You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

The cardboard cut out won't be needed now as Hayes will have met the man himself twice! Photocall Ireland

Moneygall publican gets invite to the White House

Both Ollie Hayes and his nephew Henry Healy have received official invites to celebrate St Patrick’s Day with the Obamas.

THE MOST FAMOUS publican in the village of Moneygall has been invited to celebrate St. Patrick’s Day with the first family of the United States of America.

Ollie Hayes received the official invite from the White House in the post last week. His nephew – and Barack Obama’s distant cousin – Henry Healy was also honoured with an invitation.

Both men were surprised to receive a plus one on the invites.

Speaking to TheJournal.ie, Hayes said that the obvious choice would be to bring his wife but she was too busy looking after the pub and their four-year-old daughter.

“My wife Majella said nothing would beat the experience of having 15 minutes of private time with the President and the First Lady last year right here in Moneygall,” he said. “So she is happy to hold the fort while I go.”

Hayes’s sister Helen is stepping up and attending the event with her brother instead. Healy has asked his mother Marion – who is Helen and Ollie’s sister – to accompany him.

The event in Washington DC, during which a bowl of shamrock is traditionally handed over to the US President, is actually to take place on 20 March and not on St Patrick’s Day itself on 17 March.

The Taoiseach Enda Kenny and his wife will also participate in the ceremony.

Hayes and Healy were nominated by the American ambassador to Ireland Dan Rooney to receive the honour. They had both heard “remarks being passed” before and were told to make themselves available for the 20 March.

Invitation
1 / 2
  • Invitation

More: Barack O’Bama launches Irish-American Heritage Month>

“Are you ready for one Mr. President?” – Barack Obama has a pint with his relatives in Moneygall>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

14 Comments
    Mute Spillinksuz
    Favourite Spillinksuz
    Mar 5th 2012, 7:57 AM

That’s a really thoughtful gesture.

Mute Martin Jordan
    Favourite Martin Jordan
    Mar 5th 2012, 8:30 AM

They’ll be the proudest men in that parish …. Nice touch

Mute Lucille Ball
    Favourite Lucille Ball
    Mar 5th 2012, 8:31 AM

Fair play.. They’ll have a great time.. I’m sure it’ll be a lifetime experience!

Mute Eileen Gabbett
    Favourite Eileen Gabbett
    Mar 5th 2012, 9:24 AM

Well done ! I am really happy for them .
    Enjoy your trip and soak it all up :)

Mute Rodger O Waters
    Favourite Rodger O Waters
    Mar 5th 2012, 8:31 AM

Election on the horizon, still good for them.

Mute Patrick Hynes
    Favourite Patrick Hynes
    Mar 5th 2012, 7:57 AM

They must be stuck for numbers!

Mute Jake Gomez
    Favourite Jake Gomez
    Mar 5th 2012, 8:10 AM

Ah nothing beats a bit of Irish begrudgery!

Mute Mary Cullinane
    Favourite Mary Cullinane
    Mar 5th 2012, 11:12 AM

What a stupid statement to make….God ignorance is alive and well in Ireland still. I suppose as the saying goes you can’t make a silk purse out of a cows ear.

Mute Mary Cullinane
    Favourite Mary Cullinane
    Mar 5th 2012, 11:14 AM

Delighted for Moneygall and those who are invited to The White House, what a great experience it will be and what a wonderful honor to be asked….well done ye must have made a brilliant impression on President Obama.

Mute Shane McElveen
    Favourite Shane McElveen
    Mar 5th 2012, 9:27 AM

“Moneygall publican gets invite to the White House” … or “Moneygall publican gets invitation to the White House” or “Moneygall publican is invited to the White House”? is it a noun now must check – http://isinviteanoun.com/

Mute Mark Lennox
    Favourite Mark Lennox
    Mar 5th 2012, 11:43 AM

Journalists used to care about communicating using correct language. We should send a few copies of Strunk and White to all the major newspapers :)

Regardless – congratulations to Ollie Hayes – I hope he has a great time! A chance of a lifetime :)

Mute Frankie Faldo
    Favourite Frankie Faldo
    Mar 5th 2012, 11:59 AM

Whats going on inviting a greedy publican to the White house and all the charity workers are snubbed.I hope the american people vote Obama the clown out.

Mute Mike Reid
    Favourite Mike Reid
    Mar 5th 2012, 1:37 PM

really?

Mute Ian Aston
    Favourite Ian Aston
    Mar 5th 2012, 8:53 PM

Did you get out of bed on the wrong side this morning Frankie?