You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

AP/Press Association Images

Court ruling: Media free to report Dáil comments about Denis O'Brien's debts

Judgement in the O’Brien versus RTÉ is also likely tomorrow.

Updated 8.43pm

THE HIGH COURT has said that an injunction granted in favour of businessman Denis O’Brien was not intended to restrict the reporting of utterances in Dáil Éireann.

Judge Donald Binchy said today that it was never the intention that any order made by the court would restrict the right of Dáil deputies to speak as they see fit or the entitlement to report it fairly.

In effect, it clarifies the media’s right to freely publish statements made in the Dáil by independent TD Catherine Murphy about businessman Denis O’Brien’s finances.

The judge’s ruling came as Denis O’Brien’s legal team raised its intention to make an application to the High Court seeking to clarify the ‘demarcation’ between the respective roles of courts and Oireachtas.

RTÉ and the Irish Times were represented in the High Court to seek clarification on their abililty to report Murphy’s comments in the Dáil.

Denis O Brien Court Case. Deputy Director RTÉ's Deputy Director General and Managing Director of News and Current Affairs Kevin Bakhurst outside the court today. Photocall Ireland Photocall Ireland

It follows an injunction granted in favour of the businessman against the broadcaster in relation to details of his debts to IBRC, the former Anglo Irish Bank.

O’Brien’s legal team led by Michael Cush SC told the High Court that it was never their intention to stop TDs from making comments in the Dáil.

David Holland SC for RTÉ described the position of O’Brien’s legal team as a “spectacular climb down”.

O’Brien’s legal team had warned reporters, including TheJournal.ie, following our publication of Murphy’s comments in the Dáil on Thursday that publishing the comments would be a potential breach of the temporary injunction obtained on 21 May.

Denis O Brien Court Case. Independent TD Independent TD Catherine Murphy speaking to reporters outside the High Court. Photocall Ireland Photocall Ireland

Catherine Murphy TD welcomed the clarification from the High Court this afternoon saying it vindicates the rights of elected representatives and the media.

“The substance of my concerns has always been to have a full, competent & independent inquiry into the wider governance issues in IBRC & I will continue to pursue that through the appropriate democratic channels available to me in the Oireachtas,” she said.

A Government spokesperson also welcomed the ruling this evening:

The right of Oireachtas members to exercise privilege is constitutionally protected and this has been reaffirmed by the Judge. It is important that right is exercised responsibly and in the public interest and that the media are free to report fairly on such statements.

RTÉ’s managing director of news and current affairs Kevin Bakhurst said the ruling sent an important message about the rights of the media to report privileged comments in the Dáil.

Redacted

The media were restricted from reporting some details of the 21 May injunction judgement. Legal teams for O’Brien, RTÉ and IBRC returned to court this afternoon to discuss what elements of the judgement could be made public.

Darren Lehane on behalf of O’Brien argued for a number of elements from Judge Binchy’s judgement to be redacted. He described these requests as ‘minimalist’.

The arguments were opposed by David Holland SC who said that an “avalanche of information” had come into the public domain in recent days and that this needs to be considered.

He said that public comments on behalf of O’Brien which accused Catherine Murphy TD of being a liar have “changed this whole case into an entirely different realm of public interest.”

Holland requested that the judge consider this when deciding on redactions.

The parties will return to court tomorrow morning with Judge Binchy saying the public interest in the case means he would like the judgement to be made as soon as possible. 

In a statement this evening, RTÉ welcomed the judgement.

“Judge Donald Binchy publicly acknowledged it was entirely understandable that RTÉ brought the application to the court to get necessary clarity,” it read, adding that the judge “previously granted an injunction against RTÉ preventing it from broadcasting any confidential information of Denis O’Brien’ personal banking details with IBRC which remains in place.”

It concluded:

Most importantly, RTÉ very much welcomes the fact the judge clarified that both comments made in the Dáil in the past and future comments in the Dáil are covered by privilege, and that media, including RTÉ are free to report them.

Read: Denis O’Brien has blocked the broadcast of an RTÉ news story about him >

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

264 Comments
    Mute Shane Mac Sweeney
    Favourite Shane Mac Sweeney
    Jun 2nd 2015, 12:36 PM

Good. You can stop deleting and censoring comments now so.

Mute Periguin
    Favourite Periguin
    Jun 2nd 2015, 12:41 PM

This was’nt about O’Brien vs Media, it was about O’Brien vs the Irish Constitution and its people.

Mute Dingle Photographer
    Favourite Dingle Photographer
    Jun 2nd 2015, 12:42 PM

his objective was to silence the media he does not control

See 57 more replies ▾
    goo
    Mute goo
    Favourite goo
    Jun 2nd 2015, 12:45 PM

We’ll said Shane O Brien like to bully people hate to work for him

Mute galway2007
    Favourite galway2007
    Jun 2nd 2015, 12:46 PM

Why has the Taoiseach said nothing about the Denis O’Brien controversy????
    Where is Enda kenny or has o brien something on kenny that we should all know????
    Where are labour on this ????

Mute Were Jammin
    Favourite Were Jammin
    Jun 2nd 2015, 12:47 PM

“Why has the Taoiseach said nothing about the Denis O’Brien controversy????”

https://twitter.com/davemcginn_ie/status/605682563009662976

Mute Onepz
    Favourite Onepz
    Jun 2nd 2015, 12:49 PM

There was never any “Constitutional Crisis”. It was typical loony left conspiracy hyperbole. The Constitution is clear that utterances in the Dail are protected.

Mute Periguin
    Favourite Periguin
    Jun 2nd 2015, 12:51 PM

Onepz,So glad you cleared that up for us.

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid

Great news.

Mute CorkBoi
    Favourite CorkBoi

Ah Johnny boy where’s Enda ?

Mute Mike O Neill
    Favourite Mike O Neill
    Jun 2nd 2015, 12:52 PM

Yet RTE, thejournal, Irish Times etc were afraid to publish it? LOL, Onepz, it’s open season on your boyo now.

Mute Cathal Healy
    Favourite Cathal Healy

@Shane, No they cannot. We may now comment on the comments made under dail privilege. Anything outside of that is still off the cards.

At least now we have a media who can actually report, at least partially on this disgraceful situation.

Mute Dingle Photographer

“It was typical loony left conspiracy hyperbole.”
    you sound a bit daft mate
    “The judge’s ruling came as Denis O’Brien’s legal team made an application to the High Court seeking to clarify the ‘demarcation’ between the respective roles of courts and Oireachtas.
    O’Brien’s legal team had warned reporters, including TheJournal.ie following our publication of Murphy’s comments in the Dáil on Thursday, that publishing the comments would be a potential breach of the temporary injunction obtained on 21 May.”
    Do you understand the above text ?

Mute Aidan Byrne
    Favourite Aidan Byrne

If Denis o Brien was gay and getting married at a Garth Brooks concert it would make a great story.

Mute Qwerty
    Favourite Qwerty
    Jun 2nd 2015, 12:54 PM

Ah Denis. You’ve taken your rightful place as another Journal meme. Right up there with Pat Kenny, Garth Brooks and Water Charges.

Mute Onepz
    Favourite Onepz
    Jun 2nd 2015, 12:55 PM

O’Brien’s legal team did not in any way contest fair reporting of utterances made in either house of the Oireachtas as was crystal clear in their submission to the High Court today.

Mute Genius
    Favourite Genius

So will this end the penguin story’s on the journal.

Mute Dingle Photographer
    Jun 2nd 2015, 12:56 PM

WTF ? putting out gay i.e homophobic comments to make a point (not sure what point you are making) is not classy
    Instead of a Garth Brooks concerts why not a U2 gig ?

Mute Periguin
    Favourite Periguin
    Jun 2nd 2015, 1:09 PM

Can Mr. Morrissy back up his “stolen and altered statement.

Mute Mr Phil Officer
    Favourite Mr Phil Officer
    Jun 2nd 2015, 1:13 PM

Will the journal be sending DOB and his team a solicitors letter of their own now.

Mute Randle P McMurphy
    Favourite Randle P McMurphy
    Jun 2nd 2015, 1:19 PM

Onepz…you are similar in your methods to O’Brien.. You’ve just fine a 360 on comments made 3/4 days ago on this forum. Snake.

Mute Emily Elephant
    Favourite Emily Elephant
    Jun 2nd 2015, 1:25 PM

I never understand that phrase. If you do a 360, you’d be facing the same way as when you started. Why don’t we call it a 180?

Mute Liam O Cuilin
    Favourite Liam O Cuilin
    Jun 2nd 2015, 1:26 PM

id hardly call O’Brien a lefty …

Mute Carmina Kearney
    Favourite Carmina Kearney
    Jun 2nd 2015, 1:27 PM

He does actually, well most of it anyway.

Mute Randle P McMurphy
    Jun 2nd 2015, 1:42 PM

Onepz…fair reporting from who’s perspective?

Mute Randle P McMurphy
    Jun 2nd 2015, 1:43 PM

180 it is Emily:-)..or will we say a 1.25..:-p

Mute Mike O Neill
    Favourite Mike O Neill
    Jun 2nd 2015, 1:51 PM

@Onepz

You’re James Morrisey in disguise, right?

“O’Brien’s legal team did not in any way contest fair reporting of utterances made in either house of the Oireachtas as was crystal clear in their submission to the High Court today.”

Then why did Mr Redacted send legal letters to broadsheet.ie and their web hosting company on Thurs/Fri asking them to remove the article?

http://www.broadsheet.ie/2015/05/28/redacteds-1-25-interest-rate/

D H
    Mute D H
    Favourite D H
    Jun 2nd 2015, 2:08 PM

Its easy to see who fg/lab and especially our taoiseach side with . Ednas silence on this issue leaves no doubt that he values DoB far more than our democratic principals. It has of course been obvious up to now any way when you look at what Obrien has gotten away with in this country over the last 2 decades.
    At election time we need to remember that a vote for edna is a vote for denis. Edna has proved over the last few years that all his bluster of reforming irish politics was just that, bluster.

Mute Michael Farrelly
    Favourite Michael Farrelly
    Jun 2nd 2015, 2:13 PM

You’re having a laugh, onepaz

Jun 2nd 2015, 2:27 PM

The longer Enda Kenny puts off the election the more banana skins there will be for him to slip on, or maybe a few flower pots too?

Mute Ruadhán MacEoin
    Favourite Ruadhán MacEoin
    Jun 2nd 2015, 2:44 PM

The Seanie Fitz trial has just collapsed.

No comments allowed on that story, or even that the trial was persistently postponed and now collapses / Thud.

Mute Mary Kavanagh
    Favourite Mary Kavanagh
    Jun 2nd 2015, 2:57 PM

No he can’t. I read the transcript of yhe discussion between him and Micheál Martin which is to go out on radio. Apparently he was asked if he had seen the documents he said we’re altered and he said he hadn’t! So the next question not surprisingly was, “how do you know then that they were altered?” All he could say was that they had been.

Mute josecafe
    Favourite josecafe
    Jun 2nd 2015, 3:21 PM

Let’s make Shane Mac Sweeney’s comment of the week.

Mute patjoejoe123
    Favourite patjoejoe123
    Jun 2nd 2015, 3:29 PM

so who stole the documents? thats the only question thats there ever was. well catherine?

Mute Richard Cynical
    Favourite Richard Cynical
    Jun 2nd 2015, 3:31 PM

why is everyone jumping to conclusions, none of us know if what she released is actually true, she won’t release her source and she has handled stolen items. we are all very quick to jump on the bandwagon without the facts.

Mute VinHeffer89
    Favourite VinHeffer89
    Jun 2nd 2015, 3:37 PM

Why didn’t IBRC report that these documents had be stolen, then?

me
    Mute me
    Favourite me
    Jun 2nd 2015, 3:50 PM

Kenny and our government showed their loyalty when they gifted Irish water to private ownership letting our national police force be used as a private security firm. They are securing their future on private boards when the Irish people kick them to touch as with Brian Cowan .. Topaz .. Albert Reynolds .. IFSC .. Dukes IBRC .. not to mention Ahern on the company the government tried to sell our forests to …. but to mention a few

goo
    Mute goo
    Favourite goo
    Jun 2nd 2015, 4:11 PM

Don’t be surprised if Enda pick up tab for court hearing etc ( taxpayer )

goo
    Mute goo
    Favourite goo
    Jun 2nd 2015, 4:13 PM

This country is a fffffff joke who’s policing the Judges ?

goo
    Mute goo
    Favourite goo
    Jun 2nd 2015, 4:14 PM

They weren’t stolen only said to muddy the waters

goo
    Mute goo
    Favourite goo
    Jun 2nd 2015, 4:33 PM

You sure his not ?

goo
    Mute goo
    Favourite goo
    Jun 2nd 2015, 4:36 PM

Now hook is on bashing water protesters on Neestalk another blue shirt working for DOB

Mute Darren Hanratty
    Favourite Darren Hanratty
    Jun 2nd 2015, 5:11 PM

Except that o’briens legal team were contacting people in the media telling them their legal injunction prevented them from reporting on things said in the dail (as reporting in the article above).

Hardly a conspiracy theory when o’briens lawyers were making those exact statements.

Mute Eugene Conroy
    Favourite Eugene Conroy
    Jun 2nd 2015, 5:38 PM

not back from his hols in malta yet

von
    Mute von
    Favourite von
    Jun 2nd 2015, 5:57 PM

That my friend has only one answer?

von
    Mute von
    Favourite von
    Jun 2nd 2015, 6:04 PM

Goo. Hook is a loud mouth let him talk, just listen to how he berates the Rugby teams always controversial wouldn’t worry about him. Soon poor Ingrid will have to put up with him all day, just have a thought for her.

Mute Hermes
    Favourite Hermes
    Jun 2nd 2015, 7:33 PM

It seems in the higher corridors of power in the Masonic Order (according to conspiracy theory ) Mr. O’Brien is in big, big trouble – exposing the Elite for the type of thinking they possess !
    It was all very ballsy really but will these people who will end up in jail be as brave bullying around the place when they are in jail !

Mute CreditTiger
    Favourite CreditTiger
    Jun 2nd 2015, 8:48 PM

@goo….welcome to BluesTalk 106 (1.25 MW)……Move that Dáil!!

Mute Tony Skillington
    Favourite Tony Skillington
    Jun 2nd 2015, 9:07 PM

Amazing…he’s fighting to keep his affairs private yet Irish Water can get your PPS number, Address and force a so called contract in you! One law for us and one for them.

Mute Medusa
    Favourite Medusa
    Jun 2nd 2015, 9:09 PM

He is hiding as usual the coward

Mute beebop
    Favourite beebop
    Jun 2nd 2015, 9:28 PM

No they can’t Tony and Irish water is nothing to do with DOB but don’t let facts get in your way

Mute An Ciarraioch
    Favourite An Ciarraioch
    Jun 2nd 2015, 9:29 PM

Patjoejoe – You seem to be the only only one on peddling that porky pie ?

Why this latest DOB/FG angle ?

You know well it’s spin and lies !!!!!!!

Mute John Ward
    Favourite John Ward
    Jun 2nd 2015, 9:37 PM

@Dingle Photographer:
    How many dingles did you photograph today?

Mute Tony Skillington
    Favourite Tony Skillington
    Jun 2nd 2015, 9:45 PM

Your naivety is almost charming bebop..

Mute Noreen Lunney
    Favourite Noreen Lunney
    Jun 2nd 2015, 10:28 PM

yes someone from Malta is allowed more privacy than the citizens. anyway its a state owed bank we have a right to know about the sales they make on businesses, does anyone remember one of endas buzz words pre election, transparency. seems everyone in the dail bar fg/lab have put that into practice noonan has jump ship and they done so well in the polls at the weekend. shame.

ss
    Mute ss
    Favourite ss
    Jun 2nd 2015, 10:44 PM

Gemma O’Dogherty

Mute Cowenwatch
    Favourite Cowenwatch
    Jun 2nd 2015, 11:31 PM

Bullshit Beebop, Tony is dead right, wasn’t Revenue found to be sharing peoples’ information with Irish Water.

Some animals are more equal than other animals in this country whereas Dinny ‘supposedly’ doesn’t live here and doesn’t pay taxes yet thinks he can piss all over our Constitution while robbing us.

Mute saltaroo
    Favourite saltaroo
    Jun 2nd 2015, 11:45 PM

And marrying pat Kenny

Mute Siobhán Ní Fhuada
    Favourite Siobhán Ní Fhuada
    Jun 3rd 2015, 6:13 AM

Richard isn’t jumping to conclusions exactly what you’re doing in calling the documents stolen? They have to be stolen because Denis O’D!ckhead said they were?

Mute Harry Price
    Favourite Harry Price
    Jun 3rd 2015, 11:13 AM

HE IS IN A CAVE NEAR THE CURRAGH

Mute Were Jammin
    Favourite Were Jammin
    Jun 2nd 2015, 12:37 PM

Eh, the media have ALREADY reported it, it was on the front page of the Sunday Times FFS!

And they were also ALWAYS free to report it. Article 15 of the constitution clearly states so, and Article 34 decrees that judges cannot make rulings which conflict with the constitution.

Now, enda enda come out wherever you are, your final excuse for not weighing in has just disappeared.

Mute Deco James Connolly
    Favourite Deco James Connolly

Wouldn’t it be delicious if it were found that Enda was on holiday in Malta.

Mute Patrick Bateman
    Favourite Patrick Bateman

And Broadsheet.ie deserve a mention for running with it.

See 21 more replies ▾
    Mute Were Jammin
    Favourite Were Jammin
    Jun 2nd 2015, 12:44 PM

“Wouldn’t it be delicious if it were found that Enda was on holiday in Malta.”

http://bcdbimages.s3.amazonaws.com/universal/matlese_chicken.jpg

@ Patrick: Agreed. Broadsheet are kings amongst men today. Fair play to them.

Mute buzzbaron
    Favourite buzzbaron

The man is such a coward. When he does show up, he has to go. 100% not fit to run our country and uphold our constitutional rights.

Mute Alan Scott
    Favourite Alan Scott

What has Enda got to do with a high Court injunction ?

Mute Were Jammin
    Favourite Were Jammin
    Jun 2nd 2015, 12:48 PM

@ buzzbaron “100% not fit to run our country”

100% not fit to run a bath

Mute Sean Mac Diarmada
    Favourite Sean Mac Diarmada

Ends is in a weasel hole somewhere in Mayo, waiting for the bloodhounds to pass by..

Mute buzzbaron
    Favourite buzzbaron
    Jun 2nd 2015, 12:50 PM

He’d have no problem turning your tap on and sending you the bill though.

goo
    Mute goo
    Favourite goo

O Brien does not control times newspaper

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid

There was legal ambiguity surrounding the conflict between a High Court injunction and the reporting of statements made under Dáil privilege.

Abusing the media for protecting themselves against this ambiguity is unfair.

Every keyboard warrior in the country became a legal expert overnight.

Delighted clarity and common sense have prevailed.

goo
    Mute goo
    Favourite goo

Because DOB is big supporter of FG even appeared alongside Enda at opening bell of New York stock exchange

Mute Alan Scott
    Favourite Alan Scott
    Jun 2nd 2015, 1:01 PM

Were Jamming
    I know you are obsessed with making comments concerning Enda just sit back relax and read this story again . It’s Denis O Brien story that is featured here I am sure there will be a story for you about Enda somewhere else on the Journal

Mute Were Jammin
    Favourite Were Jammin
    Jun 2nd 2015, 1:08 PM

” I am sure there will be a story for you about Enda somewhere else on the Journal”

http://www.thejournal.ie/enda-kenny-denis-obrien-2137342-Jun2015/

Comments are blocked on that article.

Mute Michael J Campbell
    Favourite Michael J Campbell
    Jun 2nd 2015, 1:20 PM

Enda is probably up visiting Maria Cahill and making arrangements for the. election

Mute Cowenwatch
    Favourite Cowenwatch
    Jun 2nd 2015, 1:20 PM

How’s about the Journal turns on the comments section in the story above???

Let the people have their day?

Mute Dingle Photographer
    Jun 2nd 2015, 1:24 PM

“Enda is probably up visiting Maria Cahill”
    ?????

Baz
    Mute Baz
    Favourite Baz
    Jun 2nd 2015, 1:46 PM

And the whole country goes – “is that fecking all its about”

Mute patjoejoe123
    Favourite patjoejoe123
    Jun 2nd 2015, 3:27 PM

on a completely different note. what is the sentence for handling stolen items these days?

Mute Anne Marie Devlin
    Favourite Anne Marie Devlin
    Jun 2nd 2015, 5:24 PM

I’d much prefer it if enda were in Haiti

Mute Noreen Lunney
    Favourite Noreen Lunney
    Jun 2nd 2015, 5:29 PM

chicken is the right word for enda, he is no falcon

Mute Noreen Lunney
    Favourite Noreen Lunney
    Jun 2nd 2015, 5:41 PM

yes thats another case where dail privileged was used.

Mute Noreen Lunney
    Favourite Noreen Lunney
    Jun 2nd 2015, 5:44 PM

Wouldn’t it be delicious if enda was not found.

Mute Hermes
    Favourite Hermes
    Jun 2nd 2015, 7:37 PM

Patjoejoe – stop that the H.S..B.C 350 and the Ansabacher crew and the NAMA vampires are planking it …
    I was going to offer them an amnesty but you are of course correct any embezzlement or sweet deals or brown envelopes is in fact stolen money ….
    Great to see you have joined the side of Law and Order – When did you realise that the country was being ran by people with criminally insane attitudes to the Tax-fund !

Mute Seth Cheffetz
    Favourite Seth Cheffetz

And we are free to comment on a DOB post?

That’s a journal first.

Mute Zoe Daly
    Favourite Zoe Daly
    Jun 2nd 2015, 3:22 PM

the Journal have really shown themselves up in the last few days. First they censor and delete comments – and now they will fall over themselves to jump on the bandwagon.
    So much for any semblance of quality journalism from this site. Other media outlets at lest tried to challenge or question the injunction.
    Too little too late from the Journal.ie

Mute Barry Flanagan
    Favourite Barry Flanagan
    Jun 2nd 2015, 3:53 PM

@Zoe

Journal is one of the few sites that allow comments at all. They are under no obligation to do so.

If the ruling had gone the other way, they could have been sued, potentially costing them jobs.

Was is too much to ask they be allowed to wait for clarify first?

Mute CorkBoi
    Favourite CorkBoi
    Jun 2nd 2015, 6:31 PM

They should have put up a statement about the letter they received from O’Brien’s solicitors ..

Mute Brendan Crowe
    Favourite Brendan Crowe
    Jun 2nd 2015, 12:38 PM

Of course. Broadsheet.ie reported it, the constitution covered it. You lost a lot of respect by closing comments on any Denis O’brien storythe last few days guys.

Mute Ben Leahy
    Favourite Ben Leahy

They had to.close comments.. Just like the times and rte couldn’t report on it either.. They were at risk of a serious liable case..
    Yano what screams lack of respect? People bringing up DOB on every article, regardless of topic.. Borderline pathetic..

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca

Buk buk buk buk brrr-awk!

Mute Mike O Neill
    Favourite Mike O Neill

@Ben,
    Broadsheet published it and allowed comments you numpty.

It’s Mr Redcated who has a lack of respect for our Constitution and should be prosecuted by the DPP for bribing Lowry.

Mute Brian Rochford
    Favourite Brian Rochford

WWW published it too in their own inimitable style

Mute Qwerty
    Favourite Qwerty

To be fair, that was to avoid the risk of possible prosecution. Unlike the constant stream of heavily biased articles which take a socially left-wing stance and ridicule different views and oponions.

Mute Liam O Cuilin
    Favourite Liam O Cuilin
    Jun 2nd 2015, 1:30 PM

denis is that you…

Mute Sean Beag
    Favourite Sean Beag
    Jun 2nd 2015, 5:02 PM

No doubt the people who spammed all the comment sections are oblivious to the irony of using intimidation and harassment to try force the Journal to run a story they were not sure of the legality of, all in the name of democratic freedoms.

Mute Daffy the Bear
    Favourite Daffy the Bear
    Jun 2nd 2015, 7:09 PM

I think “intimidation and harassment” is a bit of a stretch.

Mute david dickson
    Favourite david dickson

In your face DOB.

Mute Sinead Hanley
    Favourite Sinead Hanley

I was gonna go for a walk. But instead I am gonna sit back and watch the comments. Let the fun begin.

I predict that this article will be a Journal record for number of comments

Mute Were Jammin
    Favourite Were Jammin

DOB < Bunreacht na hÉireann

Mute Brian Rochford
    Favourite Brian Rochford

Well his own counsel asked to vary the order specifically to allow press coverage of Dail speeches.
    The RTE app included that which at the time of writing this one does not.

So in your face DOB is not fair on that point.

So journal – please report on the Dail speech now.

Mute Cowenwatch
    Favourite Cowenwatch

I’m predicting today is the day the Internet breaks!

Mute Brian Rochford
    Favourite Brian Rochford

from the RTE news app

“Counsel for Mr O’Brien Michael Cush said he would be making an application to vary the court order to allow the reporting of independent TD Catherine Murphy’s speech last week”

Off you go now Journal

Mute Mike O Neill
    Favourite Mike O Neill
    Jun 2nd 2015, 1:54 PM

@Brian,

What about potential future speeches? Have they resolved that issue yet? Surely they cannot restrict it to her speech last week only?

Mute Derek mc keever
    Favourite Derek mc keever

Just checking!

Mute Alan b
    Favourite Alan b
    Jun 2nd 2015, 12:40 PM

Halleuah

Mute Brendan McGill
    Favourite Brendan McGill
    Jun 2nd 2015, 12:48 PM

And still ye haven’t published the speech Catherine Murphy gave last Thursday!

Mute Martin Ryan
    Favourite Martin Ryan

Now Denis, do the right thing and get on your plane back to Malta and stay there your pals in FG are going to get booted out as well so ye can all celebrate losing together.

Mute Ruadhán MacEoin
    Favourite Ruadhán MacEoin
    Jun 2nd 2015, 2:32 PM

In my opinion, it seems the supposed national broadcastor RTÉ self censored throughout this saga. It seems to have suited them to be champions of freedom of speech, albeit unsuccessfully. RTE allowed their airwaves to be used to accuse a TD of making false statements under Dáil privilege, without relaying the original statement; remarkable stuff altogether.

Separately the Taoiseach was mute while his parliament was effectively gagged – yet what authority can a gagged parliament have?

This has been an unprecedented constitutional crisis where the only Irish agents of constitutional protection and information have been Catherine Murphy TD, Broadsheet.ie, and Village Mgazine: hats off to them, they have done us citizens no small favour.

Mute andrew haire
    Favourite andrew haire
    Jun 2nd 2015, 3:01 PM

He’s not a loser in this load of horse sh… , just playing the game. He’s a billionaire for gods sake. Doesn’t want people to come after him , as to how he got his fortune and the licence that enabled him.

Mute Randle P McMurphy
    Jun 2nd 2015, 4:54 PM

Andrew, As figures have shown..if you take them pro rata…he’s not as wealthy as he is made out to be…a paper ‘billionaire’ at best…6/700 million net worth maybe..after 200 of it ill-gotten!!

Mute Denito
    Favourite Denito

Free at last!

Mute Thomas Maher
    Favourite Thomas Maher

I notice you still haven’t published what she actually said?

goo
    Mute goo
    Favourite goo

Didn’t journal publish what Murphy said and had to take it down later !

Mute james sullivan
    Favourite james sullivan
    Jun 2nd 2015, 12:39 PM

Now i can’t think of anything to say
    …damn it

Mute Rodger Head
    Favourite Rodger Head

It’s all been said on nearly every other journal article anyway at this stage.

Mute Deco James Connolly
    Favourite Deco James Connolly

Give yourself 1.25 minutes to think about it , then try .

Mute George Vladisavljevic
    Favourite George Vladisavljevic
    Jun 2nd 2015, 1:09 PM

Any ideas why there are no comments being accepted on the article about “Why has the Taoiseach said nothing about the Denis O’Brien controversy? ”

http://www.thejournal.ie/enda-kenny-denis-obrien-2137342-Jun2015/

Mute Mike O Neill
    Favourite Mike O Neill
    Jun 2nd 2015, 2:02 PM

Cos HughBlue wrote the article and doesn’ t want any criticism of the missing Taoiseach.

Mute Dermot O'Reilly
    Favourite Dermot O'Reilly

It’s time for truth and full disclosure.
    how much dud Denis O Brien donate to Fine Gael in the last 4 years?

Full disclosure please?

Mute Ivan Murphy
    Favourite Ivan Murphy
    Jun 2nd 2015, 12:53 PM

Oh yes, lets have a full disclosure on this, up to and including and deposits made in Swiss HSBC accounts!

Mute Colin C
    Favourite Colin C
    Mute Shakka1244
    Favourite Shakka1244
    Jun 2nd 2015, 1:03 PM

Redacted’s arrogance and inflated ego has been his undoing.

He’s so used to telling Irish politicians what to do and what to say. Deputy Murphy’s gall at digging into “his” affairs which are in fact the countries affairs now since we bailed him out, shook him up alright. Now his arrogance has made him a hated figure in Ireland and rightly so.

he actually thinks he is the new self-appointed High King of Ireland.

Mute Whatsup Dok
    Favourite Whatsup Dok
    Jun 2nd 2015, 5:05 PM

even if he is innocent in all this – which I doubt – at least this will show him that even though he might have money, he’s not above reproach.

Hopefully this will bring him down to earth a bit and hopefully today’s ruling will show that that journalists are out f his reach when trying to cover up his dodgy dealings

Mute Hermes
    Favourite Hermes
    Jun 2nd 2015, 7:30 PM

Someone claimed that the documents were stolen ..
    How could documents that are the property of the Irish State being handed into a Member of the Irish parliament be stolen ?
    It seems someone in the O’Brien camp doesn’t understand what stealing means – how did this bailout happen again ?

“The hunter has become the Hunted “- and the pack are starving after 7 years of German Austerity in Eire !

Mute Ross O'flaherty
    Favourite Ross O'flaherty

I feel this whole thing is going to go a whole lot deeper.. And no wonder enda has nothing to say *as of yet* he knuckle touches DOB all the time I’m sure

Mute Ivan Murphy
    Favourite Ivan Murphy

We are seeing the tip of the iceburg.

HSBC (etc) secret Swiss Accounts, the information on these would reveal a lot.

All politicians should be vetted by CAB yearly.

Mute Mike O Neill
    Favourite Mike O Neill
    Jun 2nd 2015, 2:07 PM

@Ivan
    Noonan employed some ex-HSBC employees in positions here. Just in case our lot weren’t dodgy enough he brought in 2 guys who were senior execs when HSBC was used by drug cartels and rogue states. Both gone now but it’s doubtful we’ll ever see that HSBC tax evader list, after they left their mark.

http://www.independent.ie/business/irish/michael-noonan-defends-appointments-of-former-hsbc-executives-hodgekinson-and-goeghegan-26877875.html

“The chairman of state owned AIB David Hodgekinson and Minister Noonan’s top advisor on NAMA Michael Goeghegan were among the most senior executives at HSBC during the period investigated by the US authorities.”

Mute Ivan Murphy
    Favourite Ivan Murphy
    Jun 2nd 2015, 3:12 PM

the cess pit of Irish politics just keep surprising!

Don’t vote or give preferences to ANY party people!

Mute Chris lynch
    Favourite Chris lynch

Comments where off only 1 min ago. I’ll get my popcorn now.

Mute Mick Hannigan
    Favourite Mick Hannigan

about time they sorted that out, now let the games begin

Mute Colin C
    Favourite Colin C

I’m not sure I would have been brave enough to risk breaking a high court injunction, so I understand the Journal’s dilemma. However, it’s clear the journal has done itself no reputational favours over the last week or so. Can we look forward to braver journalism, or stories with lots of animated gifs that are hilarious?

Mute Brendan McGill
    Favourite Brendan McGill
    Jun 2nd 2015, 12:43 PM

I honestly wouldn’t say that any of the animated gif stories were actually hilarious.

Mute Conn Rogers
    Favourite Conn Rogers

Probably still a lot of puff pieces and Hugh telling us the economy is back on track thanks to Enda.

Mute TotalScrotal
    Favourite TotalScrotal
    Jun 2nd 2015, 1:05 PM

I’d like to see a GIF article about this injunction saga.make it happen journal,it can be the start of atoning for the sins of the past week

Mute Trader
    Favourite Trader

Now can we get back to more the serious point of KPMG’s self examination over Siteserv? Now that the smoke has blown away.

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Jun 2nd 2015, 1:00 PM

It’s a farce at this stage……..who represented IBRC in the Injuction alongside DOB.

Mute Ivan Murphy
    Favourite Ivan Murphy
    Jun 2nd 2015, 1:07 PM

Siteserv, KPMG & Irish Water have not gone away.

Dinny, after reading your little cry in the times this morning, I’d like to say.

Dinny, can you cut the horse with the whole ‘Personal Banking Affairs’ routine? its getting tiresome. IHMO ‘personal banking’ is the accounts you hold monies in AFTER you pay tax. As you pay NO personal tax here, that doesn’t effect you.

Any companies financial arrangement should be FULLY transparent. Especially when they could have been supported by the taxes I have paid.

BTW, I consider any Irish man who want to profit when I shower my children, an absolute Traitor, to every Irish person. Dinny consider your ‘Irish man’ rights revoked, off you go to Malta.

Mute Mr Phil Officer
    Jun 2nd 2015, 1:30 PM

Siteserv is been investigated by a kangaroo court.

Mute Neal Page
    Favourite Neal Page
    Jun 2nd 2015, 4:53 PM

It really is a farce, Liveline today was like something from The Simpsons.

Mute Ivan Murphy
    Favourite Ivan Murphy
    Jun 2nd 2015, 5:23 PM

I heard about 10 minutes of it. In the bit I did hear, Joe was (as usual) doing his bit for FG.

Mute Michael Farrelly
    Jun 2nd 2015, 7:14 PM

Liveleine was very biased. 3 people ( 4 including Joe) speaking in favour of DOB and one lukewarmly against

Mute Hermes
    Favourite Hermes
    Jun 2nd 2015, 7:44 PM

Folks – chill ….
    As more and more light is shone on the nest they bring out their hidden ones to bat …..
    They are merely targeting the offenders for the New Government !
    Leave them at it , there’s loads more scandal and Catherine Murphy is only one !

Evicting people for the super-wealthy having fleeced them on tax when they purchased their house and then ask them for a vote to destroy the fallacy that is Ireland out of Drumm’s arse is showing the Gardaí as either being stoopid or crooked as the day is long ….

Employment contracts for our gardai are going to hove into the media soon –
    Keep pushing lads, just keep pushing !

Mute David Welsh
    Favourite David Welsh

You should hold your readership in less contempt. We’ve been saying this for days and been blocked, ignored, deleted. In the process you’ve sacrificed a lot of respect and are now seen more as entertainment than serious news. This has been a disaster for you and you need to engage with us and explain how such a supine attitude to major news stories will not be part of your editorial policy in the future.

Mute Colin C
    Favourite Colin C
    Jun 2nd 2015, 1:32 PM

To be fair, would you take legal advise from the average journal commentator?

Mute David Welsh
    Favourite David Welsh
    Jun 2nd 2015, 1:35 PM

If it’s a proper news organisation I expect them to have the kind of lawyers that get it right. The Sunday Times and others did, so clearly it was possible.

Mute Mr Phil Officer
    Jun 2nd 2015, 1:39 PM

It’s a huge missed opportunity for them, to have left CM comments up in defiance of the court, safe in the knowledge it would never have been upheld would have been legendary journalism. Their solicitors should have informed them it would never stand up in court. They could have ridden the wave of this crisis as constitutional defenders and became a trusted household name. Every crisis is an opportunity and all that.

Mute Mrs Shalakalananaka
    Favourite Mrs Shalakalananaka
    Jun 2nd 2015, 1:47 PM

Or they could have just made a statement explaining they wanted to play it safe until Tuesday. Don’t half report a story like that.

Mute Colin C
    Favourite Colin C
    Jun 2nd 2015, 2:54 PM

Ok, apparently a lot of people would take advice from Journal commentators. I take it back.

Mute Diarmaid O'Fionnachta
    Favourite Diarmaid O'Fionnachta

Never forget the great Comment Revolt of 2015

ss
    Mute ss
    Favourite ss

bully boy backs down but with bad grace and political Toady Edna is nowhere to be seen…..sinecure awaits Dame Edna

Mute TotalScrotal
    Favourite TotalScrotal

Denis o brien

Mute Fergus O'Neill
    Favourite Fergus O'Neill

So are DOB’s legal squad in contempt of court now? They misrepresented the judge’s rulings, knowing that nobody was allowed to verify that…

Mute Ivan Murphy
    Favourite Ivan Murphy

I would like to know why the supposed leader of this country has FAILED to address the accusation that Denis O’Brien ‘may’ have received favorable loan rates supported by the tax payers of this country.

Answer that, and then we can talk about whether Enda is one of the 350 Irish people with the secret Swiss HSBC accounts.

Mute Colm A. Corcoran
    Favourite Colm A. Corcoran
    Jun 2nd 2015, 5:43 PM

What’s the sense in ridiculing DOB for not outting himself? Could never expect that to happen!

Mute baz brock
    Favourite baz brock

And with that Mr Denis O’brien *turns on airplane mode

Mute Right2WaterKillarney
    Favourite Right2WaterKillarney

“I understand that Mr O’Brien was enjoying a rate of around 1.25%, when IBRC, and arguably, when IBRC could, and arguably should have been charging 7.5%. We are talking about outstanding sums here that are upwards of €500million. The interest rate applied is not an insignificant issue for the public interest.”

Catherine murphy T.D, May, 2015

Mute Small Retort
    Favourite Small Retort

A blow for the Maltese tan king or is he the Haitian overlord? I’m never quite sure.

Mute Pilib O Muiregan
    Favourite Pilib O Muiregan

One thing we have learned from all this is the Irish Media are cowards. Even when the right to report on proceedings from the Dail is a constitutional right. The media have really let themselves, their country and democracy down. Totally shameful stuff

Mute Chris lynch
    Favourite Chris lynch

Not all media

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca

Does this mean Enda can finally mumble something incoherent again?

Mute Right2WaterKillarney
    Favourite Right2WaterKillarney

Post the Speech from Catherine Murphy, T.D from last Thursday.

Mute Denito
    Favourite Denito

That justifies Enda Kenny’s silence on the matter.

Mute Vigis Skullcracker
    Favourite Vigis Skullcracker

we already know what was said in the Dail, but anything to one up the rich!!!!

Mute Annie Howe
    Favourite Annie Howe

At last Journal. Now don’t ruin it by throwing the head up and closing comments on this bully again.

Mute Conn Rogers
    Favourite Conn Rogers

Just in time for lunch break… this’ll be interesting. Are we getting our country back, folks??

Mute Ivan Murphy
    Favourite Ivan Murphy

Nope not yet. Edna wants TIPP signed.

And this un-elected Lorraine Higgins one, needs to be watched with her “Harmful and Malicious Electronic Communications Bill 2015″
    https://soundmigration.wordpress.com/2015/04/20/labour-censorship-ireland-social-media/

Mute Darren McCabe
    Favourite Darren McCabe

This is going to explode a can of worms for DOB. Good enough for the fu**er

Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche

Is it true that Catherine Murphy is standing over information she received that shows the state owned bank chaired by Alan Dukes gave an exceptionally low interest rate to Denis O’Brien which O’Brien considers to be constitutionally protected “personal information”?

Mute Ivan Murphy
    Favourite Ivan Murphy
    Jun 2nd 2015, 1:11 PM

This whole ‘Personal Banking Affairs’ routine is a smoke screen.

IHMO ‘personal banking’ is the accounts you hold monies in AFTER you pay tax. As our hero pays NO personal tax here, that doesn’t effect him.

Any companies financial arrangement should be FULLY transparent. Especially when they could have been supported by the taxes I HAVE PAID.

Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche
    Jun 2nd 2015, 2:01 PM

Exactly,
    Whatever amount was loaned to a Company owned by DOB, it is not the same thing as a personal loan to DOB.
    Has the court given protection for a fundamental right of privacy to a legal personality? If that’s where we’re heading then this jurisdiction is in for a shitload more of judicial abuse.

Mute FastBuck
    Favourite FastBuck

If The Journal was in newspaper format I wouldn’t insult my ar3e by wiping it with it. Absolutely disgraceful behavior over the last few days, you’ve lost a lot of respect.

Mute Martin Byrne
    Favourite Martin Byrne

Denis O’Slime.

Mute Castalla Villas
    Favourite Castalla Villas

Bring in the FBI to investigate

Mute Peter Slattery
    Favourite Peter Slattery

Right, thejournal. You can take your balls out from underneath the sink and reattach them now.

Mute Brendan McGill
    Favourite Brendan McGill

I don’t believe they ever had any. I’m seriously unimpressed with the Journal of late.

Mute Wildman
    Favourite Wildman

About fooking time…

Mute Karl Aisbitt
    Favourite Karl Aisbitt

The words shit and fan spring to mind !

Mute Irish_pirate
    Favourite Irish_pirate

It was more enjoyable when we couldnt talk about it… Oh look there’s a new biscuit factory opening in Drogheda.

Mute Michael J Campbell
    Favourite Michael J Campbell

Yes, making biscuits for the BOI.

Mute Glenn Polley
    Favourite Glenn Polley

About Time!!!

Mute Bill Jones
    Favourite Bill Jones

Brace yourselves men and women, the floodgates are about to well and truly open!

Mute CitizenSmith©
    Favourite CitizenSmith©

Pat kenny just moved to newstalk

Mute Christine Hanway
    Favourite Christine Hanway

Is there anyway to just hurl this disaster of a money hungry “human” from our tiny island and finally have a country run fair an square…. maybe throw the Dail runners with him too! We need to claim this country back, it’s time the people were made priority! It’s all gone beyond a joke at this stage….

goo
    Mute goo
    Favourite goo

Bet you Enda will be out now with comment about his buddy Denis !

Mute Onepz
    Favourite Onepz

Why would he need to comment?

Mute Periguin
    Favourite Periguin

True, he will only re-iterate what is written down in crayon for him.

Mute John Collins
    Favourite John Collins

@theJournal, check you’re reviews on the App Store, you idiots did yourselves so much damage.

Mute Brendan McGill
    Favourite Brendan McGill

You can say that again!

Mute Mr Phil Officer
    Jun 2nd 2015, 1:28 PM

They should sent DOB a solicitors letter. It would be worth the PR.

Mute Derek Mills
    Favourite Derek Mills

Open the comments on the Kenny article!

Mute @mdmak33
    Favourite @mdmak33
    Jun 2nd 2015, 1:29 PM

shame on enda Kenny staying spent on this constitutional crisis,a leader of a country is the first person to defend the country’s constitution. he failed his country.

Mute Aoife Ni Ici
    Favourite Aoife Ni Ici
    Jun 2nd 2015, 1:19 PM

[REDACTED] RETREATING…for the moment. Not over yet, by a long chalk. TTIP, anyone??

Mute Dermot Mc Loughlin
    Favourite Dermot Mc Loughlin
    Jun 2nd 2015, 1:53 PM

Enda kenny once again proving he’s no leader, no taoiseach, no statesman…..he’s a pathetic chancer.

Mute Al coholic
    Favourite Al coholic

Welcome back journal

Mute Ruairi O'Hagan
    Favourite Ruairi O'Hagan

Lisa needs braces

Mute james sullivan
    Favourite james sullivan

Bye bye dental plan.

Mute #COYBIB
    Favourite #COYBIB

Purple monkey dishwasher.

Mute Chris lynch
    Favourite Chris lynch
    Mute Joy Gallagher
    Favourite Joy Gallagher

Yippee free speech for all , well at least for the time being anyway ……..

Mute Trevor Beale
    Favourite Trevor Beale

This article is getting a right comments bashing. People were building up for the last few days waiting for this moment

Mute Cian Rynne
    Favourite Cian Rynne

A shame this even had to happen, why did we even have to check that a matter of public interest stated in dail couldn’t be reported on? Even if it couldn’t that just would have meant to law needed to be changed.

Mute Mrs Shalakalananaka
    Jun 2nd 2015, 1:52 PM

Next step is to deport him to f*cking Malta if he loves it so much.

Mute VinHeffer89
    Favourite VinHeffer89
    Jun 2nd 2015, 2:38 PM

(Slow clap) Well done….. we can have a discussion without being silenced now, yeah? Surprised half of us haven’t been banned over the last week.

Now, will this be deleted again?

Here’s a list of this man’s current business interests and companies in this country. I, for one, will not purchase his rags, his petrol or coffee and nor will listen to his radio stations. This man has more than enough, epitomises corruption and, according to the Moriarty Tribunal which cost the taxpayer €200m, has bribed politicians.

Seriously, I’ll never pay this malignant piece of work a penny for as long as I live.

https://www.facebook.com/1471972153085206/photos/a.1472280323054389.1073741828.1471972153085206/1582635692018851/?type=1

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins

We told you so days ago !

Mute Michael Farrelly
    Jun 2nd 2015, 2:05 PM

Journal, why have you continually refused to comment on the numerous criticisms about your censoring of DOB comments, unlike other news outlets ? Surely your customers deserve this ?

Mute Kevin OS.
    Favourite Kevin OS.

So can media outlets now discuss everything that Catherine’s statement entails.

Mute @mdmak33
    Favourite @mdmak33
    Jun 2nd 2015, 1:27 PM

great news, now independent inquiry, arrest them all ,don’t imprison them as it will cost us a fortune,banish them from our country never them nor their kin to return.

Mute patjoejoe123
    Favourite patjoejoe123
    Jun 2nd 2015, 3:24 PM

I’m sure there will be an enquiry into murphys actions. meanwhile she has serious allegations levelled her way by Denis O Brien. a very serious matter that deserves an enquiry

Mute Stuart Hyland
    Favourite Stuart Hyland

Free speech. Yay

Mute David Gosling
    Favourite David Gosling
    Jun 2nd 2015, 3:22 PM

I think the real issue here was ‘missed’ by the media. Well they would miss it! The issue is the fear of the media in publishing the Catherine’s Murphy’s comments once Denis O’Brien flexed his legal muscles. Michael Mc Dowell said it was “absurd” to think the media ‘could’ be stopped from publishing utterances under Dail Privilege. Of course it was! But RTE, who weren’t included in the ruling declined to broadcast the contents of the speech , under legal advice! Makes me wonder what else the media in general is afraid to publish!

Mute Mr Phil Officer
    Jun 2nd 2015, 5:12 PM

Now that is a real question, some journalists in this country have already been reprimanded or fired for chasing the ‘wrong’ stories.

Mute Pj Browne
    Favourite Pj Browne

Won’t matter a fcuk too late now the he owns the whole country now anyway

Mute Tomás Ó Broin
    Favourite Tomás Ó Broin

All I ever wanted to say was that Dennis is sound, that’s all.

Mute MK76
    Favourite MK76

About bloody time.

Mute Cian Smith
    Favourite Cian Smith
    Mute Brendan McGill
    Favourite Brendan McGill

Hahahaha!

Mute Randle P McMurphy
    Jun 2nd 2015, 4:51 PM

And that is true. Denis Maxwell Archer O’ Brien’s legal team called Murphy a liar, albeit in a flowery way….and they should be held to account for that also, as well as the attempt to suppress, thru fear of legal action, information of public interest. Thundering disgrace:-)

Mute Sternn
    Favourite Sternn
    Jun 2nd 2015, 7:10 PM

It’s ironic that if a citizen does not sign up for Irish Water, a private company/quango, that company gets access to their revenue details, council details, and any other government details they want.

If DOB is thought to have been involved in possible illegal activity all of a sudden its all about privacy and protecting average ‘citizens’ privacy.

Where were DOBs solicitors when Irish Water started going through the records of everyone in this country? Do they think allowing Irish Water access to Revenue records of private citizens is an abuse of privacy? I would love to hear how they ration that.

Apparently there is one law for us, another for them.

Mute OU812
    Favourite OU812
    Jun 2nd 2015, 1:34 PM

I hear Denis O’Brien is playing seven nights in Croke Park this summer

Mute Mrs Shalakalananaka
    Jun 2nd 2015, 1:50 PM

If he did, it would break the Irish internet. Like BOOM everything gone.

Mute Philip Cooper
    Favourite Philip Cooper
    Jun 2nd 2015, 4:15 PM

Say something Enda.

Jun 2nd 2015, 2:23 PM

Michael Cush SC made a few bob this week!

Mute The Journal TD
    Favourite The Journal TD

This is a farce this should be censored from the public they no right to know…. The Journal have failed to keep the population of Ireland miserable and sheepish… I will be at the side of denis as he is best for business… This is a terrible day for those of us in government working hard to make sure you all are looked after…and you throw it back in our faces….should be ashamed…The journal have now struck a bad cord with the government and they will wish they hadn’t cross the boss.

Mute Ray Farrelly
    Favourite Ray Farrelly

When you silence truth the silence is a lie

Mute The Journal TD
    Favourite The Journal TD
    Jun 2nd 2015, 1:02 PM

You plebs may have won now…but when we bring in the bill to enforce censorship none of you will be gloating about this victory…we the government are on a roll and will continue to do so..

Mute Pearse McMullen
    Favourite Pearse McMullen

You are possibly the worst parody account i have ever had the misfortune to stumble across, absolutely brutal without a hint of humour

Mute Colin C
    Favourite Colin C
    Jun 2nd 2015, 1:31 PM

The Worst Parody Account Ever Award goes to……..

Mute Darragh Byrne Video
    Favourite Darragh Byrne Video
    Jun 2nd 2015, 5:40 PM

Why is there still NO link to Catherine Murphy’s speech on Journal.ie or at least an extract about the 1.25% rate that O’Brien got on his loan instead of the 7% he should have been charged and no mention of the conflict of interest of KPMG essentially policing themselves in the review of the matter. This article is a fudge- reporting that you CAN say something is not the same as actually saying it. Please say it. You are my primary news source and while I understand that you do not have the budget of RTE it would be nice to know for instances- were you threatened by legal action by Denis O’Brien and his legal team? I think both you and RTE and Irish Times have lost a huge amount of reputation damage due to this case and I believe you have a case to counter sue him collectively over his legal threats and exploiting the legal ambiguity over the weekend. We essentially had a media coup in this country and unless challenged by all parties involved will only get worse. I think all advertisers for Journal, RTE and Irish Times should put pressure on you to do so too.

Mute Kath Noonan
    Favourite Kath Noonan
    Jun 2nd 2015, 1:45 PM

WooHoo! Justice!!!!

Mute Michael Farrelly
    Jun 2nd 2015, 2:12 PM

Other news agencies have done so for days

Mute OneTrueVoice
    Favourite OneTrueVoice
    Jun 2nd 2015, 6:16 PM

Kudos to Catherine Murphy.

pathetic how many TDs then jumped on the bandwagon that would culminate in an obvious court ruling that DoB was chancing his arm.

S.
    Mute S.
    Favourite S.
    Jun 2nd 2015, 6:24 PM

Is The Journal deleting comments criticising the media been cowards?

Mute anfearbocht
    Favourite anfearbocht
    Jun 2nd 2015, 5:37 PM

Mr.O Brien’s comment about the authenticity of ms Murphys statement reminds me of the most famous retort by a witness I’m these islands: “he would say that wouldn’t he’! ( Perfumo affair)

Mute Martello Mulligan
    Favourite Martello Mulligan

No Constitutional crisis then. I suppose the scaremongerers will carry on regardless.

Mute patjoejoe123
    Favourite patjoejoe123
    Jun 2nd 2015, 3:19 PM

democracy shook to its foundations i heard on rant say. in reality it was an ould wan harping on about nothing. we all had a good laugh though :D

Mute Joe
    Favourite Joe

Finally all the incessant trolling of non DOB related articles might stop!

Mute Ivan Murphy
    Favourite Ivan Murphy

It had to be done. These shysters need to know that we would not be silenced.

DOB, I will never let the likes of you profit from the showering of my children !!!

von
    Mute von
    Favourite von
    Jun 2nd 2015, 5:55 PM

Thanks buddy ( DOB ) now we or should i say the Journal don’t have to worry about comments unless they are nasty. Heee. Heee

Mute Michael Hayden
    Favourite Michael Hayden
    Jun 2nd 2015, 6:19 PM

If this was reported this morning why aren’t any media outlets reporting the speech made in the dail.

Mute right wing
    Favourite right wing

Up the dobs

Mute jalilrizvi
    Favourite jalilrizvi
    Jun 2nd 2015, 9:15 PM

He got 10 digit balance lads!

Mute Tony Mcgrath
    Favourite Tony Mcgrath
    Jun 2nd 2015, 11:28 PM

Fair play to the journal for reporting what catherine Murphy said in the dail .let the people of ireland stop buying that rag independent that o brien owns.

Mute Michael
    Favourite Michael

Whatever the rights and wrongs of this particular issue ( I have been away for most of the last 10 days and have not followed it closely enough to form an educated opinion, so just steering clear), It’s clear that whatever this individual does, he can do no right in the eyes of the Irish public. Read an article on him in an american magazine a few months ago. Was interesting, he does employ thousands of people worldwide and built and opened something like 150 schools in the Carribean in the last couple of years. Sometimes we do live in a bit of a fishbowl in Ireland and outside perspective is always useful. No doubt I will set a daily record for red thumbs but all arguments should have a counter balance no matter how unpopular!

Go easy on me guys…..

Mute Mr Phil Officer
    Jun 2nd 2015, 1:42 PM

Did the article in the magazine happen to mention the Moriarty tribunal recommendations at all.

Mute Euro McPúnty
    Favourite Euro McPúnty
    Jun 2nd 2015, 10:49 PM

The fact this has to happen says alot about our society. The word scapegoat comes into mind. Who else is in fear of the media’s eyes… If say they’re sheetting. Denis Id having an emergency brunch in Haiti.

Mute Dingle Photographer
    Jun 2nd 2015, 1:03 PM

This whole thing might not be over yet .. it could still end up in the Supreme Court
    Remember what Denis wrote in the Irish Times
    Since late last week politicians of all persuasions have sprung out of the woodwork and said it is “essential for a democracy” for TDs to be allowed to say things under privilege and for them to be reported by the media. Does it not matter whether what is being said is true or false? Does it not matter if there is a court order in place? I agree that Dáil privilege is an important component of our democracy; however, there is a parallel duty of care on the TDs and Senators to use this privilege with integrity under the guidance of the Ceann Comhairle. If there was respect for court orders we wouldn’t be in the position we are in. A position which has been created entirely by Deputy Murphy’s deliberate breach under Dáil privilege of a court order of which she was aware.

ss
    Mute ss
    Favourite ss
    Jun 2nd 2015, 10:44 PM

Citizen Kane

Mute Shane Hickey
    Favourite Shane Hickey
    Jun 2nd 2015, 12:53 PM

I quite like and admire Mr O’Brien. He had dragged himself up and made a billion. He has employed thousands of Irish people over the years both at home and abroad. He has used his clever acumen to succeed by whatever means possible. He won’t be the last man in Ireland to exploit what he can.

Good on him

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Jun 2nd 2015, 1:02 PM

You don’t have very high standards.

Mute Ray Farrelly
    Favourite Ray Farrelly
    Jun 2nd 2015, 1:14 PM

Gobsh!te

Mute Ivan Murphy
    Favourite Ivan Murphy
    Jun 2nd 2015, 1:15 PM

Esat Digifone & Siteserv?

Mute Cowenwatch
    Favourite Cowenwatch
    Jun 2nd 2015, 1:44 PM

Awarding himself thousands of shares in Digicel?

Mute Ray Farrelly
    Favourite Ray Farrelly
    Jun 2nd 2015, 1:46 PM

Shane hickey good riddance to him

Mute Michael Farrelly
    Jun 2nd 2015, 2:09 PM

Exploit, being the operative word

Mute winding_down
    Favourite winding_down

Constitutional Crisis averted !!!

Mute Mr Phil Officer
    Jun 2nd 2015, 1:26 PM

Or the dye is cast.

Mute Shane Vaughan
    Favourite Shane Vaughan

Sure the country is grand..

Mute Thomas Maher
    Favourite Thomas Maher
    Jun 3rd 2015, 2:07 AM
    Mute ray cullivan
    Favourite ray cullivan

I’ll

Mute Micko
    Favourite Micko
    Jun 3rd 2015, 12:14 AM

Is. There ammo or nothing?

Mute OneTrueVoice
    Favourite OneTrueVoice
    Jun 2nd 2015, 6:23 PM

people seem to be comparing Kenny’s dignity as Taoiseach, respect of the Judiciary and rightly not entering the fray, with the bandwagon crew of eejit TDs trying to pre-empt an inevitable court clarification that Dail privilege obtains.

We really are a nation of muttonheaded savages.

Had Kenny, as head of state, entered the debate and tried to express his advance opinion on what the courts should decide, then we’d really be in trouble.

such basic principles escape the intellect of the chattering mob though.

Mute Rita Cahill
    Favourite Rita Cahill
    Jun 3rd 2015, 9:50 PM

the government And DCC gave peoples information of names And Addresses, So What happened to The Irish peoples privacy Of data and how Come Denis O Brien can Request His privacy of his private Information of bank Data, It Is one law For The Rich and multinationals and another law for Irish Second Class Citizens here