You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Rosie O'Donnell pictured on the Late Late Show. RTÉ

'I'm used as a punchline': Rosie O'Donnell says she moved to Ireland because Trump 'out to get' her

The award-winning actress and comedian said that Irish people have been “unbelievably kind and loving” since she moved to Howth in January.

AMERICAN COMEDIAN ROSIE O’Donnell has said that she moved to Ireland from the US this year to “escape” Donald Trump, who she said “has it out” for her.

O’Donnell, an award-winning actress, made an appearance on RTÉ’s Late Late Show this evening, where she explained that she “couldn’t understand” why so many Americans supported Trump in the Presidential elections last year.

She described Trump as “a man with the personality of a teenage boy”.

Earlier this month, O’Donnell announced on social media that she had left the US to move to Ireland with her 12-year-old child in January. 

Asked by Late Late Show host Patrick Kielty about the reasons for the move, Rosie bluntly replied: “The President of the United States has it out for me”.

O’Donnell added that Trump has disliked her “for 20 years” when she spoke out against him on daytime talk show The View.

“I mentioned his bankruptcies, I mentioned all the sexual assault charges, and I mentioned that he was not, in fact, the businessman that everyone thinks he is,” O’Donnell explained.

“He was very angry, and he hasn’t let it go – he uses me as a punchline whenever he feels the need”.

The comedian told Kielty that she is in the process of Irish citizenship, and has relocated with her children to Howth.

‘I wrote the Taoiseach an apology’

A day after O’Donnell announced that she would move to Ireland, her decision received some ridicule from Trump during his meeting with Taoiseach Micheál Martin at the White House.

A conservative commentator in the Oval Office asked Martin why he “allowed” O’Donnell to move to the country – to which the Taoiseach had no reply.

O’Donnell told Kielty that hearing her name mentioned during the Taoiseach’s visit was “very surreal”.

“I felt very troubled that they put the Taoiseach in that position and didn’t treat him with the respect he deserved,” O’Donnell said.

She added that she had “wrote to the Taoiseach with a little apology note”, and said that she had received a note back from Martin, thanking her for her message.

Asked for her thoughts on Conor McGregor’s recent visit to the White House, O’Donnell said: “It seems unusual to me that the President of the United States has so many friends that are sexual abusers”.

“It shows that (the US) is in trouble. To think that cruelty and lack of empathy in a value that is spouted from the highest office in our country is overwhelmingly sad to me,” O’Donnell said.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

View 141 comments
141 Comments
    Mute Jack Schitte
    Favourite Jack Schitte
    Fri 10:28 PM

Well said Rosie..

Mute Len Casey
    Favourite Len Casey
    Sat 2:16 AM

700m

Mute Rafa C
    Favourite Rafa C
    Sat 8:36 AM

@Len Casey: 5

Mute frank dowling
    Favourite frank dowling
    Fri 10:50 PM

Nothing on the journal about the alleged Ukrainian car repairs being paid for by the Irish taxpayer ..

Mute Luas Vuitton - Penneys Drag Queen
    Favourite Luas Vuitton - Penneys Drag Queen
    Fri 10:54 PM

@frank dowling: go on then Frank, tell us the allegations …

Mute Ed Fitzgerald
    Favourite Ed Fitzgerald
    Fri 10:58 PM

@frank dowling: “alleged,” never happened more like, hence “alleged”.

See 14 more replies ▾
    Mute Bryan
    Favourite Bryan
    Fri 11:04 PM

@frank dowling: Ya Simon did a great job avoiding that question in the Dail with his usual “they’ve fleeing a war torn country, sure god help them. They make a great contribution to the economy” Talking over Ken O Flynn and saying you’re a dog whistler to him over and over again. Spineless.

Mute Eric Gaffney
    Favourite Eric Gaffney
    Fri 11:09 PM

@Luas Vuitton – Penneys Drag Queen: Way behind, Simon Harris has already confirmed it.

Mute anthony lambe
    Favourite anthony lambe
    Sat 1:14 AM

@frank dowling: unfortunately it seems that it’s a fact not an allegation.

Mute Rafa C
    Favourite Rafa C
    Sat 8:33 AM

@frank dowling:

CLAIMS by Independent Ireland TD Ken O’Flynn and comments from A (ONE) garage owner, have circulated online. They assert that some payments for vehicle repairs have been made. However, these reports appear largely anecdotal and based on isolated examples rather than a systematic government policy.

Fact Check: Are Ukrainian Refugees Getting €7,000 for Car Repairs?
    There’s been a claim that the Irish government is paying for car repairs – including a €7,000 engine replacement – for Ukrainian refugees. However, there’s no evidence of a widespread policy covering such expenses.

The government provides basic financial support to refugees under the
    1. Temporary Protection scheme.
    2. The Additional Needs Payment can help cover essential expenses, but car repairs are not standard under these supports.
    3. Simon Harris has said there’s no policy for paying for widespread car repairs and warned against misinformation.

While isolated cases might exist, there’s no proof of a systematic programme funding expensive vehicle repairs. Let’s stick to the facts.

#FactCheck #Ireland #UkrainianRefugees

Mute Seosamh Ohuaine
    Favourite Seosamh Ohuaine
    Sat 8:50 AM

@Rafa C: So it’s just this one lad. Thanks for clearing that up nothing g to see here

Mute Bryan
    Favourite Bryan
    Sat 8:52 AM

@Rafa C: Isolated cases may exist at the moment because it hasn’t been widely spoke about. “But let me just say this” (to quote our fearless deputy), there’s not one Irish taxpayer getting their cars repaired by the state.

Mute Rafa C
    Favourite Rafa C
    Sat 9:26 AM

@Bryan: It’s fair to question government spending, but the key point here is evidence. Right now, there’s no verified proof that there’s a widespread policy of paying for car repairs for Ukrainian refugees. Even Simon Harris has said as much.

Yes, some isolated cases may exist, but without clear data, it’s misleading to suggest this is happening on a large scale. Also, the Irish taxpayer does get state help for unexpected costs through the Additional Needs Payment, which is available to anyone in financial hardship not just refugees.

If we’re going to debate this, let’s base it on facts, not assumptions.

Mute Bryan
    Favourite Bryan
    Sat 9:50 AM

@Rafa C: Fair enough Rafa, but I didnt suggest that it’s widespread policy or that it’s happening on a large scale. I’m saying that there’s no smoke without fire + while Simon + Michael are happy for us to act as Europe’s doormat that some people in this country actually expect a level of accountability for how these things are allowed to happen. Any additional needs payment would certainly not cover the cost of replacement of an engine in a car which is what this isolated case is highlighting specifically. Clear data means absolutely nothing in this country because we had clear data for children’s hospitals, bicycle sheds, security huts, x ray machines, e voting machines, the FAI, the HSE + RTÉ to mention a few. And absolutely nothing and I mean absolutely nothing has been done about it.

Mute Bryan
    Favourite Bryan
    Sat 10:00 AM

@Bryan: My point is that there’s a way of taking a leaders question on board but Simon patted it down and resorted to name calling which would suggest there’s some level of truth to it. Simon and his ilk have been in government while taxpayers money gets thrown around like confetti with no accountability and that’s not going to change anytime soon. And there certainly doesn’t seem to be any appetite in government to start investigating all of the things mentioned above and do something about it.

Mute Rafa C
    Favourite Rafa C
    Sat 10:24 AM

@Bryan: There’s no doubt they are flippant with our money. I’m as frustrated as you. But a comment by an independent TD and a garage owner is not smoke in my book. There are people of all sorts taking advantage of taxpayers money, politicians included. But to me this sounds like antiimigration rhetoric and twisting facts to suit a narrative.

Mute Rafa C
    Favourite Rafa C
    Sat 10:26 AM

@Bryan: You’re taking the word of people who have an agenda – and speculating without facts.

Mute den
    Favourite den
    Sat 1:40 PM

@Rafa C: it shouldn’t be phucking happening at all, even if it’s only one case for phuck sake, take harris’s langer out of your mouth will ya for one minute!

Mute Rafa C
    Favourite Rafa C
    Sat 2:26 PM

@den: but there’s no evidence of it happening at all. Idiotic rhetoric all the time from people that take a story and run with it and it’s not evening happening

Mute David Jordan
    Favourite David Jordan
    Sat 2:36 PM

@frank dowling: these rumors are probably based on the Motorised Transport Grant, the department of social protection may pay for modifying cars of eligible disabled people, for example, if a wheelchair user needs to be able to operate their car using hands only, the motorised transport grant will pay for the car’s modifications.

It’s possible there’s a handful of disabled Ukranians in Ireland who qualify for this grant. If there is, it’s also possible some are injured war veterans.

Mute Housing Hunger Games
    Favourite Housing Hunger Games
    Fri 10:30 PM

Oh no, trump minions be along to hate on her because she told the truth about his bankruptcies, they angry and offended

Mute Eric Gaffney
    Favourite Eric Gaffney
    Fri 10:39 PM

@Housing Hunger Games: He’s worth over 4 billion dollars. Get over it.

Fri 10:42 PM

@Eric Gaffney: oh no, agro is picking up for a billionaire, you come from NOTHING lol. She told the truth get over it agro YOU GOT NO SEATS

See 14 more replies ▾
    Mute Jason Memail
    Favourite Jason Memail
    Fri 10:45 PM

@Eric Gaffney: And for some reason, here you are fighting for your life in the comments defending him. What an absolute sap.

Mute Eric Gaffney
    Favourite Eric Gaffney
    Fri 10:48 PM

@Jason Memail: Not fighting for my life, merely telling you phucktards I disagree with you.

Mute Louis Jacob
    Favourite Louis Jacob
    Fri 10:51 PM

@Eric Gaffney: After inheriting 750,000,000 from Daddy over 30 years ago. The guy is a disaster.

@Jason Memail: forelock tugger, foreskin tugger – these Trump boxroom trolls are to be pitied. But let’s take the piss out of them first

Mute Deano74
    Favourite Deano74
    Fri 11:27 PM

@Louis Jacob: Maybe,I’m no trump fan,but he still got elected president twice,to look at him as the disaster is to easy,the reasons why people voted for him is the real disaster.

Fri 11:37 PM

@Eric Gaffney: see how many people agree with me? Pathetic Tate incel

Mute Pat O Dwyer
    Favourite Pat O Dwyer
    Sat 12:26 AM

@Eric Gaffney: His Daddy left him about 4 billion…adjusted for inflation that equates to a massive loss…and he’s the only known person on earth to go bankrupt as a casino owner….some businessman he is eh?

Mute tony hilton
    Favourite tony hilton
    Sat 6:03 AM

@Pat O Dwyer: why do you lie? He wasn’t left that much at all.

Mute Lar
    Favourite Lar
    Sat 7:40 AM

@Eric Gaffney: he owes a lot more than that, technically broke!!

Mute Sheila McNulty
    Favourite Sheila McNulty
    Sat 8:18 AM

@Eric Gaffney: So money is all that matters ?

Mute Robert Halvey
    Favourite Robert Halvey
    Sat 8:25 AM

@Eric Gaffney: oops you seem to have mammy issues

Mute Jimmy Kiely
    Favourite Jimmy Kiely
    Sat 10:07 AM

@Eric Gaffney: he owes a lot more then 4 billion in depts. ????

Mute donal O'brien
    Favourite donal O'brien
    Sat 10:58 AM

@Eric Gaffney: he may have assets worth $4bn but he is about the most worthless human being that every drew breath

Mute Argus Romsworth
    Favourite Argus Romsworth
    Sat 11:16 AM

@Eric Gaffney: the resident coolock says no sponger

Mute Trevor Beacom
    Favourite Trevor Beacom
    Fri 10:27 PM

We just brought an American version of our own woke who were freaked out by garron noone. €750 million for this entertainment :/

Mute Louis Jacob
    Favourite Louis Jacob
    Fri 10:33 PM

@Trevor Beacom: People didn’t like what he said and spoke out. That’s the free speech you guys no f all about. He took it down himself; also his prerogative. Funnily enough, if you read what he said and understood it, it wasn’t all that controversial and was mostly critical of The Babba in Chief.

Mute Darth O'Leary
    Favourite Darth O'Leary
    Sat 12:19 AM

@Louis Jacob: Everything he said was reasonable. It’s okay to be nonplussed with FFGL ‘s immigration/integration policies. It doesn’t make you racist. Garron is a nice chap and I’m glad SF, II and Aontú are supporting him

Mute kaidon sharkey
    Favourite kaidon sharkey
    Sat 12:53 AM

@Louis Jacob: he took it down because he was being bullied and being doxed….he was hounded for his take and people didnt like the answer he gave…so does that give anyone the right to behave like the way they did??? by me anyone who did bully him and dox him deserve to be arrested and punished because and i ask this honestly…how do you think his mental health is now at this time?? do you come across to think that its only an opinion? everyone is entitled to one…you may not like it but its not a reason to bully and dox someone because of it…shame on anyone who took part in it

Mute Rafa C
    Favourite Rafa C
    Sat 9:31 AM

@Trevor Beacom: We didn’t bring anyone. Rosie decided to leave America for her own reasons, and came to what she knows to be her ancestorial home. Nothing wrong with someone packing up sticks if not happy with their situation. Like anyone can do, anytime they like, and seek a better life somewhere else. You can do it, I can do it, and Rosie is completely free to live where she chooses.

Twisting this into a dig at Garron Noone and RTE costs is a bizarre take and has nothing really to do with Rosie being targeted by Trump for harassment for over 20 years because she reported the truth on him that he has taken a personal vendetta to make her life hell, and it worked, she had to leave her friends and family and come to Ireland to get away from his hate.

That speaks more towards what a horrible person Trump is and nothing to do with Garron Noone or the costs of RTE.

Mute A D
    Favourite A D
    Fri 10:29 PM

I never heard of her before trump mentioned her.
    However, I respect what she said about the orange psychopath.

Mute Dan The Man
    Favourite Dan The Man
    Fri 11:02 PM

@A D: the Simpsons and Fresh Prince of Bel Air used to take the P out of her in the 90′s non stop…

Mute Setanta O'Toole
    Favourite Setanta O'Toole
    Fri 11:04 PM

@A D: neither had the lads slating her.

Mute Chaotic State
    Favourite Chaotic State
    Fri 11:57 PM

Putin says that Comrade Trump is doing a great job for the Motherland

Mute Unridden Ana
    Favourite Unridden Ana
    Fri 10:19 PM

We’ve enough woke plonkers of our own. Trump, take her back.

Mute David Jordan
    Favourite David Jordan
    Fri 11:31 PM

@Unridden Ana: Trump’s first month:

Fired whistle-blower protection office heads of the National Labor Relations Board, U.S. Merit Systems Protection Board, U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission, and the Privacy and Civil Liberties Oversight Board.

Fired the head of the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau who protected US citizen from bank and online scams, and he ordered Consumer Financial Protection Bureau staffers to stop most work

Fired 18 inspectors general – Inspectors General (IGs) were independent officials within the U.S. federal government responsible for identifying and investigating financial fraud, waste, abuse, and misconduct

Shut down the criminal investigation of New York’s Democrat Mayor, Eric Adams, who swore loyalty to Trump; Adams was investigated for receiving bribes from Turkey, and removing oversight of banks that resulted in them lending money to hard up military veterans at extreme interest rates, he then blocked 38 investigations of these corrupt banks

Fired the head of Transportation Security Administration
    Fired the head of the Coast Guard

Set up DOGE under questionable legal circumstances and gave the world’s richest man, including a literal teenager (19 years old Edward Corisitine) access to sensitive Treasury data i.e. the financial records of competing companies and all Americans

Moved to dismantle USAID – HIV medications no longer reaching millions of HIV positive adults and children(see: US aid freeze puts HIV-positive orphans in Kenya at risk as medical supplies dwindle), US farmers no longer paid for surplus grain

Imposed sanctions on International Criminal Court for their investigation of Israeli war crimes

Espoused plans to expel all 2.4 million Palestinian from Gaza and for the US to rule Gaza like a Kingdom (included posting video of post US invaded Gaza with a giant gold statue of Trump)

https://youtu.be/PslOp883rfI

Said wants to annex Canada, Greenland and Panama, and he’s willing to order military invasions to achieve this.

Repeated Russian propaganda re. Ukraine

Pardoned all Jan. 6 rioters, including armed neo-Nazis, The Proud Boys

Fired 24+ Department of Justice prosecutors – primarily targeted prosecutors who worked on the January 6 Capitol riot and other investigations concerning the criminal actions of the President

Demanded and eventually got the names and details of 6,000 FBI agents involved in investigating Jan 6th rioters, who may be sacked or demoted.

Revoked federal security protections of his enemies:
    John Bolton: Former National Security Adviser
    Mike Pompeo: Former Secretary of State
    Brian Hook: Former U.S. Special Representative for Iran
    General Mark Milley: Former Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff
    Antony Blinken: Former Secretary of State
    Jake Sullivan: Former National Security Adviser
    Mark Esper: Former Secretary of Defence
    John Brennan: Former CIA Director, as well as 50 other former CIA officials
    Dr. Anthony Fauci: Former Director of NIAID who led the U.S. COVID-19 response

Called himself King and declared himself incapable of breaking the law

And this month, the clown show continues:

He closed Voice of America, Radio Marti, VOA Farsi, Radio Free Asia, Radio Free Europe, set up during WWII to counter Nazi propaganda, VOI was by law meant to provide unbiased and objective reporting, which thin-skinned Trump hated because it told the truth about him.

See: ‘Discarded like a dirty rag’: Chinese state media hails Trump’s cuts to Voice of America

He’s also trying to close the U.S. Institute of Peace and the Education Department (to dumb down America)

The general pattern of closure and downsizing of the Federal Government fits that pattern of the removing institutions that oppose the concentration of fascist power by the President, and I really do mean fascist power.

And today, to top it all off and illustrate just how erratic, psychologically unfit and easily manipulated Trump is, today he stated his wish that the US join the British Commonwealth i.e. Keir Starmer stroked Trumps ego too much when he met Trump at the Whit House and invited him to meet King Charles

Mute Anthony Mulligan
    Favourite Anthony Mulligan
    Fri 11:41 PM

Sweet Jesus,
    That’s some mouthfull.

Mute Oh Mammy
    Favourite Oh Mammy
    Fri 11:45 PM

@David Jordan: Biden, Trump, Obama, Bush, Clinton, Bush, Reagan, Carter, and on, have all done most of what you stated. What’s the problem?

Mute Daniel Wilson
    Favourite Daniel Wilson
    Fri 11:46 PM

@David Jordan: ain’t nobody got time for that

Mute David Jordan
    Favourite David Jordan
    Sat 12:47 AM

@Unridden Ana: Trump has undertaken sweeping authoritarian-style actions aimed at consolidating personal power and dismantling oversight. He’s fired or replaced watchdogs, inspectors general, whistleblower protection heads, and civil rights agency leaders. He shut down major investigations (e.g., into Eric Adams), defunded foreign aid (like HIV support), sanctioned the International Criminal Court, pardoned rioters, and revoked protections for former officials critical of him. Furthermore, he openly considered military invasions of Canada, Greenland, and Panama, repeated Russian propaganda, and closed institutions providing independent journalism. Finally, he declared himself above the law and appears increasingly psychologically erratic.

Overall Pattern: Systematic dismantling of democratic checks and balances, expansion of personal power, alignment with authoritarian regimes, and erratic behaviour.

And no, “Biden, Trump, Obama, Bush, Clinton, Bush, Reagan, Carter, and on”, never did anything like this, at this scale, even if you merge every questionably thing they all did into one, it would be a shadow of what Trump did in just a few months!

Specifically, and it is important to point out, his unprecedented actions required the Supreme Court last year declaring he President immune from criminal prosecution, Agenda 2025 and radical constitutional attorneys and lawyers who espouse Unitary Executive Theory (President holds comprehensive authority over the executive branch, asserting that all executive power resides solely with the President)

Mute David Jordan
    Favourite David Jordan
    Sat 2:01 AM

@Oh Mammy: Your comment is completely inaccurate

While past some previous presidents may have pushed the boundaries of their executive powers to a degree, no previous president comes anywhere close to the scale and systematic abuse of power Trump displays.

Yes, there were some isolated dismissals e.g., Reagan fired 16 Inspectors General with 5 reinstated, Obama fired Walpin, but these are not in any way comparable to Trump’s record-breaking purge of dozens of Inspectors General, watchdog heads, and civil rights agency leaders, in such a short space of time.

Trump is:

Undermining oversight bodies (DOJ purges, Inspector General dismissals) – Unprecedented in scale

Punishing or Rewarding loyalty e.g., dismissing prosecutors or watchdogs seen as personally disloyal to Trump, or ending criminal prosecutions in return for direct political favours – Unprecedented

Revenge against political enemies (revoking security, and blocking criminal investigations) – Unprecedented

Centralising his power (closures of education, broadcasting, foreign aid, and currently an attempted closure of a peace institution) – Unprecedented

These are the obvious hallmarks of an authoritarian leader, a textbook definition of fascist power consolidation.

Today, I read that federal judges in the US face unpresented security threats, hoax bomb threats, swatting, calls for violence; intimidation of the judiciary (and press) of this kind and scale is typically seen in undemocratic regimes.

I can cite reputable sources to prove this vast pattern of authoritarian behaviour, from Reuters, NPR, CNN, Politico, The Guardian, Time Times, New York Times etc.

You provided nothing of substance, just a pointless post that people thoughtlessly upvoted, a nothing that ignores the US’ slide into despotism and fascism.

It takes someone with some moral backbone to see what is happening here, who has honesty and integrity to cal it what it is.

Mute Ulick
    Favourite Ulick
    Sat 2:33 AM

@David Jordan: TDS personified.

Mute Phillip Smyth
    Favourite Phillip Smyth
    Sat 2:59 AM

@David Jordan: no need to for the Gettysburg address, you got to be kidding me with all that, do you even know it’s raining out.

Mute Maurice Whelan
    Favourite Maurice Whelan
    Sun 8:40 PM

@Anthony Mulligan: ffs

Mute Leonard Barry
    Favourite Leonard Barry

The righty filth are out in force here with this one.

Mute A D
    Favourite A D
    Fri 10:31 PM

@Leonard Barry: A shower of russian bots agreeing with donald.

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Sat 9:47 AM

@Leonard Barry: “bad pie”

Mute Liam Foy
    Favourite Liam Foy
    Sat 1:01 AM

I appreciate she moved here for her daughter’s sake. Unfortunately Trump president is making American into the new North Korea, no human rights, no supports, government rule can defy court orders.

America in serious trouble and now some of the population have woken up. The only one happy is Putin.

Mute Patricia Cautley
    Favourite Patricia Cautley

Toxic Masculinity in the comments so far as per. Pathetic

Mute Louis Jacob
    Favourite Louis Jacob
    Fri 10:34 PM

@Patricia Cautley: What do expect from a bunch of minions?

Fri 11:03 PM

@Patricia Cautley: Low-T, small dick energy from Mammy’s boxroom manosphere incelbois while she’s down at Costcutter getting their Huggies. The Calpol will kick in soon.

Mute Anthony Curran
    Favourite Anthony Curran
    Fri 10:41 PM

All the Musk and Trump fanboys hating on a lady who told the truth about the tangoed freak! Lads, go back to your McGregor and Tate threads on X. Actually, don’t. It gives all us norms the chance to mute your sad asses.

Mute Francis Lee
    Favourite Francis Lee

Typical RTE .. couldn’t wait to bring us another bitter whinging privileged Yank to bore the face off us about their election ….unable to accept that bright intelligent ununderstandable Kamala just didn’t connect with the majority of her countrymen and voted accordingly.

Mute Damien Leahy
    Favourite Damien Leahy
    Fri 10:27 PM

Wait so she can slag off trump but when he does it back he’s in the wrong?

Mute Setanta O'Toole

@Damien Leahy: when has trump ever faced any consequences for slagging anyone?

Mute Damien Leahy
    Favourite Damien Leahy
    Fri 11:45 PM

@Setanta O’Toole: well he’s been all over the media for the last 8 or 9 years, haven’t you noticed?

Mute Setanta O'Toole
    Fri 11:52 PM

@Damien Leahy: yeah, it’s almost like he’s been the president twice or something.

Mute Damien Leahy
    Favourite Damien Leahy
    Sat 7:56 AM

@Setanta O’Toole: ya he’s only started his second term genius

Mute Rafa C
    Favourite Rafa C
    Sat 8:40 AM

@Damien Leahy: She did not slag him though, she told the truth about him. Trump slags her, which is completely different, which are lies and dangerous to her character.

Saying the truth about someone is different than slagging.

Mute Nick Vasilakis
    Favourite Nick Vasilakis
    Sat 10:16 AM

@Damien Leahy: Have you ever heard the phrase ‘power imbalance? It’s like when I call you a sìlly person, and you and your three heavyweight friends beat me to a pulp. Do you understand now?

Mute Setanta O'Toole
    Sat 3:59 PM

@Damien Leahy: my point was, everything he says is deemed to be newsworthy. A journalist giving out about him mocking someone isn’t an actual consequence. You should check out some of the right wing media in America and what they say about his detractors.

Mute Damien Leahy
    Favourite Damien Leahy
    Sat 10:11 PM

@Nick Vasilakis: she fetch beat up? She lose any rights? No then jog on

Mute Bryan
    Favourite Bryan
    Fri 10:32 PM

They’ve brought Roisin Connolly on now to tell Patrick how great Ireland is and what a great bunch of people we are, having just asked Rosie to tell Patrick how great Ireland is and what a great bunch of people we are. Jesus wept.

Fri 10:59 PM

@Bryan: I believe her name is Conaty.

Mute Dixie
    Favourite Dixie
    Sat 12:00 AM

@Luas Vuitton – Penneys Drag Queen: replace the o with a u

Mute RP McGuinness
    Favourite RP McGuinness
    Fri 10:49 PM

Did Kielty ask Rosie about her drug addict daughter at all?

In September 2024 Chelsea was arrested on charges involving child neglect, domestic abuse, maintaining a drug trafficking facility, possession of methamphetamine, illegally obtaining prescriptions and drug paraphernalia, and misdemeanor possession of THC after her 11 month old child was found in a house filled with crack pipes, feces and garbage.

Mute Anthony Curran
    Favourite Anthony Curran
    Fri 10:54 PM

@RP McGuinness: So we’re responsible for the actions of our adult children now, are we? Welcome to Trump world.

Mute Dashiya
    Favourite Dashiya
    Sat 4:28 AM

@RP McGuinness: poor child, hope the little one is ok :(

Mute Dogg
    Favourite Dogg
    Sat 8:59 AM

@RP McGuinness: He didn’t, if all that is true then it would probably ruin the Trump wants me out story. She’s fleeing political persecution which entitles her to seek asylum in Éire.

Mute KO
    Favourite KO
    Sat 9:08 AM

@Anthony Curran: Well her mother and grandmother of abandoned child should, at very least, try to take care of her granddaughter.
    Leaving her grandchild to possibly be in foster care ,not the best .

Mute Ethan
    Favourite Ethan
    Sat 3:40 AM

I knew it was going to be one big woke trump hating fest. Ah Rosie you’re really not important in anyway shape or form.

Mute Laney Sinc
    Favourite Laney Sinc
    Sat 1:03 AM

They did not put Michael Martin in that position. You did, Rosie with your well timed attention seeking timing of your dramatic announcement.

Mute David Martin
    Favourite David Martin
    Fri 10:33 PM

When you bad mouth someone, you should be careful it doesn’t come back to bite you !!

Mute Roberto del pedro
    Favourite Roberto del pedro
    Sat 8:34 AM

Trump is right about one thing. There are only 2 sexes.

Mute donal O'brien
    Favourite donal O'brien
    Sat 11:00 AM

@Roberto del pedro: howabout the unfortunate individuals that are born with both male and female genitalia?

Mute Roberto del pedro
    Sat 11:31 AM

@donal O’brien: How many sexes is that Donal?

Mute oliver kelleher
    Favourite oliver kelleher
    Fri 11:37 PM

Was Rosie been a bit racists when she said Trump has the personality of an !8 year old boy What does she mean Will she have to apply for a visa to live in Ireland or will she be treated like another asylum seeker

Mute Liam Foy
    Favourite Liam Foy
    Sat 1:06 AM

@oliver kelleher: to define trump, he’s sees no issue with men degrading women, fraud, disabled people he has very little conscience consideration for them.

He is a child in a man’s body who tonight lied to reporters and blamed Mr Rubio for an Order Trump signed.

Mute Laney Sinc
    Favourite Laney Sinc
    Sat 1:53 AM

@oliver kelleher: Her grandmother was born here apparently. All she has to do is apply for her passport.

Mute Dermot Blaine
    Favourite Dermot Blaine
    Sat 7:40 AM

@oliver kelleher: 18 year old boys are not a race.
    She’s entitled to apply for a passport and live here under the granny rule.
    She’s right about Trump.

Fri 10:48 PM

Trump can fupp himself but her fellow citizens elected him. So deal with it there. Moving to Ireland in a performance because you’re loaded and have a livestyle that enables it is white woman privilege on steroid. She’ll still continue to file US taxes on a worldwide income and pay anything due to fund his administration. Just cop on and go home.

Mute T - TED Teddy
    Favourite T - TED Teddy
    Fri 10:29 PM

Who cares

Mute David Kearney
    Favourite David Kearney
    Fri 11:29 PM

@T – TED Teddy: you by the look of it. You clicked on the story and also posted a comment. That’s all the analytics will show, 100% engagement.

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Sat 9:42 AM

@T – TED Teddy: We might get a South Park episode.

Mute Deirdre Moffat
    Favourite Deirdre Moffat
    Fri 10:56 PM

Ok…is “having it out for her” the same as “having it in for her”? As we would say here? Just asking for a friend!!

Mute Setanta O'Toole
    Sat 12:00 AM

@Deirdre Moffat: have heard people use ‘having it out’ for someone too, not as widely used as ‘having it in’ though.

Mute Athena
    Favourite Athena
    Sat 10:16 AM

@Deirdre Moffat: Wait, he’s gonna have snipers shoot at her??

Mute Ned
    Favourite Ned

Well after reading you lot’s comments it seems Ireland doesn’t know what to think or do with this auld biddy, but boy did she take a round out of trump on the show, this could increase tariffs on the auld sod.

Mute Roberto del pedro
    Sat 8:38 AM

Is she renting in Howth, because she’ll run back to America in 4 years and forget she was ever here.

Mute Joe Sweeny
    Favourite Joe Sweeny
    Sat 9:03 AM

Ireland has always been a country of ‘who you know’. And how rich you are It’s sickening she comes in and leapfrogs Irish children waiting on services some of them waiting five years now

Mute Calvin Marah
    Favourite Calvin Marah
    Sat 4:39 AM

You are welcome sweetheart. Stay as long as you want.

Mute Sheila McNulty
    Favourite Sheila McNulty
    Sat 8:28 AM

@Calvin Marah: I presume she baught a house here so all the rich who’s Granny’s were born here can come buy houses no problem then we wonder why the housing crisis is so bad

Mute Áine G
    Favourite Áine G
    Sat 10:55 AM

@Sheila McNulty: She’s renting. Nice rental though.

Mute Billy Joe
    Favourite Billy Joe
    Sat 3:42 PM

@Calvin Marah: She looks a bit rough for a Sweetheart? Is she one of them?

Mute Johnny King
    Favourite Johnny King
    Fri 10:30 PM

I thought she was really good in the Toxic Avenger

Mute KO
    Favourite KO
    Sat 9:09 AM

It was the press that brought her up to MM, not The Don.

Mute Pat Campbell
    Favourite Pat Campbell
    Sat 12:39 PM

Can someone ask this lady to talk about her own personal life.

Mute Billy Joe
    Favourite Billy Joe
    Sat 3:41 PM

Who is she? A superstar? Never heard of her. I may have spent too much time watching Tom and Jerry!

Mute AnthonyK
    Favourite AnthonyK
    Sat 5:35 PM

“Taxpayer money can be used for car repairs for eligible persons, including Ukrainian refugees, the Department of Social Protection has confirmed to Gript.”

Mute RIP
    Favourite RIP
    Sat 12:44 AM

WHERE’S THE MUSIC

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Sat 6:46 AM

Remember this hilarious bit from Rosie?

Ching chong…

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=Dmv04yKG-po

Mute Athena
    Favourite Athena
    Sat 10:18 AM

@Paul: Is she relocating to Craggy Island?