You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Dolores Atwood, outside court today RTE

"I am very pleased that RTE was able to believe me" - woman at centre of defamation action

Former archbishop Richard Burke, who said RTÉ wrongly called him a paedophile, has settled his case

Updated 21.38

DOLORES ATWOOD, THE woman at the centre of former archbishop Richard Burke’s defamation action against RTÉ has said that she is “very happy” with the judgement.

Earlier the case was settled, although RTÉ confirmed that they had paid no damages in the settlement.

Burke had taken the case alleging he had been defamed by a Prime Time Investigates programme entitled Mission to Prey.

The 2011 programme wrongly branded him a paedophile, Burke claimed.

“I am very happy and I like the judgement,” Atwood said outside court.

I’m happy that I was able to come from Canada to Ireland to testify, and I am very pleased RTÉ was able to believe me and stand by me in all this. I’m really glad the truth finally came out. I am very, very happy.

When asked whether or not she can now put the case behind her Atwood said it will “take time”.

It will take time, because of the way he described me, what he said about me that was not true. That was sad, you know, but I am happy the truth finally is out there.

The court heard evidence from Atwood, who claimed she had been abused by Burke in her native Nigeria when she was 13 or 14. Burke claimed they had consensual sex when she was 20.

Richard Burke Court Cases Former archbishop Richard Burke Sam Boal / Photocall Ireland Sam Boal / Photocall Ireland / Photocall Ireland

RTÉ argued that they believed Atwood’s testimony, but accepted that the programme had wrongly said that Burke declined to be interviewed.

Both sides today agreed that the matter is resolved. Though no specifics were given, RTÉ confirmed that it had not paid damages but had made a contribution to Burke’s costs.

“We are very grateful to Dolores for coming over here, it was very difficult for her to come over here and speak truthfully,” said Kevin Bakhurst, Deputy Director General of RTÉ, outside court.

In a statement, the broadcaster said it considers the matter over.

“RTÉ accepts it incorrectly stated in the programme that Richard Burke had declined to be interviewed for the programme and for this RTÉ apologises.

“RTÉ acknowledges that Richard Burke has consistently and vehemently denied these allegations, and has done so throughout his evidence at this hearing.

Dolores Atwood stands over her allegations, and RTÉ considers her to be a sincere and honourable person.

“Richard Burke and RTÉ agree this matter is now closed.”

Originally published at 12.24pm

Read: Michael Lyster: ‘I would be dead if I hadn’t left my phone in the car’

Read: In full: The BAI report into RTÉ’s Mission to Prey programme

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

81 Comments
    Mute Denise Friary
    Favourite Denise Friary
    Jul 2nd 2015, 12:49 PM

The settlement will be paid by the people who pay the TV license so they should be told the amount that was paid out.

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Jul 2nd 2015, 9:46 PM

No payout was made, except part of his legal expenses, according to everyone involved.

Mute BERTIE
    Favourite BERTIE
    Jul 2nd 2015, 10:08 PM

Denise FAIRY, read the article again, NO payout! Also, the guy is as guilty as fuk

Mute Hair of the Dog
    Favourite Hair of the Dog
    Jul 2nd 2015, 11:34 PM

Denise the troll not bothered actually reading the article.

Mute Ivorpabst
    Favourite Ivorpabst
    Jul 2nd 2015, 1:13 PM

“He insisted he never knew Ms Attwood when she was 13 or 14 and told the High Court that she blackmailed him to into paying her at least €176,000 to keep their relationship quiet.”

From where did he get Eur176,000 ?

Mute Rod_TenⒸ
    Favourite Rod_TenⒸ
    Jul 2nd 2015, 1:16 PM

The ECB?

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Jul 2nd 2015, 9:48 PM

His order would have paid it, to avoid damaging the order and the church; the same reason the church moved abusers and covered up abuse

Mute Larry L'Oiseau
    Favourite Larry L'Oiseau
    Jul 2nd 2015, 9:54 PM

So how much credibility could this lady have considering she allegedly sought and accepted over €100k to keep quiet about their relationship ??

Mute Rory J Leonard
    Favourite Rory J Leonard
    Jul 2nd 2015, 9:57 PM

It could happen to a bishop!

Mute Paudi Onail
    Favourite Paudi Onail
    Jul 3rd 2015, 12:09 AM

so they believe she blackmailed him too? sounds like a nice person and came back looking for €200k more apparently. doesn’t matter where he got it from, this woman should repay that money.

Mute Boyne Sharky
    Favourite Boyne Sharky
    Jul 3rd 2015, 7:26 AM

Spin. That’s his version of “opps I’ve been caught with my pants down and I need to pay to keep her quiet”. Having done this he went on to lie and claim it didn’t happen, they never bumped into each other until she was 20. So when he was described as a paedophile, by any definition this was accurate, given what had occurred between Delores Atwood and the former Archbishop.

Mute Larry L'Oiseau
    Favourite Larry L'Oiseau
    Jul 3rd 2015, 9:21 AM

Clearly it wasn’t accurate judging by the outcome.

Mute Micheal S. O' Ceilleachair
    Favourite Micheal S. O' Ceilleachair
    Jul 3rd 2015, 11:40 AM

Why is he not suing her for extortion? She is glad good old RTE could believe her. The test is could the court believe her and this was not tested. The other angle on this is if RTE has managed to get the former Archbishop to give his side of the story, would it have influenced the tone of the program?
    Also could it be verified whether or not the lady and the former Archbishop knew each other when she was 13 or 14 years old? What is not disputed is the fact that he had a sexual relationship with this woman at some point and that he had to basically bribe her (and she accepted these bribes) to keep quiet. The outcome was a stalemate. No winners here. Except the legal profession.

Mute Ivorpabst
    Favourite Ivorpabst
    Jul 3rd 2015, 12:46 PM

And RTE.

Jul 2nd 2015, 2:10 PM

If he kept it in his pants then there would be none of this in my view.

Mute Paul Dunne
    Favourite Paul Dunne
    Jul 2nd 2015, 12:44 PM

so rte where correct in the mission to pray programme.

Mute Noah_MacMurchada
    Favourite Noah_MacMurchada
    Jul 2nd 2015, 1:41 PM

Eh?
    No.
    They wrongly and maliciously portrayed an innocent man as a paedophile based on hearsay.
    Nothing ‘right’ about that in anyone’s book.

Mute Ivorpabst
    Favourite Ivorpabst
    Jul 2nd 2015, 1:48 PM

If that was as you say, why has settlement been reached today with no payout ?

Mute David McDermott
    Favourite David McDermott
    Jul 2nd 2015, 1:50 PM

The allegations of peadophilia haven’t been withdrawn. RTÈ only apologised for saying that he wouldn’t be interviewed and the ex archbishop was obviously content to settle under those terms!!

Jul 2nd 2015, 2:17 PM

Nothing like us Irish and hearsay…

Mute Paul Dunne
    Favourite Paul Dunne
    Jul 2nd 2015, 2:37 PM

eh yes he took a case for defamation and settled with no payout with no blame attached to rte so the primetime investigation was valid.

Mute Paul Dunne
    Favourite Paul Dunne
    Jul 2nd 2015, 2:43 PM

he seen the evidence and knew the game was up and looked for a way out so the allegations are still valid

Mute John Clarke
    Favourite John Clarke
    Jul 2nd 2015, 3:46 PM

Quite right David. This is a curious settlement. A fair bit of between the lines reading is required of that statement. It reveals much more than it seeks to conclude.

Mute Sean keeling
    Favourite Sean keeling
    Jul 2nd 2015, 11:16 PM

So wait she falsely accused him?

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Jul 3rd 2015, 12:16 AM

RTE’s statement today says she spoke truthfully

Mute Larry L'Oiseau
    Favourite Larry L'Oiseau
    Jul 3rd 2015, 9:32 AM

Of course RTEs statement says that, she was *their* witness !!!

Mute Paul Dunne
    Favourite Paul Dunne
    Jul 2nd 2015, 1:02 PM

no he got no money rte paid some of his costs only, the halfwits who put into the baskets paid th hush money.

Jul 2nd 2015, 2:14 PM

RTE had a great “Would You Believe” program once about how the orphanages here were selling orphans to a big pharmaceutical company to do vivisection type experimental brain surgeries on, after seeing that program I heard then that it was more common than I could believe and came on a report in Dublin Castle on the google search engine to a link how the government here was not going to investigate that with the child abuse happening at that time. Why is this still hushed up as the Nazis did the same in concentration camps?

Mute bigjake
    Favourite bigjake
    Jul 2nd 2015, 5:59 PM

This is the same rate programme that had to settle with fr kevin Reynolds. For false accusations. Made against him. He won substantial damages and an apology from rte. a very flawed programme.

Mute Dermot O'Reilly
    Favourite Dermot O'Reilly
    Jul 2nd 2015, 9:52 PM

Does RTE ever learn?

The Board and the Executive of RTE should be fired !

The sooner the better!

Mute E. O'Leary
    Favourite E. O'Leary
    Jul 2nd 2015, 12:55 PM

Just another witch hunt against a Catholic.

Mute Darren Varley
    Favourite Darren Varley
    Jul 2nd 2015, 12:59 PM

Ya because the Catholic Church despise a witch hunt

Mute Rod_TenⒸ
    Favourite Rod_TenⒸ
    Jul 2nd 2015, 1:06 PM

Do you have Catholic witches now, I thought they were nuns.

Mute Joe Simpson
    Favourite Joe Simpson
    Jul 2nd 2015, 1:28 PM

As a catholic I’m happy that such “questionable” priests are outed. Wouldn’t want communion never mind confession from him.

Mute E. O'Leary
    Favourite E. O'Leary
    Jul 2nd 2015, 1:35 PM

Joe you are most likely a canteen catholic who voted for homo-marriage.

Mute Donal O'Brien
    Favourite Donal O'Brien
    Jul 2nd 2015, 1:36 PM

Agreed Joe, this guy seemed more interest in getting his hole than serving God.

Mute Eel Knack Mole
    Favourite Eel Knack Mole
    Jul 2nd 2015, 2:01 PM

Trollin’, trollin’ trollin’,
    Though the streams are swollen
    Keep them doggies trollin’, E. O’Leary

Mute Eamon Mac Gowan
    Favourite Eamon Mac Gowan
    Jul 2nd 2015, 2:02 PM

He didn’t have much taste in his women though.

Mute Paul Dunne
    Favourite Paul Dunne
    Jul 2nd 2015, 3:59 PM

rode all alround him

Mute James Joseph Superior Power
    Favourite James Joseph Superior Power
    Jul 3rd 2015, 1:34 AM

@ E. O’Leary. That’s right E. you stand up for the corrupt church like a good Catholic. Deny the existence of pedophilia in the church and how it’s clergy covered it up. Call love evil when it’s two gay people who love each other like the rest of the false Christians.

Mute Eamon Mac Gowan
    Favourite Eamon Mac Gowan
    Jul 2nd 2015, 2:05 PM

I wonder what became of that journalist who fronted the “Mission to Prey” programme?

Mute Mark Ryan
    Favourite Mark Ryan
    Jul 2nd 2015, 10:26 PM

Did Rte pay her expenses for travelling over??

Mute KMac
    Favourite KMac
    Jul 2nd 2015, 1:07 PM

My comment was deleted. Poor form. The support was split but obviously the church still hold the higher ground despite their litany of abuse of innocent children.

Mute E. O'Leary
    Favourite E. O'Leary
    Jul 2nd 2015, 1:09 PM

Rightfully so as it was a disgusting comment.

Mute KMac
    Favourite KMac
    Jul 2nd 2015, 1:13 PM

If it looks like a duck, swims like a duck & quacks like a duck….

See 16 more replies ▾
    Mute Paul Dunne
    Favourite Paul Dunne
    Jul 2nd 2015, 1:18 PM

now there’s a disgusting and quite simply stupid comment from you E oleary you probably think the story of brendan Smith was an attack on a Catholic also.

Mute David Gillespie
    Favourite David Gillespie
    Jul 2nd 2015, 1:33 PM

Kmac, are you the new troll? Pathetic.

Mute Donal O'Brien
    Favourite Donal O'Brien
    Jul 2nd 2015, 1:37 PM

It was a disgusting comment. Deserved to be deleted

Mute KMac
    Favourite KMac
    Jul 2nd 2015, 1:51 PM

@David….Far from it. I’m just a fella lookin at an archbishop who had the brass balls to bring RTE to court for wrongly accusing him of being a paedophile, his defence being that she was 20. He was the victim in all of this. People are still prepared to take instruction & direction from the likes. You couldn’t make it up.

Mute Eel Knack Mole
    Favourite Eel Knack Mole
    Jul 2nd 2015, 1:59 PM

By all accounts the testimony that came out over the course of the trial was extraordinary and reflected badly on all parties involved (the Archbishop [she may have been over age but the embarressment is obvious], Ms. Atwood [if there is any truth to the blackmailing claims], and RTE). The best solution for all was to put it to an end.

And Kmac, you can’t just go around calling people paedophiles and no amount of green thumbs will convince a court otherwise!

Mute Seamus Banna
    Favourite Seamus Banna
    Jul 2nd 2015, 2:10 PM

” I’m just a fella lookin at an archbishop who had the brass balls to bring RTE to court for wrongly accusing him of being a paedophile, his defence being that she was 20. ”

She was 20 years old so how does having sex with her make him a paedophile?

Mute E. O'Leary
    Favourite E. O'Leary
    Jul 2nd 2015, 2:17 PM

Doctor he had consensual sex with her at the age of 20. No peadophilia here.

Mute KMac
    Favourite KMac
    Jul 2nd 2015, 2:24 PM

You’ll find the girl in question claims she was 13/14.

Rte accepts it incorrectly stated that he had declined to be interviewed. That’s it. Then he walks away from it.

Mute E. O'Leary
    Favourite E. O'Leary
    Jul 2nd 2015, 2:39 PM

Claims but no proof so it’s just slanderous hearsay and in turn it’s slanderous and quite offensive to suggest I somehow support peadophilia.

Mute Paul Dunne
    Favourite Paul Dunne
    Jul 2nd 2015, 2:53 PM

I’m not sure if that comment is because of your ignorance or stupidity a mixture of both I fear sadly, I just hope you are not a parent E.oleary

Mute E. O'Leary
    Favourite E. O'Leary
    Jul 2nd 2015, 3:02 PM

Yes I am a parent and a bloody good one at that.

Mute Paul Dunne
    Favourite Paul Dunne
    Jul 2nd 2015, 3:36 PM

@E oleary for the good of your kid(s) and for society in general please don’t instill your ignorance into them .

Mute David McDermott
    Favourite David McDermott
    Jul 2nd 2015, 5:47 PM

The settlement doesn’t mention any withdrawal of the peadophilia allegations. He was obviously accepted the settlement with those allegations still standing. Is your only outrage due to him being a catholic clergy member. Do you even care or is your only mission to try protect the Catholic Church from child rape accusations.

Mute Rob Cahill
    Favourite Rob Cahill
    Jul 2nd 2015, 5:56 PM

“Claims but no proof ”

The story of a Christians life.

Mute whynotme
    Favourite whynotme
    Jul 2nd 2015, 10:22 PM

“Rightfully so as it was a disgusting comment.” -If the journal gave out trophies for the amount of disgusting comments -this “E.O’Leary” would have to build an extension to hold his. #gold

Mute Larry L'Oiseau
    Favourite Larry L'Oiseau
    Jul 3rd 2015, 9:34 AM

It might be a swan…

Mute John Walsh
    Favourite John Walsh
    Jul 2nd 2015, 11:19 PM

Dirty fecker . Sleeping with vulnerable women in Africa. Why was the case stopped? Hmmmm.

Mute Larry L'Oiseau
    Favourite Larry L'Oiseau
    Jul 3rd 2015, 9:32 AM

Exactly, maybe it was because the credibility of the woman was called into question…. Hmmmm

Mute Noah_MacMurchada
    Jul 2nd 2015, 1:27 PM

One of the worst cases of slander n modern media history.
    Up there with Albert Reynolds v the Sunday Times.
    RTE should rightly be ashamed of themselves.
    Journalistic standards?
    I’ve seen better journalism on the Sun.
    Heads should have rolled right at the top of the Montrose monstrosity.
    Thank God the era of ‘Bash a Catholic today’ is finally coming to an end.
    Scandalous.
    Absolutely scandalous.

Mute Ivorpabst
    Favourite Ivorpabst
    Jul 2nd 2015, 1:32 PM

This one ?

Mute Donal O'Brien
    Favourite Donal O'Brien
    Jul 2nd 2015, 1:36 PM

I don’t know about that. This was a “she said, he said” case with not much backing up her story. The mission to prey programme was a massive disaster for rte.
    however, at best, this man Burke seems to have been a massive cad, who betrayed his vows and embarrassed himself, his family and his church. Taking this case he has done himself more damage than the mission to prey show did. However he rose to be an archbishop is astounding.

Mute Ivorpabst
    Favourite Ivorpabst
    Jul 2nd 2015, 1:59 PM

Agree with your comments, except the first line.

If plaintiff was so sure he would have seen it through to the end, & trusted jury to see that ‘not much backing up her story.’

Mute Rashers Tierney
    Favourite Rashers Tierney
    Jul 2nd 2015, 11:37 PM

Noah, you are a scandalous fake. I could forgive that if you were remotely amusing, but sadly no – no entertainment value whatever.

Mute Rashers Tierney
    Favourite Rashers Tierney
    Jul 2nd 2015, 11:30 PM

I think “former Arch Bishop ” Burke was badly advised here. on another note, it makes the payment of eighty five grand to that crunt John Waters look even worse. RTE have grown a spine, but far too late IMHO.

Mute JustAoife
    Favourite JustAoife
    Jul 3rd 2015, 6:43 AM

So he isn’t a paedophile but RTE believes the woman who said he was? That clears things up

Mute Noah_MacMurchada
    Jul 2nd 2015, 2:57 PM

Liberals constantly bang on about clerical celibacy being an anachronistic way of life.
    Human beings should have the right to express their sexuality freely they argue.
    Yet here we have a man who acted in a natural manner and what’s the response?
    That’s right.
    Condemnation.
    Well done.
    Today hypocrisy has reached new levels.
    Níl aon hypocrite mar do hyopcrite féin..

Mute Noah_MacMurchada
    Jul 2nd 2015, 2:58 PM

An old Irish adage.

Mute Dermot O'Reilly
    Favourite Dermot O'Reilly
    Jul 2nd 2015, 9:47 PM

RTE need to change its policies for the future!

It is continually criticising The Catholic Church in Ireland.

The BBC is much more respectful!

I was advised that the Board of RTE advised staff that no one should wear a cross around their necks!

What a disgrace!

We the people of Ireland who pay the TV licence should be respected!

Sad day for RTE.

Truth always out!

Mute kevin
    Favourite kevin
    Jul 2nd 2015, 10:04 PM

- most likely she can prove they had sexual relations
    - but most likely she cant prove it was when she was under 18
    - so his word against hers
    - we knew there was a lot of pedophiles in the RC church. And cover ups.
    - but also a lot of untrue allegations
    - rte got involved where it couldnt be proved one way or another.
    - it wasn’t just the journalist who made a mistake. But she was the fall guy.

Mute Paul Dunne
    Favourite Paul Dunne
    Jul 2nd 2015, 10:03 PM

the archbishop thought he was ron jeremy.

Mute Mick Power
    Favourite Mick Power
    Jul 2nd 2015, 12:51 PM

Must of had a large congregation

Mute OneTrueVoice
    Favourite OneTrueVoice
    Jul 2nd 2015, 11:57 PM

Jesus big blue eyes will be welling up with tears, flowing over his blond beard and dropping onto his cloud when he hears this.

It’s a tsunami of smears.

Jul 4th 2015, 4:06 AM

But RTE paid Burkes bill???