You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Sean Baker took home the gold statuette for his work on Anora. Alamy Stock Photo

'Keep making cinema': Anora director's makes history by winning four Oscars for the same movie

Sean Baker urged filmmakers to keep making movies for theatrical release.

LAST UPDATE | 3 Mar

SEAN BAKER URGED filmmakers to keep making movies for theatrical release in a “battle cry” delivered after he won the Oscar for best director for Anora. 

The film emerged as the big winner of the night, winning five of the six awards it was nominated for – including best picture and best actress for Mikey Madison.

For Anora, Baker also took home the awards for best film editing, best original screenplay, and as producer wins an Oscar for its best film award. 

It means he won four awards on the night, the first time an individual as won four awards on a night since Walt Disney did it in in 1954 with four movies. Baker became the first to do it for a single film.  

“We’re all here tonight and watching this broadcast because we love movies. Where did we fall in love with the movies? At the movie theater,” Baker said in his acceptance speech.

Watching a film in a theater with an audience is an experience. We can laugh together, cry together, scream and fight together, perhaps sit in devastated silence together. In a time in which the world can feel very divided, this is more important than ever.

Baker said the experience was one that “you simply don’t get at home”, but warned that it is now under threat and that cinemas were struggling to stay afloat. 

“It’s up to us to support them,” he said.

“During the pandemic, we lost nearly a thousand screens in the US, and we continue to lose them regularly. If we don’t reverse this trend, we’ll be losing a vital part of our culture.

“This is my battle cry. Filmmakers, keep making films for the big screen. I know I will. Distributors, please focus first and foremost on the theatrical releases of your films. Parents, introduce your children to feature films in movie theaters, and you’ll be molding the next generation of movie lovers.

“For all of us, when we can, please watch movies in the theater, and let’s keep the great tradition of the movie-going experience alive and well.”

Best film editing

In winning best editing, Bakle beat Lisburn-man Nick Emerson to the gold statuette. The Northern Ireland film editor had been nominated for his work on the Vatican thriller Conclave. 

He won the Bafta for his work earlier this month. 

Accepting the award for his work on Anora, which tells the story of a young sex worker from Brooklyn who marries a Russian oligarch, Baker thanked the cast of the film and the “sex worker community”.

los-angeles-united-states-02nd-mar-2025-nick-emerson-arrives-on-the-red-carpet-for-the-97th-academy-awards-in-the-hollywood-section-of-los-angeles-on-sunday-march-2-2025-photo-by-john-angelillo Despite winning the Bafta last month, Nick Emerson missed out on the Oscar for his editing work on Conclave. Alamy Stock Photo Alamy Stock Photo

“They have shared their stories, they have shared their experience with me over the years, they have my deepest respect, thank you,” he said. 

Baker joked that he truly appreciated the recognition for his work on the black comedy, “because God, if you saw that footage, I saved this film in the edit. Trust me, that director should never work again”.

The other nominees in the best film editing category were David Jancso for The Brutalist, Juliette Welfling for Emilia Pérez and Myron Kerstein for Wicked. 

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

4 Comments
    Mute DublinLad
    Favourite DublinLad
    Dec 27th 2013, 3:12 PM

Words fail me. Horrific excuse for a person to do that to a new born baby. Give the child up for adoption, not attempt to kill it. Crazy!!

Mute Ally
    Favourite Ally
    Dec 27th 2013, 3:15 PM

There are no words. So sick.

Mute Kevin Dobson
    Favourite Kevin Dobson
    Dec 27th 2013, 4:07 PM

Dublin Lad- ironic comment given your strong advocacy of Abortion on demand during the year? Not having a go. Just making a point.

See 15 more replies ▾
    Mute Andrea Rock Massey
    Favourite Andrea Rock Massey
    Dec 27th 2013, 4:15 PM

Making a stupid point…

Mute Gearóid Ó Murchadha
    Favourite Gearóid Ó Murchadha
    Dec 27th 2013, 4:25 PM

Kevin what’s your point? That you don’t know the difference between abortion and murder?

Mute Joe Valentine
    Favourite Joe Valentine
    Dec 27th 2013, 4:30 PM

Same result

Mute Gearóid Ó Murchadha
    Dec 27th 2013, 4:46 PM

Not really, one results in no baby being born, the other results in a dead baby (or in this case critically injured).

Mute Kevin Dobson
    Favourite Kevin Dobson
    Dec 27th 2013, 5:02 PM

Andrea- stunning evocative and thoughtful riposte, there. I’m in awe of your debating prowess.

Mute Kevin Dobson
    Favourite Kevin Dobson
    Dec 27th 2013, 5:04 PM

Gearoid- actually the result is ultimately and incontrovertibly exactly the same; one less person walking & talking around the place.

Mute Andrea Rock Massey
    Favourite Andrea Rock Massey
    Dec 27th 2013, 5:24 PM

Oh no, Kevin is unimpressed by me. That’s my Christmas ruined! Are you impressed by my sarcasm at least? Please say you are!!

Mute Anti_Social_Network
    Favourite Anti_Social_Network
    Dec 27th 2013, 6:07 PM

Nobby nomates

Mute Anti_Social_Network
    Favourite Anti_Social_Network
    Dec 27th 2013, 6:09 PM

Nobby nomates – must be a bootlicker of FG, probably dreams of enda kenny wiping his nose on his jacket!

Mute Kevin Dobson
    Favourite Kevin Dobson
    Dec 27th 2013, 6:21 PM

Andrea- I don’t know what you mean. I was very complimentary about you, was I not?

Mute Sinead Hanley
    Favourite Sinead Hanley
    Dec 28th 2013, 12:52 AM

Joe.. Same result.. So true..

Mute Gearóid Ó Murchadha
    Dec 28th 2013, 1:03 AM

It not the same result. There’s a dead person after a murder. There’s not after an abortion. An abortion does not mean there is one less person walking the earth, it means there is the same amount of people. Unless you count a fetus as a person in which case we’re wasting our time.

Mute Orela Krawczyk
    Favourite Orela Krawczyk
    Dec 28th 2013, 6:39 AM

There’s a Huge difference between an abortion and THROWING a child out a window!!!! This woman was obviously not in her right mind , hope that poor baby is ok.

Mute Rory McDonald
    Favourite Rory McDonald
    Dec 28th 2013, 3:52 PM

So it’s only a person when it pops out? And your inference that any other viewpoint makes the person unworthy of any ‘real’ debate is really crass. Sorry but I think you need to do some research….

Mute Gearóid Ó Murchadha
    Dec 28th 2013, 4:04 PM

Haha, I never said or implied any of that stuff. My views are a bit more complicated then “it’s only a person when it pops out” and it’s nothing to do with anyone’s views being unworthy, I’m just not bothered with conversation that will just go around in circles so don’t worry, no need for you to get up there on your high horse. I’ve researched the subject of abortion extensively, I’m pro-choice and my conscience is clear. I’m happy to discuss it with anyone but I’m well used to how it goes when it comes down to the “abortion =murder” point of view and I know from experience that that argument is a fat waste of time for everyone involved.

Mute Foxys van
    Favourite Foxys van
    Dec 27th 2013, 3:18 PM

I hope the baby makes it thru

Mute O'Reilly
    Favourite O'Reilly
    Dec 27th 2013, 3:13 PM

Tragic, on all sides…

Mute Catherine Sims
    Favourite Catherine Sims
    Dec 27th 2013, 3:12 PM

Not going to say more than I hope the baby makes a full recovery until more facts are know about this case. It all seems very bizarre .

Mute Marc
    Favourite Marc
    Dec 27th 2013, 3:39 PM

She fuked the baby out the window. She is mentally not right in the head. Hope the baby recovers.

Mute Red Rooster
    Favourite Red Rooster
    Dec 27th 2013, 3:48 PM

If it was the father that threw the newborn out the window, we’d be looking at a very different comments section right now. There’d be no shortage of blame and ridicule.

Mute Conor McGuinness
    Favourite Conor McGuinness
    Dec 27th 2013, 4:11 PM

I have never heard of a man becoming pregnant through rape or incest, having to conceal or deny a pregnancy, being denied or unable to afford an abortion, nor be forced to raise the child of his rapist. Men can generally abandon or deny their offspring with impunity, and are less likely to face adverse or dangerous consequences for becoming pregnant, being sexually active or becoming a parent.
    Now it’s early and unfair to comment on this case, and there there is no reason why a tiny and vulnerable person should ever be made to suffer, but in our society we generally take into account the personal situations, mental stability and social contexts of those who have transgressed society’s rules.
    Harming a baby is indefensible, but there are certainly differing sets of mitigating factors at play for a woman and a man in these situations. To pretend otherwise is to be deliberately disingenuous.

Mute Red Rooster
    Favourite Red Rooster
    Dec 27th 2013, 4:26 PM

My point highlights a double standard ever present in public consciousness and media consciousness.

When a man kills a child it is both reported and considered an evil act and in itself indefensible. When a woman does it, or attempts it, the automatic assumption is mental illness.

In actuality, it’s normally mental illness at play in both cases and for both genders.

Likewise there have been very high profile cases in Ireland whereby fathers have taken children away from violent partners and they have been portrayed as kidnappers by both media and wider society. All they did, was protect their children as best they could.

So, you see, excuses (often valid) are made for one gender, and not for another. You have in fact, made those very same parallels in your post.

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw
    Dec 27th 2013, 5:57 PM

Well said, Conor.

Mute Mary Kavanagh
    Favourite Mary Kavanagh
    Dec 28th 2013, 12:13 AM

Red Rooster, men doesn’t go through the hormonal changes during nine months of pregnancy, together with the added stress of disapproving parents, and then giving birth with no medical or emotional support. This is not about men, only in the implication that the father of this particular child wasn’t around to support the mother of his baby!

Mute Mary Kavanagh
    Favourite Mary Kavanagh
    Dec 28th 2013, 12:20 AM

*Men don’t*, before the grammar Nazis start! ;)

Mute Red Rooster
    Favourite Red Rooster
    Dec 28th 2013, 12:26 AM

I made no such inference. You did.

“men doesn’t go through the hormonal changes during nine months of pregnancy” Not so. Men do go through changes. Major changes. It’s all out there for you to research if you so wish. Chemical, emotional, and neurological changes.

However, I made a simple observation in my initial post. That observation stands, despite Conor’s post and yours.

Mute Mary Kavanagh
    Favourite Mary Kavanagh
    Dec 28th 2013, 1:03 AM

You’re quite right, redrooster: men do go through hormonal changes. They’re not as strong as the hormonal changes the mother goes through, and at the end of the day the woman is left holding the baby, literally. It’s not all that long ago that women and girls were giving birth in secret here in Ireland. A little compassion wouldn’t go amiss maybe. And as some of the other comments have said we don’t know the full circumstances of what happened.

Mute Red Rooster
    Favourite Red Rooster
    Dec 28th 2013, 1:26 AM

I agree it’s not long ago women were giving birth in secret. Nor is it long ago that a woman gave birth and the newborn was whisked away by nuns straight after birth never to be seen again. We live in a country with a horrid history – a history within living memory.

Now, roles have reversed. And we treat men in the same ways through our lack of laws – unmarried fathers, and our family courts.

We are doing the same things we always did. But this time we do it to fathers.

Mute Red Rooster
    Favourite Red Rooster
    Dec 28th 2013, 2:16 AM

That said, we also expect mothers to be perfect. They are not. I’m not. No one is.

My own partner felt much shame at not being able to breastfeed our child years ago. She did everything ‘right’. But on occasion there was no milk and a screaming baby. The pressure she felt, was enormous. She felt like a failure as a mother and cried her eyes out at 3am with a hungry baby and neither of us knowing what to do.

She has pressures I’m unaware of. I’m aware of that.

Mute Red Rooster
    Favourite Red Rooster
    Dec 28th 2013, 3:16 AM

Does your compassion extend to men Mary?

Mute Mary Kavanagh
    Favourite Mary Kavanagh
    Dec 28th 2013, 10:45 PM

Yes it does, especially when the man wants to take his fair share and either the mother of his child or society prevent him from doing so. However in this case it seems the father just fecked off and let this poor woman go through a completely traumatic exoerience on her own. It may be that her family are very conservative and would have made things impossible for her. I just think there are very black and white reactions to what is a very sad story for all concerned. Judge not etc, etc…

Mute Martin Bishop
    Favourite Martin Bishop
    Dec 27th 2013, 3:36 PM

This is what happens when people feel they have no other options and no support,

Mute Mila Ekid
    Favourite Mila Ekid
    Dec 27th 2013, 6:31 PM

There is always a solution if you should open up. There are a lot of women in poor countries who manage to give their babies a chance no matter what.

Mute Deasun Mac An Choiligh
    Favourite Deasun Mac An Choiligh
    Dec 27th 2013, 9:08 PM

Indeed Mila , there are always solutions , babyhatches are making a big resurgence in Europe , perhaps every hospital should have one http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2521538/The-revolving-door-baby-hatches-abandoned-newborns-German-hospitals-mothers-weeks-change-mind.html

Mute Red Rooster
    Favourite Red Rooster
    Dec 27th 2013, 3:27 PM

This is not the fist case in Spain in recent times of this happening. Something similar happened when a mother threw an 18 month old out the window of a first floor and the Grandfather managed to catch her by sheer luck.

Well done to those cops for resuscitating the baby. Certain death otherwise.

Mute Blondie Girl
    Favourite Blondie Girl
    Dec 27th 2013, 4:20 PM

I just give birth last week, my second baby. Excuse me but I don’t feel sorry for her, I hope she ends up in jail and throw away the key. She asked her parents to take her to hospital so obviously she only thinks about herself and nothing wrong with her head. Hope baby makes a full recovery.

Mute Cloven Clover
    Favourite Cloven Clover
    Dec 27th 2013, 4:31 PM

Exactly Blondie! Quite willing to expose her secret to save herself when it came down to it. Vile creature who should go to prison. Hope poor child recovers.

Mute Louise Walsh
    Favourite Louise Walsh
    Dec 27th 2013, 4:15 PM

My sister gave birth just 3 days before this animal, the thoughts of doing that to a poor defenceless little baby, a similar size to my tiny nephew boggles the mind. Hopefully he’ll recover well and be adopted by lovely people and have a great life :-)

Mute Tnka Tanzy
    Favourite Tnka Tanzy
    Dec 27th 2013, 4:02 PM

I hope all involved get the help they need, there must be something terribly wrong with the mother for doing this to her baby, was she afraid of her own parents reaction to the pregnancy, why hide it??

Mute Mila Ekid
    Favourite Mila Ekid
    Dec 27th 2013, 6:27 PM

A 35 year old who manage to have sex and get pregnant, carry the baby till full term, gone to labour, gave birth to a full live baby then just toss it away like a rug? The victim is the baby not the mother.

Mute New Property
    Favourite New Property
    Dec 27th 2013, 4:30 PM

Poor woman no one in the right mind would do this, if you have the thought she is bad your just the same what she needed and needs is human compassion.

Very few of us are bad, on till you are unfortunate to be put some were, were a person takes your weakness and use them against you till you snap you cant judge.

Mute Red Rooster
    Favourite Red Rooster
    Dec 27th 2013, 4:48 PM

My heart is with both of them, my mind won’t allow me go there until I know more.

Mute Tasha Samara Uche
    Favourite Tasha Samara Uche
    Dec 27th 2013, 4:23 PM

How heartless!! No words for this!

Mute Bernie Pollock
    Favourite Bernie Pollock
    Dec 27th 2013, 7:27 PM

What a tragedy. What must the woman have been going thru to make her hide this then go thru the agony that is labour alone and then discard of the baby. I feel sympathy for her. Hope the baby pulls thru but also that the family pull together and support them both.

Mute Getyercoat
    Favourite Getyercoat
    Dec 27th 2013, 10:23 PM

Given that it’s referred to as an umbilical “chord” I’m not taking the article above as 100% fact.
    Comparing a woman who has just given birth to a father is ridiculous.
    Puerperal psychosis is very real but hey, in a grand little country like Ireland, why would we attempt to understand mental illness? Ignorance, knee jerk reactions from idiots are par for the course.

Mute Sinead Murphy
    Favourite Sinead Murphy
    Dec 27th 2013, 11:24 PM

Couldn’t agree more – no one In Their right mind would do that. Who knows what her circumstances are- but straight away she’s the devil incarnate – she obviously wasn’t thinking straight. I fell sorry for both & I hope the poor baby will recover. Very sad.

Mute Mila Ekid
    Favourite Mila Ekid
    Dec 27th 2013, 6:53 PM

She asked her parents for medical help, her mother being a mother herself by instinct went looking for the newborn and rush the baby to hospital. Realistically, that’s the fact of life. We always have an excuse but we are missing the focal point of importance here, the baby”s life !

Mute Erica Allan
    Favourite Erica Allan
    Dec 27th 2013, 7:42 PM

Tell you what Conor… based on this article, ill condemn her and I think she should be stripped naked, bundled in a pair of jeans and dropped out a……lets say a 50 foot window onto concrete in the freezing cold, hopefully breaking a bone or two. …Then I’d probably drive over her in my car and drag her till I need diesel.. ill explain my reasons to her when I stop at the garage … fair ?

Mute Rory McDonald
    Favourite Rory McDonald
    Dec 28th 2013, 9:32 PM

Erica, with all due respect, if your answer is not tongue in cheek, then I think it’s very blood thirsty and judgemental. Psychotic behaviour might try to find a legitimate home in ‘righteousness indignation?’

Mute Simon Eales
    Favourite Simon Eales
    Dec 27th 2013, 5:54 PM

Puta madre

Mute Conor McGuinness
    Dec 27th 2013, 6:33 PM

You think you are being funny and clever Simon, but perhaps she was. We don’t know the facts of this case, and probably never will know the full and true facts. Been seeing as people are commenting and jumping to judgement it is worthwhile examining some of the more likely scenarios.
    Perhaps this woman was a prostitute (Simon’s hilarious comment ‘puta madre’ means prostitute mother in Spanish and i roughly equivalent to saying motherfuc*er in English). Thousands of woman are forced trough economic necessity to sell themselves. Perhaps she was doing this to keep her and her parents alive, unbeknownst to them.. Perhaps her intention was lot to harm the child. Maybe she thought the baby was dead. Perhaps she was stupid and naive and thought se could hide the baby on the terrace until her parents were away. Who knows?

On a side note, how media relate stories is interesting. Here we are told that she ‘threw’ the baby out a window. Given that the baby was later found, a nobody witnessed the throw, is it not possible that she ‘placed’ the baby, or in pain and panic ‘dropped’ the baby. We’ll never know, but the verb ‘throw’ makes a better story and attracts more comments from judgmental hypocrites who would see weak and vulnerable people hang for actions they would most likely do themselves if in a similar situation.

lets not condemn this woman with evidence taken from a Journal.ie article, our own imagination, and society’s prejudices.

Mute Deasun Mac An Choiligh
    Favourite Deasun Mac An Choiligh
    Dec 27th 2013, 7:40 PM

Are you well ? , or has the eggnog gone straight to your head , lock the bitch up and throw away the key , child endangerment and attempted murder charges need to be brought , any medical help for mental health issues can be administered from inside prison , this freak had no problem seeking medical help for herself and having her “secret” exposed when she felt herself in imminent danger , abortion , infanticide and child euthanasia seem to be the order of the day for all these progressive liberals , let me tell you all this is not progress but genocide

Mute Stephen Maher
    Favourite Stephen Maher
    Dec 27th 2013, 11:09 PM

Ironic.
    You tell us we dont know the facts (The ones the police gave).And then you continue your retort with an essay of hypothetical situations.

Mute Catherine Sims
    Favourite Catherine Sims
    Dec 28th 2013, 12:15 AM

It’s also possible that this woman has a learning disability and does not understand her actions. Let’s wait and see.

Mute Conor McGuinness
    Dec 28th 2013, 12:20 AM

Stephen, I acknowledged the potential for irony in my comment. Re-read it of needs be. I said that while some are assuming a clear cut attempted murder scenario, without it being possible to definitely know, I would suggest some other potential scenarios. So actually not ironic..

Mute Mary Kavanagh
    Favourite Mary Kavanagh
    Dec 28th 2013, 1:10 AM

Whatever this is Deasun it’s not genocide. The definition of genocide is the systematic attempt at the wiping out of an entire people, ie, Hitler’s ‘final solution’ or the dreadful slaughter in Rwanda. This hasn’t even got as far as infanticide yet and hopefully it won’t.

Mute znzjzjzj
    Favourite znzjzjzj
    Dec 27th 2013, 7:07 PM

Thats fU ck3d up

Mute Jeremiah Ml
    Favourite Jeremiah Ml
    Dec 28th 2013, 2:09 AM

Hope the baby survives. Sick young girl.

Mute J.J. Kiely
    Favourite J.J. Kiely
    Dec 27th 2013, 8:36 PM

What a rotten woman!

Mute Brehon Law
    Favourite Brehon Law
    Dec 28th 2013, 1:49 AM

If true it sums up the state of degradation we the human race continue to be in. Savages, that’s what we are – still in the cave.

We need to introduce a proper programme of education for all human beings instead of the garbage taught in schools.