You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

PSNI release photos of people wanted over Belfast riots and disorder

The police have released the photos of men who they say were involved in serious public disorder.

POLICE IN NORTHERN Ireland have released photographs of people in connection with their investigations into serious public disorder in East Belfast.

They want to speak to these people as part of their inquiries into riotous and disorderly behaviour in connection with the recent disorder.

They said that so far, they have arrested a total of 90 people as part of their investigation, while 66 have been charged and 10 are being reported to the Public Prosecution Service.

A total of 56 PSNI officers were injured in rioting that took place last weekend.

The chairman of the Parades Commission, Peter Osborne, described riots in Belfast at the weekend as “scenes of unwarranted lawlessness” and added that the police dealt with it in a “truly courageous” manner.

Public support

Detective Superintendent Sean Wright said the investigation has received strong support from the public.

There are people out there who will know the identity of these 18 people who I am looking to speak to. I am confident that those people will come forward with that information. It is vital that we all send out a message to those involved in public disorder that such behaviour will not be tolerated.

He said those who break the law “must face consequences for their actions”. The senior detective also appealed directly to those featured in the images to contact his team.

The PSNI’s Operation Titan team are investigating a broad range of offences including the attempted murder of police officers, blast bomb attacks on police, hi-jackings, rioting throughout the Greater Belfast area, breaches of Parades Commission determinations and unlawful protests.

Those who may be able to identify any of the individuals pictured are urged to contact detectives at the Major Incident Room on 028 90 901775 from 9am to 10pm Monday to Friday. A message can be left outside these hours.

Anyone who would prefer to provide information without giving their details can contact the independent charity Crimestoppers anonymously on 0800 555 111.

All photos below supplied by the PSNI. Please note that photos numbered 9, 15, 18, and 20 were not released.

Read: Call for six-month ban on ‘contentious’ parades in Northern Ireland>

Read: PSNI officers ‘prevented mindless anarchy from spreading’ in Belfast riots>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

122 Comments
    Mute Nigel O Keeffe
    Favourite Nigel O Keeffe
    Aug 13th 2013, 12:28 PM

Real rogues gallery,but surprised at the amount of middle aged men..will they ever cop on and grow up?

Mute mattoid
    Favourite mattoid
    Aug 13th 2013, 12:56 PM

All a bunch of low-lifes, but yes, should definitely know better after late teens….

Mute cold war kid
    Favourite cold war kid
    Aug 13th 2013, 1:19 PM

Yeah, some fine specimens of loyalist manhood but you look closely at number 2 you might notice he is an undercover ira agent

Mute gumbridge
    Favourite gumbridge
    Aug 13th 2013, 1:22 PM

Loyalist knuckle-draggers are mostly illiterate, so I’d say he’s safe enough.

Mute Dylan_Phone
    Favourite Dylan_Phone
    Aug 13th 2013, 1:56 PM

The older lads are Orange Order Marshals, UVF etc. There job is to direct and encourage attacks.

Mute BooHoo2U
    Favourite BooHoo2U
    Aug 13th 2013, 2:13 PM

My comment labelling these people (unsightly residue in bath + shopping container) was removed, why?
    Here are the names other commenters have called them and not had their comment removed:

bunch of low-lifes, Loyalist knuckle-draggers, dirt birds, bigoted inbreeding, pond life, cavemen.

How was my comment any better or worse than other commenters?

Mute Paul Harte
    Favourite Paul Harte
    Aug 13th 2013, 2:50 PM

Who gave thumbs down to Nigel’s comment. Middle aged men maybe.

Mute John Burke
    Favourite John Burke
    Aug 13th 2013, 3:22 PM

I have had several comments removed with no explanation, it happens around here;-)

Mute MonaghanRichie
    Favourite MonaghanRichie
    Aug 13th 2013, 12:29 PM

Lot of bitter oranges in that bunch.

Mute Joe McDermott
    Favourite Joe McDermott
    Aug 13th 2013, 1:48 PM

That’s the same attitude as them, except in reverse.

Mute John Smith
    Favourite John Smith
    Aug 13th 2013, 1:53 PM

Ye I know I meant it tongue n cheek

Mute John O'Neill
    Favourite John O'Neill
    Aug 13th 2013, 2:28 PM

The Orangemen…a great bunch of ugly lads…

Mute Joe McDermott
    Favourite Joe McDermott
    Aug 13th 2013, 9:42 PM

I wasn’t replying to MonaghanRichie, idiots at the journal deleted a comment and left my reply.

Mute Andrew Fitzsimons
    Favourite Andrew Fitzsimons
    Aug 13th 2013, 12:30 PM

Not the best looking bunch I’ve seen. I suppose that’s what years of bigoted inbreeding does to you!

Mute Willy Makeit
    Favourite Willy Makeit
    Aug 13th 2013, 3:01 PM

You should know.

Mute Joe Stodge
    Favourite Joe Stodge
    Aug 13th 2013, 12:29 PM

Hope they get hold of everyone one of these dirt birds, there is too much hate on that small country.

Mute Yvonne Callaghan
    Favourite Yvonne Callaghan
    Aug 13th 2013, 8:39 PM

County

Mute Yvonne Callaghan
    Favourite Yvonne Callaghan
    Aug 13th 2013, 8:40 PM

Or should i say Provence

Mute Daniel Art
    Favourite Daniel Art
    Aug 13th 2013, 12:44 PM

It’s like a sectarian “Guess Who?”
    Does he have neck tattoo.. Yep!

Mute Pa McGarry
    Favourite Pa McGarry
    Aug 13th 2013, 2:53 PM

your comment made me laugh out loud…

Mute Meehawwl O' Buachailla
    Favourite Meehawwl O' Buachailla
    Aug 13th 2013, 10:04 PM

Easily my vote for comment of the week!

Mute Peter Gavin
    Favourite Peter Gavin
    Aug 13th 2013, 12:38 PM

They’ll all have masks on next time.

Hopefully these are the last spasms of a dying “culture” of assumed dominance and superiority. Get over yourselves lads and let everyone in NI just get on with their lives in peace.

Mute Denise Friary
    Favourite Denise Friary
    Aug 13th 2013, 12:53 PM

Them photos should be shown on scottish media as well because a lot of thugs come over to N Ireland for the marching season to cause trouble.

Mute Richie Rodgers
    Favourite Richie Rodgers
    Aug 13th 2013, 1:05 PM

Denise
    Quite a few are from the Nationalist community!

Mute Karl Mulvey
    Favourite Karl Mulvey
    Aug 13th 2013, 12:31 PM

Picture no 7 looks like Gazza’s mate ……………….Jimmy five bellies !!!

Mute Rob Daly
    Favourite Rob Daly
    Aug 13th 2013, 12:46 PM

Johnny Vegas

Mute Howard W.W. Webb
    Favourite Howard W.W. Webb
    Aug 13th 2013, 8:43 PM

Randy from Trailer Park Boys

Mute Gavin Cooke
    Favourite Gavin Cooke
    Aug 13th 2013, 1:03 PM

Judging by the phisque of some of them they could be rounded up at their local Greggs

Mute Eamonn Boyle
    Favourite Eamonn Boyle
    Aug 13th 2013, 1:21 PM

They wouldn’t look out of place on Jeremy Kyle.

Hank
    Mute Hank
    Favourite Hank
    Aug 13th 2013, 12:46 PM

Pond life.

Mute Carcu Sidub
    Favourite Carcu Sidub
    Aug 13th 2013, 1:19 PM

1. Loyalist thug
    2. Loyalist thug
    3. Lo…

Mute MrKnow
    Favourite MrKnow
    Aug 13th 2013, 2:14 PM

Easy way to catch them, wait until they go and collect their benefits.

Mute Sean Mckevitt
    Favourite Sean Mckevitt
    Aug 13th 2013, 1:38 PM

Looks like a line up for opertion transformation
    all i see is obesity and beer .
    Lovely people , oooops i mean cavemen

Mute Marc Metcalfe
    Favourite Marc Metcalfe
    Aug 13th 2013, 2:03 PM

If any of their employers are watching then i urge you to please contact the PSNI in confidence at….oh,nevermind

Mute Stephen
    Favourite Stephen
    Aug 13th 2013, 12:34 PM

No 2 looks like Dimitar Berbatov

Mute Ryan Stewart
    Favourite Ryan Stewart
    Aug 13th 2013, 3:13 PM

The cops will be safe enough then. He couldn’t hit the target if he tried

Mute Dylan_Phone
    Favourite Dylan_Phone
    Aug 13th 2013, 1:54 PM

There were senior ranked UVF and Orange Men directing the violence, yet there pictures are not included in these.

Mute James Buchanan
    Favourite James Buchanan
    Aug 13th 2013, 2:12 PM

You are listening to the terrorist Gerry Kelly too much.

Mute Sandra Duffy
    Favourite Sandra Duffy
    Aug 13th 2013, 2:53 PM

Presumably the PSNI easily identified them. These are pics of those they haven’t yet identified.

Mute Dylan_Phone
    Favourite Dylan_Phone
    Aug 13th 2013, 2:55 PM

James. The OO in Belfast and the UVF are more often than not one and the same organization and only becoming more so as moderates leave in droves.

For example look at this photo. Most of Belfast recognize men in this group. Community activists how are you.

http://republican-news.org/current/news/cliftonstorangehall.jpg

I’m sure you’ll attack the source of the link rather than say yes, the Order in Belfast has many many problems but is not representative of the order outside of Belfast.

Mute Dylan_Phone
    Favourite Dylan_Phone
    Aug 13th 2013, 3:02 PM

They aren’t pictured because if they are people will call for them to be arrested. Most of the UVF leadership is made up of paid agents at this stage. It is hard to find any ranking UVF man that does not have a track record of being ran by security services.

That is the main reason they are not photoed or arrested, they are run to keep the Loyalists unarmed no matter what happens. Which is a good thing I guess.

Mute Willy Makeit
    Favourite Willy Makeit
    Aug 13th 2013, 3:24 PM

this is the most laughable and idiotic comment I have read on any website this year. Jesus wept!

Mute Mick Dolan
    Favourite Mick Dolan
    Aug 13th 2013, 4:06 PM

Those are the lads that work for the PSNI

Mute James Buchanan
    Favourite James Buchanan
    Aug 13th 2013, 4:53 PM

Seeing the source of the link is a republican source I dont think it stands up very well. Mike Nesbitt yesterday told Gerry Kelly on the Nolan show that if he had any evidence regarding the OO and the UVF being one then to take it to the PSNI.

Mute Dylan_Phone
    Favourite Dylan_Phone
    Aug 13th 2013, 5:04 PM

James.

Ask any loyalist in Belfast who these men are. Don’t bother playing games these lads are too well known for that.

Mute James Buchanan
    Favourite James Buchanan
    Aug 13th 2013, 6:15 PM

Go to the PSNI then with your evidence instead of telling ordinary people here on a media forum.

Aug 14th 2013, 1:09 AM

Dylan you hit a nerve there : )

Mute Harry Byrne
    Favourite Harry Byrne
    Aug 18th 2013, 9:32 AM

guess you’ve the inside info then, “blinkered Willie”

Mute Harry Byrne
    Favourite Harry Byrne
    Aug 18th 2013, 9:37 AM

are you saying “republican news” was doing a bit of photoshop…. grinning….

Mute Cathy Conley-Portka
    Favourite Cathy Conley-Portka
    Aug 13th 2013, 1:35 PM

what a sexy bunch of fellows! SARCASM Love the guts guys! barf

Mute Kate Murphy
    Favourite Kate Murphy
    Aug 13th 2013, 1:57 PM

No 7 is a ride

Mute Meehawwl O' Buachailla
    Favourite Meehawwl O' Buachailla
    Aug 13th 2013, 10:06 PM

He used to be….until he got pregnant.

Mute Stephen Doyle
    Favourite Stephen Doyle
    Aug 13th 2013, 2:59 PM

Not a brain cell or job between them

Mute Tiger Bay
    Favourite Tiger Bay
    Aug 13th 2013, 2:36 PM

Hopefully the PSNI get to speak with all concerned and are put through the courts system if deemed to have rioted. Then if found guilty they are removed from society and all jobs and benefits taken off them

Mute John Campbell
    Favourite John Campbell
    Aug 13th 2013, 2:02 PM

They look like the guys who hang around the Luas Red Line stops.

Mute Gavin Mckenna
    Favourite Gavin Mckenna
    Aug 13th 2013, 4:39 PM

Every single one of them actually look like complete and utter s€@m. Filthy bigoted lot.

Mute Pauric O Laighin
    Favourite Pauric O Laighin
    Aug 13th 2013, 2:52 PM

Some republican bigots hate loyalist bigots who hate republican bigots who hate loyalist bigots. Most bigots hate people who they consider to be bigoted while at the same time refusing to accepted the possibility that could be bigoted themselves.

Mute Willy Makeit
    Favourite Willy Makeit
    Aug 13th 2013, 3:00 PM

well said, absolutely bang on!

Mute Cathal Golden
    Favourite Cathal Golden
    Aug 14th 2013, 8:15 AM

I hate that comment!

Mute James O'Sullivan
    Favourite James O'Sullivan
    Aug 13th 2013, 3:20 PM

Christ, it’s like a gang of guests from Jeremy Kyle

Mute Simon Palmer
    Favourite Simon Palmer
    Aug 13th 2013, 3:03 PM

One day I too will have a belly like those fine figures of men above. #fatisfab

Mute royston T justice
    Favourite royston T justice
    Aug 13th 2013, 1:30 PM

The comment policing has become absurd on the Journel, Ive had my comment deleted & Im totally at a loss why? It was as clean as a whisle! WTF reading some of these posts!!!

Mute BooHoo2U
    Favourite BooHoo2U
    Aug 13th 2013, 2:14 PM

same here

Mute Conall McNally
    Favourite Conall McNally
    Aug 13th 2013, 6:02 PM

Bunch of idiots. Why couldn’t they conduct a protest like those at Castlederg on Sunday. Peaceful and dignified. Or like the majority of nationalist protests. These muppets are jumped up football hooligans. Little Napoleons directing teens to do their dirty work.

Mute Niall Mullins
    Favourite Niall Mullins
    Aug 13th 2013, 3:50 PM

No comment necessary… a picture (or 18) paints a thousand words!

Mute Huwer Master
    Favourite Huwer Master
    Aug 13th 2013, 1:21 PM

Iv said it before & I’ll say it again…. Them people up d north are lovely people with a healthy mentality

Mute Enda Quinn
    Favourite Enda Quinn
    Aug 13th 2013, 4:07 PM

If the PSNI hang around the local chippies, dole offices and off licences I have a funny feeling they are bound to run into most of these lads!

Mute Willy Makeit
    Favourite Willy Makeit
    Aug 13th 2013, 2:59 PM

Most of the comments on this thread show a level of hatred and intelligence equally opposite to the people in the photos, the only difference is these people show their anger in the street.

Mute Dylan_Phone
    Favourite Dylan_Phone
    Aug 13th 2013, 3:06 PM

These trash are are just a mob of hate filled bigots who are angry that the PSNI are now stopping them from rampaging through nationalist areas and feel like they have a mandate because Unionist politicians are mostly refusing to condemn them, the opposite in many cases.

Mute Pauric O Laighin
    Favourite Pauric O Laighin
    Aug 13th 2013, 3:16 PM

You are correct Willy (see Dylan’s comment). The problem is that a lot of people do not realise that they are part of the problem.

Mute Willy Makeit
    Favourite Willy Makeit
    Aug 13th 2013, 3:18 PM

I agree but throwing another big pile of hatred to solve the problem of hatred will never help things get better. This reaction may be instinct and to a certain degree understandable, but completely unhelpful.

As usual it will take some forward thinking from the younger generations on both sides as more and more people get sick of hearing about it, for loyalists to live in harmony with their nationalist neighbours, and also for the same respect to be shown by nationalists that people do have the right to have a differing political opinion to them. What’s the chances of that? Not in my lifetime I reckon.

Mute Dylan_Phone
    Favourite Dylan_Phone
    Aug 13th 2013, 3:27 PM

Most young Unionists I know would not be so generous to label these protesters as I have. If these people weren’t attacking the PSNI or attacking their nationalist neighbours they would be robbing their neighbours to pay for cider and gear.

and the blame for that epidemic of drug abuse in Loyalist culture and areas is that the PSNI are too scared of challenging the UVF for fear they start killing people again. So Loyalist Belfast is over run with addicts, shattered lives and no hope.

Mute Willy Makeit
    Favourite Willy Makeit
    Aug 13th 2013, 3:31 PM

Am dying to ask where do you source your news and facts? The Onion?

Mute John O'Neill
    Favourite John O'Neill
    Aug 13th 2013, 4:06 PM

Willie, don’t you have anything other than trolling to do, like organising another provocative, triumphalist march through Catholic areas….

Mute Willy Makeit
    Favourite Willy Makeit
    Aug 13th 2013, 4:12 PM

John, just because someone has a different point of view to you doesn’t make it a troll. Or at least state why you think it’s trolling?

Mute Cathal Golden
    Favourite Cathal Golden
    Aug 14th 2013, 8:18 AM

Admit it you love these guys Makeit! Your heroes!

Mute Gavin Mckenna
    Favourite Gavin Mckenna
    Aug 13th 2013, 4:38 PM

Every single one a them actually ‘look’ like complete s€&m, FIlthy bigoted lot.

Mute Ken Bracken
    Favourite Ken Bracken
    Aug 13th 2013, 12:33 PM

9,15,16,20 are missing

Mute vv7k7Z3c
    Favourite vv7k7Z3c
    Aug 13th 2013, 12:36 PM

Hi Ken, as I explained in the article above, those were not released by police.

Mute Snorre Sturleson
    Favourite Snorre Sturleson
    Aug 13th 2013, 1:47 PM

PSNI recognised 9,15,16,20 as loyalist politicians

Mute Dylan_Phone
    Favourite Dylan_Phone
    Aug 13th 2013, 2:08 PM

The leadership of the DUP and the UUP have played their part in ensuring that this mess goes on.

Mute James Buchanan
    Favourite James Buchanan
    Aug 13th 2013, 2:11 PM

Thats a completely unfounded allegation Dylan. If you have any evidence then I suggest you take it to the PSNI.

Mute Paul Darby
    Favourite Paul Darby
    Aug 13th 2013, 3:18 PM

Unionism is a disgrace, when S.F are looking the normal party up their.They might even gat votes from moderate unionist after all this rioting

Mute Willy Makeit
    Favourite Willy Makeit
    Aug 13th 2013, 3:21 PM

The majority of unionists are disgusted by these acts.

Mute Dylan_Phone
    Favourite Dylan_Phone
    Aug 13th 2013, 3:47 PM

Well they have kept very quiet about it. While many Orange men in rural and small town areas are walking away in disgust from the Belfast Order’s drug and drink fueled members they should be coming together and have people like Mervyn Gibson stood down and stand down the Belfast Lodges till the criminal element that now runs them is kicked out.

As for Peter Robinson of the DUP he has disappeared for the last month.

The leadership of the DUP/UUP and especially the Orange Order will be responsible when a PSNI officer is killed by their supporters.

Mute Willy Makeit
    Favourite Willy Makeit
    Aug 13th 2013, 3:52 PM

People were very quiet when the IRA bombed towns and villages all over the UK, that doesn’t mean the majority of people agreed with it.

Mute Dylan_Phone
    Favourite Dylan_Phone
    Aug 13th 2013, 4:00 PM

“what about what about 25 etc years ago” the standard response from Unionism when refusing to engage or respond to a current situation.

Best of luck to the Loyalist rioters and may the DUP/UUP/OO follow on in their current manner. They truly deserve the mess they are creating for themselves.

Mute Willy Makeit
    Favourite Willy Makeit
    Aug 13th 2013, 4:17 PM

Thats the difference between you and I Dylan, I wouldn’t wish any society to be in a mess, be it nationalist or otherwise, what kind of future does that make?

Mute Dylan_Phone
    Favourite Dylan_Phone
    Aug 13th 2013, 4:42 PM

I don’t want any part of society to be in a mess, Orange or Green. I do look welcome that the UVF and the Orange Order are being exposed as the cancer they are on their communities, especially in Belfast. Their leadership is doing incredible damage to their respective org’s and are only at the start yet.

This is a chance for PUL communities to break away from their control, from their dealing, from the jail time that goes with acting on the clarion call of these org’s. Look at the Shankhill a community that is turning in to a green field. While the leadership of the Orange Order and the UVF “hold talks” to represent them.

You bet I wish the best to the DUP/UUP/OO/UVF in their current self immolation. Everyone, especially working class unionists will be better off without them.

Mute Cathal Golden
    Favourite Cathal Golden
    Aug 14th 2013, 8:20 AM

Stick with the future and the present willie!

Mute Declan Carr
    Favourite Declan Carr
    Aug 13th 2013, 4:56 PM

Do your bit for society and turn them in.

Mute gary o brine
    Favourite gary o brine
    Aug 13th 2013, 5:44 PM

zombies

Mute Conor Shanley
    Favourite Conor Shanley
    Aug 13th 2013, 2:50 PM

Number 23:
    John Terry the racist

Mute Conor Shanley
    Favourite Conor Shanley
    Aug 13th 2013, 2:51 PM

18/18 I Meant, number are a bit confusing.

Mute Gis Bayertz
    Favourite Gis Bayertz
    Aug 13th 2013, 5:45 PM

Looking at them….stupidity squared

Mute Iain O Treasaigh
    Favourite Iain O Treasaigh
    Aug 13th 2013, 11:05 PM

Willy fu@k your Union Jack we want our country back

Mute Brian Doherty
    Favourite Brian Doherty
    Aug 13th 2013, 2:49 PM

bad boys bad boys whatcha gona do when they come for you……

Mute Mr Know It All
    Favourite Mr Know It All
    Aug 13th 2013, 2:30 PM

A proud selection of some of this islands best and brightest. Makes you proud to be Irish.

Mute Paul Darby
    Favourite Paul Darby
    Aug 13th 2013, 3:13 PM

Hardly Irish are they, draped in the union jack and wearing glasgow rangers tops.they would be the last to say their Irish or want to be on the same par as their irish neighbours.Think B.N.P or E.D.L, its time the british came up with a programe for people like them to return to the mainland to live.Their days as top dog in N.Ireland are over..

Mute Willy Makeit
    Favourite Willy Makeit
    Aug 13th 2013, 3:34 PM

What makes you think all those people came from the mainland? They have most likely been living here as long as your family yet you feel you have the right to suggest they move because they have a different political opinion to you…

Mute Arron Hunt
    Favourite Arron Hunt
    Aug 13th 2013, 10:46 PM

Mainland?

Mute Mr Know It All
    Favourite Mr Know It All
    Aug 14th 2013, 1:06 AM

Nice pick up on the irony there lads

kev
    Mute kev
    Favourite kev
    Aug 13th 2013, 5:30 PM

Is number 7 not Randy outta trailer park boys ?

Mute Iain O Treasaigh
    Favourite Iain O Treasaigh
    Aug 13th 2013, 11:11 PM

Freeeedommm

Mute Rossdburke
    Favourite Rossdburke
    Aug 13th 2013, 2:48 PM

#14 looks like jack Bauer !

Paul
    Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Aug 13th 2013, 2:29 PM

No. 14 is a real beaut!

Mute Simeon Smith
    Favourite Simeon Smith
    Aug 13th 2013, 4:23 PM

That last one is John Terry.

Mute Seamus Garrity
    Favourite Seamus Garrity
    Aug 13th 2013, 6:14 PM

Number 4 wouldn’t need to be running away with belly probably on the dole sitting at home then decides to go rioting and hasent a clue what he’s rioting for

Mute Ben Reilly
    Favourite Ben Reilly
    Aug 13th 2013, 7:35 PM

I’d say bit of surveillance at the local Burger King and they’d catch him fairly quick !

Mute Clare Rehill
    Favourite Clare Rehill
    Aug 14th 2013, 9:42 AM

How in the name of Jaysus would anyone in the South know the name of these idiots?? Fleggers who riot for no reason!!

Mute Morgan Matthews
    Favourite Morgan Matthews
    Aug 13th 2013, 9:44 PM

18 mugshots numbered 1-23. Where did the others go?