You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

North Korean leader Kim Jong Un. Wong Maye-E/AP/Press Association Images

Kim Jong-Un was 'up all night' worrying about apartment block collapse

A 23-storey apartment block collapsed in North Korea last week. One official, who spoke on condition of anonymity, said the death toll was likely to be “considerable”.

SENIOR NORTH KOREAN officials have publicly apologised for an “unimaginable” accident at an apartment construction site, state media said yesterday, a rare admission of culpability by the secretive hardline state.

South Korean officials said the incident involved the collapse of a 23-storey apartment building in Pyongyang’s Pyongchon district, which already had close to 100 families in residence.

It is extremely unusual for the North to report negative news of this type, and its official KCNA news agency also reported equally rare apologies from top officials.

Leader Kim Jong-Un “sat up all night, feeling painful” after being told about the accident, the agency said.

The accident happened last Tuesday and was the result of “irresponsible” supervision by officials in charge of construction, KCNA reported.

An intensive operation had been mounted to rescue survivors and treat the wounded, it said.

It did not give a figure for the number of dead or injured but said the accident left Pyongyang citizens “greatly shocked”.

The agency carried lengthy public apologies by senior officials including the Minister of People’s Security, Choe Pu-Il.

“(Choe) repented of himself, saying that he failed to find out factors that can put at risk the lives and properties of the people and to take thoroughgoing measures, thereby causing an unimaginable accident,” it said.

- ‘Considerable death toll’ -

A South Korean official, speaking on condition of anonymity, said the incident involved the collapse of a 23-storey apartment complex.

“It is common in North Korea that people move into a new apartment building before construction officially ends,” the official told AFP.

The official said 92 families were believed to be living in the collapsed building, and the final death toll was likely to be “considerable”.

Among those making a public apology were Kim Su-Gil, chief secretary of the city committee of the ruling Workers’ Party.

He said Kim Jong-Un had “instructed leading officials of the party, state and the army to rush to the scene, putting aside all other affairs and command the rescue operation”.

The state-run Rodong Sinmun newspaper also published a rare photo of an unidentified official bowing deeply in apology towards hundreds of people who gathered at what appeared to be a construction site.

‘Sincere leader’

The rare official apology appears to be aimed at portraying Kim as a “sincere leader who pays great attention to public sentiment”, said Kim Yong-Hyun, professor of North Korean studies at Seoul’s Dongguk University.

The North in 2009 announced plans to build 100,000 new high-rise apartments in three districts of its showpiece capital to mark the 100th anniversary in 2012 of the birth of its founder Kim Il-Sung, grandfather of the current leader.

The project went ahead despite chronic food shortages elsewhere in the impoverished nation.

Kim Kwang Hyon Kim Kwang Hyon

North Korean officials stand among the families of victims of the accident.

In July 2011 a South Korean news outlet reported that students and soldiers had been drafted in to help complete the projects on time, after delays caused by shortages of funds and of building materials.

About 2.5 million people — mostly the ruling elite or those considered politically trustworthy — are believed to live in Pyongyang.

They enjoy priority access to electricity, food and other goods and services.

Kim — since taking power after the death of his father Kim Jong-Il in December 2011 — has launched a flurry of high-profile construction projects of his own.

He last year celebrated the opening of a new water park, an equestrian club and apartments for scientists, teachers and athletes in the capital, and a massive ski resort in the northeast.

Guidance

KCNA last December praised the “miraculous” pace of construction, saying many of the facilities were built within a year thanks to the guidance of the young leader.

Analysts say such projects, launched despite a chronic shortage of materials, were aimed at solidifying the image of the inexperienced ruler.

The secretive nation has rarely made public the details — especially death tolls — of major accidents.

But in one exceptional case, the North announced in April 2004 a massive train explosion in the northwestern county of Ryongchon had left 154 — including dozens of schoolchildren — dead and some 1,300 injured.

The accident — caused by damaged electric wires — devastated many nearby towns, prompting Pyongyang to make a rare plea for help from the international community.

© AFP, 2014

Read: Belgrade braced for massive “flooding wave” as disaster death toll tops 44

Read: 3,000 evacuated from Vietnam after wave of anti-Chinese violence

View 50 comments
50 Comments
    Mute TOP CAT
    Favourite TOP CAT
    May 19th 2014, 6:48 AM

Kim Jong-un doesn’t care bout his own people..
    It was probably indegestion from eating a Snickers that kept him awake and up all night…..

Mute Brian Scallan
    Favourite Brian Scallan
    May 19th 2014, 8:04 AM

That, or wondering if Denis Rodman would be coming back soon. God bless his little cotton socks, he really does miss him.

Mute Donny Duck
    Favourite Donny Duck
    May 19th 2014, 8:43 AM

He was feering ronery, just rike his dad.

Mute Michael Wall
    Favourite Michael Wall
    May 19th 2014, 7:14 AM

Mad country, we think we have it bad here.

Mute Cosmo Kramer
    Favourite Cosmo Kramer
    May 19th 2014, 11:00 AM

We’re not actually that far behind them.. If we vote against the Government wishes we are made vote again till we vote the way they want us to.. As it’s been proved by Joe Costello recently, if you question a politician in the street you can be threatened with arrest.. The state also has friends in the media so it more or less controls what you watch, listen and read.. Politicians don’t go to prison, no matter what they do, but me or you would be locked up for not paying the TV licence…

Mute Joe Corleone
    Favourite Joe Corleone
    May 19th 2014, 11:13 AM

Very true Cosmo, RTE censorship at its finest last night during the political debate, when candidate Mark Fitzsimons was forcibly thrown off the premises for daring to ask tough questions of the established party politicians on the set. Disgusting.

Mute Wayne O'Fathaigh
    Favourite Wayne O'Fathaigh
    May 19th 2014, 12:48 PM

Cosmo, how many of your family have been thrown into concentration camps? Are barber shops limited on the style of haircut they can offer? Is your internet limited, do you have a choice of media and a freedom to complain about it! We are nowhere close

Mute Neal Ireland
    Favourite Neal Ireland
    May 19th 2014, 3:44 PM

You can’t have any news about a foreign country without somebody turning into a thing about Ireland. It’s just like whenever a U.S. celebrity used to go on Pat Kenny’s Late Late Show and he always felt obliged to ask them what they thought about Irish people. Cringe making.

Mute tom
    Favourite tom
    May 20th 2014, 1:17 AM

Who cares if its not ireland its not really news now the latest GAA results are ….

Mute Julie Denning
    Favourite Julie Denning
    May 20th 2014, 7:53 PM

Cosmo How dare you compare the suffering of people in North Korea with ours. We do not have camps where people are tortured for having an opinion on the leader, people are not eating grass only smoking it. We get the dole if we cant find work they starve. Grow up

Mute Julie Denning
    Favourite Julie Denning
    May 20th 2014, 11:35 PM

Then he was sent to a labour camp and tortured grow up idiot yes I mean you joe

Mute sean o reilly
    Favourite sean o reilly
    May 19th 2014, 6:43 AM

Up all night eating.

Mute Jackie Jones
    Favourite Jackie Jones
    May 19th 2014, 7:06 AM

And doing he s hair!!

Mute Dandy Lyons
    Favourite Dandy Lyons
    May 19th 2014, 6:42 AM

Up all night me h@le!! Some bluffer this fella is!

Mute Stephen Duggan
    Favourite Stephen Duggan
    May 19th 2014, 6:43 AM

Sham country and sham leader,feel really sorry for whomever has to live under the last true dictatorship in our world today. The sooner the people rise up and rebel for themselves the better. I just wish the west would send in a covert sniper team and take square head out.

Mute Jed I. Knight
    Favourite Jed I. Knight
    May 19th 2014, 7:34 AM

Not that simple. This country has nukes, and they have lived with such paranoia for decades that there is a very real fear that if they are ever attacked, either overtly or covertly, then many of the die hard supporters will press the buttons to launch.
    While everyone knows the weeping and wailing is nonsense, failure to show such public displays will ensure a swift trip to the camps for that person and their extended family, but that doesn’t mean there isn’t those who actually do believe this crap.

Mute Alan Scott
    Favourite Alan Scott
    May 19th 2014, 8:28 AM

Wondering if Dom Littlewood would go and do a investigation on rogue builders and pass on his findings to Kim ?

Mute tom
    Favourite tom
    May 20th 2014, 1:14 AM

Don would have his work cut out for him if he looked into buildings here.

Mute Alan Scott
    Favourite Alan Scott
    May 19th 2014, 7:23 AM

They will be executed no doubt very soon.

Mute Tennis Leadog
    Favourite Tennis Leadog
    May 19th 2014, 7:36 AM

They’ll be eaten by the dogs.

Mute Alan Ryan
    Favourite Alan Ryan
    May 19th 2014, 7:18 AM

Mickey mouse builders.

Mute PAUL NICHOLSON
    Favourite PAUL NICHOLSON
    May 19th 2014, 6:58 AM

Yeah sure he was.

Mute Clancy Wiggum
    Favourite Clancy Wiggum
    May 19th 2014, 7:40 AM

Somebody is getting shot in the morning.

Mute Omar Tobin
    Favourite Omar Tobin
    May 19th 2014, 9:26 AM

I’ve a funny feeling someone gets shot every morning out there!

Mute Paul Horgan
    Favourite Paul Horgan
    May 19th 2014, 7:21 AM

Someone’s doing to get shot

Mute Alan Ryan
    Favourite Alan Ryan
    May 19th 2014, 7:39 AM

Just on the dictator note, I was driving through raheny yesterday and noticed Sean Haugheys election posters, Jesus is he not a dead ringer for Adolf Hitler, anyone else think so?

Mute Paul Mcintyre
    Favourite Paul Mcintyre
    May 19th 2014, 7:28 AM

He reminds me of someone else who doesnt care about their country or the people……enda kenny!!!!!!

Mute Conor
    Favourite Conor
    May 19th 2014, 7:57 AM

So funny

Mute Dublin Bay Ireland
    Favourite Dublin Bay Ireland
    May 19th 2014, 8:12 AM

Well at least Priory Hall wasnt 23 storeys heigh !!!! Them North Koreans must have good ties with mc feely’s engineers !!! -_-

Mute Alan Scott
    Favourite Alan Scott
    May 19th 2014, 7:27 AM

Can think of a few names here that was in that line of work if we could only export them over

Mute Frank
    Favourite Frank
    May 19th 2014, 7:48 AM

I still put this man ahead of Obama….the better of the two evils…

Mute Charles
    Favourite Charles
    May 19th 2014, 8:09 AM

Frank I believe you’ve just typed your most outlandish statement to date – and that takes some doing….

Mute Frank
    Favourite Frank
    May 19th 2014, 8:20 AM

No…Kim Jong Un may have a big mouth but he dose not go about terrorising the planet with his proxy wars, drone killing, supporting head hacking jihad, spitting out lie after lie….

Mute Donny Duck
    Favourite Donny Duck
    May 19th 2014, 8:42 AM

Godwin 2.0: Compare someone to Obama and you’ve lost the argument already.

Mute Frank
    Favourite Frank
    May 19th 2014, 8:42 AM

And i forgot to mention Obama NSA spying on everyone….Obama has also the largest military force on the face of this planet at his disposal unlike Kim Jong Un..

Mute Wayne O'Fathaigh
    Favourite Wayne O'Fathaigh
    May 19th 2014, 9:23 AM

Actually Frank the US military is not the largest based on a number of factors but as usual don’t let facts get in the way.

Obviously a man that starved millions of his own people, shoots people for not mourning his father, restricts access to information is a great man you should live there and post on the journal every day, oh wait you couldn’t post, you should definitely live there

Mute Neal Ireland
    Favourite Neal Ireland
    May 19th 2014, 3:47 PM

Ah here.

Mute Julie Denning
    Favourite Julie Denning
    May 20th 2014, 7:57 PM

Frank why dont you go and live there at least then we would have 1 less moron living in this country. Comparing obama to this murdering little shite who starves and tortures his subjects. Just please go away

Mute iBob101
    Favourite iBob101
    May 19th 2014, 8:16 AM

He’ll be tired, so.

Mute Larry David the 2nd
    Favourite Larry David the 2nd
    May 19th 2014, 9:57 AM

Minister for housing in North Korea is called “Ho Li Shitt” honestly!

Mute Alan Hogan
    Favourite Alan Hogan
    May 19th 2014, 9:04 AM

You would have to be crazy to revolt in that country as they will send you and also future generations of your family to conentration camps as punishment.

Mute Avina Laaf
    Favourite Avina Laaf
    May 19th 2014, 9:11 AM

Highly unlikely there would be any future generations of your family…
    :-/

Mute ivy mike
    Favourite ivy mike
    May 19th 2014, 9:49 AM

He slept like a baby

Mute Conor O'Farrell
    Favourite Conor O'Farrell
    May 19th 2014, 9:00 AM

Probably up all night looking for his binoculars.

Mute kingstown
    Favourite kingstown
    May 19th 2014, 10:28 AM

Any news from North Korea is worthy of Russia Today reporting standards

Mute Paul McGuire
    Favourite Paul McGuire
    May 19th 2014, 8:31 AM

Aah god love em

Mute Malachy
    Favourite Malachy
    May 19th 2014, 12:22 PM

A leader of a country apologising for a building crisis. Western leaders must be outraged!!

Mute Leon Taylor
    Favourite Leon Taylor
    May 19th 2014, 9:11 AM

Just a misunderstood young man who was thrust in to a position of immense power and responsibility. “With great power comes great responsibility.”

Mute Eon Barry
    Favourite Eon Barry
    May 19th 2014, 10:11 AM

Well he wasn’t up all night doing his hair…..

Mute Eanna™
    Favourite Eanna™
    May 19th 2014, 8:41 PM

Poor Man, losing a few nights sleep while millions of his few countrymen and women starve and die from malnutrition. Poor fatman indeed