You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Peter Casey to 'think carefully about whether to continue' in presidential race

Casey has been sharply criticised for his comments about Travellers in recent days.

0651 Peter Casey campaign launch_90555669 Sasko Lazarov / Rollingnews.ie Sasko Lazarov / Rollingnews.ie / Rollingnews.ie

PRESIDENTIAL CANDIDATE PETER Casey has said that he is considering pulling out of the race, and that he will not campaign this weekend with only a week left until the election.

Casey has come under sustained criticism in recent days for a series of comments about the Travelling community, across a variety of media appearances.

In a statement this morning, he said: “In light of the events of the past few days, I am taking the weekend off from the campaign to think carefully about whether to continue in the race.

I do not want the people of Ireland to elect me as President of Ireland just based on one statement I made.
I want to be of service, and make a real difference. I have the expertise and ability to be an influencer. I want to connect people, at home and abroad. I know that my world experience and global views will make me a uniquely suitable candidate for President of Ireland – with drive, ability and energy.

The issue came to the fore after Casey’s comments on the Irish Independent’s Floating Voter podcast earlier this week.

He said Travellers should not be recognised as an ethnic minority because they are “basically people camping in someone else’s land”, and that Travellers are “not paying their fair share of taxes in society”. 

Rather than back down from the comments, he expanded on them and doubled down in a series of interviews, campaign stops and in Wednesday night’s Pat Kenny debate on Virgin Media One, at one point telling the other candidates they were being “disingenuous” when they gave positive answers to a question on how they would feel about living near a halting site.  

Casey’s comments about Traveller ethnicity have been decried as racist by a number of his fellow candidates and Traveller groups, and there have been calls for him to drop out of the campaign.

Standing at the site of a dispute between a Tipperary Traveller family and the local authority in Thurles yesterday, Casey called these claims “nonsense”.

I think it’s just nonsense, they’re not a different race. The Proclamation says every child should be cherished equally, and there’s not a racist bone in my body. I believe they’re equal to everyone else, I don’t believe they’re better or worse than anybody.
Casey’s campaign stop in Tipperary was arranged at the last-minute. His schedule for yesterday was released on Wednesday afternoon at the height of the backlash to his initial comments to the Irish Independent and after the candidate himself had gone to ground.

A spokesperson for Casey said this morning that the campaign was not being suspended, and that the businessman planned to meet with his team on Sunday after taking some time off the trail.

- With reporting from Daragh Brophy 

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

285 Comments
    Mute Dr Richard DeWitt
    Favourite Dr Richard DeWitt
    Oct 19th 2018, 10:22 AM

For my money, I reckon his chances shot up considerably during the week. Stick with it!

Mute shanekeogh
    Favourite shanekeogh
    Oct 19th 2018, 10:32 AM

@Dr Richard DeWitt: exactly, hes what the people really want, if he doesnt run im not sure who to vote for

Mute Michael Mclaughlin
    Favourite Michael Mclaughlin
    Oct 19th 2018, 10:33 AM

@Dr Richard DeWitt: kinda shows how out of touch the media are with the electorate. Right or wrong he made his feelings clear. For that I hold a certain amount of respect but don’t necessarily agree with it. Honesty is such a rare thing in public reps. Easy to follow the PC bull…

See 28 more replies ▾
    Mute ktsiwot
    Favourite ktsiwot
    Oct 19th 2018, 10:35 AM

@Dr Richard DeWitt: I want him to stay in, not to vote for him, but to see the response to his comments, many odinary people on the ground have a totally different take on his comments vis a vi the media and political establishment. It would be interesting to see this play out on a vote. I agree with many of his sentiments, however I feel the manner of the it was portrayed was from the Steve Bannon play book, so I am quite conflicted, yet the response to overt political correctness would be very interesting.

Mute MK76
    Favourite MK76
    Oct 19th 2018, 10:39 AM

@shanekeogh: I don’t want him.

Mute shanekeogh
    Favourite shanekeogh
    Oct 19th 2018, 10:44 AM

@MK76: ok most people, who are sick of PC bull

Mute mattoid
    Favourite mattoid
    Oct 19th 2018, 10:55 AM

@MK76:
    Then don’t vote for him.

Mute PaddyOverABarrel
    Favourite PaddyOverABarrel
    Oct 19th 2018, 11:02 AM

@Dr Richard DeWitt: Bloody sure…….do’int conceed to the melting “PC” snowflakes Peter, you have my vote.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Oct 19th 2018, 11:09 AM

@shanekeogh: read his own statement, he doesn’t want t people to vote for him just because he said what he said.

Mute Derek Walsh Ⓥ
    Favourite Derek Walsh Ⓥ
    Oct 19th 2018, 11:10 AM

@Dr Richard DeWitt: But he was never in it to win it. He’s there to drive voters to Sean Gallagher. First he went all out criticising the incumbent, which no doubt drive some relatively reasonable voters towards the next best option. And then by criticising Travellers, he picked up the “deplorable” voters, who he can now direct to Gallagher.

Mute David McShite
    Favourite David McShite
    Oct 19th 2018, 11:22 AM

@Derek Walsh Ⓥ: I think you may have nailed it Derek. Casey was there to get his hands dirty whilst leaving Gallagher squeaky clean. He role was as a contrarian. He underestimated the purchase his comments made with the ordinary citizens which put him in line with a chance of success and now is looking to exit stage left with a degree of grace and dignity. If he leaves it shows he was never sincere in the first place.
    Disappointing.
    He claims not to want to be President on the basis of a single statement but he made another case as a successful businessman who could bring skills to bear in trade. Is that not worthwhile in itself?

Mute ktsiwot
    Favourite ktsiwot
    Oct 19th 2018, 11:30 AM

@Derek Walsh Ⓥ: He will get a higher vote than Gallagher. It will be the other way around.

Mute Ann Morris Doolan
    Favourite Ann Morris Doolan
    Oct 19th 2018, 11:42 AM

@Dr Richard DeWitt: I agree will be interesting to see will journal leave your comments on now as you have a very favourable amount of likes….well they should do as we live in a democratic society …

Mute Cormac Ó Braonáin
    Favourite Cormac Ó Braonáin
    Oct 19th 2018, 11:43 AM

@Dr Richard DeWitt: he would’ve got a small increase after his comments but didn’t have a hope in the long run as it would’ve just made the reasonable people of Ireland definitely not vote for him…and we’re a country of reasonable people who know what discrimination is when we see it.

Mute limofax
    Favourite limofax
    Oct 19th 2018, 11:56 AM

@Dr Richard DeWitt: He can pull out all he wants but his name will still be on the ballot as their have been printed already.
    I would imagine that now journalists have started digging into his past he is probably trying to avoid/distract from what bad news may be coming down the road for him.

Mute John the baptism
    Favourite John the baptism
    Oct 19th 2018, 12:20 PM

@Derek Walsh Ⓥ: Can you back this statement up with proof?
    And these “deplorable voters” you talk of are most probably friends and famliy of your good self.

Mute Dave Hammond
    Favourite Dave Hammond
    Oct 19th 2018, 12:23 PM

@ktsiwot: the other part of the playbook is he is playing the media and public like a fiddle now – how to stay top of mind and at the front of the news cycle ? Say you are suspending the campaign and wait for a reaction ;)) nice nice Peter , you should have started like this a couple of weeks ago though for to give support time to grow / might be just a wee bit too late to catch Michael D at this stage

Mute Aidan Mitchell
    Favourite Aidan Mitchell
    Oct 19th 2018, 12:46 PM

@Michael Mclaughlin: jesus christ. “Right or wrong he made his feelings clear. For that I hold a certain amount of respect”

Ffs just like trump. He might be racist, biligerant, discriminatory, but he speaks his mind so I respect him for that.

Being honest doesn’t give you a right to discriminate! President of Ireland? Are you actually serious!

Ffs people cop on. Tarring every single traveller with the same brush too.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Oct 19th 2018, 1:02 PM

@Dave Hammond: it would be a clever ploy. Keep those comments foremost in people’s minds while simultaneously distancing himself from them and not having to do as much press

Mute Nigel Lane
    Favourite Nigel Lane
    Oct 19th 2018, 1:34 PM

@Dr Richard DeWitt: If that really was the case then he and his team would be well aware of an upsurge in popularity and would be doubling their campaign efforts this weekend. What’s more likely is they realise he’s made some disgraceful comments, and the only place his popularity has increased is in the Journal comments section. He never actually stood a chance in the first place and perhaps he wants to bow out now before an embarrassment at the polls.

Mute Sorcha Ní Shúilleabháin
    Favourite Sorcha Ní Shúilleabháin
    Oct 19th 2018, 2:33 PM

@Dr Richard DeWitt: He’s the least eloquent of all the candidates, he constantly snipes at others during debates and is now using hate to win votes. He reminds me of someone but I just can’t think who??…..

Mute Dr. X (Official Continuity Faction)
    Favourite Dr. X (Official Continuity Faction)
    Oct 19th 2018, 2:39 PM

@Dr Richard DeWitt: “As a hateful ghoul whose only source of pleasure in life is the idea of powerless people being punished, I will surely vote for the racist game show host.”

Mute Derek Walsh Ⓥ
    Favourite Derek Walsh Ⓥ
    Oct 19th 2018, 3:01 PM

@John the baptism: Proof? No, I can only speculate based on his behaviour.
    Some of the deplorables might be my family, but not my friends.

Mute revdenisd@gmail.com
    Favourite revdenisd@gmail.com
    Oct 19th 2018, 4:21 PM

@Dr Richard DeWitt: he’s got my vote as we need more politicians like him

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Oct 19th 2018, 4:59 PM

@revdenisd@gmail.com: what exactly is he like? He said one thing once.

Mute Mr Mystery
    Favourite Mr Mystery
    Oct 19th 2018, 5:41 PM

@shanekeogh: if he doesn’t run I won’t vote for anyone

Mute MK76
    Favourite MK76
    Oct 19th 2018, 5:49 PM

@mattoid: Wow. There’s an idea. Thanks.

Mute MK76
    Favourite MK76
    Oct 19th 2018, 5:50 PM

@shanekeogh: Oh, so you mean the bigots and the racists who hide their true views behind faux frustrations with political correctness?

That makes more sense.

Mute Teresa Ryan
    Favourite Teresa Ryan
    Oct 19th 2018, 7:15 PM

@Sorcha Ní Shúilleabháin:

Would you want Travellers moving in with their caravans right next door to you? Be honest now.

Mute Michael Mclaughlin
    Oct 19th 2018, 8:58 PM

@Aidan Mitchell: I also respect your views, but again, do not necessarily agree.

Mute Emmet McEnroe
    Favourite Emmet McEnroe
    Oct 19th 2018, 11:56 PM

@Derek Walsh Ⓥ: Where does it go from here. #moderngameofthrones

Mute Shanley Mac
    Favourite Shanley Mac
    Oct 19th 2018, 10:23 AM

He should continue. His view is not the PC one but at least he is honest about his true sentiments – a rare characteristic in Irish politics.

Mute Paddington C.
    Favourite Paddington C.
    Oct 19th 2018, 10:53 AM

@Shanley Mac: he’s like the substitute teacher in a primary school coming in and saying nobody has to do any work. Unfortunately the electorate seem to have the emotional depth of a primary school class and are cheering him on and patting each other on the back. What he said wasn’t refreshing, it was incoherent and unintelligent. Unfortunately the people apparently love that.

Mute mattoid
    Favourite mattoid
    Oct 19th 2018, 10:58 AM

@Paddington C.: He may be right though – where are your statistics on taxes paid etc. to prove him wrong?

See 24 more replies ▾
    Mute Joe Phillips
    Favourite Joe Phillips
    Oct 19th 2018, 10:59 AM

@Paddington C.: Very well said. Perfect summary

Mute Sean
    Favourite Sean
    Oct 19th 2018, 11:04 AM

@mattoid: 86.6% of Traveller Men and 81.2% of Traveller Women don’t work so to generalize and say that Travellers don’t pay taxes is factually true for the most part (although some Travellers do work and pay taxes). However it is a little bit like telling someone that they have a big nose. It may be true as a point of fact but it is never going to be well received.

Mute Senan Hogan O'Brien
    Favourite Senan Hogan O'Brien
    Oct 19th 2018, 11:09 AM

@mattoid: don’t think Peter Casey can talk much about taxes paid because I’d imagine he pays absolutely nothing in this country

Mute Paddington C.
    Favourite Paddington C.
    Oct 19th 2018, 11:11 AM

@mattoid: most travellers don’t work because they’re largely unemployable, not lazy. Their excluded because of their families and accents. They camp on other peoples land because pretty much all land is privately owned. They have an old and unique culture, it may no longer be sustainable but that doesn’t mean we should extinguish it by force or ignorance. And the overwhelming hate that has risen up on the basis of Casey’s babbling comments is itself proof that they are discriminated against and need to be protected.

Mute Paddington C.
    Favourite Paddington C.
    Oct 19th 2018, 11:12 AM

@Paddington C.: they’re*

Mute Shanley Mac
    Favourite Shanley Mac
    Oct 19th 2018, 11:22 AM

@Paddington C.: I wholly agree with you. My point is not one based on prejudice. Not is my view his view. I’m an advocate of traveller rights. My point is that most politicians are supremely inconsistent and flexible. At least he seems to have a spine.

Mute Paddington C.
    Favourite Paddington C.

@Shanley Mac: I get where you’re coming from and appreciate that it’s not a place of prejudice, but having listened to the actual podcast I don’t think he has a spine. I think he was playing the Trump card and unfortunately it seems to be working. What’s most upsetting, though, is he didn’t even articulate the point well. He jibbered and people are still falling for it in their droves.

Mute mattoid
    Favourite mattoid
    Oct 19th 2018, 11:36 AM

@Paddington C.:
    So presumably you don’t think it’s right that travellers should enjoy privileges to which the general population aren’t entitled then, as that would be discriminatory.

Mute Yzo Sirrius
    Favourite Yzo Sirrius
    Oct 19th 2018, 11:37 AM

@Paddington C.: excellent analogy!

Mute Paddington C.
    Favourite Paddington C.
    Oct 19th 2018, 11:51 AM

@mattoid: such as widespread access to healthcare, education, employment, and a decent lofe expectancy? Because those are all privileges the general population enjoys which travellers don’t. Listen, nobody things that anybody should be put in a more privileged position by the state than the general population. The purpose of positive discrimination (which is a good thing) is to try to bring people from a disadvantaged place up to everyone else’s level, not to raise them above everyone else’s level.

Mute Cormac Ó Braonáin
    Favourite Cormac Ó Braonáin
    Oct 19th 2018, 11:58 AM

@Paddington C.: I wouldn’t equate journal readers to the electorate. But perhaps this might strengthen the argument of not allowing emigrants to vote considering the large portion that read this website. Gotta laugh at their claims of travellers not paying tax though.

Mark
    Mute Mark
    Favourite Mark
    Oct 19th 2018, 12:03 PM

@Paddington C.: Someone I know very well is a NS teacher and each year traveller children are due to come in to a classroom at the start of term and don’t show. No notification just a no show. You can’t educate someone if they’re not there. I can’t say that’s the same everywhere just in this rural school over the last 10yrs (as long as my friend has worked there). An alternative education may be warranted but that might be unfair on others.

Mute John the baptism
    Favourite John the baptism
    Oct 19th 2018, 12:37 PM

@Paddington C.: Tell me about this unique Culture,
    Is tresspassing and setting up camp on private land part of their culture
    Is illegal dumping on private land part of their culture
    Is shop lifting part of their culture
    Is blocking of roads and Sulkly racing part of their culture
    Is organising bare knuckle boxing part of their culture
    Is beating their wife part of their culture
    Is not educating your childern part of their culture
    Is driving without Tax and insurance part of their culture
    Is slavery part of their culture
    Is scaming people out of money for work done part of their culture.
    It’s a great Culture

Mute Diddles Daffy
    Favourite Diddles Daffy
    Oct 19th 2018, 12:51 PM

@Paddington C.: how can you say they’re not lazy? Have you seen the state of where they live. And im not just talking about ones living in a field. Sheer laziness

Mute Diarmuid Hunt
    Favourite Diarmuid Hunt
    Oct 19th 2018, 1:00 PM

@Paddington C.: This same misunderstanding happens wherever inequality is found unfortunately.

Mute KingCrisp
    Favourite KingCrisp
    Mute MickNev
    Favourite MickNev

@Paddington C.: I would love to see travellers get a full education, its essential, but teachers or guards cant force them to go if they aren’t allowed or encouraged by their families, health , employment and life expectancy should be a given no matter who you are this is all common sense I don’t think anyone even Casey is saying they shouldn’t have any of these..These should be a given for all in Ireland..
    Its the criminal/thuggish element that people are sick of its this that people want addressed and it should be … They make up 0.6% of the population but yet the men alone make up 10% of prison population this is wrong and needs to be fixed but while they are so heavily involved in crime people just don’t want to know…If they dont make their money from crime where will they make it and this is the big question that needs to be solved… Years gone by they had trades and travelled around working for farmers etc carrying out different trades but nowadays that doesn’t fly so they lost that and went the wrong road for easy money

Mute Jamie Mul
    Favourite Jamie Mul
    Oct 19th 2018, 1:10 PM

@Paddington C.: The reason a majority don’t work is they choose not to finish their education. The infant mortality rate and life expectancy has a lot to do with their lifestyle choices and their inter marrying not discrimination. Please at least research the subject instead of spouting nonsense.

Mute Jamie Mul
    Favourite Jamie Mul
    Oct 19th 2018, 1:17 PM

@Paddington C.: Perhaps it’s not us that needs to change our mindset, maybe that’s their responsibility, that ever occur to you?

Mute mattoid
    Favourite mattoid
    Oct 19th 2018, 1:38 PM

@Paddington C.:
    Do you actually think travellers don’t have the same rights of access to state-provided services like education and healthcare that everyone else does? Seriously??

Mute Paddington C.
    Favourite Paddington C.
    Oct 19th 2018, 2:22 PM

@mattoid: I did not say they don’t have the same rights to those things, I said they don’t have the same access. Try to at least understand what I’m saying if you’re going to attempt to ridicule me.

Mute Kieran Mc Donnell
    Favourite Kieran Mc Donnell
    Oct 19th 2018, 2:38 PM

@Paddington C.: 80% approx travellers dont work yet school and education is free … come on. Just stop talking waffle. Margaret cash the lady with the 7 kids gets €51,000 of cash/ allowances from the state which is equiv to approx €100,000 salary .

Mute mattoid
    Favourite mattoid
    Oct 19th 2018, 4:21 PM

@Paddington C.:
    They do have the same access. Whether or not they choose to avail of it is a different question.

Mute wacker macker
    Favourite wacker macker
    Oct 19th 2018, 4:22 PM

@Paddington C.: Bring up the subject of itinerants in any conversation and everyone will have negative views on them. Why? Because they rubbish everywhere they have access too, remember what they did at the Dodder river some years ago absolutely destroyed a beautiful amenity with their carry on. This continues everywhere they go. No wonder people don’t want to live beside them.

Mute Alan Ludlow
    Favourite Alan Ludlow
    Oct 19th 2018, 10:25 AM

Sharply criticised in the media – yes

Sharply criticised by his fellow candidates – yes

Sharply criticised by the electorate????

Interesting to see another poll taken following his comments to see what the person in the street thinks…

Mute Michael Mclaughlin
    Oct 19th 2018, 10:28 AM

@Alan Ludlow: too right. It’s the only thing the journal won’t put up a poll about!

Mute MickNev
    Favourite MickNev
    Oct 19th 2018, 10:29 AM

@Alan Ludlow: Journalism is dead…..

Mute Ann Morris Doolan
    Favourite Ann Morris Doolan
    Oct 19th 2018, 12:02 PM

@Michael Mclaughlin: it’s called scared of what it might show

Mute Andrew Christian Troy
    Favourite Andrew Christian Troy
    Oct 19th 2018, 4:42 PM

@Alan Ludlow: he’s getting my vote

Mute Gisbert Bayertz
    Favourite Gisbert Bayertz
    Oct 19th 2018, 5:13 PM

@Michael Mclaughlin: not a surprise though

Mute Michael Mclaughlin
    Oct 19th 2018, 10:26 AM

Of course he should continue. He gave his view, right or wrong, its the decision of the electorate to vote or not vote for him. Looks like there are a lot of people agree with him.

Mute Thomas Meaney
    Favourite Thomas Meaney

Stay in there man…..you spoke what many think silently and have a huge amount of support for speaking your mind…you may not win in the end but at least you spoke for yourself!

Mute Finbar
    Favourite Finbar
    Oct 19th 2018, 10:30 AM

Keep her lit Peter.

Don’t bow to.pressure for merely speaking THE TRUTH!

Mute MK76
    Favourite MK76
    Oct 19th 2018, 5:48 PM

@Finbar: His version of it you mean.

Mute Emma Murphy
    Favourite Emma Murphy
    Oct 19th 2018, 10:25 AM

He’ll decide to continue after getting a groundswell of support urging him to carry on and not be bullied out of the race.

He is totally dominating the campaign news cycle and will probably come in second after the champagne socialist.

Mute David Rogers
    Favourite David Rogers
    Oct 19th 2018, 1:39 PM

@Emma Murphy: Champagne and socialism are both great. I fail to see the problem.

Mute Mr Mystery
    Favourite Mr Mystery
    Oct 19th 2018, 10:11 PM

@Emma Murphy: why vote for D Higgins?

Copy and paste of the last 7 years, no thanks, it’s time for a change,

Casey #1

Mute Alternative for Ireland
    Favourite Alternative for Ireland

Stay in the race Peter. You speak for the vast majority outside of the south Dublin bubble.

Mute Jun Stone
    Favourite Jun Stone
    Oct 19th 2018, 10:35 AM

@Alternative for Ireland: I live in ‘the South Dublin bubble’ and I agree with what he said, so do many many people but most are afraid to say so!

Oct 19th 2018, 10:37 AM

@Jun Stone: Good to hear.

Mute Kieran Mc Donnell
    Oct 19th 2018, 2:27 PM

@Jun Stone: casey for pres…. the rest are liars. !!

Mute trebloc01
    Favourite trebloc01
    Oct 19th 2018, 10:31 AM

Your name is on the ballot
    I’ll still vote for you

Mute MickNev
    Favourite MickNev

He said something that (like it or not)majority of the public agree with , as most have been hurt in some way by the many dark sides of the traveller community..Yet the media goes on a crusade ignoring the people’s popular opinion to hound him out of the race… Journalism I thought reported on was happening instead journalists now force their opinions on people while hiding the majority of the wrong travellers do and hounding out anyone who says what the majority are thinking…
    The travelling community make up approx 0.6 of the population yet they make up 10% of the men in our prisons and even more for the women.
    If they did not force their kids out of school when young to marry and clean and cook them rates would go down and they would be accepted more but lets not talk about that lets hound a man for giving his view.

Mute Yzo Sirrius
    Favourite Yzo Sirrius
    Oct 19th 2018, 11:40 AM

@MickNev: Majority of the public? Prove it…

Mute Mr E
    Favourite Mr E
    Oct 19th 2018, 12:55 PM

@Yzo Sirrius: Well the media say the opposite an where is their proof ?

Why wont they open a simple poll ?

Mute Geralyn Early
    Favourite Geralyn Early

Stay in the race Peter. You have my number 1.

Mute James Bishop
    Favourite James Bishop
    Oct 19th 2018, 5:06 PM

@Geralyn Early: Was not even going to bother voting. But i will vote now for Casey number one.

Mute Rachel O' Meara
    Favourite Rachel O' Meara
    Oct 19th 2018, 10:47 AM

Last week the story about the travellers wanting land and stables for their horses along with their free state of the art houses broke, there was travellers on the tv and radio saying that horses were an essential part of their culture and that they should be provided for along with each house, now the travellers are saying that’s not what they said that they only wanted one grazing site for their horses and they were going to build the stables themselves. They must think people have an awful short memory. If horses are such an essential part of their culture why do they abuse them so much? Fb animal welfare sites are flooded with pictures of travellers abusing animals, its certainly not all of them but there’s a large majority doing it. And if you point it out it’s considered racist.

Mute angryDuck
    Favourite angryDuck
    Oct 19th 2018, 11:42 AM

@Rachel O’ Meara: yep,

I saw those beautiful new homes in Tipperary on the news. These home are far superior to the one I’m paying a mortgage on. I could only dream of solar panels and that space and house size!

To have people refuse them for stupid horses was an insult to the taxes I pay!

Mute Wilbert Gill
    Favourite Wilbert Gill
    Oct 19th 2018, 4:03 PM

@Rachel O’ Meara: well said

Mute Liam Byrne
    Favourite Liam Byrne
    Oct 19th 2018, 10:39 AM

You keep talking about how he was criticised, yet you ignore how many people fully agree with his view.

Oct 19th 2018, 10:43 AM

@Liam Byrne: Exactly. Why won’t the Journal do a factcheck against his remarks? Not one left wing outlet has provided any rebuttal to what he’s said, just called him names.

Mute Yzo Sirrius
    Favourite Yzo Sirrius
    Oct 19th 2018, 10:54 AM

@Liam Byrne: and how many people is that, exactly?

Figures please, if you have them?

Don’t misconstrue a comments section rife with people who agree with you as barometer for public opinion.

And before you berate me, I don’t care who gets elected for president, they won’t be able to do anything about the situation.

I just find you lot funny, with your lack of perspective.

Mute Mr E
    Favourite Mr E
    Oct 19th 2018, 12:58 PM

@Yzo Sirrius: Dont confuse what the Media and D4 lot say as a baromoter of public opinion either

Mute Squiddley Diddley
    Favourite Squiddley Diddley
    Oct 19th 2018, 1:29 PM

@Mr E: They were in tune with the public on the last 2 referenda and also regarding Michael Ds popularity. They certainly don’t share the critical feelings towards travellers felt by most people I know but in general they tend to be pretyy much spot on.

Mute Mr E
    Favourite Mr E
    Oct 19th 2018, 2:35 PM

@Squiddley Diddley: There was quite a lot of the public last 2 referendums that did not agree and where afraid to say anything because they would be attacked by the PC brigades . Plus for Politicans and Media it was easy to suport those as it was Popular and they could all ride the bandwagon while far more serious issues are going on in this country that affect a lot more people that affected in those referendums .
    And this now is highlighting the same, people are getting fed up being told what they think by media and politicans based on bullcrap Claire Byrnes type Polls of a 1000 so called random people, not even a 1% of the population which is nonsense

Mute Gene Parmesan
    Favourite Gene Parmesan

Shtay in it boss!

Mute Al coholic
    Favourite Al coholic
    Oct 19th 2018, 10:33 AM

Why? For telling it like it is?

Mute mattoid
    Favourite mattoid
    Oct 19th 2018, 10:48 AM

Ironic that believing that travellers should be treated the same as everyone else leads to accusations of racism.

Mute victor feldman
    Favourite victor feldman
    Oct 19th 2018, 7:32 PM

@mattoid: thats exactly what i think..its the ultimate irony…to argue for their equality is considered being racist.!!

Mute Earth Traveller
    Favourite Earth Traveller

Don’t do it Peter. Make Ireland Great Again!

Mute Mr Mystery
    Favourite Mr Mystery
    Oct 19th 2018, 10:12 PM

@Earth Traveller: YES

Mute Alan Foley
    Favourite Alan Foley
    Oct 19th 2018, 10:49 AM

Dont let the PC/snowflake brigade win Peter.

Mute Rochelle
    Favourite Rochelle

@Alan Foley: It’s you and your kind he fears and how your support will brandish him for the rest of his life. Something his conscience can’t stomach.

Mute Alan Foley
    Favourite Alan Foley
    Oct 19th 2018, 11:26 AM

@Rochelle: ‘Your kind’ that’s a terrible thing to say.. Sure thats pure racism Rochelle Very surprised at you….

Mute Diarmuid Hunt
    Favourite Diarmuid Hunt
    Oct 19th 2018, 1:03 PM

@Alan Foley: So distinguishing people by their ideology is racist? Buy a dictionary or look up words on Google before you use them.

Mute David Linehan
    Favourite David Linehan

No article on Margaret Cash in court for robbing €300 worth of Penney’s clothes?? Desperate times, especially from someone who gets for free, the equivalent of a good honest taxpayer on a salary of over €81,500.

Mute Yzo Sirrius
    Favourite Yzo Sirrius
    Oct 19th 2018, 11:45 AM

@David Linehan: I have to agree. The Journal should have covered that story.

Mute Super Ted
    Favourite Super Ted
    Oct 19th 2018, 1:43 PM

@David Linehan: She didn’t rob clothes from Penneys. She took them to cloth her children, it’s a cultural thing that settled people don’t understand. Travelers are an ethnic minority group, they have different requirements, the main one being that they are allowed to operate outside of the law of the land.

Unbelievably, settled people are still trying to impose our laws onto an ethnic minority group who don’t believe in that way of life! Housing them without providing stables and grazing land for their horses is a direct attack on their culture! They have long held customs and cultural beliefs that are passed down from generation to generation, it’s not right that we impose our value system onto travelers, we’ll only end up alienating them even more!

Liberal snowflake logic!

Mute sandra clifford
    Favourite sandra clifford
    Oct 19th 2018, 7:14 PM

@Super Ted: with a housing crisis in the country they refuse houses because there is no where for them to keep their horses give me a break the houses should be given to people next in line on the housing list could ya imagine the state of that estate if they had of moved in i give it a month and it will be in bits cant see that lot paying bin charges etc
    They have some cheek theres many out there would give their right arm for one of those lovely houses

Mute Declan Cosgrave
    Favourite Declan Cosgrave
    Oct 19th 2018, 10:40 AM

Go the distance Peter , up until your live debate I was gonna spoil my vote with a Gemma O’Doherty , but NOW I’m voting YOU for standing up for the Majority. Why are people wanting to include the minority ? , It’s the show of hands , its the Majority that gets people elected , I’m sick to death of that horrible word “minority”

Mute Hatchjaw
    Favourite Hatchjaw
    Oct 19th 2018, 5:00 PM

@Declan Cosgrave: I planned to spoil my vote too. Now Peter will be getting my vote.

Mute Maria Hickey-Fagan
    Favourite Maria Hickey-Fagan
    Oct 19th 2018, 10:42 AM

If he feels pressure to pull out of the campaign, simply because he expressed his opinion, then the whole thing is farcical and I for one will be spoiling my vote. The whole point of an election campaign is to let the public know what you stand for so that they can make an informed decision. If people don’t agree with you, they won’t vote for you.

Mute Rochelle
    Favourite Rochelle
    Oct 19th 2018, 11:00 AM

@Maria Hickey-Fagan: His newfound supporters don’t care for him or his lifetime of work or beliefs, they see him only as a vehicle for a far right message of hatred and he realises this and isn’t flattered by the sudden interest in him. You stand for nothing if your vote is so easily won.

Mute Maria Hickey-Fagan
    Oct 19th 2018, 11:21 AM

@Rochelle: I never said he had my vote though. I said I’d spoil my vote if he was pressured to pull out for expressing his opinion. If we can’t have an honest campaign process and the candidates are just telling us what we want to hear, instead of what they truly stand for, then I don’t want any part of it.

Mute Rochelle
    Favourite Rochelle
    Oct 19th 2018, 11:48 AM

@Maria Hickey-Fagan: You should listen to what he actually mentioned as his reason for this consideration. What he truly stands for is an equal, inclusive society and he’s now in the uncomfortable position of being championed as the hero of the far right who believe the exact opposite trying to use him as a vehicle for a message he doesn’t believe in.

Mute Maria Hickey-Fagan
    Oct 19th 2018, 11:59 AM

@Rochelle: And he is being vilified for it. Equality means that everyone is treated equally. So, if stables aren’t included in your average council build, then why would we treat builds for travellers any differently? Equality works both ways.

Mute Mr E
    Favourite Mr E
    Oct 19th 2018, 1:03 PM

@Rochelle: Far right me ars3 .. there is no left or right in country rural areas. You are spining it as usual as anything you dont agree with as far right. I used to be a labour person and my family and friends all agree with Casey on this point, I belive they are Irish and should be treated equally.

Mute Diarmuid Hunt
    Favourite Diarmuid Hunt
    Oct 19th 2018, 5:09 PM

@Mr E: There’s no left or right in rural areas? Please explain. Once you live outside a city you’re no longer able to hold a political opinion?

Mute Mick Dunne
    Favourite Mick Dunne
    Oct 19th 2018, 7:10 PM

@Maria Hickey-Fagan: Casey is telling a lot of people what they want to hear it seems. I don’t think he is being pressured to pull out. I think it is more of a case of him being embarrassed by his terrible performances in debates and interviews. He is out of his depth and he knows it.

Mute Teresa Ryan
    Favourite Teresa Ryan
    Oct 19th 2018, 7:17 PM

@Rochelle: Rubbish. He spoke his mind and there’s many who agree with him.

Mute Giller
    Favourite Giller
    Oct 19th 2018, 11:16 AM

Peter you have given hope to the silent downtrodden. Spoke the truth when nobody else would. Please don’t withdraw because of ill informed people.

Mute Fiasco99
    Favourite Fiasco99
    Oct 19th 2018, 10:57 AM

I can’t help thinking this is a way to keep himself in the headlines.

However I’ll still vote for him.

Wasn’t going to vote before as I thought it was going to be a leftie Higgins formation.

Casey #1

Mute Yzo Sirrius
    Favourite Yzo Sirrius

@Fiasco99: yeah, stick to your guns, like a good boy! Even though he’s shown himself to be a coward.

Vote Pedro!

Mute Neil kettles
    Favourite Neil kettles
    Oct 19th 2018, 11:17 AM

I’d vote for him.

Hope he stays in.

Mute Neil kettles
    Favourite Neil kettles
    Oct 19th 2018, 11:21 AM

The man has the courage to speak his mind. I have to respect him for that.

Mute Yzo Sirrius
    Favourite Yzo Sirrius
    Oct 19th 2018, 11:43 AM

@Neil kettles: Courage? How would describe his current u-turn? Courageous or cowardly?

Mute Darren Ennis
    Favourite Darren Ennis
    Oct 19th 2018, 12:01 PM

@Neil kettles: he wouldn’t speak his mind to the people he was giving out about when he was in Tipp yesterday so courage is not a word i would associate with him

Mute Mr E
    Favourite Mr E
    Oct 19th 2018, 1:08 PM

@Darren Ennis: Tell you what, you go down to Thurles and talk to the poor downtrodded McCarthys .. better still talk to the poor people of Thurles that are afraid of them .. Google Thurles McCarthy Court

Mute Darren Ennis
    Favourite Darren Ennis
    Oct 19th 2018, 1:19 PM

@Mr E: am i the one giving out about them? Am i running for president? No. If i have something to say to someone, i’ll say it. And it wouldn’t be because i was at the very bottom of a poll and i’ve nothing else worth while saying that will get me attention. I’m not defending travelers here, just trying to make people aware of how ridiculous it would be to vote for this guy purely because he has an opinion on something that he can do absolutely nothing about wether he’s in the Aras or dragons den. Let him run for the dail if he’s so concerned

Mute Mr E
    Favourite Mr E
    Oct 19th 2018, 2:49 PM

@Darren Ennis: Do you hear yourself or what .. Who do you think you are to tell anyone on how to vote or for what reason ? This is a democracy.
    He is not concerned, this topic came up when he was asked about Housing Crisis, then the Media ran with the Traveller part .. So maybe you go off and actualy listen to the Podcast.
    I Konw quite a lot of People agree with him on the Traveller issue but afraid to say so in public. But every week in private after weekends in certain areas its the topic of conversation.
    The main poin of this is that normaly in this situation even with his beliefs Casey would have lied and said the PC thing like all Politicans would do and many people including those that do not agree with him like the fact that he said what he belived and then doubled down instead of bactracking. I personally prefer truth and honesty other than the likes of Keeny, Leo and FG making promises and statements to get elected with absolutley no intention of even trying to fulfill thsoe promises.
    With Truth and honesty peopel can truly vote for something.

Mute Darren Ennis
    Favourite Darren Ennis
    Oct 19th 2018, 3:42 PM

@Mr E: so you think he represents truth and honesty? Ha enjoy your vote

Mute John Smith
    Favourite John Smith

He’s afraid he might win!

Mute Mark Murphy
    Favourite Mark Murphy
    Oct 19th 2018, 10:40 AM

Ridiculous if he pulls out. He gave slim hope that potentially there is some who may come into power that will be themselves and speak the truth. I generally vote for a person based on one or two points they have over the other person. Not sure why he wants to pull out based on people voting for him based on that.

Mute Yzo Sirrius
    Favourite Yzo Sirrius

@Mark Murphy: because he’s weak and governed by his business interests.

Mute Mr E
    Favourite Mr E
    Oct 19th 2018, 1:05 PM

@Yzo Sirrius: Is is weaker than Leo and FG who flip/flop all the time depending on what they belive people want

Mute Mr E
    Favourite Mr E
    Oct 19th 2018, 1:05 PM

@Mr E: Is he *

Mute Bob Tallent
    Favourite Bob Tallent
    Oct 19th 2018, 11:24 AM

He spoke his mind. It’s not PC in today’s terms. I respect him for that and suggest he continues in the race.
    Ask the person on the street to throw PC to one side and ask for their opinion . The result would be interesting.
    Continue in the race Peter

Mute Yzo Sirrius
    Favourite Yzo Sirrius

@Bob Tallent: it’s not about being PC, it’s about money.

Don’t be fooled by the rich businessman who used a hot topic to garner attention, and then backs down when he realises the kind of support he received for his statements is damaging to his brand and long-term business interests.

Is that who you want to represent you?

Mute School4work
    Favourite School4work
    Oct 19th 2018, 1:57 PM

@Bob Tallent: Now Robert lets do a work study exercise and see if he is Fleet{wood} footed.

Mute Teresa Ryan
    Favourite Teresa Ryan
    Oct 19th 2018, 7:22 PM

@Yzo Sirrius: well there’s a rumour that once, long ago, that a certain Michael D. Higgins voted against the setting up of a Traveller camp in Galway.

Michael D giving lectures in Belfast and Europe, did anyone ever ask on whose behalf did he give those lectures? Were they private, was he paid and did he attend at the public’s expense on private lectures

One day, just maybe, our media will ask the pertinent questions.

Mute Yzo Sirrius
    Favourite Yzo Sirrius
    Oct 19th 2018, 8:19 PM

@Teresa Ryan: I would like to get to the bottom of those allegations, also.

No one should be above reproach.

Mute Artur Gurta
    Favourite Artur Gurta
    Oct 19th 2018, 10:58 AM

If he doesn’t run I’m not voting at all

Mute Hatchjaw
    Favourite Hatchjaw
    Oct 19th 2018, 5:10 PM

@Artur Gurta: It’s important to vote. If you don’t feel that you’re represented then spoil your vote. A spoilt vote is still counted. If enough people spoil thir vote it may send a message to government.

Mute Shane Zerbe
    Favourite Shane Zerbe
    Oct 19th 2018, 10:44 AM

I wonder what Michael d would say if you brought up Margaret cash case, no doubt. “ the poor Divil. A victim of society “ this country is turning into a cesspit, with the liberal left, Leo and media , the results are disgusting !

Mute Squiddley Diddley
    Favourite Squiddley Diddley
    Oct 19th 2018, 1:51 PM

@Shane Zerbe: Economically the left have been losing ground for decades. If your kids end up on minimum wage jobs unable to fund heath insurance or a pension or buy a home it won’t be because of the liberal Left.

Mute Ross McCann
    Favourite Ross McCann
    Oct 19th 2018, 11:35 AM

I hope he doesn’t pull out, I’d vote for him because he’s the only one not pandering to the “travelers”. If he pulls out I wont vote for any of the others, I’ll write “none of the above” on the card.

Mute Martin Brennan
    Favourite Martin Brennan

The alarming rise of the PC brigade is even more vicious than any fascist state

Mute Yzo Sirrius
    Favourite Yzo Sirrius

@Martin Brennan: ahahahaa! Hilarious…he’s a businessman and money talks for him.

You can choose to believe that it’s about PC brigades and lefties, but I choose to see it how it is – money, money, money…

Mute Diarmuid Hunt
    Favourite Diarmuid Hunt
    Oct 19th 2018, 3:33 PM

@Martin Brennan: Yeah that damn PC brigade, they have hurt so many more people than any fascist nation of the past. Got to love how short our memories are.

Mute Noxious Jellyfish
    Favourite Noxious Jellyfish

What he said was insensitive, but are his comments wrong, and if not, how can we as a nation accommodate those in that situation?

Mute Vincent Doyle
    Favourite Vincent Doyle
    Oct 19th 2018, 11:38 AM

Don’t let the MEDIA push you out Peter. Every person I know agrees with your comments.

Mute Yzo Sirrius
    Favourite Yzo Sirrius
    Oct 19th 2018, 11:59 AM

@Vincent Doyle: confirmation bias

Mute coco akibu
    Favourite coco akibu
    Oct 19th 2018, 11:29 AM

He told it the way it is …..fair play to him

Mute Edmond Mccarthy
    Favourite Edmond Mccarthy

Stick with it peter i know a load of people who are giving you no 1 now because you speak your mind and talk for the majority of the people in rural ireland

Mute John McCann
    Favourite John McCann
    Oct 19th 2018, 12:17 PM

I agree with Casey on travellers and from social media it is clear that most people do. What is shocking is the way PC has taken over so much that nobody can say what they feel. Politicians never will as they are born liars but now we have a situation where the mainstream media avoid any negative press about travellers. I think a young budding journalist with no agenda should do a thesis on the subject, comparing travellers with “settled” people in terms of crime rates, tax evasion, social welfare fraud, insurance scams etc etc and it will only confirm what we all know. Politicians put them up on a pedestal and they’re looking down laughing at the lot of us. We may as well call the Hutches and Kinahans “ethnic” groups!

Mute coco akibu
    Favourite coco akibu

He told it the way it is …..fair play to him

Mute Fran O'Keeffe
    Favourite Fran O'Keeffe
    Oct 19th 2018, 11:31 AM

Peter you are getting my vote you are the only one speaking the truth well done

Mute Seán Dillon
    Favourite Seán Dillon

PC in this country is unbelievable. The two faced approach by politicans and media in this matter is horrible. At least Casey was honest about his feelings and not hypocritical like the rest.

Mute angryDuck
    Favourite angryDuck
    Oct 19th 2018, 11:35 AM

As someone who sees a large portion of earnings disappear ever month in tax to support others (I’ve no problem with paying tax), it was refreshing to hear the truth spoken.

I saw those beautiful new homes in Tipperary on the news. These home are far superior to the one I’m paying a mortgage on. I could only dream of solar panels and that space and house size!

Those homes should be not be given traveller as the chances are they will be recked. Give them to low paid workers.

Mute Ross McCann
    Favourite Ross McCann
    Oct 19th 2018, 6:46 PM

@angryDuck: Well said!

Mute Mark Jones
    Favourite Mark Jones
    Oct 19th 2018, 11:55 AM

Make no mistake you are not free to think and say what you want in this country. We are a cesspit of PC liberal do gooders who clamp down on free speech. You only have to look on this very site to see how the public’s views are being shaped by the deleting of comments that the site moderators don’t agree with.

Mute Tom Ryan
    Favourite Tom Ryan
    Oct 19th 2018, 11:11 AM

More media attention I have to give it to this guy he is good, to come out and say this morning he will be reflecting on his position whether to remain in the race over the weekend and on the last weekend of polling and to personally attack Leo the guy is playing a blinder, he is far from pulling out of this race, his strategic team must be on top dollar because they are advising him well, he could possibly cause a big up set to all other candidates on polling day.

Mute John Cassin
    Favourite John Cassin
    Oct 19th 2018, 12:21 PM

If he does continue he’s got my vote.

Mute Simon Peters
    Favourite Simon Peters
    Oct 19th 2018, 10:46 AM

Was never going to vote for Higgins. Another politician who says one thing and does another. Pity there are so many candidates. Would love to see a two person race.

Mute Rory Hearne
    Favourite Rory Hearne
    Oct 19th 2018, 12:37 PM

Travelers- . 06% of population – men travelers 10% of prison population – women 20% – figures from government- wake up folks and smell the coffee – vote Casey !

Mute Ashling Fenton
    Favourite Ashling Fenton

You have some votes. Don’t give in to the dictatorship!

Mute Veronica
    Favourite Veronica

>I do not want the people of Ireland to elect me as President of Ireland just based on one statement I made.

Someone’s been reading the comments here.

Mute Kevin Cahill
    Favourite Kevin Cahill
    Oct 19th 2018, 12:00 PM

Hang in there! He may not win but at least he speaks what the others won’t dare to mention!

Mute Anthony Clark
    Favourite Anthony Clark
    Oct 19th 2018, 11:49 AM

Hope he is reading the comments the real people leave and not just listening to his *competitors* in the race. Stick with it at least until the next poll…

Mute coco akibu
    Favourite coco akibu

Go for it Peter !! Great President don’t set out to be a leader ,
    They set out to make a difference

Mute Yzo Sirrius
    Favourite Yzo Sirrius
    Oct 19th 2018, 12:26 PM

@coco akibu: and, as president, how will he be able to make a difference to the situation, specifically?

Mute coco akibu
    Favourite coco akibu

@Yzo Sirrius: speak out and not be afraid to say as it is !!
    To many just want a free tax paying life ” Don’t You see this ?
    Everybody must pay .

Mute Mr E
    Favourite Mr E
    Oct 19th 2018, 1:57 PM

@Yzo Sirrius: None of them make any diifference, they biggest thing I took from the debates was to get rid of the Presidencey alltogether as the President doenst really do anyting

Mute coco akibu
    Favourite coco akibu

Go for it Peter !! Great President don’t set out to be a leader ,
    They set out to make a difference

Mute Paul Freeman
    Favourite Paul Freeman
    Oct 19th 2018, 11:33 AM

It doesn’t pay to speak your mind or tell truths in politics.

Mute MK76
    Favourite MK76
    Oct 19th 2018, 10:34 AM

The guy is being credited for speaking his mind, which I’m thankful he did, as he has shown himself to be a bigot.

I think he should stay in the race, so we can pressure test the nonsense presumption that the majority of people support his views.

Mute Weldoninhio
    Favourite Weldoninhio
    Oct 19th 2018, 10:46 AM

@MK76: bigot
    /ˈbɪɡət/Submit
    noun
    a person who is intolerant towards those holding different opinions.

I don’t think he is the bigot in this case.

Mute MK76
    Favourite MK76
    Oct 19th 2018, 11:39 AM

@Weldoninhio: Thanks. But I wonder why you didn’t include the full definition? An oversight I’m sure, but here it is for reference

a person who is intolerant towards those holding different opinions.

“don’t let a few small-minded bigots destroy the good image of the city”

synonyms: dogmatist, partisan, sectarian, prejudiced person; More
    racist, racialist, sexist, homophobe, chauvinist, jingoist, anti-Semite;
    informalmale chauvinist pig, MCP

Mute Mr E
    Favourite Mr E
    Oct 19th 2018, 1:09 PM

@MK76: a great explanation of yourself

Mute Frank McGlynn
    Favourite Frank McGlynn
    Oct 19th 2018, 2:38 PM

@Weldoninhio: Calling men male chauvinist pigs – is that not bigotry?

Mute Skimothy
    Favourite Skimothy
    Oct 19th 2018, 12:50 PM

Ye are very good at mentioning the backlash he received but don’t mention the great support he has also received as a result of his comment

Mute Pl O'neill
    Favourite Pl O'neill
    Oct 19th 2018, 1:08 PM

Man speaks truth and is hounded out by the Political and Media Establishment .

No Surprise in Ireland .

Mute Kieran Mc Donnell
    Oct 19th 2018, 2:32 PM

Vote PETER CASEY !!!

Mute Eoin
    Favourite Eoin
    Oct 19th 2018, 12:35 PM

First time commenting on here, The man speaks the truth and he gets shot down from all angles just shows the hypocrisy

Mute Stephen Maher
    Favourite Stephen Maher
    Oct 19th 2018, 12:52 PM

Im voting for honesty.

Mute Jimmy Murray
    Favourite Jimmy Murray
    Oct 19th 2018, 10:24 AM

Just adding to publicity.

Mute R White
    Favourite R White

@Jimmy Murray: spot on Jimmy. What he’s actually saying is he’s taking the weekend off!! He didn’t have a hope until his comments. He’s thrown a grenade and he’s sitting back to soak up the publicity which will inevitably see him get more votes than he otherwise would have got but will not see him become President

Mute Dáithí O Raghailaigh
    Favourite Dáithí O Raghailaigh
    Oct 19th 2018, 12:18 PM

@Jimmy Murray: hope so

KJ
    Mute KJ
    Favourite KJ

Peter please don’t withdraw from the election your opinions are what I and thousands of other voters feel and without your voice we would be left without one. You have started this long needed debate and unless it is completed people will go back to living in fear and afraid to speak their mind and truth. Don’t allow yourself to be bullied and intimidated like those afraid to speak aloud.

Mute Gisbert Bayertz
    Favourite Gisbert Bayertz
    Oct 19th 2018, 1:32 PM

Ah no……after this week I was actually going to vote for him

Mute Frank McGlynn
    Favourite Frank McGlynn
    Oct 19th 2018, 1:43 PM

I hope he doesn’t pull out. The rest are just parrots who have neither the courage nor the intelligence to express an honest opinion. They are afraid to offend the PC Thought-Control Gestapo. I was thinking about giving him my No. 1 before he made that remark. Because of the reaction of his opponents I am now definitely giving him No 1.

Mute Michael Carty
    Favourite Michael Carty

Really hope he runs

Mute Angela Roche Reville
    Favourite Angela Roche Reville
    Oct 19th 2018, 11:20 AM

If he hasn’t the courage to stand by his convictions, he has no business being in any political race. From what I have heard a lot of people agree that he started a conversation that we need to have and he would have gained support for doing so.

Mute Orla Cosgrave
    Favourite Orla Cosgrave
    Oct 19th 2018, 2:22 PM

Please don’t withdraw as l had made up my mind that you have my vote.

Mute RockyRockStar
    Favourite RockyRockStar
    Oct 19th 2018, 2:33 PM

Stick with it peter , you only said what the whole country thinks ,, you’ll get the votes if you stick with it ,,

Mute trebloc01
    Favourite trebloc01

The other candidates are just after a fat salary & luxury living

Mute Yzo Sirrius
    Favourite Yzo Sirrius
    Oct 19th 2018, 12:14 PM

@trebloc01: and you think he’s not in it for his business interests? The wealthy businessman who’s been on TV.

Why do you think he’s reconsidering his stance?

Open your eyes. Follow the money…

Mute Mr E
    Favourite Mr E
    Oct 19th 2018, 1:55 PM

@Yzo Sirrius: Well at least he made his own money .. Where did MDH estimated worth of 4 million come from, the only 2 non millionares were to the women ..

Mute Ooby Dooby
    Favourite Ooby Dooby

“In a time of universal deceit — telling the truth is a revolutionary act.”

Mute Darren Ennis
    Favourite Darren Ennis
    Oct 19th 2018, 10:47 AM

Every one going to vote for him because of one opinion he has, of which he can do absolutely nothing about as president (a figurehead).Are you all thick?? And the same people would call it populist if it was from a sin fein candidate or similar. Wether he’s right or wrong, it’s not a reason to vote for him. He didn’t even have the bottle to talk to very people he was giving out about. If you have a problem with travelers, talk to someone who can do something about. This is not the man to resolve issues. Wake up folks

Mute John Mcloughlin
    Favourite John Mcloughlin
    Oct 19th 2018, 1:27 PM

Stay with it for democracy sake

Mute Kath Noonan
    Favourite Kath Noonan
    Oct 19th 2018, 12:40 PM

He should run. He spoke his opinion, which he’s allowed to do. If he doesn’t win then fine but he should be allowed to run anyway.

Mute Martin McKenna
    Favourite Martin McKenna

Media and Travellers trying to hound him out.
    RTE are a disgrace especially.

Mute Noelle O Donoghue
    Favourite Noelle O Donoghue
    Oct 19th 2018, 3:06 PM

Peter has articulated exactly the sentiments of a great many people. If he runs I will give him number one on the basis that he was the first person with the courage to address a problem which has dogged the nation for a long time . A sense of entitlement is what these people have while the rest of us support them with our taxes . What percent of them pay tax ! Keep in the race Peter. Peter O’Donoghue

Mute Tony Kennedy
    Favourite Tony Kennedy
    Oct 19th 2018, 1:14 PM

This bloody country can’t cope with honesty or truth. LETS ALL TWEET OUR SUPPORT FOR HIM. Don’t let him back down

Mute Yzo Sirrius
    Favourite Yzo Sirrius

That’s hilarious! He’s bottling it…and all the people on here hailing him as some kind of messiah for not backing down to the “liberal, lefty snowflakes” :)

Even his statement that he doesn’t want to be elected based on one statement is priceless.

“He’s not the messiah, he’s a very naughty boy!”

Mute coco akibu
    Favourite coco akibu
    Oct 19th 2018, 3:30 PM

@Yzo Sirrius: He got a reaction that’s the way of the world now.
    Look at that mad man in America people like different ok ,

Mute Dáithí O Raghailaigh
    Favourite Dáithí O Raghailaigh
    Oct 19th 2018, 1:30 PM

If he drops out perhaps there are a lot of us who should drop out of society and be shut up, Because I agree with what he said about travelers.

Mute Yzo Sirrius
    Favourite Yzo Sirrius
    Oct 19th 2018, 10:49 AM

It wouldn’t surprise me if, being a businessman, he started to feel the squeeze from some of his investors/business interests.

Money talks, but people on here think he’s down with the common man. If you believe that, go back to bed and keep dreaming.

Mute trebloc01
    Favourite trebloc01
    Oct 19th 2018, 12:20 PM

Compare the hard working class who never can afford a sun holiday.

Mute Mr E
    Favourite Mr E
    Oct 19th 2018, 2:09 PM

Its fine when Leo and the media and the D4 type attack those that do not “get up early and go to work” and “sponge off the state” when referring to non-travellers..
    But racist blah blah when same said of travellers ..Hypocricy from the lot of them

Mute Stephen
    Favourite Stephen

He was only there to distract us from the other two dragon muppets anyway!!

Mute John Quill
    Favourite John Quill

He’s playing the electorate like a fiddle…

Mute Ian McGahon
    Favourite Ian McGahon
    Oct 19th 2018, 1:24 PM

I am surprised thejournal published this. He cannot pull out. The ballots have been printed. The postal ballots posted out.

Mute Mr E
    Favourite Mr E
    Oct 19th 2018, 2:15 PM

Simple yes no survey .. Do you agree with Peter Casey ?

https://www.surveymonkey.de/r/TN8CG5X

Mute Michael Hennessy
    Favourite Michael Hennessy

He’s a proven liar whose only contribution to the race has been to remind people why they should hate travellers.People agree with many of his comments on travellers as is their right but what’s his point here? Rightly or wrongly the people in this country don’t need to be told to hate travellers,they’ll do that without being prompted by him.He hasn’t offered anything to deal with the issues with and for travellers and in the midst of a huge housing crisis he travels to Tipperary to bring attention to 7 houses,again offering no solution to what in the grand scheme of things is a very minor issue. “Peter Casey hates travellers and isn’t afraid to say it” must be the lowest the bar has ever been for convincing people to vote for a candidate. He’s backtracked on plenty of his comments,he’s lied about being a landlord and if he’s dumb enough to think he could win it then he’s too dumb to clean the toilets in the Aras so it’s obvious he’s in this to help himself not the country. Some don’t want Michael D,fine but Joan Freeman has contributed to saving many lives,Sean Gallagher has worked with the youth and disabled in this country and Liadh has promoted our culture for years,and all are obviously better candidates than Casey so you’d have to wonder about the mindset of somebody who’s vote can be won by simply attacking travellers. Luckily it will be a tiny minority thinking like that but it’s still sad.

Mute Declan Fitzsimons
    Favourite Declan Fitzsimons

@Michael Hennessy: Somebody cleans the toilets in the Aras, how do you think they would feel about your comparative remark? Not nice.

Mute Rachel O' Meara

@Michael Hennessy: Correct me if I’m wrong but he didn’t tell anyone to “hate travellers” he simply addressed the fact that everyone should be treated equally and he thought that them claiming their own ethnicity was hindering rather then helping them. Fair and valid points alot of people agree with. Hatred is such a strong term, I certainly don’t hate travellers and I’ve had nothing but bad experiences with them, I just want them to integrate and behave like a normal tax paying citizen, what’s so wrong with that? And I’d say the exact same about any member of the settled community who was involved in criminal activity.

Mute Michael Hennessy

@Rachel O’ Meara: Read between the lines Rachel. A presidential candidate has made his main message that travellers contribute nothing and only harm Irish society,while offering nothing constructive on what to do about the issues they’re responsible for or the issues they face and he’s done it because he was at 1% in the polls. If that’s not promoting hate then we’ve different views on what constitutes that.I never said that everybody who agrees with his comments hates travellers so whether you agree with his comments or not is irrelevant to the point I’m making.

Mute Michael Hennessy

@Declan Fitzsimons: I reckon they’d realise that the individual act of cleaning a toilet doesn’t require much intelligence and that my comment was an attack on Casey’s dishonesty and not an attack on honest work. Many intelligent people do things in there job every day that doesn’t require much intelligence.Calm down and dont try to find offence where there’s none intended.

Mute Rachel O' Meara
    Oct 19th 2018, 12:31 PM

@Michael Hennessy: You’re putting an awful lot of words in his mouth there Michael. He was asked about a situation that was front and centre in the news, he gave his opinion on it and suggested that as part of the solution they shouldn’t seperate themselves from everyone else by claiming to be a different race. He also spoke about equality, how is that promoting hate? Read between the lines you say, why, so I can see that from your high and mighty elevated position that two and two make five instead of four. You don’t like the man, that’s fine but don’t try to use mental gymnastics to equate what he said to him being a racist, it’s intellectually dishonest. That’s the point I’m making!

Mute Jamie Mul
    Favourite Jamie Mul
    Oct 19th 2018, 1:47 PM

@Michael Hennessy: As far as I can tell he didn’t make it his main message, the media did that and the outraged left like yourself, so yeh get over yourself and be gladful that someone opened a discussion seemingly a lot of people don’t want to have.

Mute Martin Laird
    Favourite Martin Laird
    Oct 19th 2018, 7:24 PM

Stick with it Peter you have my vote

Mute Grey Beard
    Favourite Grey Beard
    Oct 19th 2018, 10:54 AM

I mean i agree with his statement, im not sure it’s enough to make me vote for him either. I know nothing else about him and him being president isn’t going to affect the status of the travelling community

Mute Rochelle
    Favourite Rochelle
    Oct 19th 2018, 10:51 AM

He has realised the only people he’s appealing to now are the detestable racists who believe they’re a silent majority and see him as saying what they falsely believe everyone is afraid to say. His conscience is kicking in. He doesn’t want to be the Farrage or Trump of Ireland and realises continuing to embolden bigots and their vile beliefs will do this country incredible harm.

Mute Yzo Sirrius
    Favourite Yzo Sirrius
    Oct 19th 2018, 10:59 AM

@Rochelle: I see your point, but it’s not his conscience, it’s his business interests…the reality of the farce that is the presidential election in Ireland!

Mute Grey Beard
    Favourite Grey Beard
    Oct 19th 2018, 11:03 AM

@Rochelle: I think many people might now see him as some kind of trump figure who is anti immigration and anti PC…calls it like it is, or isn’t a liberal He doesn’t want to be that figure and nothing else he has done has suggested that.

I actually agree with what his said about the travelling community, but at the same time if I share my views on most things I have been accused of being a liberal snowflake or social justice warrior. I dont think this guy is going to be the right wing saviour they are hoping for.

Mute Rochelle
    Favourite Rochelle
    Oct 19th 2018, 11:06 AM

@Yzo Sirrius: Possibly, it was always suspected his participation in the election was to enhance his business profile among Americans. Irish Presidential candidate sounds great as a title, Eccentric racist who could could go on to be noted for starting a persecution campaign against a vulnerable minority, probably less so. Unless he’s doing business in the deep south.

Mute Rochelle
    Favourite Rochelle

@Grey Beard: He’s ironically the most globalist candidate of them all, celebrating diversity in Ireland and looking to extend rights to the Irish abroad. He’s everything these people despise but they’ll champion him for a few words about travellers.

Mute Mark Jones
    Favourite Mark Jones
    Oct 19th 2018, 12:50 PM

@Rochelle: Travelers aren’t a race.

Mute angryDuck
    Favourite angryDuck
    Oct 19th 2018, 2:47 PM

@Mark Jones: bingo, travellers are not a race, studies have shown they are genetically identical to the average Irish person http://www.thejournal.ie/traveller-community-study-rcsi-3231070-Feb2017/

Mute Mick Dunne
    Favourite Mick Dunne
    Oct 19th 2018, 11:07 AM

Although he doesn’t see himself as a racist, he was probably taken aback by the support he is receiving from right wing nut jobs on social media and maybe he has decided he would rather not have their support.

Mute angryDuck
    Favourite angryDuck

@Mick Dunne: oh really, “right wing nut jobs”?

I saw those beautiful new homes in Tipperary on the news. These homes are far superior to the one I’m paying a mortgage on. I could only dream of solar panels and that space and house size!

Mute Mick Dunne
    Favourite Mick Dunne

@angryDuck: Yes lots of right wing nut jobs supporting him all over the internet. You don’t have to racist to support someone like Casey but I think it helps. Regarding those houses, I think we need to take media reports with a pinch of salt and we also need to distinguish between the individuals involved and the entire travelling community, rather than inciting hatred for the entire travelling community.

Mute Mazza86
    Favourite Mazza86
    Oct 19th 2018, 12:41 PM

@Mick Dunne: Define racism?

Mute Mick Dunne
    Favourite Mick Dunne
    Oct 19th 2018, 12:57 PM

@Mazza86: I’ll go with your definition Mazza.

Mute Mazza86
    Favourite Mazza86
    Oct 19th 2018, 1:34 PM

@Mick Dunne: Ok…

Oxford Dictionary Definition of racism in English:

RACISM
    Noun

Prejudice, discrimination, or antagonism directed against someone of a different race based on the belief that one’s own race is superior.

Mute Mr E
    Favourite Mr E
    Oct 19th 2018, 2:01 PM

@Mick Dunne: All Right wing nut jobs me bollix ,, my family and friends are all ordinary working class people, who most used to suport labour and we all agree with Casey point .. But you keep the D4 / Media narrative going with right wing nut jobs

Mute Mick Dunne
    Favourite Mick Dunne
    Oct 19th 2018, 3:01 PM

@Mazza86: Are you going to make a point or what?

Mute FlopFlipU
    Favourite FlopFlipU
    Oct 19th 2018, 3:57 PM

@Mazza86: Are they a different I didn’t know that ,their ethnicity ,well that is in doubt they are Irish as far as I know but based on that should anyone that strays into the country of a different ethnicity get a house and grazing land

Mute Mick Dunne
    Favourite Mick Dunne
    Oct 19th 2018, 3:58 PM

@Mr E: I seriously doubt that every single one of your friends and relations agree with Casey.

Mute sean de paore
    Favourite sean de paore
    Oct 19th 2018, 9:33 PM

Stay in there Peter. The Six first preference votes in my house are yours

Mute Aine O Connor
    Favourite Aine O Connor

He is actually worried that he might be elected on this one issue of Traveller Rights. Is he for real, does he think that the electorate are stupid. He has not a hope in Hell of being elected.
    Our shameful past history has revealed the the scandals of the appalling treatment of women, gay people and the last one not yet resolved is the discrimination against Travellers.
    I can remember a time when a young Traveller Mother was reduced to living in a tent on the side of the road, forced to beg for food with her 10th child on her breast covered up in a shawl.
    It’s no wonder some of them turned out the way they did. When they went to school they were ostracized. So much for Equality and an inclusive Ireland.

Mute sandra clifford
    Oct 19th 2018, 7:05 PM

He only spoke the truth i hope he stays in the race
    PC gone mad

Mute David Glynn
    Favourite David Glynn
    Oct 19th 2018, 4:09 PM

Lets get moving here. If you think he is right and you want him in the race go on your twitter and Facebook and say so. Lets stand up for honest commentary. As for the travellers good luck with your new houses. Just organise your own grazing and get on with life.

Mute gofreak
    Favourite gofreak
    Oct 19th 2018, 10:51 AM

“I do not want the people of Ireland to elect me as President of Ireland just based on one statement I made.”

Hang on… he’s worried people are going to elect him? And that he’ll be cast as ‘the racist President’? He thinks this is an actual risk? Yikes.

Mute Yzo Sirrius
    Favourite Yzo Sirrius
    Oct 19th 2018, 10:57 AM

@gofreak: yep, he’d lose a lot of investment money and his brand would suffer.

Not quite the shining light some people were hoping for, but just playing by the rules he signed up for.

Bottler!

Mute Mazza86
    Favourite Mazza86
    Oct 19th 2018, 11:06 AM

@Yzo Sirrius: He’s not gone yet… Relax

Mute Yzo Sirrius
    Favourite Yzo Sirrius
    Oct 19th 2018, 11:17 AM

@Mazza86: he doesn’t have to be gone and may very well stay in but he’s still bottling it by his decision to “take some time to think about it” and stating that he doesn’t want to be voted in based on one statement.

I hope he stays in the race and couldn’t care less if he wins. It’s all a farce, anyway and only serves to highlight how stupid people can be – easily manipulated sheep!

Mute Mazza86
    Favourite Mazza86

@Yzo Sirrius: People are fully aware he will have no real political clout if elected… People in this country are just sick and tired of political correctness… It’s refreshing to see a candidate speak their mind instead of spouting nonsense… Regardless of whether he wins or not, he has started an awakening among the public that’s exposing the anti free speech concept of political correctness for what it is… Anti free speech…

Mute Yzo Sirrius
    Favourite Yzo Sirrius
    Oct 19th 2018, 11:55 AM

@Mazza86: I think you’ll find that free speech is alive and well in Ireland. Someone can say what they want, within the confines of the law.

Just because other people disagree and voice their opinion, doesn’t make it anti-free speech.

This is his own decision, probably based on business interests, and is no way evidence that free speech is under threat.

I personally think that, had he approached in a different way, he could have opened up a frank and constructive debate on/with the topic of the travelling community and how we could move forward or come to some sort of accord, addressing issues on both sides.

Sorry if that’s too PC for you, but that’s how a society works through its issues.

Mute Mazza86
    Favourite Mazza86
    Oct 19th 2018, 12:11 PM

@Yzo Sirrius: I suspect his motives for running are definitely for his own financial gain in some way shape or form, but the fact of the matter is people don’t care about him as an individual, they just want to hear public figures calling it like it is… And surely you can see that political correctness is a cancer on free speech… In fact, it’s anti-free speech in its very nature…

Mute Yzo Sirrius
    Favourite Yzo Sirrius
    Oct 19th 2018, 12:36 PM

@Mazza86: it’s only a cancer if you subscribe to it. And we don’t have to. We can say what we want and be shouted down, criticized, humiliated even, but we still have the right to that freedom of speech.

Mute Yzo Sirrius
    Favourite Yzo Sirrius
    Oct 19th 2018, 12:40 PM

@Mazza86: I want to hear everyone’s point of view, because if we don’t it will lead to even more distrust amongst ourselves.

We may be on opposing sides, but we’re two sides of the same coin.

And thanks for engaging in the conversation. I think that’s what’s most important, regardless of views.

Mute Mazza86
    Favourite Mazza86
    Oct 19th 2018, 1:09 PM

@Yzo Sirrius: 100% correct. But the reality is when you have the atmosphere of political correctness ruling over how politicians speak and the media conducting business you have a problem that leads into misrepresentation and can in fact cause inequality by treating one group more favourably…
    The comments of some persons on this article labelling Casey a “racist” without understanding the definition of the term indicate that there is a culture among the left to attack people with terms like that simply on the grounds that he was exposing a group in society for what they did which was not politically correct…
    It is a very dangerous to throw a label like that around indiscriminately and unjustifiably particularly with someone’s employment…Therefore, free speech is not entirely free …

Mute Mazza86
    Favourite Mazza86

@Yzo Sirrius: Completely agree… While we may disagree politically on certain topics it’s important to be able to have open discussion of those conflicting opinions while being respectful of their right to express those opinions are fundamental to a modern society… We all have to live here after all…

Mute Mícheál Mac Donncha
    Favourite Mícheál Mac Donncha

I see the right-wingers are out again backing Casey for his ‘honesty’. Honest? Yes, the way Hitler was honest about hating Jews.

Mute Mazza86
    Favourite Mazza86
    Oct 19th 2018, 11:08 AM

@Mícheál Mac Donncha: Ok, what did he lie about?

Mute gofreak
    Favourite gofreak
    Oct 19th 2018, 11:18 AM

@Mazza86: He made very generalised negative statements about a group of people. ‘Tarring with the same brush’. Unless he can show what he said is true for all travelers then his statements were not accurate.

Mute Mazza86
    Favourite Mazza86

@gofreak: I’m pretty sure the statistics speak for itself… Doesn’t take a genius to work out

Mute gofreak
    Favourite gofreak
    Oct 19th 2018, 1:18 PM

@Mazza86: He should present statistics then. Not point blank generalizations.

Mute Mazza86
    Favourite Mazza86
    Oct 19th 2018, 1:21 PM

@gofreak: But the stats back his generalisations…

Mute MickNev
    Favourite MickNev
    Oct 19th 2018, 1:51 PM

@Mícheál Mac Donncha: Comparing him to Hitler, its dopey comments like this that make reasoned debate impossible…

Mute Michael Reilly
    Favourite Michael Reilly
    Oct 19th 2018, 5:35 PM

@Mícheál Mac Donncha: Sinn Fein and “honesty”. Good for a laugh.Did your buddies in the 1940′s not support Adolph.

Mute John Murphy
    Favourite John Murphy
    Oct 19th 2018, 1:28 PM

If traction judging by social media is anything to go by he has definitely found himself an audience. His statements although seen as divisive and repudiate by mainstream media, along with his rivals. Has catapulted his zero inferior campaign to a maybe this guy could actually poll some first preference.
    So what’s with his now sudden epif and the need to reasses his position. You got what you wanted!! me thinks because of the nature of that support.

Mute School4work
    Favourite School4work
    Oct 19th 2018, 1:59 PM

None of them have a chance against Higgins it’s all rigged up, fine gael nailed him today.

Use the money for a good cause, not a lost cause:

Mute Michael Wynne
    Favourite Michael Wynne
    Oct 19th 2018, 11:14 AM

STUNT

Mute Michael Courtney
    Favourite Michael Courtney
    Oct 19th 2018, 11:49 AM

Fair play to the man for what he said but if he gets elected what’s he going to then? Absolutely nothing he’ll go to the big games in Dublin, 3 or 4 holidays a year waving the Irish flag, have a driver to take him around the country and a servant to wipe his arse and all at the expense of the taxpayer. This election is a joke ask yourself this do you want to vote for someone to have cushy number getting paid big bucks at your expense?

Mute Stephen Maher
    Favourite Stephen Maher
    Oct 19th 2018, 12:56 PM

@Michael Courtney:

The only question is weather you want an honest or a dishonest person holding the office or president of Ireland.

Mute PV Nevin
    Favourite PV Nevin
    Oct 19th 2018, 11:53 AM

Dragons Den is utterly contemptible.
    Casey, Gallagher & co are reactionary parasites lording it over us. Their sense of entitlement is fathomless.

Mute Denise Mc Shannon
    Favourite Denise Mc Shannon

Whether you love or hate Travellers, voting Peter Casey for President of Ireland because of a divisive remark is just dumb.

Mute trebloc01
    Favourite trebloc01

@Denise Mc Shannon: yah there are people sleep in the streets and 6 fine luxury houses lying empty in Tipperary

Mute angryDuck
    Favourite angryDuck

@Denise Mc Shannon:
    this has nothing to do with loving or hating anyone.

It’s about being able to say what you think without being beaten into line by PCness.

It is plainly an insult to me and the tax I pay that those beautiful houses, better houses that I can afford working every day for 25 years, where refused because some poor lad had no where to graze a animal.

Travellers have one hell of a sense of entitlement and for no good reason.

IMHO, anyone in receipt of free house needs to be pretty damn grateful

Mute sandra clifford
    Oct 19th 2018, 7:27 PM

@trebloc01: those houses should be given to those next in line on the housing list its a disgrace they are lying empty do these so called travellers not realise theres a housing crisis they have some cheek looking for land to graze their horses
    Theres plenty of ppl would jump at the chance to be given the keys to a beautiful house like those
    Could you imagine the state of that estate if they had of moved in as i cant see that lot paying bin charges etc

Mute John Byrne
    Favourite John Byrne
    Oct 19th 2018, 11:35 PM

Would make a great minister of justice…..

Mute Martin Meyler
    Favourite Martin Meyler
    Oct 19th 2018, 1:22 PM

All these pseudo-trumpies on this thread…finally you found someone who’ll articulate your prejudices and he goes and pulls out. Hilarious. He’s so far from presidential material, but that doesn’t seem to make a difference to you. If you changed the word ‘traveller’ to ‘Mexican’ you’d really see clearly the source of this. Always knew this country was deeply racist, and now you’ve been given what looks like legitimacy to let it all out. Shameful.

Mute mattoid
    Favourite mattoid
    Oct 20th 2018, 12:03 AM

@Martin Meyler:
    How can it be racist when he says he sees travellers as being the same race as himself??

Mute Seamus ó Corcoráin
    Favourite Seamus ó Corcoráin
    Oct 19th 2018, 1:21 PM

Its all a scam. The 3 dragons joined the competition to force an election. Now that there are others in the race, watch as one by one they withdraw for a variety pof reasons.

Also next weeks lotto numbers are…

Mute Jamie Mul
    Favourite Jamie Mul
    Oct 19th 2018, 1:49 PM

Karpman drama triangle in full view here.

Mute Seamus Mac
    Favourite Seamus Mac
    Oct 20th 2018, 11:01 AM

@Jamie Mul: that gave me a chuckle

Mute PeteMcC
    Favourite PeteMcC
    Oct 19th 2018, 3:47 PM

Don’t waste your time thinking! Just Arasexit

Mute NPC4452347
    Favourite NPC4452347

Casey needs to reflect on his disgusting racism and walk away. His horrible comments have set the traveller movement back years

Mute James Jackman
    Favourite James Jackman

The great thing about the ballot box is you don’t have to be PC

Mute Frances Lawlor
    Favourite Frances Lawlor
    Oct 19th 2018, 4:59 PM

No 1 for Casey, stay in the race.
    FMB

Mute Charles Williams
    Favourite Charles Williams
    Oct 19th 2018, 10:36 AM

When all he is offering is the old tired and detested Trumpish stunts of scaremongering, scapegoating, hate and division, I think he has already lost.