You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

A milkshake has been thrown on Nigel Farage

The MEP candidate was canvassing in Newcastle when it happened.

European Parliament election PA Wire / PA Images PA Wire / PA Images / PA Images

LEADER OF THE Brexit Party and British MEP Nigel Farage has had a milkshake thrown on him while out canvassing in Newcastle city centre. 

Photos showed Farage giving a talk to a crowd near a milkshake shop moments beforehand; a video of the incident also documents Farage say “a complete failure”, “could’ve spotted that a mile away” as he’s being led away from the area.

This is the latest in a number of recent incidents in which far-right figures in the UK have had milkshakes thrown at them in public as a form of protest.

Earlier this month, footage of former English Defence League leader Tommy Robinson having a milkshake thrown over him in Manchester went viral.

Last week, two other protesters attempted to throw a milkshake over Ukip candidate Carl Benjamin at another event in Cornwall.

McDonald’s had been asked by British police to stop selling milkshakes temporarily in areas where Farage was due to speak.

Moments after the milkshake was thrown on him, Farage tweeted out:

Sadly some remainers have become radicalised, to the extent that normal campaigning is becoming impossible.

“For a civilised democracy to work you need the losers consent, politicians not accepting the referendum result have led us to this.”

Farage is the leader of the Brexit Party which, despite being a newly set-up party, is charging ahead of the Tory and Labour parties in the polls for the European election.

The UK’s electoral system means that citizens vote for a party and not a candidate, meaning that if the Brexit party retain their 34% share of the vote, they will receive the greatest share of British MEP seats in the next term of the European Parliament.

Farage is also the cofounder and former leader of Ukip; he resigned as leader immediately after the Brexit vote in June 2016.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

130 Comments
    Mute Quiet Goer
    Favourite Quiet Goer
    May 20th 2019, 1:43 PM

What a waste of milk

Mute John Jones
    Favourite John Jones
    May 20th 2019, 2:00 PM

@Quiet Goer: won’t be long turning sour

Mute Russel Steapot
    Favourite Russel Steapot
    May 20th 2019, 3:05 PM

What a waste of a bodyguard.
    You’re a “complete failure” Farage told him after. The first accurate thing he’s said in years.

Mute Robert Preston
    Favourite Robert Preston
    May 20th 2019, 5:56 PM

@Russel Steapot: I guess thats why the brexit party by far in the leads for thursday EU MEP vote .

Mute winston smith
    Favourite winston smith
    May 20th 2019, 1:47 PM

This doesn’t endear your views to neutrals at all, and allows those whom you oppose to appear victimised, and make it appear that you cannot address issues your opponents are raising and can only act out violently instead. Civilised discourse is the only way political issues and differences can be resolved, these increasingly regular childish outbursts will never win an argument.

Mute David Washington
    Favourite David Washington
    May 20th 2019, 1:50 PM

@winston smith: Left leaning sheep don’t know how to debate :-)

Mute Brendan Cooney
    Favourite Brendan Cooney
    May 20th 2019, 1:52 PM

@David Washington: there is no debating fascism, no matter how is it dressed.

See 20 more replies ▾
    Mute Vote4Pedro
    Favourite Vote4Pedro
    May 20th 2019, 1:53 PM

@Brendan Cooney: that’s pretty much what he said

Mute winston smith
    Favourite winston smith
    May 20th 2019, 1:55 PM

@Brendan Cooney: is the fascist the one campaigning for parliament or the one attacking an elected representative in an effort to silence him in this scenario?

Mute jacquoranda
    Favourite jacquoranda
    May 20th 2019, 2:01 PM

@Brendan Cooney: invest in a dictionary

Mute jamesdecay
    Favourite jamesdecay
    May 20th 2019, 2:04 PM

@winston smith: silence Farage? Ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha…

Mute Candace
    Favourite Candace
    May 20th 2019, 2:30 PM

@David Washington:

They can’t meme either.

Mute KingCrisp
    Favourite KingCrisp
    May 20th 2019, 2:35 PM

@winston smith: Nigel Farage is a far right facist, but nobody should throw milkshakes etc at politicians.
    “Civilised discourse is the only way political issues and differences can be resolved” but you agreed with extremist intimidation attacks on other politicians.
    https://www.thejournal.ie/anna-soubry-heckled-brexit-nazi-4427910-Jan2019/
    https://www.independent.co.uk/news/uk/politics/nigel-farage-fascist-nazi-song-gas-them-all-ukip-brexit-schoolfriend-dulwich-college-a7185236.html

Mute winston smith
    Favourite winston smith
    May 20th 2019, 2:37 PM

@KingCrisp: you clearly don’t understand what fascist means. You shouldn’t use words you don’t understand. It reveals your intellect.

Mute KingCrisp
    Favourite KingCrisp
    May 20th 2019, 3:15 PM

@winston smith: Farage has a history of been a facist and he uses fear and hate machinations against migrants etc, as did the Nazi facists. You have said “Civilised discourse is the only way political issues and differences can be resolved” You have previously agreed with extremist intimidation attacks on other politicians and then you’ve attacked me personally on the one hand “you clearly don’t understand what fascist means. You shouldn’t use words you don’t understand. It reveals your intellect” and on the other hand your use of the word facist
    “is the fascist the one campaigning for parliament or the one attacking an elected representative in an effort to silence him in this scenario?”

https://en.oxforddictionaries.com/definition/fascist
    “An advocate or follower of the political philosophy or system of fascism.”
    “A person who is extremely right-wing or authoritarian.”

Mute Leighanna Rose
    Favourite Leighanna Rose
    May 20th 2019, 3:38 PM

@winston smith: you can’t have civilised discourse of ith extremists hwo only rely on argument to spread extreme views. Nobody debated the Nazis or Franco’s fascists oitnof existence.

Mute winston smith
    Favourite winston smith
    May 20th 2019, 3:39 PM

@KingCrisp: 1. You’re lying. I never supported any such attacks. Saying people should not face the wrath of the criminal justice system for spoken words is not the same thing as supporting the actions of those saying those words. Are you always this dishonest?
    2. Are you familiar with association fallacy? Your argument is basically “Farage said mean things about migrants, the Nazis said mean things about migrants, ergo Farage is a fascist.” The Nazis also had environmental and animal protection policies, just like the Green Party. Reckon Eamon Ryan will be goosestepping down O’Connell St. any time soon?

Mute Darius Guppy
    Favourite Darius Guppy
    May 20th 2019, 3:54 PM

@Brendan Cooney: what are his fascist policies?

Mute Darius Guppy
    Favourite Darius Guppy
    May 20th 2019, 3:54 PM

@KingCrisp: what are his far right fascist policies?

Mute KingCrisp
    Favourite KingCrisp
    May 20th 2019, 4:23 PM

@winston smith: “Why would she expect the police to intervene? They were protesters, at parliament, and they conveyed their protest to an elected representative. The choice of words may not be to everybody’s liking, but for the police to intervene in such a scenario would be draconian. She’s then horrified that she is “meant to accept it as part of the democratic process”; does this woman think herself a patrician, too noble to be subject to the ire of those ghastly plebeians over whom she rules?”
    You have agreed with the surrounding a female politician, intimidating her, shouting and screaming in her face, as a legitimate protest. Their actions where utterly vile, but you think it’s okay. What happened to her was far worse than what happened to Farage today. A milkshake shouldn’t have been thrown at Farage, but you have backed far worse. You appear to want civil discourse for some and not for others.

Farage has sung Nazi songs. He’s openly used Nazi styled fear and hate machinations against migrants etc. Under Farage, Ukip was synonymous with vile racism and bigoted hate.
    https://www.businessinsider.com/brexit-campaign-clever-nazi-propaganda-2018-4?r=US&IR=T

https://www.thejournal.ie/anna-soubry-heckled-brexit-nazi-4427910-Jan2019/

Mute Dave O'Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O'Keeffe
    May 20th 2019, 4:27 PM

@Candace: satanism again I assume?

Mute winston smith
    Favourite winston smith
    May 20th 2019, 4:44 PM

@KingCrisp: no it wasn’t far worse. One involved words, the other involved violence. Violence is worse than mean words. The law recognises violence is worse than mean words. By any objective standard violence is worse than mean words. Because violence causes more damage than mean words. You might disagree with this, but you are wrong. Objectively so.

Mute KingCrisp
    Favourite KingCrisp
    May 20th 2019, 5:36 PM

@winston smith: Screaming and shouting whilst surrounding a politician is more than mere words. It’s a shameful extremist threatening intimidation attack on a female politician and it’s certainly not civil discourse. I don’t agree with anyone throwing a milkshake at Farage. The only thing that was damaged/hurt was his pride and a wet suit. It’s not extreme violence, is it even violence. It’s uncouth behaviour. It never should have happened. Their is far more “violence” as you put it, when a snowball is thrown. IMHO extreme threatening intimation, trumps a wet suit.

Mute winston smith
    Favourite winston smith
    May 20th 2019, 5:43 PM

@KingCrisp: well your opinion is absolutely incorrect on a fundamental and objective level.

Mute Robert Preston
    Favourite Robert Preston
    May 20th 2019, 5:58 PM

@KingCrisp: Thats because the far left dont know how to behave

Mute Hello DAVE!
    Favourite Hello DAVE!
    May 20th 2019, 1:45 PM

Bloody good shot sir! Plenty in the tank!

Mute brian reid
    Favourite brian reid
    May 20th 2019, 2:19 PM

@Hello DAVE!: did you get that saying from the videos you have been watching

Mute Devilsavocado
    Favourite Devilsavocado
    May 20th 2019, 2:25 PM

@brian reid: what videos Brian???

Mute Shakka1244
    Favourite Shakka1244
    May 20th 2019, 3:35 PM

@Hello DAVE!:
    And may I just say, very straight lines sir.

Mute John Jones
    Favourite John Jones
    May 20th 2019, 5:23 PM

Simply lovleh

Mute Lester Jeffcoat
    Favourite Lester Jeffcoat
    May 20th 2019, 1:44 PM

As long as the straw was biodegradable we should be ok.

Mute Robert Preston
    Favourite Robert Preston
    May 20th 2019, 6:01 PM

@Lester Jeffcoat: Double standards Corybn gets a egg thrown at him and the man goes to preson What if the milkshake contained some form of acid Thats ok with you ????

Mute Dietrich Död
    Favourite Dietrich Död
    May 20th 2019, 6:19 PM

@Robert Preston: The milkshake probable did contain lactic acid Robert.

Mute joe
    Favourite joe
    May 20th 2019, 2:04 PM

Imagine if one was thrown on a left wing candidate, you wouldn’t hear the end of it. Lefties are in denial that Farage and the Brexit party could get over 30 MEP seats

Mute winston smith
    Favourite winston smith
    May 20th 2019, 2:09 PM

@joe: criminal charges were brought against a man for calling a sitting MP a Nazi. No violence, just called her names. Will charges be brought against any of the people who assaulted Nigel Farage, Tommy Robinson or Carl Benjamin? Of course not, justice in the UK is the preserve of the ideologically sound these days.

Mute joe
    Favourite joe
    May 20th 2019, 2:14 PM

@winston smith: will happen here next if we don’t stop FG.

Mute jamesdecay
    Favourite jamesdecay
    May 20th 2019, 3:06 PM

@winston smith: Hilarious stuff. And I thought us leftie libtards were the snowflakes. You right-whingers have lost your sh!t over a milkshake. Get over yourselves. It’s a milkshake. I’ll throw a few quid into the pot for the dry-cleaning bill, okay? Is there a Go Fund Me page? Did you set one up yet?

I wouldn’t class a milkshake over your suit as assault, though I guess that’s a matter for Farage and the police. It sure is a pretty affirmative way of expressing displeasure. And if you are not happy, do a Prescott on it, and punch the guy in the face. That’s the biblical approach anyway. And I guess that IS assault.

But anyway, relax. The sky didnt fall in. Unlike for Jo Cox. Can you see the difference?

Mute Dave O'Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O'Keeffe
    May 20th 2019, 5:45 PM

@winston smith: Jack Renshaw didn’t hurt his target either, what’s your point?

Mute winston smith
    Favourite winston smith
    May 20th 2019, 5:48 PM

@Dave O’Keeffe: I didn’t say anything about anyone being hurt. I have some straw here I can craft a character out of if you’d like to continue this conversation.

Mute Dave O'Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O'Keeffe
    May 20th 2019, 6:05 PM

@winston smith: Well you were giving out about people embeing charged for mere words so I decided to mention someone that is serving a life sentence for just some words and see if you felt he fits into your theory. But instead you’ve decided that it’s not ok to ask that and completely avoided it instead.

Mute winston smith
    Favourite winston smith
    May 20th 2019, 6:11 PM

@Dave O’Keeffe: that wasn’t over mean words, he was convicted of conspiracy to commit murder. Not even bordering on a valid comparison, so it’s not really that I’m avoiding responding, I was just pointing out that it was a strawman unworthy of consideration or response. And I stand over that. Argue honestly and in good faith and I’ll happily converse and respond. Argue dishonestly, in bad faith, and fallaciously as you have done here and I won’t.

Mute Dave O'Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O'Keeffe
    May 20th 2019, 7:00 PM

@winston smith: to be fair my point also rules out the claim that throwing milkshake isn’t a violent act so it wasn’t a one sided thing. I disagree with parts of what you have both said.

Mute Marty from Sligo
    Favourite Marty from Sligo
    May 20th 2019, 2:06 PM

I don’t think its right to throw things at politicians, if you disagree with them then do not vote for them I say…Let’s be fair.

Mute this_is_ireland
    Favourite this_is_ireland
    May 20th 2019, 2:41 PM

@Marty from Sligo: shut up

Mute Marty from Sligo
    Favourite Marty from Sligo
    May 20th 2019, 2:48 PM

@this_is_ireland: Not a chance

Mute Mushy Peas
    Favourite Mushy Peas
    May 20th 2019, 2:51 PM

@this_is_ireland: care to expand on your point?

Id really love for someone to come on and explain how Nigel Farage is a “fascist”.

And if they convince me, let milkshakes fly.

Mute this_is_ireland
    May 20th 2019, 3:45 PM

@Mushy Peas: I hate mushy peas therefore I hate you

Mute 2thFairy
    Favourite 2thFairy
    May 20th 2019, 4:04 PM

@Marty from Sligo: I totally agree….. unless it’s Farage or Boris. Then it’s perfectly acceptable.

Mute Margaret Mcgarry
    Favourite Margaret Mcgarry
    May 20th 2019, 4:51 PM

@this_is_ireland: no you shut up

Mute this_is_ireland
    May 20th 2019, 8:03 PM

@Margaret Mcgarry: up the RA

Mute jacquoranda
    Favourite jacquoranda
    May 20th 2019, 1:58 PM

Hurrah! I’m in favour of people whose politics I don’t agree with being attacked. I can’t see this descending into chaos and violence at all.

Mute Devilsavocado
    Favourite Devilsavocado
    May 20th 2019, 2:15 PM

@jacquoranda: imagine the hysteria if this type of assault was happening to pro choice campaigners or marriage equality campaigners in our last two referendums, the people responsible for the assaults would be hammered from pillar to post for their appalling antics and quite rightly so,, if you don’t agree with others views that’s fine, beat them in the polls, but you can’t be going around assaulting people.

Mute MaeVic
    Favourite MaeVic
    May 20th 2019, 2:20 PM

@Devilsavocado: Remember a pro Same sex marriage supporter throw eggs at a group campaigning against it and a 10 year old girl suffered a severe allergic reaction.

Mute Martin Meyler
    Favourite Martin Meyler
    May 20th 2019, 2:46 PM

@MaeVic: back that up or it never happened except in your head…

Mute winston smith
    Favourite winston smith
    May 20th 2019, 3:53 PM
    Mute Kazoochka
    Favourite Kazoochka
    May 20th 2019, 5:21 PM

@Martin Meyler: immediately deny if a story doesn’t fit your own agenda is it Martin?

Mute Martin Meyler
    Favourite Martin Meyler
    May 20th 2019, 7:09 PM

@Devilsavocado: nope. I asked for the link and got it. Grand. People on your side tend to make shit up constantly, some of you BELIEVE in the craziest things, so I just thought I’d get the facts from you for a change.

Mute Devilsavocado
    Favourite Devilsavocado
    May 20th 2019, 7:54 PM

@Martin Meyler: emmm,, what side am I on???

Mute Ger Murphy
    Favourite Ger Murphy
    May 20th 2019, 2:02 PM

Leo could do with a few milkshakes

Mute Maximus Decimus Meridius
    Favourite Maximus Decimus Meridius
    May 20th 2019, 2:43 PM

@Ger Murphy: id say he’s had plenty

Mute Isabel Oliveira
    Favourite Isabel Oliveira
    May 20th 2019, 2:12 PM

Can’t stand the man but throwing milkshakes at people is just a sign that the opposition is plain juvenile . Argue your case , fight with facts . This is just crèche behaviour .

Mute Will
    Favourite Will
    May 20th 2019, 2:21 PM

The muppet throwing the milkshake is of no consequence, neither is the act really but the cheer from the left is revealing.

Mute Yermanuptheroad
    Favourite Yermanuptheroad

The people cheering this are the very people who go into hysterics if somebody says something to hurt the feelings of one of their hobby horses. Be careful what you wish for lefties, if you make political violence part of your act, it will come back to you in spades.

Mute Martin Meyler
    Favourite Martin Meyler
    May 20th 2019, 2:47 PM

@Yermanuptheroad: seen fascists and right wingers lately?

Mute Mazza86
    Favourite Mazza86
    May 20th 2019, 3:03 PM

@Martin Meyler: The only fascists I’ve seen lately are leftists…

Mute Martin Meyler
    Favourite Martin Meyler
    May 20th 2019, 3:56 PM

@Mazza86: need to read a book or two, mate.

Mute Candace
    Favourite Candace
    May 20th 2019, 4:15 PM

@Martin Meyler:

Far left Antifa, ye dope.

Mute Yermanuptheroad
    Favourite Yermanuptheroad
    May 20th 2019, 4:58 PM

@Martin Meyler: No, funnily enough. I think they are a figment of the leftists imagination in most cases. I’ve seen plenty of leftist violence though.

Mute Martin Meyler
    Favourite Martin Meyler
    May 20th 2019, 6:42 PM

@Candace: troll

Mute Louise Ryan
    Favourite Louise Ryan
    May 20th 2019, 1:48 PM

A milk shake brought all the guys to the yard

Mute brendan H
    Favourite brendan H
    May 20th 2019, 2:34 PM

Anyone thats not left leaning in their politics is far right according to the journal. Better to be a right leaning conservative with common sense than a sheepish pc sick yellow belly leftist, who thinks the world is honey and pie hugs and cuddles, there is huge parts of the world that take advantage of weakness and goodwill.

Mute Keelan O'neill
    Favourite Keelan O'neill
    May 20th 2019, 2:44 PM

@brendan H: any links to a Journal article where right wing politicians are described as you say.

Mute Keelan O'neill
    Favourite Keelan O'neill
    May 20th 2019, 2:46 PM

@brendan H: sorry there brendan replied to the wrong comment.

Mute brendan H
    Favourite brendan H
    May 20th 2019, 5:38 PM

@Keelan O’neill: Its grand, It happens to us all.:-)

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg
    May 20th 2019, 1:56 PM

Did he get lies with that?

Mute Tedburns
    Favourite Tedburns
    May 20th 2019, 3:17 PM

Lactose meets intolerance

Mute jamesdecay
    Favourite jamesdecay
    May 20th 2019, 5:19 PM

@Tedburns: Alas too far down the comments… but what a cracker. Kudos to you, sir.

Mute Candace
    Favourite Candace

Milkshake snowflake brigade, acting like a bunch of spoiled brats. Lol

Mute sequoia
    Favourite sequoia
    May 20th 2019, 2:07 PM

Holding the talk next to a milkshake shop was short sighted to begin with.

Mute Gerry Campbell
    Favourite Gerry Campbell
    May 20th 2019, 1:51 PM

Seceurity boys are no secret service,wouldn’t even take a milkshake for their Man….

Mute wattsed56
    Favourite wattsed56
    May 20th 2019, 3:16 PM

Farage = Far Right?
    Fact Check Journal or simply lazy journalism?

Mute Josh Hanners
    Favourite Josh Hanners
    May 20th 2019, 3:35 PM

Puerile act from an intolerant leftie.

Mute Celia Murphy
    Favourite Celia Murphy
    May 20th 2019, 1:46 PM

Hehehe!

Mute Headtheball
    Favourite Headtheball
    May 20th 2019, 2:35 PM

How do people think this is fair? The left are in the UK seem to be extremely immature, ‘everyone is equal, go diversity and equality wooooh!!!’…. But if you have a different view than us you are automatically a racist, bigot, fascist and ‘deserve’ to be attacked?? Silly people

Mute John Murt
    Favourite John Murt
    May 20th 2019, 1:45 PM

What a headline

May 20th 2019, 2:05 PM

Himself and his bodyguards should have loaded up on milkshakes. I read this was possibly gonna happen at the weekend. And he’s got so much funding, he can afford to clean the place up after, as well as get a few extra votes.

Mute Philip Exley
    Favourite Philip Exley
    May 20th 2019, 4:12 PM

Some of you lot should emigrate to the UK so you can vote for UKIP and champion brexit.

Mute Pl O'neill
    Favourite Pl O'neill
    May 20th 2019, 6:19 PM

@Philip Exley: Champion Democracy and Freedom . Its not the first time we have had threats to Democracy and freedom coming from Central Europe .

Mute Fachtna Roe
    Favourite Fachtna Roe
    May 20th 2019, 2:55 PM

McDonalds People’s Front strike again.

Mute Ashish Uday Lal
    Favourite Ashish Uday Lal
    May 20th 2019, 1:59 PM

You mean you can get milkshakes somewhere other than McDonald’s?

Mute Ciaran Forde
    Favourite Ciaran Forde
    May 20th 2019, 1:50 PM

did it bring all the boys to the yard?

Mute Edmund Murphy
    Favourite Edmund Murphy
    May 20th 2019, 2:23 PM

A milkshakes been thrown at farage,
    It’s like a lactose barrage,
    Brexits getting quite sauvage.

Mute WoodlandBard
    Favourite WoodlandBard
    May 20th 2019, 3:08 PM

Unbelievable! Missed his mouth.

Mute Martin Meyler
    Favourite Martin Meyler
    May 20th 2019, 3:55 PM

This rabble rousing budget version of Enoch Powell is committed to the destruction of progressive civil society while he and his cabal turn a tidy profit. And you’re all clutching your pearls and bleating about the left, the left. He’s fair game. Get over yourselves. What’s the word you right-wingers are always using? Oh yeah. Snowflakes.

Mute winston smith
    Favourite winston smith
    May 20th 2019, 4:00 PM

@Martin Meyler: can you be fair game if I disagree with your opinions too? And do we stop at milkshakes or just how violent can I act towards you if I find your views disagreeable?

Mute Martin Meyler
    Favourite Martin Meyler
    May 20th 2019, 6:46 PM

@winston smith: I’m not trying to undermine two centuries of enlightenment and progress in order to enrich myself and my friends. He and his cohort are a threat to civil society, have, in effect, put themselves OUTSIDE civil society by causing division and fomenting hatred. Those who would undermine democracy first abuse it.

Mute winston smith
    Favourite winston smith
    May 20th 2019, 6:52 PM

@Martin Meyler: he has the support of approximately 32% of the British electorate. Is “civil society” worth saving if people like you think you can act violently towards someone carrying out the wishes of 32% of the population? And are 32% of the British electorate also “fair game” in your view? Not so long ago your ilk called the sort of actions you are supporting “purges”, and those that carried out the purges were a lot more dangerous than democrats with views you find disagreeable.

Mute Martin Meyler
    Favourite Martin Meyler
    May 20th 2019, 7:13 PM

@winston smith. Farage and his supporters and fellow travellers have been proven to have lied and manipulated their way to the Brexit result. They abused democracy to achieve their ends. This is known, and for you to describe his actions as those of a democrat is displaying a certain unwillingness to engage with the facts.

Mute winston smith
    Favourite winston smith
    May 20th 2019, 7:20 PM

@Martin Meyler: he is currently campaigning for public support to win election to a democratic parliament; those are the actions of a democrat. You support violent suppression of his views in defence of “civil society”; those are the beliefs of an authoritarian, and you are not part of the civil society which you purport to defend if you hold those beliefs. This is really simple stuff: if you are willing to engage political opponents in civilised debate and discourse to reach conclusions then you are part of civil society, if you are willing to suppress political opponents violently then you are a thug outside of civil society. Farage wants to debate, you want to attack him as “fair game” – Farage defends the principles of civil society, you undermine the principles of civil society.

Mute Josh Reilly
    Favourite Josh Reilly
    May 20th 2019, 3:20 PM

What a snowflake, needing protection from a bit of dairy.

Mute TamuMassif2019
    Favourite TamuMassif2019
    May 20th 2019, 10:54 PM

@Josh Reilly: What if its not milk lol.

Mute Rochelle
    Favourite Rochelle
    May 20th 2019, 3:25 PM

Loving this trend of throwing milkshakes at fascists. A great form of peaceful protest!

Mute James D Murphy
    Favourite James D Murphy
    May 20th 2019, 6:56 PM

@Rochelle: I loathe Farage, the man is a hypocrite and a liar. However this type of juvenile act has no place in modern politics.

If you cannot best a political opponent by way of words alone or fail to defend your ideas based solely on their values, then perhaps your ideas are not as meritorious and deserving as you once thought?

Also genuinely, please look up the definition of ‘peaceful protest’. The man who threw the milkshake has been arrested for common assault, that should let you know where this act sits on the spectrum of peace.

Mute Clifford Brennan
    Favourite Clifford Brennan
    May 20th 2019, 3:43 PM

Reportedly, it was banana & salted caramel flavour. That’s a high class protest by any standards.

Mute Pl O'neill
    Favourite Pl O'neill
    May 20th 2019, 6:18 PM

Freedom Fighter Farage will Bring Democracy and Freedom to his Country .

No Freedom without Democracy .

The Eu Empire is no respecter of Democracy . Keeping Voting until you get the Eu’s Right Answer . LOL if the Chinese or Russians were doing this .

Britain get out of the Eu Empire now while you still democratically can . The Eu will not allow their Farce-ical Form of Democracy much longer because it looks more ridiculous by the day .

Mute Martin Meyler
    Favourite Martin Meyler
    May 20th 2019, 6:47 PM

@Pl O’neill: lotta strange caps, there? Meds?

Mute Leighanna Rose
    Favourite Leighanna Rose
    May 20th 2019, 3:37 PM

This is the difference between the far left and far right – the far left will embarass extremists, the far right will just plain beat up and kill people for being trans or muslim.

Mute WoodlandBard
    Favourite WoodlandBard
    May 20th 2019, 5:40 PM

@Leighanna Rose: I think Bill Maher nailed it. Left wingers do not form militias, that’s what right wingers do. Left wingers form drum circles.

Mute Adam O'hEidhin
    Favourite Adam O'hEidhin
    May 20th 2019, 10:17 PM

When the hard left doesn’t get their way you really see the level of brains they are operating with.

Mute Niall
    Favourite Niall
    May 20th 2019, 5:50 PM

A violent and intimidating turn which should be condemned on all sides

Mute David O'Toole
    Favourite David O'Toole
    May 20th 2019, 8:31 PM

The Revolution will be Pasteurised

Mute emer caffrey
    Favourite emer caffrey
    May 20th 2019, 3:37 PM

Would you take a shake for him?

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    May 20th 2019, 6:53 PM

Not to be out done by Tony Robinson for a publicity stunt, one of the oldest tricks in the book to gain attention.

Mute Jonathan Yeo
    Favourite Jonathan Yeo
    May 21st 2019, 5:19 AM

This was done by a Sky reporter on behalf of the rich and elite
    Because Brexit party are flying bin the polls

Mute Cooking School
    Favourite Cooking School
    May 20th 2019, 3:24 PM

Farage: Thou art a boil, a plague sore!

Mute Keith O'Reilly
    Favourite Keith O'Reilly
    May 20th 2019, 5:11 PM

I am here for this trend of racists getting milkshaked, hilarious!

Mute Rory Moloney
    Favourite Rory Moloney
    May 20th 2019, 4:58 PM

The power of milkshakes the country

Mute gary mullen
    Favourite gary mullen
    May 20th 2019, 6:17 PM

My milkshakes bring all the boys to the yard is his ring tone?

Mute DERRY1973
    Favourite DERRY1973
    May 20th 2019, 6:02 PM

My milk shake brings all the boys to the yard, 
    And they’re like, poor farage

Mute Marc Power
    Favourite Marc Power
    May 20th 2019, 6:42 PM

Couldn’t have happened to a nicer lying hypocrite

Mute Terri McCormick O'Gorman
    Favourite Terri McCormick O'Gorman
    May 20th 2019, 4:44 PM

My milkshake brings all the boys to the yard….

Mute Denis Logan
    Favourite Denis Logan
    May 21st 2019, 1:56 PM

Did Nigel set it up as a publicity stunt? It got him, again, on to all the front pages

Mute Woods PJ
    Favourite Woods PJ
    May 21st 2019, 6:43 AM

Next time a shickin nugget to da loaf split dat yoke open Durth!

Mute Mahuna
    Favourite Mahuna
    May 20th 2019, 8:52 PM

Hahahahahaha that’s the right job for him such an ignorant person.

Mute TamuMassif2019
    Favourite TamuMassif2019
    May 20th 2019, 10:53 PM

Doesn’t look like milk lol.

Mute Noel Cavanagh
    Favourite Noel Cavanagh
    May 21st 2019, 12:21 AM

Serves him right the idiot,