You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

There are pigs on the loose near Barack Obama Plaza

Take care if you’re heading past Moneygall on the M7…

GARDAÍ HAVE BEEN dispatched to the roundabout off the M7 at Junction 23, for Moneygall.

Apparently, there are some pigs loose in the vicinity of Barack Obama Plaza.

Take care out there…

Read: “I Love You Daddy” – These children’s books are NOT Oireachtas reports

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

46 Comments
    Mute Martina Lavin
    Favourite Martina Lavin
    Nov 28th 2014, 4:29 PM

You’re just asking for trouble with that headline. …..

Mute Lastpost
    Favourite Lastpost
    Nov 28th 2014, 4:31 PM

Lol am tempted

Mute Catherine Mayock
    Favourite Catherine Mayock
    Nov 28th 2014, 4:41 PM

We’re all tempted. But dont give in.

Mute PSOB
    Favourite PSOB
    Nov 28th 2014, 4:50 PM

Typical Obama pork barrel politics.

Mute Donna L Tier
    Favourite Donna L Tier
    Nov 28th 2014, 5:39 PM

The irony of it all

Mute Tony Skillington
    Favourite Tony Skillington
    Nov 28th 2014, 5:52 PM

So so tempted…

Mute Brian O'Hara
    Favourite Brian O'Hara
    Nov 28th 2014, 4:34 PM

Any time it’s mentioned it’s just beyond comprehension that ‘Barack Obama Plaza’ was the name that was chosen. So very cringeworthy.

Mute Eel Knack Mole
    Favourite Eel Knack Mole
    Nov 28th 2014, 5:46 PM

The whole Moneygall thing is so embarrassingly cringeworthy that I kind of like it – in a kitsch sort of way.

I once passed through a town in Brazil called “Presidente Kennedy”. I asked a local what the connection with Kennedy was and they said there was no connection, it just seemed like a good idea at the time.

Mute Ciaran Harford
    Favourite Ciaran Harford
    Nov 28th 2014, 7:10 PM

There’s a Rue John F Kennedy in Luxembourg too I think.

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Nov 28th 2014, 8:10 PM

Sure wasn’t Eyre Square in Galway renamed JF Kennedy square until it was renamed to – Tierney’s Giveaway…

Mute Fran Heavey
    Favourite Fran Heavey
    Nov 28th 2014, 4:33 PM

Pigs…….and ……..Garda ……car in…….same……picture……..so hard……..not…..to………..make……..jokes…………..

Mute Negativebird
    Favourite Negativebird
    Nov 28th 2014, 4:36 PM

This is probably one of the funniest articles I have read today haha

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Nov 28th 2014, 4:48 PM

“O.k lads there here with the Patrol car now – deploy the schnackbox device !”

Mute Negativebird
    Favourite Negativebird
    Nov 28th 2014, 6:15 PM

Dermot you never fail to make me laugh haha

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Nov 28th 2014, 8:08 PM

you have to thank the geniuses in Irish Pictorial weekly for that one ….

Mute Mark Lillis
    Favourite Mark Lillis
    Nov 28th 2014, 4:50 PM

Who ever is on the Garda Twitter account, fair play

Mute molly coddled
    Favourite molly coddled
    Nov 28th 2014, 5:41 PM

Just showing some brotherly love perhaps ?
    Sorry………I couldn’t resist.
    Don’t worry, coats on and out the door already :)

Mute Negativebird
    Favourite Negativebird
    Nov 28th 2014, 4:31 PM

I found this news article very funny.Oh the irony!

Mute John Mullen
    Favourite John Mullen
    Nov 28th 2014, 4:33 PM

Loose pigs in Moneygal, send in the pigs to round them up

Mute Jonnybannon
    Favourite Jonnybannon
    Nov 28th 2014, 10:38 PM

Good man john . Very lowbrow.

Mute Ross Kiely
    Favourite Ross Kiely
    Nov 28th 2014, 4:39 PM

“Bad boys, bad boys, watcha gonna do?? Watcha gonna do when they come for you??….all pigs innocent until proven guilty in a court of law”

Mute Hevin Bear Kiggins
    Favourite Hevin Bear Kiggins
    Nov 28th 2014, 4:35 PM

PUNTASTIC

Mute Coco McDee
    Favourite Coco McDee
    Nov 28th 2014, 5:38 PM

I am stunned to hear that this is really the name ? How awfully embarrassing and hideous . By the way has there been a lot if research into the truth behind the heritage story as it always seemed most ridiculous to me. Are we tops on the dumbest countries in the world list ?

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Nov 28th 2014, 4:49 PM

Just as a matter of interest how far is it from Moneygall to Templemore – could this really be Isis in disguise ?

Mute Ho Lee Fuk
    Favourite Ho Lee Fuk
    Nov 28th 2014, 4:53 PM

The poor pigs and the conditions that they have to put up with .

Mute mcgoo
    Favourite mcgoo
    Nov 28th 2014, 4:57 PM

With that many pigs around the lorry driver won’t be able to trot off into obscurity

Mute Ciaran Behan
    Favourite Ciaran Behan
    Nov 28th 2014, 5:04 PM

10/10 for irony

Mute D is Illusioned
    Favourite D is Illusioned
    Nov 28th 2014, 4:41 PM

Much funnier when you realise we have had clowns running this country since 2011.

Mute youknowimright
    Favourite youknowimright
    Nov 28th 2014, 4:55 PM

Loose pigs?

Mute Michael cunnane
    Favourite Michael cunnane
    Nov 28th 2014, 5:08 PM

Does that pigs car have up to date car tax

Mute Jonnybannon
    Favourite Jonnybannon
    Nov 28th 2014, 10:41 PM

Excellent Michael cunnane . Where do we hear the rest of your repertoire ?

Mute Tim Kearney
    Favourite Tim Kearney
    Nov 28th 2014, 5:32 PM

Barack Obama Plaza….. Why didn’t they call it the Enda Kenny Plaza… ?????

Mute Brian Farrell
    Favourite Brian Farrell
    Nov 28th 2014, 5:40 PM

The end of Kenny perhaps

Mute Andrew Dagg
    Favourite Andrew Dagg
    Nov 28th 2014, 11:37 PM

4 sprung pork tecnik

Mute Éire Calling
    Favourite Éire Calling
    Nov 28th 2014, 9:44 PM

Where’s Ronald Reagan Plaza? He was actually Irish.

Mute Celticspirit321
    Favourite Celticspirit321
    Nov 29th 2014, 7:34 AM

There was a Reagan bar. Much better than a plaza

Mute Bert McCann
    Favourite Bert McCann
    Nov 28th 2014, 7:24 PM

Breakfast rolls sorted for the morning then.

Mute Ryan Joseph Keegan
    Favourite Ryan Joseph Keegan
    Nov 28th 2014, 8:28 PM

Only in Ireland

Mute Paul Lane
    Favourite Paul Lane
    Nov 28th 2014, 5:12 PM

Which ones?

Mute Leslie Skinner
    Favourite Leslie Skinner
    Nov 28th 2014, 6:05 PM

The Labour Party are down there then

Mute Snorre Sturleson
    Favourite Snorre Sturleson
    Nov 28th 2014, 8:36 PM

Shell to Sea training exercise perhaps?

Mute Jonnybannon
    Favourite Jonnybannon
    Nov 28th 2014, 10:43 PM

Excellent joke snore. You’re a scream .

Mute Anne Marie Devlin
    Favourite Anne Marie Devlin
    Nov 28th 2014, 4:52 PM

Must have thought it was a general amnesty

Mute Alex Eustace
    Favourite Alex Eustace
    Nov 28th 2014, 5:34 PM

I saw three Garda cars and a fire engine there, seems excessive.

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Nov 28th 2014, 8:11 PM

Were the pigs on fire ?

Mute Tommie Brennan
    Favourite Tommie Brennan
    Nov 29th 2014, 12:33 AM

Fried rashers….?

/gets his coat…