You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Minister for Justice Alan Shatter Sasko Lazarov/Photocall Ireland

Parents face prosecution for silence on child abuse

New laws aimed at stopping unreported sexual assaults will also apply to family members, Minister Alan Shatter has said.

PARENTS COULD BE prosecuted if they do not tell gardaí when their own children may have been sexually abused, under proposed new legislation.

The Government is planning to introduce mandatory reporting of child abuse claims, after the Cloyne report exposed a number of occasions when alleged abuse by priests was not passed on to gardaí. However there will be no exception to the new law, which will also apply to parents, Minister for Justice Alan Shatter told the Sunday Business Post (print edition).

All professionals working with children will also be covered by the proposed measures. Minister Shatter said anyone who failed to report allegations to gardaí would have to show a “reasonable excuse for not doing so”.

Read Susan Mitchell and John Burke’s full story in today’s Sunday Business Post (print edition only) >

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

4 Comments
    Mute Pol Mlp
    Favourite Pol Mlp
    Dec 3rd 2021, 6:25 PM

Yeah I don’t think much people (myself included) will be complying with this

Mute Dave Barrett
    Favourite Dave Barrett
    Dec 3rd 2021, 6:28 PM

@Pol Mlp: Have to agree. Two years now towing the line. Time to live again.

Mute Darren Mc Mahon
    Favourite Darren Mc Mahon
    Dec 3rd 2021, 6:54 PM

@Pol Mlp: made me laugh when he advised the children they may need to get the vaccine.

Mute Giovanni cans
    Favourite Giovanni cans
    Dec 3rd 2021, 6:54 PM

@Darren Mc Mahon: as if there gonna be watching that tool hahahaha

Mute Marty Lawless
    Favourite Marty Lawless
    Dec 3rd 2021, 7:16 PM

@Dave Barrett: what am I supposed to do leave elderly on their own on Xmas day with no turkey or ham I don’t think so I’ll be feeding some of the neighbours

Mute Dave Barrett
    Favourite Dave Barrett
    Dec 3rd 2021, 7:40 PM

@Marty Lawless: Well done.

Mute Niall Ó Cofaigh
    Favourite Niall Ó Cofaigh
    Dec 3rd 2021, 8:31 PM

@Darren Mc Mahon: I am glad you find it funny – maybe you do need a laugh – but then read this where 10% of hospitalisation are under 2 years of age and maybe this omicron variant has a new target in young children and maybe NPHET and the politicians have more up to date information.

“”It has also emerged that hospitalisation cases have increased for children under five in the fourth wave,” local media quoted Health Minister Joe Phaahla as saying.

According to the country’s National Institute for Communicable Diseases (NICD), there’s been a steep rise in cases over the last seven days.

“A new trend in this wave is the increase in hospitalisation of children under five,” Wassila Jassat, public health specialist at the NICD was quoted as saying.

The NICD also said that children under the age of two account for about 10 per cent of total hospital admissions in Tshwane, the Omicron epicentre in South Africa, the report said.

“Toddlers getting sick is a cause for concern. Children below the age of two make up 10 per cent of Omicron-related hospitalisation,” Jassat said.”

Here is the source – and you can educate yourself and do some more research

https://www.business-standard.com/article/current-affairs/omicron-spikes-hospitalisation-among-kids-under-5-in-south-africa-121120300886_1.html

Mute Darren Mc Mahon
    Dec 3rd 2021, 9:26 PM

@Giovanni cans: ha ha ha brilliant

Mute Hugh Morris
    Favourite Hugh Morris
    Dec 3rd 2021, 10:58 PM

@Niall Ó Cofaigh: FO

Mute Darren Mc Mahon
    Dec 4th 2021, 12:34 AM

@Hugh Morris: well said!!!

Mute chinaski
    Favourite chinaski

When Tony/Leo/mìcheal start paying my mortgage, they can tell me who can and can’t come into my fupping house…..

Mute Franny Ando
    Favourite Franny Ando
    Dec 3rd 2021, 6:32 PM

@chinaski: Exactly.

Mute Lee King Buckett
    Favourite Lee King Buckett
    Dec 3rd 2021, 6:59 PM

@chinaski: Oooh ya big rebel ya

Mute JedBartlett
    Favourite JedBartlett
    Dec 3rd 2021, 7:24 PM

@Lee King Buckett: You keep bending over to grab your ankles for this nonsense there smart lad

a
    Mute a
    Favourite a

Holihan, Martin and Varadker to resign.

ed w
    Mute ed w
    Favourite ed w
    Dec 3rd 2021, 6:38 PM

@a: agree. at this point they can all f right off

Mute Locutus Of Borg
    Favourite Locutus Of Borg
    Dec 3rd 2021, 7:06 PM

@a: Why Tony Houlihan? He is only doing his job, dispensing public health advice. It’s the government that’s the problem

a
    Mute a
    Favourite a
    Dec 3rd 2021, 7:45 PM

@Locutus Of Borg: You mean the fake modelling, face masks don’t work, antigen tests are snake oil. Schools are completely safe. That public advice?

Mute ChadChaderson
    Favourite ChadChaderson
    Dec 3rd 2021, 6:35 PM

Fully jabbed , I’m done with restrictions. Getting on with my life.

Mute xDemo17
    Favourite xDemo17

Good luck enforcing that lol

Mute Sam Murray
    Favourite Sam Murray
    Dec 3rd 2021, 6:27 PM

They’ll be doing well to get 20% compliance this time round. Only so many times they can tests peoples patience, NPHET away to pleasure themselves now after ensuring Christmas is shot

Mute Munster1
    Favourite Munster1

Utterly predictable they would have had to row back on the meaningful reopening. The living with covid strategy is in the bin.

Mute Eoin Jackson
    Favourite Eoin Jackson
    Dec 3rd 2021, 6:52 PM

@Munster1: look around man. Open your eyes. Compliance with any restrictions is firmly in the bin. There no longer is any public buy in or support. They can say whatever they want, people are not listening. I have less than zero intentions of abiding by this 4 household nonsense thing. Il have who i want in my house when i want thank you very much.

Mute Lee King Buckett
    Dec 3rd 2021, 7:02 PM

@Eoin Jackson: Oooooh another big rebel!!!!

See 13 more replies ▾
    Mute Munster1
    Favourite Munster1
    Dec 3rd 2021, 7:08 PM

@Eoin Jackson: and why is that? Because of failure after failure. There is no ‘herd immunity’ with this virus. Letting it rip will just result in hospitals full and deaths on the rise.

Mute Eoin Jackson
    Favourite Eoin Jackson
    Dec 3rd 2021, 7:08 PM

@Lee King Buckett: hardly a rebel now king kong. I just have zero intention of handing over power over my home to anyone else. If you want to be a cowardly roll over, you be my guest. Im sure you will get a golden star delivered to you hiding behind your couch. Theres a good little boy.

Just laying out the truth, you will be in the minority, but each to their own. I’m just stating the obvious, you will not get any compliance this time around, that ship has sailed.

Mute Eoin Jackson
    Favourite Eoin Jackson
    Dec 3rd 2021, 7:12 PM

@Munster1: whats the end game with no herd immunity? Hide away and bunker down forever? Let cowardice thrive? How do viruses usually burn out? Im currently waiting for my flight out of the UK. Life is as normal here. No masks in pubs or clubs. People living life, little to no restrictions. They have a less % vaccinated than we do. They also have lower case rates than we do. Why is that can you answer me? Not being smart, I genuinely am incredibly interested in the response to this?

Mute Munster1
    Favourite Munster1
    Dec 3rd 2021, 7:25 PM

@Eoin Jackson: viruses dont burn out, they just kill off the weak and mutate. 1.2 million in the UK have long covid, they have paying a large price for their strategy. One question that is never asked, is it possible to live with this virus.

Mute Eoin Jackson
    Favourite Eoin Jackson
    Dec 3rd 2021, 7:36 PM

@Munster1: funnily we seem to be paying a higher price than the UK are but that’s not the question i asked. I asked a completely different question you avoided answering. If these restrictions help reduce transmission. If the vaccine helps reduce transmission. And there’s no such thing as herd immunity with this virus as you claim. How come we have a much higher vaccination % and a much, much more restricted populace (the difference in lifestyle and freedoms is actually nearly laughable at this point), then why is our positivity rate higher and why have we more cases per head of population than the uk? I asked this question, you avoided it so i ask again.

Mute Lee King Buckett
    Dec 3rd 2021, 7:41 PM

@Eoin Jackson: I’ve no big issue with you deciding to disregard home visiting guidelines – we’re all grown ups.

My issue is with the macho announcement to the world at large on an Internet comment section. Could you not just keep it to yourself and get about your business?

Mute Munster1
    Favourite Munster1
    Dec 3rd 2021, 7:46 PM

@Eoin Jackson: why are we worse than the UK? Because we opened up everything going into winter.

Mute Eoin Jackson
    Favourite Eoin Jackson
    Dec 3rd 2021, 7:47 PM

@Lee King Buckett: oh my, you really must be a timid auld petal if you considered that a “macho announcement”. So what you are basically saying is you should not share your opinion unless it tows the official government line? Im pretty sure theres a term for that… what is it again? Hmmm, i wonder. Amazingly, you seem more than happy to frequently share your supportive opinions of such restrictions. Im guessing that’s allowable though yes? Hmmm, that term will eventually come to me to describe that kind of situation…..

Mute Eoin Jackson
    Favourite Eoin Jackson
    Dec 3rd 2021, 7:53 PM

@Munster1: i see what you are trying to point to and its a good effort. They created a surge. A bigger surge too as a result of how restricted they kept the population vs the rest of europe. But I remember why that was the case that we opened up so late, do you? “We do it slowly, and gradually, so when we open we stay open”.
    Or something of that ilk was the common mantra. I can even remember seeing supportive posts by you on this plan. Meanwhile a lot of other people were screaming to completely open mid may. Those people were called reckless and irresponsible… also, I thought this virus was not seasonal? You know, what a lot of pro restriction minded people were yelling from the rooftops as summer was rolling. Flip flopping on that now as it suits…

Mute Eoin Jackson
    Favourite Eoin Jackson
    Dec 3rd 2021, 7:57 PM

@Munster1: and look I think we will leave it here now. We have a fundamental difference of opinion on Ireland’s covid response strategy, which I do not think will be reconciled so there’s not much point having much more of a back and forth on it.

Mute Munster1
    Favourite Munster1
    Dec 3rd 2021, 8:02 PM

@Eoin Jackson: fair enough, take it easy

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Favourite Fiona Fitzgerald
    Dec 3rd 2021, 10:31 PM

@Eoin Jackson:
    By any metric, the UK are doing worse than us and are losing more people.
    They’ve higher case rates.
    They’ve only 68.63%, of their population fully vaccinated as yet. None of what you claimed is true. You do British people no favour by minimising their losses.

https://www.worldometers.info/coronavirus/#countries

Mute Mike Dé Vere
    Favourite Mike Dé Vere
    Dec 4th 2021, 5:49 PM

@Eoin Jackson: Face school closures then.

Mute LFC_MAD94
    Favourite LFC_MAD94
    Dec 3rd 2021, 6:27 PM

What’s the crack with gyms needing covid certs?? Never heard of outbreaks from gyms

Mute Raymond Scott
    Favourite Raymond Scott
    Dec 3rd 2021, 7:19 PM

@LFC_MAD94: called divide and conquer. There is no public health reason for it. Vaccinated doesn’t mean no spreading the virus. Pure discrimination of people who exercise right bodily autonomy. And the Irish? They laught at another violation of this right… rest Europe march against this 2g policy since they know what that means…

Mute Alan Byrne
    Favourite Alan Byrne
    Dec 3rd 2021, 7:34 PM

@LFC_MAD94: My 2 sons and 3 of their friends all caught it in gyms over the past few months. The amount of gym users that don’t wipe down equipment after use is quite high, before covid and still now. Gym staff nowhere to be seen.

Mute JustMeHere
    Favourite JustMeHere
    Dec 3rd 2021, 8:15 PM

@Raymond Scott: will you ever get the fk off the stage. The pure shittery you talk here day in day out. Have you no job?

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Dec 3rd 2021, 10:08 PM

@Raymond Scott: 2g? That’s nonsense.

Mute Ashling Visser Bishop
    Favourite Ashling Visser Bishop
    Dec 3rd 2021, 6:35 PM

We are the laughing stock on Sky News.

Mute Sam Murray
    Favourite Sam Murray
    Dec 3rd 2021, 6:38 PM

@Ashling Visser Bishop: as per

Mute Hear me now
    Favourite Hear me now
    Dec 4th 2021, 6:22 AM

@Ashling Visser Bishop: couldn’t give an absolute s hit what anybody has to say on that pathetic news channel. One of the worst.

Mute Peazel
    Favourite Peazel

Gonna need to increase the gardai capacity to enforce that

Mute Alan Wright
    Favourite Alan Wright
    Dec 3rd 2021, 6:32 PM

@Peazel: Unfortunately that is probably what we’ll see. A huge pouring of police resources into this and not out protecting the streets (or even answering the phones).

Mute WHUFCLad
    Favourite WHUFCLad
    Dec 3rd 2021, 6:24 PM

As if

Mute Anthony
    Favourite Anthony
    Dec 3rd 2021, 7:00 PM

Remember the reason behind our ridiculously slow reopening compared to the rest of Europe “when we open we want to stay open”…. Look where we are now.

Mute Niall Ó Cofaigh
    Favourite Niall Ó Cofaigh
    Dec 3rd 2021, 8:40 PM

@Anthony: what closed? I think it was night clubs only or did I miss something?

Yes, there are some new restrictions on numbers and closing times but many things have remained open compared to the beginning of the year.

Mute Twitruser2021
    Favourite Twitruser2021
    Dec 3rd 2021, 6:37 PM

Feck sake HSE government make us suffer cause of shiyte management. It will be same next Christmas. The trolley crisis has closed nightclubs. Omicron to house parties instead.

Mute Joanne Holland
    Favourite Joanne Holland
    Dec 3rd 2021, 7:56 PM

I’m sorry, I’ve towed the line so far. However, I draw the line at limiting Xmas for my children. The time we have with them truly enjoying the magic of Xmas is so limited. I have no interest in nightclubs or pubs but will not be deterred from making this Christmas magical for small people, as it should be.

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Dec 3rd 2021, 10:35 PM

@Joanne Holland: And it’ll take five other households visiting you to make it magical? Okay.

Mute Hear me now
    Favourite Hear me now
    Dec 4th 2021, 6:17 AM

@Joanne Holland: small people…is that code for…Christmas elves!? OMG they’re real…i knew it!

Mute mark o donovan
    Favourite mark o donovan
    Dec 3rd 2021, 6:41 PM

Whose going to stick to these guidelines, nobody cares anymore, are tge guards going to check how many peoole you are visting, give us a break what a joke

Mute Franny Ando
    Favourite Franny Ando
    Dec 3rd 2021, 6:52 PM

@mark o donovan: No and pubs will just close their doors.
    Let in who they know and carry on as normal.

Mute John Sheahan
    Favourite John Sheahan

It’ll get worse if anything now with people leaving the pubs at 12.

Mute Sean Dalton
    Favourite Sean Dalton
    Dec 3rd 2021, 6:41 PM

What a load of nonsense. A complete waste of time and money. We’ll be paying for this forever more. Just open up and leave it open.

Mute trebloc01
    Favourite trebloc01

The night clubs should have been open all summer

Mute Mags Murphy
    Favourite Mags Murphy
    Dec 3rd 2021, 8:13 PM

delighted to see so many all agreeing that they will do as they please and are done taking direction from the govt

Mute Paul Dolan
    Favourite Paul Dolan
    Dec 3rd 2021, 6:39 PM

Says who?
    They can fk right off

Mute Lee King Buckett
    Dec 3rd 2021, 7:00 PM

@Paul Dolan: Oooh another big rebel!!

Mute Paul Dolan
    Favourite Paul Dolan
    Dec 3rd 2021, 7:23 PM

@Lee King Buckett: yes and I’ll live my life well

Mute Lee King Buckett
    Dec 3rd 2021, 7:42 PM

@Paul Dolan: Great. Do you have to announce it in a super macho way on an Internet comment section?

Mute Paul Dolan
    Favourite Paul Dolan

@Lee King Buckett: yes and at least I’m not ashamed to reveal my real name unlike you

Mute paulruddell
    Favourite paulruddell
    Dec 3rd 2021, 9:43 PM

@Lee King Buckett: you keep chipping away with the same stuff hiding behind your fake profile aiming digs at strangers that you know nothing about. And you want to call other people macho? How ironic

Mute Paul Dolan
    Favourite Paul Dolan
    Dec 3rd 2021, 9:47 PM

@paulruddell: cheers Paul

Mute Alan Kenny
    Favourite Alan Kenny

Are members of Nphet and the Government going to take a reduction in pay for the duration of the restrictions? I think not

Mute mar
    Favourite mar
    Dec 3rd 2021, 6:47 PM

Yeah, sure.

Mute IamEggBot
    Favourite IamEggBot
    Dec 3rd 2021, 6:34 PM

2 wasps can’t share a can of coke at one time, 9 donkeys can stand in 9 fields at one time, talking French will give u skin failure, but have a meaningful Christmas

Mute ⚡ Seánie ⚡
    Favourite ⚡ Seánie ⚡
    Dec 3rd 2021, 7:10 PM

I’ve already nailed the front door shut, stay out the lot of ye.

Mute James Clifford
    Favourite James Clifford
    Dec 3rd 2021, 8:07 PM

They can go f off, its that simple!!!

Mute Anna Carr
    Favourite Anna Carr
    Dec 3rd 2021, 7:50 PM

Well 4 households isn’t too bad. Most families are under four households. Aren’t they?

Mute Damien Mcconnell
    Favourite Damien Mcconnell
    Dec 3rd 2021, 7:41 PM

Only an advisory so

Mute Adam Rekio
    Favourite Adam Rekio
    Dec 3rd 2021, 6:47 PM

I don’t really have an issue with covid passport for gyms etc but I don’t want to be queueing at 6am waiting to get it checked just to get a workout in…

Mute Lee King Buckett

@Adam Rekio: Shouldn’t be an issue for gyms with fixed membership. They should just check the cert on the first visit and mark you off then. It’s not dated so there’s no need to check it on every visit.

Mute Paul Whitehead
    Favourite Paul Whitehead
    Dec 4th 2021, 12:21 AM

Great- it might keep some unwanted relatives at home and stop them eating my quality street and mikados. You know who you are. Now feck Orf.

Mute Paul Carew
    Favourite Paul Carew
    Dec 3rd 2021, 11:10 PM

Maybe this is it, maybe there will be no alien invasion or meteorite, what if this is it, a pandemic that mutates, twist and turns until eventually all that’s left is silence

Mute Hear me now
    Favourite Hear me now
    Dec 4th 2021, 6:14 AM

@Paul Carew: merry Christmas

Mute Kev Mak McClean
    Favourite Kev Mak McClean
    Dec 4th 2021, 6:46 PM

Verbal diarrhoea