You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Paul Murphy describes Tubridy interview as 'exercise in badgering'

The interview was criticised by many of Murphy’s supporters.

PAUL MURPHY HAS described the Late Late Show interview he did with Ryan Tubridy as “an exercise in badgering”.

The Anti-Austerity Alliance TD made the comments on Facebook after queries about one section in the interview, where he was asked about the ‘midget parasite’ comments directed at President Michael D Higgins.

The interview was broadcast on Friday night, and within minutes was trending on Twitter:

During the interview, Murphy discussed his private life, water charge protests, and media appearances.

paul tubs 2 Late Late Show Late Late Show

Last night, he described the interview as “an exercise in badgering and trying to make me responsible for things that are nothing to do with me”, which he said left him “frustrated”.

“Anyway, live and learn,” concluded Deputy Murphy.

RTÉ said it would not be commenting on Paul Murphy’s comments.

Read: Some people were very unhappy about Ryan Tubridy’s interview with Paul Murphy>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

208 Comments
    Mute Niamh McDonald
    Favourite Niamh McDonald
    Feb 22nd 2015, 10:25 AM

Extremely disappointing “interview” with Paul Murphy. Ryan Tubridy came across so unprofessional it was uncomfortable viewing. It was very clear that Tubridy did not agree with Murphys views but he should have showed a bit of respect and allowed him express himself. Disappointed yet not surprised !!

Mute Snorri Sturleson
    Favourite Snorri Sturleson
    Feb 22nd 2015, 10:31 AM

Tubs was a mission for master as was Sean Moncrieff on New stalk during the week all singing from the masters hymn book. The truth will set you free but NOT in Irish journalist circles as they are paid vassels of the right.

Mute Richard Sweeney
    Favourite Richard Sweeney
    Feb 22nd 2015, 10:36 AM

What did Moncrieff do?

Mute mickmc
    Favourite mickmc
    Feb 22nd 2015, 10:39 AM

Is it wrong to challenge the man? Surely if tub asked him easy questions he be criticised for giving him to much of a easy interview as has happened in the past. I thought it was a good interview and I’ve learned alot about Paul Murphy as a result

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Feb 22nd 2015, 10:44 AM

Mick there’s asking the right questions that are hard to answer then there’s sitting someone through your own smear campaign where you try to connect one to things he’s already critiqued. Ryan played dumb on numerous occasions and gave a tabloid style response to everything. Embarrassing considering his bloated wage.

Mute Tara Wilson-Black
    Favourite Tara Wilson-Black
    Feb 22nd 2015, 10:49 AM

It would be great if Tubs challenged Bertie, Cowan, Shatter, Joan, Denis and Enda like that. Ireland would be a much fairer society. One line of questioning for the rich and another for the not so rich.

Mute mickmc
    Favourite mickmc
    Feb 22nd 2015, 10:52 AM

Well I for one had not heard him critiquing it before. As I said I learned alot about Paul Murphy. While I don’t agree with his policies I came away from the interview perhaps begrudgingly admiring the man. That for me wouldn’t have happened if it wasn’t for the “badgering”

Mute Snorri Sturleson
    Feb 22nd 2015, 11:01 AM

Moncrieff was defending editors against the influence from owners and advertisers on the integrity of what they print. It was in relation to The Telegraph losing a journalist honesty. Moncrieff said hand on heart an editor never would bow to pressure from above. Neither owner nor advrtising company ever sullied the vertues of and print column. One could not but laugh.

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Feb 22nd 2015, 11:07 AM

Fox news always beeing the perfect example of when owners go full propeganda mode

Mute Michael Fagan
    Favourite Michael Fagan
    Feb 22nd 2015, 11:13 AM

There is a vast difference between a trained journalist and a microphone holder

Mute Ross McNulty
    Favourite Ross McNulty
    Feb 22nd 2015, 2:29 PM

You should try and find the interview he did with Julian Mercille about his book on the media’s role in framing the financial crisis. Talk about going into defense mode! Mercille suggested that journalists should not be complicit in what amounts to right wing media bias and actually uphold the principles of objectivity and balance rather than perpetuating a market centric view of the crisis and chose who they work for accordingly. Needless to say Sean was not impressed, considering who he works for.

Mute Michael Mclaughlin
    Favourite Michael Mclaughlin
    Feb 22nd 2015, 10:37 AM

I’m no fan of Paul Murphy and I don’t have a problem with the interview but I cannot understand why our Taoiseach has not been interviewed in the same way. Please please someone on RTE interrogate him in the same way then everyone would see what a bumbling fool he is!!!

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Feb 22nd 2015, 10:48 AM

You have no issue with ryan connecting paul to an incident which he has already denannounced but ryan pretends he hasn’t? An incident that has 0 to do with Paul murphy.

Or the jobstown video taken out of context where ryan trys to paint paul as the ringleader when really he was asked by the gardai to say such things?

Mute Michael Mclaughlin
    Feb 22nd 2015, 11:14 AM

Of course he should be asked about those issues. In fact I believe Paul dealt with the questions very well and made tubridy look like the fool. My problem is that no fg/lab politicians get grilled in this way, especially Joan burton or Enda.

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Feb 22nd 2015, 11:39 AM

Well said Michael. I feel ryan has no place doing these interview anyway given what the late late is. Claire Bryne and rtept however have no excuses

Mute Anthony Lang
    Favourite Anthony Lang
    Feb 22nd 2015, 12:29 PM

The basis of some of the questions posed by Tubridy was false. Incorrect assumptions were made as a basis of unfair questioning.

Tubridy’s agenda was obvious.

Mute ciaran clarke
    Favourite ciaran clarke
    Feb 22nd 2015, 12:57 PM

He lashed into cowen when he was in power,
    I’d also like to see burton and enda get the same type of interview.

Mute Wexford pikeman
    Favourite Wexford pikeman
    Feb 22nd 2015, 6:27 PM

Would the journal explain why a perfectly heart felt comment i made about the National broadcaster was in itself censored by this freedom of speech website ?????????

Mute Tim sheen
    Favourite Tim sheen
    Feb 22nd 2015, 6:46 PM

If Enda is a bumbling fool tell me who should be in power?? I am not a political person but he was handed a pretty f…ing bad situation and dealt with it…Water is not free we buy it in shops all the time….could have handled it better but what is done is done… people like Paul Murphy need shite like this so they can moan….GET ON WITH IT FOR F##K SAKE

Mute Michael Mclaughlin
    Feb 22nd 2015, 7:05 PM

I already pay for water. The problem is irish water. Its not done, not by a long way. Fg are burying their heads in the sand if they think its done. As for Enda? Come on open your eyes, he wont take part in a debate or an open interview, i think dustin had more between the ears. He is running scared.

Mute Anthony Lang
    Favourite Anthony Lang
    Feb 22nd 2015, 10:32 PM

You can complain to

Complaints@rte.ie

If you wish.

Mute Vincent O Mahony
    Favourite Vincent O Mahony
    Feb 23rd 2015, 12:27 AM

Thanks Anthony. I just complained. Referenced a number of the points on here including Ryan making false arguments and not interviewing the cretins that sold us into debt slavery in the same way. And why do we have to pay a license fee to listen to FG propaganda anyway, can get plenty of it on here for free.

Mute Tweeter
    Favourite Tweeter
    Feb 24th 2015, 6:48 PM
    Mute fuve
    Favourite fuve
    Feb 22nd 2015, 10:22 AM

I was not Murphy supporter previously. I critisised the interogation( not an interview) and I believe many more who are not supporters critisised it. So please don’t just say his supporters are only ones who thought it was out right unprofessional and biased.

Mute Andrea Brown
    Favourite Andrea Brown
    Feb 22nd 2015, 11:23 AM

I agree. I consider Murphy to one person I would never vote for, but the interview was a clear attempt at discrediting Murphy.

That was a political interview and most likely it will backfire.

Mute Don Juan
    Favourite Don Juan
    Feb 22nd 2015, 1:09 PM

Come on!!! That was the interviewing equivalent of being savaged by a sheep!

Mute Deaglán O'Ceirín
    Favourite Deaglán O'Ceirín
    Feb 23rd 2015, 7:21 AM

You’re referring to Enda Kenny on Prime Time?

Mute Jason Ebbs
    Favourite Jason Ebbs
    Feb 22nd 2015, 10:23 AM

I work in RTE and I was disgusted at the interview. To be asked about your father dying when Paul was so young to a second later been interrogated. It was like Tubs was softening him up. I’d say Paul Murphy thought he was back in the interrogation room in the Garda station.

Mute Anthony Lang
    Favourite Anthony Lang
    Feb 22nd 2015, 12:35 PM

Jason, it looked as if Tubridy took on a self appointed role of grand inquisitor of Murphy.

It will be interesting to see if RTE takes any action against Tubridy over his gross abuse of power.

Mute mrgillhouley
    Favourite mrgillhouley
    Feb 22nd 2015, 1:24 PM

Id vote to give tubs a pay rise, he became a hero of the irish people the way he faced down the thug

Mute Purple hair
    Favourite Purple hair
    Feb 22nd 2015, 2:10 PM

go and do your homework gillhouley theres a good lad

Mute Jason Ebbs
    Favourite Jason Ebbs
    Feb 22nd 2015, 7:15 PM

Agree 100% Anthony.

Mute Pauliebhoy
    Favourite Pauliebhoy
    Feb 22nd 2015, 10:19 AM

From some of the comments I seen there were quite a few non Murphy supporters critisizing it too

Mute Stuart Keogh
    Favourite Stuart Keogh
    Feb 22nd 2015, 12:11 PM

I don’t like Murphy but there was a clear bias direction that Ryan was steering that interview into

Mute Christy Nolan
    Favourite Christy Nolan
    Feb 22nd 2015, 12:25 PM

Stubbs showed Murphy a video of ISIS to try and get a reaction. It has been verified by a RTE member of staff.
    Another member of rte staff is frightened of losing his job if he reveals what happened to O’Connor.
    A member of the audience has stated that they were told not to interact (applaud) with Murphy.
    The audience were told what questions to put to certain panel members during election debates.
    It’s time for a clear out at RTE. Why does the ombudsman turn a blind eye or have they been hijacked by vested interests?

Mute Anthony Lang
    Favourite Anthony Lang
    Feb 22nd 2015, 10:28 PM
    Mute An Ciarraioch
    Favourite An Ciarraioch
    Feb 22nd 2015, 10:23 AM

It was cheap junk Journalism on RTE’s and Tubridy’s part .
    But Murphy did excellently .

Contrast the interview, with the soft one between Enda and Miriam O’Callaghan?

Double standards, are par for the course in Labour Party dominated RTE !

Mute mrgillhouley
    Favourite mrgillhouley
    Feb 22nd 2015, 10:35 AM

Did ya watch adams reading directly off the pages for his supposed ‘interview’- all too tragic for the shiners.

Id say derek will be feeling the pinch this morning, my grandmother used to say hunger is a good sauce :D

Mute Declan
    Favourite Declan
    Feb 22nd 2015, 11:16 AM

Ahhh gilfooly rain keeping ya off the swings

Mute stephen
    Favourite stephen
    Feb 22nd 2015, 11:20 AM

He’s taken a break from his Xbox.

Mute An Ciarraioch
    Favourite An Ciarraioch
    Feb 22nd 2015, 11:39 AM

Mrgillhouley – Your reference to “The SHINERS” – hic methinks you have that recurring Blueshirt Virus of – Gerryphobia again – You are not taking your Meds , Mrgillhouley – Hahahahahahaha

The Article incidentally – concerns Paul Murphy TD & his treatment by State Broadcaster RTE – Mrgillhouley ?????

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Feb 22nd 2015, 12:12 PM

stephen, gillfooley and his mate Summer Bay were both patrolling the threads before 7am this morning …. you would think they should still be keeping each other warn in bed.

Mute Anthony Lang
    Favourite Anthony Lang
    Feb 22nd 2015, 12:36 PM

Dave Doyle, thanks for the chuckle!

Mute mrgillhouley
    Favourite mrgillhouley
    Feb 22nd 2015, 1:25 PM

#JeSuisPeckish

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Feb 22nd 2015, 2:01 PM

gillfooley, where’s Summer Bay, he’d have something to put in your mouth.

Mute Snorri Sturleson
    Feb 22nd 2015, 10:26 AM

Rte would be commenting of course not. How can one defend the undefendable. RTE are in the pocket of the government ever since Rabbitte threatened the removal of the licence. Compare Miriam OC with Enda to Tubs with Murphy to see who has their hand on the leash. FG had through a good friend Gemma O’Dogherty silenced. The rabbit silenced RTE and the O’Dogherty incident had the NUJ snivelling in the corner as their new master exercises the whip. So free press, investigative journalism and truth all safely suppressed.

Mute Exit Stage Left
    Favourite Exit Stage Left
    Feb 22nd 2015, 10:32 AM

So when SF get into government, as their supporters assert, rte will be jn their pocket?

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins

No rte will be reformed. Whether rte are in the pockets of gov is another discussion but naturally if you earn 400,000 a year taxpayers money you will be scared of people like Sinn Fein or the socialist party who wish you to be paid fairly. Certainly not 400,000. For that reason presenters have a natural inclination to fear the rise of these parties. Give them what they deserve and watch as the careerists drop off.

Mute Exit Stage Left
    Favourite Exit Stage Left
    Feb 22nd 2015, 10:45 AM

The market decides what’s fair in terms of salaries and packages.

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Feb 22nd 2015, 10:52 AM

Alright well let’s reform the market then seen as large proportion of the market is state regulated and in rtes case state owned.

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Feb 22nd 2015, 10:58 AM

Rte at operating loss by the way it needs to reform

Mute von
    Favourite von
    Feb 22nd 2015, 11:05 AM

@Snorri, i hope we get a government in the next GE that will take that licence away from Rte

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Feb 22nd 2015, 11:08 AM

Currently I refuse to pay. If reformed maybe. That’s a debate I look forward to rte covering impartially (laughs to self…)

Mute Snorri Sturleson
    Feb 22nd 2015, 12:50 PM

Yes and break the mogul strangle hold on media outlets

Mute Padraig Looby
    Favourite Padraig Looby
    Feb 22nd 2015, 1:58 PM

Is there anything you do pay for?

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Feb 22nd 2015, 2:54 PM

Yes I work and pay tax.

Mute Matt Mcloughlin
    Favourite Matt Mcloughlin
    Feb 23rd 2015, 7:35 AM

the market does not set salaries at Rte because it is funded by taxpayers money. the sheeple are required to pay a licence fee to pay obscene amounts to limited talents such as tubridy and for the opportunity to watch gems such as multiple reruns of “reeling in the years”, “Ireland’s fittest families” and “network premieres” of gladiator

Mute Mark Gerard Lochlain
    Favourite Mark Gerard Lochlain
    Feb 22nd 2015, 10:32 AM

Tubridy is a dick

Mute Billy Mulvihill
    Favourite Billy Mulvihill
    Feb 22nd 2015, 10:35 AM

I think Tubrity should be forced to explain the showing of the ISIS video after the show to Paul’
    ,,,,,we are paying his wages and should know what he and RTE are thinking and why it’s all one sided.
    It’s obvious to me he knew he lost the plot during the interview.

Mute Anthony Lang
    Favourite Anthony Lang
    Feb 22nd 2015, 10:41 AM

Yes, Tubridy got totally carried away. His demeanour was odd. The blood was up. It was a highly unprofessional interview.

Mute von
    Favourite von
    Feb 22nd 2015, 11:11 AM

I don’t watch the late late what were the audience like did they react at all.

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Feb 22nd 2015, 11:58 AM

Von,
    The audience were told not to react with Paul Murphy or they would be thrown out!!!! Says it all really!

Mute Vincent O Mahony
    Favourite Vincent O Mahony
    Feb 23rd 2015, 12:31 AM

Maybe Turdidy wants to move into politics as his next career step. Minister of blueshirt propaganda. Needs to prove his ability as a bullsh*tter first.

Mute Jason
    Favourite Jason
    Feb 22nd 2015, 10:20 AM

Poor little rich boy feeling bullied? But then bullies never like it when the shoe is on the other foot.

Mute Hevin Bear Kiggins
    Favourite Hevin Bear Kiggins
    Feb 22nd 2015, 10:24 AM

Hardly going to feel sorry for ryan he’s on 500,000 a year

Mute richard curry
    Favourite richard curry

Tubridy is a useless presenter and interviewer, should not be on TV, hate him.

Mute Martin Byrne
    Favourite Martin Byrne
    Feb 22nd 2015, 5:19 PM

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N44fUo_S5mY Check out how useless you need to be to earn more than Obama and Cameron combined in RTE. This is Tubridy the civil servant showing how bad he really is.

Mute Derek Richardson
    Favourite Derek Richardson
    Feb 22nd 2015, 10:27 AM

Its not just tubridy everyone of the rte staff current affairs and newsmedia are gov trained to keep the people under the propaganda thumb also including uncle joe

Mute Paudi Onail
    Favourite Paudi Onail
    Feb 22nd 2015, 12:50 PM

well thats it. a dying horse, trying everything now at this stage to change publics minds. their remaining believers in the age group 60+, what are they going to do when they’re all gone? will they move on to net control like China? wouldn’t surprise me but they’re at nothing. the new breed are too savvy for their old party politics.

woeful carry on by the state machine on its last legs. as i said, desperate measures for a desperate machine so not surprised and yes contrast this one with the miriam soft chat on enda and you can see right away the dirt for all it is.

Mute ciaran mccall
    Favourite ciaran mccall
    Feb 22nd 2015, 1:33 PM

I see Gene Kerrigan from the Indo is “on leave”, I really would have liked to read his take on the weekends charm fest

Mute ted hagan
    Favourite ted hagan
    Feb 22nd 2015, 1:54 PM

Yes, the Finucane show is like you’re interrupting an old pals’ get-together with all the politicians on it and the predictable ‘shure aren’t we all to blame for the crash’ pat on the back stuff.

Mute Sean Spillane
    Favourite Sean Spillane
    Feb 22nd 2015, 10:43 AM

Tubridy (yes he of the crony Fianna Fail family that has f@cked this country) 0 Murphy 1

Mute Alan O'connor
    Favourite Alan O'connor

Does he EVER stop moaning.

Of his ilk ever got into power you’d see some protests from ordinary working people who would be fleeced even more so to keep the welfare classes in the manner to which they have been accustomed.

Won’t be paying for that Paul. I find that as morally objectionable as you do water charges so naturally enough you’ll be happy to let me off.

Clown.

Mute Shaun Gallagher
    Favourite Shaun Gallagher

Here here

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins

So you have an assumption more money is lost through welfare than it is through avoiding/evasion of tax at top of society? you should give pikety a read

Mute Anthony Lang
    Favourite Anthony Lang
    Feb 22nd 2015, 10:34 AM

Kevin, you make a serious and valid point.

Legal tax avoidance and illegal but widespread tax evasion, facilitated by banks such as HSBC, result in massive losses to the Irish Exchequer.

A certain telco “entrepreneur” made a fortune off the award of a licence and exploited foreign residence to avoid Capital Gains Tax. This is just one small example.

Compared to Aggressive tax planning and widespread evasion, improper Social welfare claims are a drop in the ocean.

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Feb 22nd 2015, 10:40 AM

Anthony you more than validated my point thank you. This assumption we need to look down to fund money is laughable when all the wealth is at the top

Mute William Boyd
    Favourite William Boyd
    Feb 22nd 2015, 10:53 AM

And most of their wealth doesn’t even remain in the country of its origin, but in private off shore bank accounts Kevin.

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Feb 22nd 2015, 10:59 AM

Which the Irish government then decide not to catch and investigate like HSBC scandal for example

Mute William Boyd
    Favourite William Boyd
    Feb 22nd 2015, 11:08 AM

Its a kind of unwritten rule when it comes to governments and their richest citizens Kevin, try the Sandy Lane brigade in Barbados, they usually retreat there during the winter months to mutually back slap.

Mute Leo Conway
    Favourite Leo Conway
    Feb 22nd 2015, 11:13 AM

Alan O’Connor, according to our government we had full employment before they destroyed our economy! you speak of the welfare class as if they were parasites! Those people paid their taxes! Social welfare is a safety net! It provides no luxury. Why do we pay tax? To pay for services? Health, education? The trolleys are full, wards overcrowded! Operations cancelled! Though the staff are paid either way! Don’t start me on education! We pay €10 tax for €1 value! Our civil/public service is (not counting those on the front line) seriously overpaid and the crippling burden that weighs down our economy! We need to get rid of all unnecessary civil/public servants and review pay to the rest! Instead of taxing the life out of workers in the real economy to pay for the public sector anchor! My guess Alan is you are probably an administrator in the public sector (parasite). Protected with a job for life, makes it easy to attack social welfare!

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Feb 22nd 2015, 11:16 AM

Piketty answers that one aswell.

Mute TheHeathen
    Favourite TheHeathen
    Feb 22nd 2015, 11:49 AM

Alan o Connor is a teacher. One that has been defended and shielded by corrupt unions who protect their pals at the expense of the young or new.

I am also a teacher but one on the other side of the fence. My pay has been decimated, pension decimated, have only twelve hour contract this year, will never be permanent, draw the dole for all holidays if I can’t find other work.

I listen to the likes of Alan in the staffroom in complete silence. Laughing at the people on welfare, laughing at people protesting against corruption, corruption and nepotism that is rife in teaching.

You don’t mess with their status, you don’t question their ancient teaching techniques, you don’t question the fact that three of me could be hired for one of them and you certainly don’t question the unions.

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Feb 22nd 2015, 12:01 PM

Alan got some explaining to do. I hope your not influencing your students outside of what’s in the texts

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Feb 22nd 2015, 3:53 PM

TheHeathen,
    When my wife many years ago, much like yourself now, started lecturing in college part time, she was very depressed to find some of the full time teachers would walk into a class…place acetates beside an overhead projector and tell one student to put the next one on when everyone was finished copying it down…the the teacher would leave and head to the staff room to drink coffee and smoke and come back just before the class finished to remove the acetates.
    My wife said the stuff on the acetates was about ten years out of date and the students were struggling to understand what the hell they were doing.
    At the time my wife was allowed to work (forgive my memory) about 15 hrs a week(couldn’t get the 12 month contract, so that was a non-runner) on a stand-in if a full-time teacher was absent but then the Dept of Ed cut it to max 3 hrs a week……who the hell could wait around every week for just 3 hrs pay, so she eventually gave it up and got a full time job in a different field of work.
    Yes, she said there were some good teachers but some others were just riding out their time doing as little as possible and knowing no one could get rid of them.
    I hope you get fully into teaching TheHeathen and can make a difference. :)

Mute Alan O'connor
    Favourite Alan O'connor
    Feb 22nd 2015, 9:24 PM

I have not been in a union since 2001. I have no time for them. I am not defended by or protected by them.

They sold out the young. You are absolutely right. I would all out strike tomorrow to see pay scales revised to what they were for young teachers.

The casualisation of the profession is a disgrace. Again I would strike to support proper full time jobs for teachers.

My pay was decimated too. Everyone’s was. My pension will be as well.

My teaching techniques work fine. Or at least the results of my students suggest that they do.

But don’t let the fact that you know nothing about me get in the way of your little rant. Or the fact that more than one of you misinterpreted what I said. The welfare class does not include people who lost their jobs and are looking for work. It includes the 150,000 or so who, even when we had full employment, would not work. That is who Murphy represents. And he’ll get his hand taken off him if he puts it in my pocket to give them more.

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Feb 22nd 2015, 11:10 PM

Priorities Alan, ill post this from above:

Legal tax avoidance and illegal but widespread tax evasion, facilitated by banks such as HSBC, result in massive losses to the Irish Exchequer.
    A certain telco “entrepreneur” made a fortune off the award of a licence and exploited foreign residence to avoid Capital Gains Tax. This is just one small example.
    Compared to Aggressive tax planning and widespread evasion, improper Social welfare claims are a drop in the ocean.

Mute Gill B
    Favourite Gill B
    Feb 22nd 2015, 11:50 AM

I salute you Turbidy !!!

Thank you for confirming RTE as Propaganda TV station.

I have No Political Alliances, the fact RTE, conduct such bias unprofessional interview, confirms the Fear felt over Donnybrook. AAA, Socialists, SF, Independents, have raised the issue of the sense of ‘Entitlement’ of our TV Broadcasters. Stated if put into power 2016, they would cut the wages, to more sustainable, realistic wage, which represents national station of population 4.9million.

€450,000, Turbidy, Barack Obama €190,000, Merkel €160,000, Hollande €150,000.

No one can argue the fact Turbidy does Not deserve a wage larger than the leaders of America, Germany or France !!!

Sense of Entitlement of Political Elite, Montrose Crew, will be brought down to earth in 2016.

Yet we still have half population asking stupid questions like ‘where the money come to pay for services?’

Emmm wonder where we could take the money from ????

Mute Tweeter
    Favourite Tweeter
    Feb 24th 2015, 6:51 PM
    Mute Dave O'Hanlon
    Favourite Dave O'Hanlon
    Feb 22nd 2015, 12:26 PM

It came across as very personal, basically an interviewer showing his heart, or rather his strong connection to mainstream politics, on his sleeve. Very unprofessional

Mute Anthony Lang
    Favourite Anthony Lang
    Feb 22nd 2015, 12:49 PM

Dave, that’s a fair assessment.

Tubrtidy seemed carried away by a desperate anxiety to demolish Murphy.

Initially I thought that it was a personal grudge at work but towards the end I realised that Tubridy was grossly offended by the very existence of Murphy’s politics.

The ISIS interview reference was bizarre until I realised that Tubridy is attempting to depict Murphy as a terrorist.

This was one of the most shameful episodes in the history of RTE. Sadly, there will be no accountability inside or outside of RTE.

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Feb 22nd 2015, 1:42 PM

Anthony, I was told by a woman who was in the audience about the warning not to interact, or react with Paul Murphy, She also said that extra staff were deployed around the audience prepared to remove people who didnt follow that dictate.

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Feb 22nd 2015, 1:46 PM

Anthony, i was told by a woman who was there that they were instructed not to interact, or react with Paul Murphy or they would be thrown out. Extra staff were on standby to make sure everyone kept to the rule.

Mute Jason Ebbs
    Favourite Jason Ebbs
    Feb 22nd 2015, 7:01 PM

Dave with respect that’s crap. I was working on the show on Friday night and no such thing was said

Mute Deaglán O'Ceirín
    Feb 23rd 2015, 7:19 AM

With respect, you work for RTE!

Mute Tom Red
    Favourite Tom Red

Paul Murphy ,
    A bigger Foo king id**t for going on that pathetic excuse of a show with that pathetic excuse of a presenter Ryan Tubridy…..

Mute Waddler Mooney
    Favourite Waddler Mooney
    Feb 22nd 2015, 10:28 AM

Murphy was entitled to expect some level of objectivity from the national broadcaster.

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Feb 22nd 2015, 10:38 AM

What does this have to do with Derek?

Mute Colm Moran
    Favourite Colm Moran

Kevin mrgill is a plank just look how many replys of utter bull he has put up so far. Attention seeking.

Mute Waddler Mooney
    Favourite Waddler Mooney

Mooney?

Mute Waddler Mooney
    Favourite Waddler Mooney

No relation in case you’re wondering.

Mute Deaglán O'Ceirín
    Feb 23rd 2015, 7:50 AM

I will say this. Murphy does not shy away from tough interviews. I heard him on George Hook and the slant by the Newstalk interviewer was much the same as RTE (no surprise there). Yet Murphy held himself well and was very able to articulate a very good interview, at times calling George Hook out for abusing his media privilege.

The same cannot be said for Enda Kenny.

He absolutely cannot articulate a (non scripted) interview and does not have an ounce of charisma!

As for lying on the ground at a protest, in front of a ministerial car, getting his shirt pulled off by the police, alongside the people who voted for him.. Well, say what you want about Murphy, but I will say this: you’ll be waiting a long time before Enda Kenny would do the same for the people who voted for him into office.

Mute Joseph O'Regan
    Favourite Joseph O'Regan
    Feb 22nd 2015, 11:46 AM

Well here we have the proof that RTE is an establishment mouthpiece and what kind of talentless relatives of bigwigs get jobs that they do not deserve. Turdbudy is an excellent example.

Mute Siobhán Ní Fhuada
    Favourite Siobhán Ní Fhuada
    Feb 22nd 2015, 10:19 AM

Can we get a video clip of the interview?

Mute fuve
    Favourite fuve

Its on you tube and rate player I believe.

Mute Colm Moran
    Favourite Colm Moran

Well done Paul Murphy. Turbs was a disgrace. Thats what we can expect from the government propaganda channel

Mute Siobhán Ní Fhuada
    Favourite Siobhán Ní Fhuada
    Feb 22nd 2015, 10:25 AM

Thanks fuve

Mute Mick Hannigan
    Favourite Mick Hannigan

Go to rte player, you will find it there, as for the interview, I don’t believe should not have been asked about the Michael D issue, it was the way he was asked, if asked in the right way tubs would have delivered a far better interview

Mute Richard Sweeney
    Favourite Richard Sweeney

Don’t bother watching it on the player. I had to sit through 9 adds before i got to the interview.

Mute von
    Favourite von
    Feb 22nd 2015, 11:10 AM

Thats what it should be called Propaganda na hEireann

Mute Tadhg
    Favourite Tadhg
    Feb 22nd 2015, 1:49 PM

In all fairness, they’re both clowns.

Mute Jacqueline Kane McManus
    Favourite Jacqueline Kane McManus

If Tubridy was normally a tough interviewer and had grilled FF, FG or Labour politicians when he has them on the same way I 2 pull say well Murphy should know what to expect but no Tubridy kisses their asses. Tubridy and his family are FF royalty would he grill his cousin Chris Andrews once a FF T D (as was his father) but now a Sinn Fein TD the same 2 a he would grill other Sinn Fein TD or any on the left? I don’t think so. I was never a leftie but going more and more towards the left each day thanks to the way Irish media hound them

Mute JakeTheMuss7
    Favourite JakeTheMuss7

Tubridy didn’t got far enough on this populist clown.

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Feb 22nd 2015, 10:30 AM

Seen as you’ve set the bar so low on your argument. Murphy came from a rich upbringing, top of his class in law. Why is he getting 35,000 a gear sitting round in jobstown and working for the people 70 hours a week? He cares that’s why, he didn’t go for the cushy law job.

Better a rich man who cares about the poor than a rich man who doesn’t.

Mute chinaski
    Favourite chinaski
    Feb 22nd 2015, 10:40 AM

35grand, don’t make me laugh…

Mute Jason
    Favourite Jason
    Feb 22nd 2015, 10:48 AM

Kevin, Paul Murphy takes his full TD’s salary. He takes it all. He may give done to causes he believes in but he takes every shilling. And he’ll take his full pension when the time comes too.

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Feb 22nd 2015, 10:54 AM

As I said: he takes home 35,000. The rest goes to causes like the family he put up in his office for over a week and spent for their meals etc… Fact is there’s tds claiming the full 60k expenses, allowances and salary yet your attacking a socialist. Priorities man

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins

You may not like his wage but remember his wage is set by FG and FF successive governments that increased their own wages while ignoring the cracks in our Celtic tiger. Paul had called for tds to be only paid 35,000 a year so I think we should prioritise who’s at fault here.

Mute von
    Favourite von
    Feb 22nd 2015, 11:33 AM

Jason i would prefer to give paul Murphy35k as he works bloody hard for it, what about the Taoiseach and TDs who get much more and don’t deserve it

Mute chinaski
    Favourite chinaski
    Feb 22nd 2015, 11:33 AM

Paul and Kevin up a tree. …..

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Feb 22nd 2015, 11:43 AM

Alrighty then…

Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche
    Feb 22nd 2015, 10:30 AM

How demeaning.
    Feeling obliged to comment on Tubridy.

Mute Paul Geraghty
    Favourite Paul Geraghty
    Feb 22nd 2015, 11:18 AM

I haven’t seen the interview and I don’t like Murphy but it sounds like it was pretty bad. Turbridy has gone down in my estimation, not that I ever had an opinion on him but I will never forget when he was interviewing that slime ball gangster son of Sean Quinn and was licking his hole coming out with rubbish like some people in Fermanagh wouldn’t have food on their table but for his family. He should have been ripping that pig apart but was too cowardly not to. Showed himself as a coward the other night to it seems

Mute Kedgeo
    Favourite Kedgeo

Turburty clown, going for the easy target, pity he didn’t adopt that approach when he had Bertie ahern on, and the gas thing is he has only made Mr Murphy’s cause all the stronger,because everyone could see what the tosspot was doing was both unprofessional and naive, I’ll never watch that clown again, and what would he know about bills or oweing money anyway…

Mute Colin Deane
    Favourite Colin Deane
    Feb 22nd 2015, 12:14 PM

Tubs trying to look after his big wage. Rte ur next. Makes me sick having to pay for that shit.

Mute Paul McCann
    Favourite Paul McCann
    Feb 22nd 2015, 12:31 PM

Tubridy was a disgrace. No attempt at being objective. RTE pro establishment propaganda as usual.

Mute Anthony Lang
    Favourite Anthony Lang
    Feb 22nd 2015, 12:53 PM

I don’t pay my TV Licence fee to see a light entertainer attempt to beat up on an idealist politician.

The only defence of Tubridy was that he was totally ineffectual and ended up making a show of himself.

Mute bobs_your_aunt
    Favourite bobs_your_aunt

I wish he would go away.

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins

I’ve wanted the presenter gone for years now

Mute Ianwalsh79
    Favourite Ianwalsh79
    Feb 22nd 2015, 12:57 PM

I’m no fan of Murphy but he was very composed and carried himself very well. Ryan was a disgrace.

Mute Donie Keyes
    Favourite Donie Keyes
    Feb 22nd 2015, 2:54 PM

I’m no fan either but one thing is for certain Murphy is not afraid of interviews regardless of who they are with. Unlike the so called leader of our country. And for that alone I commend him. I believe there is a whole new generation of young non party politicians, with the same belief and conviction, waiting in the long grass for their opportunity to shine. This country would be a far better place if only someone would organise them into a cohesive group and give the people a real alternative.

Mute mrgillhouley
    Favourite mrgillhouley
    Feb 22nd 2015, 10:29 AM

a lefty with notions of victimhood – hardly news

Mute Anthony Lang
    Favourite Anthony Lang

Will Gilhooley ever make a point of substance. He just hectors and utters tripe. A party hack of the worst kind. Devotion to his leader has long since eroded his critical faculties and made every comment inane or abusive and often both.

Mute Paul Circle
    Favourite Paul Circle
    Feb 22nd 2015, 1:08 PM

And Kennys b3m boy brown noser gilhooooley isnt even Irish !

Mute The Irish Bull
    Favourite The Irish Bull
    Feb 22nd 2015, 1:15 PM

Isn’t Tubs an ol’ Fianna Fail stooge?

Mute Dominic Hearns
    Favourite Dominic Hearns
    Feb 22nd 2015, 10:42 AM

Murphy is just like Murphy ‘s dog,,, he can give it but he can’t take it !!!
    He’s an arrogant little shit.
    Fair play to Tuba, he didn’t give him half enough.

Mute Brendan Wallace
    Favourite Brendan Wallace

Paul Murphy knows a lot about badgering. Why doesn’t he do something positive to justify his salary?

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Feb 22nd 2015, 10:42 AM

Working 70 hours a week for the average industrial wage is perfectly justifyable. Better than the government who all take home their full wages

Mute My Views
    Favourite My Views

Paul was also badgered by the gardai into making announcements at the jobstown protest about releasing Joan Burton.

Who’d have thought Paul the anti establishment maverick would be so easily lead…

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Feb 22nd 2015, 1:47 PM

Luckily he is pro common sense

Mute Jimmy jones
    Favourite Jimmy jones
    Feb 22nd 2015, 10:45 AM

Is this guy whinging again. More whinge whinge whinge from this lot. They can give it out but the minute someone turns in them they go off whinging. Typical bullies

Mute John Minihan
    Favourite John Minihan

Paul Murphy fees he was badgered, or was he simply asked some hard questions. One could also say the treatment of our President was ‘badgering and trying to make him responsible for things that were not his decision’.Paul Murphy needs to distinguish between the Office and the Office Holder. I for one still believe the Office of President is above this type of protest. Paul Murphy calls for a ‘significant responsive’ and ‘the right to protest’ etc and yes that’s a democratic right but with that democratic right comes a democratic responsibility.

Mute Brendan Wallace
    Favourite Brendan Wallace
    Feb 22nd 2015, 10:50 AM

If we don’t protect the Office of President we might as well embrace anarchy.

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Feb 22nd 2015, 10:56 AM

Paul critiqued the protest on president did you not read it on the news weeks ago? Ryan in rte seemed to forgot aswell

Mute My Views
    Favourite My Views
    Feb 22nd 2015, 11:02 AM

His ‘critique’ was that it used ableist language

Mute My Views
    Favourite My Views

Very true, does he defend everyone’s right to do as they please
    Pick and choose which laws they want to abide by. Which taxes they wish to pay or not.

Mute Gordon Gekko
    Favourite Gordon Gekko
    Feb 22nd 2015, 10:34 AM

Unless of course, you earn above the industrial wage. Then you are a cow ready to be milked by Murphy to appease the great unwashed.

Mute Ianwalsh79
    Favourite Ianwalsh79
    Feb 22nd 2015, 1:12 PM

Ah Gordon, I’d rather be part of the great unwashed than be part of the brainwashed. You’re what’s wrong with Ireland today.

Mute Joe Doherty
    Favourite Joe Doherty
    Feb 22nd 2015, 2:07 PM

Tubridy Should be Arrested for living of Immoral Earnings.

Mute Barry Doyle
    Favourite Barry Doyle
    Feb 22nd 2015, 4:18 PM

I was always against paying a tv license to RTE as they are allowed to gain revenue from Adverts, but now that they have completely stopped telling the truth and attacking everything that goes against the government it’s time this license was taken from them, also the money some of these guys are on is obscene, it’s all wrong

Mute Ðës Leê
    Favourite Ðës Leê
    Feb 22nd 2015, 4:41 PM

‘The interview was criticised by many of Murphy’s supporters’
    Many people who do not support Paul Murphy also found Ryan Tubridy’s demeanour very odd and his interviewing bias, to say the least.

Mute Martin O' Neill
    Favourite Martin O' Neill

Well I’d imagine Murphy knows all about Badgering, after all it’s ALL he seems to do! And what did he expect??? To be interviewed by Vincent Browne???

Mute Mad Taoiseach
    Favourite Mad Taoiseach
    Feb 22nd 2015, 4:58 PM

When is tubridy being arrested?

Mute Justin McNulty
    Favourite Justin McNulty
    Feb 22nd 2015, 11:18 AM

If he thinks that was a tough interview God help him if he ever faces a room where it’s not all his supporters. Tubbs is hardly known as a heavy hitter, is Paul really that easy to rattle? He’s in serious trouble if he is. Didn’t look like he enjoyed his time as a guest of the guards, he might think twice in future!

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Feb 22nd 2015, 11:44 AM

Did you watch the interview?only thing rattled was ryans ego

Mute johngahan
    Favourite johngahan
    Feb 22nd 2015, 11:28 AM

AAA protesters abhor badgering.

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Feb 22nd 2015, 11:41 AM

What part do you support?

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Feb 22nd 2015, 11:41 AM

Party*

Mute johngahan
    Favourite johngahan
    Feb 22nd 2015, 12:17 PM

I support selected views of Claire Daly, Pearse Doherty, Michael Noonan and Anne Ferris.

Unfortunately they are unlikely to form a party to provide me the government I want.

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Feb 22nd 2015, 12:33 PM

So your a conservative socialist capitalist feminist

Mute Mr Phil Officer
    Favourite Mr Phil Officer
    Feb 22nd 2015, 1:33 PM

Haha ye walked into that one JohnG haha.

Mute mrs b
    Favourite mrs b
    Feb 22nd 2015, 12:35 PM

The most I learned from the jobstown occurrence is the variety of names people have for a voice amplifier.

Mute mrgillhouley
    Favourite mrgillhouley
    Feb 22nd 2015, 1:40 PM

and that no one in jobs town has a job

Mute Elias Khoury
    Favourite Elias Khoury
    Feb 22nd 2015, 11:12 AM

He’s like a big child. Stay out of the kitchen if you can’t take the heat. Seriously, if he got that upset about that idiot Tubridy’s ineffectual “badgering” (D4 much, Paul?) how in gods name does he think he’ll survive in the real world of politics. Such a lightweight.

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins

He took the heat and had fantastic responded that defused the hysteria. Can’t say the same for 500,000 euro a year tubs who looked like his ivory tower was collapsing all around him

Mute chinaski
    Favourite chinaski

Two pains in the arse…

Mute chinaski
    Favourite chinaski
    Feb 22nd 2015, 10:33 AM

Shut up please shut up… !

Mute Sharon
    Favourite Sharon
    Feb 22nd 2015, 11:21 AM

What did he expect? A red carpet rolled out for him???!!!

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Feb 22nd 2015, 11:45 AM

He expected the questions to relate to the work he is doing.

Mute john murphy
    Favourite john murphy
    Feb 22nd 2015, 3:21 PM

Who’d believe this rubbish these looney lefties are constantly peddling…the media, government, gardai, judiciary etc etc all against them! Elected AAA TDs like Paul Murphy who are being paid just as much as the rest of them in the Dail (plus the odd million+ claimed as an MEP) they give out about and we’ve Have yet to hear a single idea or positive contribution for our future from any of them…great at organising futile and now dwindling protests but seriously lads, other than the old tax the rich, anti everything, organising protests and playing the pity poor us card what have you got for us? Your problem isn’t Tubs or rte but the people are quickly finding you out for being just as useless as the rest.

Mute John Deane
    Favourite John Deane
    Feb 22nd 2015, 5:14 PM

Paul Murphy the biggest waster going.

Mute Powerabbey
    Favourite Powerabbey
    Feb 22nd 2015, 2:03 PM

Seemed a balanced interview when you consider that Murphy is willing to break the laws put in place by elected representatives. Murphy is an anarchist not a socialist.

Mute Anthony Lang
    Favourite Anthony Lang
    Feb 22nd 2015, 7:59 PM

Powerabbey, you are intentionally incorrect.

Paul Murphy was elected to defeat the collection of the water charges. He favours effective protest. Civil disobedience sometimes breaks the law but fir a greater cause.

Tubridy disgraced himself in a sad attempt to make himself seem heavy weight and self important.

Mute johngahan
    Favourite johngahan
    Feb 22nd 2015, 12:20 PM

Murphy should get a court order against Tubridy and anyone else who questions what socialism amounts to.

Asking questions is always equivalent to being attacked if you have shallow illogical answers.

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Feb 22nd 2015, 12:34 PM

Unlike this government murphy has the accountability to never avoid a question.

Mute johngahan
    Favourite johngahan
    Feb 22nd 2015, 12:38 PM

waffling hardly counts as accountability

Mute Cathal O'Donoghue
    Favourite Cathal O'Donoghue
    Feb 22nd 2015, 4:43 PM

It’s all a conspiracy by the establishment to discredit the saintly apostles of the left in whom all truth resides. And of course it’s all Denis O’Briens doing.

Mute Anthony Lang
    Favourite Anthony Lang
    Feb 22nd 2015, 8:02 PM

Cathay, allowing for some exaggeration on your part, you are on the right track.

Mute Brian O'Regan
    Favourite Brian O'Regan
    Feb 22nd 2015, 2:57 PM

Didn’t see it but it seems to me that Murphy is sour that he didn’t have tubridys support, for some reason he still thinks surrounding a citizens car and barricading them was lawful. If he did that to my car he’d get a slap or ran over simple as.

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Feb 22nd 2015, 4:01 PM

It’s very bright to comment on things you don’t know about.

Mute Anthony Lang
    Favourite Anthony Lang
    Feb 22nd 2015, 7:55 PM

Brian, you have a lot of agression within you. Anger management might help. Running over people and slapping them is excessive as well as criminal.

Murphy did nothing to Burton’s car. He was trying to extricate her from a situation of her own intentional making.

The DPP will not prosecute.

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Favourite Neal Ireland Hello
    Feb 22nd 2015, 6:13 PM

If you can’t handle an interview on a cozy chat show watched by everybody’s mammy, there’s a good chance you’re not in the right line of work.

Mute Anthony Lang
    Favourite Anthony Lang
    Feb 22nd 2015, 7:50 PM

Neal Ireland Hello, I consider that Paul Murphy handled the interview very well but that does not deny how unfair and hectoring the interview was. I have never seen an interviewer show such palpable hatred for the interviewee.

Mute Irish Patriots
    Favourite Irish Patriots
    Feb 23rd 2015, 2:25 AM

Fair play to Ryan tubridy he sees right through this socialist clown and his b.s. Politics

Mute James Devine
    Favourite James Devine
    Feb 22nd 2015, 12:39 PM

I thought murphy acquitted himself very well in the face of unwarranted tubridy aggression.

Im not a murphy supporter but he went up in my estimation based on that interview. Tubridy was out to get him. It was obvious. Murphy handled the questions well and came across quite well.