You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Israeli prime minister Benjamin Netanyahu and US president Barack Obama a year ago. Andrew Harnik/PA

America abstains as the UN condemns Israeli settlements

New Zealand had stepped in to replace a withdrawn Egyptian resolution demanding an end to Israeli settlements.

Updated 7.35pm

THE UN SECURITY Council has demanded that Israel halt settlements, in a resolution adopted after the United States refrained from vetoing the contentious measure.

The United States instead abstained, allowing the measure to pass by a vote of 14 in favour in the 15-member council.

New Zealand, Malaysia, Senegal and Venezuela stepped in after Egypt, under pressure from US President-elect Donald Trump, decided not to move forward with its push for a vote at the council.

Earlier an Israeli official, speaking on condition of anonymity, said US President Barack Obama and Secretary of State John Kerry were “behind this shameful move against Israel at the UN”.

“President Obama could declare his willingness to veto this resolution in an instant but instead is pushing it,” the official said.

This is an abandonment of Israel which breaks decades of US policy of protecting Israel at the UN and undermines the prospects of working with the next administration of advancing peace.

Egypt had requested that the vote be postponed, a day after it submitted the draft text to the council, triggering immediate calls from Israel for a US veto to block the measure.

In addition to five permanent members (China, France, Russian Federation, the United Kingdom, and the United States), there are 10 other non-permanent members of the Security Council, on a rotating basis.

Crucially, they do not hold a veto. Currently, they are:

• Angola
  • Egypt
  • Japan
  • Malaysia
  • New Zealand
  • Senegal
  • Spain
  • Ukraine
  • Uruguay
  • Venezuela

© – AFP, 2016 with reporting from Darragh Peter Murphy.

Read: India’s rape epidemic: The survivors speak

Read: People are selling ‘rice’ in Nigeria that is actually just coloured plastic

View 113 comments
113 Comments
    Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Dec 23rd 2016, 4:49 PM

Abandoning the Israeli state? Surely you mean preventing the unwarranted expansion of the Israeli state?

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Dec 23rd 2016, 5:14 PM

@Kevin Higgins: Exactly. How many tens of billions in aid was recently granted to Israel by the US, while its own citizwens drank poison water in Flint, Michigan?

Israel sounding moer and more like a spoiled sweet 16 who mouths off at daddy while he’s on the phone clearing her credit card.

Mute John003
    Favourite John003
    Dec 23rd 2016, 5:24 PM

Yes Obama recently increased military aid to Israel and also by vote in Congress to 3 billion dollars per year Also Egypt gets 1.5 billion Jordan 1 billion and the Palestinian authority 800 million dollars in US aid per year

See 25 more replies ▾
    Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Dec 23rd 2016, 5:29 PM

@John003: You consider billions in aid ‘abandonment’? Starting to sound like that spoiiled sweet sixteen I mentioned.

You you like a lend of a few full stops and commas?

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Dec 23rd 2016, 5:46 PM

* Would you

Mute Colin Moran
    Favourite Colin Moran
    Dec 23rd 2016, 6:05 PM

@For Connolly – for someone who berates others for poor punctuation and spelling, your own is flucking dreadful!
    Check out the spelling and grammar of your first few comments here and then cop on to yourself.

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Dec 23rd 2016, 6:48 PM

@Colin Moran: It’s polite to try to make your posts as readable as possible. Punctuation is our friend.

Mute Joey Westland
    Favourite Joey Westland
    Dec 23rd 2016, 7:28 PM

Israel has been the most consistently rogue state in modern times, over 70 years of slaughter and genocide of an indigenous population unchecked and backed by the US purely because successive Presidents are petrified of losing the support of AIPAC.

The only decent leader they had, Yitzhak Rabin, whilst not perfect, but a reasonable politician and statesman, was of course assassinated by his fellow countrymen because he got too close to achieving an everlasting peace with the Palestinians.

Since then the megalomaniacs in charge have stepped up their ethnic cleansing of the Palestinian people at a pace that would make the most evil men in history blush.

Mute John003
    Favourite John003
    Dec 23rd 2016, 7:47 PM

@Joey Westland: When Israel was founded in 1948 there were at most 600,000 Palestinians now there are 2 million in Israel itself and several more million in Gaza and West bank
    Israel has not committed slaughter and genocide against any indigenous population
    In contrast in all the Arab countries the indigenous Jewish population over 800000 were driven out in the 1950;s and 60′s

Mute Joey Westland
    Favourite Joey Westland
    Dec 23rd 2016, 7:54 PM

@John003: I don’t need a history lesson from you John, I hold a PhD in the subject and am well read on the history of the region.

Mute Nazerene
    Favourite Nazerene
    Dec 23rd 2016, 8:03 PM

You’ve a PhD on BS that is.

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Dec 23rd 2016, 8:05 PM

@John003: Its a common misconception that genocide requires an intention to wipe out an entire people. I’ve heard whats happening in Israel, the west bank and Gaza strip described as ‘genocide by a thousand cuts’ of the palestinial people, which may be more accurate.

Mute Joey Westland
    Favourite Joey Westland
    Dec 23rd 2016, 8:10 PM

@Nazerene: Those of us who have attended Third-Level education would say ‘in BS’.

Mute John003
    Favourite John003
    Dec 23rd 2016, 8:15 PM

@For Connolly: Israel withdrew from Gaza in 2005 All the settlers and military left
    With all the money it gets from the EU and Gulf countries Gaza could have a good economy even a tourist industry
    HAMAS choose to put all their efforts to attacking Israel

Even their Arab brothers who fought 3 wars for them Egypt, want nothing to do with them now

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Dec 23rd 2016, 8:19 PM

@John003: Do you even believe what you put in that post? Its like the 101 of standard issue israel apologist claptrap. To use an analogy, the warden may have left the prison, but still controls what goes in and out and can still kill the inmates on the other side of the fence.

Mute Bull Spite
    Favourite Bull Spite
    Dec 23rd 2016, 8:29 PM

@For Connolly: Much like your apologist claptrap of IRA/SF.

Mute Colin Moran
    Favourite Colin Moran
    Dec 23rd 2016, 8:43 PM

‘It’s', ‘West Bank’ and ‘Palestinian’ are all spelt incorrectly.
    Punctuation is our friend.

Mute Colin Moran
    Favourite Colin Moran
    Dec 23rd 2016, 8:45 PM

‘Spoiled’ is spelt incorrectly.
    ‘You you’ is poor grammar.

Punctuation is our friend.

Mute Bobby Phelan
    Favourite Bobby Phelan
    Dec 23rd 2016, 9:00 PM

Abstaining should be abolished ff abstain a lot as well in our dail.America is another words in full support of Zionist Israel by abstaining.Surprise surprise ! America is a rouge state out of control.

Mute Nazerene
    Favourite Nazerene
    Dec 23rd 2016, 9:32 PM

The Sharia field manual is not a third level education.

Mute Donal O'Brien
    Favourite Donal O'Brien
    Dec 23rd 2016, 10:40 PM

Bobby, this will be viewed by Nathan Yahoo as a major slap in the face from Obama.

Mute Niall Conneely
    Favourite Niall Conneely
    Dec 23rd 2016, 11:13 PM

Israels first act as an independent state was to invade Egypt in ’56

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Dec 23rd 2016, 11:38 PM

‘Spelt’ LOL! Cheers for that….

Hugh
    Mute Hugh
    Favourite Hugh
    Dec 23rd 2016, 11:38 PM

Agreed John. If the palestinians laid down their weapons, there would be no war. If Israel laid down its weapons, there would be no Israel.

Mute midlandsbased
    Favourite midlandsbased
    Dec 24th 2016, 12:31 AM

@For almost bordering on real politik??? To be fair an article like this never invites a fair debate for either side. It’s emotive, tragic and a lot of players in the region (and outside) playing off each other for their own gain. As I say… Real politik or as we might say.. A political football.. Kicked around by a lot of teams where the rules change every ten minutes – with the supporters switching sides as they go along. Simplistic I know.

Mute Bill Madden
    Favourite Bill Madden
    Dec 24th 2016, 3:48 AM

@ joey If I were you I would do be embarrassed to admit that by you held a PhD.

Mute Colin Moran
    Favourite Colin Moran
    Dec 24th 2016, 10:05 AM

@For Connolly
    “In American English, spelt primarily refers to the hardy wheat grown mostly in Europe, and the verb spell makes spelled in the past tense and as a past participle. In all other main varieties of English, spelt and spelled both work as the past tense and past participle of spell, at least where spell means to form words letter by letter or (with out) to make clear. Outside the U.S., the two forms are interchangeable in these uses, and both are common.”

LOL yourself nob.

Mute Jim Brady
    Favourite Jim Brady
    Dec 24th 2016, 2:09 PM

Knob?

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Dec 23rd 2016, 4:53 PM

Yes yes BiBi, because NOT condemning them will all of a sudden make them less unlawful.

Christ, you think being handed someone elses country would be enough for the zionists.

Mute John003
    Favourite John003
    Dec 23rd 2016, 5:01 PM

Israel was handed nothing won 3 major problem wars and lots of little ones for the country they are in Month after Israel was established by the UN all the Arab neighbours attacked

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Dec 23rd 2016, 5:05 PM

It seems you have won your own problem war against basic punctuation.

Oh, and you may want to read a history book or two, starting with one about the Balfour declaration.

See 43 more replies ▾
    Mute John003
    Favourite John003
    Dec 23rd 2016, 5:17 PM

Yes after WW1 the Ottoman empire was split up by mainly Britain and France Balfour was a declaration that there would be a small space made for the Jews after the war Arabs got 96% and Israel the size of munster is 4% Arabs did not accept this and atacked Israel in 3 major wars

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Dec 23rd 2016, 5:20 PM

Anyone got a basic history book we can lend this lad??

Mute Charlie Wrex
    Favourite Charlie Wrex
    Dec 23rd 2016, 5:25 PM

Why is the region called Judea? What are the locals called? Hmmm.

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Dec 23rd 2016, 5:27 PM

@Charlie Wrex: Are you getting confused with Palestine and the Palestinians by any chance?

Mute Charlie Wrex
    Favourite Charlie Wrex
    Dec 23rd 2016, 5:37 PM

No. Maybe you are? You mentioned history books etc so you of course know that Judea was separate from Roman Syria – it wasnt until after the Jewish Revolt failed and the indigenous population decimated, that it was renamed Syria Palaestina.

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Dec 23rd 2016, 5:45 PM

@Charlie Wrex: You are aware that we are discussing the birth and inlawful expansion of Israel rather than cherrypicked points in ancient history which suit a narrative, yes?

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Dec 23rd 2016, 5:45 PM

* unlawful

Mute Charlie Wrex
    Favourite Charlie Wrex
    Dec 23rd 2016, 5:52 PM

Cherrypicking? Nope, just correcting your point re Palestine and Palestinians when i asked about Judea.

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Dec 23rd 2016, 5:57 PM

@Charlie Wrex: So you can explain why the ancient history of the region is relevant to the discussion about the birth and unlawful expansion of a state which was created in the 1940s?

Mute Charlie Wrex
    Favourite Charlie Wrex
    Dec 23rd 2016, 6:07 PM

Really? You want me to explain why the homeland of Jews is relevant to its eventual inception as a modern nation? Are you still denying/ against its place among the nations of the world?

Mute Petr Tarasov
    Favourite Petr Tarasov
    Dec 23rd 2016, 6:17 PM

@Charlie Wrex: You’ve put in a sterling shift today Charlie. Do take a break.

Mute Charlie Wrex
    Favourite Charlie Wrex
    Dec 23rd 2016, 6:25 PM

Petr, you’re the lunatic who said the multinational army assault on Israel (its stated aim was the killing of every jew it could find) the day after its inception was correct. Strangely though, you refuse to explain why genocide is fine? You will however wholesale the racism/ islamophobia card if someone so much as asks a question about Islam. As always, Petr, youre the arch moral relativist.

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Dec 23rd 2016, 6:44 PM

@Charlie Wrex: “You want me to explain why the homeland of Jews is relevant to its eventual inception as a modern nation?”

Yes, if you don’t mind. Please explain why judea (which was part of palestine and ceased to be in 135 AD, gives one people, almost 2 millennia later, the right to take the land lived on by a second people, and give it to a third people based on the way they pray.

Mute Charlie Wrex
    Favourite Charlie Wrex
    Dec 23rd 2016, 6:56 PM

I certainly could, if you’d address the 2nd question i asked too. Im not sure paraphrasing George Galloway is advisable though, Jammie. :)

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Dec 23rd 2016, 6:57 PM

@Charlie Wrex: What question is that?

Mute Charlie Wrex
    Favourite Charlie Wrex
    Dec 23rd 2016, 6:59 PM

Its a few comments up Jammie. Look again.

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Dec 23rd 2016, 7:03 PM

Not a bit old for playing games charles?

Get back to us when you’re ready to post your question. I’ll be chatting with the grown ups.

Mute Charlie Wrex
    Favourite Charlie Wrex
    Dec 23rd 2016, 7:13 PM

Lol. Oh dear me. Still running from the kryptonite question jammie? I’ll bite though. 1 hour ago Are you still denying/ against its place among the nations of the world?

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Dec 23rd 2016, 7:15 PM

Ah, the old zionist equivalent ‘do you still beat your wife’ question.

Oh and you post ‘Are you STILL denying’, inferring that I did at some stage.

Can you post that for us please?

Mute Charlie Wrex
    Favourite Charlie Wrex
    Dec 23rd 2016, 7:22 PM

I rather you answered a very basic question. If youre denying saying it grand. I havent the interest in your convolutions. Do you think Israel should have its place among the nations of the world?

Mute Killian O'Hara
    Favourite Killian O'Hara
    Dec 23rd 2016, 7:25 PM

@Charlie Wrex: What the fukking fuk are you still doing here? I told you to you to donate your internet devices to intelligent people in need and then go scoop out your brain two weeks ago.

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Dec 23rd 2016, 7:29 PM

Charles, your quesetion is based on a premise that I’ve asked you to back up before I answer.

Whenever you’re ready……….

Mute Charlie Wrex
    Favourite Charlie Wrex
    Dec 23rd 2016, 7:51 PM

My question requires a short answer. One youve been avoiding for the 3 years ive been on this site. You love deflecting. Its your thing. If its not israel, its gerry, the ira. There’s an eloquence to silence jammin, so thank you for your clear response.

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Dec 23rd 2016, 7:57 PM

Your question is based on a premise you can’t back up. Like asking the ‘do you STILL beat your wife’ question, when you have no information that the person ever did so.

Oh, and I cut my teeth making mincemeat out of paid hasbara trolls on american chat forums, so you may well be advised not to embarrass yourself further. I know the book of hasbara backwards, forwards and sideways.

Mute Jurgen Remak
    Favourite Jurgen Remak
    Dec 23rd 2016, 8:04 PM

Charles it’s a classic performance from him, pure vintage were jammin. No matter how long I’m away from the Journal, I know I can always tune in to see him criticizing Israel, defending his heroic IRA goons, be they the Nazi collaborating era ones or the more recent variety. And then of course protecting his no. 1 love, Gerry A.

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Dec 23rd 2016, 8:09 PM

Oh, Hi jurgen. Love the motto ‘These colours don’t run’ and the US flag.

Is that why this photo is in black and white??

https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/9/95/Saigon-hubert-van-es.jpg

Mute Charlie Wrex
    Favourite Charlie Wrex
    Dec 23rd 2016, 8:10 PM

Lol. Yes, i feel embarrassed by the fact you cant answer the question ” Should Israel have its place amongst the nations of the world?” If you prefer to wind yourself up in convolutions thats up to you. You mistake your own sleek preening and self congratulations for a cowards inability to publically acknowledge Israels place in the world, either way.

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Dec 23rd 2016, 8:14 PM

Changing the question now? Tisk tisk

Sounding a lot like dermo there charlie.

The question you asked was…. “Are you still denying/ against its place among the nations of the world?”

You used the word ‘still’, so show me where I did so before.

Whenever you’re ready, or are you spoofing?

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Dec 23rd 2016, 8:23 PM

Jurgen, you seem to have an IRA shaped chip on your shoulder.

Does the idea of farmers and civilians holding a superpower to a stalemate remind you of Nam too much?

Mute Charlie Wrex
    Favourite Charlie Wrex
    Dec 23rd 2016, 8:31 PM

Jammie, ill be home in about half an hour thank phuk. I havent the time or inclination to go searching for our previous engagements. Instead, we’ll draw a line in the sand. I cant link my proof tonight. I will though. Can you clarify your position on Israel as a nation of the world now? You say ive misrepresented you, so you’ll be happy to represent yourself clearly now.

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Dec 23rd 2016, 8:43 PM

@Charlie Wrex: “I cant link my proof tonight. I will though. ”

Grand so, I’ll spend the rest of the Cristmas on the edge of my seat (chuckle)

NEXT

Mute Charlie Wrex
    Favourite Charlie Wrex
    Dec 23rd 2016, 8:44 PM

@jurgen, it is of course. It always entertains me though. It cheers me up that im diametrically opposite most of jammies positions. Merry Christmas, ill be arriving home in about 5 minutes!

Mute Jurgen Remak
    Favourite Jurgen Remak
    Dec 23rd 2016, 8:44 PM

Not really jammin, as North Vietnam actually achieved renunification very quickly. Whereas the IRA have accepted they could never win:(
    Funny how you don’t like to talk about the IRA Nazi link up too much, except to lie about it. I would hope that you are embarassed by it given how you’re supposedly a socialist. But then, given how much you hate Israel, maybe you’re not. Wiping out Irelands Jews is a small price to pay for achieving Irish national unity right?
    Yep, celebrations in the Connoly household. You might have made an excellent contributor to the IRA paper ‘War News’. Some nice little rants in there about Nazi Germany’s chosen targets.

Mute Charlie Wrex
    Favourite Charlie Wrex
    Dec 23rd 2016, 8:50 PM

werejammin: the eloquence of a cowards silence.

Mute Jurgen Remak
    Favourite Jurgen Remak
    Dec 23rd 2016, 9:13 PM

Merry Xmas to you too Charles.
    Hey Charles, if you are up in Dublin can you pick up my share of the Shekels for tonight’s work. It’s such hard work interacting with the massive, unstoppable force of the scary ego that is were jammin, who ‘cut his teeth’ on US chat forums. We should get triple time!
    I mean, only a paid hasbara would dare tangle with his huge intellect.

Mute Ronan Gallagher
    Favourite Ronan Gallagher
    Dec 23rd 2016, 9:33 PM

Maybe Adolf was onto something

Mute Charlie Wrex
    Favourite Charlie Wrex
    Dec 23rd 2016, 11:13 PM

No problem Jurgen. Looking forward to our annual catch up with the gang in Tel Aviv in the New Year! :)

Mute Janet O Dowd
    Favourite Janet O Dowd
    Dec 24th 2016, 1:12 AM

@Jurgen Remak: @Charlie Wrex: Imagine this: Your home, that you’ve spent years building and all your savings on to create a safe abode for you family, is destroyed one day by a man in a bulldozer. When you ask this man why he just destroyed your home, he answers that his ancestors were promised this land thousands of years ago by God and that his ancestors lived here in the past, therefore him and his people are the only ones allowed to live on this land. Would you be OK with this explanation?

Mute Killian O'Hara
    Favourite Killian O'Hara
    Dec 24th 2016, 1:20 AM

@Ronan Gallagher: Remarkably close score on this one! 6-6

Mute Ronan Gallagher
    Dec 24th 2016, 1:32 AM

It could go either way Killian.

Mute Killian O'Hara
    Favourite Killian O'Hara
    Dec 24th 2016, 1:16 PM

Theres a gee’s hair in it

Mute Killian O'Hara
    Favourite Killian O'Hara
    Dec 24th 2016, 1:17 PM

Fannys hair in it. Very close

Mute Ronan Gallagher
    Dec 24th 2016, 2:19 PM

As tight as a jew at hanukkah

Mute scoop delivery
    Favourite scoop delivery
    Dec 23rd 2016, 6:28 PM

I have very little time for the State Of Israel after some of its agents Literally stood by whilst their mercenary’s murdered 2 Irish Peace Keepers who were unarmed in cold blood. Frankly they can go and shite.

Mute Petr Tarasov
    Favourite Petr Tarasov
    Dec 23rd 2016, 6:50 PM

@scoop delivery: They forged Irish passports and used them to facilitate the murder of a man. The Israeli Ambassador should be booted out of Ireland.

Mute @mdmak33
    Favourite @mdmak33
    Dec 23rd 2016, 6:48 PM

It’s time Israel was stopped stealing land all around them.their atrocities must be stopped now, support must be withdrawn from them.

Mute William Grogan
    Favourite William Grogan
    Dec 24th 2016, 12:38 AM

Jesus wept!!!

Mute John Fergus
    Favourite John Fergus
    Dec 23rd 2016, 7:13 PM

I’m no fan of Obama and have serious reservation about some of his and America’s policies. In particular America’s Israel first policy and how much influence Zionists have over America;s foreign policy.
    That being said if this story is accurate and Obama was behind this resolution I applaud the man.

Mute Cal Mooney
    Favourite Cal Mooney
    Dec 23rd 2016, 10:00 PM

The truth is, he did this purely for the history books, knowing Trump would unravel it. That was agreed between the two of them regardless of what you read in the media. Honestly, what difference does this resolution make in practical terms. NONE. The status quo is and will remain in place, otherwise Obama would have done this 3 years ago. Open your eyes.

Mute John Fergus
    Favourite John Fergus
    Dec 23rd 2016, 10:52 PM

@Cal Mooney: You’re almost certainly right when you say this will be undone. It will however heap public attention on this issue.

Mute Guybrush Threepwood
    Favourite Guybrush Threepwood
    Dec 24th 2016, 5:05 PM

@John Fergus: The only wait it can be undone is the same way it was done. That none of the UK, France, US, Russia or China veto the reversal(which is unlikely given 4 voted for the resolution) and 8 of the 15 members vote for it(which is also unlikely).

Mute Joe Travers
    Favourite Joe Travers
    Dec 23rd 2016, 4:29 PM

Patrick in 3.2.1..

Mute Brian MacCarthaigh
    Favourite Brian MacCarthaigh
    Dec 23rd 2016, 8:47 PM

Apart from its expansion of illegal settlements Israel’s treatment of the Palestinians is absolutely appalling. The illegal Gaza blockade, the apartheid wall, imprisonment of minors, etc etc and the US just stands aside and does shamefully nothing.

Mute Carlin Ite
    Favourite Carlin Ite
    Dec 23rd 2016, 8:54 PM

That’s been happening since 67. No news there. Obama played a blinder though pretending he wasn’t getting along with them but signed off on the biggest cash deposit just before wrapping up his 8 year stint. Everyone should read Robert Fisks, Israel The Obama Years.

Mute Charlie Fogarty
    Favourite Charlie Fogarty
    Dec 23rd 2016, 6:41 PM

None of cyber soldiers made it from the opinion piece about Gaza. This article clearly didn’t merit a notification.

Mute Petr Tarasov
    Favourite Petr Tarasov
    Dec 23rd 2016, 6:51 PM

@Charlie Fogarty: In fairness, they’ve probably clocked off for the day and the night shift hasn’t begun yet.

Mute Niall Conneely
    Favourite Niall Conneely
    Dec 23rd 2016, 11:12 PM

I’m a Christian, so i’m barred from getting a house in an Israeli settlement in the WB. Correct? So are local non-Jews.

Mute Rosa Parks
    Favourite Rosa Parks
    Dec 23rd 2016, 6:11 PM
    Mute Rosa Parks
    Favourite Rosa Parks
    Dec 23rd 2016, 6:46 PM

@Rosa Parks: 14 mins to go

Mute Rosa Parks
    Favourite Rosa Parks
    Dec 23rd 2016, 6:57 PM

@Rosa Parks: live now

Mute Stephen McManus
    Favourite Stephen McManus
    Dec 23rd 2016, 7:20 PM

@Rosa Parks: thanks for that. This can be very interesting, voting about to start.

Mute Petr Tarasov
    Favourite Petr Tarasov

@Rosa Parks: Stop spamming everyone you eejit.

Mute Stephen McManus
    Favourite Stephen McManus

US abstained, awesome!!!

Mute Guybrush Threepwood
    Dec 23rd 2016, 7:40 PM

Huge step for the Palestinians. Fantastic news.

Mute Petr Tarasov
    Favourite Petr Tarasov
    Dec 23rd 2016, 7:50 PM

@Guybrush Threepwood: Shame on the US. Samantha Power is a vile creature.

Mute Guybrush Threepwood
    Dec 23rd 2016, 9:13 PM

@Petr Tarasov: I agree.

Mute Bill Madden
    Favourite Bill Madden
    Dec 23rd 2016, 4:28 PM

New “click bait” middle east war!! starting in ……3,2,1……

Mute John003
    Favourite John003
    Dec 23rd 2016, 4:56 PM

Well that is 18 UN resolutions condemning Israel this year Go on UN you can make it 20 in 2016 No resolution from the UN about Saudi actions in Yemen

Mute Carlin Ite
    Favourite Carlin Ite
    Dec 23rd 2016, 8:54 PM

John they should do that too not instead of.

Mute John Moylan
    Favourite John Moylan
    Dec 23rd 2016, 9:15 PM

Resolutions without action is meaningless. A few years of UN & EU embargo on Israel should concentrate minds wonderfully.

Mute Greg Blake
    Favourite Greg Blake
    Dec 23rd 2016, 10:48 PM

Buffer zones are understandable given the position they are in. Settling people in those zones is a different matter.

Mute Charlie Wrex
    Favourite Charlie Wrex
    Dec 23rd 2016, 11:18 PM

John, you can start by “embargoing” apple in anthenry. Apple will be producing the hardware for the iPhone 8 in Israel.

Mute John Moylan
    Favourite John Moylan
    Dec 23rd 2016, 11:21 PM

Apple have no plans to produce any hardware in Athenry, so hardly relevant. …Apple will follow the money

Mute mrmeade
    Favourite mrmeade
    Dec 23rd 2016, 9:15 PM

Too little too late.

Mute FlopFlipU
    Favourite FlopFlipU
    Dec 23rd 2016, 7:08 PM

Israel ‘ are the eye,s and ear,s for America

Mute Alex Falcone
    Favourite Alex Falcone
    Dec 23rd 2016, 8:50 PM

A spiteful act by the departing Obama who allowed personal differences with Netanyahu colour his decision on the vote.
    A petty small minded man.
    Good riddance.

Mute John Merren
    Favourite John Merren
    Dec 24th 2016, 9:38 AM

The resolution demands that
    “Israel immediately and completely cease all settlement activities in the occupied Palestinian territory,
    including East Jerusalem.”
    Jewish settlements are a “flagrant violation under international law and a major obstacle to the achievement of the two-State solution and a just, lasting and comprehensive peace”.
    The US envoy to the UN, Samantha Power, said the resolution reflected the “facts on the ground” that settlement growth had been accelerating.
    “The settlement problem has gotten so much worse that it is threatening the two-state solution,” she said.
    Criticising Mr Netanyahu, she said: “One cannot simultaneously champion expanding settlements and champion a two-state solution that would end the conflict.”

Mute alphanautica
    Favourite alphanautica
    Dec 23rd 2016, 8:14 PM

What’s Trump’s position on Israel?

Mute Alex Falcone
    Favourite Alex Falcone
    Dec 23rd 2016, 8:46 PM

@alphanautica:
    He contacted Obama to try and persuade him to veto the resolution. Trump plans to move the Israeli embassy from Tel Aviv to Jerusalem , a move which would be a huge game changer in Middle East relations.
    He is a supporter of Israel.

Mute alphanautica
    Favourite alphanautica
    Dec 24th 2016, 12:41 AM

@Alex Falcone: thanks Alex. It will will be interesting to see how Trump adjusts to understanding the complexity of his role. He clearly had no idea during the campaign.

The US taxpayer massively supports Israel financially. Which seems at odds with most of the US electorate opinion.

Mute Bernard Lebanidze
    Favourite Bernard Lebanidze
    Dec 24th 2016, 8:43 AM

I liveđ there for five years, and found one lot as bad as the other.