You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

At a glance: What are the new reopening plans?

Rising Covid case numbers and hospitalisations saw the government take a more cautious approach to the loosening of restrictions.

THIS FRIDAY WAS scheduled to see all remaining Covid-19 restrictions lifted, however increasing Covid-19 cases and hospitalisations in recent weeks have seen the Government take a more nuanced approach.

Taoiseach Micheál Martin confirmed this afternoon that the advice from the National Public Health Emergency Team (NPHET) was to keep these protective measures in place until February and the government will follow that advice.

In a 12-page letter, NPHET told the Government that the criteria required to allow the relaxing of most public health measures had not been met, and warned about the “precarious’”Covid situation ahead of today’s limited loosening of restrictions.

NPHET did give some space to ease more restrictions, but only if the enforcement of vaccine passes, social distancing and mask-wearing remained in place.

From Friday, what’s changing and what isn’t?

Indoor and outdoor activities 

Overall, Martin confirmed that from Friday, Covid-19 Digital Certificates will continue to be required for indoor hospitality and events.

In hospitality venues, table service only will continue with a maximum of 10 others per table, or 15 including children.

Nightclubs will be allowed to reopen as planned this Friday – but new advice specifically for the sector is being developed, and has yet to be released.

In a government document released this afternoon, it was confirmed that:

• Specific sectoral guidance will be developed for nightclubs setting out appropriate protective measures.
  • This will involve Covid-19 passes, contact tracing data collection and wearing of facemasks except when eating, drinking and dancing

There was no clarification given on capacity numbers in nightclubs.

In relation to live events, the government confirmed:

• for indoor live music, drama, live entertainment and sporting events audience/spectators should be fully seated (standing permitted at your seat)

This would affect any standing-only events booked in by Irish promoters from 22 October.

For outdoor events, Covid-19 vaccination certs will not apply for admission to but mask-wearing will be encouraged.

This decision removes capacity restrictions from Irish sports stadia for the first time since Covid measures were first introduced in Ireland in March 2020.

Restrictions on the number of people allowed to attend weddings and religious ceremonies have been removed. However, protective measures will remain in place.

These measures include that wedding receptions must be a sit-down meal only, live entertainment is permitted at the reception and ceremony, dancing is permitted but guests should emphasise personal responsibility.

The guidelines also say that the closing time for food and beverage facilities at hotels and guesthouses is 11.30pm. (TheJournal has sought clarification on this)

Back to the office?

The return to workplaces can continue on a “phased and cautious basis” for specific business requirements. 

A full return to physical attendance in workplaces was expected to be allowed on a “phased and cautious basis” from Friday, however, Tánaiste Leo Varadkar estimates that a full return to physical attendance in workplaces won’t be possible until next spring.

Public health advice for people to work from home where possible will remain in place beyond Friday, and government is to meet with trade unions and employers today to update the back-to-work guidance contained in the Work Safely Protocol.

“Essentially, what we’re saying is that a staggered return to workplaces and the office is possible. So people can go back to the office for a specific business purpose — a meeting or training, for example,” said Varadkar during this afternoon’s press conference.

Antigen testing

Antigen tests are set to have an “enhanced role” as part of a series of new Covid-19 measures announced today. Tests will be sent to symptomless fully vaccinated close contacts of confirmed cases.

This is a departure from testing policy thus far, where vaccinated people who were deemed a close contact, but had no Covid-19 symptoms, were not required to get a PCR test or to restrict their movements.

Currently, antigen testing is being piloted in seven college campuses this autumn: students test themselves twice a week at home, and can upload their results online using the HSE Report Antigen Result website. Antigen testing has also been used at high-risk sites, such as meat processing plants.

- With reporting from Aoife Barry, Céimin Burke, Ian Curran, and Gráinne Ní Aodha

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

66 Comments
    Mute ChadChaderson
    Favourite ChadChaderson
    Oct 19th 2021, 4:49 PM

Tony Holohan’s eye twitched at us enjoying Christmas last year. He will try get his way this year.

Mute Lily Martin
    Favourite Lily Martin
    Oct 19th 2021, 4:58 PM

@ChadChaderson:how many people contracted covid because he didn’t “get his way”, as you put it? How many died? How many are still living with the after effects if the virus in their bodies? There is no chance of the same lockdown scenario occurring but the notion that we should throw all caution to the wind is keeping the numbers up.

Mute Kenneth Finn
    Favourite Kenneth Finn
    Oct 19th 2021, 5:08 PM

@Lily Martin: and tbf to Tony, last Xmas he was mourning his wife after returning in October. So he might have had it in his mind to keep as many of us as he could, fit, healthy and…..alive.

Mute Jason Walsh
    Favourite Jason Walsh
    Oct 19th 2021, 6:20 PM

@Lily Martin: Let’s call a spade a spade here, folk were going to ignore the government advice and travel to the other sides if the country over Christmas so didn’t matter a sod. The close contacts of family meetups caused the spikes not the socially distanced mask wearing folk going to the pubs or restaurants.

Mute Macca1986
    Favourite Macca1986
    Oct 19th 2021, 6:23 PM

@Lily Martin: the reality is, the saviour of all graces was the vaccine. those that want it have now got it and are returning to their normal life. I don’t think any of that is hard to understand. covid is here with a year and a half and here to stay. you either live with it by going about your normal life or you shy away. I choose to get back to doing everyday normal things like I did before covid along with many other people. the thing driving the hysteria in some people is giving the covid cases every day.

Mute Elaine Phelan
    Favourite Elaine Phelan
    Oct 19th 2021, 7:38 PM

@Macca1986: yes, along with some sensible precautions

Mute Tomo
    Favourite Tomo
    Oct 19th 2021, 7:55 PM

@ChadChaderson: We should’ve been locked down at Christmas. 2021 basically was one giant lockdown thanks to us opening at Christmas.

Mute MrJohne
    Favourite MrJohne
    Oct 19th 2021, 8:10 PM

@ChadChaderson: WE ARE AT WAR WITH A VIRUS ..get in line and play your part!! this is beyond whoever is in government

Mute James Carew
    Favourite James Carew
    Oct 19th 2021, 8:11 PM

@ChadChaderson: There is something really dangerous and sinister that Irish people pin their grievances on an individual and personalise this. You only have to look at what happened with the MP in the UK to realise this is not ok. Air your grievances if you must but not at an individual. You come across as an immature creep who needs a bogeyman to justify your opinions.

Mute Macca1986
    Favourite Macca1986
    Oct 19th 2021, 8:16 PM

@Elaine Phelan: like what? mask wearing? majority I see are doing it. social distancing? not so much as social interaction is something that comes naturally to most humans.

Mute jim dee
    Favourite jim dee
    Oct 19th 2021, 10:48 PM

@Kenneth Finn: yeah holohan a great man altogether,brilliant man,,go ask the cervical cancer women about him,oh how many have died because of this great mans advice opinion and policies…do you remember the deaths in our nursing homes ,holohan..great man altogether eh.

Mute Joe Travers
    Favourite Joe Travers
    Oct 20th 2021, 8:03 AM

@ChadChaderson: Hes a man trying to do a tough job. Doesn’t help he has to see cr ap from you know it all lads.

Mute Paul Smith
    Favourite Paul Smith
    Oct 19th 2021, 5:20 PM

So you can go to the bar at the nightclub but not in the pub. What’s the difference?

Mute John Smith
    Favourite John Smith
    Oct 19th 2021, 5:35 PM

@Paul Smith: dont forget to wear your mask when your getting the shift1

Mute John Hagin Meade
    Favourite John Hagin Meade
    Oct 19th 2021, 10:25 PM

@John Smith: And don’t forget the other thing to be worn a bit lower down the body!

Mute Mickety Dee
    Favourite Mickety Dee
    Oct 20th 2021, 8:15 AM

@Paul Smith: The difference is that a nite club couldn’t function if people couldn’t risk freely without masks. It’s a trade off to try and allow a business to open

Mute Rebecca BarrettNp
    Favourite Rebecca BarrettNp
    Oct 19th 2021, 5:50 PM

Perfect balance struck today, the vaccinated majority get further freedoms and continued peace of mind when socialising, stricter enforcement of the Covid Certs is needed though as anti-vaxxers are using fraudulent copies.

Mute Chris Gaffney
    Favourite Chris Gaffney
    Oct 19th 2021, 6:13 PM

@Rebecca BarrettNp: Absolutely.

Mute James Daly
    Favourite James Daly
    Oct 19th 2021, 6:35 PM

@Rebecca BarrettNp: I have a vaccine passport by virtue of having recovered from covid. Never polluted myself with trial meds.

Mute Rebecca BarrettNp
    Oct 19th 2021, 6:37 PM

@James Daly: What trial meds?

Mute James Daly
    Favourite James Daly
    Oct 19th 2021, 6:38 PM

@Rebecca BarrettNp: or the covid recovered. Vaccinated or not. :)

Mute Maximus_Demonus #FBPE
    Favourite Maximus_Demonus #FBPE
    Oct 19th 2021, 7:17 PM

@James Daly: No you don’t, the only thing you have is an inflated sense of your self importance. Try being a less selfish human, it helps us all. Thanks.

Mute James Daly
    Favourite James Daly
    Oct 19th 2021, 7:26 PM

@Maximus_Demonus #FBPE: and a covid passport. You neglected to mention that conveniently.

Mute Hear me now
    Favourite Hear me now
    Oct 19th 2021, 9:05 PM

@Rebecca BarrettNp: nah…let them have a nite out…being marginalised & treated like they are lepers because they do not want to get a Voluntary Vaccine!!! Will sort out a few mates this wkend!!!

Mute Richie
    Favourite Richie
    Oct 19th 2021, 7:08 PM

Very frustrated today. Not just because I was mentally using this as another step to normality but because the reality is we are now as a society paying the price of years of at best ineptitude and at worst corruption in the spending of public finances with the black hole that is the health budget being number 1 over the last 30 years.
    And to make it worse there is zero accountability for any of it if anything those responsible have prospered.
    We lag behind most euro countries on a return to normality for lots of reasons, some being we have an incompetent HSE and because we refuse to accept antigen testing (should have been last year).
    And the fact they are putting this out to Feb confirms all the hard work of Irish ppl is just taken adv of and we are being used as a crutch for it.!

Mute David Byrne
    Favourite David Byrne
    Oct 19th 2021, 10:37 PM

@Richie: the government know and we all know quite well we are a bunch of drunks and if let of the leash Covid will spread like wild fire. Simple really.

Mute Marie Broomfield
    Favourite Marie Broomfield
    Oct 21st 2021, 8:44 AM

@Richie: whats your normality Richie?

Lad
    Mute Lad
    Favourite Lad
    Oct 19th 2021, 5:35 PM

Congrats everyone.. this is the day people have been waiting for. Like or not, at the end of the day Ireland had one of the best responses to this pandemic in the world by both people and government.

Mute Ellie Mae
    Favourite Ellie Mae
    Oct 19th 2021, 7:41 PM

@Lad: your joking right every rule our government makes they contridict it with another one

Mute Ro-your-nan
    Favourite Ro-your-nan
    Oct 19th 2021, 9:26 PM

@Ellie Mae: it’s a pandemic – grow up

Mute Lucy Legacy
    Favourite Lucy Legacy
    Oct 19th 2021, 5:50 PM

So masks in nightclubs except when dancing, eating or drinking :). So you just wear it for the shift :)

Mute Finbarr Spain
    Favourite Finbarr Spain
    Oct 19th 2021, 6:47 PM

@Lucy Legacy: and vomiting.

Mute Lucy Legacy
    Favourite Lucy Legacy
    Oct 19th 2021, 10:20 PM

@Finbarr Spain: ha ha

Oct 19th 2021, 4:11 PM

So masks are still only required in medical places, public transport and indoor retail as planned? That hasn’t changed today?

Mute Niamh Ní Caiside
    Favourite Niamh Ní Caiside
    Oct 19th 2021, 4:25 PM

@: masks still required in hospitality and other settings while not seated at own table

Mute Joe_X
    Favourite Joe_X
    Oct 19th 2021, 4:27 PM

I think some people were expecting a UK style freedom day so whatever happened there were people going to be giving out.

Oct 19th 2021, 5:08 PM

@Niamh Ní Caiside: thanks so only what I listed above, including yours, but no other places like general work places?

Mute Paul Mcnevin
    Favourite Paul Mcnevin
    Oct 19th 2021, 6:27 PM

@Niamh Ní Caiside: Wear a mask to go to the toilet.

Mute Sarah Lou
    Favourite Sarah Lou
    Oct 19th 2021, 5:15 PM

So to clarify, a fully vaccinated asymptomatic person whom is a close contact must now wait for an antigen test to arrive presumably by post to see if they have covid but an unvaccinated known close contact can go to school once they havent had a sleep over…

Mute Stephen Nix
    Favourite Stephen Nix
    Oct 19th 2021, 9:07 PM

I work in a bar. I seat people. I interact with 2000 different people per week. Yet people are advised not to work in a office, lol. No sense i any of this. The lack of consistency is embarrassing.

Fozz
    Mute Fozz
    Favourite Fozz
    Oct 20th 2021, 8:43 AM

@Stephen Nix: you are assuming there’s a central logic to the decisions, so they should all be consistent.
    There isn’t – they are based on calculated risks so comparing them leads to inconsistencies.
    You work for a group of organisations that have a strong lobby (the vintners) but a relative small number of employees.
    Office-workers work for a divergent non-unified group of employers so there’s no pressure on Govt to force them back, and they are huge numbers so leaving them WFH reduces the overall societal risk of spread.

Mute Marie Broomfield
    Favourite Marie Broomfield
    Oct 21st 2021, 8:57 AM

@Stephen Nix: you’re putting yourself for the good of others, does that not not make you feel.good. I’m.sure those 2000 people are only too delighted! Besides office’s are cramped and air conditioning spreads all sorts of nasties.

Mute Liam
    Favourite Liam
    Oct 19th 2021, 5:33 PM

Nothing about schools as per usual. Students are not able to do any practical work or experiments due to covid restrictions. Joke.

JG
    Mute JG
    Favourite JG
    Oct 19th 2021, 7:59 PM

It’s all up in a heap.. Like mulligans silage..
    Can i stand/sit at a bar or not?
    Is bar closing still 11.30 or not?
    Can I stand up at a sitting down event?
    Can I sit down at a standing up event?
    Can I take the mask off before I put the fork to my mouth or fork up and mask down?
    Can I dance with a mask or without?
    It’s really nuckin futs.

Mute Aine O Connor
    Favourite Aine O Connor
    Oct 19th 2021, 6:08 PM

Fully Seated Venues , Physical Distancing, how does that work.

Mute MrJohne
    Favourite MrJohne
    Oct 19th 2021, 8:08 PM

we need to find out where this virus came from .. so it does not happened again

Mute Darren Byrne
    Favourite Darren Byrne
    Oct 19th 2021, 5:26 PM

Is pub closing time still 11.30?

Mute Franny Ando
    Favourite Franny Ando
    Oct 19th 2021, 6:19 PM

@Darren Byrne: No back to normal opening hours.

Mute Patrick Kiely
    Favourite Patrick Kiely
    Oct 19th 2021, 6:05 PM

LOOOOOLLL

Mute Cathal Lyons
    Favourite Cathal Lyons
    Oct 19th 2021, 5:31 PM

Are Covid certs required to attend indoor wedding receptions or is there an exemption?

Mute Franny Ando
    Favourite Franny Ando
    Oct 19th 2021, 6:21 PM

@Cathal Lyons: The way I took it today no but that could just be my interpretation. It was asked at a phone in on the radio today and presenter said no also but he was uncertain too:)

Mute James Daly
    Favourite James Daly
    Oct 19th 2021, 6:49 PM

@Cathal Lyons: I think they have lifted restrictions on weddings today.

Mute Nathan Cushen
    Favourite Nathan Cushen
    Oct 19th 2021, 6:12 PM

Can someone explain can you get a paid antigen test in private places, like the ones offered by Dublin airport etc, and use your result to get into nightclubs from Friday? Wondering as some of my friends are not vaccinated are were all unsure on what’s going on

Mute Rebecca BarrettNp
    Oct 19th 2021, 6:22 PM

@Nathan Cushen: You have to be vaccinated to go to a nightclub, you won’t be allowed in without a Covid Cert on your phone.

Mute James Daly
    Favourite James Daly
    Oct 19th 2021, 6:31 PM

@Rebecca BarrettNp: you can get a covid cert if you have recovered from covid in the last 6 months. That’s my in. And I didn’t have to pollute my body with trial meds.

Mute Nathan Cushen
    Favourite Nathan Cushen
    Oct 19th 2021, 6:37 PM

@Rebecca BarrettNp: But you can get a covid cert with a negative test result.l by getting a paid antigen no?

Mute Rebecca BarrettNp
    Oct 19th 2021, 6:43 PM

@Nathan Cushen: Apologies yes, if it’s from a private clinic and the test (antigen or PCR) was taken within 48 hours, you can get the EU Digital Covid Certificate.

Mute Mike Hogan
    Favourite Mike Hogan
    Oct 19th 2021, 7:03 PM

@James Daly: you already said it above. Do you not remember?

Mute Fred spins kdb
    Favourite Fred spins kdb
    Oct 19th 2021, 9:56 PM

@Mike Hogan: he thinks ‘trial meds’ sounds good. Leave him off. Bit of a sell out if hes that opposed to them to be availing of the covid cert, mind.

Mute Nathan Cushen
    Favourite Nathan Cushen
    Oct 20th 2021, 4:31 PM

@Rebecca BarrettNp: Thanks for answering. All a bit of a mess still no one knows what’s going on

Mute Great White Hope
    Favourite Great White Hope
    Oct 19th 2021, 6:49 PM

Gyms full capacity?

Mute Paula Meade
    Favourite Paula Meade
    Oct 19th 2021, 9:32 PM

What about the un vaccinated going to all these places with fake covid certs

Mute Teresa O'Halloran
    Favourite Teresa O'Halloran
    Oct 20th 2021, 8:54 AM

Wash your hands, use hand sanitizer, wear a mask, social distance. This is the new normal. Why have people become complacent? The virus is spreading because we have got lazy.

Mute Ellie Mae
    Favourite Ellie Mae
    Oct 19th 2021, 10:00 PM

Theres 450 people in icu right now around ireland and were still closed down cause of them

Mute Ted Logan
    Favourite Ted Logan
    Oct 19th 2021, 10:14 PM

@Ellie Mae: 74 in ICU with covid.

Mute Paula Meade
    Favourite Paula Meade
    Oct 19th 2021, 9:39 PM

What about the people with no vaccine going out and about with fake covid certs