way of the Irish and it certainly is not the way of any normal human being. Unfortunately this conflict has been going on for a long time and Americans got involved because they had skin in the game. Boris followed Biden in the same way Blair followed Bush because of “the special relationship”. Ireland should be trying to save skin not to see it burnt to support weapons manufacturers.
@Brendan Cahill: there’s nothing free or fair in Ukraine, it beggers belief that some can’t see that Uncle Sam is keeping this stupid war going , Putin is not interested in western Ukraine or anywhere else in Europe, the EU will fall apart by itself, the gates are wide open, we ain’t seen nothing yet.
@Martin Caulfield: The Ukrainian people elect a president, and a parliament.
They elected parliament passed legislation recognising that the Ukrainian people wanted to move into the European world.
The Ukrainian people then elected a president who promised to bring that about.
That president – a Victor Yanukovych – then reneged on that promise, scrapped those plans and began a process of re-integration with russia.
The Ukrainian people – having been subject to russian oppression – were having none of that and protested.
Yaokuvych set his goons on the protesters, killing over 100.
The Ukrainian parliament removed Yanokuvych from office, and he fled to Moscow.
(Yankuvych was one of the those selected by Putin as a puppet to replace Zalensky, but the russian invasion failed to topple the Ukrainian government.)
Yanukovych has international warrants out for hos arrest for mass murder and fraud.
It was Yanukovych – a russian puppet – that tried to undermine and overthrow Ukrainian democracy, not the Ukrainian people who stood firm to protect their democracy.
So no, the current lot did not replace the previously elected lot on 2014.
Although that is part of the russian propaganda lies about those times.
@Roj Blake: To the last Ukrainian so it is! . More and more shall be rounded up for a tour of the frontlines later on in year. Anyone who is not demanding peace deserves to go
@Alan B: Nobody contested the result of the last election and the second placed candidate accepted the result. i.e. it is a democratically elected government. Meanwhile in Russia yesterday the head of the last independent election monitoring organisation was imprisoned. Russia has no opposition (last guy sent in jail for what? previous guy murdered outside the Kremlin) is not democratic.
@The Irish love this shy….: As you well know the little green men stirred up the trouble. That is what Russia do – cause trouble. and FYI the number of deaths in the couple of years before the 2022 were very low. Protect the people was just another Russian lie to justify a war with no justification.
@Roj Blake: bull as usual . Org excuse of a government should be promoting peace and peace talks . I’m sure you will find a huge majority of Irish people do not agree with you or your fake warmongering
@Seanfhear míshásta: You need an army, to defend your country and soldiers must be trained in military tactics. Even neutral Countries, have an army and to defend their Democracy. These Neutralists hippies, need to be re-educated and in a Chinese or NK labour camp.
@Edward O’T.: The right thing to do is to look for peace and promote peace. Isn’t there enough death in the world without us adding to it? Jack Lynch said that “we could not stand idly by” if you know your history but even he knew that common sense must prevail and we never got militarily involved against British or IRA thugs on our island.
@The Irish love this shy….: There is a time when military assistance is needed which for Ukraine is now due to the brutal invasion of Ukraine by Putin’s military, that does not take away from promoting peace for Ukraine at the same time.
But as anyone can see Putin does not want peace he wants Ukraine.
@The Irish love this shy….: Set out your peace plan and tell us who would deliver it and to whom. Tell us who would pay any attention to what we have to say.
@Alan Casey: Suppose the fishermen did a good job of shooing away the Russians last time and actions like this will slip us neatly into the pocket of Nato at some point but as all wars in the history of humankind have demonstrated, you don’t need ‘permission’
Our government has been deeply dishonest with us and abandoned the clear will of the Irish people to be a neutral country; a country that stands for peace, not war!
@Roj Blake: If your comment was true, why did we implore international people to sue for peace on our island which is a democracy? We Irish haven’t forgotten the success of the Good Friday Peace Agreement supported by other democracies. Ireland has always been politically neutral and Dev even signed the book of condolences on behalf of us Irish for the German people when the war was over and Hitler was dead.
@Joe Mc Dermott: Yeah fair point. Although once you are backing one side using your military you have stayed from both forms of neutrality, was my poorly constructed point.
@Roj Blake: There will be a debate in Ireland on military neutrality – Taoiseach
While Ireland is militarily neutral, Micheal Martin emphasised the state is ‘not politically neutral or morally neutral’ on the Ukraine invasion. Seems MM disagreed with you. But once again he uturns on Irish people without mandate.
@ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere: Anyone that thinks Ukraine can defeat Russia with the weapons scraps from various countries is deluded. They need heavy and significantly more investment in weaponry to sustain fighting. The Iraq war was costing the U.S over $1 billion per week with less hostilities.
@: Ireland uses NATO standard weapons, not weapon scraps.
These (generally) use the same calibre ammunition.
So we could send over every round of mortar ammunition we have, every round of artillery ammunition we have, every round of small arms ammunition we have.
And we could also send over every mortar, every artillery piece, every machine gun.
And every anti-tank and anti-aircraft weapon we have.
And anything else we have the Ukrainians believe might be useful.
We should do anything we can do to help defeat evil.
@ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere: Your fake responses here are getting duller by the day. We Irish support peace and do not support violence. Get out of these comments section you troll.
@ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere: This comment here is a CIPSO propaganda operative who also uses the name of Honey Badger. They never contributed to any Irish debate, Irish scandal, event…. They are here to try sway public opinion. I don’t support the invasion but these fake accounts are trying to fool us Irish. Notice the same pattern here with the comments from the same accounts, always badgering for more war and more war. This is not the Irish way. Please use your head and not your emotion. Support peace and pray for peace.
@: that’s how the trolls work. They use different accounts and answer each other so as to sow confusion here. Always the same style, war war war. One liners only or else they provide technical stuff which Irish aren’t really interested in and which is part of the script. See if you can find this account commenting with knowledge and context on other Irish topics of The Journal…. you will find nothing. I checked at the weekend and saw the same pattern from the same accounts which is the same individual.
@ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere: You know they did a survey on the Irish armies munition inventory a few years ago, it found that we had enough rounds to last 15 minutes in a real war. So unfortunately I doubt much has changed, we could give them sheep, curragh is not in short supply.
@ItWasLikeThatWhenIGotHere: yeah I have actually, more than most, I didn’t say you don’t have them, I said we barely have enough ammo & resources for ourselves never mind training other countries . Im all for military & defense investment in Ireland, I think the Irish attitude towards defense is a disgrace. Have some pride in our nation, be able to stand up when needed. As it stands it’s a joke and it is. There’s no point saying its not, but it’s our politicians fault, globalist sell outs
This purely symbolic and will mean nothing in the bigger picture, Irishmen, just like NATO forces have no experience in fighting a war of attrition, this more about sticking a flag to a certain mast while pretending we are neutral,
We are being sleepwalked into being the eastern flank of NATO, protecting the UK and other parts of Europe..
This is insane
@Roj Blake: yeah, let us be the first line of defence on the Eastern flank of NATO with no means of protecting ourselves except to become a military colony and outpost as a war is fought between NATO backed Ukraine and Russia some 2,500km away…
That’s not in our common good whatsoever, geographically we are a link from America to Europe, that’s both military and economically, and are a strategic rock for what happens across all of Europe,
THAT’S our worth to the US, EU and UK… anyone else who thinks different is deluding themselves, it’s World chess and we’re definitely a pawn
@Noel Kelly: Noel. We’re part of the EU. When we joined the EEC back in 73. Neutrality went out the window. If we get attacked in the morning. What will Brussels do?
@Roj Blake: The fan boy attitude u have to this Irish government is brutal and sad to watch. Id say if they supplied putin with weapons and bombed ukraine, ud probably spin it as a good thing……
If the Freemason martin and the other globalist ilk got their way, they would have us in NATO, mandatory conscription and straight into the Ukraine on the front lines.
Just part of the continuing attempts to undermine and destroy Irish neutrality . On a practical level it is ridiculous . The Ukrainians know a lot more about fighting a war than the Irish . Also Ireland uses Western military doctrine which the Ukrainians have recently dumped as it doesn’t work . They have gone back to old Soviet doctrine .
@Des Hanrahan: Correct but this was not our decision in my opinion. Our foreign policy at the moment is directed by Washington. That is why the trolls on this story here are always trying to support Biden and down with Trump, to keep the war going because there is A LOT of money in weapons selling.
@Adrian: They even shopped in full uniform in Shannon Supervalu. A disgrace while the same soldiers were supporting turning little Afghanistan children into red smoothies. Our government should be ashamed for not looking for peace.
@The Irish love this shy….: They had to go in to Afghanistan. They were harbouring the Taliban and refused to shut them down. The Taliban had just attacked America. The first Iraq war and Afghanistan were legit IMHO. and FYI if Churchill did not stop Hitler he had invasion plan for Ireland – Operation Green!!
Let’s be honest here. Ireland have no say as this is USA war with Russia. If you want an example just look the new housing provided at very short notice. Also the use of hotels etc. ask yourself who is funding it?
There is nothing that the Irish Defence Forces that have never been in combat apart from a few scraps with the UN can teach the Ukrainians who have a history of combat dating back to WW2 about weapons. This is a con to further erode our neutrality, have we learnt nothing from our past. Who’s pulling our governments strings, no prizes for guessing right.
@Kieron King: Completely false. The Irish defence forces are highly regarded across the world, and regularly train other military personnel in areas such as dealing with mines.
@Kieron King: Biden came to Ireland to remind the Irish that our our economy our jobs is on his watch. He wants our support to keep the war going and for Ukraine to join the EU (God forbid). He knows Micheal Martin is a Cork school teacher with the mentality of a young teen thinking he’s playing Minecraft. As minister for defence, Martin is only preparing himself for his next dream job but at our expense.
Please be aware of fake accounts supporting war in this comments section. It’s riddled with foreign ops trying to sway Irish opinion to supporting war but they are not Irish, I outed them some days ago. Roj Blake, Honey Badger, ItWasLikeThis…. all the same account and same style despite their efforts to conceal their war mongering. They are paid trolls like the Chinese do in many publications around the world. (I don’t know if the Russians are at it but I’d say they are but they are not on this section because any normal person is looking for peace not war now).
@The Irish love this shy….: Good points, Ireland has been very successful on many UN peacekeeping missions because a lot of the adversaries by and large considered us neutral and respected that. This is slowly being eroded by those subservient government Ministers who pander to the wishes of the western elite because it will come with rewards. We have withdrawn from a UN mission in the Golan Heights to enable us to serve in a European Battlegroup led by Germany ironically. The Irish are sleepwalking into serious problems in future UN missions because people’s perception of us as being neutral is diminishing.
We are not helping the people of the Ukraine as people believe, we are just prolonging a lost conflict and making the militarily industrial complex richer.
So russia must be utterly defeated.
And russian war criminals held to account.
And russia held to account for its genocide.
And reparations paid to Ukraine.
And reparations paid to the rest of us for the harm russia has done.
That would be a start.
Then maybe russia will never again be able to wreak havoc on its neighbours.
The people of Crimea want to live in peace with their neighbours, both Russians and Ukrainians.
The people of west Ukraine want to live in peace with their neighbours.
The people of south Ukraine want to live in peace with their neighbours.
@Nestor: The people of Crimea are Ukrainians. Antone who says otherwise is just spreading russian propaganda lies.
russia can end this conflict right now, by leaving Ukraine.
russia could have simply not invaded Ukraine, either in 2014 or last year, murdering and destroying.
But just as russia murderously invaded Chechnya and Georgia, russia invaded Ukraine.
There is simply no evidence to back your assertion that russians love peace.
russia has been brutalising the peoples of its neighbouring countries for as long as we know about.
russia need to be taught a lesson.
And so it will be taught a lesson.
And the world will hopefully be a better, cleaner, safer place after the utter defeat of russia.
Then maybe russia will learn to leave others alone.
Then we will have peace.
@The Irish love this shy….: The Irish Support Ukraine in their defence. You support Russia. You don’t speak for me or the majority. Peace is a pipe dream at this juncture. No possibility at the moment as Putin Knows he would be dead within weeks. The war continues because Putin wants to cling on to power (which is staying alive in Russia). Steroids from the cancer treatment make him very paranoid and very dangerous. Perhaps if the Chinese and Russian economies continue to tank there may be an opportunity too and this war is beginning to hurt them. And lets face fact the Chinese now own Russia
Regardless of whether you think this is right or wrong we must all be concerned that our government and Micheál Martin in particular has lied to us. We were told in plain terms that any training provided would be non-lethal, that’s clearly not the case.
@Rochelle Hart: Martin has more than lied, he betrayed his own because his pride and ambition are only for himself. Have a look back on his visit to Kyiv and see his face shaking hands with Zelensky, he looks like he was wetting his pants with glee. That is not the type of leader Ireland needs nor deserves. He started out as a school teacher but then thought this meant his real job was as an international arms supporter as well as try to run a country which he hasn’t. Supporting death is never the answer.
@The ghost of Ireland’s past: ItWasLikeTHis….. is the same fake. Notice the same style, substance and perpetuation of violent posts here from them. They are not asleep I assure you. They just don’t want to make it obvious, even though I have outed them.
@The Irish love this shy….: Please provide evidence to support that they are the same account. you accused me of being HB. It is a lie and you are a liar
Ukraine is resisting a vicious illegal invasion, an invasion in which systemic targeting of civilian infrastructure is an actual tactic of the invading army. Despite this we have these perpetual malcontents suggesting giving minimum training support is somehow wrong when in actual fact the decent thing to do would be to transfer whatever defence systems we have in the hope they might save the lives of civilians. When are these isolationist purists going to understand what they argue for is moral cowardice..
Peope get so worked up over stuff that realistically has little or no consequence. Our barracks are full of soldiers that have Little or no purpose, through no fault of their own. We have politicians who are petrified of using incorrect pronoun, while streets of many large cities and towns are dominated by teen tugs on SW , drug addicts on SW and some people that have traveled here to exploit the countries good will to benefit from overly generous SW. Like to sleep on 7 days a week, and get €180 per week to do so………apply here. Unfortunately we are living in a puddle of mud. The state of our once Emerald Isle is very close to beyond repair. Rights come with responsibilities, not here.
It is a right move to train people willing to fight for democracy and EU safety. But government definitely don’t have the right picture of what is going on in Ukraine. Today found an apartment to let in Kiev for 20000usd per month! People down there parting at big concerts, living in much better houses and driving much more expensive cars than average Irish person!
For the pro Muslim and pro peace supporting illuminati posting here. You cannot defeat terror and those who attack your country by appeasement. It is in certain cabals interests to support Russian aggression. It is equally important that we are now taking iin more Russians avoiding war and conscription posing as Ukrainian, but we haven’t the wherewithal to distinguish who is whom. We have Ukrainian Males of 18 to 40 being allowed enter this country. These cowards should be fighting for their country’s freedom. Irish MEN are putting their lives on the line to teach these people to help themselves against aggressors. Not everyone is a Paul Murphy who traps women in cars and terrifies them for hours on end, apparently quite legally.
This is a shameful and illegal betrayal of the Irish people . We do not support wars , we want the muppets in government to advocate peace and stop nodding their heads in agreement with this. Why are our government not calling for peace talks
@lWOk0fWf: It’s a good thing we have some intelligent people in the comments who know the difference between seeking solutions and appeasement. Don’t get a job as a car salesman.
@The Irish love this shy….: Putin is not interested in Peace. he would be dead or in a gulag in weeks. hundreds of thousands dead and nothing to show for it. how would he explain that. He has to continue
@A D: so you have woken up? You are another fake account here Honey B. You can thank another for outing you as you slipped through my net but I’m onto you now. Another war mongering troll. Find a real job for yourself instead of annoying our Irish people with your paid trolling.
@A D: he accused me as well. I am also awaiting evidence. Welcome to the club. Who do you think he is “russian troll or tin foil hat brigade?” Wish the site would deal with it as quite tiresome.
@John Byrne: get on yer bike so and boot up if you feel that way and don’t be a hypocrite being a keyboard warrior. Would you send your own son to fight? Have a look at some of the videos of men getting slaughtered and for what? So you can say neutrality is hypocritical and cowardly? I think you need a good mirror Mr Byrne.
@The Irish love this shy….: My sons will make their own decisions. Hiding behind NATO geographically and militarily is hypocritical and cowardly. Yes, I would fight to defend this country.sometimws you have to. Putin just loves useful fools
I note all of those on here about advocating Peace. The world wants peace. Everyone wants this war over. Including Biden as it would be a major boast on the world stage before the election next year. It is costing the US Billions. Unfortunately Putin is not interested in Peace. He can not go back and say to his people “no denazification (the Ukraine Govt remain and are stronger), didn’t halt Nato expansion (two new countries joined doubling the border with Nato countries), hundreds of thousands dead, donbass etc not secure (lost half the land we initially won), economy in the toilet, and Russia military humiliated by a much smaller country. He can’t sell this as any kind of victory and stay alive. So the war will continue. It is depressing but am I wrong in my analysis? Putin does not care about his own people dying. He care about him dying. If the rumours about his cancer are correct maybe this might create an opportunity. Also the Russian/Chinese economy are showing real signs of strain. That might force a change. It should be remembered the USSR broke up because the economic model failed and they couldn’t fund the Afgan war.
“The only thing necessary for evil to triumph in the world is that good men do nothing”. Putin is evil. Russia does not respect neutrality. We need to get real. Russia represents a threat to the entire West. That includes Ireland
When this is all over will it be Russia who pays to rebuild Ukraine or EU,seems like the latter,Russia should be made pay severely when Putin’s brown bread but they’ll probably get away lightly, very wrong
https://t.co/y2YEGZG5r8
Irish troops will provide weapons training for the Ukrainians with non-lethal weapons.
#NoToNato
RTE news : Irish troops to provide weapons training to Ukraine.
An Israeli drone circled over the Irish base camp in Lebanon monitoring Simon Harris' visit
Niall O'Connor
Reporting from Lebanon
Updated
3 hrs ago
United States
EU pledges to 'protect our workers' as Trump announces 25% tariffs on all cars made outside US
3 hrs ago
As it happened
Verona Murphy 'fully intends' to continue as Ceann Comhairle as opposition parties draft no confidence motion
4 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 160 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 110 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 142 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 112 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 38 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 34 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 133 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 59 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 74 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 37 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 46 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 27 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 92 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 99 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 72 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 53 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 88 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 69 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say