You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Sinn Féin's Mary Lou McDonald with deputy leader Michelle O'Neill. Sam Boal/Rollingnews.ie

Mary Lou McDonald warns Green Party that going in with FF and FG would be a 'mistake'

She also described a comment about the Greens as being “Fine Gael bikes” was “lighthearted”.

MARY LOU MCDONALD has warned the Green Party that facilitating a Fianna Fail and Fine Gael government would create considerable public anger in Ireland.

The Sinn Fein president cautioned Greens leader Eamon Ryan that doing business with those parties would be a “mistake”.

McDonald’s comments come amid ongoing efforts to form a government three weeks after the inconclusive general election result.

She also declined to be drawn on whether a coalition deal between Sinn Fein and Fianna Fail would be more likely if Micheál Martin was not leader – insisting questions about her rival party’s leadership were “entirely a matter for themselves”.

Sinn Fein is still trying to form a left-leaning government with like-minded parties and independent TDs in the Dail, but will struggle to reach the 80 seats required for a majority.

Fianna Fail, which like Sinn Fein currently has 37 parliamentary seats, is also trying to form an administration, and has held tentative discussions with Fine Gael, which has 35 seats.

Fianna Fail and Fine Gael have repeatedly ruled out going into government with Sinn Fein.

The Green Party, which has 12 seats, has held talks with both Sinn Fein and Fianna Fail over the potential of entering government as a junior coalition partner.

Ahead of a meeting of her party’s ruling council in Dublin today, McDonald said: “One thing is very clear – people did vote for change and whatever way you might interpret that it certainly was not a vote to return a Fianna Fail/Fine Gael government.”

The republican leader said her party had “constructive” talks with the Green Party during the week.

Asked about the Greens’ discussions with Fianna Fail, she added: “I have said publicly and privately to the Greens I think that any move to put Fianna Fail and Fine Gael back together in government is a mistake.

“I think it would cause considerable disappointment and indeed considerable anger amongst the public, certainly for that more than 50% of people who voted for Sinn Fein, and others, with an eye to a new government and to what we would describe as a government of change.”

McDonald was asked about a comment made from the floor at one of her party’s post-election rallies during the week when someone described the Greens as “Fine Gael on bikes”.

The party president acknowledged that the comment might not have gone down well with Green Party members, but she insisted it was meant as a joke.

“I think for those who were at the meeting it was said in a way that certainly I took as light-hearted,” she said.

“It was certainly not meant to be an insult to them.”

McDonald added: “I think the person who made that comment was making it in mirth. Much as Fine Gaelers take offence at being described as ‘blue shirts’ but nine times out of 10 that is said as a light-hearted almost throwaway remark. But I accept that also might cause offence to some of them.

“We are called lots of things too and we have to take that on the chin equally.”

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

View 126 comments
126 Comments
    Mute Thunder Snowman
    Favourite Thunder Snowman
    Mar 1st 2020, 11:27 AM

Yes, if it’s popular, I wouldn’t use it.

Mar 1st 2020, 11:35 AM

@Thunder Snowman: exactly this! I looked at the top 10 list when my kids were born, and ruled them out!

Mute NotMyIreland
    Favourite NotMyIreland
    Mar 1st 2020, 12:16 PM

Notions!

Mute Wheresmyjumper
    Favourite Wheresmyjumper
    Mar 1st 2020, 12:36 PM

@Thunder Snowman: things are popular for a reason,

Mute Victor Feldman
    Favourite Victor Feldman
    Mar 1st 2020, 12:58 PM

@Thunder Snowman: the problem in Ireland with names is that masses of people have the same surnames. Eg hickey.. Kelly.. Murphy etc so by giving out popular names like John.. Jack. Mary
    It makes it near impossible to trace old friends or contacts.. As. There’s billions of john murphys. Sean Brennan.. Parents are loath to be more creative. Such as elvis.. Johan.. Or non saints names..

Mute Piero Tintori
    Favourite Piero Tintori
    Mar 1st 2020, 2:09 PM

@NotMyIreland: now that would be a good original name :)

Mute Johnny B
    Favourite Johnny B

The more popular the name the less likely I’d pick it. Poor child would end up with loads others in the school having the same name and end up being called by their surname instead of their given name.

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Favourite Fiona Fitzgerald
    Mar 1st 2020, 12:19 PM

Yes, exactly. Also at work. I remember two colleagues having the same first, last and middle name and our manager asking them to pick a way to tell them apart for paging and payroll purposes. It’s awkward enough. In the 80s I got cheques made out to various versions, Fitzpatrick, Fitzsimon, you name it, and had to have them reissued. The more unusual the name, the better.

Mute Trisha Smith
    Favourite Trisha Smith
    Mar 1st 2020, 12:39 PM

@Fiona Fitzgerald: I was the same as this! Ended up calling us by our first name and then the county we were from as our second name!

Mute Barbara Daly Ledwidge
    Favourite Barbara Daly Ledwidge
    Mar 1st 2020, 1:25 PM

@Johnny B: Exactly. I was born in 1954, The ‘Marian year’ .. in Tipperary. Practically every girl in my class was called Marian Ryan ha. Thank goodness for my late mother’s independent thinking!

Mute Marcus Mac An Bhaird
    Favourite Marcus Mac An Bhaird
    Mar 2nd 2020, 7:45 AM

@Fiona Fitzgerald: I worked in sales at a company once where there were four Mark,s. When the fourth one came on board he was asked to answer the phone as John. Naturally what followed was hilarious as the poor lad had to adjust to not using a name he’d used all his life.

Mute Conall
    Favourite Conall
    Mar 2nd 2020, 8:10 AM

@Johnny B: Unusual names sentence your child to a lifetime of being asked to spell or repeat their name. I am variously called Colin, Donal, Colm, Connell etc and my name is not that exotic.

Mute Ricky
    Favourite Ricky
    Mar 1st 2020, 11:49 AM

Just name your child what you want and stop jumping on the bandwagon. My wife and I are quite happy with our newborn Jorge, pronounced (Horhay)

Mute Conall
    Favourite Conall
    Mar 2nd 2020, 8:12 AM

@Ricky: Lovely name, but if you have to spell a name, and then tell people how to pronounce it, it’s a bit awkward. I suspect he’ll end up being called George by everyone else.

Mute Matthew Delaney
    Favourite Matthew Delaney
    Mar 1st 2020, 1:17 PM

No way I’d let the popularity of a kids name effect my choice. Just ask my son, Adolf.

Mute Fandandi
    Favourite Fandandi
    Mar 1st 2020, 12:00 PM

A lot of people don’t seem to care as they are still naming their kids Jack and there must be about 5 of those in every classroom now.

Mute Victor Feldman
    Favourite Victor Feldman
    Mar 1st 2020, 1:13 PM

@Fandandi: it’s impossible to trace old friends in Ireland because of all the Jack’s. John’s.. Sean’s. Murphys.. Hickeys etc. Its like tracing win wing woos in China.

Mute rice water
    Favourite rice water

Yes I don’t want my kids to have basic names like Jack but nothing too over the top like Dymphna either.

Mute Quiet Goer
    Favourite Quiet Goer
    Mar 1st 2020, 11:47 AM

@rice water: Dymphna is hardly over the top. I wonder were there any Assumpthas born this year or any of the names that were common when John Paul II was visiting

Mute Sean Treacy
    Favourite Sean Treacy
    Mar 1st 2020, 1:26 PM

Sure every Tom Dick and Harry is called Jack now !

Mute Robert O’H
    Favourite Robert O’H
    Mar 1st 2020, 12:21 PM

I’d never pick a name for popularity’s sake. I would give my child a name that has meaning

Mute Eirblath
    Favourite Eirblath
    Mar 1st 2020, 12:32 PM

I wanted to call my daughter Emma but was nervous that she would be one of 10 or so girls called Emma in her school. For a while I considered Éabha instead purely because it was less popular. Anyway, I called her Emma and she ended up being the only Emma in the entire school. There was another Éabha in her class though. Just go with the name you like, your child will have it for life.

Mute Patricia Ellis Dunne
    Favourite Patricia Ellis Dunne
    Mar 1st 2020, 12:20 PM

I’d always be inclined towards fairly plain names. I just could never imagine Nevaeh-Lily – Rose being taken very seriously as a presidential candidate, for example

Mute Tony Hanratty
    Favourite Tony Hanratty

Our twins boy+girl were born in 2014.stayed away from the popular names and tried to pick something totally different and in hunter and raven I think we succeeded.

Mute Wheresmyjumper
    Favourite Wheresmyjumper
    Mar 1st 2020, 12:38 PM

@Tony Hanratty: good luck getting jobs lads

Mute Leadóg
    Favourite Leadóg
    Mar 1st 2020, 12:53 PM

@Tony Hanratty: I think they will be changing them when they hit 18.

Mute D McC
    Favourite D McC
    Mar 1st 2020, 4:10 PM

@Tony Hanratty: Fan of the 90′s show Gladiators by any chance?

Mute Lisa Quinn
    Favourite Lisa Quinn
    Mar 1st 2020, 12:06 PM

I was weirdly pleased when my boy babys name( born in 2019 ) wasnt in the top 100..no other Harrisons in his class !!!

Mute jzT
    Favourite jzT
    Mar 1st 2020, 12:13 PM

@Lisa Quinn: there are 2 in my sons creche. Like the name though, almost went for it myself. Dexter’s son was Harrison

Mute Wheresmyjumper
    Favourite Wheresmyjumper
    Mar 1st 2020, 12:37 PM

@Lisa Quinn: there’s a good reason for that

Mute Lisa Quinn
    Favourite Lisa Quinn
    Mar 3rd 2020, 7:36 PM

@Wheresmyjumper: ask me tits

Mute Lisa Quinn
    Favourite Lisa Quinn
    Mar 3rd 2020, 7:44 PM

@Wheresmyjumper: also youre slaggin a newborn ye dick

Mute Lisa Quinn
    Favourite Lisa Quinn
    Mar 3rd 2020, 7:45 PM

@jzT: ha no way!!! 2!! That shut me up!! Its after George Harrison!

Mute Mary Josephine
    Favourite Mary Josephine
    Mar 1st 2020, 12:48 PM

I’m teaching 13 years and have one Emily in my class, 11 years ago. Two Jacks in 13 years. Think we have one Jack and one Emily in the school now in a school population of over 400 children

Mar 1st 2020, 2:56 PM

@Mary Josephine: it’s because there’s a bigger variety of names people are choosing from. Even though jack and Emily are the most popular, it’s still less likely they’ll be used than Catherines or Johns were 30 years ago.

Mute Jun Stone
    Favourite Jun Stone
    Mar 1st 2020, 3:31 PM

My husband’s name is Kim, he’d have much preferred to be called Jack! Think carefully folks.

Mute Edel Boyle
    Favourite Edel Boyle
    Mar 1st 2020, 5:07 PM

I went with what was popular in 1969 lol my daughter born last Jan was called Mary-Anne after my godmother and my granny ❤️

Mute Marg FitzGerald
    Favourite Marg FitzGerald
    Mar 1st 2020, 4:20 PM

Is there a difference between popular and common?

Mute Conall
    Favourite Conall
    Mar 2nd 2020, 8:14 AM

@Marg FitzGerald: Yes, rain is common in Ireland, but not popular.

Mute Sinead Mooney
    Favourite Sinead Mooney
    Mar 1st 2020, 12:04 PM

I really don’t get if for example Emily is number one for 9 years how you’d add onto that list and have your kid forevermore Emily H. or Emily M. Or whatever in a class full of Emilys! But I’m obviously in the minority! I say this as someone who had 4 or 5 of same name in my class all my life and hated it.

Mute NotMyIreland
    Favourite NotMyIreland

@Sinead Mooney: Pick a name you like, nevermind whether it is no.1 or no.99 on the list. Picking a name based on the popularity is silly, yes there may end up been three or four in their class at school, but what does that matter! School is for a few years, a name is for life!

Mute The only INFP in Ireland
    Favourite The only INFP in Ireland
    Mar 1st 2020, 11:38 AM

Yeh, I wouldn’t use a popular name. Maybe Virginia for a girl

Mute Mary Fitzsimons
    Favourite Mary Fitzsimons
    Mar 1st 2020, 11:59 AM

@The only INFP in Ireland: your daughter will sue you.

Mute Etherman
    Favourite Etherman
    Mar 1st 2020, 11:59 AM

Nope, I’m happy with mine.

Mute Paul O Faolain
    Favourite Paul O Faolain
    Mar 1st 2020, 2:30 PM

I haven’t heard of anyone copying my kids snot and puke name,I wonder why