You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

The area where the attack took place. Google Maps

Children from US Mormon community killed in Mexico ambush

At least three women and six children have been killed.

AT LEAST THREE women and six children from an American Mormon community based in northern Mexico have been killed in an ambush. 

Julian Lebaron said his cousin was on her way to the airport when she was attacked and shot in her car along with her four children in Rancho de la Mora, an area notorious for drug traffickers and bandits of all kinds.

“It was a massacre,” Lebaron, an activist who has denounced criminal groups in the area, told local station Formula Radio.

Lebaron said his relatives located the vehicle, which had been set on fire with the bodies of the victims inside.

Two other vehicles were found several hours later, containing the bodies of two more women and two children.

At least five other children, one of whom was shot and wounded, managed to escape and walk home, and one girl was reported missing after having run into the woods to hide, Lebaron added.

The Chihuahua state attorney general, Cesar Augusto Peniche, said the number of victims remains “confused”.

The attack took place on the border between the states of Chihuahua and Sonora near the border with the US. 

Julian Lebaron’s brother, Benjamin Lebaron, founder of a crime-fighting group called SOS Chihuahua, was assassinated in 2009.

The affected community is made up of descendants of Mormons who fled the US in the 19th century, after being persecuted for their traditions, including polygamy.

Many Mormons in Mexico enjoy dual Mexican and American citizenship.

Mexico has registered more than 250,000 murders since the government controversially deployed the army to fight drug trafficking in 2006.

Many experts blame the “drug war” for spiraling violence, as fragmented cartels battle each other and the army.

- © AFP 2019

View comments
Comments
    Mute Paddy Kavanagh
    Favourite Paddy Kavanagh
    Jan 18th 2016, 12:19 PM

jail time should be immposed on people who treat living animals this way. normally they are fined and banned from having animals which is like a slap on the wrist.

Mute Andrew Christian Troy
    Favourite Andrew Christian Troy
    Jan 18th 2016, 12:39 PM

Absolutely Jail Time.

Mute Karol Doran
    Favourite Karol Doran
    Jan 18th 2016, 1:19 PM

I vote for kick the head off them time too.

Mute Tweety McTweeter
    Favourite Tweety McTweeter
    Jan 18th 2016, 1:21 PM

Removal of state welfare and benefits would be no harm either

Jan 18th 2016, 1:36 PM

Our justice system doesn’t only let us down.

Mute gregory
    Favourite gregory
    Jan 18th 2016, 1:59 PM

Ask ur TD for Regulation and Enforcement. Election coming…. (makes my blood boil this)

Mute gregory
    Favourite gregory
    Jan 18th 2016, 2:02 PM

I rescued a kitty dumped in a bog (longford)-completly emaciated. Tried to save her but had to take her to the vet and put to sleep as he did tests and she had an incurable virus having been exposed to the elements dumped in a bog. Can the Govt please put in place a US Style ANIMAL POLICE now!! Or we’ll be reading about this again..and again.

Mute Wexford pikeman
    Favourite Wexford pikeman
    Jan 18th 2016, 3:14 PM

Wasn’t me boss !!

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Jan 18th 2016, 3:19 PM

Boss?…….pikeman, it was more likely some tracksuit wearing dossing scrote from Ballyfermot.

Mute Wexford pikeman
    Favourite Wexford pikeman
    Jan 18th 2016, 3:49 PM

Decent folk from Ballyfermot Al Ca !! ok Boss

Mute D'unredactable
    Favourite D'unredactable
    Jan 18th 2016, 5:43 PM

Because no Wexford PikeyMen have ever mistreated an animal as such!

Mute ♥️Karen Lavelle
    Favourite ♥️Karen Lavelle
    Jan 18th 2016, 12:16 PM

Disgraceful. How can any human do this to an animal

Mute Owen McDermott
    Favourite Owen McDermott
    Jan 18th 2016, 1:36 PM

It’s their “culture”. Along with general lawlessness, intimidation and entitlements, to name a few.

Mute Eddie Nugent
    Favourite Eddie Nugent
    Jan 18th 2016, 1:48 PM

so your point is Ned Shaw, is you believe them to be travellers

Mute Ned Shaw
    Favourite Ned Shaw
    Jan 18th 2016, 3:26 PM

If you know of the area Eddie, you’d have no doubt.

Mute fusha2020
    Favourite fusha2020
    Jan 18th 2016, 1:10 PM

Greyhounds have their ears tattooed and are regularly found with there ears hacked off and two horse were found last week with there legs bound by ratchet straps they had been disembowelled and had had their necks skinned in an attempt to remove the now legally required microchips!! And while travellers aren’t responsible for all animal abuse in ireland you just have to look at all the pieballed ponies and lurcher type dogs found in disgraceful conditions in every rescuce,pound and shelter up snd down the country to see that yet again the traveller community is responsible for more than their fair share and again they are not being held accountable nor are they making any attempt to change their behaviour!!

Mute Paddy Kavanagh
    Favourite Paddy Kavanagh
    Jan 18th 2016, 2:14 PM

The missus and I rescued a lurcher saluki last year. The rescue centre told us the dog had broken its leg and was left on the haulting site to die as she couldnt move. No food or water anywhere to be seen. The rescue centre took the dog and paid to repair the broken bone. The work these centres do is amazing across the country. The dog is now happy and healthy and enjoys watching tv with me every evening.

Mute fusha2020
    Favourite fusha2020
    Jan 18th 2016, 3:21 PM

Ah I’ve a rescue sulaki x lurcher too!! Beautiful, sofa hogging,daft dogs! Glad yours is doing well :0)

Mute Tom Harpur
    Favourite Tom Harpur
    Jan 18th 2016, 12:26 PM

Absolute disgusting Fû(ktards the lowest of low Clunt ever.

Mute Cosmo Kramer
    Favourite Cosmo Kramer
    Jan 18th 2016, 12:48 PM

It’s like bandit country in parts of West Dublin these days. You’ll see young lads flying up and down footpaths on scramblers.. You’ll also see young lads on horses and pony’s on the roads, on green spaces and around the canal and not a thing is being done about it.. It goes to show what cutbacks in policing have done to the local community

Mute Owen McDermott
    Favourite Owen McDermott
    Jan 18th 2016, 1:39 PM

Nothing has EVER been done about cream crackers in these areas. Wouldn’t happen in D4 though.

Mute Cosmo Kramer
    Favourite Cosmo Kramer
    Jan 18th 2016, 2:50 PM

Drive by Donnybrook when the Wesley disco is on, you’ll see four or five guards walking around the general area making sure there’s no messing going on. Meanwhile there’s Garda Stations closing down in other parts of the Country because we don’t have enough Guards..

Mute Owen McDermott
    Favourite Owen McDermott
    Jan 18th 2016, 4:11 PM

Exactly!

Mute paddy Jennings
    Favourite paddy Jennings
    Jan 18th 2016, 12:41 PM

Just like with cattle there should be a tagging scheme that each horse when born (like cattle) gets tagged within a couple of days of birth this should then be filled onto a animal register. When registered the vet should then come and chip the horse see that the register is filled in properly with just like the bovine side of things including movement of the animals this should be documented legitimately to adhere with standards that D.A.F.F should enforce.!?

Mute Bríd Uí Mhaoluala
    Favourite Bríd Uí Mhaoluala
    Jan 18th 2016, 12:53 PM

All horses and ponies by law must be chipped and have a passport . I would bet that this pony has neither .

Mute John B
    Favourite John B
    Jan 18th 2016, 12:33 PM

Has this something to do with our culture, boss?

Mute C Mc Gyver
    Favourite C Mc Gyver
    Jan 18th 2016, 1:27 PM

Piebalds!

Mute Bill Madden
    Favourite Bill Madden
    Jan 18th 2016, 1:03 PM

Every person who owns a horse and particularly uses it on the public road should have it chipped and have current insurance, otherwise it get seized just like a car!…its reasonably easy,

Mute Niall Donnelly
    Favourite Niall Donnelly
    Jan 18th 2016, 12:41 PM

Animals left in public parks should removed and sold. If people can’t afford to look after them, they shouldn’t be allowed keep them. If a child Kherson hurt by an animal in public parks who’s responsible.

Mute Tweety McTweeter
    Jan 18th 2016, 1:24 PM

It should be illegal to have a horse in an urban area, full stop. Although, if they just enforced the existing regulations on chipping and passports for horses, I’m sure they could easily seize most of the horses kept in halting sites

Mute Owen McDermott
    Favourite Owen McDermott
    Jan 18th 2016, 1:37 PM

Tesco will take them all day long…

Mute Tweety McTweeter
    Jan 18th 2016, 1:48 PM

At least it’s a better fate than to be left starving in a ditch

Mute captain ireland
    Favourite captain ireland
    Jan 18th 2016, 1:24 PM

When is this government going to crack down on idiots buying horses , then not able look after them , only registered stable owners and horse trainers should be allowed buy horses

Mute Craig Barry
    Favourite Craig Barry
    Jan 18th 2016, 1:37 PM

Presumably it was a couple of these little b******s who left the poor animal to die, you know the ones who gallop through the streets and no one gives a damn!

Mute captain ireland
    Favourite captain ireland
    Jan 19th 2016, 10:43 AM

Yes Craig , I call them knackers , socks pulled up over tracksuit bottom , vermin of our society

Mute Andrea Rock Massey
    Favourite Andrea Rock Massey
    Jan 18th 2016, 12:46 PM

Absolutely heartbreaking story, when will this cruelty stop?

Mute Oran Joyce
    Favourite Oran Joyce
    Jan 18th 2016, 1:29 PM

Pity the person who saw the pony being walked down the canal hadn’t the awareness to take a photo of the perpetrator of this crime.

Mute Owen McDermott
    Favourite Owen McDermott
    Jan 18th 2016, 4:15 PM

As if that would make any difference. Which ireland do you inhabit?

Mute Tony O'Regan
    Favourite Tony O'Regan
    Jan 18th 2016, 1:34 PM

It’s not that secluded, it was right along the canal. There was a concerned guy on the phone as we walked across the way from it. Poor animal.

Mute Louisa Coyle
    Favourite Louisa Coyle
    Jan 18th 2016, 2:42 PM

In order to own cattle you must prove you have a proper premises before you can get a herd number to purchase an animal. You must notify every time the animal leaves the premises and tag any animal born on that premises. If you sell an animal you must notify the sale and provide the name address and herd number of the new owner. This is inspected and enforced by the Dept of Ag. If you are found in breech of these regulations heavy penalties apply. Why is this not applied to the equine and canine industries??

Mute Jimmy Murphy
    Favourite Jimmy Murphy
    Jan 18th 2016, 1:51 PM

Lousy bast@rds should get 6 months in the slammer for this, minimum

Mute Evelyn Hughes
    Favourite Evelyn Hughes
    Jan 18th 2016, 2:50 PM

Until the authorities get brave and ‘go in’ and round up these ‘horse lovers’ and ban them from ownership it will never get sorted. Food, shelter, secure grazing (that YOU own), and regular observation is essential.

Mute Jane Alford
    Favourite Jane Alford
    Jan 18th 2016, 7:43 PM

Ownership need not be essential, but the rest yes, I agree. It is already a requirement to register land where equines are kept.

Mute P Quinn
    Favourite P Quinn
    Jan 18th 2016, 1:54 PM

Animal cruelty unfortunately is never seen as an election issue. It is members of all communities who mistreat animals. Tougher sentencing and very heavy fines are needed.

Mute Deirdre McDonnell
    Favourite Deirdre McDonnell
    Jan 18th 2016, 6:25 PM

Dislike my comment if you like but anyone who does such an evil act like this needs to die. They have no place on this earth wasting precious oxygen. If I got a pardon for doing it myself I certainly would in a heartbeat. I’d have no regrets that subhumans capable of such an act is no longer breathing.
    I hope they get hit by a bus and die in agony. Absolute lowlifes. Serial killers in the making.
    Animals are better than most people.

Mute Karl O Neill
    Favourite Karl O Neill
    Jan 18th 2016, 4:35 PM

As long as we are happy to let scobies have horses in housing estates because … sure it gives them something to do … then this is what we will continue to see.

Jan 18th 2016, 7:01 PM

People who can’t look after animals should never own an animal again.

Mute Juliette Neary
    Favourite Juliette Neary
    Jan 18th 2016, 10:58 PM

Our animal welfare laws are shameful to say the least. A cruelty story every single day to the point we will become desensitised to this suffering. I just couldn’t be around someone who’d harm an animal. It’s the lowest of the low. We should be ashamed.

Mute Jay Warner
    Favourite Jay Warner
    Jan 18th 2016, 9:42 PM

Hedge hoppers at their finest as usual.. but sure it’s their culture so we can’t say anything can we?

Mute Karen cunningham
    Favourite Karen cunningham
    Jan 18th 2016, 10:12 PM

This just makes me really sad

Mute nifty50
    Favourite nifty50
    Jan 18th 2016, 8:51 PM

T.ramps

Mute Joey Gee
    Favourite Joey Gee
    Jan 18th 2016, 7:24 PM

I cannot understand this, a horse will eat an acre of grass or, it will eat a half acre of grass (as my Daddí say’s) and there’s plenty of grass along the canal so, maybe there’s something else wrong with the pony.
    Hope it recovers well, just came from feeding my own.

Mute Jane Alford
    Favourite Jane Alford
    Jan 18th 2016, 7:47 PM

It wouldn’t have been kept on grass, probably a tiny muddy enclosure and left to starve, until on the point of death they walked/dragged the pony along the canal to dump it where it wouldn’t be traced back to them.

Mute Carmel Aherne Toland
    Favourite Carmel Aherne Toland
    Jan 18th 2016, 9:02 PM

This time of the year the grass doesn’t provide nourishment and additional food is required, would of thought someone who has their own horses would know this

Mute Joey Gee
    Favourite Joey Gee
    Jan 18th 2016, 9:30 PM

Hi Carmel, take a dander along the canal, there’s plenty of grass around Labre Park, probably where the gaunch who owns this wee pony hails from but, as above, I suspect there’s more to this.