You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
The row started when the Sinn Féin deputy leader was angered by what she said was Tánaiste Joan Burton’s failure to answer her questions about water charges.
Having failed to resume her seat the Ceann Comhairle, Seán Barrett, ordered McDonald to leave the chamber but she refused.
Barrett refused to return to the chamber until McDonald left, before adjourning the house until next Tuesday.
So today we’re asking, What do you make of Mary Lou McDonald’s sit-in?
Poll Results:
It was a political stunt (10996)
It was justified (9490)
I'm not sure (1028)
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
Ha jammin your gas, not the first time in here you’ve claimed public opinion against your beloved SF is the result of bots. Don’t you think it’s possible people are disgusted at the childish behaviour and the failure to respect our democratic processes?
Another worrying example of how Sinn Fein do not respect the rule of law or the democratic system.
You don’t have to agree with the law, you don’t have to like the law, and certainly you may not like the people imposing it, but you still have to obey it. When somebody that close to power seeks to prevent the operation of our national parliament for their own reasons, whether or not you agree with her motives, it really brings home how fragile our democracy is..
Ted, I think it’s perfectly reasonable for someone to say it was a cheap political stunt *and* that Leader’s Questions usually features the Taoiseach of the day dodging giving straight answers.
@ SM: In general, the poll numbers on here are roughly reflected by the green/red thumbs for comments corresponding to the question asked.
Then again, thejournal posting an opinion piece titled “Why it looks like Sinn Féin’s Dáil sit-in was nothing more than a political stunt” and then running a poll asking that very question a couple of hours later could have something to do with it as well ;)
As a TD in the dail said yesterday what is the point of the dail when questions are nt answered , if you look at how the cc has acted again Sinn Fein I don’t blame mary Lou for doing it
Jammin
I asked you could you post a link to leaders questions. Could you post it here too, so the people that have not seen leaders questions can see for themself the relevance and the importance of the question to joan burton.
@ Tom: Clear as a bell in this clip what was asked. Mary lou asked would she support the measures laid out. Apparently joan needs to wait to be told what she supports.
Werejammin
Your Deputy Leader yesterday may have had a spat with Joan Burton and the Ceann Comhairle but her suspension from the House came from a resolution put to the Dail and a majority deciding she leave for breaking the Rules.
You need to understand that this is a clear indication from the highest levels in Sinn Fein that they do not respect Authority and they do not respect Democracy,
Let’s leave aside the fund raising the Party sub contracts to it’s former Military Wing by way of Security Advice, smuggling contraband such as cigarettes and the laundering of diesel. There are so many other ways that you raise funds but I don’t have the space to elucidate.
In simple terms your Party gave two fingers to Democracy yesterday some twenty four hours after you were excoriated in the same House for supporting child abusers over the general community by hiding them among us without any warnings and then telling us the big lie….you don’t know who they are or where they are!
And you believe you are entitled to form a Government within this State.
………….
The Ceann Comhairle has been playing fast and loose with parliamentary procedure for the length of this Dáil. Micheál MacDonncha, who has 17years experience working in the Houses of the Oireachtas posted this on Facebook and says it better than I could.
Mícheál Mac Donncha
1 hr ·
Burton and Ceann Comhairle exposed
RTÉ still trying to portray yesterday’s events in the Dáil as a pre-planned stunt. Nonsense. I worked on the Dáil for 17 years and I have a fair idea how it works. Two points:
1. It was reasonable for Mary Lou to expect that Joan Burton would answer her question on a crucial issue – will the Government try to take unpaid water charges out of people’s tax or welfare? Burton refused to rule this out. This was hugely significant but is being glossed over by RTE and much of the media.
2. I have seldom seen the Ceann Comhairle move so quickly to put a TD out of the Dáil chamber. This was not predictable. Mary Lou was quite right to protest, on the spur of the moment, in the only way she could at the time. And that question to Burton remains unanswered!
Hugh
If you call what Fg are doing democracy then you have a very warped view of democracy. Of course she was voted out because fg have the numbers and backed by ff. The ceann comhairle is anything but fair and democratic. Pure and simple fg and ff want rid of sf so their cosy cartel wont be disrupted. Lets see real democracy at work when the people vote oit these traitors.
Hugh
It took Barret less than 5 seconds to call a vote to remove Mary Lou. I watch leaders questions every day on Sky channel 574 and never before have I seen somebody orderd from the house so quick. You would need to watch this particular leaders questions to be able to cast a non bias opinion. Barret got it wrong on this occasion, he seem to be under pressure for some reason before he called Mary Lou. Again you need to watch the proceedings to see this.
This is more anti-SF media propaganda, using a public poll which doesn’t help SF. I for one have been hitting “Not Justified” on every computer I can find the last hour but the figures aren’t changing much. Disgraceful.
Hugh, those with the greatest disregard in the Dáil are those who continue to maintain that the Irish people are “seeking clarity” in relation to Irish Water, those who continue to slash services to the most needy in society, those who would rather further pad the a*se pocket of the likes of Denis O’Brien than help struggling parents find quality childcare so they can continue to work to pay high direct/stealth taxes. These are the people with a history of selling children to wealthy Americans and who ignore 800 dead children in a mass grave.
By the way I’ve seen parents in a kids hospital whipping out bottles of gripe water left, right and centre – those pesky cross border smugglers trying to help their babies with trapped wind!!
Democratic process only works when the elected government are accountable to the people. The Dáil exists for political debate to take place. As it stands, the only place where actual meaningful political debate happens is on late night radio political talk shows.
Dodging questions should be grounds for suspension, not demanding answers.
Tom Murphy & Were Jammin… are you folks a double team or the same account? Two articles in a row Tom has teed up Were Jammin with requests for links to make pro Sinn Fein points. Just asking
With respect Cathy, your example above is the option of a person who worked (in what capacity) in the Houses of the Oireachtas. It does not indicate in any way how the Ceann Comhairle breached procedures (i,e. the Standing Orders of the Dáil). In fact he didn’t breach procedures. The speed with which he did it? He is probably sick and tired on Mary Lou grandstanding. Finally, the Tánaist is entitled not to answer any question and to state that the issue will be dealt with by the Government when dealing with the entire of the issue under discussion. Mary Lou comes across as petulant.
Diarmuid
I asked for the link for people that had not seen what happened on leaders questions could have an input into this discussion with all the facts. I am not up to speed myself with posting links,
I’ve just looked at that video and it seems the Fine Gael Ceann Comhairle was very quick to order her out of the chamber, it looks more like another political stunt by Fine Gael and Labour to sidestep questions on Irish water.
There’s nothing democratic about the opposition being blocked from doing their job, which is to hold the government to account on behalf of the people.
Mary Lou asked the same question that every SF office in the country is being asked several times a day by people who are desperate and are living in fear. They are stone broke, they can’t afford another cent. They want answers and they deserve some reassurance.
IRA secreting away child abusers down to the republic???
And to think these bully boys call themselves defenders of Ireland? So much for their defence of the Irish, bringing f****ing paedophiles down here, unbelievable.
Yes people are disgusted at the childish behaviour and the failure to respect our democratic process, but it isnt being done by Mary Lou McDonald. The Ceann Comhairle is the disgraceful one here, I am not a sinn fein supporter but I am disgusted at the way the sinn fein party is treated in the Dail by most parties. Thats whats not democratic, and why have questions if they are not going to be answered. Its a total joke, They all need a good slap and told to cop on.
it might be a stunt but when the P***k that runs this country starts to take your water charges from wage packet then u might see the truth
The dictator that runs this country is going to have it that every time you turn on the tap that is a few more cent out of your wages
@david boxer – do i support Sinn Féin – well to answer in Sinn Féin speak so as to be clear and unambiguous:
” I want to make this totally clear i have never nor would i ever give support to those that do not support the ideologies to which i believe, i am dealing with these issues in a forthright and clear manner.. and it is shown that through the totality of ALL the political parties on this island my position on this is completely clear. All those that are OPPOSED to the peace process and to the work that the party which i support, seek to undermine the position that we have created.. and i hope that the situation can arise whereby we can remove the causes to confusion on this matter’.
Now David i hope that is clear to you.
Horrific child abuse scandal involving senior British/Westminster politicians, about to break in Britain.
The media have been trying to do everything they can to avoid reporting on it – but it can no longer be ignored.
RTE have even had to cover it for the first time today – even though this scandal has been brewing for months.
It may even possibly involve Kincora house in Belfast. http://www.bbc.com/news/uk-30052726
all abuse is horrific, including that carried out by paramilitaries – but what is about to break in Westminster is so horrific that it will shake British society to its very foundations. http://www.rte.ie/news/2014/1114/659468-uk-child-abuse/
Oh Ireland ,that paragon of democracy …..where “The offences against the State act ” is used against your political opponents….where O’Briens broadcasting act was used against free speech…..where a person can be jailed on the whim of a Garda sergeant,…where the Bankers can bankrupt the state and be rewarded for it, where our natural resources are sold for a few brown envelopes…..Oh Ireland ,that paragon of democracy
” I want to make this totally clear i have never nor would i ever give support to those that do not support the ideologies to which i believe, i am dealing with these issues in a forthright and clear manner.. and it is shown that through the totality of ALL the political parties on this island my position on this is completely clear. All those that are OPPOSED to the peace process and to the work that the party which i support, seek to undermine the position that we have created.. and i hope that the situation can arise whereby we can remove the causes to confusion on this matter’.
So you are NOT a Sinn Fein supporter. As your previous post states that all who say they are not Sinn Fein supporters = They are Sinn Fein supporters, I deduct that you are actually a Sinn Fein supporter. Good man.
Enda’s life achievements will probably be the highest pension to be leeched off the tax paying citizens of Ireland soon to be enjoyed I hope. The other achievements??
Rte 6 news legislation to be debated in the Dail next week in relation to Irish Water and the deduction of charges from Pay, pension and social welfare, how relevant and important was Mary lou’s question to Joan now.
The question couldn’t be answered as negotiations are still ongoing between the government parties. Joan Burton said this but Mary-Lou refused to accept it. Mary-Lou in the past in interviews pointed out how SF are wonderful negotiators as evidenced by the Good Friday Agreement so surely she should understand this.
With her stunt she denied other opposition TDs such as Maureen O’Sullivan their chance to participate in Leader’s Questions with the Tanaiste. But at least it got the abuse story and her smirking at Ms Cahill off the front pages!
Oh and let us not forget that Mary-Lou intended to pay her own water charges up until about 2 weeks ago.
The question has been answered several times recently, when the government said the details haven’t been finalised yet and will be released next week. She may not like the answer but it’s an answer.
the details will never be finalised. They’ll come out with some crap next week and when they see the amount opposing it and marching against it there will be more finalising. All this shite should have been in order a long time before charging started. If you think Mary Lou actions was a stunt then so is IW.
Stop spoofing lads. The question asked was would she support measures to deduct water charges from peoples wages, pensions and welfare payments, and would she support attachment orders being placed on peoples homes for non payment.
Now, why does joan burton need to wait on ANYTHING to answer those completely straightforward questions?
It may not be finalised but Joan would have known how it looked. It is a massive step to take and she would have been able to have an educated guess and answered yes or no with about 99% accuracy.
@ Paul: The Troika programme has ended. What have they to do with this?
@ Were Jammin: I’m certainly not spoofing. But how can somebody answer a question about a decision that has yet to be made? And as is pointed out elsewhere on this site, Mary-Lou has accepted these types of answers before.
Let’s not forget where the news cycle began yesterday – with accusations of Mary-Lou smirking at Ms Cahill during Wednesday’s debate. She was on air denying it, but when you are denying you are usually losing. However by yesterday evening Mary-Lou had completely changed the news story. She’s a cute hoor that one!
She got an answer. She just didn’t like it. She has attempted to subvert democracy. She should resign her seat and apologise daily to the Irish people for usurping their parliament until we deem her cleansed of all facist tendencies.
Ha, the troika programme has ended, they run this country by proxy. They’ll be back next week to give orders to our “leaders”.
The way I see it ryan you are one of three people -
◆A party political troll. In which case you are the lowest of the low. Enabling the sale of a national asset for a stupid political party.
◆you have a vested interest in irish water going ahead, in which case you are out of luck, it’s dead in the water.
◆you genuinely believe the diarrhoea dribbling out if your mouth due to plain old ignorance.
I personally think you are the first candidate. You stupid stupid man.
@ Ryan: So, if YOU were minister for social protection, you would not be able to answer whether or not you would support water charges been taken out of peoples social benefit payments……..until the details were finalised?
The questions are not as straightforward as they may appear. Presumably Irish Water will have the same entitlement to debt recovery as any other creditor. The question really relates to whether there will be special powers for revenue to deduct outstanding fees from source, as exists with local property tax.
This is highly unlikely given that revenue are not operating the system, not to mention the controversy with the system. No doubt Joan would have said this if the Government had made heir minds up on the whole system, which the clearly have not.
FG pulled a great stunt along with all their false promises before getting into the gangsters palace on Kildare street, Maria Cahill,is nothing more than a pawn a political football EK/FG don’t care one iota about her, no more than the care about any other victims of abuse even the one’s abused by the state. They are shameless.
We need a peaceful presence outside the hotel where the Troika are residing, to let them know our feelings about water taxes.Usually they stay across the road from government buildings.
Ryan
The question had nothing to do with this so called package the Government are putting together, the question was will the Goverment give the ok for Irish Water to take payments from peoples pensions, pay, or social welfare, that cant afford to pay the charges.
Your have a strange idea of democracy ……..by asking a straightforward question , and expecting an answer ,as would be considered normal manners and protocol you are subverting democracy….wow and then you rant about facist tendencies….I think you’ll find they belong to Fine Gael ,aka The Blueshirts !
Just because you don’t agree with someones ideology doesn’t make them a subversive Alan. She ignored protocol when protocol ignored the opposition and didn’t force a question from an Táiniste.
An Oireachtas is currently broken. Enda Kenny is solely calling the shots for our entire country and political debate within the dáil has been suspended. The next step is absolute dictatorship.
Ryan
Its obvious you have no interest what the question was, so im putting you down as a FG troll that has every intention of paying the water charge whatever the cost, and have no interest in the heart ship it will inflict on the people by your Government. Not mine I no longer recognise this muppet show as an legitimate Government.
You’re right, the coalition has a majority in the Dáil, and can, at a whim, suspend anybody from the opposition they wish. But respect works both ways. The Government has been taking a hammering on the streets due to protests over the past few weeks(especially) and aren’t suffering the consequences in the Dáil. When the concerns of protesters are brought up, and an answer wasn’t forthcoming, an opposition TD gets suspended.
The childish aspect of all of this is that Enda Kenny and Joan Burton see the Irish people as children who need to do what they’re told and eat their vegetables(or pay for water).
You are right on this Ryan Ash, this woman is just cynically using the popular water charge issue to divert attention away from the IRA having endangered children in the Republic by bringing paedophiles down here, the true face of Sinn Féin anti-Irish party now shown up.
I don’t see what the issue is here… she was asked a question by Mary Lou along the lines of “will you deduct from social welfare or not” and got a reply along the lines of “that decision will be announced next week”.
I have to say, I would be hard pushed to decide which of them two I detest more, but it seems to me the question was reasonable, as was the answer, so I am left thinking this was Mary Lou trying to knock the smirk at the rape victim off the front page.
Biased media coverage again. RTE 9 newscaster first question was “is this a political stunt”. This from the main news sorce to many people around the country. Enda pulling a major stunt holding the Dail to ransom for 5 hours about a Maria Cahill which was an issue for the police both North and south. False concern which is disgusting as the Rape Crisis Centre funding has been drastically cut by this government. Childlike service have to run begging ads on radio to get funds to stay open. It’s all lies and hypocrisy and constant political stunt making. It is About bloody time someone demanded that these questions be answered by the bunch of traitors in government.
Politicians dodge questions all the time. When did you last hear any politician give straight answers on the radio, on tv, in the Dáil or anywhere? Why was this question any different? That Mary Lou decided to take this particular moment to disregard Dáil rules, ignore the chair and then sit in was nothing more than a distraction.
One side is shouting WATER! the other is shouting ABUSE COVER UP! They’re all at it, no-one is telling the whole truth and there’s some stupid posturing for public opinion going on rather than any work.
Mary Lou’s actions are the actions of a petulant child
Didn’t say anything about any others. I judge each politician on their merits, and I don’t excuse them on the grounds of whatabouttery. I think Joan should have answered the questions, it was a great line taken by Mary Lou. It’s her response after not getting her way, when she knew she wouldn’t get it, that smacks of a childish stunt.
You see, for me political parties aren’t football teams to be followed in good times and in bad. I don’t follow a party, or always vote for a party. I judge each on their merits and policies, and in the absence of one that matches my ideology, I look for a balance
The Ceann Comhairle tried to throw out a TD for holding the Tanaiste to account. She rightly refused to accept what was an attack on democracy. It’s a joke that the journal even think this is a legitimate question to ask. Their reporting of the situation yesterday was also a joke.
MLD lost the democratic vote in the Dail to be ejected. She ignored the democratic will of our parliament to leave. That is a blatant attack on democracy.
Ah we have the two faced shinnerbot Sean Mc Bre….. with his smarta**e doublebarrrell comment’s.every time you post i will add a letter to your name and post your comments on your timeline that should raise a few S.F. Eyebrows.
Buddy, spot on. Tom, it’s just a parody ffs, chill out and stop making threats to try and silence him, I thought you lot left all that behind, no? Btw, the double barrel comeback was classic shinner!
The poll while an interesting one, is completely pointless as anyone who reads more than 2 comments on the journal realises that it has been hijacked by the Sinn Fein doom and gloom brigade.
Of course it was a political stunt and in many ways it worked as it has diverted attention away from Republicans relocating sex offenders to the south.
What about diverting from that tiny little issue of irish water which this is . I hear rumours of a piece of legislation that will be forced through next week. That will take money from peoples wages and social welfare? ??
It was what marketers call diversion. A desperate attempt to send attention toward one member’s defiance of the Dail and away from the whole organisation’s cover up of sex offenses. Worked too. For now.
Haven’t read the comments but ill bet spinnerbots are querying the veracity of the poll results… I’ll keep you posted…there’s always a conspiracy with these guys and girls.
Charles – I doubt that you ever read comments that aren’t put there by numerous FG Trolls and that you agree with ?
The poll in favour of Mary Lou’s stand is extraordinary in my view !
She has proven once again how corrupt FG are and how corrupted Labour have become .
As for An Ceann Comhairle – his position is untenable, by virtue of his bullying and bias – He MUST resign ASAP , for the benefit of Democracy & The Oireachtais !
On the contrary kerryman I make sure to read any opinion that’s contrary to my own. Happily I wasn’t wrong in my earlier estimation. You shinners have a deep persecution complex. Hug?
Ditto Adams , his very presence in the dail is an affront to democracy at this stage. Will you join me in calling for him to step down. Protecting child abusers is surely a step too far even for you?
Would nt it be great if fg ff and lab showed the same concern for abuse victims as they do to Maria Cahill , The survivor s of abuse that have no political gain for fg ff and lab their ignored or fought through the courts
No Simon, going on Vincent Browne, meeting with the Taoiseach and political parties, holding a kangaroo court in the Dail is for publicity.
The standard response is that politicians can’t comment on on-going legal cases. The Journal won’t even let you comment on them. Why is this particular case being given such strong attention and not just been left to the Gardaí and PSNI to fully investigate? Could it possibly be because SF are now one of the most popular parties in the country?
People should just look at other survivors of abuse are they getting the same treatment as Maria Cahill , their not , what happened Maria Cahill was wrong but she is being used by the political parties
Ollie for a FF stooge like yourself to come on here and use an abuse victim for point scoring is beyond reprehensible. The FF party let the CC abuse and rape tens of thousands of children for decades without doing a thing. These victims often went to teachers, doctors, gardai as well as public representatives with their stories but they were brushed aside throughout the fifties, sixties, seventies and eighties when your party ruled this country as it’s little fiefdom. Your party then went along and did a dirty little deal with the CC in the nineties regarding this issue. Whatever about anyone else to talk about this case but to listen to the hypocrites of FF on this matter is stomach churning.
To see that clown Collins on Vincent Browne shouting and ranting before Browne made a complete show of him when it was clear he was clueless about the case and all he was doing was shouting anti SF crap epitomises your party regarding this case. Have a watch of this clip to understand the unbelievable hypocrisy of FF when it comes to child abuse, coming from the mouth of an ex FF mayor!
Typical response from a SF #egghead #keyboard warrior probably getting paid handsomely by the provisional movement to attack anyone who dare question the party.
Great response Ollie, fail to reply to anything I said and make a claim that I work for SF, laughable really. For your information I have voted for FG, Labour, SF, the Greens and various independents in the past but I’m glad to say that your poisonous party have never even got a preference from me and never will. Your party held back Ireland for seventy years as a Conservative backwater state rife with corruption and nepotism but thankfully you will never again be in power as the main party in government.
Mr Golden, you’re just trolling now. And bad trolling at that. John Mulligan, that’s just a disgusting comment. FF = plastic republicans. FG = unionists. Labour = the dodo.
Typical response from a FF supporter. Avoid any of the points made in the post and try to deflect from the issues by making ridiculous accusations against the poster.
FF held back Ireland ? That has to be the most ridiculous statement ever to be written on the journal. You’d want to check the history books and why not put a face to the pseudo name ? Are you afraid of anything ????
FF and FG were in the pocket of the Catholic Church in this country for decades Oliver. Both parties allowed for the abuse of thousands of children. What have you to say about your own party’s history of protecting child abusers?
Let me see, contraception was called a basic human right in 1960 by the UN, yet successive FF governments banned contraceptives until 1980 and even then for years you were forced to get a prescription from a doctor to even get condoms. We all know about abortion and the FF party, most of their TD’s voted against the minimalist relaxing of the laws last year. Homosexual acts were illegal under a succession of FF governments and were only made legal in 1993. These are examples of the backwater that FF ran, obviously still getting their orders off the bishops judging on the abortion vote last year. Your party then have the gall to call yourselves republicans, one of the pillars of a republic is the separation of church and state yet your party ran their state as an extension of the Catholic Church for most of the 20th century.
Keep your head buried in the sand, you are nothing but a party of conservatives and old age pensioners and hopefully your demise won’t be too much longer.
Ff wrecked the country incompetent in power for years should never be in power again .the 25% or so they have at moment are suffer from amnesia or just just deluded about what cowen and co did in power
He is gone off to have a few rants about SF on twitter, look at his twitter account. I think the man might be a small bit obsessed with SF, he must be putting up 50 anti SF tweets a day,some life he must have!
Hello Joan answer the question ffs, come on now, hello dime bar the fcuking question you were asked come on spit it out. Ah here times up. I’d have to have a 4 hour sit down as well.
People in this country are being treated with utter contempt. We are being trampled over and the political and media establishment are pushing an agenda on to us that we do not want or accept. The government were organised enough to have meters installed all over the country at the drop of a hat, they had enough discussions about what fat salary and bonus structure to put in place in their Quango but when it comes to squeezing blood from the stone that will keep it running for them they cannot answer basic questions. It is an absolute utter disgrace and Mary Lou is right people are worried and this sickening ever more fascistic style government should not be allowed to get away with it. Anyone who cannot see some truth in this is blinded by their own vested interests.
Serious Issue Diarmuid, serious abuse, needs a serious response from the Gardaí, PSNI and the Judiciary.
However, the leader of any country standing firmly beside one side in a legal case, that he has personally rekindled and brought to the attention of the public against Maria Cahill’s original wishes, is far from any type of Justice and is disrespectful to all of us.
He is bypassing our legal system and wasting Dáil time on an issue for the DPP. He cannot tell Judges what to think, our judiciary is a separate entity, constitutionally.
Diarmuid (great name), Cahill herself sought publicity through the BBC Spotlight programme, the media and the political process to highlight her case and the case of other victims… There is no legal action ongoing..The leader of the fourth largest party in the Dail has admitted the PIRA relocated sex abusers outside of NI, possibly in to communities in this State. Do you not agree that Adams should be further challenged on that?
Ok Diarmuid(fantastic name also), then Cahill has been seeking justice in the wrong places. If somebody stole your car, you wouldn’t go to the car manufacturer and the newspapers to complain, you should go to the police.
It’s sickening to think that people would even do such a thing to someone else, even worse to think they got away with it. This case should have been dealt with by police over a decade ago.
Likewise, and I know people will call bullshit on this one, but Gerry Adams has always claimed that he was never a member of the IRA(I’m not saying I believe him, but that’s what he’s said). If he was never a member of the IRA how is this issue something that was within his control? He didn’t personally move anybody, and he testified against his own brother on a similar issue. The man has never been shown to have done anything immoral or untoward in terms of sexual abuse, especially not in any court of law. The sex offender needs to be punished, not a politician that was supported by that sex offender.
Now to bring this back to the issue. An Táiniste is second in command in our Government. She could have at least expressed her own personal preference when asked. Nobody should need a committee to tell them what their own opinion is.
and how many child molesting priests did the irish state re locate to ‘other areas?, the state and the church were as one during those dark days (and still are in many ways) so the irish state has as many questions ,if not more to answer on that issue
I agree the Cahill issue has been unconventional.. this is setting a new precedent.. she was dealt with initially under IRA paramilitary “courts”, now she is seeking a form of political redress from a person she accuses of being complicit in her case: Adams.
The bigger issue is that Gerry Adams admitted, in a recent statement, that the IRA moved deemed sex abusers outside of NI. Some accusations put this figure at 8 being sent to this jurisdiction and to our communities. Is this true? If this was the Catholic Church, instead of SF/PIRA, we would be demanding answers too… Adams has enough authority to negotiate on behalf of the PIRA, apologise on behalf of the PIRA and comment on their policies of dealing with sex abusers. Adams needs to give a full account of his knowledge to this country.
The only deflection going on is from the government. The question is still not answered! !!!. Yesterday morning I listened to Joan on newstalk and had to turn off the radio in frustration at not one question being answered. I am fed up of all this.I am not a SF voter but for the first time in my life I will contemplate voting that way.
The army council and 40 years of mayhem were a glimpse into what we could expect under a shinner government, this just illustrates their childishness when they don’t get their own way and it’s not a situation where you can just send the boys round like the good old days.
Pa, there are as many anti SF comments as there are pro SF comments. The rest are made up of people with no political allegiance. It’s just they CAN see the wood for the trees.
Sadly, she had to do it to get them to start answering some questions. They just won’t answer anything and think that by blabbering on they can somehow talk their way round it.The disparity in income and quality of life between the working and ruling classes is now higher than it has been in hundreds of years. Do not be fooled by this ‘trickle down’ economy blarney or other such rhetoric. They care not one jot about the ordinary citizen… All they care about is maintaining the status quo and the same few per cent of people in the world maintaining all the power and money.
Bob Dylan wrote a wonderful song in 1963 called “The Lonesome Death of Hattie Carroll” that I sometimes slip into my live sets when I’m playing a gig. It is a protest song that tells of the killing of a 51 year old black barmaid called Hattie Carroll, who was beaten to death with a cane by William Devereux “Billy” Zantzinger, a wealthy young tobacco farmer who had just turned 24 the day before, and of his subsequent sentence to six months in a county jail, after being convicted of assault. The song examines and questions Zantzinger’s wealth and connections with the length of his sentence. The lyrics are sometimes seen as a commentary on 1960s racism but I feel they also deal with the issue of class and how the punishment meted out to people with different social status is so huge. You can buy your freedom if you’ve enough money and clout. Just ask Ivor Callely, Bertie, Bankers etc etc. And the gulf in social clout, influence and power between the classes has only gotten worse since that song was written and will continue to worsen if we allow our ruling classes to carry on this so called ‘Austerity’ BS and don’t hold them to account.
William Zanzinger killed poor Hattie Carroll
With a cane that he twirled around his diamond ring finger
At a Baltimore hotel society gathering
And the cops were called in and his weapon took from him
As they rode him in custody down to the station
And booked William Zanzinger for first-degree murder
But you who philosophize disgrace and criticize all fears
Take the rag away from your face
Now ain’t the time for your tears
William Zanzinger, who at twenty-four years
Owns a tobacco farm of six hundred acres
With rich wealthy parents who provide and protect him
And high office relations in the politics of Maryland
Reacted to his deed with a shrug of his shoulders
And swear words and sneering, and his tongue it was snarling
In a matter of minutes on bail was out walking
Hattie Carroll was a maid of the kitchen
She was fifty-one years old and gave birth to ten children
Who carried the dishes and took out the garbage
And never sat once at the head of the table
And didn’t even talk to the people at the table
Who just cleaned up all the food from the table
And emptied the ashtrays on a whole other level
Got killed by a blow, lay slain by a cane
That sailed through the air and came down through the room
Doomed and determined to destroy all the gentle
And she never done nothing to William Zanzinger
In the courtroom of honor, the judge pounded his gavel
To show that all’s equal and that the courts are on the level
And that the strings in the books ain’t pulled and persuaded
And that even the nobles get properly handled
Once that the cops have chased after and caught ’em
And that the ladder of law has no top and no bottom
Stared at the person who killed for no reason
Who just happened to be feelin’ that way without warnin’
And he spoke through his cloak, most deep and distinguished
And handed out strongly, for penalty and repentance
William Zanzinger with a six-month sentence
Oh, but you who philosophize disgrace and criticize all fears
Bury the rag deep in your face
For now’s the time for your tears
yeah but what about the story of the hurricane? the man the authorities came to blame, for something that he’d never done, put in a prison cell but one time he could have been the champion of the world?
Of course I’m not comparing Mary Lou to Hattie Carroll???? I can’t figure out where in there you can find that interpretation? …. But then again you’ll only read from it what you want to!?!!! Sweet Jesus the world is full of _______.
SF or Mary Lou are not the main issue for me. I couldn’t care less who did it…. Our elected representatives not answering questions or being answerable to anybody because Sean Barrett will allow them to get away without answering questions cos he is one of them- That’s what I have issues with
‘The disparity in income and quality of life between the working and ruling classes is now higher than it has been in hundreds of years’ This is my main problem in society
‘With rich wealthy parents who provide and protect him
And high office relations in the politics of Maryland
Reacted to his deed with a shrug of his shoulders’
No, of course not. if anything he is the ‘high office relations in the politics of Maryland’ who allows questionable judgement…… But I’m even not talking about individuals here. It’s the system that has been allowed to take root and rot our society. that is my problem!?!!! Elected representatives constantly towing the party line cos of the whip. Too scared to speak out. Our Taoiseach not giving interviews to most media….. This is not democracy.
As much as I despise Sinn Fein, she was asking a valid question and wasn’t getting a reply, she was well within her right to demand a reply and the Ceann Comhairle was completely wrong to ask her to leave the house or even take her seat, with out the question being answered, for him to do so is unconstitutional and therefore undemocratic.
Phil. The CC Sean Barrett is biased and should not hold this position. The fact that the CC can be an ex member if a political party is ridiculous and more of the same keeping it in the family politics that Ireland gas been suffocated by. Would the CC have asked a member of FG to leave for demanding answers to questions ?
Coco,
He is indeed a disgrace and also a bit of an idiot. And for these reasons he should resign back to the back benches.
But I don’t think you quite understand the role of the CC.
He isn’t an ex member of a party, he’s an elected TD and full member of FG, as every CC in the history of the Dail has been a TD and in the vast majority of cases, the member if a party.
I think you might believe that the CC is a civil servant not associated with a party.
Incidentally, the CC is usually always a member of the government party, apart from during the 90′s when FF voted a member of the opposition as CC.
Sar Yates . You show your true colours when you call people rabble (probably orang). What kind of person elevates themselves to a superior position in order to look down and call others rabble. This comment really reflects more on what type of person you are than anyone you use it against
Looking at the comments, the poll results so far does not add up. The vast majority of comments and likes are in favour of Mary Lou’s actions yet the poll does not show that..
The vast majority of Journal readers don’t read through the comments, just the article.
I do it myself on about 60-70% of articles. I only go through comments when I have a bit of time to spare. This is why, in an article that has say, 10,000 views, the highest flag may still only be 100.
Most people know that the comments turn into the exact same arguments each time.
I used to enjoy reading the comments all the time on the journal but the level of vitriol and abject hegemony in favour of one particular political party has made me, and most others i assume, unlikely to engage. Now I just read and comment the odd time, like now!
Exactly Sausage.
Also, the thumbs would never be an indication of the readers opinions in general either.
I rarely thumb a comment, unless I think it is a well thought out contribution, or it is a totally off the wall argument in the case of a thumb down.
17,000 voters – only a few hundred thumbers. Hardly rocket science to figure out that most people either don’t read the comments or don’t bother thumbing.
If F.G make up any part of the next government. Sean Barret will have a nice Ministry. The Ceann Comhairle is ment to be impartial but it seems as if he is an extra T.D one the Governments. Mary Lou is no saint either. SF took full advantage of yesterday but Burtan and Co. are constantly dodging questions. How many time has Kenny been on the ropes and thrown accusations about SF/IRA as a mean of defense ? Surely that has to be against some sanding order ?
Budget day for example the Blueshirts spent the whole time the opposition was speaking heckling and the Ministers didnt even have the decency to stay. Mary Lou was cautioned on budget for doing the exact same things that the government had been doing all day long. Kenny regularly addresses SF directly without addressing the CC so yes he is impartial and will be rewareded for his loyality
The reply that Burton should have given was “We don’t know for sure at this point in time, but it is being considered”. Instead she waffled shite! Not only Mary Lou, but all the rest of the opposition should defend the right to get proper answers.
Good on mary lou stand up for what you believe in burton said in statement on radio with power comes responsible and accountability by not answering questions burton was not being accountable or responsible for anything to do with water charges or anything to with irish water
Let’s be positive about this. Yesterday’s events are a clear signal from Sinn Fein that they no longer believe in dodging questions, which is a huge leap forward for them.
Can you name and place all pedophiles from the PIRA who were moved to the Republic . Who gave you permission to send bar stewards like them down to our communities without warning residents of those areas first . Gerry … Surely you would think that the PSNI are better placed than a few bomb makers and psychopaths in bringing justice to people who are victims … Why didn’t you report this to the police and by the way you seem to know a lot about PIRA people and goings on for a man who was never in the PIRA … Mary Lou can you answer these questions or can Gerry answer them without waffling on . We Need to protect our children and our communities from these sucm
Yes, the question should have been answered, but this was political opportunism from Mary Lou. If Mary Lou was really that offended by not getting a straight answer from Joan Burton, she’d be having a sit-in every other week!
They knew that Sinn Fein supporters would lap it up, while also knowing that if they’re going to have negative column inches written about them, it would be better to have it over this than over the other reasons they dominated the headlines this week.
It wasn’t about not getting an answer, it was about being asked to leave again because Joan doesn’t want to answer a question. This is the antithesis of democracy, if the leaders refuse to answer any questions and instead try to throw out everyone who challenges them then it is those leaders themselves who need to be kicked out, permanently.
seems fg were delighted to throw ministers onto the news yesterday proclaiming it was a political stunt.yet the issue of the question was ignored. It’s an answer I want to hear and how will it affect bill collection of the other utilities will they be able to go to revenue and ask for money to be taken from people’s wages ?
It’s the typical order of business in the government. They sit about moaning about a problem and if by the time they get tired of moaning about it, it hasn’t resolved itself, they give themselves a few days holidays.
Alan we pay for water already, if there is a drop in the two taxes that were increased to include a water charge then I have no problem paying for it. I can’t believe people are still asking what is the alternative when we pay already, do you people follow what’s going on in this country at all?
@Pat – try to keep up now ok?
We spend a certain amount of money, and we collect less. So we have 3 options…
1. Get more money into the coffers through water charges
2. Get more money into the coffers by increasing taxes
3. Reduce spending to current income levels.
Unfortunately a lot of people fail to realise that SF are a populist party making up policies as they go along anything that can fool the gullible public will be latched onto.
Great impartial journalism, I think not! First run an article entitled “Why it may look like a stunt Mary L. pulled” or words to that effect. Followed by a poll “do you think it was a stunt pulled by Mary L.” or words to that effect.
Burton was there to answer questions,she spoke a lot but said nothing,she sounded so stupid,and looked foolish.Mary Lou was correct in trying to get an answer,the CC was wrong,and biased, towards Mary Lou.It seems that when government are asked awkward questions,the CC will badger the questioner,regarding time,or anything else he can come up with.As a comment said earlier,dodging questions,is what it should be called.Stand your ground Mary,and maybe that useless CC,will one day do the job right.
Mary Lou acted like a spoilt child and threw her toys out of the pram when she didn’t get what she wanted. A great example of someone we do NOT need in government.
So a “leader” refusing to answer a straight forward question in the Dail is a good example of someone in government? The Dail where the government is meant to be held accountable?
Political stunts are pulled every day by all parties. This went way beyond what anyone who believes in democracy could deem as acceptable. It was an outrageous attack on the centre of democracy in this state. And what compounds the outrage is the grubby motive behind it.
The outrageous attack was instigated by Sean Barrett, throwing a TD out for demanding an answer from the Tanaiste. Mary Lou was right to resist such an attempt at hushing up the opposition.
In a democracy you would be entitled to ask questions and reveive answers to those questions. I’m sure Joan would be happy enough with a dictatorship then she wouldn’t have to er her way to dodging questions. She could also then just deduct however much she feels fit directly from our wages. Wouldn’t that be great now.
Theft? What sort of madman are you? Theft implies lack of payment and I have paid for the service I receive, I’m not paying someone else for the same thing again so they can sit around patting each other on the back and giving themselves ridiculous bonus payments for doing what even they define as a poor job.
Barrett is the most partisan of CC and is totally anti Sinn Fein. Hevis bringing the Dail to a new low. Is there any hope for democracy is this failed republic.
See Fine Gael member handed Mary Lou a roll of toilet paper referring to a dirty protest ( hunger strikers ) that is as low as you can go an absaloute disgrace
Regardless of the actual answer to the question this article asks, the “sit-in” was referred to as a distraction. So the main issue was water charges, which was then changed to the SF/IRA rape case which was then brought back around to water charges. So technically it’s a distraction from a distraction.
Im not a lover of any politician or political party but the ceann comhairle who is FG himself backed his fellow politician is a by standards a conflict of interest in my book… The ceann comhairle should be independent of political parties. For example, the Garda Onbudsman are all non Gardai!!!!
Does anybody else notice hiw when commenters like Pontius P for example make pro government or pro water comments they always seem to go to the top if comment section. It was pointed out to me by someone that the Journal seemed to be very pro government and right wing when in fact it was just the first few comments he was talking about. PP for example always seems to come in at end if discussion and yet comments are first in line?
Forget what party she belongs too. She was asking a question which effects the general public, she wanted a straight answer so the public can be informed. But Labour just could not answer the question directly.
A gang of four run this country now. Democracy is dead. The questions raised by Mary Lou are what is very relevant to people, given that they are in fear of this double taxation being imposed on them. The Maria Cahill circus is a total irrelevance unless you’re a government supporter. It wont put money in people’s pockets to pay water tax or any other tax. Our national broadcaster is no more than a propaganda machine for the government. Most of the other media is owned by a business man who has a vested interest in the whole water debacle, and it appears the direction of the Gardai in the country. He is also a bankroller of the FG party, and a tax exile to boot. The CC of the Dail has shown unmitigated bias in the government’s favor at every hands turn he can. And some people claim we still live in a democracy. There is nothing democratic left that has any value in this country.
Even bad publicity, is publicity after all. SF elevates this to “I don’t want to play anymore, gimme my toys back” when mama answered her question but baby SF didn’t like that answer.
Why did Mary Lou sit there for four hours? Because Gerry told her to. Why was Peadar Tóibín trotting out the Shinner line on the radio today? Because Gerry told him to. Baaa baaa baaaa…. Or maybe he had guns in their ears (not that I’m advocating that!)
The CC will always be biased in favour of the Government of he day, that’s the way it is. It is not right, but that’s how it is. He was quick to call on a vote against MLM but she has form, was there not a similar incident recently in the Dail. I also think that people should answer questions directly and should be compelled to do so. I don’t know how many times I have been listening to Leaders questions in particular or on the Radio and shouting at the blasted thing, “Answer the F***ing question you are asked”. In this instance I think Joan Burton did reiterate the Governments stance, they haven’t a final answer and when they have, they will let us know. I don’t know if we will like the final answer, but we will get it next week.
In my opinion Sinn Fein’s role in this, is opportunistic, its only in the last month or so they changed their minds to not pay the charge. I think the other Left Parties made the running and forced Sinn Fein’s hand. A good thing to come out of this is a much chastened Government, vastly reduced water charges, in the short term at least. (Sinn Fein when in Government can reverse them or keep them low, we will wait and see) I hope they also ensure that Water in Ireland is not privatised, and that the disaster of a creation that is Irish Water, is also kept under some control, in relation to pay, bonuses pensions etc.
In relation to BOTS, there maybe something going on, but what I do know, is that no matter what forum you go to, the Shinner BOTS are there in force, the continuity internet response army, I think I saw some one refer to them. They are well organised, it is difficult to read some forums because of the blind loyalty, and their one track view, of every one else is wrong and Sinn Fein is right, they never seem to admit to being wrong on anything, everything is justifiable, but I do worry about it, because it does seem to get out of hand, if you contradict them on anything.
It is disgraceful for any politician to behave like this — but then SF/IRA has no respect for the Republic, it’s Government , it’s President, and the Laws of the Land– they do not recognise our Constitution.
They are not even sure of their on policies YES-or /NO.
One week it is yes He Says he will pay the next he won’t — he swings from left to right and so does MaryLOO It is like watching Lanagans Ball — he’ll stepped in and she’ll step out again — he’ll step in – Zzzzzzzzzzzz!!!!!
Now they have highjacked the Water Issue as they highjacked the Corrib Issue , they are like worms that bore into your skin and you can’t get rid of them even the Gardai are saying there is a n organised element there to cause trouble — no guesses as to they are!!!!!
Oh!!!HEAR YE< HERE YE Jorrie Armani Adams and first class MaryLOO as they say- "we stand up for the little guy, we know what it is like "and yet when was the last time you saw someone travel first class to Australia.
— Anyone that I know went Economy Class—- one rule for the downtrodden MaryLOO and another for you????
QUOI!!!
and when PURR WEE Jorrie Anmani Adams needs an operation where did he go have it done TO THE STATES!!! yahoo!!!!! He was not going to use the Irish Health system —- now there's trust for you!!!
Oh!!! Saint Jorrie is above all that — he goes to the best Doctors and Hospitals in New York and Boston .
When was the last time" THE LITTLE GUY IN THE STREET" was able to do this ????
Pray Tell — Jorrie and MaryLOO One rule for you and another for us !!!!HYPOCRITS
Jorrie abd MaryLOO are on the band stand again , with their high Moral values, Ethics—- when all the time we know they are Wolves dressed up in Sheep's clothing.
Also while wee Jorrie "EVERYONE IS AGAINST ME AND WON"T PLAY BALL WITH ME|" moans and groans and never stops complaining —my advice to you Jorrie — Get out and go back to where you came from and stay there.
Question? Did you JORRIE really have to rub everyones noses in it, here in the Republic in your speech , did you really have to rub Maria Cahill nose in and make fun of her , she has kept her dignity I do not think you ever had any. My Goodness you are a nasty piece of work
and JORRIE whats this about you ,hob nobbing with David Drumm,the man who brought the Republic to it's knees , living in the States in Million dollar mansion, a man who is also wanted for questioning by the Gardai and for whom they are looking for an extradition warrant —— now Jorrie that is really unforgiveable—–I could go on.
SF/IRA JORRIE ARMANI ADAMS and his side kick MARYLOO need to exit at the next roundabout !!!!!!
Celeste, have a bit of respect for yourself by not using the term “SF/IRA”. It just makes you sound like a loyalist bigot and belittles anything relevant you may have to say.
Our own parliament was subverted when FG/LAB lied through their teeth to get into power. Sinn Féin will work for the people when they get in at the next election. We will no longer be held to ransom by the EU/IMF. Ireland deserves better and Sinn Féin will deliver.
The point in question, was her behaviour, was it justified. The majority of people say it was not! End of discussion! How can a democracy work if we bicker online.
FF and FG allowed hundreds of paedo priests have free reign for decades throughout the country. Some priests were moved over the border to the north to continue to abuse up there.
I don’t think they did. I certainly don’t remember any FG or FF politicians moving other FF or FG paedo members around the country. Are you making this stuff up?
I do not doubt the womans commitment,She could teach many in the Dail how to do ones job.I do however believe quite strongly that she is whittling away at her her own integrity, and the image she enjoys publicly ,By following blindly the ridiculous Party before politics/personalities before people ethos that seems to dominate the political agenda of SF…. She should move to get rid of Adams and get SF back on track,Something they have not been on for a while.
This was 100% a political stunt. Earlier this week SF Gerry Adams asked their sane question (Mary Lo) also present and was told that end of next everything would be discussed. 24h lather SF are ripped to shreds and then another 24h and the same question is asked and SF go for the un popular water issue which they know will deflect from themselves but it has backfired and the PR machine went into full swing.
What worries me is the notion of emergency legislation that was to be voted on today. We all know that such a vote would merely be a formality given the government majority and their form on using the whip
I have watched the video and I feel the Ceann Comhairle lost control of the situation; firstly Joan went over time, then another lady tried to join the debate and when Mary Lou said she wanted an answer to her question he jump straight in with telling her to leave the house, childish behaviour by all involved.
The other parties diverted attention off themselves by directing blame and attention on the SF paedophile issue.
Now this lying woman has been exposed for the typical political liar she is, she shamefully diverts attention away from the Sinn Féin/ IRA paedophile scandal by jumping on the water issue. These eff-ing politicians are all the same, shameful cynical liars.
I am NO fan of Joan burton, but she did say the government had made no decision, so could not answer. It is hilarious sf complaining about never getting a straight answer as they never give one themselves!!!
It was definitely a stunt by Sinn Fein, no doubt at all, to take the heat off them and also to rouse support for themselves. To assume it was not premeditated move by Sinn Fein is naïve and unfortunately the govt are like a puppet to sf who are masters of manipulation…god help us if they get power
I think the ceann comhairle over reacts and is not able to do his job
I also strongly believe that when the tone of the Dail was seriously lowered by allowing our ministers to dress as they please then the respect for the Dail and in turn the people of Ireland was totally lost
Shamefully diverting attention away from the IRA paedo scandal by jumping on the water bandwagon, SF politicians are no different to the other liar politicians.
When CC requesteded her to be removed from the chamber , then where were the gardai whose job it is to remove people from the chamber and this should have been done first regardless of anything else . Respect for democracy comes before any ideology this SF/IRA mob can throw out . Mary the next time you are asked to go …..go and that applies to all TD,s regardless of colour or creed .
A little strange how the blue section hasn’t changed in the last few hours since I clicked on it. Now I know many of my friends have clicked on it since…. rigged me thinks…
Well it’s clear from comments on the earlier thread on here that the ardent SF supporter has no qualms supporting a leader who knows more about the moving of child sex abusers to our communities than he is letting on. If you question them on this your some sort of FG plant. If you oppose water charges and have lost faith in the government, you have the option of voting for the socialist party, Joe Higgins is a decent man unlike Gerry Adams .
If we Live in a democracy why is the Ceann Comhairle always coming down on the side of the Government ? It was Leaders question time. Why did Barrett not make burton answer the question she was asked from the opposition? The Ceann Comhairle might as well sit on the Government bench! The Ceann Comhairle of the Dail is elected by the party in power at the time! How on earth is he meant to be bias? The Government have stated that Irish water can not be privatized! Yes the natural resource which is water can not be privatized. but the company that calls it self IW can be privatized. which is going to happen very soon
fair play to her i tune in every week to watch the leaders questions and 80% of the time the government spokes person weather be it the Taoiseach or Joan or who ever is answering seem to take great delight in avoiding the questions they are being asked by the opposition and go on and answer a completely different question that was not even spoken about doesn’t matter who the question is from FF , SF ,or the technical group there is 100% contempt towards the opposition this must be the the NEW politics Enda spoke about before being elected a DICTATORSHIP
If it wasn’t a stunt, then how did the sit-in suddenly end just in time for Mary Lou to go preening in front of the cameras for the early evening news?
of course it was a stunt. Burton wisely kept her counsel…. McDonald was looking for her to tell out of school, as she did when she talked of a family being charged €200pa…
And SF need to get the spotlight off them.. And how better than do this than a populist nonsensical gesture.. More fool Sean Barrett for falling into her trap…
So let me get this straight, the IRA never existed it was Gerry Adams on his own all along. Now wonder we never could catch them. And was the question to J Burton not about water charges, nothing to do with abuse or is that another thing I missed
Can I not vote that “it was justified and a political stunt”?
Cases like this and the majority of political motivations fall into a grey area and it seems counter productive to diminish the discussion to a “Yes or No” / Black and WHite discussion.
The SDLP have just told SF/IRA to get stuffed, SF appear more toxic than ebola nd rightly so and they continue to protect child rapists. their behaviour in recent weeks has laid bee how truly disgusting they really are. no an ounce of morals between them.
You have more Chance of winning the Lottery or finding a Unicorn than getting a straight “Honest” answer from an Irish Politician… Just look at any Dail footage
As SF/IRA continue to play politics, endless amounts of abusers are prey on our communities. mary lou is completely morally bankrupt and her little stunt just confirmed how pathetic the chief apologist really is.
SF are going to have some job trying to deflect their latest crimes against humanity, it appear the irish people have a problem with raping children even if SF think the decent lads of the ira were entitled to rape children
Id you’d ask this question 5 years ago it wouldn’t be a 51% but 80% the people who thinks it a political stunt. But that’s what this climate of uncertainty brings into society, people turning into nut jobs following a party full of them.
The sit in was ridiculous but Joan Burton has continually and repeatedly tap danced around answering questions in a finite and straight forward way. I think if she can’t answer such questions – she should resign!
The people want answers, Mary Lou representing the people, demanded answers. Will this charge be taken from welfare or wages?? The fact that the question cannot be answered means that it has been considered.
Debunked: Brennans didn't recently apply for Halal certification (but Muslims can eat it anyway)
1 hr ago
splitting the stones
High pressure 'omega block' means warm and sunny spells are here to stay until next week
1 hr ago
RIP
'An uber-creative firecracker': Tributes as film star Val Kilmer dies aged 65
9 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 161 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 110 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 143 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 113 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 39 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 35 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 134 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 61 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 74 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 37 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 46 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 27 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 92 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 99 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 72 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 53 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 88 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 69 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say