You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

The 9 at 9 Here’s what’s making headlines this morning.

EVERY MORNING, TheJournal.ie brings you all the news you need to know as you start the day.

1. #40 YEARS ON: On the 40th anniversary of the Stardust disaster, we take a look at the enduring effects of this tragedy in north Dublin

2. #GARDA COMMISSIONER: Drew Harris has said the gardaí do not “regard a dentist’s appointment in Tenerife as being a reasonable excuse to travel”.

3. #WRAP UP WARM: There are a number of weather warnings in place around the country today on what’s set to be a windy, unsettled weekend.

4. #BIG DAY: Hoteliers have suggested a guest limit for weddings based on the size of venue to allow for social distancing.

5. #COVID-19: There were 23 deaths and 921 new cases of Covid-19 confirmed last night.

6. #CATCH UP: With Senators set to vote on whether to convict Donald Trump, here’s a round-up of what happened at the impeachment trial this week.

7. #PANDEMIC IMPACT: People with eating disorders have been presenting more unwell since the start of the pandemic.

8. #CRUMLIN: Gardaí last night renewed their appeal after an armed robbery at a Dublin post office.

9. #RUGBY: This morning, the42.ie takes a look at the RTÉ panel that became synonymous with Irish rugby in the 2000s

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

Comments
    Mute MarkQ
    Favourite MarkQ
    Sep 12th 2020, 1:06 PM

Everyone having a moan about Dublin not being locked down..little do they know that unfortunately it would result in possibly an extra 1 billion of added debt to the taxpayer

Mute RogersRabbit
    Favourite RogersRabbit
    Sep 12th 2020, 1:42 PM

@MarkQ: you have a source for that or did you just pull €1b out of your hoop?

Mute Sean Walsh
    Favourite Sean Walsh
    Sep 12th 2020, 1:52 PM

@RogersRabbit: seeing as Dublin pulls in 73billion alone, it would far exceed 1 billion if Dublin was in lockdown!

Mute Damien Leahy
    Favourite Damien Leahy
    Sep 12th 2020, 5:26 PM

@MarkQ: so it’s ok to lockdown other counties but not Dublin? The government day after day give a big speal about saving lives but won’t do shit when it comes to Dublin.

Mute John Egan
    Favourite John Egan
    Sep 13th 2020, 1:21 AM

@MarkQ: if it was about money, we wouldn’t be in the state we’re in.

Mute Liam O Connor
    Favourite Liam O Connor
    Sep 12th 2020, 1:21 PM

What a joke of a taoiseach he is, I suppose he has to get permission from eamonn Ryan first , this is my third time trying to post this comment, good auld journal looking after their masters!!

Mute yermas dildo
    Favourite yermas dildo
    Sep 12th 2020, 2:11 PM

@Liam O Connor: he was trying to but Ryan was snoozing!!

Mute beebop
    Favourite beebop
    Sep 12th 2020, 7:46 PM

@Liam O Connor: it was a class comment, thank god you persevered.

Mute Jimmy Fagan
    Favourite Jimmy Fagan
    Sep 12th 2020, 1:24 PM

This government are a shambles. A week ago Donnelly said there will be no Dublin lockdown. Today Micheál is like “well maybe tho ¯\_(ツ)_/¯ “

Mute GrumpyAulFella
    Favourite GrumpyAulFella
    Sep 12th 2020, 2:22 PM

@Jimmy Fagan: you’d expect a fluid approach with case numbers fluctuating day by day. The reaction as to be agile and fluid.

Mute T Dawg
    Favourite T Dawg
    Sep 12th 2020, 1:47 PM

Carve dublin out and push it over to the UK. Half the city thinks it is from there anyway!

Mute SB
    Favourite SB
    Sep 12th 2020, 1:58 PM

@T Dawg: stay in your back ward bog and don’t bother coming to Dublin then.

Mute T Dawg
    Favourite T Dawg
    Sep 12th 2020, 2:18 PM

@SB: I’m from London. A place you try to emulate. There’s a good lad!

Mute SB
    Favourite SB
    Sep 12th 2020, 2:20 PM

@T Dawg: Well toddle on back to London then cockney boy, Dublin is nothing like that dum p in the slightest.

Mute T Dawg
    Favourite T Dawg
    Sep 12th 2020, 2:24 PM

@SB: such angry little people.

Mute SB
    Favourite SB
    Sep 12th 2020, 2:25 PM

@T Dawg: back under your bridge troll!!

Mute T Dawg
    Favourite T Dawg
    Sep 12th 2020, 2:28 PM

@SB: you are very insecure about your city and quick to anger. Perhaps something you should work on.

Mute David Clements
    Favourite David Clements
    Sep 12th 2020, 3:52 PM

@T Dawg: how come your comment posted in the 1970s took 50 years to appear ?

Mute Warren Mcdermott
    Favourite Warren Mcdermott
    Sep 12th 2020, 4:37 PM

@T Dawg: don’t know a single person that thinks they are from the UK

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Sep 12th 2020, 5:13 PM

@T Dawg: Emulate are you having a laugh. We would have to be ina ahell of a bad way to be like that cesspit

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Sep 12th 2020, 5:15 PM

@Warren Mcdermott: What is the first thing you learn to explain to be across the world, English no Irish and then they smile at you

Mute T Dawg
    Favourite T Dawg
    Sep 12th 2020, 5:56 PM

@Gary Kearney: you are butchering our beautiful language there. Why do you not use your poetic native tongue?

Mute Nicola Ní Chathail
    Favourite Nicola Ní Chathail
    Sep 12th 2020, 10:14 PM

@T Dawg: blank profile. Says it all.

Mute Joan Featherstone
    Favourite Joan Featherstone
    Sep 13th 2020, 7:32 AM

@T Dawg: I’m born and bred Dublin, I have never ever met anyone who thinks they’re from the UK?

Mute John O Neill
    Favourite John O Neill
    Sep 12th 2020, 12:58 PM

I think a measured approach is a wise decision in order to keep businesses going, maybe curfews could be an alternative

Mute SB
    Favourite SB
    Sep 12th 2020, 1:57 PM

What did we do to deserve such a downright incompetent, shocking, clueless government who have presided over disaster after disaster and expect people to take them seriously, without question the worst government of all time.

Mute ed w
    Favourite ed w
    Sep 12th 2020, 2:03 PM

@SB: voted

Mute Willie
    Favourite Willie
    Sep 12th 2020, 2:06 PM

@SB: Leo and his bunch of rookies were worse to be fair.

Mute SB
    Favourite SB
    Sep 12th 2020, 2:08 PM

@Willie: they were bad but they weren’t in the same league as this farcical coalition

Mute GrumpyAulFella
    Favourite GrumpyAulFella
    Sep 12th 2020, 2:27 PM

@SB: yet on the other hand you are saying that the government have controlled the number of deaths here, we are doing fantastically on the fatality front and open everything up. Which is it? Have they done a great job in protecting us from this virus, which was the goal, or not?

Mute SB
    Favourite SB
    Sep 12th 2020, 2:36 PM

@GrumpyAulFella: no I wouldn’t at all as they have made an absolute mess of the whole thing, ludricious nonsensical restrictions, people just cannot take them seriously anymore, they’ll be decimated come the next election.

Mute GrumpyAulFella
    Favourite GrumpyAulFella
    Sep 12th 2020, 2:41 PM

@SB: by who? The party that has disappeared since the pandemic began, sent it’s leadership the funeralgate and took no accountability for it and had a councillor partying in Lanzarote while at the same time gingerly calling for heads to roll due to no social distancing in Clifden? Also, you keep saying that death rates are low and we should open up. Who has laid down the rules that have managed to keep our date rate in check? What are your own alternative guidelines to achieve the same result?

Mute SB
    Favourite SB
    Sep 12th 2020, 3:16 PM

@GrumpyAulFella: ah a sinn fein hater now your showing your true colours here, enough said!!

Mute ruairi
    Favourite ruairi
    Sep 12th 2020, 1:17 PM

Open the Dubs

Mute Jonnie Marre
    Favourite Jonnie Marre
    Sep 12th 2020, 1:01 PM

Brace yourself Dublin!! Winter is coming!

Mute Cian Nolan
    Favourite Cian Nolan
    Sep 12th 2020, 1:16 PM

@Jonnie Marre: Well it is September.

Mute Warren Mcdermott
    Favourite Warren Mcdermott
    Sep 12th 2020, 2:01 PM

@Jonnie Marre: you watching game of thrones again

Mute Isabel Oliveira
    Favourite Isabel Oliveira
    Sep 12th 2020, 1:57 PM

It would be advisable that the government ceases their veiled threats. It’s intolerable.

Mute GrumpyAulFella
    Favourite GrumpyAulFella
    Sep 12th 2020, 2:23 PM

@Isabel Oliveira: what threats?

Mute Galwaygogo
    Favourite Galwaygogo
    Sep 12th 2020, 1:06 PM

Lock it down

Mute Damien McGrath
    Favourite Damien McGrath
    Sep 12th 2020, 1:52 PM

@Galwaygogo: and does that mean theyll come to galway then….??

Mute Úna O Connor Barrett
    Favourite Úna O Connor Barrett
    Sep 12th 2020, 2:57 PM

Lock the goverment down,better option.

Mute Tony Mcgrath
    Favourite Tony Mcgrath
    Sep 12th 2020, 2:15 PM

Is mehole s time up yet

Mute Imagine !
    Favourite Imagine !
    Sep 12th 2020, 2:30 PM

“Living with Covid” is a completely totally wrong message to be leading with in relation to the health of our nation. How did it come to this. What fool coined that phrase. Why would any politician ever dare use it. We cannot coexist with a dangerous virus. We must avoid it. Please change the messaging to “Avoiding Covid”. Living with it has resulted in nobody social distancing because they think we need to “live with it” as if it did not exist.

Mute Bee Bonthuys
    Favourite Bee Bonthuys
    Sep 12th 2020, 4:50 PM

@Imagine !: their PR firm informed them it sounded friendly and fluffier.

That colour coded system is also consultant 101; if you give a consultancy firm a problem without a real solution they’ll eventually recommend colour coding something as a solution.

Mute Paul Lanigan
    Favourite Paul Lanigan
    Sep 12th 2020, 4:58 PM

@Imagine !: It’s not dangerous anymore. Zero deaths day after day. Time to address the real virus…….FEAR

Mute Mill Lane
    Favourite Mill Lane
    Sep 12th 2020, 1:59 PM

Martin or Monty Burns?
    Can’t tell from the picture.

Mute Peter Dunwoody
    Favourite Peter Dunwoody
    Sep 12th 2020, 3:05 PM

Every country in the world put their people in to lock-down, with the plan, that this only had a 3 week incubation period, and it would dissapear, it hasn’t, but who is spreadining it, we have essencial services, from the Health departments,food industry, postral, and delivery personal, somewhere along the line, some of their staff, carried this virus, and kept speading it. it’s the only logical expalnation. 90% of the deaths have been in eldeley people, whether in a hospital or nursing home, 70% or more had under lying illinesses. we live with the Flu, on a yearly basis, and have nearly a thousand deaths a year, due to it directly, never mind underling issues, we haven’t even doubled that yet.
    As regards social distancing, you get on the Dart or Luas, people, have taken up the designated seats, so many stand at the doors,afraid to sit down, now, so there is as many gathered at the doors as there are sitting, there is no such thing as social distancing, when they get off, particularly at the end stop, you can, nearly have a hundred or more trying to get through the exits, all at the one time, and from both sides of the platform. so it ain’t working.

Mute Joe_X
    Favourite Joe_X
    Sep 12th 2020, 4:24 PM

@Peter Dunwoody: while the stats you give to flu deaths are those for a bad year, the average estimate is 200 the 500 annually (HSE website), and wechave already breached the higher estimate.

Mute Chris Jordan
    Favourite Chris Jordan
    Sep 12th 2020, 1:58 PM

Worst tioseach since John Brutal.

Mute Vanessa
    Favourite Vanessa
    Sep 12th 2020, 4:32 PM

@Chris Jordan: Leo is giving him a run for his money.

Mute padraig whelton
    Favourite padraig whelton
    Sep 12th 2020, 4:22 PM

I was in Dublin city centre last week, it’s so quiet in there, nobody around Grand Canal Dock or Grafton Street areas, further restrictions would finally kill off whatever hope businesses have in there

Mute jonathan
    Favourite jonathan
    Sep 12th 2020, 1:46 PM

Bulls**t

Mute Philip Martin
    Favourite Philip Martin
    Sep 12th 2020, 3:58 PM

Gathering of thousands and thousands of people outside the Journey office in Dublin today with no masks on.

Mute Philip Martin
    Favourite Philip Martin
    Sep 12th 2020, 4:00 PM

Is the journal the new RTE for fake news now.

Mute Stephen Maher
    Favourite Stephen Maher
    Sep 12th 2020, 2:01 PM

YILL DO NUTIN …..

Mute Vanessa
    Favourite Vanessa
    Sep 12th 2020, 4:31 PM

“He added that research shows the pandemic “has had a terrible impact on physical and mental health”. ”
    Not even a month ago you would have been called theatrical if you said this kind of thing.

Mute Eddie Michael
    Favourite Eddie Michael
    Sep 12th 2020, 3:39 PM

Sure..
    Your afraid to lockdown Dublin because all you care about is the tax take

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Sep 12th 2020, 5:21 PM

Numbers are rising all across Europe and the rest of the world, its a second wave but not as bad as it would have been.
    The response has to be fluid as the situation is so fluid.
    leo and co screwed up with the nursing homes and that is why the death rate is so high

Mute Vlad Eire
    Favourite Vlad Eire
    Sep 12th 2020, 4:49 PM

W⚓

Mute Christopher Byrne
    Favourite Christopher Byrne
    Sep 12th 2020, 5:44 PM

Well get on with it then…Kildare residents were done over immediately due to a few Meat Barons and their Economic Migrant work force. Like for like please

Mute Joe Toner
    Favourite Joe Toner
    Sep 12th 2020, 5:19 PM

Sure what would the Government be afraid of if they implement ” measures”.??

Mute Craig Halpatranags
    Favourite Craig Halpatranags
    Sep 12th 2020, 5:28 PM

If by restrictions he means that house hold rule, that should be the limit to which restrictions are considered so as not to strange small businesses like in Kildare, Laois, offally

Furthermore, that HSE division of Dublin is a bit two longitudal. I don’t think Glencullen and Ranelagh should be restricted together or Lusk abd Raheny or Brittas and Greenhills.

Mute Niamh Doyle
    Favourite Niamh Doyle
    Sep 14th 2020, 12:53 AM

I’m a Dub… I’d rather see us suffer a lockdown than a doubling of cases.

Mute Derek Hennessy
    Favourite Derek Hennessy
    Sep 12th 2020, 2:48 PM

@ed o brien: very juvenile comment to be honest.can we not just be a little more mature in this situation,if Dublin is a problem then maybe restrictions are required but it has to be targeted to the problem areas,Ireland is a small country so we do need to be aware of the economic consequences of a lockdown while at the same time be aware of health issues among our citizens,and to those that suggest that fine gael handled the pandemic better in government let me say 2 things,they created the nursing home crisis through incompetence and duh they are part of the government now.