You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

A nursing home resident with vascular dementia. Alamy Stock Photo

Changes allowing nursing home residents to keep rent could see older people 'forced to move out'

‘It is not unknown for Sage Advocacy to have to support a client who has found that the locks on their home have been changed while they were in hospital or in a nursing home for a temporary period.’

THE COUNTRY’S LEADING advocacy organisations for older people have said that changes made to the Fair Deal Scheme to allow nursing home residents to keep their rental income could see older people put “at risk of financial abuse”, particularly by family members. 

A key concern held by Age Action is that the rental scheme change could see some older people being pressured to move out of their homes “prematurely” and “against their will”, in cases of financial abuse. 

The legislative changes were secured by the Regional Independent Group during negotiations with the Government prior to the vote on the eviction ban being lifted. 

Age Action and Sage Advocacy have both said that proper safeguarding measures need to be put in place to make sure older people are protected, as in 2021 the HSE recorded reports of over 800 cases of financial abuse affecting older persons. 

Older people used as a ‘political football’

Sage Advocacy voiced fears that the legislative change has come about as a result of vulnerable older people and their care being used as a “political football” as part of the wider debate on “freeing up houses in response to the ongoing housing crisis”. 

“There seems to be a view among some public representatives that there is a large stock of empty housing out there belonging to older people entering the Nursing Home Support Scheme which can be immediately made available if there are incentives to rent them out or to sell them,” a spokesperson said. 

Both organisations fear that without steps being taken to mitigate the risk of financial abuse, the changes made to the Fair Deal Scheme could be counter-productive. 

Before the announcement that rental income will not be charged to the HSE, nursing home residents were able to keep 60% of rental income from their previous residences. 

Before changes were made by Minister for Older People Mary Butler, they were able to keep only 20%. 

Today Age Action said that “insufficient consideration had been given to ensure the rights of older people” as the majority of people living in nursing homes “need acute care with many suffering from cognitive impairment or dementia, which creates an opportunity for financial abuse”. 

The organisation has recommended that three key safeguarding measures be brought in to prevent this kind of abuse happening, including an adult safeguarding law being brought in, a broadening of the definition of coercive control to show that it also happens to older people, and more investment in home care, to allow people who are well enough to stay in their homes to do so. 

“Age Action knows of people who experience pressure to enter a nursing home because they cannot get enough or any home care hours. 

“The proposed rental scheme will cause more pressure on those people to move out of their home prematurely, against their will and in a situation where they would be capable of living at home with adequate home care,” an Age Action spokesperson said. 

Nat O’ Connor, a policy specialist at Age Action, said that the organisation welcomes the idea that older persons should have more choice and control over their income, but he added that this must include “putting in place robust measures to prevent financial abuse that unfortunately occurs hundreds of times every year”. 

He also pointed out that the Fair Deal Scheme only includes bed and board, and that many residents already have to pay extra for haircuts, activities, and basic medical supplies and equipment. 

“So giving people an option to generate extra income could be a lifeline for those who cannot currently afford these extra charges. But without safeguards in place, there is a risk that some older persons won’t see any benefit from their homes being rented out,” he concluded,” he added. 

Sage Advocacy pointed out that some older people face being “shoehorned” into nursing homes after a period in acute care in hospital.

This happens, a spokesperson said, because a “key family member providing an element of care at home, usually an adult child and sometimes a spouse, refuses to take a relative home, can effectively take possession of a property, dispose of their belongings and then rent it to their advantage”. 

‘It is not unknown for Sage Advocacy to have to support a client who has found that the locks on their home have been changed while they were in hospital or in a nursing home for a temporary period,” a spokesperson added. 

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

8 Comments
    Mute Darren Byrne
    Favourite Darren Byrne
    Jan 23rd 2021, 5:43 PM

Good to see it under 2k but terrible to see so many pass away …rest in peace.

Mute Mary Oliver
    Favourite Mary Oliver
    Jan 23rd 2021, 6:38 PM

@Darren Byrne: amen

Mute SprintFitz
    Favourite SprintFitz

This is too much. For God’s sake. Stay in, stay away from people. All we need is a few weeks of everyone following guidelines. 77 more souls on Heaven..too early

Mute Tony Humphreys
    Favourite Tony Humphreys
    Jan 23rd 2021, 5:45 PM

@SprintFitz: few weeks ok, but not indefinetly

Mute Sam Harms
    Favourite Sam Harms
    Jan 23rd 2021, 5:47 PM

@Tony Humphreys: the sooner people follow the restrictions and keep following them the sooner they can be eased.

See 27 more replies ▾
    Mute Kim Steen Hansen
    Favourite Kim Steen Hansen
    Jan 23rd 2021, 5:47 PM

@SprintFitz: the vast majority of people are following the guidelines.

Mute Michael Waldron
    Favourite Michael Waldron
    Jan 23rd 2021, 5:49 PM

@Sam Harms: good to see people following restrictions and

Mute Michael Waldron
    Jan 23rd 2021, 5:50 PM

@Sam Harms: WG

Mute Joe_X
    Favourite Joe_X
    Jan 23rd 2021, 5:52 PM

@Michael Waldron: once again Michael, you seem to ignore the minority that are not following the restrictions.

Mute Hugo Bugo
    Favourite Hugo Bugo

@SprintFitz: u could copy and paste this line from last March, just another few weeks yea, now we hearing 6 more months of restrictions and vaccine delays, its another year of a write off by the looks of it, most retail and hospitality won’t be open for 1st half of the year, nobody be getting a foreign holiday this year, people are at breaking point with their mental health, its a disastrous time for everyone and I’m not playing down the lives we have lost, its just there doesn’t seem to be any real light at the end of the tunnel yet, 1 step forward, 2 steps back

Mute Michael Waldron
    Jan 23rd 2021, 5:54 PM

@Sam Harms: good to see everybody making lockdown work so well. Cases down by 6,000 from peak only 2 weeks ago. No need for any changes it’s working .

Mute Jess Delahunt
    Favourite Jess Delahunt
    Jan 23rd 2021, 5:57 PM

@SprintFitz: I agree but have no faith our government and machinery of state could maintain a low case load such as Australia have succeeded in doing.
    We are just so weak in that regard, under funded public health, porous borders, no quarantine, unenforced rules and regulations and dragged kicking and screaming to blatantly obvious prevention methods like masks, antigen testing and aforementioned quarantine.
    Id imagine lobbying, conservatism and money plays a big role in this

Mute Ian James Burgess
    Favourite Ian James Burgess

@Kim Steen Hansen: unfortunately one bad apple infects the whole barrel

Mute Pol Mlp
    Favourite Pol Mlp
    Jan 23rd 2021, 5:59 PM

@SprintFitz: so true..went for a stroll there (within 5km of my house ofcourse) on a road and there was car after car after car driving by…now I get that people have essential journeys etc to do..but is there really literally 10 times more essential journeys needed in this lockdown then the same walk id do every Saturday evening back in April?

Mute Kim Steen Hansen
    Jan 23rd 2021, 6:00 PM

@Ian James Burgess: bit dramatic I think.

Mute a politicians promise is as good as a lie
    Favourite a politicians promise is as good as a lie
    Jan 23rd 2021, 6:02 PM

@Jess Delahunt: and then when we have rules.. The rule makers blatantly ignore them… Aka golfgate

Mute Aoife Mac Cana
    Favourite Aoife Mac Cana
    Jan 23rd 2021, 6:05 PM

@SprintFitz: it’s so hard to believe that people will just not listen to the advice that is coming from so many voices nationally and internationally. It’s a global pandemic that has buckled the world and its citizens, stay at home.

Mute Stan Papusa
    Favourite Stan Papusa
    Jan 23rd 2021, 6:08 PM

@SprintFitz: yes, since mid March 2020 all we need is a few weeks…

Mute Football in the Groin
    Favourite Football in the Groin
    Jan 23rd 2021, 6:24 PM

@Kim Steen Hansen: How is that dramatic? It’s exactly how the virus spreads.

Mute Mary Oliver
    Favourite Mary Oliver
    Jan 23rd 2021, 6:40 PM

@Hugo Bugo: I totally agree it is very tough and now delay in getting supply of vaccine. It is like a living nightmare. RIP to all those who have passed away and condolences to their families

Mute Da Dell
    Favourite Da Dell
    Jan 23rd 2021, 6:42 PM

@Ian James Burgess: and his name is Leo …

Mute Paddy Fox
    Favourite Paddy Fox
    Jan 23rd 2021, 6:47 PM

@Kim Steen Hansen: I agree but all it takes is one leak in a plumbing system to cause a lot of damage. I’d say there’s lots of people who catch it and genuinely wonder how it happened. With the new variant it really seems we have to focus completely and assume everyone we meet has it.

Mute Kim Steen Hansen
    Jan 23rd 2021, 6:57 PM

@Paddy Fox: how much worse is this new UK strain?

Mute The Firestarter
    Favourite The Firestarter
    Jan 23rd 2021, 7:03 PM

@Jess Delahunt: I think you will find our Health Service is far from under funded, we actually have one of the best funded Health Services in the world. The problem is how the money is spent, far too much goes on wages, and not enough on beds, doctors, nurses etc. Our Health Service has been top heavy for decades, several Ministers for Health have attempted to reform it, but sadly it will never happen due to the power of the unions and vested interests.

Mute james foley
    Favourite james foley
    Jan 23rd 2021, 7:50 PM

@SprintFitz: what are u on about a few weeks

Mute Jack Cass
    Favourite Jack Cass
    Jan 23rd 2021, 8:41 PM

@The Firestarter: “The problem is how the money is spent, far too much goes on wages, and not enough on …. doctors, nurses etc”. Can you explain please or am I missing something?

Mute Nick Caffrey
    Favourite Nick Caffrey
    Jan 23rd 2021, 11:48 PM

@Stan Papusa: Your point…?

Mute Graham Ronan
    Favourite Graham Ronan
    Jan 24th 2021, 1:17 AM

@Jack Cass: yeah a brain

Mute Paddy Fox
    Favourite Paddy Fox
    Jan 24th 2021, 5:09 AM
    Mute Kim Steen Hansen
    Jan 24th 2021, 8:20 AM

@Paddy Fox: new studies from Oxford University say 30%-50% read it in a danish need paper, so no link

Mute Stan Papusa
    Favourite Stan Papusa
    Jan 24th 2021, 10:27 AM

@Nick Caffrey: My point is that they take the piss out of the population with these statements. At this stage, it’s like adding insult to injury.
    While most of the world is “enjoying” an easing of restrictions, we pick the likes of Eritrea, Zimbabwe and Azerbaijan as role models.

Mute Eoin Jackson
    Favourite Eoin Jackson
    Jan 24th 2021, 1:07 PM

@Sam Harms: the sooner people realise the restrictions and guidelines are not a silver bullet, the quicker we can be saved from the holier than thou superior nauseating attitude of some people on here – you are very much included in that group Sam! You do know the transmission of this is nearly inevitable and all restrictions / guidelines do is slow it down? You do realise that if everyone would follow the restrictions to the letter there would still be cases (granted probably less than now) but with the extremely contagious variants there would still likely to be many cases! So how about you just pipe down there Sam throwing around comments thats make you seem like a superior t.w.a.t!

Mute Sequoia
    Favourite Sequoia
    Jan 23rd 2021, 5:45 PM

Numbers coming down but deaths staying high.

Hundreds of people in the last week dead. Never to be seen again, never to be heard again, never to be hugged again.

And all because some people didn’t want to wear a mask, or isolate.

Hope they’re able to live with the result of their actions.

Mute Newto2016
    Favourite Newto2016

@Sequoia: Oh, give it a rest. It’s not just happening in Ireland you know

Mute joe doyle
    Favourite joe doyle

@Newto2016:

Mute Rory Mac Daibhéid
    Favourite Rory Mac Daibhéid
    Jan 23rd 2021, 6:06 PM

@Sequoia: that’s not an accurate reflection at all.
    Healthcare has never been able to eliminate covid.
    It’s 50% in some Hospitals and 33% on average in others. These are people admitted without covid.
    Then you’ve nursing homes.
    Both setting implement masks and follow guidelines but it’s not very easy to stop this virus so your thinking and blaming it on that makes no sense.
    Nursing homes deaths are not down to not wearing a mask, some have had patients that picked up covid elsewhere, hospital, family even and transferred it on, same with the workers.
    The problem is people it’s the virus.
    So not sure why you’d blame people.
    Everyone in the biggest areas of transmission wear their mask.

In hindsight people might have reconsidered seeing anyone at Christmas as this is where the increase peaked and widespread increase. Not sure blaming people who seen their families is a fair human response.

The virus has to be stooped spreading in healthcare and nursing homes for control to be had.
    Whether the vaccine can do this isn’t known yet.
    A lot of healthcare workers will have some immunity now from reinfection.
    Things can probably improve from now on.
    Blame a virus that’s not stopped by masks and not covid shaming.
    Advise everyone to boost their Immune System as much as possible with positive things and Vitamin D.

Mute Tony Lyons
    Favourite Tony Lyons
    Jan 23rd 2021, 6:12 PM

@Newto2016: do you not like hearing the truth

Mute Tom Mc Phillips
    Favourite Tom Mc Phillips
    Jan 23rd 2021, 8:01 PM

@Sequoia: the governments decision to open up for Christmas, should be held accountable for making such bad decisions and allowing thousands to travel during Christmas. Blood is on their hands as far as I’m concerned

Mute Aidan Dorney
    Favourite Aidan Dorney
    Jan 23rd 2021, 8:30 PM

@Sequoia: No the fact of the matter is simple the government was spinless letting people gather outside pubs & restaurants spitting all over each other & this is just one example. Lockdown me ballx.

Mute Sean Walsh
    Favourite Sean Walsh
    Jan 23rd 2021, 8:44 PM

@Newto2016: Anyone near to you die from Covid ?

Mute Paul Mcnevin
    Favourite Paul Mcnevin
    Jan 23rd 2021, 9:21 PM

@Aidan Dorney: What about the Shibeens and and god knows how many parties. Yeah the government made mistakes, if the few ignorants followed the rules a lot less would have been affected.

Mute Shnack
    Favourite Shnack
    Jan 23rd 2021, 9:32 PM

@Sequoia: all because……of CHINA

Mute Damien Grogan
    Favourite Damien Grogan
    Jan 24th 2021, 12:44 AM

@Sequoia: “never to be seen again”?

Most of the have been abandoned by their families into care homes….

Mute Asid
    Favourite Asid
    Jan 24th 2021, 3:16 AM

@Sequoia: There is zero evidence to back up anything you said.. stop proliferating fear. .
    lockdowns are destroying people’s lives.. way more than Covid.

Mute 011Y
    Favourite 011Y
    Jan 24th 2021, 8:57 AM

@Rory Mac Daibhéid: Who takes the virus out and about? Fairies?????

Mute Eoin Jackson
    Favourite Eoin Jackson
    Jan 24th 2021, 4:03 PM

@011Y: you are a fairy

Mute Rory Mac Daibhéid
    Jan 24th 2021, 9:59 PM

@011Y:
    As I suggested unless you can control the spread in healthcare and the workers you’ll have no control.

Stopping and blaming people and having Garda fining hill walking won’t do anything but make people unhealthy as they can’t get out for a decent walk in Actual fresh air.

So maybe take the words of “Upgraded safety standards are urgently needed in Irish hospitals where Covid-19 infection rates are “out of control” and “directly harming frontline staff”, the head of the Irish Nurses and Midwives Organisation (INMO) has warned.

Phil Ní Sheaghdha, INMO general secretary, has called on the HSE to introduce urgent upgrades to safety measures for hospital staff including a national requirement that high-standard FFP2 masks be used in all healthcare settings, not just basic surgical masks.”

As the fairies are not much help God for what it’s worth also.

Mute Mark Twomey
    Favourite Mark Twomey
    Jan 23rd 2021, 5:44 PM

God bless everyone who has sadly passed away.

Mute brian reid
    Favourite brian reid
    Jan 23rd 2021, 5:46 PM

Great to see the numbers decline…but Mehole and his side kick already talking about going to Washington for Paddy’s day.. one rule for them and a different one for us

Mute Michéal Ó Tuama
    Favourite Michéal Ó Tuama

@brian reid: Nonsense. They said they would assess the situation closer to the time. People will have different views as to the value of that trip but I believe it’s invaluable to Ireland, especially with Biden there.

Mute Tony Humphreys
    Favourite Tony Humphreys

@brian reid: (f its safe for them to go to Washington, its safe for us all to go up Sally gap! The guards cant stop us all

See 17 more replies ▾
    Mute Geoff Bateman
    Favourite Geoff Bateman

@brian reid: yeah I heard that yesterday… what planet they on.. scandalous!!!!

Mute Geoff Bateman
    Favourite Geoff Bateman

@Michéal Ó Tuama: nonsense

Mute paul mccoy
    Favourite paul mccoy

@brian reid: ah sure what else would he doing sure he can’t stay in lockdown like the rest of us. He had to go off and enjoy himself while us taxpayers pay for it. He has the neck of a giraffe.

Mute paul mccoy
    Favourite paul mccoy
    Jan 23rd 2021, 5:55 PM

@Michéal Ó Tuama: he doesn’t need to go . There is a world pandemic happening and to give it a miss for this year wouldn’t be the end of the world. I’m sure if they want to secure jobs etc can they not use zoom or Skype like the rest of us have to.

Mute David Clements
    Favourite David Clements

@paul mccoy: I’m amazed at this. Do you not think may be the American FDI every year covers the cost? Even if we allocate 1% of the investment to intangibles like goodwill, the Irish taxpayer benefits from this type of engagement, one which no other nation gets…

Mute Kevin50
    Favourite Kevin50

@brian reid: that is not what he said, he said they would make a decision based on the situation at that time …

Mute Michéal Ó Tuama
    Favourite Michéal Ó Tuama

@paul mccoy: Let’s see how we’re doing in March. If the trip were tomorrow, of course I’d agree with you that he shouldn’t go.

Mute Pauline Fedigan
    Favourite Pauline Fedigan
    Jan 23rd 2021, 6:04 PM

@brian reid: DON’T FORGET HE WANTS TO MAKE HISTORY, VERY IMPORTANT FOR HIM,BUT UNFORTUNATELY HE WILL BE MAKING IT FOR ALL THE WRONG REASONS.

Mute Hector Son
    Favourite Hector Son
    Jan 23rd 2021, 6:06 PM

@Geoff Bateman: it’s hardly “scandalous”.
    It’s invaluable to Ireland, hope they get to make the trip

Mute Tony Lyons
    Favourite Tony Lyons
    Jan 23rd 2021, 6:13 PM

@Tony Humphreys: off you go

Rmc
    Mute Rmc
    Favourite Rmc
    Jan 23rd 2021, 6:14 PM

@brian reid: he should definitely go to US for paddy’s day. Enough of this one rule for them rubbish others have said, he’s but not going on a jolly. The political and economic gain from these trips is something we need more than ever now.

Mute John Costello
    Favourite John Costello
    Jan 23rd 2021, 6:18 PM

@Tony Humphreys: Off you go, and stay up there.

Mute brian reid
    Favourite brian reid
    Jan 23rd 2021, 6:22 PM

@Rmc: Spain..Italy..Greece..Turkey..could say the same about the Tourist

Mute Ger
    Favourite Ger
    Jan 23rd 2021, 6:39 PM

@Tony Humphreys: cop yourself on. I assume you’re an adult but you comment like a spoiled child

Mute Kevin50
    Favourite Kevin50
    Jan 23rd 2021, 6:52 PM

@Geoff Bateman: if you did hear and i don’t think you did, but if you did, it is a case you heard what you wanted to hear, he clearly stated if circumstances allow a decision would be made then

Mute Sarah Cullen
    Favourite Sarah Cullen
    Jan 23rd 2021, 7:54 PM

@Michéal Ó Tuama: In general I agree with you but seeing as St Patricks day in IRELAND is already cancelled….they could prob get away with skipping it for one year.

Mute Michael Creagh
    Favourite Michael Creagh
    Jan 23rd 2021, 11:57 PM

@Michéal Ó Tuama: so is life!!!

Mute Robert Ryan
    Favourite Robert Ryan
    Jan 23rd 2021, 5:42 PM

Numbers slowing coming down. Keep safe

Mute Keith Fay
    Favourite Keith Fay
    Jan 23rd 2021, 5:56 PM

@Robert Ryan: depends what number you look at, there are two, one of which is sadly going up

Mute Dave Harris
    Favourite Dave Harris
    Jan 23rd 2021, 6:26 PM

@Robert Ryan: numbers coming down quicker than ever actually.

Mute Mickety Dee
    Favourite Mickety Dee
    Jan 23rd 2021, 8:15 PM

@Keith Fay: Cases are a predictor of deaths. Hospital numbers are past their peak, ICU nearing peak

Mute Carlin Ite
    Favourite Carlin Ite
    Jan 23rd 2021, 9:07 PM

@Dave Harris: it’s god to see but they never should have risen so high. Could have been prevented.

Mute Paul Somers
    Favourite Paul Somers
    Jan 23rd 2021, 5:48 PM

Very high numbers and 6 months more. We cannot blame the roll out of the cure, we can blame the government for allowing airports open, and not confining them for 14 days (at their cost). Australian open is on and all players / staff have been quarantined for 14 days…. no choice.

Mute Tony Humphreys
    Favourite Tony Humphreys

@Paul Somers: Australia is not open, its a prison island. I do not blanke the government for covid deaths – its a pendemic, its not their fault. I blame them for breaking the constitution, the shambles in the HSE and the lack of vaccine rollout.

Mute paul mccoy
    Favourite paul mccoy

@Tony Humphreys: he didn’t mean Australia is open he was referring to the Australia open tennis championships where all players and staff have been told to quarantine for 14 days in some hotel and they cannot leave and it’s under guard.

Mute Ian Forbes
    Favourite Ian Forbes
    Jan 23rd 2021, 6:14 PM

@Tony Humphreys: its a very big island

Mute Tony Lyons
    Favourite Tony Lyons
    Jan 23rd 2021, 6:15 PM

@Paul Somers: we can blame the people who won’t follow the rules

Mute Bert Carolan
    Favourite Bert Carolan
    Jan 23rd 2021, 6:57 PM

@paul mccoy: Ironic that, the Australian Open but they’re all confined.

Mute Tom Mc Phillips
    Favourite Tom Mc Phillips
    Jan 23rd 2021, 8:02 PM

@Paul Somers: Well said. I couldn’t agree more.

Mute A Well Known Comical Stereotype
    Favourite A Well Known Comical Stereotype
    Jan 23rd 2021, 8:21 PM

@Tony Humphreys: I am much safer in Australia than in Ireland. Life is close to normal. Most businesses are open. It is not a prison. The Irish Government needs to be brave and try strategies that have worked on other islands.

Mute Aidan Dorney
    Favourite Aidan Dorney
    Jan 23rd 2021, 8:48 PM

@Tony Humphreys: @Tony Humphreys: Yes, but would you not agreed that the government’s decision-making was questionable. In fact, that’s too nice when you weigh it up; the handling of this pandemic was & is appalling.

Mute Aidan Dorney
    Favourite Aidan Dorney
    Jan 23rd 2021, 8:59 PM

@Aidan Dorney: agree

Mute Da Dell
    Favourite Da Dell

Thanks Leo for the mess your great leadership has given us … and PS good luck with the Gardai Inquiry into your leaks that the journal seems to have no knowledge of ..

I cant post links, but you can read it on the Irish Examiner.

Mute Brian Carr
    Favourite Brian Carr
    Jan 23rd 2021, 5:53 PM

@Da Dell: you would swear this virus was just and problem in Ireland , we get it you don’t like Leo, but can’t be blaming him for other people not giving a ….

Mute Da Dell
    Favourite Da Dell

@Brian Carr: I don’t like or dislike Leo, I know what he is, a narcissistic, egotistical political animal who has played politics with this pandemic, I reluctantly have respect and some admiration for the man in now he has used the pandemic ( never wasted a good crisis) to boost his popularity for some, after it was on ground after the last elections where less that 8k people voted for him, a very poor judgement of his time as Taoiseach.
    It was Leo who went on the National Airwaves on Claire Byrne, where he publicly slated NPHET and Tony and publicly stated that they were going to reject the expert Medical Advise, giving some people the mandate to do the same.

Mute David Lawlor
    Favourite David Lawlor
    Jan 23rd 2021, 6:43 PM

@Da Dell: as much as I’d like to see Leo in shackles outside the Four Courts that’s not how we do things in Ireland, first we’ll establish a Tribunal (at taxpayers expense) the cost of which will run into 100′s of millions and will take years to conclude. Then the DPP will realise there is no point in investigating because, as we all know, once evidence has been given on a tribunal it cannot be used in a court of law. By then though we will have moved on to the next fiddle and it will all have been forgotten about.

Mute Da Dell
    Favourite Da Dell
    Jan 23rd 2021, 7:07 PM

@David Lawlor: Oh I hear you, sure didn’t they appoint a former NGAP lobbyist to SIPO who will be investigating Leo’s leak to his former friend who was boss of the NGAP .. We have like the Morris Tribunal in the past but still those referenced in the Tribunal have got major Government contracts since .. If it was Trump doing this it would be all over the Irish Media, but when its FG and their lackeys, the presstitutes are nowhere to be seen ..

Mute Robert Lumezi
    Favourite Robert Lumezi
    Jan 23rd 2021, 9:12 PM

@Da Dell: Curfew should be placed on ,and the big shopping centers reduce working hours.
    Still all the families are hurling to buy stuff .Only one person per cart. The deaths will reduce if you Be Strict with guidelines! God bless us ,Rip for the victims ,Lets do what is necessary to prevent deaths .

Mute Eoin Jackson
    Favourite Eoin Jackson
    Jan 24th 2021, 4:14 PM

@Brian Carr: its a bit like when people blame FF for the financial crash in 2008… yeah im sure it was FFs fault the entire world economy crashed! Did they make poor decisions that probably exacerbated the situation? Sure! Did they cause the problem? No!

Tom
    Mute Tom
    Favourite Tom

Getting there but it’s such a shame seeing those deaths.
    Rip to all.

Mute Toon Army
    Favourite Toon Army

Really time to get the schools back open. Lockdowns are ineffective. No need to go whole hog like December but time to be realistic and protect against both Covid and non-Covid deaths in the long run. Dr Jay Bhattacharya has been giving excellent perspective here- https://youtu.be/-ESXdVbIhmg

Mute Tommy Roche
    Favourite Tommy Roche
    Jan 23rd 2021, 6:07 PM

@Toon Army: Don’t you ever wonder why Dr Bhattacharya is reduced to posting YouTube videos ? Why is he not headhunted by the WHO, instead of being ignored by health authorities the world over ?

Mute Beer Belly 0476
    Favourite Beer Belly 0476
    Jan 23rd 2021, 6:09 PM

@Toon Army: 77 people die and your reaction is to open schools again? I***t

Mute mar
    Favourite mar
    Jan 23rd 2021, 6:22 PM

@Tommy Roche: I’ve have actually wondered about that. He has always been a well respected professor of medicine at Stanford University. Why is he now being censored ? A bit odd isn’t it? Ah I forgot that’s not allowed anymore to have an opinion that differs from the official narrative. Of course.

Mute Seán O Ciara
    Favourite Seán O Ciara
    Jan 23rd 2021, 6:54 PM

@Toon Army: open schools! Have you no clue at all?

Mute Joe Moore
    Favourite Joe Moore
    Jan 23rd 2021, 8:14 PM

@mar: People are so narrow minded aren’t they? They actually can’t comprehend that other people can offer a valuable insight, with alternative view points.

Mute Toon Army
    Favourite Toon Army
    Jan 23rd 2021, 9:03 PM

@mar: Absolutely. He doesn’t quite hit the heady heights of the esteemed requirements for a civil service HSE role. 30 years studying and writing on infectious diseases, a PhD, not to mention running the first serological studies of Covid in the US.. But he’s no Glynn!

Mute Toon Army
    Favourite Toon Army
    Jan 23rd 2021, 9:07 PM

@Beer Belly 0476: Yes the harms from the lockdown are far worse for kids than Covid. Not to mention the fact children rarely transmit the virus. There is no justification to the ongoing closure of schools. Even the NPHET lockdown doom merchants aren’t arguing for it – which really says something.

Mute Rory Mac Daibhéid
    Jan 23rd 2021, 10:41 PM

@Toon Army: All now to Glynn and Tony..

Mute Damien Grogan
    Favourite Damien Grogan
    Jan 24th 2021, 12:46 AM

@Beer Belly 0476: that number of people die every day of the year. How come you’re weren’t upset in 2019?

Mute Asid
    Favourite Asid
    Jan 24th 2021, 3:19 AM

@Tommy Roche: also check out Dr Pierre Kory and the flccc alliance and the iMask protocol it is obliterating Covid, take your health into your own hands, the government will not fix this.. Ivermectin and this Protocol is a miracle..

Mute Andy Harding
    Favourite Andy Harding

God bless all and rip to the family the end is getting closer to this mess

Mute Robert Clifford
    Favourite Robert Clifford
    Jan 23rd 2021, 5:44 PM

@Andy Harding: End is getting closer? 6 more months of this at least.

Mute Keith Fay
    Favourite Keith Fay

@Robert Clifford: that’s closer than when it started a year ago

Mute Tommy Roche
    Favourite Tommy Roche
    Jan 23rd 2021, 6:01 PM

@Robert Clifford: And a year of this gone by. The end is always getting closer.

Mute Andy Harding
    Favourite Andy Harding
    Jan 23rd 2021, 6:29 PM

@Robert Clifford: It’s better than 16 would you agree

Mute Ger
    Favourite Ger
    Jan 23rd 2021, 6:31 PM

@Robert Clifford: 6 months of “some sort of restrictions”. Doesn’t mean level 5.

Mute Michael Maher
    Favourite Michael Maher

A lot of deaths still in nursing homes after nearly a year of the thing. Amazing how the virus is still getting into the nursing homes that are supposed to be secure.

Mute Ger
    Favourite Ger
    Jan 23rd 2021, 6:32 PM

@Michael Maher: asymptomatic staff bringing it in

Mute Mairead Jenkins
    Favourite Mairead Jenkins
    Jan 23rd 2021, 7:44 PM

@Michael Maher: Just impossible to keep it out when it’s so high in the community. Sadly.

Mute Asid
    Favourite Asid
    Jan 24th 2021, 3:21 AM

@Michael Maher: because nursing home are full of old people.. and guess what?? Old people die.

Mute Buagh
    Favourite Buagh
    Jan 24th 2021, 11:11 AM

@Michael Maher: vaccination side effects

Mute Mary O Dwyer
    Favourite Mary O Dwyer
    Jan 23rd 2021, 6:26 PM

Nobody wearing masks out walking and all on top of each other it’s so busy. Exercise important but we have been asked to wear face coverings in outdoor busy areas and not an iota do many seem to give . Do people still not get how respiratory viruses spread especially one this transmissible . Every time you breath out it takes time for the virus to fall to the ground and if you could see your breath in the air people would not be so happy to pass so closely minus a mask I think .Healthcare workers exhausted , stressed and working in dangerous settings for 12 hour days/ nights plus the patients in their care deserve our help . all the public have to do is put a covering on their face when out exercising how hard is that . Heath are workers can’t keep mopping up after this lack of cop on .

Mute Mairead Jenkins
    Favourite Mairead Jenkins
    Jan 23rd 2021, 7:45 PM

@Mary O Dwyer: Around here about 50% wear masks in the park

Mute Rory Mac Daibhéid
    Jan 23rd 2021, 10:46 PM

@Mary O Dwyer: it’s not difficult it’s ridiculous, exercise in a mask I’d rather not faint and make myself sick.
    Ridiculous. Did you ever look at the science there is basically no outdoor transmission from stranger’s in the statistics it’s doesn’t happen .
    The risk outside is close to zero unless you’ve having a close contact which is impossible from stranger’s.

And yes everyone should wear a mask indoors but we already do that.
    Also the masks worn Actually need to be improved in healthcare and nursing home settings as they are not stopping the virus.
    So how about focus on that and not an actual dangerous suggestion around exercising.
    It’s having a heathy immune system that’s stops severe covid and not depressing people and fear and avoiding the fresh air and sunshine.

Cop on to how to reduce risk please.

Masks are not required in fresh air.

Mute Rory Mac Daibhéid
    Jan 23rd 2021, 10:49 PM

@Mairead Jenkins: insanity. There’s no risk outside from stranger’s.
    If you meeting someone and going to be a close contact a mask might reduce the risk even further.
    Social distance outside is extremely low risk .

A mask exercising is very bad for you and shouldn’t be done.

The masks need to be used and used correctly and best quality for the risky environments which we need focus on.
    Focus on outdoors won’t stop the spread not will masks.

Close contact is how the virus spreads.

Mute Mary O Dwyer
    Favourite Mary O Dwyer
    Jan 23rd 2021, 10:59 PM

@Rory Mac Daibhéid: you may need to read and listen to experts in infection control and their evolving research and findings before you decide on how virus can spread in any crowded setting inside or out before stating how a virus spreads . Less risk is not no risk and an adapting virus is a changing risk . Face coverings walking should not be leaving you unable to breath naturally if so it is likely not the mask is the problem , staff racing around in hot settings would be collapsing not those outside in cool air .

Mute Derdaly
    Favourite Derdaly
    Jan 24th 2021, 12:05 AM

@Mary O Dwyer: there is no evidence of casual outdoor transmission in any country. The only recommendation for outdoor masks was in crowded street settings and this was a concern when Christmas shopping was compacted into 3 weeks.
    This blame culture is just a distraction from where the real focus of prevention should be, hospitals and nursing homes. The failure of the HSE and NPHET in these environments had been consistent since last March.

Mute Chantelle Ennis
    Favourite Chantelle Ennis
    Jan 24th 2021, 12:29 AM

@Mary O Dwyer: it comes down to this: wear a mask, it might protect you it might not. Same as a seat belt. I for one am not taking a chance and wearing a mask. Some people don’t agree. An onslaught of Internet degrees I’ll assume. It comes down to this possibly prevent the spread of a deadly virus = wear a mask. Or be an a$$ then proceed to preach about it from their online pulpit and minimise everything our doctors and nurses are doing right now.

Mute Maria Hickey-Fagan
    Favourite Maria Hickey-Fagan
    Jan 23rd 2021, 7:33 PM

I was diagnosed positive on Christmas Eve. I spent the next week worrying who I’d passed it on to, in particular a family member who would most certainly not do well if they got it. I would never have forgiven myself. Thankfully they were clear, but I will never forget that fear.

Mute Jonnie Marre
    Favourite Jonnie Marre

Relentlessly High death rate. Very upsetting

Mute Joe Moore
    Favourite Joe Moore
    Jan 23rd 2021, 8:21 PM

@Jonnie Marre: Take a day off and cheer your self up..

Mute Anna Carr
    Favourite Anna Carr

Cases down but terrible death toll. May the deceased rest in peace and comfort and condolences to their families and friends. So sad for the lives lost

Mute patrick o keeffe
    Favourite patrick o keeffe
    Jan 23rd 2021, 6:04 PM

From a peak of 8000 cases to sub 2000 cases in 3 weeks is great news alas the death rate is still shocking too many of the vulnerable cohorts got infected as a result of the ridiculous easing of restrictions in December for a “meaningful Christmas” so instead of having one lockdown Christmas many had their last ever Christmas.

Mute Twitruser2021
    Favourite Twitruser2021
    Jan 23rd 2021, 6:12 PM

RIP. Even the darkest night will end and the sun will rise.

Mute Jess Delahunt
    Favourite Jess Delahunt

RIP to all those who have passed away and thoughts with their loved ones.
    I think at this point giving the number of cases in total since the start of the pandemic is meaningless. Id imagine around 1m or more have actually had COVID at this point.
    I’m pretty sure I had it myself last March. For those who had it back 6 or more months ago I would think that the longer it goes without getting vaccinated the more risk you have of contracting it again as I would doubt immunity is strong beyond 6 or 9 months

Mute Rory Mac Daibhéid

@Jess Delahunt: it’s last lasting so far and that’s from healthcare.

There is some concern around the mutants but I think it’s mainly positive about lasting protection and or a milder reinfection.

There is not much evidence as reinfection as there is on the vaccine yet so we need that data.

This gives the good news I think anyway.

https://www.nejm.org/doi/full/10.1056/NEJMoa2034545?query=featured_coronavirus

https://www.newstalk.com/news/luke-oneill-recovered-coronavirus-patients-have-stronger-protection-than-vaccinated-people-1133149

Mute Jess Delahunt
    Favourite Jess Delahunt

@Rory Mac Daibhéid: cheers for that, useful info for sure

Mute Ger
    Favourite Ger
    Jan 23rd 2021, 6:47 PM

@Jess Delahunt: yeah I had it back in March and am paranoid about getting reinfected. I’ve been tested twice since after getting fevers, once just recently but negative both times. The actual number of confirmed reinfections worldwide is tiny. Fingers crossed it stays that way. There has been enough worrying news regarding new strains with potentially higher mortality etc. The one consistently good thing has been the few cases of reinfection.

Mute Shelly E
    Favourite Shelly E
    Jan 23rd 2021, 5:53 PM

Are all close contacts being tested again or is that still on hold ? Curious to see if the positivity rate is accurate if all suspected cases are being tested.

Mute Nuala Mc Namara
    Favourite Nuala Mc Namara
    Jan 23rd 2021, 6:42 PM

Its hard to know what to say when we see the huge numbers of people losing their lives leaving heartbroken families behind,all I can do is off sincere condolences to the families who sadly lost loved ones RIP.
    Thinking too of patients in hospitals and their families and wish they’ll make a full recovery.
    Special praise and thanks for the under pressure dedicated frontline staff.
    We can and are reducing transmission of the virus by adhering to the public health advice and guidelines,at least the majority of us! Remember though even with masks on,to adhere to social distancing and wear masks properly.
    We need to keep going despite the stress,we need to keep each other’s spirits up because we’re stronger together.

Mute Damien Grogan
    Favourite Damien Grogan
    Jan 24th 2021, 12:47 AM

@Nuala Mc Namara: The median age of people who died is 84 so get a grip

Mute Robert Clifford
    Favourite Robert Clifford

Relentless

Mute Mr Wilde
    Favourite Mr Wilde
    Jan 23rd 2021, 7:28 PM

Daily reminder that no matter what age you are you have to be EXTREMELY unlucky to even get seriously ill if you get covid. So don’t live your lives in fear.

Mute Aine Ryan
    Favourite Aine Ryan
    Jan 23rd 2021, 9:23 PM

@Mr Wilde: wild ok!

Mute Vanessa
    Favourite Vanessa

Can we have stricter border controls? Living in Louth these numbers are quite concerning given that we aren’t supposed to travel more than 5km.

Mute Michael Maher
    Favourite Michael Maher
    Jan 23rd 2021, 6:17 PM

@Vanessa: Martin should build a wall…………!

Mute Vanessa
    Favourite Vanessa
    Jan 23rd 2021, 9:50 PM

@Michael Maher: They should just use same concerns for same things. Why can one move country without issues but you can’t go to the neighbouring village. I understand medical and similar reasons but not why the smallest county has to have one of the highest numbers of new cases on regular basis.

Mute Joeohah
    Favourite Joeohah
    Jan 23rd 2021, 6:36 PM

Munchausen syndrome by proxy:

“We know it is possible to have Covid-19 without displaying symptoms, so we all need to behave as though we are infectious and minimise our close contacts with others.”

Mute FrustratedASDMum
    Favourite FrustratedASDMum
    Jan 23rd 2021, 7:18 PM

@Joeohah: all that comment proves is that you’ve no idea what Munchausen Syndrome By Proxy is.

Mute Fabio Dillon
    Favourite Fabio Dillon
    Jan 24th 2021, 1:32 PM

@Joeohah: melt

Mute Jason Ebbs
    Favourite Jason Ebbs

When they say “76 of these deaths occurred in January”…is that 76 deaths that were not previously recorded from January 1st, or is it 76 deaths today ?. Very confusing
    And if it’s the first scenario what is today’s death rate.

Mute David Clements
    Favourite David Clements
    Jan 23rd 2021, 6:00 PM

@Jason Ebbs: 76 of the deaths happened this month and have only been recorded in the last 24 hours. It has always been like that.

Mute Richard Williamson
    Favourite Richard Williamson

@Jason Ebbs: RIP to the deceased. Deaths are not recorded within the last day. It is when the family’s get a death certificate. However we know that these deaths occurred in January and not before. This creates a lag from death to recording. We know that the Christmas surge is causing this high mortality rate. Sadly it will drop slowly.

Mute Jason Ebbs
    Favourite Jason Ebbs
    Jan 23rd 2021, 6:33 PM

@David Clements: so we never actually got a daily death figure ??

Mute David Clements
    Favourite David Clements
    Jan 23rd 2021, 6:44 PM

@Jason Ebbs: no. Not in real time but it still is near enough for tracking the pandemics course

Mute Eoin Jackson
    Favourite Eoin Jackson
    Jan 24th 2021, 4:28 PM

@Jason Ebbs: Jesus, jason welcome to the party, you’re only 10 months late but glad you got there!

Mute Joeohah
    Favourite Joeohah
    Jan 23rd 2021, 7:30 PM

They said shutdowns stop viruses.
    They said masks stop viruses.
    They said it’s pub’s, restaurant shops…
    They said it’s your fault.
    They said it’s the schools.
    Yet positive tests shot up
    Now some want to lock up healthy people when they cross borders, yet the virus is here!

Mute Joe Moore
    Favourite Joe Moore
    Jan 23rd 2021, 8:17 PM

@Joeohah: Running out of things to blame so they are! So just blame people for not caring is the latest one. Most of the transmission is spread in hospitals and care homes. Yet people are giving out about Paddy not wearing his mask in Tesco.

Mute A Well Known Comical Stereotype
    Favourite A Well Known Comical Stereotype
    Jan 23rd 2021, 8:28 PM

@Joeohah: Australia and NZ have closed their borders. Guess what, if you stop the virus from arriving, along with other measures, it dies out. That is the best option for Ireland.

Mute Paddy Fox
    Favourite Paddy Fox
    Jan 23rd 2021, 11:02 PM

@Joe Moore: how dare you, I always wear my mask in Tesco!

Mute Paddy Fox
    Favourite Paddy Fox
    Jan 23rd 2021, 11:14 PM

@Paddy Fox: on a more serious note, we catch covid-19 mostly by breathing in droplets or aerosols emitted by infected people many of whom don’t even know they have it. So, yes, anywhere masks weren’t worn eg in homes or restaurants over Christmas were part of the problem. Whereas people commenting here may blame others, mostly NPHET have tried to avoid a blame game. I’m sure most people didn’t go out of their way to infect others deliberately but constant reminders about the way to behave are necessary to get us out of this.

Mute Kim Steen Hansen

Great to see the numbers below 2K. I still don’t understand why we have so many cases compared to a similar sized country as Denmark.

Mute John Fahy
    Favourite John Fahy

@Kim Steen Hansen: FFG

Mute David Clements
    Favourite David Clements

@John Fahy: ffs

See 19 more replies ▾
    Mute David Clements
    Favourite David Clements
    Jan 23rd 2021, 5:58 PM

@Kim Steen Hansen: Denmark has close to 200k cases, more than us. Much lower reported deaths, which may be differences in how they report. And they got a good long whack off the 3rd wave too, just earlier than we did. I guess FFG are in government there too

Mute Richard Williamson
    Jan 23rd 2021, 6:18 PM

@Kim Steen Hansen: unfortunately our society socialised too much at Christmas. Irish people like meeting people. We are a social nation compared to our Nordic neighbours. Also the numbers were higher than we would have liked when the restrictions eased. Thirdly this new variant is quickly a real problem. That’s why other European nations have banned flights to Ireland. Fourthly the NI cases were never low this whole Autumn.
    There is the perfect storm for you. I don’t even have to mention the anti mask, anti vaccine, get on with ‘living’ brigade.
    Hopefully we will get this virus under control again. When that eventually happens I hope the Irish people won’t make the same mistake again.

Mute Kim Steen Hansen

@David Clements: Denmark have roughly 15k more cases than we have, in total. Call it what you want. We are in our 3rd lockdown and Denmark is in their second. They have not had any days with close to 2000 cases. Denmark has had less than 2000 deaths – that’s 1000 less than us. Why are we so bad compared to them.

Mute Kim Steen Hansen
    Jan 23rd 2021, 6:40 PM

@Richard Williamson: so you’re telling me that Irish people socialize more than the Danes?! And especially around Xmas ?! Are you aware that Denmark typically celebrates Xmas for 3 days. And New Year’s Eve is way bigger than here. Also Denmark is only in their 2nd lockdown. If you don’t know already, Denmark has a border with Sweden who, I believe have had very limited restrictions.

Mute David Clements
    Favourite David Clements
    Jan 23rd 2021, 6:45 PM
    Mute Kim Steen Hansen
    Jan 23rd 2021, 6:55 PM

@David Clements: very interesting, you and I will never agree. You are looking at your data, I’m looking at the danish SSI ( similar to HSE ) reported numbers. What do you read from your link? Please explain.

Mute Richard Williamson
    Jan 23rd 2021, 7:36 PM

@Kim Steen Hansen: I certainly will take your point on the Swedish border. Even with their limited restrictions the Swedes are not the worst European nation. I think Nordic people follow rules/ guidelines better. Both Norway and Finland have done far better than us with similar population sizes.
    I still think that Irish people love to socialise more than these Nordic neighbours and that has some bearing on our current situation.

Mute David Clements
    Favourite David Clements
    Jan 23rd 2021, 7:38 PM

@Kim Steen Hansen: just that they have had slightly more cases than us overall and that they have surpassed 2k per day many times, the latter I think you said they hadn’t . That’s all I was disputing. And as every country is reporting deaths differently we won’t know the outcomes exactly for a good while… and yes I accept that living next door to Sweden hadn’t helped but jaysus compared to our clown shows in Belfast and London! Also I’m with you to a large extent on Christmas. It’s important everywhere in Europe…

Mute Kim Steen Hansen
    Jan 23rd 2021, 7:51 PM

@David Clements: I still can’t understand that we still have such a high number? To me 2K a day is very high when we are 20 days into a lockdown, when a country like Denmark are under 1k. A day, at the moment. Are we testing the same way, or what is it? I’m don’t believe Irish people are socialising than danish people. I’m with you about the government that’s 100% a different. Are danish people follow the rules more than Irish? Not at all. Again today there are rally’s in Copenhagen where bottles have thrown at the police. End of the day our numbers are crazy high.

Mute Kim Steen Hansen
    Jan 23rd 2021, 7:53 PM

@David Clements: I double checked, your 100% Denmark have been above 2K in a day. However they are down to 879 cases today out of 144.000 tests.

Mute David Clements
    Favourite David Clements
    Jan 23rd 2021, 7:59 PM

@Kim Steen Hansen: they’re ahead of us by about 2 weeks.or so. Remember in early December Ireland had the lowest rate in Europe then boom! the 3rd wave happened…

Mute Kim Steen Hansen
    Jan 23rd 2021, 8:13 PM

@David Clements: let’s just say 1 week. We closed down for the third time dec. 31st. Or just around there. Denmark closed down for the second time December 25th. We had the lowest number early December only make it worse.

Mute David Clements
    Favourite David Clements
    Jan 23rd 2021, 8:24 PM

@Kim Steen Hansen: Ireland acted early in October and shut down while the rest of Europe waited. We’re therefore behind the curve at this particular point. Had we done similar we would be in a 2nd not 3rd lockdown. The overall outcomes may not end up very different….

Mute Kim Steen Hansen
    Jan 23rd 2021, 8:43 PM

@David Clements: what impact does that have on the big different in numbers between Denmark and us.

Mute David Clements
    Favourite David Clements
    Jan 23rd 2021, 9:02 PM

@Kim Steen Hansen: case numbers are similar overall. Deaths are much lower which I can only deduce is down to reporting differences. And Denmark is now approaching the end of a severe 2nd wave. We severed our 2nd wave as soon as it appeared and are now dealing with a desperate 3rd wave. Overall there’s probably littke difference between Ireland and Denmark. Unless we’re talking vaccines…

Mute Kim Steen Hansen
    Jan 23rd 2021, 9:04 PM

@David Clements: 2000 cases are not similar to 900

Mute Richard Williamson
    Jan 23rd 2021, 10:19 PM

@Kim Steen Hansen: I think David is suggesting these differences are only at this moment in time and may average out.

Mute Kim Steen Hansen
    Jan 23rd 2021, 10:45 PM

@Richard Williamson: ok thanks for clarifying

Mute Eoin Jackson
    Favourite Eoin Jackson
    Jan 24th 2021, 4:35 PM

@Kim Steen Hansen: the danes celebrate Xmas for 3 days?! No way! I suppose that would be a lot more social alright than the irish, who tend to use the month of december as one big long session usually spilling into the first week of january… christmas dinner usually only used for soakage, but jesus those danes have a 3 day xmas… Mad batsards!

Mute Denis White
    Favourite Denis White
    Jan 23rd 2021, 6:28 PM

Look on the bright side, at the current rate of vaccination we should all be vaccinated by the end of 2022 oh and being Irish there will probably be a good few controversies to boot along the way.

Mute Ger
    Favourite Ger

@Denis White: that’s the spirt, nothing like a bit of negativity. It’s expected that everyone in Ireland will be offered a vaccine by the end of September. This is going by the 3 vaccines being available, its possible there’ll be more by then. Ireland is in the top 2 in the EU in terms of vaccinations distributed currently. Numbers will increase further as more vaccines are delivered.

Mute Joeohah
    Favourite Joeohah
    Jan 23rd 2021, 6:41 PM

@Denis White:
    But but but but the vaccine is only expected to last 8 months so people vaccinated January or February will need to be vaccinated again in the autumn

Mute David Clements
    Favourite David Clements
    Jan 23rd 2021, 7:34 PM

@Denis White: I’m not usually like this but you’re very welcome to f4c6k off on the next available flight to whetever the h4ll will have you

Mute Urgencia
    Favourite Urgencia
    Jan 23rd 2021, 8:35 PM

Thanks the Journal for listening for posting the average age of these deaths is 84.

While all of these deaths are tragic, it’s important to acknowledge the fact that, under 55, the odds of catching and dying from this are millions to one.

I had to go to the Beacon to get a PCR test done. They have a cafe open inside with tables & chairs where staff and patients sit down and eat.

I don’t have a problem with this as it would be difficult to ask them all to packs lunches; especially patients.

I took a picture of the cafe but can’t post it here. Many groups of 2’s 3’s, all staff, seated having a chat and eating their food together. No masks on as they are eating. They will spread it to patients many of whom are vulnerable.

This goes on at Vincent’s as well.

Jan 23rd 2021, 8:54 PM

@Urgencia: An 18 year old man died from it a few days ago after catching it a second time. A second time. Wilber Portillo. A million to one odds doesn’t ensure anyone. As those Lotto ads say, “It could be you”.

Mute Urgencia
    Favourite Urgencia
    Jan 23rd 2021, 9:16 PM

@: hmm, I could get hit by lighting, but I’ll keep going outside. It’s pointless listing anecdotes and outliers.

At this point we have a large pool of data from around the developed world.

If you are under 55 the odds of catching then dying from this Virus are in the millions.

All should be wearing N95 type masks while outside their home within meters of others.

Common sense is missing.

As Fitzgerald said, “The test of a first-rate intelligence is the ability to hold two opposing ideas in mind at the same time and still retain the ability to function…” etc.

The anti maskers, people who are lazy about the type of mask are undoubtedly spreading. The way this is reported as a hyper-killer virus is also exaggerated. A first rate mind reconciles these things. They are both true.

Mute Urgencia
    Favourite Urgencia
    Jan 23rd 2021, 9:24 PM

@Urgencia: I meant to say that just because people are ignorant and lazy about the virus and wearing appropriate PPE doesn’t mean we need hand wringing and equally ignorant exaggeration about the seriousness of the virus for the vast majority of the population.

The answer, seeming paradox, is people should take their own initiative and wear N95 type masks to reduce the spread of the virus, while at the same time acknowledging that for the vast majority of people it is millions to one odds of catching and then dying from it.

Most people can’t seem to reconcile this.

Mute Rory Mac Daibhéid
    Jan 23rd 2021, 10:53 PM

@Urgencia: the fear driven media doesn’t want to educate or do the authorities.
    Focus should be on how covid spreads, the real high risk areas, including healthcare, then focus on why it kills people and if any of these factors can be reduced by our actions.
    If not a focus on these groups as most vunerable to severe covid and educating them and others.

Mute Damien Grogan
    Favourite Damien Grogan
    Jan 24th 2021, 12:51 AM

@: I don’t believe you

Mute Alison
    Favourite Alison
    Jan 23rd 2021, 6:19 PM

Its the deaths that really worry me :(

Mute David Clements
    Favourite David Clements
    Jan 23rd 2021, 6:01 PM

Decent drop in hospital figures too thank christ

Mute Ann Corvin
    Favourite Ann Corvin
    Jan 23rd 2021, 8:35 PM

Its so frightening. We have stayed in my husband and I. There was 77 deaths today why is it not slowing down by now? Its very worrying.

Mute Asio_Otus
    Favourite Asio_Otus
    Jan 23rd 2021, 8:46 PM

@Ann Corvin:
    Just to say Ann, these aren’t deaths from one day, they are only reported to NPHEt when the family register the death, which can take some time.

You’re doing right, look after yourselves as best you can, and we’ll get out of this again.

Mute Margaret Kane
    Favourite Margaret Kane
    Jan 23rd 2021, 7:56 PM

R.I.P to all who died please please stop talking about deaths and case’s rising try and be a bit positive talk about the vaccine and how soon people are going to get it give us something to look forward to please let this horrible thing thats happening end soon its nearly a year now lockdown is not working

Mute Damien Grogan
    Favourite Damien Grogan
    Jan 24th 2021, 12:42 AM

“The median age of people who died is 84”

Those dying are already past average life expectancy.

We’re killing young people to save people already well past their life expectancy. Bonkers

Mute karen
    Favourite karen

Have they said where are latest clusters of cases occurring? Is it families or workplaces still open?

Mute Critical Thinker
    Favourite Critical Thinker

@karen: primarily hospitals and nursing homes. Some workplace transmission, but the type of workplaces haven’t been specified. Household transmission is now low. You can find it on the HSE website. I can’t post links on the journal

Mute Rory Mac Daibhéid
    Jan 23rd 2021, 6:20 PM

@karen: Leo said 2 days ago
    This comes as Tánaiste Leo Varadkar said in the Dáil today that a third of Covid-19 patients in hospital contracted the virus while in hospital.

Speaking in the Dáil, he said that people may be admitted to hospital without being positive for Covid-19 and get infected afterwards.

He was responding to questions from Independent TD Denis Naughten, who said that hospitals are “a reservoir” for coronavirus infection and asked if there is “anyone” controlling and managing hospital outbreaks.

Jan 23rd 2021, 8:10 PM

Absolutely terrifying how quickly this blew up again. And as it’s a new strain of Covid that emerged in 2021, now we have COVID-19 and COVID-21, plus we’re in now in the middle of 2 pandemics, because science should list these as 2 individual viruses. They’re not rolling out the vaccines anywhere quick enough. Either for us to receive it or to gauge the effect on the public.

Mute David Clements
    Favourite David Clements
    Jan 23rd 2021, 9:03 PM

You know that’s a movie right?

Mute Robert Lumezi
    Favourite Robert Lumezi
    Jan 23rd 2021, 9:08 PM

Curfew should be placed on ,and the big shopping centers reduce working hours.
    Still all the families are hurling to buy stuff .Only one person per cart. The deaths will reduce if you Be Strict with guidelines! God bless ,Rip for the victims ,Lets do what is necessary to prevent deaths.

Mute Joeohah
    Favourite Joeohah
    Jan 24th 2021, 1:32 AM

2 more weeks will tell more, just another 3 weeks and we will know more … Just until June…

Mute Pranab Vasudeva
    Favourite Pranab Vasudeva
    Jan 23rd 2021, 9:57 PM

India giving vaccines free to world. Try get from them. They won’t refused you.

Mute Sean
    Favourite Sean
    Jan 23rd 2021, 7:32 PM

76 in January

Mute Asid
    Favourite Asid
    Jan 24th 2021, 3:12 AM

Please look into the iMask protocol with Ivermectin, stop waiting for government to sort this out, they won’t. Do the Protocol, obliterate Covid and get on with your life.

JC
    Mute JC
    Favourite JC
    Jan 24th 2021, 2:44 AM

Is the death toll looking much higher because they’re not testing people of close contacts anymore unless you have symptoms? Which is before, they would have tested people of close contacts with or without symptoms? Therefore the death toll is only measured against the cases with symptoms rather than all cases before?

Mute Fabio Dillon
    Favourite Fabio Dillon
    Jan 24th 2021, 1:36 PM

@JC: you make no sense

JC
    Mute JC
    Favourite JC
    Jan 24th 2021, 2:28 PM

@Fabio Dillon: Before Christmas if 20 people was close contact to someone who has covid. They would all have gotten tested whether they had symptoms or not. If they came back all positive and 1 died. It would be 20 positives and 1 death.

Now, they no longer test anyone who is a close contact if you don’t have symptoms. They just tell you to isolate.
    Using the same party as above. If 5 of those 20 has symptoms, they’d have been tested. On record, it is 5 positives and 1 death. So the measure of death to positive seems far scarier. As the other 15 would have not got tested and won’t be on record even though they would have had it but were asymptomatic