You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
An account is an optional way to support the work we do. Find out more.
Thomas Cahalan and Nicholas Nelson became the second male couple in Ireland to enter into a civil partnership in 2011. Leon Farrell/Photocall Ireland
Equality
Here's the wording you'll be voting on in same-sex marriage referendum
Frances Fitzgerald said she hopes there will be “a constructive and respectful debate” on the issue.
11.00pm, 21 Jan 2015
Updated: 15.43
THE GOVERNMENT HAS released the wording that people will vote on in the Marriage Equality Referendum due to take place in May.
Justice and Equality Minister Frances Fitzgerald briefed opposition TDs on the wording this afternoon, after the Cabinet finalised it earlier today.
People will be asked to decide whether the following new wording should be added to the Constitution:
‘Marriage may be contracted in accordance with law by two persons without distinction as to their sex.’
Fitzgerald also confirmed that the Government is separately preparing an Implementation Bill which will address the changes to legislation that will be needed if the referendum is carried.
This will include changes to the Civil Registration Acts to remove the impediments preventing same-sex couples from being able to marry. The Minister will bring the General Scheme of the Implementation Bill to Government in February.
Speaking today, Fitzgerald said:
“The issue is one of equality, Marriage Equality. It is about removing the barriers which deny some couples the chance of marrying and of having relationships that are constitutionally protected.”
The question is whether or not a new category of couples can have an equal right to marrying and to enjoying the protection of marriage afforded by the Constitution.
“Ultimately it is for the people of Ireland to decide. I hope we can have a constructive and respectful debate which will help to inform and engage citizens on this important issue. I would encourage everyone entitled to vote in these referendums to participate fully in our democracy by ensuring that they are registered to vote and to go to the polls in May.”
Labour TD Ciara Conway said Ireland has the “historic opportunity to become the first country in the world to introduce marriage equality by way of popular vote”.
It is important that all those in favour of marriage equality up the ante now in campaigning for a ‘Yes’ vote. The polls show that a significant majority of Irish people are in favour of marriage equality. However, we cannot become complacent. There is still a long campaign ahead of us.
Fianna Fáil’s equality spokesperson Niall Colllins said the party is “happy to support the upcoming referendum” and welcomes the “clear and concise” wording.
He said Fianna Fáil will be engaging in a “very robust campaign” nationally in favour of a ‘Yes’ vote.
No one ‘becomes gay’
Collins said that, if passed, the Bill will “afford people of the same sex the protection of the Constitution and recognise their marriage the same as man-and-woman marriage”.
He said the upcoming law that covers gay couples jointly adopting children is a separate issue, but one he supports.
If gay or lesbian couples wish to adopt, absolutely, I have no issue with that whatsoever.
Sinn Féin leader Gerry Adams said today’s announcement marks “a very significant step in the road to equality” as it deals with “a very necessary human right for citizens”.
Both Collins and Adams called for a “respectful” debate.
“This can only make this State a better place,” Adams stated.
No one becomes gay, you’re born gay – it’s just giving these people the rights they’re entitled to as part of their birth right.
Marriage Equality Chair Gráinne Healy said the upcoming campaign will explain “why marriage matters to lesbian and gay couples”.
“Irish people rightly take constitutional change very seriously and our job over the next four months will be to engage in a national conversation with the citizens of Ireland to understand and assuage any concerns, and to encourage people to have their voices heard on the day” Healy stated.
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
Simply wording… except for the Iona “Institute”, who are determined to confuse people by telling them (incorrectly) that they are voting on adoption; they are NOT. And the wording shows that.
Nobody in Ireland, gay or straight, has a “right” to adopt a child. Under CURRENT law it has LONG been legal in Ireland for a single person (gay or straight) to adopt a child. Just not a couple. Currently gay couples can be foster parents for the HSE. But the right to a loving and stable home is the child’s right; not the adult’s.
Adoption reform will NOT be addressed by the Referendum; today’s wording makes this clear. Contrary to Breda O’Brien’s mis-information on Claire Byrne Live on Monday, adoption reform will be legislated for by the Oireachtas – anybody who has a strong opinion about it should contact their TD. Expressing discontent through the ballot box in the Referendum will change NOTHING with regard to adoption (again, contrary to Iona/Breda O’Brien’s comments).
Put simply, there is an application process when adopting a child and it includes an evaluation of the fitness of parents that takes into account only the rights and best interests of the child(ren). Your vote in the Referedum (Yes or No) will have no impact on this whatsoever. It will only impact the capacity of two adults of the same gender to enter into CIVIL marriage.
Great information, I found the debate on Clare Byrne very frustrating with the No side confusing the normal person, would it be possible in future debates for the broadcaster to put a gag (no pun intended) on the No side to prevent them for putting this misleading information out there?
Simplistic article…….Article 41 will be affected, and future law making affected. Children are an issue.
Many people do no like surrogacy, and it is outlawed in some major European countries. It is clearly an associated issue, which has yet to be dealt with in irish law. Adoption is quite a different matter and already covered by law. I found the atheist gay man on the Clare Byrne show expressed some of my strong doubts. What is wrong with Civil Partnership and the rights it gives to gay people to formalise relationships? I have no religious beliefs, and the vilification of those with doubts is foolish.
So many heterosexual people opt now for unofficial partnerships, and do not ever marry. Yet because some couples want to be called “married” the pressure to change continues, but I believe the issue of children and law-making in the future should be considered. I do not accept surrogacy for heterosexuals either. It is nor an argument to say that “these things are happening already” …there is no comprehensive law in the area, but there should, and I hope, will be.
Thank you winding down! Had a conversation with a colleague of mine about this yesterday. It went like this:
Her: I’ll have to think about it. I don’t mind them marrying but I need to think more about the adoption aspect
Me: (silently seething at the “I don’t mind” bit) what adoption aspect?
Her: well I don’t know if I agree with allowing them to adopt
Me: you know they can adopt now, right, just not jointly?
Her: no they can’t, only married people can adopt
Me: (face palm) where do you get your informatth Single people can adopt. And there’s no sexuality question on the adoption application papers
Her: are you sure? Well I don’t know about that, I mean a child needs a mother and a father
Me: so all those families where the mam or dad ran off or died when the kids were young, those kids should be removed from those single parent families and put into two parent adoptive families?
Her: I didn’t say that, that’s different
Me: you say too much for someone who doesn’t know what they’re saying.
Her: I just think we need to be careful about who is allowed to adopt
Me: you work in financial services, not child protection services, how about we let the informed experts decide.
@Derrick: The Iona “Institute” witnessed the huge public and media backlash against they threatened to sue RTÉ and Panti Bliss last year, and have apparently realised that the only way to appeal to voters is to put forth the most heart-wrenching argument they can; the “WOULD SOMEBODY PLEASE THINK OF THE CHILDREN!” argument.
Even they know by now that most of the Irish public are smart enough to see through the logic of any direct attack that they might make against Single Sex Marriage.
Every adult in society wants what is in the best interests of the Child, be they straight or gay. The right to a loving home is the child’s right, not the adult’s one. The Family Law Bill currently before the Oireachtas reforms Irish adoption law and put the child’s welfare and best interests at the heart of decisions on parentage, guardianship, custody and access. None of it will be put to Referendum.
Every adult in society should also be equal before the law; which is not currently the case for Civil Marriage. This Referendum asks us to render the State blind as the genders of a couple entering into a married relationship. That is all. The issues are very distinct. Voting Yes or No in the Referendum in May will not impact upon any adoption reforms going through the Oireachtas between now and Easter.
Amy
Incredible!
Please let her see the wording above and ask her now.
Tell her the referendum has NOTHING to do with adoption, ivf, surrogacy.
I await her response with baited breath
When I said that “Every adult in society should be equal before the law”, I wasn’t intending to express a personal opinion, I was referring to the following statement in the Proclamation of the Irish Republic made at the GPO in 1916:
“The Republic guarantees religious and civil liberty, equal rights and equal opportunities to all its citizens, and declares its resolve to pursue the happiness and prosperity of the whole nation and all of its parts, cherishing all of the children of the nation equally…”
Equality is the essence of a Republic. To my mind, the proclamation above calls upon us to extend Civil Marriage to all couples come May.
@ David: They used sex instead of gender to replicate existing provisions in the Constitution around the right to vote or run for public office (which refers to sex). If they used a different word, it could be used to create confusion.
To be honest, the argument got a lot more heated after that and I don’t fancy broaching the subject with her again because I’m still annoyed at some of the stuff she said. Funniest thing is, she said this in front of one her bosses who she clearly wasn’t aware is a lesbian lady. And I mean lady as she didn’t once rise to the bait.
Well, the point I was making was a biased numpty who has no experience with children and can barely do the job she’s actually qualified for, who I’m surprised can tie her own shoelaces, shouldn’t be making those kind of decisions. I really hope she reads this!
it needs the caveat that it’s in accordance with the law and that the person voting is aware that this isn’t an “opinion” but a vote on a statement of intent.
The “do you approve” sounds more like an opinion poll than a constitutional referendum
@Rory: Yes. Correct. But the Proclamation the founding document of the State. Much like the American Proclamation of Independence can be distinguished from the American Constitution. Be that as it may:
Article 40.1 of the Constitution states:
All citizens shall, as human persons, be held equal before the law.
WD – thanks for the info. on adoption legislation. How could the ‘yes’ side have allowed themselves to be so blindsided by Iona on this matter on the Claire Byrne show and so unprepared to clarify how it’s unrelated to the same-sex marriage referendum? It’s very worrying if they are the public face of the ‘yes’ campaign.
poor labour all over this like a gerry adams finance statement and leo goes and steals their thunder,was raining soup labour would have a fork at the ready
@Lloyd: I asked myself that question so very many times while I watched the debate. As good a moderator as Claire Byrne is, she allowed the No campaign to go totally off the rails. The commentary about marrying your pet goat was obscene!
I agree Lloyd. The moment anyone from the NO campaign starts to talk about “Let’s Think Of The Children” the YES side need to immediately call them out on it and let them know that issue has ZERO to do with the Referendum.
The No campaign are very clever in that they are not talking about equality, they are using children as their argument. The sooner the government pass that law the better. Then it will be interesting to see what the NO side will base their opposition on.
Meanwhile the YES campaign needs to get some PR training and needs to NEVER let these red herrings be used and left unchallenged.
@ Amy, this seems completely made up to make your fictional character look like you intellectual and enlightened lesser. You put words into their mouth to make them look so, it was planned and malicious.
You come across as arrogant.
I do agree, however, with you fictional character’s comment; ‘I just think we need to be careful about who is allowed to adopt’, no be careful, I don’t want you to feel you must place this into any particular context, I am thinking about this in broad terms.
Your last comment to the fictional character; ‘you work in financial services, not child protection services, how about we let the informed experts decide.’ must have made you wet your pants when you put her in her place with that one.
Haha fictional character, yes. Because people with that attitude don’t exist, right John? people like yourself are fictional, yes? Maybe I am arrogant, I couldn’t care less. Malicious? Now denying someone a right that everyone else has is what I find malicious. And you seem to be another person who doesn’t grasp that this is not about abortion. Oh you and your fictional opinions!
John, for you to decide that everything she said is a lie is absolutely arrogant.
I’ve had so many conversations like that. Just go through the comments in stories yesterday and you will see somebody claiming marriage equality will be a tool used by paedophiles teaming up to marry and adopt their victims. Just this afternoon a guy called Paddy Scully claimed this referendum is about children and that if we vote not, gay people won’t be able to adopt. He also spoke about the set up of ‘womb farms’ for gay surrogacy.
There are a lot of ignorant people that believe all sorts or try and convince others of all sorts, so I can well believe Amy’s story.
“The Trojan Horse in all this is the 10,000 of infants who’ll be snapped away from their birth mothers/fathers to facilitate same sex couples having kids, and the damage that ensues.
I’m afraid guys and gals normal reproduction entails intercourse with 2 beings of the opposite sex.”
It’s very clear that you’re trolling and have been since the beginning but your aim is pretty clear: to cause as much harm and confusion as possible.
Your assertions are absolutely ludicrous and hysterical. You are throwing out imbecilic comments because they are the last resort of someone who cannot justify why they don’t want people who are doing NO HARM to ANYONE to enjoy the same rights as them.
I’m with you on that Florence. He jumps from one absurd excuse to another and when he has nothing more, he cries victim saying we are insulting his character. Says the guy calling gay people paedophile enables, baby stealers and much more.
You’re a joke. Couldn’t win an argument with a ten year old. Go stir $hit elsewhere E and less of the victim rubbish.
Sure, vote Yes on this point of view, but then, when you register you child to school, bring your child’s baptism certificate to discriminate on admission. Everyone goes along with the church there, and on this other matter, they completely ignore it. Please don’t brag anymore about Ireland being a Catholic country. This goes now out the window.
Civil Marriage depicting Church Marriage in another way just like Church of England wanted when they did not like what Rome was saying.
We lie ourselves that we do something right by writing parallel rules. That’s all I said. Ireland is not a Catholic country anymore.
Truth is that a vast number here are/became atheists, like I am. (Which is not disbelief, but lack of belief)
While I don’t find some teachings of Christians right (too enslaving), I still do not support this idea to be accepted by public. They can do it at home. I don’t want my children to know this is something the institutions (state, church) find OK.
While we are at it, I believe there is no problem in adjusting the wording a little more:
“Marriage may be contracted in accordance with law by two ore more persons without distinction as to their sex.”
Let’s really think out of the box here and totally rip out of the “2000 years of brainwashing” ! I want to improve even more on the wording:
“Marriage may be contracted in accordance with law by two or more vertebrates without distinction as to their sex.”
Article 40.1
‘Equal before the law’ means that their shall be no prejudice against any party owing to their religion, sex, wealth, social position, land owner or tenant etc. It is a statement of the protection of the principal of a fair trial, it is not a expansive and all-encompassing statement of equality of all persons.
To hold all people equal, would mean that when a burglar was to be tried, his right to take would be equal to the property owner’s right to possess.
Oh Jim,
Your understanding of the law is embarrassing. Equality does not mean a burglar can take what they want, it means that all people must be afforded the same opportunities. I can’t believe this has to be explained to you. I’m actually shocked at the level of education in this country. It’s not your fault Jim, I blame our education system….
While it’ll be great if this passes by 51% to 49% it would be even better if it passed by 100% or as close to it as possible. The bigots of a previous Ireland need to be shown that we haven’t got room for them in this country any more.
Just because somebody vote no to this is not a bigot
In fact you are being a dictator by saying “The bigots of a previous Ireland need to be shown that we haven’t got room for them in this country any more.”
people have a right to vote yes or no that is why we are holding a referendum
Billy chenowith your very stance on who might be a bigot makes you, by definition, to be a bigot. And could people please get a dictionary and learn the meaning of the word as you tar yourselves with the same toilet brush.
I’ve tried poking around for non-religious arguments against SSM. I’ve only found two, and they basically contradict each other.
(1) The state promotes marriage because marriage is the best foundation for a stable family in which children can be brought up. The children of a same sex marriage, whether adopted, sperm-donated, surrogated etc. will by definition be deprived of either a father or a mother, which the state should not support.
[Comment - this is really only arguable if you are also prepared to argue for highly restrictive divorce laws and against most forms of support for single parents, but it is not absolutely ridiculous.]
(2) The state has no business trying to define relationships between people, let alone express a preference and grant favourable treatment to certain relationships. Relationships are personal and none of the business of the state. All forms of state-sanctioned marriage are therefore undesirable, and so the extension of the scope of state-sanctioned marriage is a step in the wrong direction.
The Doctor,
One can be a bigot on religious grounds. You’re correct that religion is a major reason for opposition and is certainly the impetus behind the loudest voices in the No campaign (although they wisely pretend otherwise). We need to stop giving a free pass to bigotry simply because it is religious in nature.
I know a few who will be voting ‘no’ and i wouldnt call them bigots. Not all ‘no’ voters are anti-gay.
A bigot to me is someone who is intolerant of anothers beliefs. I live in a small village surrounded by small villages. There are no gay couples here and no gay bars. None. So these mainly older people have no experience of gay couples never mind any dislike for them.
Let’s please try and capture the essence of the religious debate here.
1. We didn’t adhere to the wishes of the religious lobby on the issue of decriminalisation. Why should this be different? We don’t stone people for mixing crops, mixing fabrics, have oysters, frying up bacon, toiling on the Sabbath, nor do we condone selling our daughters into marriage or slavery. This selective application of dogma is hypocritical and a smoke screen for bigotry.
2. The Church does not have a monopoly on marriage, they do have a monopoly the sacrament of holy matrimony, which is not the same thing. If the State wished to put the issue to the people of forcing Churches to provide a religious Sacrament to LGBT couples, I would object. They are not, so I do not.
There is not religious argument against marriage equality, but should there be a move for matrimonial equality, I personally would vote against it.
My goodness, Morgan Freeman no offense but lots of people who might vote No are not all bigots. It just might be that they have concerns about the social implications that Marriage for All might have; based on their own religious or cultural beliefs?
While I’m in agreement with the principle, I accept that others have the right to disagree with it and not be considered as Bigots. Here in France, where I now live, Marriage for All is part of the law and rightfully so in my opinion but the next step for some gay rights activists is not just for adoption rights but also to have Gender Theory taught to primary school children.
If you’re not familiar with this theory then by all means look it up. Basically, it suggests that our sexuality is something of a societal constraint and therefore a matter of individual choice. That’s were I draw the line and exert my right to disagree and not be considered a bigot for doing so. Tolerance for All, including those who choose to disagree.
Lol. Which bigots would these be? My father like thousands of others left Ireland age 14 because of the malign hangover of British rule. I was brought up in London and listened and argued against a lot of anti Irish views during the British troubles. Yes some of the older Irish have views that don’t fit today but they are not bigots per se. And by post contributed 5 billion by sending money home when there was no Celtic tiger. Back to your PlayStation!
Good stuff Emily. It really is time for the State to end the farce of recognising religiously sanctified or sacramental marriage. The State marriage should be an open ended contract that confers certain advantages with respect to tax, children and so on. Then mother church or father mosque can do whatever the hell it likes.
No matter what how fancy the government word it, I’ll still be voting no.
It’s just another bit of FG/Lab grandstanding.
Homeless people first now gay people.
This government will soon abandon Gay people, as they have done everyone else.
“I live in a small village surrounded by small villages. There are no gay couples here and no gay bars. None. So these mainly older people have no experience of gay couples never mind any dislike for them.”
Then why would they be inclined to vote no? If they have no feelings either way, surely the best thing to do is to abstain from the vote altogether or to err on the side of caution and vote yes. If they vote no without knowing why they’re voting no, then it makes them ignorant, if not bigoted.
” they do have a monopoly the sacrament of holy matrimony…”
Actually, Seán, I don’t think they do. The sacrament of matrimony is not administered by the Church. It is administered by the spouses to be, one to the other. That is Church teaching, unless they have changed it fairly recently. In my recollection the ritual states something along the lines of: “of which you, yourselves, are the ministers…”. The priest’s role is that of witness.
So, if the above holds true, there is no need to get married in church. And the register that is signed marks the state’s interest in the event. It is the legal record of the union. The Church also uses it as a record. But essentially it is a civil document.
Some interesting and good comments. I choose the word ‘bigot’ very consciously.
A fairer society is a better society. If you oppose rights to a minority, especially when it doesn’t impact you in any way at all, then it is almost a hate crime in my eyes. Hate crimes are performed by bigots.
Brendan, I’m aware of the definition of bigot thanks. If you feel it’s right to label me a bigot because I think people who are anti SSM are bigots, grand so I’ll accept that. Which is unusual for a bigot because most anti SSM bigots won’t accept that they are bigots in much the same way as racists for example won’t expect that they are bigots. The Iona institute don’t think that they are bigots, just that they are right. I retain the right to call them and anyone who opposes SSM a bigot. But it’s ok for people to be offended by it because it is rightly so a dirty word, just like racist, homophobe and misogynist. If homophobic bigots would stop lying to themselves and be honest about who they are, this whole debate would be more honest. At least then bigots would would be able to say exactly what they think and not claim to be offended when they are called on their bigotry.
Morgan Freeman if your arguments are those of the wider yes campaign it may drive many yes voters like myself into the No camp…I will not be bullied and may choose to make a stand against bullying.
John, I couldn’t agree more with you on your comments. My father like so many Irish had to leave Ireland for England at a young age because of the dreadful poverty here. Yet, their work and support of their families at home seems less noble in some ways than those who emigrated to the US. My Dad returned to Ireland in the 1960′s where the attitude of ‘burn everything British, except their coal’ was still prevalent. Shame on us and it’s time to recognize the part that Irish emigrants to the UK played in supporting our economy.
@Ailbhe O’Nolan I’m not sure how you see what I’m saying as trolling. I have an opinion that if you vote NO in this referendum that you are unreasonably intolerant of a minority of people. Very little of this is blurred, to me. There is legal hole that same sex couples are falling into that needs to be filled. It has zero impact on straight people, who have had the same legal rights forever.
A bigot is a person intolerant to different. I am simply intolerant to wrong/sick. The way they shove it in is actually shit’s way out. Nature is against it as well. It gave them AIDS.
It’s not my business who somebody falls in love with never mind wants to spend the rest of their lives with, either it’s available to everybody or to nobody.
I don’t really mind if two half brother or indeed two half sister get hitched. I can’t imagine it happens that often and what business of mine if it does.
I think Pontius Pilatus’s point of view is valid here, provided the Movement never forgets that it is the inalienable right of every man – or woman – to rid himself – or herself -… where was I?
Of course it shouldnt be for half brother and sisters,thats wrong,they are blood related. A gay couple that want the right to marry are not doing anything wrong. You are crazy to compare the too relationships as the same thing
I’m not in favour of legalising marriage between blood relations but some advice for you Ash.
You’re going to have to back up the assertion that marriage between blood relations is “wrong” Saying something shouldn’t be allowed because it is just “wrong” is a non argument. Why do you think it is wrong?
Patrick, scientifically it is wrong because you share a 25% identical genetic code, which significantly increases the chance of abnormalities in any offspring. Morally, if you continue to allow step-inbreeding knowing that it doubles the chances of abnormality in every generation this will lead to a large population of at-risk people susceptible to genetic faults and unnecessary suffering. Humans might get away with it for a generation or two, but anything after that is morally reprehensible.
PS: None of the above “distraction” examples are currently prohibited by the constitution. The proposed changes will not change this. The change is simple – sex – not relationship, gender, species, or any other hypothetical links.
It doesn’t account for marriage between blood relations that has no chance of reproducing. e.g. two brothers, sisters whatever, or where fertility precautions are taken.
There’s a reason I oppose it but it’s not the genetic risks for offspring one.
I should point out that I support marriage equality for consenting, unrelated adults regardless of sexual orientation.
The wording of the proposal states “In accordance with law”. It is already unlawful for half brother or sisters to marry. So it’s a bit of a red herring to think that it is an issue.
No but most if not all of the arguments on both sides this marriage equality debate could be copied and pasted into a future debate on marriage equality for relations.
Why would i argue with u. I was saying how i felt and your looking to pick fights with people. Just cause gay people will be allowed to marry should never open the flood gates to a brother and sister marrying. You are mad to think your relationship with your sister patrick will ever be acceptable ha! Freedom of speech. If your all for this patrick then why are you asking people to expand.just enjoy life and stop looking for negativity
Not looking for negativity….just intelligence. If you don’t feel like being logical that’s fine too.
As an aside, your nasty insinuation about me is about as intelligent as someone questioning the sexuality of a supporter of the yes vote in this referendum. Kudos.
The policing of this is going to be interesting if passed.
“Your honour I’m divorcing me husband/wife because I realised that I was attracted to members of the same sex”
“It started when I listened to Village People at the twins 1st birthday”
“The barman at the local gay bar gave me the diagnosis”
Wait for the floodgates to open.
People can divorce their spouses without having to give a reason.
And if you think that people would wait for same sex marriage to come in before they start living the life the really want to live, then you’re even more idiotic in your thought patterns than I imagined.
No, not in so far as they can do so without special permissions the wording of the referendum says:
“… in accordance with law by two persons …”
Here is what the law says:
Both parties must:
Be over 18 years of age or have a Court Exemption Order if this is not the case.
So in the sense that 16 year olds (with court exemption) can marry, then yes. If you’re talking about are they going to be empowered legally, as a matter of course to marry, then no.
It doesn’t just say ‘persons’, it also says ‘in accordance with law’. All other provisions for marriage eligibility will be upheld, except gender. Can 16 year olds marry now? No? Then that won’t change.
The Yes campaign would want to adjust their message so. At the moment all they seem to be doing is assuring each other that everyone who disagrees with them is a homophobe
I reckon that that’s because there is no coherent argument against marriage equality which is not homophobia shrouded in religion, “won’t somebody please think of the children”, dismissive “sure what would you want that for” or similar.
Silver, if you can find me an argument that isn’t totally debunked or homophobia that’s better that “just cus I think so, but not because of homophobia”, I’ll totally listen to it.
Well if my husband proposed to me because of inheritance, and property with the addendum that I must produce children then it would be safe to say I would not have married him.
Pontius, I’m not sure that it is a valid point. For one, while the majority of couples who marry go on to have children, there have always been marriages of couples who are unable to procreate together, be it because of age or illness. Inability to procreate with your spouse is not unique to gay couples.
Yet, some people only raise the issue of procreation in marriage when it arises in the context of allowing same sex couples (the vast majority of whom are gay or lesbian) to marry. These people say nothing of all the other married couples who can’t procreate together. I think it is fair to say that someone who has an issue that can apply to multiple groups of people, but only raises it in the context of one particular group of people, really has a problem with that group of people, not with the issue they are raising.
All that said, I don’t usually use the word homophobic, etc, because it just gives the anti-marriage groups reason to cover up their lack of a robust argument. And that’s how we’ll win the referendum, by challenging the assertions made and showing them to be based on false or irrational grounds.
johnny is your backside not jealous of the crap that comes out of your mouth, or keys in this case. Such utter tosh all over these articles and not one substantive argument related to the topic at hand.
Thanks for the reply, Pontius. That was a damn good and unexpected answer. T’would seem not to be homophobic. On the other hand it does reduce the issue to human rights vs financial gain. I know which one I’d pick.
PS. Mind reading tech is actually in the pipelines.
I’ve just been called a bigot by someone saying that I’m name calling…
What I’ve always said, is that I welcome the opportunity to hear from someone who has a case with merit, the current arguments against marriage equality, have been debunked, discredited and dispelled.
Why would asking someone to explain their case change people’s minds about it?
@Pontius: I’m more responding to your points about homophobia, as opposed the merits of letting gay couples marry (but I’m totally stealing your final counter point :)).
If someone keeps raising issues about one group of people, while ignoring the same issues in other groups of people, then I think we can assume they’re coming from a point of prejudice or bias. In the case of marriage and procreation, most opponents don’t put anything near the effort you put in to justify letting the infertile or elderly marry. Not that I necessarily agree with them, but I can see a rational basis to them nonetheless.
Actually, it would take very little effort to restrict elderly couples from getting married. You need to provide a birth certificate, which shows clearly your age.
I am not for one minute suggesting that we do this!
Ha, Pontius, you are the self appointed devil’s advocate. You almost sound like Silent Majority, a fellow that used to comment on here……disappeared around the time you arrived……Bonjour, je suis Hercule Poirot!
If you disagree with same sex marriage then yes, I’m sorry to break it to you, you are a homophobe. Homophobia is not just beating up gay people in alleyways or shouting abuse. It’s the systematic and deliberate attempt to deny them the same rights you yourself enjoy from birth (without question) because, oh, I don’t know, you feel a bit icky about them.
To deny some one the opportunity that a heterosexual person has and for that denial to be based on no other reason that the person deprived happens to be attracted to and in love with a member of their own sex is simple prejudice and has not rational basis.
I happen to be heterosexual. I’m married over 30 years. We don’t have children. But we have a loving relationship the legal dimension of which is sanctioned by the Stare despite our childless status. We have no interest in children and did not wish to adopt. But we suffer from no legal disability.
I happen to have gay friends in long term and loving relationships. They are loyal, caring, devoted and loving. What is it about their love and the quality of their relationship which means that I and my wife can have the benefit of civil marriage but they are not permitted to have their loving, exclusive and devoted relationships merely recognised as an inferior civil partnership.
I’m straight but I would have been a terrible parent. In contrast I know gay people who are wonderful parents but are not allowed civil marriage. I could marry. They can’t. How can that be right?
“Disagreeing with gay marriage in every circumstance does not automatically equate to homophobia. If you can stand over that statement, prove it. There’s no way you can do it.”
It’s pretty simple: It doesn’t matter what your personal views about gay marriage are. No one is trying to take those away from you. You are free to feel however you like. And I would fight for everyone to be able to hold whatever opinion they like.
But to intentionally seek to deny someone the same rights you automatically enjoy from birth because of those feelings makes you bigoted, ignorant and yes, phobic.
I have yet to see a coherent argument from the No side as to why they don’t want gay people to get married. I see hysteria and scare-mongering and bigotry, but no rational, sane arguments.
The most moderate comment I hear is “It’s just wrong” and there is usually no follow up argument as to WHY it’s wrong except “it just is”. Again, you’re free to believe that. But you simply cannot say you’re not homophobic if you intentionally seek to deny others the same rights as you because of that belief.
Three months notice is required for civil weddings. As the change in the constitution would take effect immediately, presumably you could get married exactly three months later. It may be possible to get an exception particularly if you have a civil registration planned so I wouldn’t be surprised to see the first same-sex marriages happening within days of the referendum.
Everybody has the right to be miserable Gary Gary. That’s why I’ll vote yes. Why should gays be exempted from the other half whinging asking them “Where have you been?”
@ Pontius: I’d say you’re spot on. The God Squad have already lost the argument WRT equal rights for gay people, so their only chance is to change the argument to imply the referendum is about something its not.
You are absolutely right PP, marriage gives a couple rights in law to share all that is owned. This might also include children from an earlier relationship. So in the unfortunate circumstance of either the legitimate mother or father dying while the estranged children are still infant or juvenile it can mean that the surviving partner has shared rights with a stranger.
What issues do you have with it? How would it affect you? Surely if you don’t want gay marriage, not marrying a person of the same gender is the best solution. You’re not anti McDonald’s if you’re on a diet are you?
Flippant remarks like that JJ don’t help anyone. I am a parent and therefore have the interests of my children first and foremost. So (hyperthetically) if my ex-wife marries her girlfriend this means that my children have two mothers not of my making. If my ex-wife dies then it puts her new partner as having rights to cusdody my children without my consent.
How would this be different from any other stepparent, Chris? If you believe it would be a problem, you should oppose all people with children remarrying, not just those who eventually enter same-sex relationships. A bit baffled as to why you’d be fine with your children having a stepmother without your consent, but a stepfather would be fine?
“But like any other referendum this is a rushed lazily scripted Trojan Horse.”
No. Just no. You couldn’t be more wrong.
There is no hidden conspiracy by paedophile men to marry each other so they have access to children as you appear to believe. It’s a ludicrous statement to make and you know it’s blatantly untrue. Which is why you’re spouting it. To confuse people about what the referendum is really about.
Single people can ALREADY adopt children. Paedophile men can ALREADY abuse children. They do not need to create an elaborate lie to do so. They target vulnerable people and gain access to children via many different means.
@Nick: FYI, it’s absolutely no different. There are already laws are custody and guardianship for divorced couples, and none of those laws change when gay couples can marry.
Chris, I’m not being flippant. I may be simplistic but it’s a simple issue.
When it comes to your hypOthetical ex wife’s new wife. That is completely irrelevant to the marriage equality legislation. That’s more relevant to the parental law they’re pushing through at the moment.
Ok wording..what’s frustrating about this referendum is the false equivalence rule is going to put crackpots from the likes of youth defense on an equal footing with people who are sane, and they are going to try to drag this down with wonton lies.
Personally I’d have the Oireachtas pass it first, ask the President to send it right to the SC, then if they do what the High Court did (imagine wording to be there that does not exist) then we can have a vote, not just a vote on marriage but an Omnibus proposal like the 2nd amendment to remove all the dated religious nonsense, womans life in the home…the preamble…the “worship due to almighty God” all of it..
I’d like to see Iona argue that a company is also a “person” as a matter of law, therefore the amendment would give you the right to marry Google. Not because the argument is sound, but because it’s just mad enough that no one would know whether they were being serious.
The Iona “Institute” are so mad that on Claire Byrne’s discussion of the Referendum on RTÉ on Monday night, the debate actually at one point descended into an abstract conversation about being able to marry your pet “goat”…..
Anyone with a growing child or loved one should be voting YES to this referendum. It should not have to be even voted on, that’s the sad thing about it. Injustice against one is an injustice against all.
@bigwilly You won’t be voting on whether gay people can continue to love each other or not. Fortunately that’s one thing that can’t be stopped by legislation.
Your argument seems to indicated you do not fully understand. Under Irish law, which is a condition in the proposed amendment, consent is required for marriage. A minor cannot legally consent.
I am not aware that ‘love’ is covered anywhere in law. Love is an emotion, and the law tends to be about concrete and pragmatic things.
Wait there’s nothing allowing the ‘womb farms’ Paddy spoke about? No shops to buy and sell little kiddies? No provision to allow people to marry horses? Well what was all the fuss about?!
The entire article is about marriage equality and yet again the Journal’s headline refers only to same sex marriage – what is your agenda? A Same sex marriage referendum would require one group of people to ask permission of another to marry in a referendum. This is clearly not what is proposed. Marriage equality is something all society can vote on as a societal benchmark. The Journal keeps reducing it to the former and I don’t know to what purpose?
‘Marriage may be contracted in accordance with law by two persons without distinction as to their sex.’ – I don’t see the words same sex, gay, lesbian etc here, just a question that every voter can have a view about – what marriage will mean in the future – didn’t you read it before commenting?
“In accordance with law” is key here, blood relatives cannot get married because it is illegal according to law. Even if that restriction was removed do you think a wave of incestuous siblings will be running to registery offices all over Ireland. If you need a law to tell you something is bad then you have bigger issues.
Itis farcical that an Irish person can go to England and get married in a same sex civil ceremony, but about 250,000 English persons living in Ireland are not legally entitled to vote in an Irish referendum about same sex marriage.
Chris, why are you equating the right to vote in a referendum with the right to get married in a same sex civil ceremony. They are not related. Only Irish citizens should have a say on the provisions of our Constitution. I am more sanguine about allowing long terms residents from certain states to vote in our general elections (providing their own countries reciprocate) but the Constitution is for citizens alone. It sets the framework for the very nature of our state and that is a matter for citizens only. Of course the UK has no written Constitution so this does not arise for them.
I think that you might be wrong there John, the English constitution since the signing of the Magna Carta is written in Acts of Parliament which can be changed or updated as circumstances arise. Referendum are only necessary where no such Acts are written.
Thanks Chris. A Constitution is widely regarded as a written document which sets out the core principles underlying the State. The UK is described as having an “unwritten Constitution” set out in Acts of Parliament and custom and practice i.e. the common law. However, an unwritten Constitution is a rather meaningless term. You really have a written Constitution or you do not. Of course in the UK, the will of Parliament is supreme. Parliament can overwrite or overturn any aspect of their legislation and hence their “constitutional” norms. In Ireland the Constitution contains a core set of principles which makes the will of the People, and not parliament, supreme. Some Constitutions in other States have elements which can be amended by Parliament but core aspects of all written constitutions can only be amended by the People. Not so in the UK. Nobody really regards the UK as having a constitution because they don’t. What they have is set of laws and practices which are accepted as having the effect of establishing core principles but this is a very different thing to a state having a written Constitution which can only be amended by the People and which can be interpreted by the Courts. A written Constitution sets the bar far higher and it represents a statement by the People of their core beliefs. Hence only the People i.e. the citizen should be able to amend those core beliefs.
Indeed John, the bar was set higher in law through the writing of the Irish Constitution, but by whom as it certainly wasn’t the Irish people. We are playing out rules which were written in a different time and meant different things. It certainly wasn’t anticipated that one day people would want same sex marriage, so why bother tweaking the constitution when quite plainly the constitution neds an overhaul on many fronts.
I will be voting yes, they have a right to married, and as far as kids are concerned there are heterosexual people who can not look after their children. There are unmarried moms that are bringing up their children alone and that was looked down on by the church not so long ago when they were fiddling with children. So the church and the government can go f**k them self… and. I am married with children and as long as they were happy that’s all that matters
well said Linda. We need a million more like you. Sad and scary seeing parents of young children speak out against equality..theyre not even imagining that one of their own kids might someday turn out to be gay, and then have to explain why they didnt support marriage equality when they had the chance…
hopefully it wont come to that but the indifferent and the no campaigners arent taking the long view at all.
@Ken Iona get called upon because its simply them, a few bishops and a totally misguided ‘senator’ speaking out against it. So far at least. The No campaign are saying there are plenty of high profile people against the referendum but not one has spoken out so far. you might see them step out once the legislation has been published, but i’d say they’ll be few and they’ll be most likely TD’s with axes to grind against the government for intra party/powerplay reasons. You will hear one or two say ‘it’s not what the people of my constituency want’, which will mean they’re probably from rural areas with a higher population of older people. But even that’s a big if…might be nobody else steps out against it at all.
I haven’t seen anywhere that it will be replacing anything. Anyway, our constitution does not have any definition of marriage already, so I don’t see a reason for it to replace anything.
It will be a new section to Article 41, specifically Article 41.4. It’ll be after the section about divorce. And it doesn’t replace any current provision or text.
tens of thousands of irish women who were unable to conceive naturally and were ten able to have a baby through ivf are laughing at your ignorance right now E.. i am too
David, I honestly think we shouldn’t interact with him. We are offering him a platform to make wild unsupported assumptions that are damaging and are no reflection on reality.
Derrick Knowles, while I agree with you that The IONA side muddied the issues with the subject matter, calling for them to be gagged is really just eating right into their hands, they love declaring they’re being victimized. The problem wasn’t letting them give their views, the problem was it was an unbalanced argument, there weren’t enough people from the other side of the spectrum there to talk hard enough to give it back to them, there were way too many soft soapers talking.
I’m still confused E..if a couple want to have a child, be they gay or straight, what gives you the right to tell them they cant try IVF (your previous comment on that proved to all what a troll you are) or adoption..it’s not up to you or the likes of you to determine a couples suitability, its up to the relevant authority. It’s almost impossible to adopt a child in Ireland regardless of your sexuality, be you single or married, and not a lot of adoptions happen here anyways! think it was only 59 last year? but where youre going is you want those kids kept in orphanages and excluded from the love of a family and parents and a full life! you want to deny those kids parents and you are obviously are homophobic because you think a same sex couple arent as good or as equal! we would be better at parenting and i think thats whats really bugging you!
you love woefully misinterpreting facts and peoples posts so you deserve some of the same treatment in fairness.
My heart says yes and my head says yes , but Enda wants me to say no because I just don’t trust the guy !
He brought in a children’s referendum and then brought in four budgets in three years – a record, to hammer families at the expense of single people – with Enda it always seems to be a case of “be careful of what you wish for” ..
I will probably abstain against my better judgement for the first time since I got the vote …
as they say in Dragon’s Den – “I’m out !”
Nothing personal – just being apathetic like everyone else – nothing to do with me – No foresight needed !
Please do not punish gay people by abstaining on this issue as some kind of bizarre Enda protest vote!
Staying away and letting no voters win the day will have no effect whatsoever on Fine Gael/water charges/taxes etc, but it will keep gay people down as second class citizens in their own country. Do the right thing on this one:)
Dermot
This is about affording the right of marriage to gay people, something heterosexual people take for granted.
You may not like Enda or the government but please don’t use that as an excuse to vote no or abstain.
As I said my head and heart support it – I would just have a very careful look at the wording first . I am I suppose merely suggesting caution based on past performance. Perhaps we are far enough into a reign now to have trust issues sorted with Enda.
Perhaps someone else could bring better legislation – If I was waiting for this legislation I would be ripping that it has been used as a political football for four years – and I would nearly vote for it just to be fair and remove it as a ridiculous sideshow that sees politicians demean such a large portion of the population who are dead sound !
Dermot, if you’re in favour of it, then you should vote for it. It isn’t just the current Government that are supporting this, it’s all the main political parties.
So it’s equal marriage then. Not same-sex marriage. I hope the Yes side doesn’t screw everything up now with their pre-emptive rants about the “bigots” who have a different opinion to them. Typical liberal-lefty fault of not appreciating when the battle is won, in my opinion.
Wording is fine,it is what it is yes or no to a man marrying another man,or a woman marrying another woman. people will no doubt vone along with what they feel is right although for people born more than twenty years ago say 30/40 we were rared to completely frown upon such things, we were told it was evil “an act of the Devil”.So I’ll be going along with what I was taught although I have nothing whatsoever against people of a different way to me at all. But as a Christian my faith means more to me than man-made laws do.
As a Christian, do you eat shellfish?
Do you toil on the Sabbath?
Do you wear clothes of different materials?
Ever touched the unclean flesh of a dead pig?
I just wonder if you apply your Christian faith which means more to you than man made laws to yourself or just other people.
So family members should be allowed marry if they so choose? Marriage is just a legal contract that has a lot more to do with property & inheritance rights than love, and there does need to be some restrictions on it for that reason.
I strongly feel that the opportunity to let the Irish living abroad vote on this topic should be considered. Those of us returning in the future would like a say in how things are run back home.
I would rather see the legislation that the constitutional amendment before voting. For example, let’s just say the legislation only allowed gay couples to marry after 10 years together and no prospect of divorce or tax breaks (for example) then obviously we would all vote no! Because that doesn’t achieve anything! But if the legislation implementing the amendment was drafted and was clear that would be better!!! No chance of that happening I know but would be much better!!! I don’t understand why they can’t tackle the issue of co-habituating couples too when dealing with this issue. Both civil partners and co-habituating couples have essentially been covered by the 2010 Act. So why not address the amendments here. More rights need to be given to cohabitation couples, particularly in relation to the protection of unmarried fathers and the lack of rights that they have over children.
Also have to fully agree with the comments regarding the constitutional preference for marriage. It’s outdated, most young couples don’t get married because they are too busy saving for a home or whatever reason. Doesn’t mean that they are any less of a family. I remeber reading stories where a child had been adopted, just before the process was finalised (2years later) the couple wanted the baby back… And the court said yes ONLY because they had married !!! If they hadn’t married they wouldn’t have received their child back & furthermlre, the court heard an array of evidence that it wasn’t on the child’s best interests to be with her natural parents, both psychologically and the parents weren’t in a good place … Yet because they were married, they got the child. Insane.
What about childrens right?This act fails the child,there is lack of recognition on the rights of the child.Under this new act,only the biological parent can adopt, therefore the biological mother/father still has the right of a mother/father.This cannot be ignored,every child has the right to know the mother and father, every child has the right to know where they came from. You cannot pretend there is no mother/father and place the child with 2 same sex parents,this is morally corrupt.This same sex marriage law has never taken the same sex adoption into the equation enough,it has been rushed through with scant regard for the children involved.
A single person (Gay or Straight) can apply to become an adoptive parent today and have been able to do so for years.
A couple (Gay or Straight) can apply to become foster parents today and have been able to do so for years.
At the moment only married straight people can adopt.
This means that, although, an individual has been approved for adoption and have adopted children desperately in need of a loving home – if they have a significant other – that person has no legal responsibility for the child even if they are a de facto parent all of that childs life.
The Family Bill currently (way too late in my opinion) is trying to regularize life for these children so they are protected legally and their non-adoptive but de facto parent has a responsibility for them.
That’s the Family Bill – not the Marriage Equality Referendum. The two have nothing to do with each other.
So now that that is cleared up – what has the Marriage Equality Referendum got to do with Children? Correct – absolutely nothing!
So I can only assume that –
a) people are ill-informed (ok – but time to inform yourselves)
b) trying to conflate the two separate items for other reasons ok – (time to truly examine why you are trying to conflate the issues and not deal with the issues as disconnected things)
c) well – I can’t really think of anything else – so up to the ‘No to Equality’ side
Pontus, these issues which you raise are the fine detail issues and what if scenarios appropriate to specific legislation. The Referendum wording is merely enabling and removes the bar that gender/sex should not in itself be a bar to marriage.
Looking at the specific issues which you raise, the are highly case specific, unusual and would raise problems even in a heterosexual situation.
Some of the matters which you raise are individual judicial decisions outside of Ireland and would not be so decided in Ireland. For example, the Irish family law courts do not decide custody based on the father’s superior income. Quite understandably, there is a weight in favour of the maternal bond.
You have unintentionally raised a lot of red herrings and have immersed yourself in highly unusual situations largely based on the assumption of marital breakdown. The situation in which a heterosexually married man decides because to divorce his wife not because merely he is gay but because he is gay and he can marry another man sound highly exceptional to me.
You make the error of assuming that the few highly unusual and exceptional situations you cite undermine or throw doubt on the soundness of the general proposition. To the extent that any problems may arise these can be addressed by legislation and judicicial decision making.
I am not convinced that the failure of a heterosexual marriage or heterosexual situations should be a valid reason for a bar on same gender marriage.
Finally, the issues you are now raising are addressed in current law or in the forthcoming bill. They are issues for legislation and raise no issues of Constitutional relevance.
we do not want any gay referendum.
We want Irish Water abolished, and a referendum to allow a constitutional change, eliminating all parasitical water companies from our shores-forever.
Where to start :) I’ll take it simply for you. Single people (gay or straight) can adopt children today – assuming they have been approved by the adoption agencies. Unmarried couples (gay or straight) cannot adopt. The Family Law bill plans to regularise this. The upcoming referendum has nothing to do with the points you make. I’ll ignore the offensive language you used just for now!
Just because someone is voting no or on the no side at the moment, this does not make them homophobic or anti gay?? If that is the way the majority of the yes side is talking (which anyone whos says no or has any comment apposing this amendment to our constitution has seen tonight) i will DEFINITELY be voting NO.. I’ll see how ‘equal minded’ all the yes campaigners are now with all the red thumbs they’ll give me!
There’s a clatter of bigoted trolls here Jason, a lot of them purposely being and making ridiculous ignorant homophobic and outright bizarre comments in order to derail the topic. (whats to stop two paedophiles marrying to adopt kids and abuse them? (equating gay men with paedophiles) whats to stop people marrying a goat/toaster/horse etc etc ad nauseum..
A sinister fringe overbearing on ordinary people who do have concerns and have had some amazing people (Colm o Gorman, to name but one) post here and try address their concerns, and then again on come the idiots with idiotic questions, thus making it all heated and angry and confused again.
Not every person with questions and concerns is a bigot or a homophobe, not every poster here is against anyone with those concerns. None are in fact. But the same few people keep derailing and ruining the conversation, leading those who want to talk to lose the head a bit. That’s all.
Paul, you are correct. It is all about you! This was proposed so as to address your family law issues which you insist on ventilating repeatedly on this forum.
Ailbhe, exactly and according to his own admission.
It’s a pity that Paul sees the need to hijack a legitimate matter of major importance to the nature of the society we want just to air his highly personal and individual grievances. Enough people have drawn his attention to this aspect.
@ Liam, Your facebook page suggests your for the people of Ireland Liam, but your post says the total opposite. if you’re a true Irish republican and believe in the promises made, you’d want all the citizens of this republic to have the protection and enjoy the freedom promised in the proclamation and constitution of the republic. I wont call someone a knacker if they’re from the travelling community, you shouldn’t use queer or faggot if you’re talking to or about gay people.
That’s called respect, born of decency. And you only get respect, if you show it. I’m sure you know that though.
Princess, all that changes in terms of adoption is that a child adopted by a gay couple will have a legal relationship with both parents, and not just one as is the case at the moment.
Nothing else changes. They’re still subject to the same scrutiny and assessments as everyone else, and they don’t get any preference just because they’re a gay couple.
While I can appreciate that some people make have an objection to letting gay people adopt in the first place, it must be said that when a child is being adopted by a couple, allowing joint adoption is better for the child than sole adoption.
@Pontius: You’re right, it’s much of a muchness. Adoption is very rare in Ireland now, with only something like 50 adoptions per year for the last few years. And most of those are adoptions where the child already knows the adopting parent/s, e.g. step family, foster parents, extended family.
There may be an increase if the Supreme Court challenge to the Children’s Referendum fails, but most of those will be long term fosters children and will likely be adopted by their foster parents (which can include gay couples).
If this legislation is passed it will be interesting how it could be used by those seeking asylum in Ireland.
Especially by people who come from countries where Homosexuality is illegal or frowned upon.
David, don’t bother. He says paedophiles will use it as a loophole and marry eacj other to adopt as many victims as they wish. Stupidity, trolling, who knows
Florence, don’t expect anything. This guy is happy to make any and every claim against gay people and cry victim when he cannot back up his statements. Not worth the effort.
I would hope that Ireland would protect refugees from countries where their lives were at risk (regardless of this completely disconnected referendum). I’m assuming you’re not suggesting Ireland should abandon it’s humanitarian duties and responsibilities?
So the word marriage is locked in stone and cannot ever change? You know that language evolves right? Gay did not always mean two men or two women being attracted to each other.
“Unions of males or females cannot produce children which Is a right preserved for “Married couples”"
This old chestnut again.
If you really believe this, then that means that you believe that anyone who cannot have children or who do not want to have children should not have the right to get married.
Oops – apologies David Donovan. Can you provide the current definition (knowing that no words are set in stone hence why the OED make additions and edits every year)?
So if this referendum passes and same gender couples are rightly allowed to get married are they restricted only to civil ceremonies or will they some day be allowed to marry in a church or is the powers that be still looking at this as a mortal sin and not budging from their view that it is not holy or religious to love someone of the same gender?
It will certainly be civil, after that it depends on the religion. Religious orders are protected and will not be forced to marry those they fo not wish to. I think the unitarian church in Stephens Green does civil partnerships so they might perform marriages for same sex couples.
We are not looking for any religious ceremonies, only civil marriage. Religious institutions can do what they like in regards to marriage, as far as I’m concerned.
Don’t worry Derek – Same sex couples who avail of civil weddings will still be banned from all catholic church weddings, they will still be going to hell and spending life in eternity burning for their sins. But on the plus side – they can now get married to the person they love, and enjoy their company for the rest of their life, knowing they are not second hand citizens.
Hopefully CoI and other churches will open up and allow the traditional Irish wedding ceremonies (remember, wedding were around long before the catholic church) in an old building.
but as long as you are a catholic, it’s down to hell after that! ;-)
Some churches will have progressive views. Others will be more rigid. As it is at the moment, divorced people cannot remarry in a Catholic Church but can marry in a registry office, or at a more progressive church. The same will almost certainly be true of same-sex couples. And just as Catholics are free to believe that people who have divorced and remarried are not “really” married, so too will they be free to believe that same-sex spouses are not “really” married, as long as they don’t interfere with the rights of those couples.
True statement. Paedophiles are an example of how an abuser claims to love the child but is clearly is an act of evil abuse. Also incest,again sex abuser claims to love the victim. Many abusers claim to love the victims.
Hopefully everyone that has commented on this post will vote. I’m hoping that this topic will attract 1000′s of people that have never voted before to get off their ass to vote, esp the 18-30 year olds. If by the comments above you think it is the right direction our country is going, then don’t leave it to others to Vote Yes
Private child disability assessors were paid €1.3m more than projected
6 mins ago
Revenue
Woman (20s) arrested after €380,000 worth of cannabis seized at Dublin Airport
1 hr ago
mallow
Two women dead and two children injured following collision in Cork
Updated
15 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 161 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 110 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 143 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 113 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 39 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 35 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 134 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 61 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 74 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 37 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 46 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 27 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 92 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 99 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 72 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 53 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 88 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 69 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say