You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Laura Hutton/Photocall Ireland

'Cheaper petrol would mean higher taxes' - Department of Finance

It’s one or the other, apparently.

INDEPENDENT TD MATTIE McGrath has called on the Minister for Finance to reduce the Government’s excise duty on petrol and diesel.

Deputy McGrath said his proposal was reasonable as the cost of crude oil is at a record five-year low.

However, a spokesperson for the Department of Finance said the suggestion was not realistic as it would result in a tax hike elsewhere.

The Tipperary South TD said the Government had an opportunity to make sure people could “directly feel the benefit” of the economic recovery.

“The cost of crude oil has fallen to a five-year low and that should be reflected in the savings that can be passed on to motorists and employers like hauliers and others in the transport sector,” McGrath said.

He added that the Government “chose not to” support an opposition Private Members Bill, the Motorist Emergency Relief Bill, that would have effectively cut fuel prices by 5 cent, in 2012.

It is staggering to see that almost 57% of the retail price of petrol is in the form of taxes paid to the Government. In light of that scale of revenue return there must be some room for alleviating manoeuvres on behalf of the taxpayer.

The Department spokesperson said the taxation on petrol and diesel “comprises an excise component which is fixed and a VAT component” based on the end-price of the product.

“Accordingly, the steady reduction in the price of petrol and diesel in recent months, while good news in terms of reducing costs for business and the public at large, has meant a reduction in VAT receipts to the Exchequer in respect of these products.

“Any reduction in excise duties would have to be balanced by an increase in tax elsewhere or by a reduction in public expenditure,” he stated.

Explainer: Oil prices have dipped below $50 a barrel. But Ireland could be a winner…

Ireland is allowing unmarked fuel to be used in private boats, so Europe is taking us to court

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

95 Comments
    Mute Derek mc keever
    Favourite Derek mc keever
    Jan 9th 2015, 6:49 AM

Sure why would this government want to help out its citizens

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Favourite Neal Ireland Hello
    Jan 9th 2015, 7:03 AM

How would they be helping us by taking tax off petrol and adding it to something else or taking it away from hospitals or something?

Mute Ciaran Ó Fallúin
    Favourite Ciaran Ó Fallúin
    Jan 9th 2015, 8:06 AM

Neal, you’ll never get elected with that sort of reasonable “logic”.

What you want to do is be populist and sensational. Mention that the ordinary man or woman on the street is having a hard time and that we should give everyone more money or stop charging everyone so much, in taxes and whatnot. Pointing out that cuts need to have an offset elsewhere is the same rubbish people have been hearing for years and they’ve had enough of that.

Also, promise them a unicorn. They’d like that.

Mute amos brearly
    Favourite amos brearly
    Jan 9th 2015, 8:17 AM

You sir, are a dope.

Mute Ronan Flanagan
    Favourite Ronan Flanagan
    Jan 9th 2015, 8:19 AM

Looks like a pair

Mute John Doe
    Favourite John Doe
    Jan 9th 2015, 8:31 AM

I see in the Indo that they are thinking of axing the public sector pension levy for the public sector. God forbid they could cut excise duty as that might help us poor folk in the private sector. JOKE !

Mute Tony Skillington
    Favourite Tony Skillington
    Jan 9th 2015, 8:37 AM

It’s bull$h1t …if they reduced the levies even by 1% all it would mean is that instead of buying say, €20 of fuel, a person would buy €25 because it’s cheaper. The reduction would soon be off set by higher amount of fuel and home heating oil being bought.

Mute Ciaran Ó Fallúin
    Favourite Ciaran Ó Fallúin
    Jan 9th 2015, 8:54 AM

I can understand wanting to lower fuel prices to put more money in peoples’ back pockets (ignoring that the tax black hole would need to be made up elsewhere).. but did you just argue that lowering the price of fuel is a good thing so that we can consume more oil… is this 2015? Is the environment ok now?

Mute TonyFlynn
    Favourite TonyFlynn
    Jan 9th 2015, 9:03 AM

Why would they buy €25 worth of fuel when they’d be getting more for the original €20.

Mute Ronan Flanagan
    Favourite Ronan Flanagan
    Jan 9th 2015, 9:09 AM

Exactly what ‘fuels’ an economy, pity our great leaders are too afraid that their extortionate salaries and expenses won’t be paid, that is their only fear

D H
    Mute D H
    Favourite D H
    Jan 9th 2015, 11:30 AM

Ask not what your country can do for you ,ask only how much more you can pay to your country

Mute Tommy Whelan
    Favourite Tommy Whelan
    Jan 9th 2015, 3:52 PM

It’s easier for them to leave it in place then it is to reduce it and then to explain why there raising taxes else ware.

Mute Francid Dooley
    Favourite Francid Dooley
    Jan 9th 2015, 7:15 AM

No reduction in E.S.B ?. Unless you Chang your supplier. Can someone explain that to me.

Mute James St John Smith
    Favourite James St John Smith
    Jan 9th 2015, 7:25 AM

Ask Mr Chang

Mute brian magee
    Favourite brian magee
    Jan 9th 2015, 7:36 AM

It’s called an introductory offer. Takes 2 minutes to change. Low prices to lure you in, then they hope you stay.

See 14 more replies ▾
    Mute TR909
    Favourite TR909
    Jan 9th 2015, 7:42 AM

Instead of rewarding loyal customers, they reward new ones. Pulled upc up on this, threatened to go with sky and hey presto, got the same deal they give to brand new customers. Wonder would it work with ESB?

Mute Porterkev
    Favourite Porterkev
    Jan 9th 2015, 8:00 AM

Why would anyone owe loyalty to a company? If it’s cheaper elsewhere, move, don’t stay out of some sense of misguided loyalty

Mute brian magee
    Favourite brian magee
    Jan 9th 2015, 8:03 AM

Why would a c

Mute brian magee
    Favourite brian magee
    Jan 9th 2015, 8:04 AM

Why would a company reward loyal customers, when there willing to pay the higher price? If the customers are to lazy to move, then that’s their fault

Mute bacoxy
    Favourite bacoxy
    Jan 9th 2015, 8:10 AM

Terrible stammer you have brian, I hope you can sort it out :)

Mute Simon Barnes
    Favourite Simon Barnes
    Jan 9th 2015, 9:09 AM

if you hadn’t noticed to get any discount on the unit rate you have to sign up to a years contract, 50 quid exit fee makes it hard to switch supplier

Mute brian magee
    Favourite brian magee
    Jan 9th 2015, 9:12 AM

You get a 12 month discount when you sign up to a 12 month contract, once the 12 months are up you move company and get another discount.
    You don’t need to pay anything when the 12 months are up.

Mute brian magee
    Favourite brian magee
    Jan 9th 2015, 9:13 AM

There is no exit fee, I change every 12 months and never pay one

Mute Paul Parsons
    Favourite Paul Parsons
    Jan 9th 2015, 9:42 AM

TR909 it’s awesome that worked for you. Obviously Joe average in customer support has his hands tied by policy until the customer ticks a certain box. UPC can hide behind contract conditions for a year but once that passes they can only hope to rely on the fact most people won’t think of negotiating a better offer. I must inform my housemate of your strategy.. I hear UPC have brought out a higher speed service with an introductory offer after all. It’s a real pity the routers are terrible though. Horizon is a high tech waste of space.

Mute Simon Barnes
    Favourite Simon Barnes
    Jan 9th 2015, 10:20 AM

all very good brian, but in the situation we are now in with falling gas and oil, if a cheaper offer comes up while you are still in contract then you are basically stuck, one big switch have just completed an offer with energia, its a 1 year contract and the difference in unit price is less than 1/2 a cent over other suppliers, not a great saving to be locked into for a year. instead of reducing unit rates the energy companies are offering bigger discounts which trap you into a contract. the contracts also allow them to raise the unit price if energy goes up but not to reduce it when energy comes down.. The CER should be doing its job and forcing energy unit rates down, they were very quick to support the constant rise over the last number of years, energy companies are raking in a fortune over the current drops in oil and gas, its definatley jot being passed on.

Mute brian magee
    Favourite brian magee
    Jan 9th 2015, 10:26 AM

The CER doesn’t control energy prices. It’s an open market.

You may be locked into a contract but when it expires and you change you could get pay less than the energia deal.

When you book a flight do you whinge if the price changes before take off?

Mute Simon Barnes
    Favourite Simon Barnes
    Jan 9th 2015, 10:51 AM

booking a flight is a bad analogy, your fair can’t go up after you’ve booked it. and what’s the point of having an energy regulator if he dose’nt regulate anything. remember he was the on who has set IW rates at on of the highest In the EU.

Mute Brendan McGill
    Favourite Brendan McGill
    Jan 9th 2015, 11:50 AM

Almost 57%? Is that a typo? I thought it was almost 75% of the price of petrol goes to the government coffers?

Mute Dave Meagher
    Favourite Dave Meagher
    Jan 9th 2015, 1:45 PM

I think I heard 66% or 68% from that AA guy on the radio one day but maybe it’s gone up since then as that was a few days back :P

Mute Peter Slattery
    Favourite Peter Slattery
    Jan 9th 2015, 7:07 AM

“Do ye want a kick in the balls or a punch in the face?” Our government sucks.

Mute WibblyWobblyWonder
    Favourite WibblyWobblyWonder
    Jan 9th 2015, 7:30 AM

It’s a trick question……
    We get both simultaneously.

Mute TR909
    Favourite TR909
    Jan 9th 2015, 7:40 AM

Is that before or after we bend over?

Mute Donal O Neil
    Favourite Donal O Neil
    Jan 9th 2015, 2:50 PM

Don’t forget the secret kicks up the arse we get with sneaky charges and increased levies … As well

Mute 007
    Favourite 007
    Jan 9th 2015, 7:17 AM

Our governments don’t want us to live they want us to exist to pay bills and if your lucky enough to have a job you will pay more.

Mute Allen Nicholson
    Favourite Allen Nicholson
    Jan 9th 2015, 7:01 AM

Thieves, pure and simple.

Mute CitizenSmith©
    Favourite CitizenSmith©
    Jan 9th 2015, 7:25 AM

The government putting it’s grubby little fingers into your private pension pot toi shore up public sector ones is the real kicker.

Mute Moonshine
    Favourite Moonshine
    Jan 9th 2015, 7:51 AM

It’s coming to and though, thank The Lord.

Mute Paudi Onail
    Favourite Paudi Onail
    Jan 9th 2015, 12:25 PM

they’re all thieves. pay very close attention to your bills, thats how they rob from you and make it all the more complex to confuse you. closed an account with vodafone, grand, they took their last bill from debit, low and behold, took a few euro the following month. “sorry, that was done in error, we can credit your account for any other vodafone service”!!! what account? i just closed the f****ing thing! “ok, we can send you a cheque”. i’ll wait for that to arrive, which as always, it won’t. then i will go public with it like now. for every small error these crooks make for a % of their customers that don’t notice, its more money for them. keep things small, have less and less to do with any of them. having 3-4 different bills has become too complex and you’re leaving yourself open for at least one to fool you.

theres an idea there for anyone to create easy to read bills, FULLY explained not assumed, for the customers benefit not theirs.

Mute J.Hanley
    Favourite J.Hanley
    Jan 9th 2015, 2:13 PM

You’re right there. The cost of bills has become extortionate. No matter how hard you try, you just can’t keep up. We are being robbed left, right and centre by VAT on bills, petrol and then all the new taxes for nothing i.e. property tax, USC and now they want water tax. It’s impossible to live anymore without constant stress from a new massive bill coming in the door to take your every last penny.

You have to cut back on everything and every service you can, except the essentials, in order to try and hold on to a bob. I have come to the same conclusion as yourself about starving them of revenue every way you can as they never seem to be satisfied. No amount of tax can satisfy them and yet we only get the bare minimum of services, if that.

I suppose when you have pledged most of your citizens taxes to bailout banks, into the next few decades, there is hardly anything left to run the state. The economy will never recover under these circumstances as people have no money left after all the tax and bills.

Mute Trevor Beale
    Favourite Trevor Beale
    Jan 9th 2015, 7:00 AM

Guaranteed anything that helps the punter won’t even be considered by this government!

Mute Moonshine
    Favourite Moonshine
    Jan 9th 2015, 7:50 AM

Nope, definitely not. Reduction in USC, tax rates and bands. Raise is children’s allowance, restoration of Xmas bonus.

Mute Trevor Beale
    Favourite Trevor Beale
    Jan 9th 2015, 8:29 AM

Water rates! I rest my case.

Mute The Guru
    Favourite The Guru
    Jan 9th 2015, 6:50 AM

Yeah they take way too much in tax but this Mattie McGrath fella needs to be given a lesson in basic finance. Why does he think a reduction in price leads to a fall in the tax for that product!? I’m sure he’s just looking to get his name in the paper and stir up people who have an equally poor understanding of how things work.

Mute One Human Being
    Favourite One Human Being
    Jan 9th 2015, 7:21 AM

Please guru enlighten us as to how “things” work. At the moment we have a reverse Robin Hood government that robs from the poor to give to the rich.

Mute Gavin Scott
    Favourite Gavin Scott
    Jan 9th 2015, 7:53 AM

BS. Explain with numbers and facts please.

Mute The Guru
    Favourite The Guru
    Jan 9th 2015, 8:25 AM

What I’m saying is his argument is sound, that is there is very high tax on fuel. However his reasoning for a cut (the fact that oil prices have fallen) makes no sense. As I’m sure he knows, the fixed part of the tax is fixed (funny that). It does not change due to price fluctuations. This has always been the case. The fact that he’s bringing it up now shows he just being populist. Was he campaigning for an increase when oil was $140 a barrel?

Mute Jason
    Favourite Jason
    Jan 9th 2015, 9:23 AM

It would make more sense for him to call for a reduction in government taxes when prices were higher, that would have helped consumers more.

Mute james comiskey
    Favourite james comiskey
    Jan 9th 2015, 10:26 AM

@ one human please enlighten me how the rich are robbing the poor

Mute One Human Being
    Favourite One Human Being
    Jan 9th 2015, 10:46 AM

Thanks for the enlightenment guru. How the rich have robbed the poor? Bail out or was it a bail in?

Mute Ruairi Colton
    Favourite Ruairi Colton
    Jan 9th 2015, 7:30 AM

The government seem to be of the mind that we should be one of the most expensive countries for everything.

Mute Moonshine
    Favourite Moonshine
    Jan 9th 2015, 7:53 AM

Petrol/diesel is pretty much the same cost in UK & Europe.

Mute Nobby Donnelly
    Favourite Nobby Donnelly
    Jan 9th 2015, 8:13 AM

Isn’t the UKs road tax already built into the cost of their fuel though??

Mute Jane Alford
    Favourite Jane Alford
    Jan 9th 2015, 10:16 AM

No. Road Tax is paid too.

Mute TheLoneHurler
    Favourite TheLoneHurler
    Jan 9th 2015, 10:29 AM

Ireland’s fuel is a good bit cheaper when the currency exchange rate is factored in. £20 (~€25) would barely buy you a quarter tank.

Mute Captain kirk
    Favourite Captain kirk
    Jan 9th 2015, 7:13 AM

Or we could cut public spending?

Mute CitizenSmith©
    Favourite CitizenSmith©
    Jan 9th 2015, 7:23 AM

How about we just cut public spending, how about getting rid of increments.

Mute Noel Hogan
    Favourite Noel Hogan
    Jan 9th 2015, 7:08 AM

Not surprising. Tax on fuel obviously helps to pay for schools, hospitals, Gardai and so on. Cut the tax and you have to cut services.

Mute Jack Delaney
    Favourite Jack Delaney
    Jan 9th 2015, 7:50 AM

Why does it have to mean a cut in services? 30 million to the arts anounced yesterday? How much is wasted in things like government jets and travelling around the world like arab state princes. Gold plated pensions for retired civil servents and politicians who retire at 50 or 55 years old? Interest on forced EU borrowings to prop up countries like Greece and spending vast sums of taxpayers money in Africa while citizens in this country struggle under the burden of tax to feed themselves and keep a roof over their heads.
    This is a mouldy government.

Mute Moonshine
    Favourite Moonshine
    Jan 9th 2015, 7:51 AM

This is no place for making sense. Stop that nonsense.

Mute Moonshine
    Favourite Moonshine
    Jan 9th 2015, 8:00 AM

Government jet us rarely used, and when it is only in exceptional circumstance, when commercial flights can’t work out. The arts are an essential part of our national soul and in many cases attract national and international tourism.

Mute Noel Hogan
    Favourite Noel Hogan
    Jan 9th 2015, 9:03 AM

Moonshine you maniac, how dare you spout logic and reason on this site.

Mute Pat Lonergan
    Favourite Pat Lonergan
    Jan 9th 2015, 7:46 AM

Standard government response

Mute Alien8
    Favourite Alien8
    Jan 9th 2015, 8:45 AM

The same was the argument for the illegal VRT – hospitals are dependant on that money, and where else would we get it? Taxes should not be based on the fact that you have already spent them, but on the public’s seeing them as a fair method of providing a service. Like everything else, what is collected in petrol and road taxes doesn’t match the rubbish semi-PPP infrastructure we get. So stop being greedy, and shifting money between departments. Reduce the petrol costs to match what is needed by transport only, make it easier on the public, and get the rest of your house in order re: health.

Mute John R
    Favourite John R
    Jan 9th 2015, 1:28 PM

Alien 8, VRT however much you hate it, is not “illegal” as you put it under either Irish law or EU law. If you want what are known as “earmarked” taxes where the tax you pay is applied to a particular purpose then accept the consequences. There is a reason that virtually every Govt in the world dislikes earmarked taxes and this is because they limit the ability of a state to raise general taxation and apply it as they see fit in line with demands, whether political or public. Ironically, applying earmarked taxes does not stop the public wanting the public services currently funded by general taxation. Most people want to have their cake and eat it and wish the shortfall to be picked up by someone else as long as it is not them.

Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche
    Jan 9th 2015, 7:34 AM

Childrens allowance is still a “universal benefit”?

Mute Maria Hickey-Fagan
    Favourite Maria Hickey-Fagan
    Jan 9th 2015, 8:18 AM

Is this the party line now? Cheaper petrol or higher taxes. Water charges or higher taxes. What’s next?

Mute TheLoneHurler
    Favourite TheLoneHurler
    Jan 9th 2015, 10:33 AM

The billions it cost to run the country has to be found somewhere. Otherwise re-elect Fianna Fail to borrow to the hilts again and leave us minnions alone, but some dark day in the future the people who Fianna Fail borrow money from will come looking for repayment and so it will all begin again.

People who fail to learn from history are doomed to repeat it.

Mute Lorna Roe
    Favourite Lorna Roe
    Jan 9th 2015, 8:04 AM

This is some “recovery” we are seeing here in Ireland.

Mute Mark Gannon
    Favourite Mark Gannon
    Jan 9th 2015, 7:56 AM

Shower of thieving bas@%rds . Tax tax tax is all we hear about in this ” great ” country of ours. Give us a fu;#% ng break . It’s only here that this would happen .

Mute Moonshine
    Favourite Moonshine
    Jan 9th 2015, 8:01 AM

No tax in other countries sure.

Mute amos brearly
    Favourite amos brearly
    Jan 9th 2015, 8:53 AM

Ah shur, fuk off to another country where you pay no tax, you pillock.

Mute TheLoneHurler
    Favourite TheLoneHurler
    Jan 9th 2015, 10:30 AM

What would a farmer know about tax? Nice Massey by the way.

Mute P O Leary.
    Favourite P O Leary.
    Jan 9th 2015, 8:22 AM

Shop around for petrol and diesel folks. In my town there is a difference of 6c in the price of a litre of diesel.
    Dose not seem to be effecting people’s habits. The more expensive petrol station is as busy as ever.

Mute Jane Alford
    Favourite Jane Alford
    Jan 9th 2015, 10:19 AM

Shopping around definitely works. 144.9 or 119.9 (diesel). I’d travel the 30k for that saving.

Mute TheLoneHurler
    Favourite TheLoneHurler
    Jan 9th 2015, 10:46 AM

Beware though, some of the cheaper fuels do not give great miles-per-gallon.

Mute Jack Bowden
    Favourite Jack Bowden
    Jan 9th 2015, 8:46 AM

Mattie McGrath must be stupid. He’s promoting pro cyclical economic policies which promote boom and busts. He must have been around in the last Fianna Fáil government.

When oil prices are high he should be looking for a cut in excise duty.

Mute Rónán O'Suilleabháin
    Favourite Rónán O'Suilleabháin
    Jan 9th 2015, 9:19 AM

Agreed, an elasticity in the price (based on variable duty) would be nice so that the government’s income remains stable but increases in oil prices are somewhat cushioned. VAT is charged on the base price and the duty + carbon tax, so the government’s take increases with prices currently

Mute Vannin
    Favourite Vannin
    Jan 9th 2015, 9:42 AM

You just can’t cut tax you selfish lot, just think about the poor bondholders and banks what would they do without your money?

Mute TheLoneHurler
    Favourite TheLoneHurler
    Jan 9th 2015, 10:40 AM

Maybe we (Ireland) should not have borrowed from the bond-holders in the first place?

How would you like it if you loaned someone a whack of your life savings and when the repayment time came around you were told to fcuk off?

Mute Vannin
    Favourite Vannin
    Jan 9th 2015, 10:53 AM

You mean like when I went into a bookies, took out a bet on a horse with long odds which then lost….. what do you mean I don’t get my money back????

Mute Vannin
    Favourite Vannin
    Jan 9th 2015, 11:06 AM

But no, we shouldn’t have taken the thirty pieces of silver

Mute Paudi Onail
    Favourite Paudi Onail
    Jan 9th 2015, 12:27 PM

we should have borrowed ten times more then defaulted! haha.

Mute Richard Powell
    Favourite Richard Powell
    Jan 9th 2015, 9:17 AM

Moved to oz a couple of years ago and something that hit me straight away was the price of petrol. It changes on a daily basis here, as the cost of crude goes up or down. Sitting at $1.18 on average at the minute. That’s about €0.82 a litre.

Mute TheLoneHurler
    Favourite TheLoneHurler
    Jan 9th 2015, 10:43 AM

Thats a decent price – cheapest petrol is €1.20 p/l here (pumps.ie) at the moment. I figure the taxes are much lower on NZ fuels, hence the more volatility in price changes as you state.

enda
    Mute enda
    Favourite enda
    Jan 9th 2015, 8:12 AM

I give up.

Mute Rónán O'Suilleabháin
    Favourite Rónán O'Suilleabháin
    Jan 9th 2015, 9:14 AM

To be honest its the lesser of two evils, and I say that as someone that usually spends 250/month on petrol.

I can choose to use my car less, but I can do nothing about a raise in income tax. On principle I prefer a consumption tax to an income tax.

Mute amos brearly
    Favourite amos brearly
    Jan 9th 2015, 8:21 AM

Fools here would’nt understand.

Mute Cupid Stunt
    Favourite Cupid Stunt
    Jan 9th 2015, 10:20 AM

Ok how about a tax hike on corporate earnings, you know the ones that pay practically nothing as it is anyway. We are now known by the world as a nation of tax dodgers “double Irish” thanks to our govt. I suppose they’ll tell us the entire planet have got it wrong except us.They’re dragging our good name through the mud and bending over backwards to facilitate these corporate spongers.

Mute TheLoneHurler
    Favourite TheLoneHurler
    Jan 9th 2015, 10:37 AM

Incorrect, our CT rates are the best performing in a recent survey. Our 12.5% rate realises 12.4% in collections whereas the French 33% realises somewhere around 6% or 7%. There was an article on here only a month or two ago about this.

Our biggest ills with finance is wastage. Were damn good at collecting taxes but pi$$ poor at spending it wisely.

Mute Nigel O'Neill
    Favourite Nigel O'Neill
    Jan 9th 2015, 10:05 AM

23% VAT included in your parking charges each time you go to the shops…post office…chemist etc…as I noted listed on sign on a car park price display over the xmas period. Never knew this before….surely a retrograde tax when town centres and domestic smes are being hammered!!! JOKE

Mute TheLoneHurler
    Favourite TheLoneHurler
    Jan 9th 2015, 10:39 AM

Agreed, and the biggest insult is the pay-for-parking at hospitals. I often wonder do visitors to prisons have to pay-for-parking in the same manner? There should be an outright ban on pay-for-parking at hospitals.

Mute Cupid Stunt
    Favourite Cupid Stunt
    Jan 9th 2015, 10:48 AM

I’ve not heard of the double French or anything like it.

Jan 9th 2015, 1:36 PM

They need the tax to pay for their grossly ridiculous wages and multipensions…

Mute John B. Reid
    Favourite John B. Reid
    Jan 9th 2015, 7:47 PM

If we reduced the size of the Irish public sector, and cut social welfare handouts, we wouldn’t have to pay such high taxes to the State.

Mute Caoimhin O Hailpin
    Favourite Caoimhin O Hailpin
    Jan 9th 2015, 9:37 PM

If the Dept of Finance say it then it must be true