You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

McGuinness arriving to announce his candidacy on Saturday Niall Carson/PA Wire/Press Association Images

Martin McGuinness branded a 'consistent liar' by Gay Byrne

Byrne hit out at the Sinn Féin presidential candidate, saying he “lies all the time” using “weasel words”.

GAY BYRNE HAS weighed in on the presidential campaign, calling new entrant Martin McGuinness a “consistent liar”.

Byrne, who once looked likely to join the race for the Áras himself as a Fianna Fáil-backed candidate, hit out at McGuinness and Sinn Féin during a television interview.

He said McGuinness was a “former gunman” who would use “weasel words” during the campaign, and asked: “Do the Irish people want this guy to be head of the armed forces? Byrne said of McGuinness and Sinn Féin president Gerry Adams:

They lie. They lie all the time, they lie consistently, and they don’t mind lying, and they rehearse their lies, because they’ve been trained to lie.

He added that McGuinness was a “clever operator” who would be a “strong contender” for the presidency, but said he believed he would not answer tough questions from the Irish public. Instead, he suggested Sinn Féin “will wriggle and weasel words as usual, because they’re very very good at doing that.”

Speaking on TV3′s Midweek, Byrne also insisted that: “I don’t regret not going for the presidency at all.”

Meanwhile, would-be Independent candidates David Norris and Dana Rosemary Scallon are continuing their last-ditch bids to win nomination by next Thursday. Both appear to have failed to secure the support of the 20 Oireachtas members necessary, with only one having signed Dana’s nomination papers.

Last night Norris had won 14 signatures from Oireachtas members, including himself. The Irish Times reports this morning that Independent Senator Marie Louise O’Donnell has also backed her Seanad colleague, bringing his total to 15.

Council battle

Both Norris and Dana are now hoping to secure nomination by winning support from four county councils. Each would require four councils’ backing to appear on the ballot paper. Norris already has one in Fingal, and at least five councils will debate motions on one or both of the would-be candidates.

South Dublin County Council will meet on Monday to debate a motion to nominate Norris, as will Carlow. Roscommon councillors will debate motions in favour of both Áras hopefuls on Monday,with the county’s mayor Eugene Murphy telling RTÉ’s Morning Ireland today that the council would certainly give its support to one of the two candidates.

Kilkenny will also debate both candidates on Saturday and Monday. A proposal to nominate Norris will be put forward in Laois on Monday.

The Irish Daily Mail reports this morning that supporters of Dana have said they are confident of winning council support in Donegal, Longford and Roscommon.

Read more: Norris and Dana lobby councils to support their presidential bids>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

135 Comments
    Huey
    Mute Huey
    Favourite Huey
    Sep 22nd 2011, 8:31 AM

Should the state funded broadcaster and it’s cronies not be impartial? RTE are behaving very badly in this campaign

Mute James Gaffney
    Favourite James Gaffney
    Sep 22nd 2011, 8:40 AM

TV3 is privately-funded.

Mute Páid Ó Donnchú
    Favourite Páid Ó Donnchú
    Sep 22nd 2011, 9:35 AM

Privately funded but licensed by the State.

Mute Conor Foley
    Favourite Conor Foley
    Sep 22nd 2011, 9:42 AM

all broadcasters are state licensed, that does not mean they need to be apolitical, just reasonably balanced over the duration of a campaign, am sure they’ll give SF an opportunity to put their own spin (or lies as uncle Gaybo likes to call them) on it in due course

Mute Enda Kenny
    Favourite Enda Kenny
    Dec 30th 2015, 8:35 AM

@ Huey

the irish people provide the RTE salaries

the majority of irish people despise bullies like McGuinness and SF

McGuinness deserves to be pressed 100%

Mute Enda Lee
    Favourite Enda Lee
    Sep 22nd 2011, 8:33 AM

Gaybo’s having some form of tantrum. Jealousy doesn’t suit him.

Mute Mike Dowling
    Favourite Mike Dowling
    Sep 22nd 2011, 8:32 AM

So he lies all the time ? Would make a perfect Irish politican so !

Mute Patrick Kennedy
    Favourite Patrick Kennedy
    Sep 22nd 2011, 8:38 AM

Oh course he cannot be supreme commander of the Defence Forces, even if it is only a symbolic position. I understand how far the present Sinn Fein has come but the P-IRA did attempt to undermine our state and did threaten our Defence Forces.

Mute Dave O'Shea
    Favourite Dave O'Shea
    Sep 22nd 2011, 9:01 AM

Sick to the hind teeth of the amount of publicity that dinosaur gets… Just f*** off and retire and I mean , retire

Mute Tim Kearney
    Favourite Tim Kearney
    Sep 22nd 2011, 1:10 PM

I have to agree .. In Cork he is despised … In other words he is a langer …

Mute stephen oneill
    Favourite stephen oneill
    Sep 22nd 2011, 8:47 AM

Gaybo,pat kenny,joe duffy and the news team are very very sad individuals do they not realise they are pushing the people to Martin mc guinness as joe duffy found out on his live line vote…ha ha thanks for that gaybo

Mute Enda Kenny
    Favourite Enda Kenny
    Dec 30th 2015, 8:40 AM

@ stephen oneill

telling a family it was safe for their son to come home
    a couple of days later his body was found in a ditch

oh yeahhhhhh
    I’m gonna vote McGuinness
    give wee martin my number One so i will

Mute Oil Foster
    Favourite Oil Foster
    Sep 22nd 2011, 9:14 AM

When did gay Byrnes opinion become important?

Mute Gerard Kennelly
    Favourite Gerard Kennelly
    Nov 29th 2012, 10:24 PM

Gay Byrne has no blood on his hands

Mute Brian Ward
    Favourite Brian Ward
    Sep 22nd 2011, 8:50 AM

Gaybo spent the best part of 2 weeks massaging his ego while “considering” running for the Presidency full in the knowledge that he wasn’t going to do it. He even said from the outset he “would take some considerable persuasion” and ““We’ll let the cacophony grow…”. 2 weeks later after a nice boost to his ego he decided “reluctantly” against it.

Now that the limelight is gone from him he is suffering withdrawal symptoms and seeks to throw himself back into the thick of things by these comments. Gay would want to look at his own past performance before he comments on others.

Mute John Gavan
    Favourite John Gavan
    Sep 22nd 2011, 9:33 AM

The only reason all of RTE as so against Martin McGuiness is they know that Sinn Fein are pushing for their wages to be capped.So much for the impartial and objective state broadcaster,its a disgrace.

Mute Darren Keogh
    Favourite Darren Keogh
    Sep 22nd 2011, 8:47 AM

Take a look at McGuinness back in the day. Do we really want this person representing us? http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ch5u8YbOyIE&sns=em

Mute Brian Ward
    Favourite Brian Ward
    Sep 22nd 2011, 9:09 AM

A 20 second clip with no context and this is what you are basing your comment on. No sense of the question that he was asked or no follow up afterwards, Darren you should get a job with one of the tabloids. You can take anything from a conversation out of context and stick it on you tube. Try watching this interview and ask yourself if Paisley can change can McGuinness also?

Martin McGuinness Condemns Murder of PSNI Officer
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ob_oa9NuB88

Mute Darren Keogh
    Favourite Darren Keogh
    Sep 22nd 2011, 9:47 AM

McGuinness is a mindless terrorist. That 20 second clip clearly has him warning defectors that they will be murdered! I dont give a f**k about his latest fake sound bites. He condones murder, he’s scum!

Mute Brian Ward
    Favourite Brian Ward
    Sep 22nd 2011, 10:10 AM

Firstly, anyone in Ireland could tell you what the penalty for crossing the IRA in those days was. The dogs in the street knew that if you informed or cooperated with the British in anyway you would be lucky to be knee-capped never mind shot. I put this hypothetical situation to you, “Mr McGuinness what happens if you inform to the British authorities?” (you YouTube clip) “Do you condone it?” Well Darren we’ll never know will we?

Secondly, you clearly know nothing about terrorism by calling him “mindless”. This meta study http://tiny.cc/fix8c carries the line ” Terrorists are not insane or irrational actors” ” ( International expert meeting in Olso Olso: Norwegian Institute of International
    Affairs.). Read down through it and you will constantly find that terrorists are far from mindless. The Sunday Times last Sunday carried the line that MI5 considered McGuinness “officer material”, hardly the description of someone who is mind less unless ever recruit in Sandhurst is a drooling moron!

Lastly you obviously missed it the first time so I will repost the final line of my last post ” Martin McGuinness Condemns Murder of PSNI Officer” How does that fit with your ” He condones murder, he’s scum!”

Mute Adam Magari
    Favourite Adam Magari
    Sep 22nd 2011, 12:36 PM

Same kind of "penalty" reasoning is used by the Mafia, Camorra and crime gangs all over the world. Funny old world that finds so many people revolted by it.

Mute Enda Kenny
    Favourite Enda Kenny
    Dec 30th 2015, 8:42 AM

@ Adam Magari

don’t waste your time with Ward

a Ward who wants ti deflect criminality?????? well i never !!!!!!!!!!!

Mute Enda Kenny
    Favourite Enda Kenny
    Dec 30th 2015, 8:44 AM

to *

a ward who wants TO deflect criminality

Mute Eileen Gabbett
    Favourite Eileen Gabbett
    Sep 22nd 2011, 9:30 AM

I don’t care what Gay Byrne thinks . He like me is entitled to his own opinion. I remember the night he had Gerry Adams on the Late Late Show after ‘the ban’ was removed . Gay sat in the audience and treated his guest with total contempt. Bad form then and still annoys me. As some one said already if Ian Paisley can change and his change is so well accepted THEN can we not at least allow ourselves see Martin Mc Guinness receive a nomination ?

Mute Oscar Brophy
    Favourite Oscar Brophy
    Sep 22nd 2011, 8:28 AM

in all fairness, the things McGuiness are accused of doing are far worse than what Norris did and said. I’m still voting for him though.

Mute Irish Pride
    Favourite Irish Pride
    Sep 22nd 2011, 9:24 AM

I agree but how can one take anything that Gay Byrne says seriously after a career of pro-Anglo, self-serving arrogance? Is he not one of Ireland’s greatest liars himself?

Mute ColinQuinn
    Favourite ColinQuinn
    Sep 22nd 2011, 9:49 AM

Gay should have pointed out that not only is he a liar but that he is not even Irish. How can a man born in a foreign country be eligible to be president. He should pee off back to his 3 bed in the bogside.

Mute Paul Morrissey
    Favourite Paul Morrissey
    Sep 22nd 2011, 10:01 AM

He might not have been born in the Republic but either has De Valera, Childers or McAleese and they didn’t do a bad job.

Mute RG Cuan
    Favourite RG Cuan
    Sep 22nd 2011, 10:22 AM

ColinQuinn:

That’s a disgusting comment, not only for insulting almost half the population of the north and rejecting one of the basic tenets of the Irish nation and indeed the Good Friday Agreement, but also for your abhorrent classist remark.

It seems somethings in Fine Gael never change…

Mute Angels Spain
    Favourite Angels Spain
    Sep 22nd 2011, 10:58 AM

Who cares about Gay Byrne? What is he other than a self obsessed media and publicity addict?

Mute Sean C
    Favourite Sean C
    Sep 23rd 2011, 7:49 AM

Colin Quinn: in answer to your question, he’s as Irish as you are, as defined in Article 9.2.1 of Bunreact Na hEireann.

Mute Enda Kenny
    Favourite Enda Kenny
    Dec 30th 2015, 8:33 AM

@ Oscar Brophy

which are you voting for ?

Mute Paul Curley
    Favourite Paul Curley
    Sep 22nd 2011, 10:08 AM

We live in a country that is narrow minded and so scared of change that we should be ashamed. People like Gaybo have nothing to offer but bitterness. If he feels so strongly why does he not stand? Is his tv career more important than saving us in his eyes from Martin? I believe we are better than this.Martin has my vote

Mute Carmel Darcy
    Favourite Carmel Darcy
    Sep 22nd 2011, 9:04 AM

I reallly don’t understand why Gay Byrne and other RTE presenters are constantly knocked for having opinions?
    and when they don’t give an opinion they’re accused of being non commital or afraid of speaking their minds.
    You don’t have to like Gay or Pat or Ryan, but have a bit of respect for them. In the case of Martin McGuinness I think Gay was on the money with his comments.

Mute Oil Foster
    Favourite Oil Foster
    Sep 22nd 2011, 9:15 AM

Respect is a two way street.

Mute Eddie Barrett
    Favourite Eddie Barrett
    Sep 22nd 2011, 9:45 AM

Carmel – you obviously have not listened to Duffy or Kenny in the past four days, while on their respective Radio shows , when they rolled out every Republican hater in the Country and beyond, giving them huge air time, while agreeing with them in every sentence.

"Journalism" that would make anyone wince, in its lack of balance.

As for Gaybo – he was given the opportunity by his Fianna Fail friends to run for them and realized that the contagiousness of FF, would spread to him ! Hence his cute assed decision not to go for the Presidency himself.

He is not known as a ‘pocket orange peeler’ for nothing , you know !

Mute Carmel Darcy
    Favourite Carmel Darcy
    Sep 22nd 2011, 10:08 AM

Mr Foster, Yes respect is a two way street but what’s your point? Gay didn’t disrespect anyone on last nights Tv3
    show? He was askes for his opinions and he gave it straight from the hip.

Mute Carmel Darcy
    Favourite Carmel Darcy
    Sep 22nd 2011, 10:24 AM

Eddie Barret: I don’t get the opportunity to listen each day to all the radio programs you mention.
    However I did hear Joe Duffy’s show the other day. You won’t like this but they all have an obligation to remain impartial politically speaking. Liveline held a phone poll that sounds fair to me. I think the reality is that if you are Sinn Fein supporter then you won’t like anything negative being said about them. Personally I wouldn’t vote for Martin McGuinness and for the reasons that have already been stated on Frontline and other tv programs. There are far too many broken familes left with the remnants of a life because of the IRA and the argument goes on that both sides are to blame. My point was simply not to keep slating the presenters they’re far from perfect but aren’t we all?

Mute Gerard Kennelly
    Nov 29th 2012, 10:43 PM

they hate Gay Byrne because he has been around long enough to see Sinn Fein’s true colors
    he is too old and smart to fall for their sewage

people are angry
    so martin mcguinness is taking advantage od that putting himself out there as the angry candidate
    who wants to confront the bankers
    some young people might be thick enough to fall for that but Gay Byrne is not

Mute Enda Kenny
    Favourite Enda Kenny
    Dec 30th 2015, 8:49 AM

@ Carmel Darcy

people do incredibly stupid things when they are angry

McGuinness thinks he can exploit this

he is wrong

as angry as we are.. as fed up as we are.. we still know the meaning of words

words like murder and abuse

what the IRA did is a scar on this country

they were enabled 100% by SF

Mute Nigel Kenny
    Favourite Nigel Kenny
    Sep 22nd 2011, 10:09 AM

A vote for McGuinness justifies the death of 629 innocent civilians that he was responsible for as an IRA war council member. A vote for McGuinness is a vote for a legitimate war criminal under international law.It is pure insanity that as a nation we are allowing this animal to even have a chance to do anything apart from rot in a cell.There’s nothing wrong with being a Republican and supporting a Republican agenda if you wish, but don’t let that cloud your judgement.McGuinness is not a vote for what is good and right in this country. He was part of a system that set up sham courts in the North and doled out disgusting punishments (knee cappings and murders) without due process, not to mention systematic campaigns of intimidation in Catholic communities. He has blood on his hands and your vote will justify these sick and illegal actions.

Mute Stephen Downey
    Favourite Stephen Downey
    Sep 22nd 2011, 2:45 PM

So you are the spokesperson for the International Criminal Court are you? The irony of trying a man via media witch hunt hasn’t obviously dawned on you.
    What I want to know is why successive Justice Ministers and Garda Commissioners (and Gay Byrne) who obviously know all about Martin McGuinnesses past have yet to put a case forward where he can be tried in a court of law – just as our legal process facilitates, under our democracy? Why are the likes of M McDowell being let off the hook here?
    And while I’m at it, a few weeks ago a British government inquiry found that British soldiers were guilty of the murder and torture of an innocent man in Iraq, he had 93 wounds to his body. Some 40 yrs after murdering civilians in Derry, the British Army are still at it. Next time the Queen comes should we ask that the British Army stands down first?

Mute Nigel Kenny
    Favourite Nigel Kenny
    Sep 22nd 2011, 3:50 PM

“So you are the spokesperson for the International Criminal Court are you? ” No, and i don’t need to be to express an opinion, especially one based in fact. I can’t see anywhere where i claimed that either.

“The IRA’s “armed struggle” was what the fourth Geneva Convention defines as an “armed conflict not of an international character”. Under the convention, the parties to such a conflict are bound to respect certain standards in their treatment of “persons taking no active part in the hostilities”, including former or non-active members of opposing forces. Such people must not be subjected to violence, “in particular murder of all kinds, mutilation, cruel treatment and torture; taking of hostages; outrages upon personal dignity, in particular, humiliating and degrading treatment; the passing of sentences and the carrying out of executions without previous judgment pronounced by a regularly constituted court affording all the judicial guarantees which are recognised as indispensable by civilized peoples”.”

Hence my statement that he is a war criminal.If i was being accused of all sorts, i’d be fairly motivated to deny those accusations and prove how they are without merit. That doesn’t seem to be the case with this pup.

Why hasn’t a case been brought forward? Can’t answer that for you but:

“When he was tried before the Special Criminal Court in the Republic of Ireland, he refused to recognise the Court, and by extrapolation the legitimacy of the State and the Constitution, which grants authority to establish courts of law.” This kind of behavior seems to be common amongst war criminals when brought to court. We only have to look at recent trials in the ICC for similar nonsense.

Hardly worthy of the seat of President in light of that i think.

Your last statement is completely irrelevant to my comments. We’re talking about a man responsible for innocent deaths, Irish/Catholic deaths running for the office of President. The British Army, Michael McDowell or the Queen isn’t running for that office so i’m at a loss as to why you’re even bringing it up.

Mute Cal Mooney
    Favourite Cal Mooney
    Sep 22nd 2011, 4:45 PM

Nigel, By your reckoning then, Nelson Mandela should be tried as a war-criminal… right ?? Dont think your Geneva thing works, sorry :) And wha about Michael Collins and Eamon Develera ??? Would they be war-criminals or legitimate freedom fights in your view ? They murdered innocent civilans as well as British Military. They executed suspected British informants. Do not get me wrong, but, when there is a war involving a very powerful military against a militia, then the militia always resort to asymetric waf-fare (or for the likes of you, “Guerilla tactics”). It is not pretty. The guerillas fight to drain the resources of the larger enemy. Like the Afgans did against the soviets. It seems strange you would not be so familiar with all this, when you seem to know so much about the geneva convention….. I am really confused…

Mute RG Cuan
    Favourite RG Cuan
    Sep 22nd 2011, 10:13 AM

The constant hysterical comments about Martin McGuinness running for Uachtarán are a shocking reflection of how many people in the south have not embraced the spirit of the peace process and reconciliation.

The media, and even most unionists in the north have moved on, some people in this state should too.

Mute kate bh
    Favourite kate bh
    Sep 22nd 2011, 10:38 AM

the process of change is a great one and can’t be denied that mcguinness has gone through a seismic shift as has the republican movement. it still in my opinion does not justify him running for presidency. i don’t want a head of state that used to kill people !

Mute Eileen Gabbett
    Favourite Eileen Gabbett
    Sep 22nd 2011, 11:24 AM

RG Cuan . I agree with you. Change is a fluid process . We all want peace and reconciliation , it comes at a price … Acceptance . Accept that what happened in the past cannot be changed but the future is ours … It is not enough to say we want peace and reconciliation but we must actively participate in it . I am not a Martin Mc Guinness supporter but we must move on . I am not a David Norris supporter but we must move on . In fact I can honestly say I do not know who I will vote for in this election , but vote I will. I will not allow hysterics or prejudices interfere with my legal right to choose. I hope to make my choice on current facts and nominated canditates abilities.

Mute Anthony O'Donnell
    Favourite Anthony O'Donnell
    Sep 22nd 2011, 11:47 AM

@kate what about Dev he was the leader of a paramilitary group, our corrupt little state was founded on violence , first toward the British forces , then after to anyone who opposed the Government.
    Move on people Martin McGuinness has so why can’t you ,theres no future in the past.

Mute Adrian Martyn
    Favourite Adrian Martyn
    Sep 22nd 2011, 1:19 PM

That’s because the conflict was mainly a northern one. Naturally people both sides of the border wanted the killing to stop, but the fact of the matter is it began because of a total lack of civil rights for the catholics of Northern Ireland.

Mute Enda Kenny
    Favourite Enda Kenny
    Dec 30th 2015, 9:00 AM

@ RG Cuan

the peace process was this ..

if the IRA murderers in prison are released then the IRA murderers and rapists on the outside will stop hurting and murdering people

Mute Tim Kearney
    Favourite Tim Kearney
    Sep 22nd 2011, 9:33 AM

Mr Perfect Gay Byrne .. What a langer … The man who thinks he owns RTE .. Back on air again keeping someone out of a job .. Having his afternoon green tea with a paedo supporter ..

Mute Dave G. Gormley II
    Favourite Dave G. Gormley II
    Sep 22nd 2011, 9:10 AM

Ta ta to Gaybo,
    He’s so free with his vitriolic comments, it’s clear he wouldn’t have been suited to the post.
    My vote goes to the curly haired one.
    DGG2

Mute Adam Smith
    Favourite Adam Smith
    Sep 22nd 2011, 9:26 AM

I’m going to take your opinion extra seriously because you have a number for an initial.
    Well done sir, well done.
    Sincerely,
    Adam the First

Mute Sandra Murphy
    Favourite Sandra Murphy
    Sep 22nd 2011, 10:35 AM

The thing is, McGuinness has Irish blood on his hands. Peace process or no peace process I do not want a murderer representing my country to the rest of the world.

Mute Brian Ward
    Favourite Brian Ward
    Sep 22nd 2011, 11:06 AM

That’s funny because Eammon DeValera served 2 years as President and he certainly had a lot of Irish blood on his hands.

Mute Thomas Mc Carthy
    Favourite Thomas Mc Carthy
    Sep 22nd 2011, 11:41 AM

Their all murderers man. obama is sending drones to kill everyday, britains secret service and army is getting orders to kill by cameron and the French, the Turks killing Kurds. All the middle east stuff.

Mute Enda Kenny
    Favourite Enda Kenny
    Dec 30th 2015, 9:02 AM

@ Sandra Murphy

there was no peace process

it was just a con

a get out of jail card played by SF/IRA full stop

Mute Eddie Ó Mórdha
    Favourite Eddie Ó Mórdha
    Sep 22nd 2011, 12:59 PM

Gay has always been a unapologetic Royalist who fully supported his own fathers and his uncles position in support of State Sponsored terrorism e.g. Black & Tans, Auxiliaries, etc. in the War for Independence 1919-1921. So he is obviously a hypocrite who can not see beyond his own Royalist ideals. He is not therefore an independent observer.

Eddie

Mute sure2bsure
    Favourite sure2bsure
    Sep 23rd 2011, 6:43 AM

Royalist my arse. His uncle or whatever was just one if the 200000 people that served on the crown forces just as many IRA did before the Anglo Irish war. For example Tom Barry. Yes the Black and Tans were brutal as were the IRA and the later Free State army. Remember this is supposed to be an all inclusive republic, not just one for the Martin McGuinness’s or Eirigi. We drove out the protest Irish in favour of an oppressive anti English regime under DeValera and the catholic church. Where are we today, broke and our children raped. A country where ultra nationalist yobs promote racial hatred against non nationals but yet don the colours of their favourite English football club. Britain exports more to Ireland and we to she then all of her net exports to the rest of the world. We are joined at the hip. Get used to it because we may be linked to sterling again of the euro dies.

Mute Eddie Ó Mórdha
    Favourite Eddie Ó Mórdha
    Sep 24th 2011, 2:13 AM

One reply here Gay is proud to be a Royalist. Read his book. He looks up to Royalty. He looks down on people he perceives to be beneath him. He cant help it I suppose given his upbringing. My late mother brought me up to be a Republican based on principles of French Revolution which treated all people as equal. This is a political concept nothing to do with violence.

Eddie

Mute John Brady
    Favourite John Brady
    Sep 22nd 2011, 8:38 AM

David Norris won a signature from himself? I’d say he was on the phones all day to even get that one.

Mute Don Booker
    Favourite Don Booker
    Sep 22nd 2011, 10:38 AM

Even if Byrne is right, Martin McGuinness would be no different than most politicians. Some like Noel Dempsey and Dermot Ahern had the gall to lie on camera to the nation about the IMF coming here before chickening out of politics to run off and live handsomely off the State for the rest of their lives. I haven’t always agreed with McGuinness but he’s at least still in there politically and didn’t run away. Gaybo didn’t have the balls either to run so he should stay quiet. Looks like David Norris will get a nomination now. So it is going to be a fair election. The people will now decide. That’s where the power belongs, not within established media circles or with failed politicians or ol’ dinosaurs. The people.

Mute Gerard Kennelly
    Nov 29th 2012, 10:30 PM

” Martin McGuinness would be no different than most politicians ”
    blood.. on.. his… hands

full stop

Mute Cal Mooney
    Favourite Cal Mooney
    Sep 22nd 2011, 12:57 PM

I didnt hear Gay come out once and criticise FF when they were in power for all the corrupt disgusting tactics and self-serving policies that they implemented during their reign of terror …. 3000 people are estimated to have died unnecessarily every year from 2002 in our hospitals. Did Gaybo give a damn about them ? Did McDowell give a damn about them? All of a sudden, we have a canddate that is threatening to cut the pensions of both McDowell and gaybo, slash the current wages of the top earners in RTE and all of a sudden, these self-serving, corrupt people (Joe Duffy, Pat Kenny, Gay Byrne, all teh retired ministers) are now all out to attack the man that is threatening to cut their incomes….. Gay wouldnt comment on Labour Candidate, FG Candidate, even though their party (following on from FF) are slashing the wages and incomes of the very poorest of our society.
    These people in their ivory towers sould pick which battles to break their silence for. The people of Ireland (poorer and middle classes) are killing themselves with worry (what percentage increase have we seen in suicides in the last 3 years) and yet we dont hear them coming out so vociferously against them. This hypocrisy is really sickening and maddening. The people are watching, we are not stupid. We know they are only looking after their own interests by attacking McGuinness ….. I didnt hear the interviewer once on TV3 ask Gaybo about what salary he was on…. or ask Gaybo, if he would show solidarity with the rest of the Irish people by volonteering to give up a large chunk of it … No, because he would have insisted that the question was never aired. Really, i am sick. And we have all the comments in here from the pro-status quo people on here, attacking McGuinness for having been an IRA commander…. The war is over, get on with it. Mandela order an attack on an oil refinery in South Africa that caused the deaths of 19 civilians. Yes, it was wrong, but People, Stratedies change wth time. Commentators on here seem to forget that the south was born out of a terror campaign. The same terrorists ended up forming the Dail. Are any civilan deaths acceptable … NO. But when you have the opportunity to do something good with your life, and make a positive contribution, you graps it with both hnds. if McGuinness gets in, he will be an out-spoken voice for the Irish people against the hypocrisy being shown by our Political class. We need this 10 times more than someone who is just looking for anb easy retirement income.

Mute David Kelly
    Favourite David Kelly
    Sep 22nd 2011, 3:39 PM

Cal – I’m not sure if you understand the role of President…

Mute michael morley
    Favourite michael morley
    Sep 22nd 2011, 10:10 AM

Oscar. That’s the most stupid comment I’ve Ever seen here. Norris rightly or wrongly backed his friend. Mcguinness is part of Sinn Fein/ IRA

Mute Brian Ward
    Favourite Brian Ward
    Sep 22nd 2011, 10:34 AM

Colin or should I say Ian Paisley what are your views on the sodomy that went on in the Catholic Church?

Mute ColinQuinn
    Favourite ColinQuinn
    Sep 22nd 2011, 10:41 AM

Get a life Brian. Do you believe everything that you read in the papers?? They are pushing a Socialist/Homo agenda in Irish politics, they oppose the church.

Mute Brian Ward
    Favourite Brian Ward
    Sep 22nd 2011, 11:03 AM

So you are denying that anything like that ever happened in the Church Colin? By the way, what ever happened to Kyle Frost and his pink bike? :-)

Mute Declan Carroll
    Favourite Declan Carroll
    Sep 22nd 2011, 11:25 AM

Not to mention the Kincora Boys Home scandal years ago where some leading members of the Unionist community were buggering little boys. At the end of the day, the ballot will decide. Not the bullet. I was considering spoiling my vote before M McG came on board as I considered all the candidates pointless. I’ll be voting now to keep M McG out.

Mute Enda Kenny
    Favourite Enda Kenny
    Dec 30th 2015, 8:52 AM

@ michael morley

Norris backed a pedo

now if Norris was a member of the vatican and did that..

Mute Oisín Ó Dálaigh
    Favourite Oisín Ó Dálaigh
    Sep 22nd 2011, 9:07 AM

@Michael – I notice you left out Gaybo’s opinions about Norris being irrevocably damaged by the scandals attched to his campaign, and his personal belief that Norris was wrong to use “official notepaper”.

Mute Vicki Magee
    Favourite Vicki Magee
    Sep 22nd 2011, 1:46 PM

Gay Byrne strikes again!!

War is always bloody, that was war. Catholic Irish people in Northern Ireland needed to be defended, they had to fight for their civil rights. The British goverments propaganda effort against this fight was huge. That propaganda effort still lingers in the concious of many Irish people in the republic today, some of whom have the lovely fluffy opinion of : wrong and right, good and bad, black and white. IRA =BAD, so Martin Mcguiness = bad, its brainwashing. Typical of Gay to spout the same ole lines from back in the day, when the British goverment are recognising their wrongs.

Todays news : government is to pay compensation to the families of those killed and wounded on Bloody Sunday on 1972.

Gay Byrne always stood up for the elite in society, he is certainly not one that could represent his people, let alone fight for their rights!!!

Mute Cormac Flanagan
    Favourite Cormac Flanagan
    Sep 22nd 2011, 2:46 PM

Yip. The British government have beginning to admit the many wrongs they committed. When are the provo’s going to start admitting there mistakes and apologize for them.

Mute Fiachra KME
    Favourite Fiachra KME
    Sep 23rd 2011, 5:48 PM

When there is an international Truth commision- do you not listen to what they are saying?

Mute Brian Hurley
    Favourite Brian Hurley
    Sep 22nd 2011, 1:51 PM

My god, how dare we even contemplate electing a man who had the courage and conviction to stand up for what he believed in. He loved his area and his country and it’s people so much he was willing to take up arms and and fight the oppression and injustice if the British empire willing to give his life if necessary. These are certainly not characteristics I want in my president.
    And by the way his hands are not really covered in Irish blood. It’s mainly British blood and we all know that’s more watery and washes away much easier

Mute Cormac Flanagan
    Sep 22nd 2011, 2:44 PM

Obv the IRA didn love their people too much. They killed many northern Catholics. Also killed southern Catholics.

Mute Gerard Kennelly
    Nov 29th 2012, 10:49 PM

a man who had the courage and conviction

are you fu***** joking ? ?

he is so brainwashed he can’t even admit that murder IS murder and you think he is brave !!!!

Mute BcuTCM0P
    Favourite BcuTCM0P
    Sep 22nd 2011, 11:57 AM

Marty for president!

Mute Oil Foster
    Favourite Oil Foster
    Sep 22nd 2011, 10:52 AM

Carmel "they lie, they lie all the time"
    Respect? No

Sour grapes.

If he put as much effort into his job at the RSA and less effort into sniping he would be a better person.

Mute Gerry campbell
    Favourite Gerry campbell
    Sep 22nd 2011, 7:04 PM

I think when it comes to snipeing mcguinness would have much more experience than gaybo

Mute Gearóid Ó Mórdha
    Favourite Gearóid Ó Mórdha
    Sep 22nd 2011, 4:28 PM

Gay Byrne is a hypocrite and like many others in the media and politics he was indifferent to the violence which was instigated by the British Government through the supply of weapons to Loyalist Paramilitaries and the actions of the British Army.
    He eulogised Nelson Mandela while ignoring the actions of the ANC when it was the politically correct thing to do.
    Martin McGuinness supported his own community during the troubles when successive Irish Governments washed their hands of the situation and failed consistently to encourage or support any efforts for a negotiated peace settlement in Ireland.
    A lot of people have blood on their hands including the Head of the British armed forces, yet she was welcomed with open arms by the same Gay Byrne who seems to have such a problem with violence.
    Martin McGuinness was involved in a bloody conflict as were many others but he is also one of the key people who led us to where we are today. I believe the opposition to him by many in the media including Gay Byrne may well be fuelled by a fear that their high wages and their elite position in society will be threatened by the success of those who have little interest in celebrity or money.

Mute Kevin Duffy
    Favourite Kevin Duffy
    Oct 2nd 2011, 5:15 PM

I don’t really know that much about Irish politics but if there’s one thing I learned is the catholic community got a raw deal and probably still do so it’s up to them who they want as there president it may not be a popular choice but if it gets them equal rights then good luck to them god bless Ireland

Mute Declan Carr
    Favourite Declan Carr
    Sep 22nd 2011, 10:26 AM

Section 42 of the Broadcasting Act 2009 provides in particular:

42.— (1) The Authority shall prepare, and from time to time as occasion requires, revise, in accordance with this section, a code or codes governing standards and practice (“ broadcasting code ”) to be observed by broadcasters.

(2) Broadcasting codes shall provide— (a) that all news broadcast by a broadcaster is reported and presented in an objective and impartial manner and without any expression of the broadcaster’s own views,

(b) that the broadcast treatment of current affairs, including matters which are either of public controversy or the subject of current public debate, is fair to all interests concerned and that the broadcast matter is presented in an objective and impartial manner and without any expression of the broadcaster’s own views.

So I think if you see that they are braking the broadcasting code, then we should all complain.
    complaintsreview@rte.ie
    or The Office of the Ombudsman is open between 9.15 and 5.30 Monday to Thursday and 9.15 to 5.15 on Friday.

18 Lr. Leeson Street, Dublin 2.
    Tel: +353-1-639 5600
    Lo-call: 1890 223030
    Fax: +353-1-639 5674
    Email: ombudsman@ombudsman.gov.ie

Get typing and put a stop the theses bigots.

Mute Darren Keogh
    Favourite Darren Keogh
    Sep 22nd 2011, 4:07 PM

What are you talking about? He can say what he wants. He is a person with an opinion not a "broadcaster" the term broadcaster is something used to refer to a broadcast organisation. But traditionally people were sometimes referred to as broadcasters. Technically they are media personalities and do not have to walk around censoring what they say as they are not held to a broadcasting licence. They have the same human rights as you and I as regards to free speech.
    Now when they enter their own studio and are the presenter representing the broadcast organisation they work for on their own show then they have to adhere to the broadcasting legislation. If they fail to, the broadcasting organisation they work for are liable.
    Seeing as gaybo was a guest on tv3 he is entitled to an impartial view on whatever he wants!

Mute Gerard Wyer
    Favourite Gerard Wyer
    Sep 22nd 2011, 5:18 PM

It’s lovely that politicians in the Republic have finally started to take an active interest in Northern Ireland, but I have to say that it would have been more helpful if they had paid attention when we were getting the crap kicked out of us forty years ago.

Sep 22nd 2011, 5:50 PM

if ever there was anyone who had irelands interest at heart its mcguinness.

Mute Unitedpeople Ireland
    Favourite Unitedpeople Ireland
    Sep 22nd 2011, 4:09 PM

Gay Byrne for a second wouldn’t be spouting off by chance also because Martin in todays Star paper, has suggested curtailing the far massive salaries of some RTE TV presenters by any chance would he?

Pick up a copy of The Star – and you might see another reason for Gay lashing out at Martin McGuinness – vested interests Gay?

Sep 22nd 2011, 4:31 PM
    Sep 22nd 2011, 4:32 PM

The 100K might be unworkable – but anyone speaking out about their massive wages – O’ noooo… We can’t be having that can we – so lets speak up suddenly before that suggestion falls on others ears to some effect! Let out of the blue suddenly speak-up and have a go at Martin!

Mute Danny McLaughlin
    Favourite Danny McLaughlin
    Sep 22nd 2011, 6:56 PM

How would Martin McGuinnes Stop high Salaries in RTE?
    Why would any RTE care whether SF want to stop their salaries, they will not have any power to do it after this election, whatever the outcome, or even after a general election.
    So why should Gat Byrne be afraid of losing his salary?
    Some people on here really don’t understand the role of our President.

Sep 22nd 2011, 9:19 PM

Any person elected to a position of power then occasionally comes in contact with fellow people (of state bodies and/or independent bodies) whom make such regulations as regards wages and/or also has influence to theirs who do similar. Ability to share their thoughts on such matters has often been influential to then later policies being created and adopted – and the words of a president of Ireland, will not binding at times – would just note be easily dismissed as sometimes they reflect the views of the people he’s been elected to represent – and isn’t that part of his/her role?
    …And thats just to begin with.

Why would RTE care? Are you serious in that you don’t know? SF might in the future given their number in the Dail, make up a coalition if we like it or not. As SF via Martin have indicated as to a line of thinking, then they would possibly be eventually setting out future finance areas in which they might ask to be addressed/regulated.
    So Mr Gay Byrne would rightly feel his salary would get the chop – and right when he admitted it himself, he needs it badly due to the crash in the economy and a lot of his investments were lost in property and banks.

Some people on here really don’t understand anything how somethings sometimes happen it seems!

Mute Danny McLaughlin
    Sep 23rd 2011, 7:22 AM

Wow, FG and SF in coalition?
    I wonder what FG members would think of that?
    Maybe there would have been a chance with FF at one stage, but coalition with FG. Wow
    Fair play if you honestly think its possible.

Mute Adam Magari
    Favourite Adam Magari
    Sep 22nd 2011, 1:53 PM

Gay Byrne’s comments about nuclear physics, economic theories and French literature may quite possibly be worry of dismissal on the grounds that he has little acquaintance with the subject matter. However, Gay spent a life time interviewing people from all walks of life, mostly effectively. Wouldn’t dismiss his observations on McGuinness out of hand.

Mute Vicki Magee
    Favourite Vicki Magee
    Sep 22nd 2011, 3:11 PM

Cormac,

Hear what you wanna hear, like I said war is bloody, the Irish Catholics had to fight for equality, as there was no legal or official forces to help them or acknowledge their predicament. Why should he say he was wrong, the British Goverment on the other hand know they were wrong, they did not have to behave as they did.

Mute Cormac Flanagan
    Sep 22nd 2011, 4:47 PM

Ya if the IRA stuck to what they themselves called legitimate targets ie British shoulders. They didn. They bombed area with the intention of killing civilians ie enniskillian and omagh.

Even not political murders like Robert McCarthy (think that was his name) who was beaten to death by known republicans.

Mute Thomas Mc Carthy
    Favourite Thomas Mc Carthy
    Sep 22nd 2011, 11:37 AM

He’s got yea all talking. Brilliant decision by Sin Fein to run Martin, even if he’s not elected the publicity the party is getting is priceless. They can also use this campaign as a sounding post of the mood of the Irish people towards them. Getting Jerry into the Dail and now Martin’s campaign just brings more credibility to there politics. Every time the dinosaurs moan about him it just fuels the publicity. Ha I love it, even though I admire the political intrigue it’s creating and I respect the intellect behind it, I won’t be voting for him because of he is suppose to be a socialist and is part of a right wing government implementing savage cuts on the people he represents in the north, and I don’t trust sin fein

Mute Paul Houston
    Favourite Paul Houston
    Sep 22nd 2011, 1:27 PM

Wrong ! Sinn fein are not implementing savage cuts. The block grant by the British was reduced. Sinn fein have and indeed are still lobbying against this.

Mute Oisín Ó Dálaigh
    Favourite Oisín Ó Dálaigh
    Sep 22nd 2011, 9:21 AM

When the RSA, TV3, and subsequently The Journal all told us they did I guess.

Mute Paul Curley
    Favourite Paul Curley
    Sep 22nd 2011, 11:51 AM

I think Colin Quinn needs a cuddle and a wee nap

Mute Gerry Mcdermott
    Favourite Gerry Mcdermott
    Sep 22nd 2011, 7:46 PM

His rasist,class comments are a disgrace,but then he is a Blueshirt.

Mute Niall O'Sullivan
    Favourite Niall O'Sullivan
    Sep 22nd 2011, 2:01 PM

Jaysus, do any Shinners have jobs?

Mute Brian Hurley
    Favourite Brian Hurley
    Sep 22nd 2011, 2:13 PM

Yes, yes we do. And like other people affiliated with political movements we find time to read online news stories and also make smart and witty and sometimes derogatory comments on these sites

Mute Niall Sheridan
    Favourite Niall Sheridan
    Sep 22nd 2011, 2:06 PM

Denis Naughten. Having asked nicely twice – I am asking a final third time from our independent TD. Denis, will you please nominate David Norris for President. From all the polls over these past 8 weeks, and since Martin McGuinness has been nominated, David Norris is the only candidate who stands a chance of beating a man who shared responsibility for killing Gardai, Irish Soldiers, extorting Irish citizens not to mention Northern Ireland and British citizens. He stood against the Irish Constitution and he is now to be it’s guardian? Now to be Commander of our Defence Forces? I am asking you to nominate the only man who can actually beat him. Will you have the courage to do it or will you bear a share of the responsibility for having Martin McGuinness elected? I look forward to – finally – to your reply.

Mute Denis naughten
    Favourite Denis naughten
    Sep 23rd 2011, 12:03 AM

No I will not be supporting David Norris for the reason that I have stated to the local and national media on a number of occasions and that is because earlier this year I encouraged an individual, who has since secured a nomination, to contest the Presidential election. 
    As you will know I am not a politician who says one thing and does another. I stand by my word and having been involved in encouraging that person to seek a nomination, I believe it would be disingenuous of me to now nominate another candidate. 
    Regards
    Denis

Mute Niall Sheridan
    Favourite Niall Sheridan
    Sep 23rd 2011, 12:39 AM

Denis, Thanks for the reply. As you know, I know well that you are that rarity in politics, a man of integrity, but I can’t help feeling that your position will nonetheless allow Martin McGuinness in.

Mute Paul Houston
    Favourite Paul Houston
    Sep 22nd 2011, 6:45 PM

Cormac not the minimum wage. The average industrial wage. There is a difference.

Adams lives in a modest house in Belfast. Bought many years ago like most when prices where considerably lower.

It’s highly likely the party is paying for rent in Louth.

A lot of people bought modest holiday homes in Donegal. Adams doesn’t smoke (a pipe in bygone times) or drink hence more disposable income that most. Oh and he is a published author with an income stream there, hope that clears things up a bit.

Mute Danny McLaughlin
    Sep 22nd 2011, 7:06 PM

Paul,
    you might know this, I’ve asked a few different people, including SF Sligo, I never seem to get an answer.
    How do SF TD’s/Sen’S get round the SIPO legislation that only allows 6,500euro to be donated to a political party per year by an individual?
    It’s been estimated that between the 17 TD’s and Sen’s there is 450,000euro being donated anually to the party, when only 110,500euro is allowed.

Mute Donal Lynch
    Favourite Donal Lynch
    Sep 22nd 2011, 4:46 PM

He is a liar , everyone knows that except sinn fein ira. As for Martin taking a pay cut big deal the other runners didn’t get a cut from the northern bank raid

Mute Cormac Flanagan
    Sep 22nd 2011, 5:15 PM

Well sinn fein minimum wage must be good. Gerry is on the minimum wage yet has a house in Belfast, Louth and a holiday home in donegal. Not bad.

Mute Tom Mansfield
    Favourite Tom Mansfield
    Sep 22nd 2011, 2:07 PM

Maybe Gay Byrne is being intelligent, and basing his comments on thongs Mc Guinness said, like this? Judge Jury and executioner?
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ch5u8YbOyIE&sns=em

Mute David Linehan
    Favourite David Linehan
    Sep 22nd 2011, 9:13 PM

OMG ,,,,,,,did lord Burn really suggest that we should not vote for Martin ? thats good enough for me, Martin has my vote

Mute Sandra Murphy
    Favourite Sandra Murphy
    Sep 22nd 2011, 2:09 PM

A comparison to dev is really not appropriate here…

Mute Brian Hurley
    Favourite Brian Hurley
    Sep 22nd 2011, 2:18 PM

Why?

Mute Michael Campbell
    Favourite Michael Campbell
    Sep 22nd 2011, 9:17 PM

I must say I never liked Gay Byrne and his sugary falseness but he is entitled to his say

Mute Frank2521
    Favourite Frank2521
    Sep 22nd 2011, 11:57 AM

Believe it or not Gay has a lot in common with Martin Mc.G —- they both are trying to screw as much out of the system as they can for their own benefit.

Mute Gerard Kennelly
    Nov 29th 2012, 10:38 PM

people are not afraid of Gay Byrne

when he walks down the street
    nobody is asking him ” who killed their father who killed their brother…”

Mute Sean Norris
    Favourite Sean Norris
    Sep 22nd 2011, 2:10 PM

Gay’s attitude to SF is well known so there is no surprise there. Some of the candidates talk about debating the issues of the day but to my mind the election campaign boils down to this. If you want someone who will stay up in the Park and stay out of sight then Vote Mitchell or Higgins. If you want someone to embarrass the govt by being the titular head of the “Official Army of the State” or god forbid refusing to sign a “money act” or significant other legislation then vote McGuiness. If you want someone who wants to to be a continuation of the what has gone on for the last 21 years vote Davis, Higgins or Norris (no relation) if he gets on. I don’t know what Sean Gallagher stands for but I suspect something like the latter camp. Is it any wonder it has failed to set the public imagination alight.

Mute Gerard Wyer
    Favourite Gerard Wyer
    Sep 23rd 2011, 12:06 PM

Someone’s left the gate open at Jurassic Park again…Gay Byrne has escaped.

Mute Gerard Kennelly
    Nov 29th 2012, 10:52 PM

escaped
    oh you mean like lobbying to have killers released
    oh i forgot they’re not killers

they are ”soldiers”

ha ha ha

Mute Paul Houston
    Favourite Paul Houston
    Sep 22nd 2011, 7:19 PM

Danny , I am open to correction on this , but the view held is that
    Salaried positions (Inc elected representatives) are paid from the institution directly to the party. This forms institutional and exchequer income. The party then distributes the average industrial wage to the elected representative as a salary expense.
    This is not considered a donation from the elected representative to a party.

Mute Danny McLaughlin
    Sep 22nd 2011, 7:52 PM

From what I have read, that’s not the case. A TD and Sen are civil servent’s. their salary is paid to directly to them. They are in the employ of the state. TD’s/Sen’s aren’t freelance workers, getting paid through and agency of sorts, they are PAYE.
    Even if the money is paid into a SF account, the individual would have to have their TAX, levies etc taken out at source, and as far as the revenue is concerned, it doesn’t matter what account its paid into, it’s still that individuals wages.
    What that employee does with their money after doesn’t really matter, but if they give it to a party, it’s still an individual donating over the 6,500euro per year.

At least you made an attempt to answer, fair play.

so that begs the question again.
    How does this work?

Mute Michael Campbell
    Favourite Michael Campbell
    Sep 22nd 2011, 9:20 PM

I wonder what he thinks about his x accountant I think his name was mr murphy.Just shows his judgment is not great anyway

Mute Donal Barrett
    Favourite Donal Barrett
    Sep 23rd 2011, 8:35 AM

All these comments and nobody talking about the issue.

However away the fairies Gaybo is he hit this one one the head. And no its not like other politicians merely lying and the other misplaced childish “other politicians lie too he will fit right in”.

His lies are based on arms , killings , bombings, running drug rackets, beatings, intimidation, illegal army and criminality. And here he is being consider a candidate for president…crazy just crazy

But yes lets ignore all of the above if its similar to the other politicians lying when asked about tax cuts…………

Mute Felicity Scott
    Favourite Felicity Scott
    Sep 22nd 2011, 8:10 PM

Whatever about Gaybo and the lads at RTE, it’s definitely going to be the most interesting election we’ve had in a very long time. Martin McGuinness is a very astute politician, whatever one thinks of him as a man; Norris is not particularly astute as a politician, but a very intelligent man; Gay Mitchell is a colourless nonentity; Higgins is too avuncular to be taken seriously; Dana is a joke….. If Norris gets on the ballot I would be surprised, and I will be interested to see with whom Martin is duking it out for the post – as I expect he will be.

Mute Niall Carty
    Favourite Niall Carty
    Sep 22nd 2011, 10:29 PM

It’s comical what comes out of the mouth of some rejects.. What politician speaks the truth??? Look at where the FF got us!! They lied and lied to the bitter end! And still lying!! Its all they know.FG are talking crap.labour??? Greens??? Maybe Listening to a fresh set of lies will do us good!

Mute Paul Houston
    Favourite Paul Houston
    Sep 22nd 2011, 8:18 PM

Danny. I found this http://www.sipo.gov.ie/en/Reports/AnnualDisclosures/DisclosurebyPoliticalParties/DonationsDisclosedbyPoliticalPartiesfor2007/Name,8535,en.htm

Not sure when the legislation was introduced though.

Maybe you are right and they are paid directly and the funds are donated (to account in the north.) Then dispersed. Certainly in Sinn Fein’s accounts in 2007(26 counties) wages accounted for 600k.

To be clear I’m not nor never have been a Sinn Fein member.

Mute Niall Shanahan
    Favourite Niall Shanahan
    Sep 22nd 2011, 5:28 PM

Wow. Long thread.

Mute Samuel Durden Rosseti
    Favourite Samuel Durden Rosseti
    Sep 23rd 2011, 1:54 AM

I’M NOT IRISH but I love this country and I also know the history about this country, I think that most of the people that commented in this blog forgot the meaning of your flag ” the green represents the Gaelic tradition of Ireland and the orange represents the followers of William of Orange in Ireland, with white representing peace between them. So why just given a nickname to GAY BYRNE and Don’t use the nickname Martin killer McGuinnessa true patriot is the one that fight for peace, the real IRA are the people that everyday teach irish in the school, everynight watch our backs while we sleep the ones that everyday go to work and then come back home. Not the ones that blow up cars and kill their own people in the name of freedom as I said I’m not Irish but I believe in the meaning of this Bratach na hÉireann

Mute Sean C
    Favourite Sean C
    Sep 23rd 2011, 7:54 AM

Who is Gay Byrne ?

Mute Gerard Kennelly
    Nov 29th 2012, 10:34 PM

i am proud to live in a country
    where we have a president we can admire

and not some piece of dirt with blood on his hands

Mute Ttable Whey
    Favourite Ttable Whey
    Sep 25th 2011, 4:48 PM

Who knows whether the IRA/Sinn Féin would have achieved what they have achieved today if they had done it peacefully?
    Who knows?
    What we do know is that they murdered a lot of innocent people, and hence achieved a lot.
    David Norris achieved his civil rights peacefully.
    Yes, he made an error with that letter pleading for clemency for his former partner.
    But he has done a hundred times more good than bad. And the good he did was incredibly brave, standing up and being counted (in the ultra-catholic and homophobic 1970s and 1980s ) with immense moral courage for the right for two consenting adults to not be criminalised for being intimate with each other in private.

In turn, his achievements have led to normal, innocent people being able to grow up and live without being traumatised and psychologically fucked up for simply being normal.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Homosexuality_in_animals

If David Norris becomes President, it will make me very, very proud to be Irish.
    It will say a lot to the international community about how liberal and understanding and intelligent Ireland has become and show that we have emerged from the terror of Catholic rule.

Mute Gerard Kennelly
    Nov 29th 2012, 10:36 PM

Carmel Darcy

well said : )

he doesn’t have to like Sinn Fein
    I think people will make up their own mind on who they vote for

and they did

Mute Oil Foster
    Favourite Oil Foster
    Sep 22nd 2011, 10:50 AM

Carmel

Mute Carmel Darcy
    Favourite Carmel Darcy
    Sep 22nd 2011, 5:23 PM

Sorry you feel that way about Gay. But you have to remember he is old school. He may come across as pompus or arrogant but he is stating his own opinion not the the opinion of RTE as a whole. Whether you like him or not he is a very experienced broadcaster who has interviewed both Gerry Adams and Martin McGuinness and he has also given a lot of time to the victims of the attrocities in the North. He is fair minded, he doesn’t have to like Sinn Fein. I think people will make up their own mind on who they vote for no matter what Gay Byrne or Pat Kenny etc say. It’s just so lame to slag him off.