You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
CHINA IS TODAY mourning the 36 dead from a New Year’s Eve crush on Shanghai’s famed waterfront, as the city government revealed the victims were mainly young women.
The incident was Shanghai’s worst since a fire in a high-rise residential building killed 58 people in 2010 and tarnished the commercial hub’s international reputation.
Around 100 people gathered in front of a statue of Shanghai’s first Communist mayor Chen Yi near the accident scene, some laying flowers in a government-approved show of mourning.
Relatives wailed uncontrollably at a funeral home where some of the bodies were taken, with one woman crumpling with despair almost immediately after coming out, family members holding her up.
One man from Jiangxi province said: “My son is in there, I can’t believe this happened.”
The youngest of the 32 fatalities identified so far is a 12-year-old boy, Mao Yongjie.
He became separated from his mother in the overwhelming flow of revellers, news magazine Caixin reported, and efforts by hospital staff to save his life failed. His mother spent New Year’s day crying until she passed out from exhaustion, Caixin added.
All but four of the dead on a list released by the city government today were aged 25 or under, and 21 were female. The oldest fatality was 37.
Shanghai residents were questioning why the city government did not control the crowds, though police said a “more than normal” 700-strong police force was present.
“The Shanghai government should take responsibility for the incident. Most of the young victims must be the only child of their families,” said taxi driver Xu Jianzhong.
Under China’s strict birth control regulations most couples are restricted to a single child.
A man who only gave his surname Zhao cries after seeing a photo of his girlfriend Pan Haiqin who was killed in the deadly stampede. AP / Press Association Images
AP / Press Association Images / Press Association Images
University student Chen Xiaohang placed white chrysanthemums at the memorial site in memory of the sister of a high-school classmate who died.
“I feel very sad about this and I hope the government will offer better safety controls for events like this,” she told AFP.
Authorities at first removed flowers after the incident but later set up crowd barriers to allow them to be laid in a controlled area. On Thursday evening, mourners lit candles including an arrangement in the shape of a heart.
Internet postings and media reports initially blamed US dollar-like notes — actually promotional items from M18, a glitzy Bund nightclub — thrown from a building for setting off a scramble and causing the carnage.
But police said the “money” throwing occurred 12 minutes after and 60 metres away from the crush in a plaza.
“This happened after the stampede incident,” police said in a statement that cited surveillance video, adding it did not cause crowding pressure.
The number of injured was raised by two to 49 on Friday, the Shanghai government said on a verified microblog account.
Imaging giving your vote to a political party based on that party’s forecast of housing completions, when that party or its representatives doesn’t actually build any houses
@Kevin Kerr: Doesn’t that rule also out using housing as a reason to vote for the opposition who also haven’t built any houses but forecast what they are planning to build?
@Ger Whelan: yes, I wouldn’t look at the number of forecast completions as it’s just a random target that’s not based on any methodology – they may as well just stick their finger in the air. I look at policy, and the competence, or otherwise, of politicians as I see it
@Boody:
The only way the housing crisis will be solved will be by immigration.
We are desperately short of building staff, young Irish lads have no interest, experienced foreigners won’t come here because of high rents so the only hope is training the IPS immigrants that do come.
Give them a trade and a route to permanent residence after x amount of years.
@P. J.: you’re so out of touch with reality. Do you think these IPS immigrants are going to train to work a trade in Ireland? They are coming from Africa and East Asia. They don’t work construction. We have over 100,000 Indians in Ireland, I’ve never seen one work construction in my life. There is a few thousand Moldovans, I come across multiple on sites. Also, if you brought in 200,000 immigrants, where about 5% will work construction, then that 5% will have to build accommodation for the 200,000 to break even. That’s not going to happen. So you’re trying to chase the demand, but we’re increasing the demand every year. It’s great for construction workers as there wages will continue to rise as the demand for them continues to rise. It’s bad for everyone else.
Mute he didnt take the 120k because he already got it split over 3 years
Favourite he didnt take the 120k because he already got it split over 3 years
Feb 23rd 2025, 1:44 PM
@Ger Whelan: no, because the opposition have never been in power, so there is no evidence of them ever failing to meet housing targets, whereas ffg have and there is evidence of them failing to meet housing targets every single year
@Joe Willis:
Firstly, why bring up Indians? They are not in the IPS system because they wouldn’t qualify, and can’t get the dole, they are working, (and paying taxes), mostly in the service industries
Is it you don’t like the look of them?
Why wouldn’t the people in the IPS centres work in construction? Did you ask them? Those people are stuck in old hotels and empty nursing homes etc, with the threat of being sent home. Now the courts system allows them to drag that out too long, I think we would agree on that but if they had the choice of going home after a year or working construction with the chance of residency after time a lot more than 5% would take it.
BTW I also work in construction and my rates have doubled in the last few years so maybe we shouldn’t suggest solutions!!
@P. J.: I’ve seen plenty of these IPS gang and the majority dont strike me as building workers, going by their designer trainers and fancy clothes.
The majority are unskilled and simply drawn here by our handouts mentality.
@Thomas Sheridan:
I seriously doubt you would ever actually go into an IPS centre and see how they live and listen to their stories.
Probably afraid they would somehow damage your “Irishness”
@Bri Lye: SF have consistently delivered credible housing plans which have had to be shelved because of the unbelievable willingness of the Irish people to let them selves be ruled by the corporate, outrageous FFG
@Bri Lye: SF won the 2020 election..yet for the foreseeable we are still going to be reading stories about scandals bought and paid for by FFG. It’s not right. It’s not ok
Makes no difference, as they’ll be in Government for at least 5 years. They’ll offer another juicy give with one hand take in secret with the other hand which will buy them votes from the blinded older voters who get out and vote while the majority of younger voters refuse to vote instead choosing to sit at home and complain online thinking they are making a difference.
@thomas molloy: FF “unshackled” bankrupted the country and left hundreds of ghost estates littered around the country. But sure you knew what and chose to ignore it right?
@Boody: wouldn’t it be great if they could manage public finances better and put irelands priorities first above all others maybe then they’d get more support just a bit of cop on on they’re part just a little. If they could focus on the key areas for once it would give people a lot more assurance.
@Paddy C: why would fianna fail listen to this or attempt to actually do the right thing? They (narrowly) came first this time having routinely done the wrong thing
@barry lyons: but I seen an article of an NGO on here yesterday, that we should be paying off Africas debts because it’s the right thing to do? Did you not say we have one of the highest debts per capita in the world? Who’s right here?
@Brian D’Arcy: does that not depend jn who was asked? And where? These polls had SF winning the last election…..but look at what happened. If you think 1029 is truly representative of the populace who are eligible to vote, we could save millions on future elections and just ask 1 person per parish what they think.
@Pat Barry: 1 parish pump person*
They’re the only ones in this country who count in the eyes of FFG and how any of those most up to their eyes in debt / bills / kids emigrated can look any loved ones or friends in the eyes – creatures
@Shane O Mac:
Exactly.
All the parties were falling over themselves on housing targets during the election.
50,000 per year says one, I bid 60,000 says another, I bid 100,000 says someone else……
And every single one of those parties were well aware that we will be lucky to maintain 30,000 regardless of who was elected.
@Johnny Wilson:
An irrelevant figure.
Completions for 2022 were 29,000
2023 had 32,000 and last year’s were down to 30,000
Almost certain to drop further this year.
FF back suggesting tax-breaks for developers too..the ‘Boom’ is back lads.
Bet you the FF tent at the Galway Races will be back too, with all their snouts stuck in the trough.
We can end up having to scavange for food and canibalise each other and FF FG support will remain steady. The Kim dynasty will lose an election in North Korea before FF and FG are both out of power.
Zero ambition, caretaker govts as voted by the usual majority conservative thinking Irish. Don’t blame ff/fg, they’re inept in any case …. blame yourselves. Ireland needs a radical shift on their thinking and change the stagnant worn-out approaches on anything that isn’t just associated with making capital.
Please don’t bounce back with how the ‘others’ would be worse. I’ve no solutions either but a change needs to happen.
@j m m:
Thing is in that election a majority (barely) signaled they don’t want change, at least not significant change
Or they can’t agree on what it should be.
@John Purcell: what I mean here is there are only so many leavers the government can pull to get and get houses build. Global market now with Eastern Europe booking, and increasing immigration coupled with reductions in interest rates mean supply will never catch demand.
We need to go back for the future and order all local authorities to make social housing the priority objective as applied in the post WW2 period.
That cleared the family per room TB ridden tenements, without foreign investors nor any native offshored developers. Dependance on market scarcity driven policy will never solve social needs.
Let the free market build the 4 beds and state build the social 3 beds. For rent Tower blocks of 1 & 2 beds cain be left to REIT and Pension Fund.
@P. J.: all the foreigners that you all complain so much about ,the boom was built on eastern European workforce .I came to Cork in 2002 and the amount of people that complained about “foreign nationals” takings jobs was breathtaking.
@sean weir:
Excuse me, go try find any comment I have ever made complaining about foreigners…….
I think we have nowhere near enough of them.
I actually suggested exactly that, getting immigrants to build on this very article a couple of hours ago.
A thread started by Kevin Kerr.
Specifically, training IPS residents in the trades and giving them a promise of residency after a set number of years.
@sean weir: the only people who want communism like you, are people who can’t compete in a capitalist society. So you want an entire reset, so you can try again.
The 25% of fools who voted for this creep and his FF party should have known he had plucked the housing figures out of his rear end. FF have never delivered what they have promised and thanks to these lackeys we are stuck with this detest able clo wn for 5 years.
If you believed the comments here then the far right parties should be on 40-50%. Ireland first and all that crap. The loudest wierdos here speak for 2% of the actual population
@FoxyBoiiYT: The concept of “Ireland First” is “crap”? How long have you been a traitor to your own people? Nationalism is okay for Palestinians and Ukrainians but Ireland belongs to the world, yeah? You sir, are the definition of a cuck.
@Chop Chop: Awww did i hurt your far right feelings? Hate being called out don’t ye? Ye are not supported by the people of Ireland and no amount of whinging on here will change that. The truth hurts eh…
@FoxyBoiiYT: the majority of Europe, the USA, Canada (in march), Australia and NZ have a different view. No wonder their standard of living and buying power is higher than ours.
@087 bed: Excuse me I’m no fool nor are the Irish electorate they voted to keep the Belfast directed party out. We were proved correct also we knew both the Social Democrats are only a debating society after 3 elections now made their excuses again to crib from the sidelines and as for Labour they still think we haven’t forgotten how they attacked the carers and weakest in Society and now pretend they have the answers
@SteveH:
Germany nowhere near going far right, latest polls put them on 21% so even with a large surge about 75% or 3 out of 4 voters will have rejected them.
The same happened in The Netherlands, where the far right party actually got into power but only after ditching their leader and all of their most controversial policies with the coalition partners joining only after they ensured they would outnumber them within cabinet and government benches.
Seriously!? Its not all the governments fault! Why are they so expensive, unaffordable and not worth the price they are going for!? Answer obvious! Profit profit profit! Until there is a way figured out to produce homes at normal prices then its never going to change! Until there is no demand anymore and this will happen like the last time because of unaffordabilty which we cant fully blame the government for!
@N D K:
Or a sad reflection on the opposition, in the midst of the worst housing crisis ever, they couldn’t convince enough people they could do better.
@P. J.: that’s exactly it. There is no opposition. All parties subscribe to the same centre and centre right politics. So, there is no reason to change things as they are. The real crime is that this allows far right parties to become the only markedly different alternative. Thankfully, in spite of this, they have no substantial support.
@Joe Willis:
Yourself and Alan are mixing economic attitudes and social ones.
On the economy the 3 main parties are centre right, centre and centre left, covering 60% of the voters.
Some of the smaller parties cover the more extreme options.
On Social issues the vast vast majority of TDs are different shades of socially liberal.
@P. J.: high taxes is left wing. We have very high tax here. If you make 100k, you will give half of it to the government when you count in USC PRSI PAYE and the little taxes they squirm out of people. The closest state to right wing in monetary policy is Texas, USA. There is no income tax. Only federal tax that all states have.
@Housing Hunger Games: I never mentioned new parties,the electorate put fffg back in despite there terrible record last term,why,imo there not convinced by the other parties available,and that is a sad state of affairs,and if the electorate disagree there are poor choices,why didn’t one of them end up with enough seats to form a government.
@Housing Hunger Games: so you think that everyone who voted ffg will disagree that the party have made poor choices? How delusional are you. A vote for fffg was a vote to ensure that Sinn Fein did not get into government, as they were the biggest opposition by a mile. Why would ffg voters go and vote for a different new party, half of them stay and still vote fffg and Sinn Fein get the majority? That would be a disaster for this country.
@Joe Willis: What he’s trying to make out Joe is that the electorate disagree with an earlier post of poor alternatives to vote for as opposed to fffg,yet that electorate returned none of them great alternatives to be in government.
Modern houses are too expensive to build and too expensive to certify. So the choice is a Rolls Royce house or homeless, or now a glorified shed in the back garden. Houses built in the boom(with proper blocks!) Are serving people well,yes a little drafty and costs a few quid extra to heat but they work.
@Brian D’Arcy: oh really? Read FF manifesto that claims they are a ‘right of centre’ party. Even though there isn’t a single ‘right wing’ policy that they try and implement. Ridiculous high taxes, 100,000+ immigrants in one year, pro lgbt, pro abortion, pro censorship. Sounds very right wing to me.
@Joe Willis: Your limited understanding allows you believe that right of centre means right wing. Veins of the Dunning-Kruger effect run through your comments.
When you have a slogan housing for all, including free housing for Easters who come here no wonder we have a house ing, hospital, school, prison overcrowding .
18% who voted Fine Gael would and 25% who voted Fianna Fáil it seems would say they would not have done so if they knew the true housing figures. No offense to these people but they are telling barefaced lies.
Germany goes to the polls today. With over 20 million people not born there living there the obvious question is “How German is Germany in 2025?”. Daft socialists can pat themselves on the back for pushing Germany and so many other nations to the right.
@Darran Macken: the only people who really think like that are beyond help. They love money and most importantly they love the fear that’s been used to keep the cartel in government
Polls 2 months after an election
They could not get a exit poll correct and as for the Business post I’m amazed Sinn Fein hasn’t sued them over false polls leading up to last election
No school places for kids with disabilities, no services, but he sends money out to everywhere and anywhere except use it in Ireland that the citizens need. These endless narratives are over. Support the Irish people for a change.
Health unions suspend planned 'work-to-rule' following talks with the HSE
8 mins ago
Opinion
Lukashenko: How Europe's last dictator figures in the thawing of US-Russian relations
24 mins ago
social welfare changes
If you lose your job and have worked for 5 years you'll get up to €450 a week under new rules
12 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 161 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 110 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 143 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 113 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 39 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 35 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 134 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 61 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 74 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 37 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 46 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 27 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 92 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 99 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 72 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 53 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 88 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 69 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say