You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Mary Lou McDonald Leah Farrell

Mary Lou says she was subjected to 'very invasive' security searches in the US

The Sinn Féin deputy leader intends to meet with the US ambassador to Ireland about the matter.

MARY LOU MCDONALD has claimed she was subjected to “heavy-handed and very invasive” security searches when she left the US last week and intends to meet with the US ambassador to Ireland over the matter.

The Sinn Féin deputy leader was speaking in the wake of the controversy over the White House’s refusal to allow Gerry Adams to attend an event to mark St Patrick’s Day last week.

The Secret Service later apologised for what it said was an “administrative error” that prevented Adams from attending the event. But the Sinn Féin leader said today he would be writing to the White House about the matter

Asked what he would be saying in his letter, Adams said that while he accepts the apology, he does not accept the explanation for him being refused entry.

Speaking at Leinster House today, McDonald said: “I was subjected, along with my colleagues, to not just rigorous, but what I consider heavy-handed and very invasive security searches.

I challenged that situation, as I have on each occasion that we’ve been leaving the United States, and I intend to follow it up.

“I’ll be meeting with the ambassador, we’ll be talking to the authorities because this shouldn’t be happening. It’s completely unnecessary.”

It’s completely, at this stage, almost off the wall to be pursuing people like us in this manner. Certainly people have to be kept safe and all the rest of it. We represent absolutely no threat to anybody and I think they know that.

McDonald said that Sinn Féin representatives have been subjected to this level of security checks while entering and leaving the United States for a number of years, but said events at the White House last week had brought the matter to a head.

The administration in the US is well aware that Sinn Féin and the leadership of Sinn Féin over many years have been architects of the peace process, are a force for good, for positivity, for democracy.

“And whereas stringent security is defensible, singling people out, it seems to me simply on the basis of your political view, is not an acceptable thing to do.

Adams said it took upto an hour for Sinn Féin representatives to make it through the security check process, and added:

Those of us who need visas or visa waivers have to send a detailed itinerary to the appropriate agency and through the consular services here in this country and we do that. We also have to give notice of our intention to travel and we do that as well.

“So all of the agencies on the other side, and indeed on this side, have great detail on what our travelling plans are. So there’s no excuse that we should be treated the way we’re being treated.”

Read: Adams defends “back of the bus” remark after White House mix-up

Read: Secret Service regrets “administrative input error” that kept Gerry Adams from White House event

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

169 Comments
    Mute Jakim Berndsen
    Favourite Jakim Berndsen
    Mar 22nd 2016, 11:06 AM

On a day where people have died at the hand of terrorists, May Lou calls out a country for carrying out the very searches that are designed to stop this happening. Typical “woe is me” bollocks coming from Sein Fein. How about a bit of common sense and realising there’s potentially more important things happening in the world than your personal convenience, rather than coming across a self centered heartless bitch?

Mute Kerry Wynne
    Favourite Kerry Wynne
    Mar 22nd 2016, 11:33 AM

More distortion from Hugh O’Connell spinning this to suit a particular agenda. Mary Lou was asked about this by a gaggle of ‘journalists’ outside the Dáil. What was she supposed to do? Ignore the question, refuse to answer? Just imagine the headlines if that had happened.
    When will contributors realise that there is clear agenda at work here. Not the first time nor I am sure will it be the last that Hugh has done this.

Mute Kerry Wynne
    Favourite Kerry Wynne
    Mar 22nd 2016, 12:03 PM

Shame the ‘journalists’ continually ignore Fine Gael and Noonan’s link to this http://www.broadsheet.ie/2016/02/24/grace-noonan-and-monageer/ No questions there or big headlines. Silence is deafening

Mute Lapmo_Dancer
    Favourite Lapmo_Dancer
    Mar 22nd 2016, 12:44 PM

Yep, Hugh obviously hacked into her Twitter account and posted the photo of her boarding card.

Mute Mr Phil Officer
    Favourite Mr Phil Officer
    Mar 22nd 2016, 1:13 PM

The boarding pass picture was posted on the 19th well before the awful circumstances today, but that doesn’t stop the dogs in the media or some commentators here unashamedly trying connect them both.
    Using today’s atrocities in Brussels to make political hay here in Ireland is a new low for some in the media.

Mute John R
    Favourite John R
    Mar 22nd 2016, 1:33 PM

Phil Officer, “dogs in the media”? Next thing we know you’ll be talking about “capitalist running dogs”.

The events in Brussels today are awful But it was not too long ago that SF were supporting and endorsing similar events. They still justify the terrorist atrocities to this day including the bombing of innocent civilians. Security services have very long memories. Live with it.

Mute Peter McGlynn
    Favourite Peter McGlynn
    Mar 22nd 2016, 1:39 PM

Inconsistencies is what she’s calling out. Politically motivated inconsistencies.

Seems if you don’t support rendition flights you’re s security risk.

Mute Mr Phil Officer
    Favourite Mr Phil Officer
    Mar 22nd 2016, 1:56 PM

JohnR, using a 3 day old picture and a quote from yesterday and somehow managing to tie them to events happening today, it’s unashamedly opportunistic and takes stretching of the context to a whole new level.

Mute Pat Comer
    Favourite Pat Comer
    Mar 22nd 2016, 2:17 PM

When it suits her, she refuses to answer.

Mute jane
    Favourite jane
    Mar 22nd 2016, 4:13 PM

Given the day that’s in it she should have kept her mouth shut, she’s an experienced politician and should have known better.

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Mar 22nd 2016, 10:58 AM

America is tough in terrorists and their sympathisers what did she expect?

Mute Cosmo Kramer
    Favourite Cosmo Kramer
    Mar 22nd 2016, 11:05 AM

Eh you do know that FG came from Michael Collins IRA don’t you.. FG/FF and Labour all came from “Terrorist” pasts.. Why do you think they’re all trying to brush over the anniversary of the Rising..

Mute Dave Meagher
    Favourite Dave Meagher
    Mar 22nd 2016, 11:26 AM

Except America is the world’s no.1 one terrorist. 227 years at war , only one declaration of war.

Mute f m
    Favourite f m
    Mar 22nd 2016, 11:42 AM

I’m sure they treat members of the British Royal Family the same when they visit the US ….

Mute Apu Mohammed
    Favourite Apu Mohammed
    Mar 22nd 2016, 12:39 PM

Good old Mary in Business class row 12

Representing the common people

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Mar 22nd 2016, 12:42 PM

So much whataboutery lads! Martin Ferris was delayed as well, but considering he’s a convicted terrorist who illegally imported arms purchased from that well know freedom fighter – and once America’s most wanted man, Whitey Bolger – why is this a surprise to them? It’s only homeland security doing their job properly.

Mute Jurgen Remak
    Favourite Jurgen Remak
    Mar 22nd 2016, 11:01 AM

You are welcome not to go back to the US if you find security too onerous. Always the victims.

Mute William T Smith
    Favourite William T Smith
    Mar 22nd 2016, 5:47 PM

any chance of you going back Jurgen?

Mute Bronagh NicAmhlaoibh
    Favourite Bronagh NicAmhlaoibh
    Mar 22nd 2016, 11:06 AM

Outrageous!! It’s as if the political party she is in was or is linked to a terrorist group!! Oh wait…. Do you really expect airport security to trust you Mary Lou? They don’t trust children or the elderly enough to leave them with their shoes or belts, why should they trust former terrorists and their associates?

Mute Fergal Concannon
    Favourite Fergal Concannon
    Mar 22nd 2016, 11:46 AM

Fianna Fáil and Fine Gael were both connected to terror organisations, read some history.
    The war is over, let’s not bring it back.
    Arguments like yours sound like they come from the spin machine of the other parties. She is an elected representative in our national parliament not a terrorist.

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg
    Mar 22nd 2016, 12:01 PM

If you have to go back almost 100 years you really are clutching at straws Fergal. Unfortunately I remember the murder and mayhem aided by people who have connections with Sinn Fein right now.

Mute Paul Mc
    Favourite Paul Mc
    Mar 22nd 2016, 12:25 PM

Reg the only dodgy people Mary Lou associated with were Fianna Fail people, that was when she was young and foolish

Mute Fergal Concannon
    Mar 22nd 2016, 12:26 PM

Dear Reg,
    That is an idiotic statement, we now have peace. Murder and Mayhem are truly terrible things but at a certain point we have to stop the hatred. It seems that people who comment on the Journal don’t understand that.
    May I ask if you were directly affected by terrorism or extreme violence yourself? I have been and they have been the most terrible and horrible experiences I have ever been exposed to. We have to stop looking back, whether it is 5, 10, 100, 1000 years and so on….
    Stop playing into the hands of the other political parties, we had a peace process and now we have peace.
    I am most definitely not a Sinn Fein supporter but I do support democracy and the future improvement of all our lives.

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg
    Mar 22nd 2016, 12:29 PM

I used to be very friendly with someone who’s brother was murdered by the IRA Fergal, so while not quite a direct connection it’s a connection Fergal.

Mute Fergal Concannon
    Mar 22nd 2016, 12:37 PM

Reg,
    That is not nice and I sincerely am sorry for what happened. I am not nor have I ever been a sympathiser for any act of terror but I am truly glad that it is over.
    I see the results of terror action regularly and have witnessed many acts similar to your friends brothers murder (and it is clearly murder, no cause is above that), but I do have the understanding that when you decide that it has to end that it must. You cannot keep revisiting, this keeps the hatred alive, we are a different society. Like it or not Mary Lou is a representative of the views of the people that elected her. The fact that they are afforded different treatment to the other snakes that travelled to the US will of course upset them. We are an example to the world of somewhere that has tried to fix the hurt, there is way too much of it in the world today so people knocking the results of our peace process are in turn damaging the efforts of others in other regions.

Mute John R
    Favourite John R
    Mar 22nd 2016, 1:36 PM

Fergal, you are very earnest but SF are only reaping what they have sowed. Tough. Not everyone is so quick to forget as you are.

Mute Fergal Concannon
    Mar 22nd 2016, 1:47 PM

John R, the political community and the systems in place agreed that we had a peace process. There were more than the Sinn Fein side involved here. They have been voted in democratically and there are a large percentage of people who support them (and not because they are the terrorist party). I don’t agree with their politics but I do respect others (don’t harp back to the past to argue against that point, we have documents signed and agreed upon by everyone that negate that argument)

I work in places where people are killed all the time over race,religion,politics and many more stupid reasons so I can tell you quite sincerely that people who are not willing to move forward are going to bring us back to where we were.
    Unless you were directly affected you have no business taking offence on behalf of other people, taking offence on behalf of other people shows a complete lack of understanding how humans should evolve.

Mute TheBull
    Favourite TheBull
    Mar 22nd 2016, 1:59 PM

Fergal, a current SF TD collected a convicted Garda killer from prison a few years ago, after the good Friday deal, and threw him a party. That’s the type of skum that are in SF.

Mute Pat Comer
    Favourite Pat Comer
    Mar 22nd 2016, 2:08 PM

It is ridiculous to suggest that FF and FG were once connected to terrorists. That is almost 100 years ago, how many currently elected members of FG or FF have been associated with terrorists or been convicted of terrorism ? On the other hand how many SF elected members have? Enough said!

Mute Aron Donnelly
    Favourite Aron Donnelly
    Mar 22nd 2016, 9:39 PM

Was your friend’s brother a British soldier by any chance?

Mute Fergal Concannon
    Mar 22nd 2016, 10:03 PM

Pat comer, you are saying then that it was ok 100 years ago for people to support terrorists? To allow them form governments was ok?
    De Valera was probably one of the worst people we had running our country, he was a true criminal who kept this country as his personal fiefdom and helped build the gombeen sense of entitlement that his successors possess.
    It’s not up to you to close the argument with that statement by the way. We have peace in this country and like it or not the way it was achieved had to include Sinn Fein.
    I’m am not trying to be rude or rise people but I do believe that our democratically elected officials deserve to be treated the same and that when we agree that the problems from the past are over then we cannot keep revisiting and reopening wounds.

Mute The Girl
    Favourite The Girl
    Mar 22nd 2016, 11:00 AM

Could it be due to the history of party you’re associated with? Double check…

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg
    Mar 22nd 2016, 11:21 AM

The US can implement whatever security checks it sees fit. Less than 15 years ago 3000 people died beacuse of poor security. If you don’t like it Mary Lou don’t travel there!

Mute Fergal Concannon
    Mar 22nd 2016, 12:43 PM

Reg,
    I flew through New York a few weeks ago and they expedited security (they opened the gates and let everyone through without any checks). How did that help?
    How does putting a member of a national parliament through the extra special security checks help in any way? when does it end?

Mute Patrick Gough
    Favourite Patrick Gough
    Mar 22nd 2016, 12:51 PM

Maybe the security man was a relative of June mcconville?

Mute Stephen Glynn
    Favourite Stephen Glynn
    Mar 22nd 2016, 2:02 PM

Fergal, what an absolute and utter lie!!! Pure bollox, they added hand swabs in JFK and La Guardia since January and upped security, increasing security check times. Expedited? Pure rubbish, Im actually really angry at home much of a lie this is like!

They are even as tough with internal flights, to their own, let alone International Flights. Genuine muck of a comment and I hope to god everyone reading sees straight through that bullshite comment.

Mute Fergal Concannon
    Mar 22nd 2016, 2:15 PM

Stephen,
    It was in the Jetblue terminal in JFK. I was flying to Haiti. They did expedite the security and it shocked me.
    I fly more often than most (including aircrew) and it was the most unusual thing i have ever experienced in JFK.

I’m sorry if my comment angered you. I have been through JFK 8 times since January and never have I had a hand swab.

Mute P. ENNIS
    Favourite P. ENNIS
    Mar 22nd 2016, 11:05 AM

She had to go through no more than the average irish person has to go through on occasion… if she was stripped searched like i was when entering Australia from a flight from Thailand years ago because a sniffer dog fancied me… She would really have some thing to complain about..

Mute Jax Maxwel
    Favourite Jax Maxwel
    Mar 22nd 2016, 11:17 AM

Well with a name like that their bound to want to see it to be fair,

Mute СIΔЯΔИ FΔЯЯΞLLY
    Favourite СIΔЯΔИ FΔЯЯΞLLY
    Mar 22nd 2016, 11:03 AM

Terrorist in a suit. What did he expect? If he wasn’t a politician he wouldn’t of even been let into the country in the first place.

Mute W1K
    Favourite W1K
    Mar 22nd 2016, 10:59 AM

Don’t waste your time Mary, they won’t care.

Mute KerryBlueMike
    Favourite KerryBlueMike
    Mar 22nd 2016, 11:19 AM

Mary love, you are in tow with people who have maimed and killed in the recent past.Maybe security should be upgraded at the big hotels where your party hold the massive fund raisers in the United States, attended by the gullible and stupid.
    Maybe I’m a bit harsh but I come from The same county as the late detective Garda Gerry McCabe, may he rest in peace.

Mute Alan Kelly
    Favourite Alan Kelly

I’m from that same county and my father was a guard at the time so that doesn’t excuse your ignorance. Without Sinn Fein there would not have been a peace process or the GFA.

Mute .
    Favourite .
    Mar 22nd 2016, 11:38 AM

Yes but without SF and the IRA conflict would have ended much sooner

Mute Fergal Concannon
    Mar 22nd 2016, 1:51 PM

Hey Alan Kelly, look at the moronic response from the the guy called ‘.’
    It is amazing that people are also forgetting that there were 2 sides to the conflict in NI (again, I don’t condone nor have I ever condoned any of the terrorist actions from either side). Way to go Irish education system, instead of using this to teach others that conflicts can be resolved people are using it to attack.

Mute Gerry Ryan deG
    Favourite Gerry Ryan deG
    Mar 22nd 2016, 11:25 AM

If a month previous to a visit to the USA you make National headlines for your support of ‘Slab’ then I’d say no matter who you are the Special Security kicks in and that would apply to anyone in my opinion.

Mute Alan Kennedy
    Favourite Alan Kennedy
    Mar 22nd 2016, 11:21 AM

Sure, and when the average traveler is subject to extra security screening we get to go whinge to the American Ambassador about it too, right?

Mute Fergal Concannon
    Mar 22nd 2016, 11:48 AM

Actually if it happens regularly you should of course make a complaint. Databases need to be updated sometimes

Mute Alan Kelly
    Favourite Alan Kelly

To be fair to the Americans they can do as they like with their own security.

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul

I hope that Business Ticket was fubded out of Mary own pocket, you know given the SF principals of wastung taxpayers money

Mute Cowboy Paddy
    Favourite Cowboy Paddy
    Mar 22nd 2016, 11:44 AM

Your right 12F is a business class ticket if my memory holds well.

Mute Fergal Concannon
    Mar 22nd 2016, 11:51 AM

Travel for holidays merits economy, she was going on a short trip representing the Irish people who supported them so it makes sense to travel business class. Would you prefer half asleep people representing you? ( I know you will say she doesn’t represent you but apparently she represents the people who voted her in, that’s democracy for you

Mute Drew TheChinaman :)
    Favourite Drew TheChinaman :)
    Mar 22nd 2016, 11:59 AM

12F is an economy seat, business stops at Row 7 on the Aer Lingus twin aisle…

Not only that it’s a crappy middle seat.

Mute Not_Rod_Ten©
    Favourite Not_Rod_Ten©
    Mar 22nd 2016, 12:08 PM

I pity the poor chap that had to listen to her nonsense for 6 hours

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg
    Mar 22nd 2016, 11:14 AM

Is Mary Lou the new face of Loreal….because she’s worth it?

Mute anthony campion
    Favourite anthony campion
    Mar 22nd 2016, 1:02 PM

Until she gets to the buffet then all bets are off

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Mar 22nd 2016, 11:08 AM

If you don’t like the food then stay out of the kitchen…..

Mute Jeff Nolan
    Favourite Jeff Nolan
    Mar 22nd 2016, 11:36 AM

Their country, their rules…

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw
    Mar 22nd 2016, 11:39 AM

Does SSSS stand for Shinner Special Snowflake Society?

Who do they think they are? Talk about an entitlement complex!

Mar 22nd 2016, 12:01 PM

It stands for Secondary Screening Security Selection…

Mute Daithi
    Favourite Daithi
    Mar 22nd 2016, 11:34 AM

Sad day when a Shinner can’t even go to ‘merica and fund raise anymore.

Mute Brendan Walsh
    Favourite Brendan Walsh
    Mar 22nd 2016, 12:09 PM

Only a special class of idiot would complain about strict airport security on a day like today. You and everyone were safe due to those measures, Mary Lou. Be thankful.

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Favourite Neal Ireland Hello
    Mar 22nd 2016, 12:18 PM

In fairness, the quote is from yesterday.

Mute MrsWoman
    Favourite MrsWoman
    Mar 22nd 2016, 12:21 PM

You align yourself with a political party that consists of murdering s(umbag sympathisers. U.S. treatment was too good for ye Mary Lou.

Mute gerry meagher
    Favourite gerry meagher
    Mar 22nd 2016, 12:14 PM

Always the victim. How can I outdo gorry ?

Mute Damocles
    Favourite Damocles

A bloke I know was on a multi city US business trip and he got flagged up for special scrutiny.

10 US cities, checks at every one.

Not a happy bunny.

She should count herself lucky.

[Later that same year his girlfriend left him and took his PS3. Still, you have to laugh.]

Mute Patrick Gough
    Favourite Patrick Gough
    Mar 22nd 2016, 1:00 PM

I know that fellow damocles. that same day he caught his micky in a mouse trap. terrible terrible bad luck

Mute Damocles
    Favourite Damocles
    Mar 22nd 2016, 1:43 PM

You know Paul?

Mute Rob O'H
    Favourite Rob O'H
    Mar 22nd 2016, 11:07 AM

“FG came from Michael Collins IRA”? Couldn’t be more the opposite. Formed out of Sinn Fein by de Valera after Cosgrave made it illegal to run for office without the intention of taking the oath. Something that Collins agreed to. If you’re going to make a stand, at least get your facts straight. Muppet.

Mute AntiTreeHugger
    Favourite AntiTreeHugger
    Mar 22nd 2016, 11:59 AM

Yeah. The US are tough on Terrorism so she can expect that

Mute Christopher Mulrooney
    Favourite Christopher Mulrooney

I’m surprised Fine Gael/Fianna Fáil and Labour don’t suffer security checks like Sein fein does i mean Joan Burton and Eamon Gilmore were members of the IRA but apparently no is allowed to mention that and the fact that several members of Fine Gael/Fianna Fáil were members too i don’t see why Sein fein get’s singled out like this.

Also do people not realise where Fine Gael/Fianna Fáil and labour were born from?

They were born from Sein fein as it was the original political party created in 1905 years before the other 3 parties existed and then years later they split from Sein fein because of different ideology.

What my point is that if Fine Gael/Fianna Fáil and labour supporters are going to attack Sein fein for links to the IRA you have to remember that your parties have links to the IRA too remember that.

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg
    Mar 22nd 2016, 11:43 AM

Back to the PlayStation or Xbox for you.

Mute .
    Favourite .

That was a different IRA with a mandate from the 1918 election The provisional IRA in NI did not have a mandate for their terrorist campaigns Only even the IRA promised to stop did SF win elections Do you agree the IRA army council still had a mandate from the 1918 election

Mute Cornelius Talmadge
    Favourite Cornelius Talmadge
    Mar 22nd 2016, 12:02 PM

Joan Burton and Eamonn Gilmore were in the ra?! WTF??!

Mute Aron Donnelly
    Favourite Aron Donnelly
    Mar 22nd 2016, 9:48 PM

Eamon Gilmore was at one time a member of a party which never denied it’s association with the OIRA. The said party was the Workers’ Party formerly known as Sinn Féin: The Workers’ Party and as Official Sinn Féin the political wing of the Official IRA or the Stickies.

Mute Jimmy jones
    Favourite Jimmy jones
    Mar 22nd 2016, 1:04 PM

Will you ever stop the whingeing Sinn Fein – god almighty .

I have been given thorough searches going through US airports . Im sure they were very civil and polite to you throughout.

Mute Mindfulirish
    Favourite Mindfulirish
    Mar 22nd 2016, 1:06 PM

She is SF/IRA —- what do you expect? I bet the relatives of the Belguim bombers will get the same treatment for years to come everywhere they go.

Mute Alan Kelly
    Favourite Alan Kelly
    Mar 22nd 2016, 11:46 AM

Without IRA there wouldn’t have been a conflict and catholics in NI would still be treated as second class citizens. Would that have been a better way for life on this island should you have been born wrong side of the border into the wrong religious beliefs of your parents. Seriously dot, that was really an uninformed statement. Maybe think before posting

Mute .
    Favourite .
    Mar 22nd 2016, 11:53 AM

Most of the discrimination against Catholics was gone by 1975 IRA campaign after that was for a united Ireland Do you really thing the Enniskillen bomb was trying to end discrimination against Catholics

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Mar 22nd 2016, 2:46 PM

And most of that discrimination was gone because of democrats like John Hume,Seamus Mallon and Austin Curry, who chose the path of peace and rejected the IRA murder campaign.

Mute the phantom
    Favourite the phantom
    Mar 22nd 2016, 1:37 PM

The entourage that Sinn Fein take with them are far more likely to be smugglers than the average punter. So it makes sense to search them more than the average punter.
    Hey always seem to employer people with convictions in various roles. One can hardly expect he US authorities to having to differentiate between different types of convictions.

Mute Buster VL
    Favourite Buster VL
    Mar 22nd 2016, 12:36 PM

Cop on Mary Lou.
    Its the price of freedom!

Mute Keith Murray
    Favourite Keith Murray
    Mar 22nd 2016, 11:13 AM

That’s because the Irish govt are German patsy’s lol

Mute mr magoo
    Favourite mr magoo
    Mar 22nd 2016, 12:20 PM

SF are a political party that now represent many many Irish people so all you Conservative ,Thatherite , poppy wreath laying, Merkel licking, God save the queen types will just have to suck it up . Its not going away you know, lol

Mute Fintan Doyle
    Favourite Fintan Doyle
    Mar 22nd 2016, 1:42 PM

Seat 12F. Sounds like Mary turned left when she entered the plane, not politically of course

Mute Gerry White
    Favourite Gerry White
    Mar 22nd 2016, 1:00 PM

what’s that saying about lying down with dogs etc. – it springs to mind

Mute John B
    Favourite John B
    Mar 22nd 2016, 1:40 PM

No doubt, even as I type, President Obama is assembling a team to deal with this international relations crisis. Ha ha ha ha ha ha. Poor Mary.

Mute Zeus Hendy
    Favourite Zeus Hendy
    Mar 22nd 2016, 12:47 PM

For a crowd fighting for a united Ireland wouldn’t you think they would celebrate their national day at home. Keeping them in the spotlight.

Mute SteoG
    Favourite SteoG
    Mar 22nd 2016, 2:12 PM

Ahhh poor Mary lou got tainted by the smell of Slabs dirty diesel.

Mute Rory
    Favourite Rory
    Mar 22nd 2016, 12:48 PM

Anything for PR

Mar 22nd 2016, 11:55 AM

Those 4 S’s are randomly generated by a computer process and indicate special or additional screening… Been through it a dozen times. Nothing special just bad luck.

Mute Fergal Concannon
    Mar 22nd 2016, 12:46 PM

That’s not true, it is not random (if it happens every time how can it be random)

Mute Gareth Cooney
    Favourite Gareth Cooney
    Mar 22nd 2016, 12:34 PM

Clean drawers Mary, remember what your mother always told you.

Mute richiecallaghan
    Favourite richiecallaghan
    Mar 22nd 2016, 3:11 PM

The poor sniffer dog at the airport I’d say he passed out with the wiff of Mary Lou’s false tan.

Mute Jim Lahy
    Favourite Jim Lahy
    Mar 22nd 2016, 1:40 PM

God love those poor searchers

Mute Joe Smith
    Favourite Joe Smith
    Mar 22nd 2016, 12:33 PM

:) good one Dave, they searched her knickers and found 50lb of crack

Mute Rob O'H
    Favourite Rob O'H
    Mar 22nd 2016, 11:17 AM

FG came from de Valera, who formed it as a break away group from SF who refused to take the oath. When Cosgrave made it illegal to run for election without the intention of taking the oath, after O’Higgins was murdered, de Valera declared the oath (worth going to Civil War 5 years earlier) an ‘empty formula’ and took his seat. That’s Eamon de Valera, not Alan Rickman.

Mute Rob O'H
    Favourite Rob O'H
    Mar 22nd 2016, 11:39 AM

FG came from Michael Collins IRA… FG was formed by de Valera out of SF after Cosgrave made it illegal to run for election without the intention of taking the oath, after O’Higgins was murdered. De Valera declared the oath an ‘empty formula’ 5 years after it was enough to take the country to Civil War. That’s Eamon de Valera, not Alan Rickman, in case you were wondering.

Mute Brian Cowan
    Favourite Brian Cowan
    Mar 22nd 2016, 1:28 PM

In fairness, she prob looked like she was wearing a belt under her cloths

Mute Patrick Gough
    Favourite Patrick Gough
    Mar 22nd 2016, 12:58 PM

Why was she there. she’s not in government. why not luke ming or paul Murphy on free junket?

Mute alphanautica
    Favourite alphanautica
    Mar 22nd 2016, 5:55 PM

Business class Travellers like Mary Lou should not be subjected to such trauma.

It’s a few years since the last murder, beating or bank robbery from SF’s associates, and at least a decade since Gerry has been to a North Korean dictator’s birthday party, or the IRA has trained terrorists or cuddled up to Gaddafi.

The US are just being hypersensitive. Ridiculous in the globally peaceful times we live in.

Mute Paul Mitchell
    Favourite Paul Mitchell
    Mar 22nd 2016, 4:31 PM

Spare a thought for the poor customs official who had to carry out the search.

Mute Alan Kelly
    Favourite Alan Kelly

Stupid comment dot, think about it

Mute Terry McClatchey
    Favourite Terry McClatchey
    Mar 22nd 2016, 12:13 PM

Alan, not at all a stupid comment from Dot. Can you tell us what civil rights you think we’re achieved after “one man, one vote” and the setting up of the housing executive, education and library boards and health & social services boards? The important civil rights were all achieved in spite of rather than because of shootings and bombings.

Mute JJ O Riordan
    Favourite JJ O Riordan
    Mar 22nd 2016, 8:59 PM

She’s a member of the political wing of a terrorist organisation. If she wasn’t subject to thorough security checks it’d be massively negligent.

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw
    Mar 22nd 2016, 2:31 PM

Tell that to Mary Lou in business class!

Mute Ahleaveitout
    Favourite Ahleaveitout
    Mar 22nd 2016, 5:21 PM

Good I’m glad. Pity the poor officer that had to do it

Mute TheBull
    Favourite TheBull
    Mar 22nd 2016, 3:16 PM

Fergal? Fergal, where are you? Oh, you can’t argue with facts.

Mute barry murphy
    Favourite barry murphy
    Mar 22nd 2016, 6:09 PM

the unfortunate fella who had to be invasive with Mary lou

Mute Stephen Glynn
    Favourite Stephen Glynn
    Mar 22nd 2016, 2:13 PM

Has no one else noticed that the image she has posted is FROM JFK to DUBLIN?
    That would mean she has Secondary Screening on her exit, not entrance??
    Would that not be a bit of a different story to the one she is waffling on about?

Mute Gerard Heery
    Favourite Gerard Heery
    Mar 22nd 2016, 1:37 PM

Me thinks enda up too his usual shanaigans against seine fein, had a word with US security ,

Mute Dublin Independence
    Favourite Dublin Independence
    Mar 22nd 2016, 8:19 PM

Maybe she shouldn’t have out Up the Ra on her suitcase

Mute SMcB
    Favourite SMcB
    Mar 22nd 2016, 8:43 PM

Is it not true that ALL people attending were asked to turn up at least an hour before the event. I understand that Adams rocked up with a few minutes to spare on the clock. SF are learning fast that there’s no special treatment given on Capitol Hill anymore….

Mute Ciaran O'Brien
    Favourite Ciaran O'Brien
    Mar 22nd 2016, 7:25 PM

Wonder if they found any bodies.

Mute Joe Smith
    Favourite Joe Smith
    Mar 22nd 2016, 2:46 PM

Richard you are in the running for dope of the month award, you can add it to your collection

Mute camio55
    Favourite camio55
    Mar 22nd 2016, 10:58 PM

Yet again SF are victims. They are past masters at playing the victim card , they seem to forget that they supported those that sent many innocent people to their graves. Those victims cannot express their frustration at their untimely demise. What a twisted psychotic bunch.

Mute Ulick McGee
    Favourite Ulick McGee
    Mar 22nd 2016, 2:21 PM

Show us your knickers Mary Lou. I think I need help.

Mute Richard Cynical
    Favourite Richard Cynical
    Mar 22nd 2016, 2:07 PM

ghandi was a terrorist

Mute William T Smith
    Favourite William T Smith
    Mar 22nd 2016, 6:06 PM

Gotta love the USA, they hassle Mary-Lou while they let the war criminal Hillary Clinton run for president.

Mute Kaytron
    Favourite Kaytron
    Mar 22nd 2016, 12:26 PM

Is that not exactly what you just did?

Mute Kaytron
    Favourite Kaytron
    Mar 22nd 2016, 12:18 PM

Is that not what you just did?

Mute David B
    Favourite David B
    Mar 23rd 2016, 1:03 AM

What do you expect Mary Louise? Sinn Fein associated with a group that blew up civilian targets and killed children. Do you think the world has forgotten all that? Surprised they let ye into the US at all…

Mute Richie C
    Favourite Richie C
    Mar 22nd 2016, 7:40 PM

Up the bum, no harm done!

Mute Gerry Fallon
    Favourite Gerry Fallon
    Mar 22nd 2016, 9:47 PM

Hang on there, for once I agree with Mary lou.I believe she is right.It is very heavy handed going through any US airports .They knew well who she was.So blooming obvious why they did it.

Mute Larry Smierciak
    Favourite Larry Smierciak
    Mar 23rd 2016, 7:10 AM

The really funny thing is that she thinks TSA even have a clue who she or Sin Fein even are.

Mute blueman79
    Favourite blueman79
    Mar 22nd 2016, 12:52 PM

I wouldn’t mind gettin invasive with mary lou tbf….

Mar 23rd 2016, 3:03 AM

Enda must be calling another election soon then???

Mar 23rd 2016, 2:27 AM

Must have been done as a favour for Enda when he was there?

Mute Cathal Fitzgerald
    Favourite Cathal Fitzgerald
    Mar 22nd 2016, 7:23 PM

Test

Mute blueman79
    Favourite blueman79
    Mar 22nd 2016, 12:54 PM

I wouldn’t mind gettin invasive with mary lou tbf. . .

Mute Stephen Hamill
    Favourite Stephen Hamill
    Mar 22nd 2016, 11:42 PM

Even bigger well said .all I say is look at are history for god sake .YA PLEBS

Mute Aron Donnelly
    Favourite Aron Donnelly
    Mar 22nd 2016, 9:14 PM

West Brit