You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Mary Lou McDonald Rollingnews.ie

'It won't be me': Mary Lou McDonald bats off questions about running for President

The presidential election will take place later this year.

MARY LOU MCDONALD has categorically ruled herself out of running in this year’s presidential election. 

Speaking to reporters in Belfast earlier today, McDonald batted away a question about her intentions. 

“It won’t be me,” the Sinn Féin leader said.

“I want Sinn Féin to be in government in Dublin. I still believe that we can achieve that, and I know that for progress to be made in so many areas, in housing and giving a chance for our younger people in particular, we need to change the government, and all of my energy and my effort is towards achieving that,” she added. 

In December, McDonald told The Journal that a presidential bid was not on her horizon, but many have still speculated that she might be the name put forward by Sinn Féin. 

McDonald said today that Sinn Féin is speaking to other parties about a potential joint candidate for parties on the left, however, she said no decision has yet been made on this and that Sinn Féin may still decide to run a Sinn Féin candidate.

Last week, Taoiseach Micheál Martin also ruled himself out of running. 

In early November of this year, President Michael D. Higgins will have completed his second term in the role. 

No candidates have officially been announced at this point.

In order to get on the ballot, candidates need the support of four councils or 20 members of the Oireachtas.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

52 Comments