You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Here's the first ever Ceann Comhairle to be elected by secret ballot

The 32nd Dáil has completed its first act in electing a new chairperson.

12/9/2013. Fianna Fail OECD Reports Seán Ó Feargháil Laura Hutton / Photocall Ireland Laura Hutton / Photocall Ireland / Photocall Ireland

FIANNA FÁIL TD Seán Ó Feargháil has been elected as Ceann Comhairle of the 32nd Dáil this afternoon.

Ó Feargháil, a deputy for Kildare South who is the party’s chief whip, beat Fine Gael’s Andrew Doyle after the fourth count.

His election will be formally ratified in the Dáil at 2.30pm.

Independent Maureen O’Sullivan, Sinn Féin’s Caoimhghin Ó Caoláin, and Fine Gael’s Bernard Durkan were all eliminated in the earlier counts.

The Ceann Comhairle is the chair of the Dáil who is expected to observe strict impartiality and keep order in the house.

His new role means that he will automatically win re-election to the next Dáil.

The election was, for the first time, done by way of secret ballot with 157 of the 158 TDs casting their votes in Leinster House this afternoon.

The election of Ó Feargháil comes after two Fine Gael ministers yesterday privately encouraged backbenchers in their own party to put their support behind the Fianna Fáil whip.

The rationale is that the election of Ó Feargháil weakens Fianna Fáil’s Dáil voting numbers, which now go from 44 to 43.

It also prevented O’Sullivan from winning and being automatically re-elected in Dublin Central – where Fine Gael minister Paschal Donohoe is based – and turning it into a two-seater at the next election.

Ó Feargháil is the first Fianna Fáil Ceann Comhairle since Seámus Kirk who held the post in the 30th Dáil between 2009 and 2011.

Making his pitch in the Dáil earlier, he said the new Ceann Comhairle and all TDs must ensure that chamber proceedings are “respectful, constructive” and conducted “in the interests of the Irish people”.

He replaces the outgoing Seán Barrett, a Fine Gael TD, who was automatically re-elected in Dún Laoghaire last month as a result of having served as chair in the 31st Dáil.

Speaking on RTÉ’s News at One, Barrett criticised the secret ballot process, a reform introduced by the outgoing government earlier this year.

He said it was “against the spirit of openness in the chamber”. He also said by putting forward two candidates Fine Gael had split the vote, but added:

I’d like to sincerely congratulate him [Seán Ó Feargháil]. I think he’ll do a good job and he’ll have our full support as a Ceann Comhairle, because I think he’ll be independent.

If the last Dáil is anything to go by, Ó Feargháil won’t have an easy job keeping rowdy TDs in order:

TheJournal.ie / YouTube

LIVE: TDs prepare for Taoiseach vote as 32nd Dáil meets for the first time

Read: What exactly happens when the new Dáil sits today?

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

76 Comments
    Mute Andrea Rock Massey
    Favourite Andrea Rock Massey
    Mar 10th 2016, 1:22 PM

I doubt it’s possible to do a worse job than Sean Barrett

Mute Irin Flynn
    Favourite Irin Flynn
    Mar 10th 2016, 1:32 PM

There is…….the man before Barrett was a gangster shur.All the expenses he claimed seem to be forgotten

Mute Alan Cooke
    Favourite Alan Cooke
    Mar 10th 2016, 4:15 PM

Yes it is possible.

The “posh” Shinner, Caoimhghín Ó Caoláin, you wouldn’t understand a word coming out of his Mouth, with that put on Posh Monaghan accent.

Mute watersedge
    Favourite watersedge
    Mar 10th 2016, 10:50 PM

A gentleman he is Alan.

Mute Colm Austin
    Favourite Colm Austin
    Mar 10th 2016, 1:28 PM

I see the tweet now.. Lowry busy at a funeral. Somethings never change.

Mute Tweety McTweeter
    Favourite Tweety McTweeter
    Mar 10th 2016, 1:30 PM

You have to attend a lot of funerals if you want to top the poll in Tipperary

Mute Bobby Connolly
    Favourite Bobby Connolly
    Mar 10th 2016, 1:44 PM

Was it his funeral or someone else’s?

Mute Mick Power
    Favourite Mick Power
    Mar 10th 2016, 1:57 PM

He’s just starting off the way he means to go on, attending the Dail seems to be a hindrance to him

Mute Leadóg Hackett
    Favourite Leadóg Hackett
    Mar 10th 2016, 2:11 PM

It was the funeral of his best friend. What would you do?

Mute Old Gabby Johnson
    Favourite Old Gabby Johnson
    Mar 10th 2016, 2:17 PM

It’s rumoured that O’Caolain nearly had a conniption after the first count when one of his colleagues said ‘you’re gonna be eliminated a chara’.

Mute John Ward
    Favourite John Ward
    Mar 10th 2016, 3:26 PM

“Conniption” is a new word for me, Gabby. Many thanks!

Mute Conor Ruth➰
    Favourite Conor Ruth➰
    Mar 10th 2016, 5:55 PM

At funeral of Tipperary Cllr who he was close to.

Mute Luke Kelly
    Favourite Luke Kelly
    Mar 10th 2016, 1:21 PM

Better again if it was non-party. There’s no reform to be had by doing it this way. same old, same old BS. This was a perfect opportunity to show they were serious about reform. They are not.

Mute Paul Mc
    Favourite Paul Mc
    Mar 10th 2016, 1:31 PM

Meet the new boss ,same as the old boss.

Mute Tweety McTweeter
    Favourite Tweety McTweeter
    Mar 10th 2016, 1:20 PM

O Sullivan would have been a good independent choice.Pity FG had to play politics with this and overlook OSullivan

Mute domas1507
    Favourite domas1507
    Mar 10th 2016, 1:23 PM

Their whole existence is playing politics. I’m suprised you’re suprises to be honest

Mute Brinster
    Favourite Brinster
    Mar 10th 2016, 1:33 PM

Blaming FG or anyone else is pathetic.

There were 157 voters today.

Maureen O’Sullivan got 24 first preference votes.

There are 17 independents, 6 Indep Alliance, 6 AAA, 2 Greens, 7 Lab and 3 SDs.

That makes a total of 41 votes for parties/independents with no candidate. But she only got 24. That isn’t FGs fault.

You may as well blame SF. If their 23 had backed her she’d have almost certainly won.

Mute Ryan Anthony
    Favourite Ryan Anthony
    Mar 10th 2016, 1:57 PM

This is soooo depressing. Instead of the opposition uniting, backing up their TALK on having a real functional parliament instead of a rubber stamp, they all stupidly back their own guy, who like in SFs case can’t even bloody win (????) and FG try to be clever reducing FF numbers…and so instead of reform we end up with YET again a CC from a party that will either be in govt or de facto governing from the outside via a minority….sends out a bad signal about how reforming this shower will be in reality. So depressing

Mute Ken Barlow
    Favourite Ken Barlow
    Mar 10th 2016, 2:07 PM

I agree, SF should have backed her, would have been nice to show a new way of doing things, im disappointed with SF on this one.

Mute Ciarán FitzGerald
    Favourite Ciarán FitzGerald
    Mar 10th 2016, 2:33 PM

She doesn’t have a strong enough mandate I think. She’s the Gregory place holder who got the lowest first preference vote in the Dail.
    She doesn’t have the profile or the respect

Mute alphanautica
    Favourite alphanautica
    Mar 10th 2016, 2:40 PM

Makes a total joke of the right2change election ‘alliance’, the independents and SF all voted for themselves and got nothing. Me Fein all the way.

Mute Larry L'Oiseau
    Favourite Larry L'Oiseau
    Mar 10th 2016, 2:47 PM

Interesting that people put ‘Sinn Fein’ and ‘independents’ together as if it were the same thing.

What defines ‘independent’ ? Surely it is a non-party candidate ?

Sinn Fein have a very well organised and structured party – in fact it is run almost like an … (Ahemm )… Army.

Mute Ryan Anthony
    Favourite Ryan Anthony
    Mar 10th 2016, 2:51 PM

Fine is she does not have it, plenty of other independents. This crowd can’t get together to elect a CC how do they expect us to buy they could form a govt?

They’re always babbling on about an alternative to FF or FG but FF (way too easily) outflanked them in the election with a move centre left, then they could not get organised enough to have a single CC candidate never mind get them elected. The ‘alternative’ can’t organise even ceremonial change. Maybe the reformed Dail is about to go to the same place that elusive reformed Senate is hiding (after all the people rejected for the Dail get a huge salary and seats in parliament anyway)

Mute anthony campion
    Favourite anthony campion
    Mar 10th 2016, 2:53 PM

Remember SF are going to stay in the shadows, elected on their manifesto,but feel no duty to try and go into Govt, big Gerry had it ruled out early in play during the counting

Mute Ryan Anthony
    Favourite Ryan Anthony
    Mar 10th 2016, 3:11 PM

They will cos they’re all talk. They proved it with this. Their first chance to affect SOME change and they behaved EXACTLY the way the others did. There’s MLMD talking about the conservative establishment…but sure how are you any different?

Oh their policies etc…talk is cheap, lab had lovely policies too. The proofs in the pudding.

Me!
    Mute Me!
    Favourite Me!
    Mar 10th 2016, 6:30 PM

Maureen’s only experience is being a school teacher. She is too mild mannered, plus she needs to lose the whole “Gregory girl” persona, Tony Gregory’s own brother openly supported another candidate in the election! If she got it, would basically only one seat up for grabs at the next election in Dublin central as Mary Lou is a certainty.

Mute Ken Barlow
    Favourite Ken Barlow
    Mar 10th 2016, 7:25 PM

Brilliant

Mute Supremo
    Favourite Supremo
    Mar 10th 2016, 1:24 PM

Playing politics with an important postion like that is sickening. The public want total reform and policies that benefit the people not political games to keep your friends in power. The very first act they carry out is already corrupted.

Mute IrishGravyTrain
    Favourite IrishGravyTrain

Party before the electorate again by Fine Gael.

Mute Brinster
    Favourite Brinster

Just FG?

Surely the Big 3 are equally to blame?

FF candidate got 56 first preferences – they have 44 TDs.
    SF candidate got 24 first preferences – they have 23 TDs
    FG candidates got 53 first preferences – they have 50 TDs.

So not only are the Big 3 equally guilty of playing party politics with this, but also it means at least 16 others voted for a Big 3 candidate.

Mute Colm Austin
    Favourite Colm Austin
    Mar 10th 2016, 1:27 PM

157 votes, anyone know who didn’t manage to show up on their first day of work?

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Mar 10th 2016, 1:38 PM

Lowry…..too much bother for him to turn up for work.

Mute Fr Tod Umshus
    Favourite Fr Tod Umshus

I imagines if one of your good friends was tragically knocked down during the week you’d like to.attend his funeral as well

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Mar 10th 2016, 2:09 PM
    Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Mar 10th 2016, 2:13 PM
    Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Mar 10th 2016, 2:14 PM

Silly me…..I mean more up to date in the last post.

Mute Vincent Wallace
    Favourite Vincent Wallace
    Mar 10th 2016, 6:19 PM

I am no lowry fan but wouldn’t begrudge anyone going to a friends funeral. A little bit of cop on wouldn’t go a stray from the likes of Al there on this site anyway. Ofcourse its easy talk crap when you hide behind an avatar.

Mute Richard Sweeney
    Favourite Richard Sweeney
    Mar 10th 2016, 1:27 PM

Disappointing result. I would’ve liked to have an independent in the role.

Mute Michael Kenny
    Favourite Michael Kenny

Coming from one of the major partys to be norminated as Ceann Comhairle, I’m not surprised by voting for thier own! I have to say Maureen O Sullivan didn’t stand a chance and i loving her to be Ceann Comhaile and being the first woman for a change.

Mute Noel Barnes
    Favourite Noel Barnes
    Mar 10th 2016, 1:41 PM

Same circus, different clown.

Mute Paul Dunne
    Favourite Paul Dunne
    Mar 10th 2016, 1:35 PM

ff sf vote on block for their man fg splitting there vote between two the new way of doing politics horseshite didn’t last pissing time.

Mute Kevin Ryan
    Favourite Kevin Ryan

Hard luck to Caoimhghin Ó Caoláin, who lost out by just one fada.

Mute Eamonn Hughes
    Favourite Eamonn Hughes
    Mar 10th 2016, 1:49 PM

First day back and Fine Gael continuing the way they left off, underhand tactics to put the party ahead of the people.

Mute Dara McGann
    Favourite Dara McGann
    Mar 10th 2016, 2:00 PM

Huh? He’s a Fianna Fail td.

Could have easily gone to Maureen had the merry bandits of mongrels gotten their shit together

Mute Eamonn Hughes
    Favourite Eamonn Hughes
    Mar 10th 2016, 2:06 PM

You didn’t read the article then. FG voted for him so there would be one less FF TD voting and their seat would be safe in Dublin Central next election.

Mute Eamonn Hughes
    Favourite Eamonn Hughes
    Mar 10th 2016, 2:07 PM

“The election of Ó Feargháil comes after two Fine Gael ministers yesterday privately encouraged backbenchers in their own party to put their support behind the Fianna Fáil whip.
    The rationale is that the election of Ó Feargháil weakens Fianna Fáil’s Dáil voting numbers, which now go from 44 to 43.
    It also prevented O’Sullivan from winning and being automatically re-elected in Dublin Central – where Fine Gael minister Paschal Donohoe is based – and turning it into a two-seater at the next election.”

Mute Brinster
    Favourite Brinster
    Mar 10th 2016, 2:23 PM

@ Eamon

The article is complete BS.

No evidence that FG voted for FF candidate. In fact the opposite – they almost certainly voted for their own candidates.

Mute Chris Mansfield
    Favourite Chris Mansfield
    Mar 10th 2016, 1:54 PM

A secret ballot is wrong.

We should have the right to know how the people we elected are casting votes on our behalf.

Mute Brinster
    Favourite Brinster
    Mar 10th 2016, 2:20 PM

Disagree Chris

They introduced the secret ballot as otherwise TDs only vote for their own party candidate.

It was an attempt to allow people to “break” from the party whip and vote for anyone without fear of reprisal/censure from their own party.

It may not have worked, but it is certainly a move in the right direction.

Mute Chris Mansfield
    Favourite Chris Mansfield

Imagine if Lowry had been elected ceann comhairle. I would want to know if one of my TDs had voted for him so they could go straight to the bottom of the ballot paper.

Mute Rory Maguire
    Favourite Rory Maguire
    Mar 10th 2016, 1:48 PM

The Irish political Merri-go-round. Don’t think I’ve ever so disenfranchised from politics. I give it 2 weeks before a massive scandal breaks in the media about FF.

Mute John Donnelly
    Favourite John Donnelly
    Mar 10th 2016, 1:47 PM

Highly inappropriate a FF party TD how much more of a bias can you get. Position should be given to independents only.

Mute Micheal S. O' Ceilleachair
    Favourite Micheal S. O' Ceilleachair
    Mar 10th 2016, 2:26 PM

Try selling that to the independents! Seán Ó Fearghail was elected fairly in accordance with proper parliamentary procedure. We the people decided the composition of the new Dáil in accordance by proper election. No doubt each of the candidates for the position of Ceann Comhairle had their merits. I was very impressed with Bernard Durken’s speech. That the “opposition” could not organize to support the lady candidate is no fault of FF, FG or Labour. Comhgáirdeachas a Sheáin.

Mute Gerry McGuinness
    Favourite Gerry McGuinness
    Mar 10th 2016, 2:56 PM

By your comment you’d imagine independent TD’s were elected without having an opinion or a viewpoint on anything. That said I would have liked Maureen O’Sullivan in the job, though she has opinions the same as everyone. Doesn’t make her less or more biased than anyone elected to the job

Mute Ryan Anthony
    Favourite Ryan Anthony
    Mar 10th 2016, 3:01 PM

Come on look at the last two they were blatant partisan hacks shielding their own party from questions while tossing the opposition speakers out. They’d spent decades being indoctrinated to blindly support the party they don’t loose that when they become cc

An independent would at least lack that partisan herd instinct.

Mute LITTLEONE
    Favourite LITTLEONE
    Mar 10th 2016, 2:06 PM

Playing politics already . so much for reform . something’s don’t change.
    The election of Ó Feargháil comes after two Fine Gael ministers yesterday privately encouraged backbenchers in their own party to put their support behind the Fianna Fáil whip.

Mute Brinster
    Favourite Brinster
    Mar 10th 2016, 2:25 PM

All the Big 3 played politics.

You going to criticise them all or just FG?

Mute LITTLEONE
    Favourite LITTLEONE
    Mar 10th 2016, 2:46 PM

Well brinster going by the article above. It doesn’t mention the others playing games only fg . so yes I will criticise fg……

Mute Brinster
    Favourite Brinster
    Mar 10th 2016, 3:03 PM

The article assertions are anonymous, unsubstantiated and completely at odds with the evidence.

FG have 50 votes and yet the 2 FG candidates got 53 first preference votes between them.

It is ridiculous to believe that FG voted FF in any numbers.

What is far more important is that Mo’S got only 24 of the 41 non Big 3 votes. And we’re supposed to believe that there is a sea change in Irish politics?

FG backed FG
    FF backed FF
    SF backed SF

And the independents acted independently.

Plus ca change.

Mute LITTLEONE
    Favourite LITTLEONE

Well brinster , you best complain to Hugh about the article. I rather read the article from Hugh.who let’s be honest , knows a bit about FG . …. Your very naive and seem to be on s mission on the comments today trying to play it down…. You do know the way games are played .. Split the votes , candidates get knocked out and so on. Have you forgotten this part….

Mute LITTLEONE
    Favourite LITTLEONE
    Mar 10th 2016, 3:13 PM

Brinster , I must say how fantastic you are doing on all your comments today. You make your comment and woe and behold large amounts of green thumbs just appear. ….. Bit funny that….

Mute LITTLEONE
    Favourite LITTLEONE
    Mar 10th 2016, 3:16 PM

Fishy thumbs going on ?…….

Mute Brinster
    Favourite Brinster
    Mar 10th 2016, 3:29 PM

Ah here.

So I’m naive, the thumbs are rigged, unsubstantiated assertions are preferable to evidence and only FG are capable of ever doing anything wrong.

You don’t sound biased at all.

Mute LITTLEONE
    Favourite LITTLEONE
    Mar 10th 2016, 3:33 PM

Brinster. Have been watching your thumbs and yes something strange has been going on… Funny when I mention fishy thumbs wo and behold you give yourself 7 and funny enough I got ,7 too. Away you go and play your games. Very easy to spot and I am sure not the only one to spot them today…. Very sad.

Mute Dave Murray
    Favourite Dave Murray
    Mar 10th 2016, 1:25 PM

Is this Fearghaíl?

Mute Janet Jan Coyle
    Favourite Janet Jan Coyle
    Mar 10th 2016, 2:33 PM

Would have liked to see Maureen getting it only consolation is won’t have to look at or listen to that Sean Barrett Muppet

Mute anthony campion
    Favourite anthony campion
    Mar 10th 2016, 1:45 PM

Lord Lowry at a funeral, not even bothering about going to work, not to worry he’ll always top the poll anyway

Mute John Reese
    Favourite John Reese

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_wZX_Jfvm_Y – I will remind the Deputy…awful craic

why?
    Mute why?
    Favourite why?
    Mar 10th 2016, 1:42 PM

doesn’t seem to be a huge fan of water charges in its current form either – https://www.fiannafail.ie/kildare-car-tax-payments-being-used-to-prop-up-irish-water-o-fearghail/

although, FF were in opposition then…..he can change his mind as often as he wants now.

of all the roles in all the houses, surely this one should ALWAYS be independent? sad face.

Mute Bernard Cantillon
    Favourite Bernard Cantillon
    Mar 10th 2016, 2:10 PM

His views on water charges are completely irrelevant. He is not allowed make any statement on them. Otherwise he would dishonour the office of state he had been elected to by making it partisan. He only ever casts a vote if there is a tie and that is very rare, particularly when there are 157 other deputies, so if they all voted or were pared then there would hardly ever be a tie (ignoring the fact that there will be a government majority of 93-61 if the Grand Coalition happens. There is also precedent to recommend that it is most correct in the case of a tie for the Ceann Comhairle to automatically vote against whatever the motion is.

Mute Pat Egan
    Favourite Pat Egan
    Mar 10th 2016, 5:00 PM

I’m absolutely not an apologist for Ml Lowry, I’m from Tipp and I’ve never voted for the man, I’m going to defend him here however regarding his non attendance in the Dail today. The funeral he was attending was for Willie Kennedy who was one of his best friends both personally and politically. A Tipp Co Councillor who was universally well regarded within the county right across the full political divide as a great community worker and a total gentleman to boot.

He was killed tragically in a traffic accident earlier this week. I never voted for Willie either but id have had the height of respect for him and his family and Despite political differences i would have attended his funeral myself except im out of the country all week for work.

I will guarantee also that virtually involved in Tipp politics of whatever hue would have done the same either last night or today

Mute Pat Egan
    Favourite Pat Egan
    Mar 10th 2016, 5:01 PM

“Virtuallly everyone involved”

Mute John O Sullivan
    Favourite John O Sullivan
    Mar 10th 2016, 3:32 PM

Hope he does a better job than barret ..at stages in previous dail i thought he lost control…

Mute Mary Murphy
    Favourite Mary Murphy
    Mar 10th 2016, 5:24 PM

Sean Barrett speaking about Independence haha. And giving someone from the opposite party support. Does he think people are stupid?.

Mute Amy Wallis
    Favourite Amy Wallis
    Mar 10th 2016, 5:37 PM

A secret ballot is a brilliant idea and it’s rid villus that they haven’t had it before. There was ridiculous pressure on who they had to vote for when it was public and now they can truly vote for who they want to. Sure, there are probably whispers behind the scenes, but no one can get in trouble now for voting for the “wrong” person.

Mute Mary Murphy
    Favourite Mary Murphy
    Mar 10th 2016, 5:22 PM

Delighted Maureen O’Sullivan didn’t get it.