You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Planning approval given for Dublin's tallest office building

‘The Exo’ is set to change the capital’s skyline.

6025_V09 IN_2015-09-09_PRESS Savills Savills

PLANNING PERMISSION HAS been given for the tallest office building in Dublin.

Construction of ‘The EXO’ – a 73-metre high structure that will sit alongside the 3Arena in Dublin’s Dockland – has today been given the green light by Dublin City Council and An Bord Pleanála.

The commercial building will bring a total of 224,500 sq. ft. of new office space to the centre of Dublin, with enough room to accommodate up to 2,000 workers.

Its planning application has been funded by Nama as part of its commitment to deliver a new development within the Dockland’s Strategic Development Zone (SDZ).

6025_V01Z_2015-06-27_PRESS

Speaking today, Stephen Tennant – one of the joint receivers from Grant Thornton – said:

The SDZ process introduced by Dublin City Council and An Bord Pleanála has enabled us to secure approval for The EXO in just over 6 months, which proves the initiative is working.

The building has been designed by Irish architectural practice Shay Cleary Architects and has been built to keep in harmony with the wider design of the docklands.

6025_V04_2015-06-27_PRESS

Construction is set to take place over the next two years and around 350 jobs will be created while this is underway. Overall, development of the building will cost around €80 million.

Commenting about today’s sale, chairman of Savills Roland O’Connell – who are acting joint letting agents in the sale – said:

The Point Village has witnessed a significant increase in footfall over the past few years. As a result, numerous high-profile office occupiers and retailers have been enquiring about accommodation at the Point Village.

Read: This VERY swanky new building is coming to Dublin 4

Also: “This Dublin office building has sold for €51 million”

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

94 Comments
    Mute Darren Norris
    Favourite Darren Norris
    Mar 31st 2016, 4:49 PM

The design is awful

Fozz
    Mute Fozz
    Favourite Fozz
    Mar 31st 2016, 4:54 PM

Yeah, not great in those pics but we can hope it will look better in real life.
    It’s a good precedent tho and I am hoping we lash up lotsa tall buildings down that way and get in proper living spaces too.

Mute Phil Blanc
    Favourite Phil Blanc
    Mar 31st 2016, 4:55 PM

It’s not the worst, but it’s pretty bad. Very unimaginative. But at least, finally, we’re getting something close to high-rise in an area where it is most suitable.

See 22 more replies ▾
    Mute Smeghead
    Favourite Smeghead
    Mar 31st 2016, 5:01 PM

Unimaginative = cheap.

Mute Jack Falltrades
    Favourite Jack Falltrades
    Mar 31st 2016, 5:24 PM

We’re not truly happy unless we’re complaining about something are we?

Mute Lorem Ipsum
    Favourite Lorem Ipsum
    Mar 31st 2016, 5:30 PM

This deserves to be complained about though, Jack. The design is awful, not nearly slender or tall enough

What makes it worse is that it’s on the site of the Watchtower

Mute Marc Power
    Favourite Marc Power
    Mar 31st 2016, 5:31 PM

Nothing to do with either being happy or complaining jack and more to do with frustration at the total inability to embrace some well designed modern structures for our city

Mute Jack Falltrades
    Mar 31st 2016, 5:33 PM

Meh, I’ve seen a lot worse in Dublin. The point itself is no oil painting so at least it won’t be dragging the area down in appearance.

Mute Marc Power
    Favourite Marc Power
    Mar 31st 2016, 5:36 PM

Anyway I thought that one across the river. …at 23 floors was supposed to be getting built soon?

Mute Jack Falltrades
    Mar 31st 2016, 5:36 PM

I mean come on folks this is a city whose population became distraught at the thought of removing the ugly poolbeg chimneys! We’ll take this new building with open arms!

Mute Lorem Ipsum
    Favourite Lorem Ipsum
    Mar 31st 2016, 5:46 PM

Yeah piling has commenced st the Capitol Dock site across the river. That’ll be 23 residential floors (79 metres). Hopefully this will also be surpassed by the Tara Street tower in the near future.

There’s nothing wrong with building up. The Obel tower in Belfast sticks out like a sore thumb but still looks good. There’s the opportunity to create a bit of a cluster in Dublin around Tara St & Hawkins house. Building up is the best way to relieve congestion and makes it easier to use public transport. It’s also contributes to bringing down the price of housing

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    Mar 31st 2016, 6:12 PM

The Tetris in the Detritus.

Mute Alan Cooke
    Favourite Alan Cooke
    Mar 31st 2016, 6:36 PM

This article makes no sense. At one stage it’s already built and at another it’s not built but already sold. Who wrote this piece ?

Mute Dylan
    Favourite Dylan
    Mar 31st 2016, 6:40 PM

https://twitter.com/SueKirk/status/643705878118572032?s=09 Sue got it right back when this buildings plans were announced.

Mute Karol Doran
    Favourite Karol Doran
    Mar 31st 2016, 6:54 PM

Horrible looking building.

Mute Strong silent type
    Favourite Strong silent type
    Mar 31st 2016, 6:58 PM

Happy now Jack you whinger?

Mute Lorem Ipsum
    Favourite Lorem Ipsum
    Mar 31st 2016, 7:54 PM

That was good Diarmuid!

Mute Daniel Dunne
    Favourite Daniel Dunne
    Mar 31st 2016, 8:25 PM

Looks like a solar panel in the pic. Horrific.

https://luxpalace.files.wordpress.com/2011/12/21.jpg <<< would suit Dublin much better.

Mute Martin Byrne
    Favourite Martin Byrne
    Mar 31st 2016, 9:50 PM

Ugliest building I’ve seen in a long time – really dreadful – the new Hawkins House. Sad to see approval for this eyesore

Mute ted hagan
    Favourite ted hagan
    Mar 31st 2016, 9:53 PM

At least the sun’s shining, like it does regularly in Dublin.

Mute ted hagan
    Favourite ted hagan
    Mar 31st 2016, 10:10 PM

The Obel tower is a disaster and has had to be completely refurbished five years after it was built. Complaints galore about the cold, the noise, the traffic. No thanks. Tall buildings are fine as long as they are kept away from the city centre.

Mute An_Beal_Bocht
    Favourite An_Beal_Bocht
    Mar 31st 2016, 11:52 PM

Away from the city centre?!? Back to planning school for you

Mute Notthatguy
    Favourite Notthatguy
    Apr 1st 2016, 12:15 AM

The diagonal design of the curtainwall looks terrible. It should be more like the Bow, in Calgary, Canada.

Mute Boganity
    Favourite Boganity
    Apr 1st 2016, 2:01 AM

It would have been an informative piece if the journal told us how many floors a gazillion metres is ?

Mute ChocSaltyBallz
    Favourite ChocSaltyBallz
    Apr 1st 2016, 10:52 AM

Look like the back of a giant bill board

Mute Your Defence
    Favourite Your Defence
    Mar 31st 2016, 5:03 PM

240ft. Can we just sack the decision makers in An Bord Pleanála. They are holding back the city of Dublin with their low rise crap. Dublin doesn’t have the space to spread outwards, so buildings must go up. They can’t use the argument of proper high rise buildings ruining Dublin’s skyline, as it doesn’t have a skyline to begin with.

Mute Lorem Ipsum
    Favourite Lorem Ipsum

It’s usually An Taisce that wheel out that line

Mute Jim Duffy
    Favourite Jim Duffy
    Mar 31st 2016, 8:30 PM

So much rubbish in one single post.

Mute James Xenophon
    Favourite James Xenophon

It’s the most hideous monstrosity green-lighted in Dublin since Hawkins House.

Mute Smeghead
    Favourite Smeghead
    Mar 31st 2016, 5:03 PM

Looks better than Cork’s county hall and one would be forgiven for thinking the Cork’s county hall has been transplanted into this picture, given a minor facelift, and an awful box extension.

Mute mcgoo
    Favourite mcgoo
    Mar 31st 2016, 5:17 PM

My thoughts exactly smeg

Mute James Xenophon
    Favourite James Xenophon
    Mar 31st 2016, 5:29 PM

Cork county hall is an architectural masterpiece compared to this.

Mute Smeghead
    Favourite Smeghead
    Mar 31st 2016, 5:42 PM

They are probably modelling it on the county hall so as to smooth its planning process. It looks awful and dated and will look horrendous in a decade.

Mute Pól Ling
    Favourite Pól Ling
    Mar 31st 2016, 5:00 PM

Oooohh 17 storeys, calm down DCC….

Mute Danny Nash
    Favourite Danny Nash
    Mar 31st 2016, 4:59 PM

It looks hideous

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid

Boring and uninspiring.

Missed chance to make the Liffey approach to Dublin more attractive.

Mute Marc Power
    Favourite Marc Power
    Mar 31st 2016, 5:32 PM

Totally agree with you for a change Diarmuid

Mute Keith Banks
    Favourite Keith Banks
    Mar 31st 2016, 5:48 PM

When looking out at the Docklands from the city it will look like a gigantic L for Loser. Hideous, the only reason for this can be corruption.

Mute Wesley Quinn
    Favourite Wesley Quinn
    Mar 31st 2016, 5:16 PM

Hopefully when this is finished and the apartments beside the new central bank they will finally get some shops to open in the Point Village shopping centre. That place is such a waste.

Mute Beano
    Favourite Beano
    Mar 31st 2016, 4:56 PM

Filled by yuppies by day, surrounded by junkies at night

Mute Joe Smith
    Favourite Joe Smith
    Mar 31st 2016, 4:59 PM

You’re chirpy sort of a fella

Mute Gareth Cooney
    Favourite Gareth Cooney

Very very unimaginative. You can see they opted for square footage over aesthetics. We should have looked to our nearest neighboring world city for ideas and expertise. That’s what you get when left hand gives right hand planning permission.

Does anyone get a sense of deja vous?

Mute meltyface
    Favourite meltyface
    Mar 31st 2016, 8:01 PM

Oh monsieur! you are really spoiling us with all this deja vu!

Mute ted hagan
    Favourite ted hagan
    Mar 31st 2016, 9:55 PM

Belfast?

Mute Wholeduck
    Favourite Wholeduck

Boomy

Mute Ironballs
    Favourite Ironballs
    Mar 31st 2016, 4:51 PM

Busty

Mute Ian Walsh
    Favourite Ian Walsh
    Mar 31st 2016, 8:50 PM

Lusty

Mute Cian O Donoghue
    Favourite Cian O Donoghue
    Mar 31st 2016, 9:18 PM

Soon to be rusty

Mute Welshhibby
    Favourite Welshhibby
    Mar 31st 2016, 5:00 PM

I think we need homes for people than more office space.

Mute Teddington
    Favourite Teddington
    Mar 31st 2016, 5:24 PM

I think you can get partial credit. Dublin is actually scarily short on office space right now but there is a similar situation in housing except there’s nobody too keen on building them for some reason so we might as well address one shortage.

Mute Lorem Ipsum
    Favourite Lorem Ipsum
    Mar 31st 2016, 5:47 PM

We need homes, but that doesn’t mean every single building has to be a home. There’s a taller residential tower being built across the Liffey from this

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Favourite Neal Ireland Hello
    Mar 31st 2016, 5:55 PM

Offices = jobs = homes for people who get the jobd.

Mute LITTLEONE
    Favourite LITTLEONE
    Mar 31st 2016, 5:43 PM

Hopefully it looks better than the pictures. Because that’s horrendous..

Mute @Colser
    Favourite @Colser
    Mar 31st 2016, 5:13 PM

“wider design of the docklands” – Ugly generic boxes..

Mute tally ho
    Favourite tally ho
    Mar 31st 2016, 5:06 PM

A great design…if you’re into lego

Mute Marc Power
    Favourite Marc Power
    Mar 31st 2016, 5:29 PM

Excellent another unimaginative box for our city. Will match well with all the other unimaginative boxes in Dublin

Mute David McHale
    Favourite David McHale
    Mar 31st 2016, 5:58 PM

A hideous design.

Mute brian magee
    Favourite brian magee
    Mar 31st 2016, 7:42 PM

The 70s called, they want their design back.

Mute Arthur Spooner
    Favourite Arthur Spooner

Giant sim card.

Mute james
    Favourite james
    Mar 31st 2016, 5:28 PM

It look like stacks of containers in glass

Mute Shawn Rahoon
    Favourite Shawn Rahoon
    Mar 31st 2016, 5:30 PM

….and watch the new glass cages that spring up along The Quay…. Pete St John was right, and that was nearly 40yrs ago

Mute Drew TheChinaman :)
    Favourite Drew TheChinaman :)
    Mar 31st 2016, 5:43 PM

It’s an office building… It will be as dull and unimaginative as the jobs of the people that work in it. Not all buildings are opportunities for great landmark sculptures. Some are just an efficient place to work in. I’d love to see the architecture portfolios of some of the complainers here.

Not to mention that when people do spend some money designing buildings… The mostly receive the same negative commentary saying it was money wasted.

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Mar 31st 2016, 5:57 PM

I don’t need an architectual portfolio to be able to look at a picture and see that it’s an ugly looking yoke.

Mute Drew TheChinaman :)
    Favourite Drew TheChinaman :)
    Mar 31st 2016, 7:10 PM

You don’t need anything except the ability to open your mouth to pass judgement.

That’s the point.

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Mar 31st 2016, 8:05 PM

I’m sorry if I hurt the unborn building’s feelings by judging it, but yje vast majority of people who are going to pass it every day are not archiecrs either and they’ll still hace ro look at it. it’s their city too.

Mute Ken O'Sullivan
    Favourite Ken O'Sullivan
    Mar 31st 2016, 7:36 PM

An awful looking building. Looks nasty.

Mute David Lynch
    Favourite David Lynch
    Mar 31st 2016, 9:33 PM

Boring, boring, boring. We are now in a position, a place where we have not been for years, when we should be adding spectacular buildings to the Dublin skyline. We should not be just saying yes to any developer including NAMA who want to build. This is a sad day for Irish Architecture…….

Mute Sheila Larkin
    Favourite Sheila Larkin
    Mar 31st 2016, 5:08 PM

Where will Eat to the Beat park when that goes up!?? Great curry chips

Mute Carlos André
    Favourite Carlos André
    Mar 31st 2016, 5:15 PM

I just wonder why there’s planning approved for an offices building but not for homes/appartments?? Surely no one needs a home!!

Mute michael walsh
    Favourite michael walsh
    Mar 31st 2016, 8:08 PM

There’s a massive development of new homes next door to it just started and across the Liffey from it , major redevelopment down there for the next 5 years

Mute JustMade Ireland
    Favourite JustMade Ireland
    Mar 31st 2016, 6:08 PM

If you check Dublin planning applications you fine many a nice office tower were planed some even granted but with such a long time to get there by that time the recession had started. Wonder those objected are even still around and was it worth the votes of a few to ruin our country.

http://www.skyscrapernews.com/imagesall.php?ref=1281&idi=Skyscraper+Hotel+Proposed+For+Dublin+Docks&self=nse&no=1&selfidi=1281SkyscraperHotelProposedForDublinDocks_pic1.jpg

http://www.skyscrapercity.com/showthread.php?t=1865474

Been such a new country and what we do and achieve over seas, our country could of been so much better for all.Learnt from the mistakes of other protected our greenness, build in balance instead of sprawl.

Mute Eimear Forrestal
    Favourite Eimear Forrestal
    Mar 31st 2016, 9:50 PM

Not only is this ugly, it’s a ridiculous location to ram a building in.
    Given that it’s commercial, and there are many empty commercial buildings within spitting distance of this, it maddens me. Fill what is available before lumping up new eye sores.
    And to the person saying that they are building apartments nearby- yes, this is true- but the people in desperate need of housing won’t be buying those new apartments.

Mute Larry Smierciak
    Favourite Larry Smierciak
    Mar 31st 2016, 9:15 PM

What a horrible design. No creativity at all. As though a builder came up with it.

Mute Proinsias Ó Foghlú
    Favourite Proinsias Ó Foghlú
    Mar 31st 2016, 9:39 PM

Lego designer building, truly jaw droppingly ugly.

Mute William J Dunphy
    Favourite William J Dunphy
    Mar 31st 2016, 7:45 PM

It’s like feckin’ Tetris fell onto Docklands.

Mar 31st 2016, 9:15 PM

Man that’s ugly.

Mute Dublin Independence
    Favourite Dublin Independence
    Mar 31st 2016, 7:10 PM

Horrible looking yolk

Mute Strong silent type
    Favourite Strong silent type
    Mar 31st 2016, 6:57 PM

Liberty Hall 2

Mute Brianto
    Favourite Brianto
    Mar 31st 2016, 7:15 PM

looks exactly liberty hall with another liberty hall flat on the ground coming out of it.. ah lads

Mute Keith Boland
    Favourite Keith Boland
    Mar 31st 2016, 5:49 PM

It looks so out of place typical Irish planning throw a large building amongst smaller & in Arse of no where , if point village was as busy as stated why is point village shopping ctr empty no units let out at all

Mute ted hagan
    Favourite ted hagan
    Mar 31st 2016, 9:48 PM

They used to say even the dumbest of planners was at least assured of a civil service job.
    This building looks crap. The conference centre looks stupid.
    There’s plenty of smart office blocks and apartments and some impressive buildings in the Docklands area. It’s quite pleasant really, but it’s so dreadfully sterile. Maybe in time.

Mute James B
    Favourite James B
    Mar 31st 2016, 7:43 PM

I genuinely don’t understand people being worried about the design. This building is a magical work of art in comparison to Liberty Hall. Ugliest building in Dublin by a mile!!!

Mute niall
    Favourite niall
    Apr 1st 2016, 7:00 AM

Wait a minute! Pleanalla refused the New Children’s Hospital due to the sight of it on the City landscape and yet they pass this building and the height of it. Something very wrong here.

Mute Martin Gallagher
    Favourite Martin Gallagher
    Mar 31st 2016, 9:09 PM

Shouldn’t be too out of place beside all the stacked up cargo containers in Dublin Port. Best thing I can say about this development is that it will have a great view over Dublin 4.

Mute Daniel Patrick Carry
    Favourite Daniel Patrick Carry
    Apr 1st 2016, 1:17 AM

Good grief that is an ugly building

Mute Awkward Seal
    Favourite Awkward Seal
    Mar 31st 2016, 6:26 PM

I’ve read that capital dock will be 79m and isn’t it already under construction?

Mute brian magee
    Favourite brian magee
    Mar 31st 2016, 7:46 PM

I believe that the ground work is already done for this and it’s ready to go. They done it when the whole place was getting redeveloped

Mute Awkward Seal
    Favourite Awkward Seal
    Mar 31st 2016, 10:29 PM

Yeah I was down there a few weeks ago. My point is that it will likely be built first and it will be taller so the headline is incorrect (if I’m right about the height).

Mute Paddy McGlynn
    Favourite Paddy McGlynn
    Apr 1st 2016, 12:47 PM

April fools

Alan
    Mute Alan
    Favourite Alan
    Apr 3rd 2016, 11:07 AM

It’s a horribly unimaginative design and building up is all well and good if ur not living right beside and loosing ur light and ur view.

Mute ChocSaltyBallz
    Favourite ChocSaltyBallz
    Apr 1st 2016, 10:51 AM

Looks like a building from the eightys cheap and functional looking architecture. we may be broke now but a little style goes a long way. Also it’s a very pretty stretch in the capital and that box does not fit in a round hole if ya know what I mean

Mute tally ho
    Favourite tally ho
    Mar 31st 2016, 7:47 PM

Have a look these Dublin box developments….sheer genius….but ignore the architectural beauty in between https://goo.gl/maps/x9TH9gXbgv82

Mute ted hagan
    Favourite ted hagan
    Mar 31st 2016, 9:51 PM

I bet you the planners would describe them as ‘a nod to Dublin’s Georgian heritage’.

Mute Mick Price
    Favourite Mick Price
    Apr 1st 2016, 8:51 AM

do they not already have enough crap they dont use up there?