You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Staff working inside Mountjoy Prison Paul Sharpe via Mountjoy Prison

Six stabbings in six weeks: Prisons are 'the most dangerous workplaces' in Ireland

The Prison Officers Association annual delegate heard that there has been six stabbings in six weeks.

“DO WE NEED the murder of a prison officer on our hands before there is a response to staff safety?”

It’s a question that will be consistently asked during the Prison Officers Association’s (POA) annual delegate conference this week as its members being attacked will be one of the main issues up for discussion.

The POA is calling for mandatory consecutive sentencing for prisoners who assault or injure prison officers while in the performance of their duties.

It comes as knife attacks are becoming a growing concern for prison officers. Earlier this year, two prison officers were seriously injured by Derek Brockwell, a dangerous prisoner from Portlaoise Prison who then escaped from Tallaght Hospital.

A number of officers were also stabbed in the Midlands Prison as they tried to intervene and quell a disturbance. Most recently, three officers were viciously attacked by a prisoner using a shiv at Mountjoy Prison. Two of the officers received serious injuries to the head and face.

Speaking at the conference in Newmarket-on-Fergus last night, president Stephen Delaney, said:

Six stabbings in six weeks, as has happened recently, is simply not acceptable and the Minister for Justice has a responsibility to take some decisive action as a matter of urgency.

Frances Fitzgerald will address the Conference at The Inn at Dromoland this morning.

Prison Gangs

Delaney added that the Irish Prison Service “hierarchy and prison management need a reality check”.

Today our prisons are the most dangerous places of work in this country and we remain to be convinced that management at any level is grasping the seriousness of this situation.

“We all knew the risks when we signed on the dotted line, however, we also thought that when there were legitimate and well founded security based requests for Garda support that we would be supported.

“We also thought that violent, disruptive and mentally challenged prisoners would be treated accordingly, ensuring our safety as best as possible. We have a legitimate right to have proper systems in place to protect ourselves against such individuals in each institution.”

The association says gangs in prisons and the ongoing issues regarding drugs are putting immense pressure on the prison system.

In March 90% of members voted to accept a ballot for industrial action saying “a series of unilateral decisions made by the Irish Prison Service” made prisons less safe for staff.

The POA has also said that vexatious reports by prisoners on prison officers are causing immense stress and that officers are getting very little support from Irish Prison Service.

We’ll be reporting from this year’s Prison Officers Association Annual Delegate Conference in Dromoland over the next two days, so keep an eye out and follow @CliodhnaRussell for updates.

Read: Prisoners using loophole to get out of jail early>

Read: Prisoner stabbed in head with ‘sharpened spoon’ in serious condition>

Read: The Prison Service made 166 requests for armed escorts last year>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

10 Comments
    Mute bmul
    Favourite bmul
    Sep 24th 2021, 12:24 AM

Just wear a mask it’s not hard ffs

Mute Franky Jefferson
    Favourite Franky Jefferson
    Sep 24th 2021, 1:50 AM

@bmul: Just get a throat air filter… It’s not that hard

Mute RogersRabbit
    Favourite RogersRabbit
    Sep 24th 2021, 2:07 AM

@Franky Jefferson: what?

Mute Paul O'Brien
    Favourite Paul O'Brien
    Sep 24th 2021, 5:08 AM

@bmul: try wearing a mask for a 10 hour shift , its not pleasant

Mute JC
    Favourite JC
    Sep 24th 2021, 6:17 AM

@Paul O’Brien: I’ve been doing it for 12 hour shifts on building sites. A college lecture is less than an hour. Also, not that hard.

Mute bmul
    Favourite bmul
    Sep 24th 2021, 6:22 AM

@Paul O’Brien: I do

Mute Ciarán Ó Dubhda
    Favourite Ciarán Ó Dubhda
    Sep 24th 2021, 8:19 AM

@Paul O’Brien: I do also

Mute Bill Spill
    Favourite Bill Spill
    Sep 24th 2021, 8:30 AM

@Franky Jefferson: Is being crazy something you affect, or just part of who you are?

Mute Ashling Fenton
    Favourite Ashling Fenton
    Sep 24th 2021, 8:53 AM

@JC: college lectures can be between 2 and 4 hours long actually!

Mute Graham Manning
    Favourite Graham Manning
    Sep 24th 2021, 8:55 AM

@Paul O’Brien: eh that’s not what these students have to do and I already wear one for 7-8 hours a day. Sucks but…ya know…pandemic.

Mute Graham Manning
    Favourite Graham Manning
    Sep 24th 2021, 8:56 AM

@Ashling Fenton: plenty shorter than that and they build in mask breaks.

Mute Rebecca Owens
    Favourite Rebecca Owens
    Sep 24th 2021, 10:12 AM

@Graham Manning: our lecturers are all 3 hours long and no issues so far with people keeping masks on. Lecturers are allowed remove their mask as long as 2m distance from class and not moving about room.

Mute EillieEs
    Favourite EillieEs
    Sep 24th 2021, 10:34 AM

@Paul O’Brien: I wear them for 12 hour shifts

Mute Graham Manning
    Favourite Graham Manning
    Sep 24th 2021, 12:52 PM

@Rebecca Owens: yup. Ours are 9-5 and zero issues.

Mute Liam Mc Meel
    Favourite Liam Mc Meel
    Sep 24th 2021, 12:35 AM

Wish the shops & shopping centers and supermarket would do the same

Mute Hugo Bugo
    Favourite Hugo Bugo
    Sep 24th 2021, 6:12 AM

@Liam Mc Meel: so sad

Mute Football in the Groin
    Favourite Football in the Groin
    Sep 24th 2021, 8:25 AM

@Paul Gorry: The end did come for 30 people in Ireland in the past week because of Covid. It’s people like you and Hugo Bugo need to get over yourselves and stop being so utterly self consumed and selfish.

Mute Bill Spill
    Favourite Bill Spill
    Sep 24th 2021, 8:32 AM

@Hugo Bugo: Oh no you are? It’s good to share though. What has you down pal?

Mute Football in the Groin
    Favourite Football in the Groin
    Sep 24th 2021, 9:13 AM

@Paul Gorry: I’m sure the family and friends of the 30 people killed by Covid announced over the past week really appreciate you and Hugo Bugo laughing at them and mocking them with “so sad” and “the end is nigh”, fair play. Two horrible, horrible scrotes ye are.

Mute Ian McDonald
    Favourite Ian McDonald
    Sep 24th 2021, 12:10 AM

First day back in college last week, my son went for lunch in the canteen with a few friends. Two Covid stewards pestered them throughout their meal telling them they had to wear their masks……while eating at the table!

Mute Paul Gorry
    Favourite Paul Gorry
    Sep 24th 2021, 12:21 AM

@Ian McDonald: were they stewards with the yellow Hi viz vests?There the worst.

Mute Seeking Truth
    Favourite Seeking Truth
    Sep 24th 2021, 7:31 AM

@Ian McDonald: some people have actually stopped using their brains. It is very disheartening.

Mute Mickety Dee
    Favourite Mickety Dee
    Sep 24th 2021, 8:04 AM

@Ian McDonald: It wouldn’t be the first time a son hasn’t given the full story

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Favourite Fiona Fitzgerald
    Sep 24th 2021, 6:13 PM

@Mickety Dee: Indeed, sure isn’t he there to learn? If he knows better, he may as well publish his knowledge and they can award him his degree and be done with him.

Mute John O'Brien
    Favourite John O'Brien
    Sep 24th 2021, 1:54 AM

Well it seems to me that the vast majority of students will do whatever it takes to get back to campus! I’m not sure what this virtue signalling is about! The queues for vaccinations by the young was a testament to that! A better question would be why some colleges including Trinity are not bringing back all students? My daughter who is a 2nd year BioMed student in Trinity will have to continue to have online lectures for the foreseeable future! The only reason it seems, is they couldn’t be bothered to organise the lectures properly.

Mute D. Memery
    Favourite D. Memery
    Sep 24th 2021, 7:29 AM

@John O’Brien: they weren’t so great at organising lectures before covid either. Long tradition of getting students to sprint from one end of campus to the other due to the timetabled location of the lecture, double-booking lecture halls, and in some cases expecting students on electives to be in two places at once.

Mute Paddy Dunne
    Favourite Paddy Dunne
    Sep 24th 2021, 7:25 AM

Global pandemic, and people complaining about wearing a mask , it’s called doing your little bit even if it’s a small gesture like wearing a mask before and after eating and a small bit of social distancing, a thousand years ago you wouldn’t be allowed out of your house at pain of death ,if you don’t stay home we shouldn’t need stewards collective responsibility,

Mute Ann Harman
    Favourite Ann Harman
    Sep 24th 2021, 12:20 AM

So how about a student who has had Covid,has a recovery cert and has since been vaccinated

Mute JustMeHere
    Favourite JustMeHere
    Sep 24th 2021, 12:24 AM

@Ann Harman: what is so difficult to understand Ann? Everyone needs to wear a mask at university. It’s that simple.

Mute alan nolan
    Favourite alan nolan
    Sep 24th 2021, 12:45 AM

@JustMeHere: why? if recovered or vaccinated

Mute Mónica Pascoal
    Favourite Mónica Pascoal
    Sep 24th 2021, 1:21 AM

@alan nolan: masks are required for secondary school pupils who have been fully vaccinated. Why would universities be treated any different?

Mute Tommy Roche
    Favourite Tommy Roche
    Sep 24th 2021, 4:18 AM

@Franky Jefferson: Every single person at the top of society does this ? How do you know this ? Sounds to me like you have a grudge against successful people, and to mask your own inadequacies you just make stuff up about them.

Mute Elaine Fagan
    Favourite Elaine Fagan
    Sep 24th 2021, 6:20 AM

@Tommy Roche: just because you’re at the top of society doesn’t mean your successful.

Mute larry bird
    Favourite larry bird
    Sep 24th 2021, 6:34 AM

@Ann Harman: They can apply for an exception, if they get 1 great if not tough.

Its time people realised that if they don’t obey the rules then there are consequences.

Mute Craig Ledbetter
    Favourite Craig Ledbetter
    Sep 24th 2021, 8:04 AM

@alan nolan: Because this will never be allowed to end. Just absolute control of our lives in the name of fear.

Mute 2thFairy
    Favourite 2thFairy
    Sep 24th 2021, 8:12 AM

@Craig Ledbetter: lol. What’s with the drama. God love ye. You’re asked to wear a mask to save lives during a pandemic and you feel it’s the ultimate course of action in controlling you. You really need to get a life.

Mute Niamh Brady
    Favourite Niamh Brady
    Sep 24th 2021, 8:14 AM

@Craig Ledbetter: control of our lives, would you get a grip. It’s a piece of fabric on your face. Try North Korea or Afghanistan for control of your life drama queen!

Mute EillieEs
    Favourite EillieEs
    Sep 24th 2021, 10:32 AM

@Craig Ledbetter: the ones who talk about fear tend to be the anti-maskers and anti-vaxxers who attribute their own emotions to people who are just getting on with their lives. Wear a mask and live your life, nobody is trying to control you.

Mute Elaine Phelan
    Favourite Elaine Phelan
    Sep 24th 2021, 11:10 AM

@Ann Harman: do you expect lecturers to check everyone’s vaccination status to see if they should wear a mask or not? It’s really not that big a deal to wear a mask for lectures

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Sep 24th 2021, 6:17 PM

@Ann Harman: It’s airborne. Anyone in a group who can breathe it in, can breathe out again. They’re all right but they could be incubating the virus and why add to the viral load of others?

Mute Hugh Mc Donnell
    Favourite Hugh Mc Donnell
    Sep 24th 2021, 4:42 AM

My daughter is attending UL and some lecturer’s actually have told the students to remove their masks while in the halls,. My daughter was furious about this and lack of social distancing

Mute Jim Buckley Barrett
    Favourite Jim Buckley Barrett
    Sep 24th 2021, 8:25 AM

@Hugh Mc Donnell: did she or you report it?

Mute Susan McMahon
    Favourite Susan McMahon
    Sep 24th 2021, 2:52 AM

Call security immediately

Mute JedBartlett
    Favourite JedBartlett
    Sep 24th 2021, 7:19 AM

@Susan McMahon: Why stop there? Maybe they should be publicly flogged. Maybe they should have their names and addresses printed in national media.
    Or instead of all that, maybe people should drop the anxiety, realise the whole mask thing is basically theatre at this stage, acknowledge the fact that we have 90% of those eligible vaccinated and put our trust in the vaccine.
    This sounds to me as if people are not trusting the vaccines.

Mute Bill Spill
    Favourite Bill Spill
    Sep 24th 2021, 8:37 AM

@JedBartlett: Publicly flogged? What are you on. Sore head this morning jed?

Mute JedBartlett
    Favourite JedBartlett
    Sep 24th 2021, 9:01 AM

@Bill Spill: Do you understand what sarcasm is, Bill? Grab a coffee there and try again.

Mute Bill Spill
    Favourite Bill Spill
    Sep 24th 2021, 10:22 AM

@JedBartlett: Had to tell with you jed! You’re a bit cuckoo to be fair…

Mute Seeking Truth
    Favourite Seeking Truth
    Sep 24th 2021, 7:29 AM

Why would this be written in a way that makes it sound like a world-wide news outlet? Would you not just say “UCC” and be done with it? Why say “an Irish University?” I know it is slightly pedantic but know your audience….

Mute Jim Buckley Barrett
    Favourite Jim Buckley Barrett
    Sep 24th 2021, 8:24 AM

@Seeking Truth: copy and paste????

Mute Seeking Truth
    Favourite Seeking Truth
    Sep 24th 2021, 2:28 PM

@Jim Buckley Barrett: surely The Journal can do better than that!! Sad times when an article about your own country is written in the 3rd person.

Mute Graham Manning
    Favourite Graham Manning
    Sep 24th 2021, 9:03 AM

Wear mask or leave/don’t come in. That simple. Proper order to call security if needed. Selfish tw@ts

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Sep 24th 2021, 6:26 PM

Fair enough. Why should everyone else have to leave the room because some clown is too vain to wear a mask? Eighty years ago even children carried gas masks around against mustard gas release. Nothing wrong with protecting your lungs with light, convenient filters.

Mute Damo
    Favourite Damo
    Sep 24th 2021, 8:24 AM

Security lol

Mute Mike Dé Vere
    Favourite Mike Dé Vere
    Sep 24th 2021, 7:11 AM

Universities …get on with it fgs.

Mute Janine Dolan
    Favourite Janine Dolan
    Sep 24th 2021, 8:56 AM

How about enforcing medical and FFP2 masks… incidence rate would be way lower.

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Sep 24th 2021, 6:28 PM

Fair enough if colleges distribute a supply for the many students who can’t afford to buy a monthly supply.

Mute Susan McMahon
    Favourite Susan McMahon
    Sep 24th 2021, 7:13 PM

Call security immediately