You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Sam Boal/Photocall Ireland

Bring your raincoat today: Orange alert issued for heavy rainfall

Rain, rain and more rain. We miss the heatwave.

WE’RE STILL (MILDLY) optimistic that the weather may get better for the bank holiday weekend –  but things aren’t boding well.

Quite the opposite, in fact: Met Eireann has taken the rare step of issuing an orange alert today to warn of seriously heavy rain throughout the country, while European forecasters have predicted that’s a chance of a tornado in Ireland (yes, really).

Forecasters say that up to 70 mm (7 centimetres) of rain may fall in parts of Munster and Connacht , while Leinster, Donegal, Monaghan and Cavan can expect between 30 and 50 mm over the course of the day. This may lead to flooding in some parts of the country.

Met Éireann’s rainfall radar shows a large clump of rain currently hitting the middle of the country:

(Image: Met Éireann)

And as if that weren’t enough (sorry), European storm forecasters have warned there’s also a risk that tornadoes could hit Ireland today.

The European Storm Forecast Experiment (Estofex) has issued a level 1 warning for the country, predicting severe wind gusts and tornadoes due an ‘intense’ weather pattern.

The Road Safety Authority has advised road users to take extra care today. “The changeable weather that’s being forecast for the coming days will present some very challenging road conditions for road users,” said RSA CEO Noel Brett.

He urged drivers to allow extra time to complete their journey, to use dipped headlights, and to keep a safe distance from other vehicles to allow a greater breaking distance.

(Image: Extofex.org)

Read: From dusk till dawn: Your stunning sunset and sunrise pictures >

Read: 9 signs you are struggling to cope with this weather >

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

65 Comments
    Mute Lloyd Christmas
    Favourite Lloyd Christmas
    Aug 1st 2013, 8:09 AM

It’s like the heat wave never happened, a distant memory

Mute Nelly
    Favourite Nelly
    Aug 1st 2013, 8:16 AM

During the heat wave the farmers were complaining about no rain.now they’ll be complaining about it been to wet

Mute Spud Jones
    Favourite Spud Jones
    Aug 1st 2013, 8:24 AM

Your point been Nelly?

See 14 more replies ▾
    Mute Spud Jones
    Favourite Spud Jones
    Aug 1st 2013, 8:25 AM

*being

Mute LittleBlackPetal
    Favourite LittleBlackPetal
    Aug 1st 2013, 8:35 AM

I think it’s fairly obvious what Nelly’s point is- Farmers are whingers regardless of the weather

Mute Eoin Foley
    Favourite Eoin Foley
    Aug 1st 2013, 8:35 AM

What the fliuch.

Mute Spud Jones
    Favourite Spud Jones
    Aug 1st 2013, 8:37 AM

What have farmers got to do with wether?

Mute Lloyd Christmas
    Favourite Lloyd Christmas
    Aug 1st 2013, 8:41 AM

I think their job depends on it

Mute Spud Jones
    Favourite Spud Jones
    Aug 1st 2013, 8:45 AM

So do painters, landscape gardeners,

Mute LittleBlackPetal
    Favourite LittleBlackPetal
    Aug 1st 2013, 8:45 AM

@spud- eh a lot! Their income depends on the produce they grow which relies on the weather.
    In fairness, you would think a spud would have better knowledge of a farm

Mute Nelly
    Favourite Nelly
    Aug 1st 2013, 8:57 AM

It’s funny that someone called spud has no clue the effect weather has on farmers produce.

Mute Spud Jones
    Favourite Spud Jones
    Aug 1st 2013, 9:01 AM

Land is as hard as a rock, flash flooding is on concern, the rain is welcomed after such a dry spell, I think it’s the lack of understanding of the lay person that adds a lot of confusion and stereotyping to the needs of the farming community. Comments like the ones above which are unfounded and are the ramblings of some one that is so far removed from such an institution would be better sticking to subjects they might have a clue about.

Mute Bruce
    Favourite Bruce
    Aug 1st 2013, 9:20 AM

Though not a farmer myself their point is obvious.

In farming there is a fine balance. The top layer of ground can dry up relatively quickly 5 – 7 days.

After a prolonged dry period when rain does come there is high risk of water logging. This results in plants effectively drowning.

(Just thought I would add a little fact based intelligence to the debate)

Mute Ted Carroll
    Favourite Ted Carroll

Jaysus lads I know the farmers are complaining about the weather whether it’s too wet/dry/hot/cold but the truth of the matter is we rely on the very same whingers to maintain our food supply. Easy in the city to forget that most of our food does actually originate from farmers fields.

Mute richardmccarthy
    Favourite richardmccarthy
    Aug 1st 2013, 9:35 AM

Its just as well you are not a farmer,their living is dependent on the weather.

Mute Sinead Fox
    Favourite Sinead Fox
    Aug 1st 2013, 9:56 AM

Nelly no farmers complaining out this way they were loving it! And all the hay it brought!

Mute SilentFugitive
    Favourite SilentFugitive
    Aug 1st 2013, 10:59 AM

If you didnt get your turf dragged during the good spell, you deserve to go cold this winter.

Mute Peter Lane
    Favourite Peter Lane
    Aug 1st 2013, 8:50 AM

I got to thinking that the heat wave was going to go on for ever…Just like the Celtic Tiger. Threw out all the rain-macs and umbrellas.

Mute David Jackson
    Favourite David Jackson
    Aug 1st 2013, 8:51 AM

The Blur gig tonight should be interesting.

Mute FlopFlipU
    Favourite FlopFlipU
    Aug 1st 2013, 8:16 AM

MAY lead to flooding And if you are caught out in it you might get wet

Mute Michelle Philpot
    Favourite Michelle Philpot
    Aug 1st 2013, 8:24 AM

Ta se an fliuch are fad!!

Mute Conor Conneally
    Favourite Conor Conneally
    Aug 1st 2013, 10:16 AM

There was an Orange alert in Belfast a few weeks ago

Mute Muriel Gowing
    Favourite Muriel Gowing
    Aug 1st 2013, 10:50 AM

A deluge of fat men in bowler hats and sashes

Mute Mick Stafford
    Favourite Mick Stafford
    Aug 1st 2013, 8:48 AM

I was watching the BBC weather forecast yesterday and it was all Southwesterly this and Celsius that.

In Ireland we just get 3 options “You’re grand”, “A bit of rain, bring an umbrella” or “Feck that, stay in bed”

Mute Ryan'O
    Favourite Ryan'O
    Aug 1st 2013, 9:38 AM

Good sunny spells with scattered showers and light to moderate winds. It covers all the basics.

Mute Fergal Reid
    Favourite Fergal Reid
    Aug 1st 2013, 9:52 AM

Met Eireann could run that every day and, so far as I know, may actually do so.

Mute Little Jim
    Favourite Little Jim
    Aug 1st 2013, 12:08 PM

If it doesn’t rain between the showers there’ll be some fine spells.

Mute John Paul Scallan
    Favourite John Paul Scallan
    Aug 1st 2013, 8:27 AM

I think I’ll leave watering the hedges today

Mute Keith Jack
    Favourite Keith Jack
    Aug 1st 2013, 8:15 AM

Met Eireann me hole

Mute Bruce
    Favourite Bruce
    Aug 1st 2013, 9:22 AM

Wow stunning intellect keith.

Mute Harygarford
    Favourite Harygarford
    Aug 1st 2013, 8:59 AM

Tornado Thursday?

Mute Stef Ruddell
    Favourite Stef Ruddell
    Aug 1st 2013, 9:19 AM

So, Blur tonight might actually be a blur!! Nooooooooooooo

Mute fergalreid
    Favourite fergalreid
    Aug 1st 2013, 8:42 AM

Calm down, guys. It’s not the easiest thing in the world to jazz up a gloomy weather forecast into an article you might actually want to read.

Mute Gary.
    Favourite Gary.
    Aug 1st 2013, 8:27 AM

“A chance of a tornado in Ireland (yes,really)”
    We have had tornados in Ireland before. On more than one occasion.

Mute Gaz McGoo
    Favourite Gaz McGoo
    Aug 1st 2013, 12:48 PM

Is that it?? OK good point. Well done.

Mute Damien Egan
    Favourite Damien Egan
    Aug 1st 2013, 8:29 AM

Must get the water proof sun location out.

Mute David Keogh
    Favourite David Keogh
    Aug 1st 2013, 10:51 AM

looks like rain Ted!

Mute tomeenoldstock
    Favourite tomeenoldstock
    Aug 1st 2013, 10:26 AM

Will the journal do a ” best pictures of the rain sent in by readers”?

Mute aurilton
    Favourite aurilton
    Aug 1st 2013, 8:28 AM

So don’t bring out your brolly today and wear the platforms to keep you grounded

Mute John Barnes
    Favourite John Barnes
    Aug 1st 2013, 8:34 AM

I think you might be confusing tornados with thunder and lightning

Mute Gary.
    Favourite Gary.
    Aug 1st 2013, 9:05 AM

John you obviously don’t look at the news. A few years ago a tornado passed through Clonee and flipped a few cars, not long after that footage of a tornado in Donegal was all over the news. Lightening is caused by the transfer of charge between ice particles from the upper atmosphere colliding with warmer water droplets rising up through the atmosphere. Thunder is basically the superheated air around a stream of electrons being compressed and vibrating causing a resonating effect between air currents. So no, I’m mistaking tornados with thunder and lightening.

Mute Ryan'O
    Favourite Ryan'O
    Aug 1st 2013, 9:36 AM

You’re mistaking yourself for Aurilton though!!! #Fail

Mute ieoinu
    Favourite ieoinu
    Aug 1st 2013, 11:10 AM

Would you not be better insulted than grounded in lightening?

Mute aurilton
    Favourite aurilton
    Aug 1st 2013, 11:32 AM

Ooh Gary & John…. Keep your hats on!! Just in case the comment was for moi …. Platforms have chunky heavy soles and they stop you being blown away by a strong wind!!

A lot of hot air in the atmosphere this morning ;)

Mute Metassus
    Favourite Metassus
    Aug 1st 2013, 12:11 PM

I’m curious. What exactly is ‘lightening’? ;)

Mute Colin McNamara
    Favourite Colin McNamara
    Aug 1st 2013, 12:41 PM

Nobody likes to be insulted.

Mute Gary.
    Favourite Gary.
    Aug 1st 2013, 1:05 PM

Aurilton, I didn’t say anything about your comment. My comment was aimed at John.

Mute Gary.
    Favourite Gary.
    Aug 1st 2013, 1:09 PM

John, I just realised your comment may not have been aimed at my original comment. It appeared under my first comment. Apologies if I got it wrong.

Mute Gary.
    Favourite Gary.
    Aug 1st 2013, 1:11 PM

Ryan O’ I think you are right. If fairness people should put the name of the person down on the comment.

Mute robby rottenest
    Favourite robby rottenest
    Aug 1st 2013, 12:21 PM

My poor hens. Last time it was that windy one of them laid the same egg twice!

Mute Damien Kelly
    Favourite Damien Kelly
    Aug 1st 2013, 9:42 AM

Thirty degrees and blue skies here in London :-P

Mute R
    Favourite R
    Aug 1st 2013, 11:51 AM

30 thumbs down :D

Mute Damien Kelly
    Favourite Damien Kelly
    Aug 1st 2013, 12:35 PM

lol

Mute Claire Young
    Favourite Claire Young
    Aug 1st 2013, 12:09 PM

BLURNADO!

Mute Patrick Cunningham
    Favourite Patrick Cunningham
    Aug 1st 2013, 10:04 AM

Ta se an fhliuch.

Mute Niall O'Dea
    Favourite Niall O'Dea
    Aug 1st 2013, 12:37 PM

33°C in London today. Can we swap please? I hate the heat and humidity. I would rather be in Ireland, actually I am going to Ireland Mid-August. I Can’t wait!

Mute ieoinu
    Favourite ieoinu
    Aug 1st 2013, 11:11 AM

Quick to the Ark with us!

Mute Little Jim
    Favourite Little Jim
    Aug 1st 2013, 12:12 PM

No way!
    The unicorns scare me.

Mute Emily O'Brien
    Favourite Emily O'Brien
    Aug 1st 2013, 10:12 AM

Well since it says on the estofex website that the maps are not accurate I’d doubt it

Mute Mundo7976
    Favourite Mundo7976

Deadly

Mute Milo O'Shaughnessy
    Favourite Milo O'Shaughnessy
    Aug 1st 2013, 10:40 AM

era yolo

Mute Ossi Fritsche
    Favourite Ossi Fritsche
    Aug 1st 2013, 12:20 PM

Rain Rain, Go Away, Don’t come back for another year.

Mute laura leogue
    Favourite laura leogue
    Aug 1st 2013, 11:22 AM

Tropical weather and tornadoes in the same month.. where else would you get it

Mute Bronagh Butler
    Favourite Bronagh Butler
    Aug 1st 2013, 4:41 PM

The wonderful land of Oz?

Mute mary cull
    Favourite mary cull
    Aug 1st 2013, 4:03 PM

In the late 30s in central London now.