You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Joan Burton speaking at the seminar this morning Christopher McKinley

Joan Burton: "Promissory note deal? The EU needs a success story"

Joan Burton also said the main lesson from the economic crisis is that financial markets and wealthy elites should not be allowed to “dictate our future”.

MINISTER FOR SOCIAL Protection Joan Burton has said that a deal on the promissory note agreement with the former Anglo Irish Bank is crucial to the Government’s ongoing negotiations about a debt write-down.

Speaking after a European Movement Ireland seminar this morning,  the Minister said:  “Getting a deal in relation to the promissory note is very, very important as, in fact, is looking at the overall bank package”.

But the promissory note is the key element in the current negotiations. We are pushing very strongly for it and the European Union needs a success story as well.

The Minister added that “[The Government has] the commitment of the June council meeting in relation to breaking the link between bank debt and the sovereign [debt].”

“I think we have a very significant amount of understanding and support in relation to assisting Ireland to recover,” she said.

During her address to a host of international guests the Minister confirmed Ireland’s support for the European Union and its benefits to Ireland.

“Let me reiterate our strong commitment to the Union that is based on our shared values [which also] reflects the benefits of membership we have experienced over the past forty years and which have helped transform Ireland economically, politically and socially,” she said.

Burton also stated that the ‘scandalous’ level of unemployment, particularly the among [our] young people, is the pressing issue facing Europe today.

“That is why I have placed such a priority on the Youth Employment Package, including a youth guarantee” she said.

Under the guarantee any young person under 25 would be guaranteed a job, training or educational place within a set number of months after becoming unemployed.

“This week the EU social protection and employment ministers will gather in Dublin to discuss these issues,” she said.

Burton said she was confident that over the term of the EU presidency a successful outcome for Ireland will be achieved.

“Please remember that Europe is not just about bankers”

The Minister’s speech at the event commemorating Ireland’s 40th anniversary in the EU also discussed Ireland’s European presidency, economic governance & stability and agreement on a Multi-annual Financial Framework (MFF).

“Ireland’s Presidency focuses on three key elements – stability, jobs and growth,” she said. “Our citizens want to see the EU respond effectively to the crisis and respond to stability and growth.”

Ms Burton also highlighted how the EU had brought about peace and furthered women’s rights. “The European project ensured our continent moved away from war,” she said.

The Minister urged people not to let current economic conditions cloud their judgment of the EU.

“The current crisis has obscured the fact that the EU has been a force for good,” she said. “Public trust has slipped at national and EU levels. We need to act to restore that trust and to empower EU citizens.”

Burton said that the EU was not just about economies and business. She said that Ireland’s EU Presidency will also place an emphasis on addressing the linkages between hunger, nutrition and climate change.

“Please remember that Europe is not just about bankers,” she said. “Today, in every sense, [the European project] must be about citizens and society.”

“Because if the EU had a failing it was that it allowed the doctrine of market fundamentalism to dominate,” she said.

The salutary lesson is that we cannot allow the financial markets, or the wealthy elites, to dictate our future.

Read: Challenge to promissory notes dismissed, court says TD could bring case >

Read: Noonan still chasing ‘good deal’ in promissory note talks >

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

59 Comments
    Mute Christopher Gardiner
    Favourite Christopher Gardiner
    Feb 1st 2013, 3:11 PM

Blue in the face from listening to nothing. Nothing is going to happen. Promissory note deal. Nothing. waste of time. Rhetoric. Waste of time. Nothing achieved. Repeat for two years non stop.

Mute Stephen Murphy
    Favourite Stephen Murphy
    Feb 1st 2013, 3:17 PM

Absolutely. Hopium for the masses. I urge people to stop listening to these distractions and find out what’s actually going on.

Mute brian o neill
    Favourite brian o neill
    Feb 1st 2013, 4:57 PM

Blah,blah,blah,blah f€€king blah!!!

Mute Stephen murphy
    Favourite Stephen murphy
    Feb 1st 2013, 5:30 PM

I don’t remember, being cloned?

Mute My Dawg Barks Some
    Favourite My Dawg Barks Some
    Feb 1st 2013, 7:55 PM

In Ireland we pay our ministers by the word. We pay extra for catchphrases, with increased pension annuities for use of the phrase “green shots”.

Nothing f**** with my head more than to hear this shite from arseholes on €200,000pa. Easy to see “green shots” when your employment contract stipulates that you will never suffer an out of pocket expense in your political life.

Christopher, blue is nice but don’t worry, it won’t always be blue, in time you will graduate to a nice shade of crimson.

Mute Gearóid O Machain
    Favourite Gearóid O Machain
    Feb 1st 2013, 7:58 PM

and hit the streets on Feb 9th to register our disliking of the situation they’ve done sweet F.A. to get us out of!! It’s high time we restored some pride and make some flipping noise about this whole mess or am I wrong??

https://www.facebook.com/events/296116253844324/

POWER TO THE PEOPLE \o/

Mute werejammin
    Favourite werejammin
    Feb 1st 2013, 3:18 PM

Any ‘deal’ involving issuing long term bonds is no deal at all. It will convert these IOUs into sovereign debt which will befall our kids. A debt writeoff in acknowledgement of the Irish people being landed with these debs in order to save the European banking system is the ONLY fair and moral outcome…..

Mute Ryan'O
    Favourite Ryan'O
    Feb 1st 2013, 3:20 PM

Werejammin,

That’s the ticket!! A soft deal isn’t a deal at all….a write down of this debt that is NOT OURS…..that’s what’s needed.

#NotOurDebt

Mute Tony Skillington
    Favourite Tony Skillington
    Feb 1st 2013, 4:17 PM

Precisely.. It was never our debt in the first place and isn’t ours to repay. Anglo was a private entity that gorged itself on cheap money, went bust due to this greed and now we have to pay for it. So why is the onus on us as a nation to push for a deal on a debt that’s not ours? Beggars belief..

Mute James Hyland
    Favourite James Hyland
    Feb 1st 2013, 11:45 PM

Ireland shouldering 42% of the eu banks debt(dont remember living that well) while only having between 1-.09% of the population of europe is just beyond believe.
    “Europe needs a success story”well why not try that regime on someone else or are the other countries of europe too powerfull for our weekknee,d mep,s.
    if you aint got it you aint got it should be the mantra of our politicians can ya get blood outa a stone NO.
    just how far do ye POLITICIANS think we the IRISH people take anymore

Mute Michael Burke
    Favourite Michael Burke
    Feb 1st 2013, 3:15 PM

I wonder how all these government wafflers are going to explain they’re handing over of another 3 billion in cash without a sniff of a deal?

Remember Kenny ‘Not a cent more to the banks!”
    These words are going to haunt you forever.

Mute Daffy TheBear
    Favourite Daffy TheBear
    Feb 1st 2013, 3:34 PM

.. “another red cent”, no less…

Mute Michael Burke
    Favourite Michael Burke
    Feb 1st 2013, 3:42 PM

@Daffy

Correct…I could’nt think of his exact phrasing :-)

Mute Stephen murphy
    Favourite Stephen murphy
    Feb 1st 2013, 5:28 PM

Labour said Red, didn’t they and the Bluebottles fly around pooh!

Mute ADEBAYO FLYNN
    Favourite ADEBAYO FLYNN
    Feb 1st 2013, 3:17 PM

Talk is cheap sweetheart…

Mute Anna Kirby
    Favourite Anna Kirby
    Feb 1st 2013, 3:40 PM

So disappointed i thought Joan Burton would see the need to help Irish Citizens. Its like as if they have quenched the fire in her. Didn’t work on George Lee , he walked when he realised what was going on. That’s it Shane Ross, Stephen Donnelly, Joan Collins n Pearse . looks like your the only men left standing to take up the gauntlet..

Mute Eileen Gabbett
    Favourite Eileen Gabbett
    Feb 1st 2013, 3:33 PM

I am really fed up listening to garbage. How someone can stand up and speak for a length of time and use big fancy words and speeches and still end up saying NOTHING is beyond me. The cheek of this woman , dose she think she is so clever that she can fool us all ? Well Joan ,you are full of it so much Big phil will be able to fine you €5000… Go away , get some self respect and come back if you dare and represent and support the people whose suffering you have made worse.

Mute Mike Clinton
    Favourite Mike Clinton
    Feb 1st 2013, 5:13 PM

How in the name of God can she even look at her own face in the mirror.
    She has treated the very people she vowed to represent and protect with such disregard and blatent distain as she lied from her black heart and made savage cuts.
    This paracite lied her way to power and showed the people that supported her how much of a liar and sleeveen she really is.

Mute Tom O Brien
    Favourite Tom O Brien
    Feb 1st 2013, 3:59 PM

Moan burton was the biggest critic of austerity & bank bailouts when in opposition. It’s amazing how she’s singing a different tune now. They are all so drunk on power they really don’t give a shit!! If I see Brian Hayes on TV one more time harping on about protecting the higher paid because supposedly they create jobs I’ll throw it out the window. Seems greedy capitalism brought the country to it knees so we ressort to socialism to pay back all the debts but protect the capitalists from any sort of pain while they all continue to live their lavish lives & collect their massive pensions. The Government is part of this elitist culture so while their still in power things are just going to stay the same..

Mute Tom Lewis
    Favourite Tom Lewis
    Feb 1st 2013, 3:31 PM

You resign now thats a success story

Mute Steve Murphy
    Favourite Steve Murphy
    Feb 1st 2013, 3:18 PM

Very easy for her to say this but anything actually happening is a slim chance,who could believe the party who are in bed with the lying fg traitors

Mute Dave Grant
    Favourite Dave Grant
    Feb 1st 2013, 4:53 PM

Success story??
    What about Iceland??

My bad, forgot about the media blackout on reporting anything from there.

Mute Ru Ni Digs
    Favourite Ru Ni Digs
    Feb 1st 2013, 3:37 PM

To quote Homer Simpson “You take a long time to say nothing.”

Mute Alan Phillips
    Favourite Alan Phillips
    Feb 1st 2013, 3:25 PM

Joan says..”Europe is just not about bankers”…well it just seems that way, IR politicians should have told Mr Trichet that a few years ago

Lamb
    Mute Lamb
    Favourite Lamb
    Feb 1st 2013, 3:20 PM

Just wondering…does the Taoiseach need to advise the President to dissolve the Dail or can the President issue a proclamation to dissolve the Dail of his own accord…or the publics?

Mute Gearóid O Machain
    Feb 1st 2013, 8:02 PM

yes the president can dissolve the dail and the last one was slated for not doing so sooner when FF were digging their heels in!!

Mute Brian Ward
    Favourite Brian Ward
    Feb 1st 2013, 3:48 PM

Great to see under 25′s taken care of. What about those over 25? Are they just thrown on the scrap heap. Employers are taking on under 25′s because they can pay them next to nothing and are completely ignoring those people who have been in the workforce for years and bring with them a huge amount of experience.

There is a job advertised at the moment paying €18000 per year. Sounds great except you will work a minimum of 50 hours a week to complete all the necessary calls. That means that you will bring home less than the minimum wage each week. It advertises as “Suit Graduate”. I know the job and I can tell you that you do not need a business degree to do it! The job has been advertised for the last 2-3 weeks and was also on before Christmas. If people are not taking it up it is because it pays no better than the dole for working 50+ hours a week. Straight away you will get people saying to lower the dole but how much lower can people go? Why can’t the employer pay a fair wage for work and hours well done? The money that they are offering is what I was getting nearly 12 years ago. Maybe if employers stopped exploiting peoples desperate circumstances they would get people who would be happy to work for them. As it is anyone taking up jobs like this are only using them as a stepping stone to jobs where they will get more money and be treated with respect.

Mute JakkiB
    Favourite JakkiB
    Feb 1st 2013, 3:48 PM

Too late for a success story Joan but not too late to have some respect for yourself and the people of Ireland and resign in protest at this complete mess, Come on!!!! Have more balls than those leading the Country!!

Mute Johnnathan Biskalero
    Favourite Johnnathan Biskalero
    Feb 1st 2013, 4:16 PM

Lol……monkeys would do a better job. Bring back the god dam punt for *** sake and let exports thrive, let tourism thrive , let companies come in because of lower wages, what we cant import lets try and make it…..it is the elephant in the room !!

Mute Gearóid O Machain
    Feb 1st 2013, 8:07 PM

here here!!

and while we’re at it lets legalise and tax medical and recreational cannabis too which will bag a handy billion or 2 in the process, which will cut down the drinking in this country by a sizeable amount thereby saving even more money, renegotiate the deal on our oil and gas raking in tens of billions in revenue and cut down on the bloody quangos etc etc etc……..

the list goes on and on as to where we can generate real positive change in this country

Mute John Byrne
    Favourite John Byrne
    Feb 1st 2013, 4:33 PM

joan we dont believe anything you say as you were trusted once already& should have backed roisin shorthall & put the citizens to the forefront not gilmore who is after digging a grave for you & labour. bye joan never again.

Mute JP Sherry
    Favourite JP Sherry
    Feb 1st 2013, 4:05 PM

Oh just get a fecking deal or don’t!!!!
    Honestly it’s beyond laughable at this stage, all this “are we, arent we” talk, it’s endless.
    Can they not just ask are we getting a deal, yes or no. At least then we know where we stand. But this constant ” he said we are,she said we arent”belongs in the playground.
    Deal or no F’in deal???

Mute Mike Clinton
    Favourite Mike Clinton
    Feb 1st 2013, 3:43 PM

Deluded financial paracites. All they are good for is lieing,decieving and talking pure and utter crap.

Mute John Loughran
    Favourite John Loughran
    Feb 1st 2013, 4:55 PM

Joan Brutal – The new wealthy elite are overpaid politicians and civil servants and they ARE “dictating our future”. It is hard to look for a deal on promissory notes when our negotiators are paid significantly more than the guys they are negotiating with.

Mute Dave Harris
    Favourite Dave Harris
    Feb 1st 2013, 5:18 PM

So its Joan’s turn to spout the shite now. Notice how they keep taking it in turns to be the mouthpiece? Its probably on advice from the same marketing men/’advisers’ that told Dame Enda to shut the feck up during the election campaign and just say 5 point plan a lot.
    And we are supposed to believe these twits can get a ‘deal’ for us?

Mute malcom
    Favourite malcom
    Feb 1st 2013, 4:56 PM

The eu needs to stop robbing from the Irish taxpayer

Mute Gearóid O Machain
    Feb 1st 2013, 8:00 PM

we need to show the EU they can’t rob us cos so far all they’ve seen is us taking it again and again!!

POWER TO THE PEOPLE FEB 9TH \o/

Mute Gerry Ryan deG
    Favourite Gerry Ryan deG
    Feb 1st 2013, 5:57 PM

Nero fiddled while Rome burned, Joan waffles while the Labour Party disintegrates. Emperor style money and perks does quare things to people.

Mute Johnnathan Biskalero
    Favourite Johnnathan Biskalero
    Feb 1st 2013, 5:41 PM

“The Minister urged people not to let current economic conditions cloud their judgment of the EU…….what in the name of god does she mean ? Oh right just keep believing is it until there is nothing left of this country ? dear god above give me strength !!

Mute Sacha Mahady
    Favourite Sacha Mahady
    Feb 1st 2013, 5:55 PM

It’s not just the kids who have to emigrate. I’m on the verge of being taxed out of here. 21 years employed. Never put of work. Wages going south. Taxes going north at alarming rate. Interest rates way above base rate. Banks licking there lips at the thought of house prices going up even 5 % so they can repossess and sell to foreign investors by the street or block full. Simple maths 101 would let you know that a working population of under 2 million can’t ever pay 100 billion plus at interest at 3.5%. It’s like getting a mortgage 1000 times your salary and expecting to cope. No deal. No disco. They know it the cats on the street know it. I hope we know it. I just don’t know who has the stones to stand up. And I would not vote Sinn Fein. Labour or fianna nothing. L I A R S. COWARDS
    And only interested in securing their own financial future.

Mute Andy Barrett
    Favourite Andy Barrett
    Feb 1st 2013, 7:54 PM

time to go for a vote ….lets get out of Europe to hell with em…the Germans ,French ,Danes, Dutch look at Europe and ask themselves is this good or bad for us ?The danes kept their currency. The french do what they want.Paddy pig ?yes sir no sir three bags full sir!! Time to scare em …Don’t repay the debt …you can’t negotiate when you are hiding under the table time to stand on it. I would rather starve than give them another cent.

Mute O'Reilly
    Favourite O'Reilly
    Feb 1st 2013, 3:26 PM

She’s spot on…

Mute Frank Cluskey
    Favourite Frank Cluskey
    Feb 1st 2013, 3:32 PM

O’Reilly
    she talks about youth employment
    bit late when approx 160,000 of our brightest and most educated are already gone
    hollow words

Mute horses for courses
    Favourite horses for courses
    Feb 1st 2013, 4:31 PM

Exactly Frank.My 12 year old asked me only yesterday will he have to emigrate to get work when he leaves school?Disgrace.
    Up to 2000 people a week were leaving family and friends because their country could not provide for them.
    Our representative’s(won’t call them what I really think of them.Wont be posted) need to grow a pair at the big European table and tell Angela we are keeping the 3.1 billion euro in Ireland because its needed in Ireland by the Irish people.
    Default simple as.Kenny and Co need to be more concerned about Ireland and the people that pay him that ridiculous salary than Europe.
    We need to hit the streets folks and get the ball rolling.Enough is enough.Its not our debt and its certainly not our kids debt.They gambled they lost…….

Mute Frank Cluskey
    Favourite Frank Cluskey
    Feb 1st 2013, 5:15 PM

I understand where your coming from horses
    Ive two kids myself 16 and 13
    hollow hollow words!

Mute Mike Clinton
    Favourite Mike Clinton
    Feb 1st 2013, 5:36 PM

Same here. My Son is thinking of it.
    I wish nothing but pox upon each and every one of this so called government. They are just pigs at a trough and I wish them nothing but bad luck.

Mute O'Reilly
    Favourite O'Reilly
    Feb 1st 2013, 5:38 PM

Frank, should she not bother then to prevent another 160,000 youth going? I want a future here for my family. There’s nothing anyone can do for those gone already but we can try fix it for your kids..

Mute theycallmeJay
    Favourite theycallmeJay
    Feb 1st 2013, 6:20 PM

well said Mike, what I wouldn’t give for 10 minutes alone in a room with that c•••t Kenny.

Mute Bernadette Dunne
    Favourite Bernadette Dunne
    Feb 2nd 2013, 4:54 AM

Horses and Frank and I have 2 sons also and last August my eldest son told me he was off to Australia my world fell apart but yet I was surprised either but very sad cos this was not a lifestyle choice but thankfully he came in with news that ruined my plans for a once in a life time holiday YES he was not going to the other side of the world I asked him recently was he disappointed by not going No he said I am more disappointed that all my friends are gone I am disappointed that this country my homeland is doing nothing to help my friends to come home He also said that this Gathering is a farce our loved ones that have left have not got enough to come home and those that may be coming here are maybe 2nd/ 3rd generation with a few bob to get here we may not even know them,or even know of them

Mute Jim Lenihan
    Favourite Jim Lenihan
    Feb 1st 2013, 7:39 PM

u think that she didnt do nothing .She screw every person on the dole through no fault of their own .special need children .adults.carers everyone
    she and he patners are evil.go back to HELL where e came from

Mute Chris O'Reilly
    Favourite Chris O'Reilly
    Feb 1st 2013, 9:33 PM

Can I just say !!! Go Joan Go Go Go .

Mute David Duignan
    Favourite David Duignan
    Feb 1st 2013, 7:13 PM

the wealthy elites always dictated our future burton. bildeberg. illuminatti. freemasons. rockerfeller. rothschild etc etc….

Mute EU Auditor
    Favourite EU Auditor
    Feb 1st 2013, 10:42 PM

Joan — get a mirror. You and the rest in our government, senior civil servants and bankers etc are the elite doing the lecturing. Look at Shatter, James Reilly, Enda, Pig Phil, Gilmore etch
    Stop this bullying and blaming Joan. You stood for the opposite to what you are now implementing. I voted FG and Labour — never again. I and many more have been betrayed by you. I feel bullied and duped by you and Enda/Gilmore.

Mute Matt Reville
    Favourite Matt Reville
    Feb 1st 2013, 5:40 PM

So much rhetoric, so little said! If we could bottle it, we would have enough to pay off the promissory notes. But sorry, forgot there is no currency in bulls…t!

Mute Brian Murtagh
    Favourite Brian Murtagh
    Feb 2nd 2013, 12:31 AM

she is forgetting she is now one of the wealthy elite with her massive salary and expenses and pension

Mute Mark Garrigan
    Favourite Mark Garrigan
    Feb 1st 2013, 9:31 PM

leave like I did…….and see what the rest of the world think of the “fighting Irish.”We are a laughing stock of Europe,and we only have ourselves to blame by voting same $#%? gombeens in decade in decade out,this will be paid and the spin will continue until 2014,15,16……then something will come,when we vote again

Mute Eugene Farrell
    Favourite Eugene Farrell
    Feb 1st 2013, 11:12 PM

Stick to moaning Joan, hollow howls of hope don’t suit ya….

Mute Dermot Murphy
    Favourite Dermot Murphy
    Feb 4th 2013, 8:18 AM

thats why we need our articles 47 &48 back into our constitution.If we had these articles back in,we could by a certain amount of signatures,remove any politician from office,or overturn any law they make.Thats why the cute hoors took them out.directdemocracy.ie want to get these articles re instated.

Mute Dermot Murphy
    Favourite Dermot Murphy
    Feb 4th 2013, 8:31 AM

As I said above,we have choices now.Direct democracy will return the power to us.Just by signatures alone,we CAN remove any politician from office.Have a look at their mission statement,and if you like it,join us to stand against them in the by elections,to get them out one by one.We select our own trusted people from within our communities to represent us.These Reps will be fully accountable to us.If you really want change here,look up directdemocracy.ie Its up to us now.