You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

The baby seal. Mary Herlihy

Seals usually found in the Arctic Ocean spotted in Cork and Kerry waters

They would be sighted regularly off the coast of Greenland.

RARE SEALS USUALLY found on the drifting ice of the Arctic Ocean and the North Atlantic were spotted in west Cork waters this week. 

An adult male Hooded Seal (Cystophora cristata) was seen in Schull, Cork, and a young ringed seal pup was spotted in Glenbeigh, Kerry.

They would often be sighted off the coast of Greenland which is likely where these two have originated, according to Seal Rescue Ireland (SRI)

The large adult male Hooded seal was healthy and measured over two metres in length and appeared to weigh over 300kg.

First spotted on 1st January, volunteers kept an eye on him, ensuring he wasn’t bothered by people, and he then returned to the water on the afternoon of 2nd January.

A spokeswoman for SRI said: “This young ringed seal pup was found on 2nd January and was estimated to be between only 3 – 4 weeks old as it still had a partially moulted lanugo coat (white fur) which means it was not fully weaned yet and had been separated from its mum prematurely.

“The pup was alert and feisty but was under its ideal weight for its age. Unfortunately, before a rescue attempt could be carried out the pup slipped back into the water and swam away. We can only hope that it is able to fend well enough for itself, or that it might show up elsewhere and be reported to us again.

“Two arctic species turning up over a matter of days does raise questions as to why. It’s not completely unheard of for rare seals to visit our waters, with at least five cases now of Hooded seals, and other sightings over the years of Bearded seals and even Walrus.

“There have been no recorded sightings of ringed seals here to our knowledge until this little one yesterday, though they are occasionally seen in Scotland so it’s highly likely they could visit us here too and slip under the radar.”

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

31 Comments
    Mute Chief Buck Cat
    Favourite Chief Buck Cat
    Jan 3rd 2020, 7:05 PM

Can’t help but sing Whiskey in the Jar in my head while reading this headline.

Mute Fergus Murphy
    Favourite Fergus Murphy
    Jan 3rd 2020, 8:04 PM

@Chief Buck Cat: You’ve me at it now ha ha

Mute Martin Scaldbag
    Favourite Martin Scaldbag
    Jan 3rd 2020, 8:35 PM

@Fergus Murphy: Seals are not to be trusted.

Mute John Travers
    Favourite John Travers
    Jan 3rd 2020, 8:43 PM

@Chief Buck Cat: Not sure how true it is, but apparently the original words of that song was Kilmoganny Mountains. Kinda makes sense are there is no such thing as Cork and Kerry Mountains.

Mute MunsterPI
    Favourite MunsterPI
    Jan 3rd 2020, 8:47 PM

@John Travers: “As I was going over, the Cork and Kerry mountains, I met with Captain Farrell…” Cork & Kerry mountains, AKA The County Bounds.

Mute Kerrie Roche
    Favourite Kerrie Roche
    Jan 3rd 2020, 11:58 PM

@Chief Buck Cat: anniversary of Phil today ..

Mute John Sleator
    Favourite John Sleator
    Jan 3rd 2020, 8:05 PM

Shane Ross straight down for a photo and claimed proof Bord Failte doing a great job.

Mute iComment
    Favourite iComment
    Jan 3rd 2020, 7:23 PM

What next Polar Bears in Kerry…..

Mute Peter Dowling
    Favourite Peter Dowling
    Jan 3rd 2020, 7:25 PM

@iComment: There would be if the Healy Raes had their way.

Mute milton friedman
    Favourite milton friedman
    Jan 3rd 2020, 7:52 PM

@Peter Dowling: the Healy Rae’s would have the army shooting at them from the Skellig islands based on how they wanted the rhododendrons dealt with

Mute Denis McClean
    Favourite Denis McClean
    Jan 4th 2020, 12:44 PM

@iComment: It’s Baltic in the Arctic. The lads and lassies probably just came south for a bit of sun over the holiday period.

Mute ✨AJmakeup✨
    Favourite ✨AJmakeup✨
    Jan 3rd 2020, 8:02 PM

I found a seal pup near Schull in Cork today. Stayed with it for a few hours on a secluded beach to make sure it was ok and have contacted Seal Rescue Ireland with location, they hope to rescue in the morning. I’ll be back to check on it in the morning, not sure if it’s the same pup but you’ll find pics and vids on my Instagram @AJmakeup http://www.instagram.com/AJmakeup

Mute Colm Ducker
    Favourite Colm Ducker
    Jan 3rd 2020, 8:28 PM

@✨AJmakeup✨: What is the craic with these accounts these days??

Mute Christopher Millar
    Favourite Christopher Millar
    Jan 3rd 2020, 8:42 PM

@✨AJmakeup✨: didnt see a seal but nice pics anyway lol

Mute Logan Shepherd
    Favourite Logan Shepherd
    Jan 3rd 2020, 9:37 PM

@✨AJmakeup✨: Does Anna know that you’re on here?

Mute Sean
    Favourite Sean
    Jan 3rd 2020, 9:39 PM

@✨AJmakeup✨: I like what you did with the seals dark eye shadow. You have worked wonders! The blusher is so last season though.

Mute Logan Shepherd
    Favourite Logan Shepherd
    Jan 3rd 2020, 9:40 PM

@Christopher Millar: Did you seal the deal?

Mute ✨AJmakeup✨
    Favourite ✨AJmakeup✨
    Jan 3rd 2020, 10:27 PM

@Colm Ducker: I’m not sure what this means but sorry I should have clarified, the pictures are on my Instagram stories. Not my Instagram feed. I contacted Seal Rescue Ireland who tried to rescue this eve but it was too dark, so they have asked me to check on it tomorrow which I will. I was sent a link to this article so commented as it may be of interest.

Mute ✨AJmakeup✨
    Favourite ✨AJmakeup✨
    Jan 3rd 2020, 10:28 PM

@Christopher Millar: Sorry I should have clarified, the pictures are on my Instagram stories. Not my Instagram feed. Seal Rescue Ireland hope to rescue tomorrow as it was getting too dark for someone to come out, I’ll check on it again tomorrow but hopefully it will be ok.

Mute Logan Shepherd
    Favourite Logan Shepherd
    Jan 3rd 2020, 10:37 PM

@✨AJmakeup✨: Well done you. Good deed for the new year. Great that you took notice that it was distressed.

Mute ✨AJmakeup✨
    Favourite ✨AJmakeup✨
    Jan 3rd 2020, 10:47 PM

@Logan Shepherd: Seal Rescue Ireland were great! Contacted me back almost straight away and kept in contact, pity they couldn’t come out tonight but hopefully tomorrow! Stayed with it until it was comfortable and fell asleep so fingers crossed a good outcome!

Mute Logan Shepherd
    Favourite Logan Shepherd
    Jan 3rd 2020, 10:52 PM

@✨AJmakeup✨: You’re one of the good ones. Please ignore my earlier comments. Anna likes to share pics here and I thought you were doing the same. My bad .. I should have known better .. my young one is a mua.

Mute ✨AJmakeup✨
    Favourite ✨AJmakeup✨
    Jan 4th 2020, 12:31 PM

@Logan Shepherd: No problem. Have checked in on him again this morning and still there, have contacted Seal Rescue Ireland and they hope to get someone to him asap.

Mute Sean
    Favourite Sean
    Jan 3rd 2020, 7:31 PM

I think now if I was a seal and I had to choose between being rescued by some well meaning local and fending for myself I would choose fending for myself every time. If the seal doesn’t survive that is nature. What are you going to do with a rescued seal? Bring it home and feed it Whiskas?

Mute Jill Elliott
    Favourite Jill Elliott
    Jan 3rd 2020, 8:38 PM

@Sean: cop on these people are experts at what they do and saved many seals and returned them to the wild once they were healthy enough!!!

Mute Sean
    Favourite Sean
    Jan 3rd 2020, 9:36 PM

@Jill Elliott: the seal was able to slip back into the water she swim away. That sounds healthy to me.

Jan 3rd 2020, 7:31 PM

That’s because it’s always freezing in ballybunion

Mute Adrianh_80
    Favourite Adrianh_80
    Jan 3rd 2020, 7:04 PM

We would prefer All Irelands..

Mute Andy mc Laughlin
    Favourite Andy mc Laughlin
    Jan 3rd 2020, 7:30 PM
    Mute Pablo Rojas Coppari
    Favourite Pablo Rojas Coppari
    Jan 3rd 2020, 8:35 PM

Poor fellas… Cork…

Mute Lionheart1
    Favourite Lionheart1
    Jan 3rd 2020, 8:14 PM

Lucky seal pup.