You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Christophe Ena/PA

Woman behind failed Paris attack engaged to man who killed priest

The woman, referred to as Sarah H, was also betrothed to a man who killed two police officials in June.

THREE WOMEN BEHIND a thwarted attack near Notre Dame Cathedral were radicalised by Islamic State commanders in Syria, and one had been engaged to an extremist who killed a priest in July, the Paris prosecutor revealed today.

Francois Molins spoke a day after three women were dramatically arrested over the failed attack that centred on a car discovered Sunday morning in central Paris. The car had been abandoned and was loaded with gas canisters. No detonators were found in the car.

“In the last few days and hours a terrorist cell was dismantled, composed of young women totally receptive to the deadly Daesh [Islamic State] ideology,” Molins said.

The women who spearheaded the failed plot included a 19-year-old whose father owned the abandoned Peugeot car. Her written pledge of allegiance to the Islamic State group was found by police, a security official said.

The teen, Ines Madani, stabbed a police officer with a knife and was shot in the leg yesterday evening in a raid south of Paris, police said. She is being treated in a hospital.

Five women and two men have been arrested in the case.

Sarah H’s two fiancés

One of the women detained in a police raid, referred to as Sarah H and who was wearing a veil, was betrothed separately to two French extremists who carried out deadly attacks this year, the Paris prosecutor said.

Sarah H was engaged to Larossi Abballa, who killed two police officials in Magnanville in June and filmed the aftermath on Facebook Live before dying in a police raid.

She was also betrothed to Adel Kermiche, who slit the throat of an elderly French priest during morning Mass in July before being killed by police, Molins added. He didn’t say when she was engaged to either man.

France’s interior minister described the pursuit as “a race against time” to find Madani and the two women with her before they could strike.

A man arrested yesterday also had ties to Abballa, one of the officials said.

“There’s a group that has been annihilated, but there are others,” French President Francois Hollande said today. “Information we were able to get from our intelligence services allowed us to act before it was too late.”

‘Rare and predictable’

A security official, who cannot be identified, said Madani had pulled a knife during the raid outside a small apartment building near the Boussy-Saint-Antoine train station.

In video filmed by a neighbour, a veiled woman, her face uncovered, is seen being carried away by police as she cries out “Allahu Akbar” or “God is the Greatest” in Arabic.

A plot conceived and carried out by a group of women would mark a new step in the Islamic State group’s attempts to sow fear in Europe.

“It’s at the same time rare and predictable,” Matthieu Suc, author of “Wives of Jihadis,” told France Info radio.

Women in the group do not take part in attacks, he said, but are there “to ensure the longevity of the caliphate” by having babies and providing moral support. But, he added, “there are often young girls, who are just as radicalised as the young men, and they also want the status of martyr, and they want to act.”

The car loaded with gas cylinders belonged to Madani’s father, who flagged her to police on Sunday 14 hours after the vehicle was discovered. Since then, authorities have worked frantically to untangle the relationships within the group and thwart what they increasingly feared was another plot.

More than one-third of the nearly 700 French citizens who have reached the war zones of Iraq and Syria are women, according to government figures. And officials have said for months that those being recruited by Islamic State in France are increasingly adolescent girls and young women.

Read: French police officer stabbed as authorities foil attack by three women>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

109 Comments
    Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Sep 9th 2016, 8:14 PM

If I started a cult in which the penalty for leaving the cult was death. Liberals would be jumping up and down in horror….yet they give Islam a pass…..go figure.

Mute Tariq ibn Ziyad
    Favourite Tariq ibn Ziyad
    Sep 9th 2016, 8:42 PM

Far-right Conservatism is a problem alright.

Mute prouesse f
    Favourite prouesse f
    Sep 9th 2016, 8:43 PM

Lol good one!

See 39 more replies ▾
    Mute Tariq ibn Ziyad
    Sep 9th 2016, 9:05 PM

Similarities between Far-Right extremism AND fundamentalist Islam:

1) Homophobia

2) Xenophobia

3) Misogyny (the freedoms won by women in Christian dominated countries have been won by secularists, much to the annoyance of the Far-Right, who would prefer how women are treated under Sharia Law to be the status quo).

4) Cultural homogenity

5) Terrorism

6) Anti-establishment

7) Fascism (the term Islamofascism is derived from the Italian fascism of Mussolini’s dictatorship)

8) Intolerance of other religions

To sum up, the European Extreme Right and Islamic extremism share a xenophobic and anti-establishment ideology and an authoritarian, reactionary strategy. Moreover, they both exploit the population’s discontent regarding the existing economic, social, and political conditions.

Mute prouesse f
    Favourite prouesse f
    Sep 9th 2016, 9:09 PM

spot on!

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Sep 9th 2016, 9:16 PM

That would be correct, Tariq……and I’m against both.
    Why should I give Islam a pass when I would not give Far-right extremism a pass?
    By the way, that list sums up nearly all Islamic countries……so you can see why it’s worrying.

Mute Jan Sobeiski
    Favourite Jan Sobeiski

Islamic child marriage =The largest paedophile ring on the planet.

Mute Jan Sobeiski
    Favourite Jan Sobeiski
    Sep 9th 2016, 9:23 PM

@TIZ, Don’t let the truth get in the way of your taqiyya lies. Fascism – an authoritarian and nationalistic right-wing system of government and social organization. — Islamofascism – Islamic fascism (first described in 1933), also known (since 1990) as Islamofascism, draws analogy between the ideological characteristics of specific Islamist movements and a broad range of European fascist movements of the early 20th century, neofascist movements, or totalitarianism, ie Wahhabism, Salafism.

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Sep 9th 2016, 9:29 PM
    Mute Tariq ibn Ziyad
    Sep 9th 2016, 9:33 PM

Nope, see above.

Mute Motherofdivinejebus
    Favourite Motherofdivinejebus
    Sep 9th 2016, 9:34 PM

So………. I`ll take that as your “haven`t a clue” answer,huh Tariq?

Mute Tariq ibn Ziyad
    Sep 9th 2016, 9:38 PM

He is Chris, he says to say hello to your ma for him.

Mute Chris Cantwell
    Favourite Chris Cantwell
    Sep 9th 2016, 9:45 PM

Why my Ma ? Thought he was only interested in the young ones ?

Mute Tariq ibn Ziyad
    Sep 9th 2016, 9:47 PM

You’ll have to ask her Chris, something to do with horses I think.

Mute Jan Sobeiski
    Favourite Jan Sobeiski
    Sep 9th 2016, 9:47 PM

Your false prophet and his twisted ways are testament… He engaged in paedophilia himself, a pre pubescent Aisha, it is documented in your book of ill, the Koran. https://wikiislam.net/wiki/Islam_and_Pedophilia

Mute Jan Sobeiski
    Favourite Jan Sobeiski
    Sep 9th 2016, 9:48 PM

@TIZ

Mute Jan Sobeiski
    Favourite Jan Sobeiski
    Sep 9th 2016, 9:51 PM

@Tariq..Facts and history, do you deny it?

Mute Tariq ibn Ziyad
    Sep 9th 2016, 9:51 PM

Ah Jan, it’s not a real story, I’ll tell you what is a real story though, paedo cult the RCC in the 21st century http://www.vatileaks.com/vati-leaks/pope-john-paul-iis-international-paedophile-ring-of-catholic-priests

Mute Tariq ibn Ziyad
    Sep 9th 2016, 9:52 PM

Jan, do you believe the stories of Thor and his hammer? LOL!

Mute Chris Cantwell
    Favourite Chris Cantwell
    Sep 9th 2016, 9:52 PM

Your false prophet loves riding horses ? No wonder, he has a winged horse, he wants that extra lift.

Mute Jan Sobeiski
    Favourite Jan Sobeiski
    Sep 9th 2016, 9:58 PM

@Tariq, You have the debating capacity of a child, when faced with facts or questions that surely draw conflict within you, you turn to childish insults and deflection. You truly are pathetic in your ways.

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Sep 9th 2016, 10:04 PM

Funny Tariq….Islam topics set you off in defence mode like a fire cracker….very unusual for an atheist.

Mute prouesse f
    Favourite prouesse f
    Sep 9th 2016, 10:05 PM

@ Jan Are you for real? Calling someone childish after the “comments” you have just come up with, is quite evocative of how far you are from reality.

Mute Jan Sobeiski
    Favourite Jan Sobeiski
    Sep 9th 2016, 10:06 PM

Muslim, atheist, multiple accounts etc.. You should get some help Tariq or whoever you call yourself today.. http://www.samaritans.org/news/free-call-samaritans-ireland

Mute Tariq ibn Ziyad
    Sep 9th 2016, 10:14 PM

Jan, you are claiming the Qu’ran is fact and presenting it as fact, you’re a complete joke!

Sep 9th 2016, 10:18 PM

Tariq, did you forget to switch accounts there because that’s usually Petr’s line … ??

Mute Chris Cantwell
    Favourite Chris Cantwell
    Sep 9th 2016, 10:41 PM

All religions are Shiite Tariq. I take the piss out of them all. No need to cry a tear over a bit of pis taking.

Mute Tariq ibn Ziyad
    Sep 9th 2016, 10:55 PM

For anyone who isn’t aware or familiar, the account, ‘Suzie Sunshine’ is controlled by this radical character Liam Egan in Wexford, a mad fella, read about Suzie / Liam Egan here http://markhumphrys.com/liam.egan.html

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Favourite Fiona Fitzgerald
    Sep 9th 2016, 10:56 PM

Are extremists xenophobic? They seem to snap up recruits from anywhere. Granted, most become cannon-fodder shortly afterwards, but it’s hardly a demonstration of xenophobia to marry your troops off to foreigners, is it? Agree on the other common factors all right, (except the anti-establishment attitude – I reckon the leaders are just jealous that they don’t own all the elections).

Mute Jan Sobeiski
    Favourite Jan Sobeiski
    Sep 9th 2016, 10:56 PM

Are you suggesting the script of your beloved Koran is nothing more than lies?? A book of deception??

Mute Jan Sobeiski
    Favourite Jan Sobeiski
    Sep 9th 2016, 11:04 PM

Why are you getting so defensive Tariq /Liam/Petr? Is the mask slipping?

Mute Joey_Westland
    Favourite Joey_Westland
    Sep 9th 2016, 11:20 PM

@Tariq
    ‘Suzie is Liam Egan’?
    Seriously man, are you off your rocker with that comparison. There is absolutely not one iota of comparison between Suzie’s contributions and Liam Egan’s.
    Chalk and cheese doesn’t even come close.

Sep 9th 2016, 11:25 PM

Tariq , ye nobody buys that line .. it’s boring now .you on the other hand have an account that’s says you are a proud Muslim .. Petr always claims that he’s an atheist .. now you’re saying you are an atheist … you’ve slipped and proved that you are the same person .. funny really

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Sep 9th 2016, 11:31 PM

Joey……..Tariq….Petr….and Liam are the same person….to deflect he often calls a rival ‘Liam Egan’ to try to deflect from himself.
    Usually he uses the Petr account to use that sad tactic….but he’s getting confused while switching between accounts.

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Sep 9th 2016, 11:33 PM

LOL….just read that back Joey, and I make it appear as if you part of his accounts……sorry!
    You know what I mean….Joey’s clean.

Mute Joey_Westland
    Favourite Joey_Westland
    Sep 9th 2016, 11:43 PM

@Al Ca.
    Haha….thanks a lot buddy…….fcuk Spartacus….I am Joey.

Sep 9th 2016, 11:45 PM

Joey , it’s just a distraction that’s all .. Tariq / Petr has spent ages on here talking to himself and replying to himself .. poor thing. .

Mute Tariq ibn Ziyad
    Sep 9th 2016, 11:50 PM

@Al Ca.
    Haha….thanks a lot buddy…….fcuk Spartacus….I am Joey.

Mute Joey Westland
    Favourite Joey Westland
    Sep 10th 2016, 12:12 AM

Soz Al Ca and my sis Suzie, as you can see by my accidental double post #JeSuisTariq !! Please forgive me…..

Sep 10th 2016, 12:53 AM

Lol !

Mute Joey_Westland
    Favourite Joey_Westland
    Sep 10th 2016, 1:38 AM

Fake account.

Mute Bob McShane
    Favourite Bob McShane
    Sep 10th 2016, 2:48 AM

Thor rocks! Big hammer, lightning, rockin! Got his own comic, not ashamed to show his face either!

Mute Patrick Watson
    Favourite Patrick Watson
    Sep 9th 2016, 8:09 PM

Trump right again, the families all have to go as well.

Mute Malachi
    Favourite Malachi
    Sep 9th 2016, 8:11 PM

Trump has stated on record that he thinks the families (women, children) of terrorists should be killed.

Do you agree with that?

Mute Helga Pataki
    Favourite Helga Pataki
    Sep 9th 2016, 8:14 PM

YES

See 28 more replies ▾
    Mute Margie Murph
    Favourite Margie Murph
    Sep 9th 2016, 8:16 PM

These sewer rats should be terminated with extreme prejudice. All of them. And their families should be sent back to wherever they came from. Keeping Europeans safe should be top priority. Can’t understand why it is not.

Mute The spokesman
    Favourite The spokesman
    Sep 9th 2016, 8:16 PM

@patrick, I said it at the time. His whole family and friends should have been rounded up and either executed or parachuted into Aleppo. I got lots of abuse for it but I now turn out to be right. Not unlike Mr trump.

Mute The spokesman
    Favourite The spokesman
    Sep 9th 2016, 8:18 PM

@Margie, thankfully for people like ourselves and Patrick Watson et el, we can see through the liberal bullshit and call it as it is. The liberals will be defeated by people like us and from the ashes conservatism will arise.

Mute Margie Murph
    Favourite Margie Murph
    Sep 9th 2016, 8:22 PM

Spokesman. The backlash is happening. my views were “uncool” a few years ago. Not anymore, more and more people are starting to see sense. I just hope it won’t be too late to turn the tide when the population of Europe finally says Enough!

Mute Phil Hegarty
    Favourite Phil Hegarty
    Sep 9th 2016, 8:24 PM

YES

Mute Malachi
    Favourite Malachi
    Sep 9th 2016, 8:26 PM

There are people here who would support killing the *children* of Islamic terrorists?

Good to know. At least you’re honest.

Mute Margie Murph
    Favourite Margie Murph
    Sep 9th 2016, 8:27 PM

Has he Malachi. Have you a link because I find that hard to believe.

Mute Malachi
    Favourite Malachi
    Sep 9th 2016, 8:29 PM

Sure Margie.

http://edition.cnn.com/2015/12/02/politics/donald-trump-terrorists-families/

He later claimed that he didn’t say this, of course, presumably because advocating the slaughter of innocent children and others is a bit tasteless.

Mute John Clark
    Favourite John Clark
    Sep 9th 2016, 8:32 PM

Ah c’mon not all of them.

Mute Chris
    Favourite Chris
    Sep 9th 2016, 8:35 PM

Trump would etadicate ISIS on e and for all , much to the chagrin of Israel, Saudi Arabia, UK, snd Hilary Clinton.

Mute Rumpelstiltskin
    Favourite Rumpelstiltskin
    Sep 9th 2016, 8:41 PM

Your heroic deeds will never be forgotten Spokesman. You’re sounding Churchillian. “We shall fight on the beaches, we shall fight on the landing grounds,in the fields and in the comments section of the Journal”

Mute Tariq ibn Ziyad
    Sep 9th 2016, 8:44 PM

LOL! The spokesman strikes fear into the heart of ISIS, dealing them fatal blow after fatal blow with every comment he posts on The Journal! Talk about deluded.

Mute prouesse f
    Favourite prouesse f
    Sep 9th 2016, 8:48 PM

@ margie remember step two: it’s not cool to be stupid.

Mute prouesse f
    Favourite prouesse f
    Sep 9th 2016, 9:03 PM

@margie
    You are always asking people for sources…
    Could you please answer a few questions that I asked before?

http://www.thejournal.ie/profile/429717/charlemargiewould-mind-answering-questions-change-instead-hiding-coward-5436275/

Mute Tariq ibn Ziyad
    Sep 9th 2016, 9:08 PM

Margie, a classic run and hide extremist.

Mute prouesse f
    Favourite prouesse f
    Sep 9th 2016, 9:10 PM

yep

Mute prouesse f
    Favourite prouesse f
    Sep 9th 2016, 9:14 PM

@Tariq
    she/he calls her/himself an islamophobe, i.e. someone who is capable of hating a population because of their religious belief.

Mute Tariq ibn Ziyad
    Sep 9th 2016, 9:26 PM

Margie is drawing up his Final Solution for all Muslims prouesse, warped.

Mute The spokesman
    Favourite The spokesman
    Sep 9th 2016, 9:26 PM

It’s the beginning of the end of the beginning for liberal Europe. Conservatism will rise up and all liberals and terrorist will be defeated both on the streets and in the parliaments of Europe. We are seeing an end to the united states if Europe.

Mute Tariq ibn Ziyad

Liberal Europe, the period between the end of the Second World War and today. Conservative Europe, 1939-1945, can’t wait to see what you guys do this time!

Mute Marlowemallow
    Favourite Marlowemallow
    Sep 9th 2016, 9:34 PM

There are disputes within Islamic fundamentalism about how fast one should go. Some are impatient, others prefer to wait and work slowly and politically towards the same goals.But the end of IS will not be the end of radical Islam in any way. The current revival of fundamentalist Islam has been going on for decades now around the globe and hundreds of jihadist groups are involved.

Mute Tariq ibn Ziyad
    Sep 9th 2016, 9:41 PM

What’s it been like being inside ISIS Marlowemallow? Would you consider writing an article for The Journal on why you joined ISIS and when and how you’re going to execute the above plan?

Mute Margie Murph
    Favourite Margie Murph
    Sep 9th 2016, 9:43 PM

Thanks Malachi. unfortunately Trump opens gob before engaging brain. But. I Would vote for him because he doesn’t deny that the problem IS Islam and thereby the first step in tackling the problem is taken.

Mute Bramley Hawthorne
    Favourite Bramley Hawthorne
    Sep 9th 2016, 10:03 PM

No, he didn’t.

Mute prouesse f
    Favourite prouesse f
    Sep 9th 2016, 10:10 PM

@ margie You surely know about “opening gob before engaging brain”. You are not even capable of answering a few questions. And if I’m not mistaken, Trump started his campaign by targeting the Mexicans.

Mute The spokesman
    Favourite The spokesman
    Sep 9th 2016, 10:43 PM

@TIZ, there’s only so many ways to redress the imbalance of liberalism.

Mute Tariq ibn Ziyad
    Sep 9th 2016, 10:58 PM

Oops! You thought you were posting from your Jan Sobieski account ‘The spokesman’, didn’t you? LOL! F__king amateur.

Mute Marlowemallow
    Favourite Marlowemallow
    Sep 10th 2016, 7:27 AM

John, your definition of modern and attractive isn’t everyone’s you know. In fact large numbers of people worldwide don’t particularly like western Europe’s concept of modernity. Saudi Arabia, Qatar, Iran and Dubai support Islamism and they are very wealthy states. What you call modernity is not the inevitable end point of history. Other cultures and people will follow their own course. History has no direction.

Mute Phil Hegarty
    Favourite Phil Hegarty
    Sep 9th 2016, 8:33 PM

Here we have what the left would call eu citizens, human beings and how they have the same rights as the rests of us.
    That’s bollux, these Muslims couldn’t give a monkeys about the indigenous Europeans or our culture should be shown the door sooner rather than later

Mute prouesse f
    Favourite prouesse f
    Sep 9th 2016, 9:07 PM

“these Muslims bla bla bla” That’s just another prejudice.

The left are only here to remind you that every body has the same rights. Including you.

Mute Phil Hegarty
    Favourite Phil Hegarty
    Sep 9th 2016, 9:12 PM

I’m not sure you would be saying that if and when they try pulling stunts in Ireland

Mute potnoodle
    Favourite potnoodle
    Sep 9th 2016, 9:28 PM

Here here

Mute prouesse f
    Favourite prouesse f
    Sep 9th 2016, 10:02 PM

@ Jan when did I say “terrorists are great”. That’s pretty nasty to spit such lie.

Mute Tweed Cap
    Favourite Tweed Cap
    Sep 9th 2016, 8:17 PM

In some regards it’s a positive that all these toe rags are related and connected. It indicates that this a close knit and small affair mostly kids and brain washed amateurs. For now at least. Well done to the cops.

Sep 9th 2016, 8:30 PM

If ISIS is resorting to using women now they must be in the death throes. It’s not ideal that women are now their representatives. There is no equality in ISIS, women are property.

Mute Mary Murphy
    Favourite Mary Murphy
    Sep 9th 2016, 8:18 PM

What?? There’s no court case so we can comment?

Mute Bigus Diccus
    Favourite Bigus Diccus
    Sep 9th 2016, 8:21 PM

“To jaw-jaw is always better than to war-war”

We need to start having a conversation soon.

Mute Chris Cantwell
    Favourite Chris Cantwell
    Sep 9th 2016, 8:39 PM
    Mute Billy Larkin
    Favourite Billy Larkin
    Sep 9th 2016, 9:09 PM

Chris Cantwell, I thought it was the waterford Whispers.

Mute Chris Cantwell
    Favourite Chris Cantwell
    Sep 9th 2016, 9:15 PM

I had to recheck first, thought it was myself

Mute Tariq ibn Ziyad
    Sep 9th 2016, 9:39 PM

Gas!

Mute KingBen
    Favourite KingBen
    Sep 9th 2016, 11:23 PM

Mental health gone mainstream in Europe. I feel sorry for people who actually have mental health issues. Not those who are excused in the media to hide Islam extremism. I know I’m a racist for making excuses. I’m tired of that excuse, can you call me anything else that I’m not. The answer is no.

Mute debco
    Favourite debco
    Sep 9th 2016, 11:37 PM

She wasn’t “radicalised” in Syria she chose to go there and join..

Mute David Mac Shite
    Favourite David Mac Shite

So we start executing the extended families of terrorists?????
    Why stop there, sure we may as well burn the ghettos from where they came.
    In fact, we could extend this action to a type of final solution where we round them up and put them in camps until we can “process” them.
    Why didn’t anyone think of this before.

These are the logical and barbaric conclusions of the thought process that accepts the killing of families who themselves have done no wrong.

How does that make you any different to those you dispise?

Mute Malachi
    Favourite Malachi
    Sep 9th 2016, 8:55 PM

It’s not shite. He’s spot on. Anyone who advocates the murder of innocent children because they have the misfortune of being related to an Islamic terrorist is a malicious fool.

Mute Robbie Moles
    Favourite Robbie Moles
    Sep 9th 2016, 9:10 PM

That’s a great point!! Not sympathising with them at all but guilt by association is wrong!!! How many Irish people were tortured and imprissoned purely because they were Irish!!!! Not every Muslim is a mad fuking lunatic jihadi!!!

Mute David Mc Shite
    Favourite David Mc Shite
    Sep 9th 2016, 9:21 PM

Well Michael….
    What can I say to such a genius level response to my post.
    The skill you displayed in dissecting each of my points and exposing my foolishness is breathtaking.
    Counterpoint after counterpoint you delivered in waves of logic and reason.
    I’m on the floor unable to argue against such a worthy opponent.
    David Mc Shite talking Shite…….. Churchillian stuff.
    You are obviously a Master Debater.
    Tell me….. Was it Harvard or Berkeley that fashioned such a mind?

You had me at Appropriate………

Mute Marlowemallow
    Favourite Marlowemallow
    Sep 9th 2016, 9:56 PM

Punishing innocent people, especially children, for the crimes of their relatives is wrong, very wrong.

But, that’s exactly what Russia has done with its fundamentalists in Chechnya and elsewhere. In the short term it has been effective although it stores up long term resentment of course. The Russians did lower themselves close to the ethical standards of the jihadists but not quite to the level of Beslan.

And in the case of Russia it has not in fact ended in concentration camps. A repressive, dictatorial regime uninterested in human rights, yes, but not the Holocaust Part 2. We need to stop imposing that historical framework on everything.

I’m pointing this out not in support of such a strategy. It’s simply that those who oppose it will in future need to address these kinds of proposals head on and relying on the slippery slope to gas chambers argument won’t work because it’s not necessarily true. Nor will arguments that it’s ineffective, in the short term, because the unpleasant evidence from Russia is that it does work.

Would-be religious martyrs are not your average opponent. Threats against their families are one tactic that has been proven to cause them to reconsider. That’s why most Chechen jihadists are now in places like Syria, Kosovo, Libya and Austria.

The most civilized way to avoid following the Russian example would be to actually investigate all adult family members of the jihadists. In many cases it has become clear that they knew or must have known something of what their relative was planning.

But they’re not being investigated properly and that is why one of these women was still at large despite being the fiance of one of the priest-killers. If states fail to investigate and prosecute such people as being complicit in treason, calls for more barbaric measures will only increase.

Mute O-'Seán
    Favourite O-'Seán
    Sep 10th 2016, 1:27 AM

Nawww violent jihad, see its a family affair! OUT!!

Mute Fintan Oflaois
    Favourite Fintan Oflaois
    Sep 10th 2016, 8:39 AM

She ought to be locked up for good.

However, murdering the families of criminals – no matter how vile those criminals are – is in itself murder. If you can get away with this, why stop there?

Anyone who advocates killing persons who have not committed any crimes, men, women and children, or supports demagogues like Trump who boasts of his willingness to do so, is not fighting the terrorists, but joining them.

I know it’s just losers blowing off steam on the Internet, but indulging in such sick fantasies cannot be good for you in the longer term.

Mute Screaming Toddy
    Favourite Screaming Toddy
    Sep 10th 2016, 11:33 AM

Send them back to the ISIS camp in Syria. Drop them out of the plane without a parachute.

Mute Brian Mc Grath
    Favourite Brian Mc Grath
    Sep 10th 2016, 12:05 AM

You cannot just kill all these peoples families nor can you ship them back to Aleppo . Have we not learned from our previous mistakes that this is exactly what they want, (a paranoid Europe ) they want to see us broken. We must not drop to their level and execute them or send them into a war zone as then we are just as bad. These people are a small minority who need mental help not being bullied just like (trump wants to do) attempting to kill these people or send them away only aggravates the situation.

Mute Dubabroad
    Favourite Dubabroad
    Sep 10th 2016, 1:29 PM

So the wimmins want to be martyrs too…. What the fluch is she going to so with her promised 72 Virgins, play world of warcraft and watch Star Trek every day??

Mute Gunnarsahn
    Favourite Gunnarsahn

fairly rubbish attack not even any detonators

Mute Joey_Westland
    Favourite Joey_Westland
    Sep 9th 2016, 8:49 PM

Red Brigade they are not.
    Anyway, It’s the thought that counts.

Mute John003
    Favourite John003

ISIL will soon come to an end when Raqa their capital falls
    Even former friends Saudi Arabia and Turkey have gone against then now
    Trump and Hillary are a bit behind the curve with plans to defeat ISIL
    Raqa will have fallen by next January

Mute Marlowemallow
    Favourite Marlowemallow

That won’t particularly dent the activities of European IS members or IS in Bangladesh, Libya, the Sinai, Afghanistan, Nigeria etc. And even if or when IS is gone, another similar group will take its place. Just as IS replaced Al Qaeda.

Mute Tariq ibn Ziyad
    Sep 9th 2016, 9:37 PM

Scaremongering rubbish, reminiscent of Orwell’s ‘perpetual war’. I’d say you have your lad in your hand thinking about it.

Mute Leighanna Rose
    Favourite Leighanna Rose
    Sep 9th 2016, 10:20 PM

I like how this is news but god forbid we hear about what’s happening in Aleppo etc.

Subtle white/western supremacy.

Mute Marlowemallow
    Favourite Marlowemallow
    Sep 9th 2016, 11:12 PM

There’s a bit more of an issue with getting reports from Aleppo as opposed to France Leighanna. By all means volunteer to travel there as a reporter to provide us with regular and accurate news reports if you’d like to see that situation redressed.