You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Ray D'Arcy is under fire for his 'sexist' interview with Pamela Anderson

There’s outcry on social media following D’Arcy’s interview with the actress last night.

pam RTÉ RTÉ

RAY D’ARCY HAS been criticised by viewers for his ” sexist” and “disrespectful” interview with actress Pamela Anderson.

D’Arcy interviewed the former Baywatch star on The Ray D’Arcy Show last night and came under fire for what many perceived as his condescending comments towards the actress.

Here he is asking her about her two sons.

pam1 RTÉ RTÉ

And here he is making a clunky reference to her boobs.

stached RTÉ RTÉ

At one point, D’Arcy showed a photo of Anderson receiving a knighthood from the Prince of Montenegro and commented, “There you are on your knees in front of the Prince of Montenegro.”

Yikes.

darcy RTE RTE

And D’Arcy concluded the interview by saying, “It was great, I was going to say, having you. I should really rephrase that.”

giphy Giphy Giphy

Needless to say, viewers were unimpressed with D’Arcy’s line of questioning.

Broadcaster Maia Dunphy was among those to call out D’Arcy for his “relentless innuendo”. 

Many noted the irony of the interview following a discussion about women’s rights with journalist Roisin Ingle.

But more than anything, everyone just felt bad for Pamela Anderson.

For its part, RTÉ has declined to comment on the interview with a spokesperson telling DailyEdge.ie, “RTÉ won’t be commenting on this occasion.”

Written by Amy O’Connor and posted on DailyEdge.ie

[image alt="" src="http://cdn.thejournal.ie/media/2015/11/img2-thejournal-37.png" width="600" height="115" credit-url="" credit-source="" credit-via="" credit-via-url="" wp-id="wp-image-2445903" class="alignnone" /end]

10 times Catastrophe was the most relatable show on TV >

Gals of Ireland — stop trying on clothes when you’re wearing fake tan >

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

215 Comments
    Mute PaulOD
    Favourite PaulOD
    Nov 15th 2015, 10:28 AM

I used to like Ray, but the more I hear him on his radio show , and see him on TV , I really can’t stand him

Mute Keith Flood
    Favourite Keith Flood
    Nov 15th 2015, 11:07 AM

He’s rocketing up the leaderboard of Ireland’s top 10 knobs

Mute Assel Dannourah
    Favourite Assel Dannourah
    Nov 15th 2015, 11:20 AM

T

See 27 more replies ▾
    Mute Lloyd Hetherington
    Favourite Lloyd Hetherington
    Nov 15th 2015, 11:28 AM

Grow up Ray or back to The Den with you… Like he could ever ‘have’ Pamela Anderson anyway.

Mute Wexford pikeman
    Favourite Wexford pikeman
    Nov 15th 2015, 11:40 AM

Absolute obnoxious ass is Darcy. Another RTE leech

Mute B-Egan
    Favourite B-Egan
    Nov 15th 2015, 12:07 PM

Always found him to be a giddy catholic alter boy type of a man . Silly bugger silly paycheque .

Mute Lloyd Hetherington
    Favourite Lloyd Hetherington
    Nov 15th 2015, 12:12 PM

Total ex-alter boy type.

Mute john g mcgrath
    Favourite john g mcgrath
    Nov 15th 2015, 12:24 PM

Yeap he’ll soon over take Brian ormond or Brendan O Connor as leaders of amateur broadcasting

Mute Dave cullen
    Favourite Dave cullen
    Nov 15th 2015, 12:34 PM

€500,000 a year of license payers money for at best a kids tv show presenter.

Mute alan yeun
    Favourite alan yeun
    Nov 15th 2015, 12:49 PM

You’re all imbeciles for watching

Mute Sinead Hanley
    Favourite Sinead Hanley
    Nov 15th 2015, 1:05 PM

I don’t know why D’Arcy thought it was a good idea to conduct the interview this way. There is more to Pamela than a pair of boobs. I have to say i really liked her and she deserved a little more respect

Mute Tom Kenny
    Favourite Tom Kenny
    Nov 15th 2015, 1:17 PM

Richard you are an idiot if you think she became famous solely for her “baps” There are a couple of billion other pairs of baps in the world. I was never a big fan, didn’t hear the interview but she got to where she is on more than just her baps. Did Arnie get where he for to solely on his muscles ?

Mute Richard Cheney
    Favourite Richard Cheney
    Nov 15th 2015, 1:45 PM

He pretty much did Tom,watch the documentary that launched his career,it’s not because either of them were skilled thespians.

Mute Alan Farrell
    Favourite Alan Farrell
    Nov 15th 2015, 2:17 PM

@ Tom

No, you’re right, both Arnie and Pam are both well known for their incredible acting skills.

Mute Tom Kelly
    Favourite Tom Kelly
    Nov 15th 2015, 2:20 PM

What did people expect?

Mute Tom Kenny
    Favourite Tom Kenny
    Nov 15th 2015, 2:32 PM

Their acting skills might be basic but I’m guessing being highly motivated brought them success

Mute Tom Kenny
    Favourite Tom Kenny
    Nov 15th 2015, 2:32 PM

And playing to their strengths

Mute Joe Travers
    Favourite Joe Travers
    Nov 15th 2015, 2:44 PM

Can’t wait for the gaiety theatre to give pam her Shakespearean debut…….. not.

Mute bobby deniro
    Favourite bobby deniro
    Nov 15th 2015, 3:05 PM

Ray Darcy said if Enda Kenny was Taoiseach he’d leave Ireland

Ray is still here.. and he’s treating women like dirt on national television

Mute gkrell
    Favourite gkrell
    Nov 15th 2015, 3:16 PM

Now now, he’s a good Fianna Fáil man and deserves all the tax-payer money he can get.

Mute Babadook
    Favourite Babadook
    Nov 15th 2015, 3:19 PM

Clever woman. She made money from putting her body on show and young teen lads like I was lapped it up. All In all she’s not stupid.

Mute Dave Murray
    Favourite Dave Murray
    Nov 15th 2015, 3:28 PM

I always knew D’Arcy was irritating, petulant, egotistical, smug, insincere and self-centered.
    I honestly didn’t know he was a dirty sleazebag too.
    I saw the interview last night and Anderson knew what was going on but she had the self-restraint not to walk out on the little weasel.
    RTÉ is like a sewer – the turds always float to the top.

Mute Anthony Halpin
    Favourite Anthony Halpin
    Nov 15th 2015, 4:40 PM

He was probably talking about Edna. He has left Ireland since he was elected …

Nov 15th 2015, 5:03 PM

I switched this on by accident but love Pamela Anderson so I kept it on. Darcy was an absolute tool. Pamela showed her class by enduring this absolute cringe if an interview. I will not be watching again and can’t believe my money goes to paying for his wages.

Mute gerry o donell
    Favourite gerry o donell
    Nov 15th 2015, 7:00 PM

So everybody feels sorry for pammy. This women butchered her own body and made sextapes to gain fame and keep herself in the public eye. Does anybody really think that pammy was upset by some wee baldy gay mans questions

Mute Betsy Malone
    Favourite Betsy Malone
    Nov 15th 2015, 7:13 PM

Pamela is very beautiful

Mute Fred west
    Favourite Fred west
    Nov 15th 2015, 7:41 PM

Have a look at Ray’s wife ,that says it all !

Mute Betsy Malone
    Favourite Betsy Malone
    Nov 15th 2015, 8:07 PM

Pamela is beautiful, she liked the flirting

Mute TellingItAsItIs
    Favourite TellingItAsItIs
    Nov 15th 2015, 10:48 PM

That’s s downright disgusting remark and a million times worse than anything Darcy has ever said.

Mute Noel Gallagher
    Favourite Noel Gallagher
    Nov 16th 2015, 6:57 AM

He disappeared up his own arse years ago. The sound of his voice now makes me go straight for the dial or remote!

Mute Marie Moynihan
    Favourite Marie Moynihan
    Nov 15th 2015, 10:27 AM

One of the worst overpaid people in RTE. Really resent paying for this

Mute alan yeun
    Favourite alan yeun
    Nov 15th 2015, 12:52 PM

You’re a donkey watching it, stop it!

Mute Rasputin
    Favourite Rasputin
    Nov 15th 2015, 2:33 PM

And stop paying for it. If enough of us do they might get the message and sell the bloody thing. Of course “redacted” would probably be in like Flynn on the deal but as long as I ain’t paying I don’t care.

Mute bobby deniro
    Favourite bobby deniro
    Nov 15th 2015, 3:15 PM

after the Carrickmines tragedy Ray was talking to Love Hate “star” John Connors

are we against travellers? where does the hatred come from etc etc

anyway a lady sent in a text saying herself and her husband were beaten robbed then held captive by travellers

Ward said “oh thats a lovely story” to which Ray said nothing

Mute bobby deniro
    Favourite bobby deniro
    Nov 15th 2015, 3:17 PM

Connors *

Mute Donna Moss
    Favourite Donna Moss
    Nov 15th 2015, 10:24 AM

Thankfully I don’t watch Ray ” it’s all about me” Darcy.

Mute Greg O'Riordan
    Favourite Greg O'Riordan
    Nov 15th 2015, 10:42 AM

Brendan O’Connor was far better.

Mute Anton Friendo
    Favourite Anton Friendo
    Nov 15th 2015, 10:54 AM

I cant stand the guy he is terrible on the radio too.

But, didnt Pamela make her fortune selling her body ? now suddenly its not ok because a few liberals get upset.

Maybe we should have a safe area built in Dublin

Mute Anton Friendo
    Favourite Anton Friendo
    Nov 15th 2015, 11:12 AM

or is it a ‘safe space’ I cant keep up these days

Mute family guy
    Favourite family guy
    Nov 15th 2015, 11:51 AM

Greg your dead right I like Brendan and couldn’t understand why they canned the show. Think he was getting too popular overtaking the late late. Very odd reason if true

Nov 15th 2015, 5:16 PM

So you’re saying there are certain situations where it’s ok to be sexist to someone? Yes she did Baywatch 20 years ago but she also has an amazing foundation which helps animals all over the planet for which she has won many awards. Yes she has fake boobs and appeared on a TV show which a lot of you seem to remember! Still not ok to be sexist and slimed as Darcy was.

Mute Beano
    Favourite Beano
    Nov 15th 2015, 10:30 AM

Breaking News: People watch crap TV show hosted by crap TV presenter and are shocked when TV show turns out to be crap

Mute Conor Heffernan
    Favourite Conor Heffernan
    Nov 15th 2015, 10:51 AM

Yet people unable to switch channel

Mute Alan Lawlor
    Favourite Alan Lawlor
    Nov 15th 2015, 10:59 AM

In all fairness, Pamela Anderson appeared in crap, sexist TV shows and films and was always a crap actress. Her choice of work, her deliberate appeal to voyeurs, made her lots of money.
    It also opens her to criticism and ridicule during interviews like that last night.
    If a Nobel prize winner, an accomplished business woman or prodigious charity worker was subjected to that, then there should rightly be uproar.
    However, Pamela’s career was built on cosmetic boob and lip jobs, wearing little to nothing, and with no acting talent

See 13 more replies ▾
    Mute Chris Linehan
    Favourite Chris Linehan
    Nov 15th 2015, 11:05 AM

Alan, clearly you haven’t seen Barbwire.

Mute Alan Lawlor
    Favourite Alan Lawlor

If it was Miriam O’Callaghan interviewing David Hasselhoff (equally devoid of acting talent) on his career based on his “appeal to the ladies” and loaded with sexual innuendo about his time in T&AWatch, would Twitter be equally in uproar?

Mute Alan Lawlor
    Favourite Alan Lawlor
    Nov 15th 2015, 11:09 AM

Barbwire? I forgot about that! What an utter travesty that it did not win an Oscar! Should now be required material in every Leaving Cert English syllabus

nf
    Mute nf
    Favourite nf
    Nov 15th 2015, 11:18 AM

Brilliant Chris

Mute Chris Linehan
    Favourite Chris Linehan
    Nov 15th 2015, 11:38 AM

If it was included in the LC, you can be guaranteed there would be much higher marks in english coming out of all lads schools. Could be worth looking into.

Mute Alan Lawlor
    Favourite Alan Lawlor
    Nov 15th 2015, 11:58 AM

Yes we could so much improve our kids’ command of the English language with memorable quotes from Pam such as:
    “I don’t really think about anything too much. I live in the present. I move on. I don’t think about what happened yesterday. If I think too much, it kind of freaks me out.”

“Opportunity only gives you knockers once.”

“I guess ignorance is bliss — when I do interviews people always say, “Aren’t you upset that people make fun of you?” and I’m like, “Are they making fun of me?” I guess I just don’t get it.”

Or my favourite:
    “My breasts have a career. I’m just tagging along”

Mute brian sheils
    Favourite brian sheils
    Nov 15th 2015, 12:25 PM

Don’t call me babe!!

Mute Alan Lawlor
    Favourite Alan Lawlor
    Nov 15th 2015, 12:28 PM

At least that one was her “acting” to a scriptwriter’s words.
    The ones I quoted was herself, talking about herself – no words put in to her mouth (although Tommy Lee did put something else there on video)

Mute bobby deniro
    Favourite bobby deniro
    Nov 15th 2015, 3:20 PM

so if he is sexist towards a bad actor ..

Mute Ken O'Neill
    Favourite Ken O'Neill
    Nov 15th 2015, 4:25 PM

Crash car fascination.

Mute Ken O'Neill
    Favourite Ken O'Neill
    Nov 15th 2015, 4:28 PM

Is that you Ray?

Mute Ken O'Neill
    Favourite Ken O'Neill
    Nov 15th 2015, 5:43 PM

Car crash*

Mute PeterC
    Favourite PeterC
    Nov 15th 2015, 8:18 PM

Alan, sadly from your comments it seems that you see nothing wrong with the way ray darcy treated pamela anderson last night. But its one thing to be a keyboard warrior on here and post comments like that and another for the host on a primetime tv show of our national broadcaster to treat her like that. it was a disgrace.

Mute Gearóid Ó Briain
    Favourite Gearóid Ó Briain
    Nov 15th 2015, 10:23 AM

Nothing new then so.

Mute Edmond Blackadder
    Favourite Edmond Blackadder
    Nov 15th 2015, 10:37 AM

It’s like collage TV ..little “in” jokes ..D’Arcy isn’t intelligent enough to handle anything other than slap stick interviews…gets his wife a job in RTE as part of his package….he’s like the bloke in the local pub everyone avoids who thinks he is a great laugh…#clown …(no disrespect to actual clowns)

Mute Richard Byrne
    Favourite Richard Byrne
    Nov 15th 2015, 10:32 AM

Genuinely wouldn’t expect anything else from D’Arcy when you think of the drivel he has spouted on the radio for years. I stopped listening to him a long time ago and I don’t miss him at all.

Mute Kenneth Hayden
    Favourite Kenneth Hayden
    Nov 15th 2015, 12:22 PM

He was the very reason I stopped listening to Today Fm. I switched to Phantom (I know ),which is now TXFM, and have never looked back.

Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche
    Nov 15th 2015, 1:06 PM

A Communicorp radio station.

Mute Benny Dowling
    Favourite Benny Dowling
    Nov 15th 2015, 10:27 AM

I was watching and it was embarrassing. Not even remotely funny. Cringe

Mute alan yeun
    Favourite alan yeun
    Nov 15th 2015, 12:55 PM

You are really sad for watching such drivel. Sort it out!

Mute glenoir1
    Favourite glenoir1

he’s disconnected from the people he interviews

Mute alan yeun
    Favourite alan yeun
    Nov 15th 2015, 12:51 PM

You’re a clown watching it,snap out of it now!

Mute Geralyn Early
    Favourite Geralyn Early
    Nov 15th 2015, 10:26 AM

I’m not surprised by his sexist interview. The one thing that sets apart a good interviewer is his/her ability to keep it impersonal. D’arcy doesn’t seem to be capable of that trick!

Mute Free comment ratings
    Favourite Free comment ratings
    Nov 15th 2015, 11:14 AM

He is so sexist. Pamela did well to play along. And she have lovely boobs.

Mute Denis Reidy
    Favourite Denis Reidy

How much do we pay for this show to be aired?

Mute Eoin O Neachtain
    Favourite Eoin O Neachtain

RTE miss out on the six nations by paying for the likes of D’Arcy

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Favourite Neal Ireland Hello
    Nov 15th 2015, 11:32 AM

These shows, despite all their faults, are profit-making, they don’t cost us a cent.

Mute Zoe Daly
    Favourite Zoe Daly
    Nov 15th 2015, 11:54 AM

Ray Darcy’s salary is kept undisclosed by RTE at present, but it is estimated to be around 500 k.
    Sickening to think that our tv licence is finding this. RTE are taking us for fools.
    Darcy pretends to be so easy going and affable – but he is one seriously nasty individual.

cp
    Mute cp
    Favourite cp

How Neal??

Mute Zoe Daly
    Favourite Zoe Daly
    Mute mcgoo
    Favourite mcgoo
    Nov 15th 2015, 10:33 AM

Himself and Tubs are shocking.

Mute Philip Cooper
    Favourite Philip Cooper
    Nov 15th 2015, 10:56 AM

Ray D’arsehole.

Mute Luke Campbell
    Favourite Luke Campbell
    Nov 15th 2015, 3:09 PM

comment of the week

Mute brian magee
    Favourite brian magee
    Nov 15th 2015, 10:25 AM

I was more concerned about Roisin Ingles sexist interview. I had to turn off while she was talking. How do people like her get air time?

Mute wallyballs
    Favourite wallyballs
    Nov 15th 2015, 10:57 AM

The guy has shown himself time and time again to be unprofessional, uninformed and highly offensive during interviews. How has he still got such a high profile position?! See also:cathal pendred and the sex worker interviews

Mute Brendan Hill
    Favourite Brendan Hill
    Nov 15th 2015, 10:31 AM

I didn’t see it but that doesn’t sound like a nice way to treat a guest.

Mute Rochelle
    Favourite Rochelle
    Nov 15th 2015, 10:48 AM

Embarrassing. Complete disconnect with the audience, did he expect people at home to be hollering and cheering at the boob and sex references being directed at a near 50 year old lady?

Mute bobby deniro
    Favourite bobby deniro
    Nov 15th 2015, 3:29 PM

Gay Byrne took sides with the pedo church against Annie Murphy

Pat Kenny shook hands with Jake Goldenflame then he sat there while Goldenflame boasted he was turned on by a child in a restaurant

Ryan Tubridy condemns criminals (on TV and radio) after himself and Gerry Ryan snorted their product

Brendan O’Connor’s homophobia “debate” was unbearably one sided
    to say he was pandering to Colm O’Gorman is an understatement

Mute Ken Barlow
    Favourite Ken Barlow

What a load of cr@p

Mute Emachine
    Favourite Emachine
    Nov 15th 2015, 10:36 AM

Didn’t see it but I’m cringing reading about it. Sorry pam don’t judge us all on this fools line of questioning.

Mute Aidan brehony
    Favourite Aidan brehony
    Nov 15th 2015, 10:57 AM

The one positive is that he embarrassed himself to any who saw it. Terribly insulting. Very pleasant and patient lady. Apologies for that idiot Pamela.

Mute Science of beer
    Favourite Science of beer
    Nov 15th 2015, 10:38 AM

He should be sacked, end of

Mute Fiona deFreyne
    Favourite Fiona deFreyne
    Nov 15th 2015, 11:03 AM

Why pick on the poor lad just because he has no charm, intelligence or talent. He suits RTE perfectly.

Mute Patrick O Shea
    Favourite Patrick O Shea
    Nov 15th 2015, 11:02 AM

Why do rte hire school boys to do an adult chat show, it was car crash interviewing at its best, complete cringe fest and needles to say Ms Anderson will think twice about ever going on Irish tv again, #schoolboyrte

Mute Muiris O'Daltuin
    Favourite Muiris O'Daltuin
    Nov 15th 2015, 10:50 AM

Bernard Mannings chauvinistic rhetoric stopped being funny long before he was exposed that night on Mrs. Merton. I thought that moment marked an end to this sort of tripe being aired on primetime tv, yet here we have Ray Darcy emulating him in 2015 and it being passed off as light entertainment. There’s nothing light about demoralizing your subject. Darcy and RTE need to throw in the towel, because this show has had it.

Mute Arma Geddon
    Favourite Arma Geddon
    Nov 15th 2015, 1:52 PM

He was a comedic genius, and is sorely missed.

Mute Sternn
    Favourite Sternn
    Nov 15th 2015, 10:35 AM

What do you expect when RTE hires all of these geriatric dinosaurs?

Mute Elizabeth A. Meacham
    Favourite Elizabeth A. Meacham

Last week’s was worse – slight sexual harassment of the female audience – rating them – and the poor girl that was dragged up : shocking :

Mute bobby deniro
    Favourite bobby deniro
    Nov 16th 2015, 1:40 AM

Ray has smarmy and disgusting

Mute Jho Harris
    Favourite Jho Harris

Oh I don’t know. I’m not even close to being a fan but he does remind my of my teenage years when there was always some eejit who would insist on rabbiting on about things you didn’t want to hear about and embarrass you by saying something really stupid in front of everyone. You see other than that eejit life was great craic back then.

Mute Seamus Cummins
    Favourite Seamus Cummins
    Nov 15th 2015, 10:51 AM

Is this show always cringe? Hear something bad about it every time it’s on

Mute billy dunne
    Favourite billy dunne
    Nov 15th 2015, 11:21 AM

Ray Darcy is a wàñkèr and his show is complete tripe

Mute TommyRyder
    Favourite TommyRyder
    Nov 15th 2015, 11:39 AM

He was choking the chicken while interviewing Pamela?
    Ah Jesus.
    RTE is gone to the dogs.

Mute Matt Donovan
    Favourite Matt Donovan

Montenegro has a Prince? In fairness D’arshole is a talentless hack. Sick to think that I help pay him.

Mute LesBehan
    Favourite LesBehan
    Nov 15th 2015, 10:53 AM

Most of us funded that interview, something worth thinking about.

Mute Eugene Comaskey
    Favourite Eugene Comaskey
    Nov 15th 2015, 11:33 AM

Isn’t it time that we seen the back of all these clowns from RTE. Here we have a Gobsh..e replacing another from last year. We have Tubridy of Friday night, he is as bad as this buck. It is long time to be rid of Finuccane, O’Callaghan, Gay Byrne , Joe Duffy and all them that are costing an arm and a leg in there. It is time for New Blood. RTE now cannot afford to buy any sport because of the high wages that these crowd are getting. I think that the GAA will soon be gone as well. What are we paying big TV. Licence for ?. TV 3 is away ahead now, even Irish Television 191 is better than RTE.

Mute Aoife Griffin
    Favourite Aoife Griffin
    Nov 15th 2015, 11:44 AM

Well said Eugene, the presenters have been there for years! They are so far removed from their audience! If they think they are worth so much money let them go off to other tv stations, see how popular they would be. TV3 are way ahead and work off a quarter of the budget of RTE. sickens me paying my licence fee to those eejits ever year. D’Arcy, Tubs, O’Callaghan are painful, they need to go.

Mute Laurence Cavanagh
    Favourite Laurence Cavanagh

Sack Arce Radyy!

Mute Denise Houlihan
    Favourite Denise Houlihan
    Nov 15th 2015, 11:27 AM

A cross between an undertaker and a thirteen year old boy.
    Yes she made her living from displaying her body but no one is that one dimensional and the beauty of a good interviewer is to show us another side of a celebrity. Guess he just wasn’t interested and thought we’d all laugh along to his hilarious quips.

Mute Kalon Dillon
    Favourite Kalon Dillon
    Nov 15th 2015, 11:26 AM

He’s a fool hasn’t got a clue about women. Comes across as a person who believes if your sexy and beautiful you lack intelligence.at least Pamela has more integrity than that little backward weasel.

Mute Colleen McGovern
    Favourite Colleen McGovern
    Nov 15th 2015, 11:11 AM

Yeah I am pretty sure Pam was rolling her eyes and thinking I feel so sorry for Ray’s wife, he must be a terrible lover.

Mute Michael Kenny
    Favourite Michael Kenny
    Nov 15th 2015, 11:02 AM

He should go back what he does best, Dempseys Den!

Mute Mary Murphy
    Favourite Mary Murphy
    Nov 15th 2015, 12:05 PM

Small man syndrome Ray?

Mute Mark Browne
    Favourite Mark Browne
    Nov 15th 2015, 11:21 AM

Yet he had a feminist on before Pamela and let her spout the already debunked myth of the pay gap as fact and talked up quotas without a counterpoint and no one is upset by that. He’s an overall lousy host and the whole show is a waste of taxpayers money. And it must have been a whack of money to pull him out of today fm.

Mute Andrew S
    Favourite Andrew S
    Nov 15th 2015, 10:28 AM

Its an interview with Pamela Anderson! Its not like its an interview with Mary Robinson. The only thing Anderson has is her tits. What else is there to talk about?

Mute Brendan Hill
    Favourite Brendan Hill
    Nov 15th 2015, 10:33 AM

I’m sure a good interviewer could find something.

Mute The Guru
    Favourite The Guru

Well then he could have just been open about it rather than these cheap digs. I’d imagine if she started openly talking about sex he would have retreated into his conservative Catholic shell

Mute Brendan Hill
    Favourite Brendan Hill
    Nov 15th 2015, 10:47 AM

True enough. It sounds like it was more Carry on Ray and less Prime Time

Mute Vincent O Mahony
    Favourite Vincent O Mahony
    Nov 15th 2015, 10:50 AM

Well a big part of her career, fame and fortune was about what? She chose to do that. Of course you’re going to talk about her being a sex symbol. Whats all this sh^te about sexism FFS.

Didnt see the interview though. If its that Ray was a sh*te interviewer then fair enough.

Mute Brendan Hill
    Favourite Brendan Hill
    Nov 15th 2015, 11:04 AM

I think it’s the smutty jokes of a middle aged man on a Saturday night tv show that’s the problem Vincent. Yeah she was a sex symbol, of which I had a keen interest in as a teenager, but you can interview someone like that with out reverting to showing pictures of her kneeling and then making a I just had sex with you joke at the end.

Mute Brendan Hill
    Favourite Brendan Hill
    Nov 15th 2015, 11:06 AM

Anyway, I didn’t see it so what do I know.

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Nov 15th 2015, 11:34 AM

Brendan, you’ve made around a dozen comments about it, and now you announce that you didn’t even see the interview?

Mute Eugene Comaskey
    Favourite Eugene Comaskey
    Nov 15th 2015, 11:34 AM

Fair play to ys.

Mute Trevor J. Coonan
    Favourite Trevor J. Coonan
    Nov 15th 2015, 11:59 AM

I too didn’t see it but I also haven’t seen a murder, a Syrian dead on a beach, a contract between ibrc and denis obrien, but I still feel entitled to comment on any issue in the public sphere or affecting moral debate and behaviour. Plus as a hetero man pamela andersons boobs are permanent members of the sexurity council

Mute Brendan Hill
    Favourite Brendan Hill
    Nov 15th 2015, 12:14 PM

I announced it in the first comment I made Neal. Did you see it? If so you should have a look in the mirror and ask your self some serious questions. From now on I’ll assume you were present at every incident the journal reports on. I didn’t realise that’s the way it works here, sorry.

Mute Shawn Rahoon
    Favourite Shawn Rahoon
    Nov 16th 2015, 12:56 AM

…..and along with her tits even her fanny is made from silicone.

Mute bobby deniro
    Favourite bobby deniro
    Nov 16th 2015, 1:54 AM

Mary Robinson was elected by the people of ireland so she spent most of her time in Africa

pity she wasn’t elected by the people of Africa then she would have stayed in ireland

Mute Patrick O Shea
    Favourite Patrick O Shea
    Nov 15th 2015, 12:31 PM

If you haven’t seen the interview you need to, it comes close to the worst ever I’ve witnessed, all Darcy was missing was the box of kleenex joke, he mumbled sexist taunts through like a dense schoolboy #occupyrte, in fairness to pamela she hid her mortification and was probaly a bit dumbstruck that this guy actually does this for a living, in short it was horrendous

Mute Ronan Doyle
    Favourite Ronan Doyle
    Nov 15th 2015, 10:55 AM

It was hilarious! A cross between Alan Partridge and David Brent.

Mute Neville Patterson
    Favourite Neville Patterson
    Nov 15th 2015, 12:10 PM

I’ve been saying that Ray D’Arcy is just an immature teenager who never grew up for years. He’ll laugh at anything.

Mute Neal Ireland Hello

Is she normally asked about the economic situation in Outer Mongolia or something?

Mute Brendan Hill
    Favourite Brendan Hill

Yes, yes she is Neal.

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Nov 15th 2015, 10:39 AM

Well this probably made a nice change for her, then.

Mute Brendan Hill
    Favourite Brendan Hill
    Nov 15th 2015, 10:44 AM

I’m sure she was delighted.

Mute Neal Ireland Hello

I’m sure she can speak up for herself.

Mute Brendan Hill
    Favourite Brendan Hill
    Nov 15th 2015, 11:33 AM

I’m sure I can get the last word in here.

Mute Barry Byrne
    Favourite Barry Byrne
    Nov 15th 2015, 11:57 AM

Has anybody tuned into his show on rye radio one ???it’s embarrassing outdated and boring

Mute Shane McDonnell
    Favourite Shane McDonnell

He should of asked to see her tits

Mute Vincent O Mahony
    Favourite Vincent O Mahony
    Nov 15th 2015, 10:47 AM

He should have tried stuffing her in
    a big wedding sack Borat style.

Mute Karen Cahill
    Favourite Karen Cahill
    Nov 15th 2015, 3:35 PM

D’Arcy used to be quite good and witty until he went off had kids got married and for some reason started to take himself seriously. Now he’s just a opinionated and full of his self importance. He thinks his opinions are right on everything and god forbid you have an option that isn’t the same as his. You must be wrong.

Mute All Aboard To China
    Favourite All Aboard To China
    Nov 15th 2015, 11:49 AM

He was a d*ckhead on the radio so what do ye expect

Mute Tony Hartigan
    Favourite Tony Hartigan
    Nov 15th 2015, 11:16 AM

Who looks at this Gobshiite show ?

Mute TommyRyder
    Favourite TommyRyder
    Nov 15th 2015, 11:23 AM

Millions of people obviously.

Mute TellingItAsItIs
    Favourite TellingItAsItIs
    Nov 15th 2015, 4:31 PM

Most of the nation. It’s what most expect. It’s what most want but would rarely admit it. RTE know their audience and what most desire. We deserve what we get.

Mute Keith Murray
    Favourite Keith Murray
    Nov 15th 2015, 11:22 AM

He shoulda stuck to Fuki n around with muppets suits him better ars e clown

Mute Patrick James Walsh
    Favourite Patrick James Walsh
    Nov 15th 2015, 12:29 PM

RTE chat shows, car crash Tv, only reason to watch is the cringe factor, as for grey balding middle aged Ray, should just go back to Kildare and do whatever it they do there coz your brutal on TV and on radio.

Mute Winston Smith
    Favourite Winston Smith
    Nov 15th 2015, 4:43 PM

This guy is a ‘has been’, why does rte squander tax payers money chasing after former staff. There are so many younger people with qualifications in media and the arts looking for a chance for a fraction of the cost, but I’m sure it’s all about

Mute bobby deniro
    Favourite bobby deniro
    Nov 16th 2015, 1:46 AM

there are two kinds of TV presenters

1 the ones we love
    2 the ones we love to hate

Mute Colin Hunt
    Favourite Colin Hunt
    Nov 15th 2015, 10:58 AM

The women is famous for being a playboy model, having big fake tits and a sex tape. I don’t think it’s sexist to ask about that when she comes on? You are not going to ask her for her views on defeating ISIS.
    A lot of backlash from feminist groups about the interview. Shouldn’t feminism be running an absolute mile from this women?

Mute Neil Crowley
    Favourite Neil Crowley
    Nov 15th 2015, 11:04 AM

Surely everyone should be given an opportunity to move in from their past. Just saying like …

Mute Edmond Blackadder
    Favourite Edmond Blackadder
    Nov 15th 2015, 11:23 AM

@Colin ..that’s the point ..he didn’t have the balls to a actually ask those sort of questions ..he dropped smart remarks full of double meaning and smirked and giggled behind his hands like a 14 yr old boy in school… if he addressed Pamela’s reason for being famous she would hace destroyed him …

Mute Michael cunnane
    Favourite Michael cunnane

Good job it wasn’t George hook!!!

Mute Patrick O Shea
    Favourite Patrick O Shea
    Nov 15th 2015, 12:39 PM

Hate to say it but i think hook would of been less of a sleaze bag

Mute Paul Radburn
    Favourite Paul Radburn
    Nov 15th 2015, 2:26 PM

Ray D’Arcy couldn’t interview a potato

Mute Sam Bartell
    Favourite Sam Bartell
    Nov 15th 2015, 11:25 AM

who is mia dunphy and what does she broadcast?

Mute TommyRyder
    Favourite TommyRyder
    Nov 15th 2015, 11:44 AM

A nobody who married Johnny Vegas and now she’s famous.

Mute Rasputin
    Favourite Rasputin

She deserves our deepest sympathy. She not only seen Vegas naked, she’s actually done the deed with him. There are survivors of the Normandy landings who’ve been through less.

Mute BenGilroy-Freeman
    Favourite BenGilroy-Freeman
    Nov 15th 2015, 4:44 PM

He’s been making ridiculously sexist comments for years. I can’t believe I’m the only one that remembers him encourage some woman to simulate fellatio on her pet snake.

A lousy talentless hack. And a complete waste of tax payer money.

Mute Frank Delaney
    Favourite Frank Delaney
    Nov 15th 2015, 5:56 PM

Never liked him. Found him rude, opinionated, populist, and always looking for the cheap laugh

Mute Martello Mulligan
    Favourite Martello Mulligan
    Nov 15th 2015, 12:42 PM

Ray Darcy is a tit. Pamela Anderson is a pair of tits.

Mute Wayne Scales
    Favourite Wayne Scales
    Nov 15th 2015, 12:19 PM

Today FM broadcasting harmless shite is his level.

Mute Caoimhghín Ó Tuama
    Favourite Caoimhghín Ó Tuama
    Nov 15th 2015, 11:55 AM

Great to see everyone’s back to getting upset and angry about the important things in life again.

Mute Joseph Siddall
    Favourite Joseph Siddall
    Nov 15th 2015, 1:56 PM

Gets very boring seeing all these SJWs getting upset on behalf of others. Others that are perfectly capable of looking out for themselves. Wannabees craving attention.

Mute TommyRyder
    Favourite TommyRyder
    Nov 15th 2015, 12:12 PM

Love reading the feminist outrage from male contributors on Twitter.
    Bet these guys are great fun to hang out with.
    Imaging a weekend in Amsterdam with some of these dudes?

Mute Brendan
    Favourite Brendan

Didn’t see the interview, certainly won’t bother after reading this. That said, Pamela Anderson made a career out of ‘selling her wares’ so to speak, is it really a shock when people then treat you with little respect ?

Mute @mdmak33
    Favourite @mdmak33
    Nov 15th 2015, 2:13 PM

Throw him and his attitude on the scrap heap.

Mute JIMINYJELIKERS
    Favourite JIMINYJELIKERS
    Nov 15th 2015, 4:53 PM

Give bosco the gig

Mute Patrick O Shea
    Favourite Patrick O Shea
    Nov 15th 2015, 5:48 PM

Best comment yet jiminy

Mute bobby deniro
    Favourite bobby deniro
    Nov 16th 2015, 1:45 AM

@ JIMINY JELIKERS

don’t box me in !!!!!!!!!!

Mute Owen McDermott
    Favourite Owen McDermott
    Nov 15th 2015, 1:52 PM

You can take a man out of the bog…

Mute Cupid Stunt
    Favourite Cupid Stunt
    Nov 15th 2015, 1:10 PM

I’m just really glad I’ve never bought a tv license and therefore not contributed to his fat pay packet.

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw
    Nov 15th 2015, 3:04 PM

Three fake tïts on the telly last night, so. “Stop, stop, eject” indeed

Mute Trevor J. Coonan
    Favourite Trevor J. Coonan
    Nov 15th 2015, 11:52 AM

I didn’t see the interview, but since pamela Anderson is famous because her large breasts bounced in baywatch and a sex tape with Tommy Lee rebooted her failed career, it seems to me a sexuality and smut based interview is pitch perfect. Yes she is a hero but not for being puritan and prudish. Sex and sexiness is fun. Why are so many people incapable of just enjoying themselves. She looks absolutely amazing in the screenshots, no?

Mute Paul Friday Shannon
    Favourite Paul Friday Shannon
    Nov 15th 2015, 1:08 PM

Anyone see the Jonathan Ross Show? Cristiano ronaldo was on, I don’t need to say anymore about rte lol

Mute John O'Driscoll
    Favourite John O'Driscoll
    Nov 15th 2015, 9:02 PM

D’Arcy has got found out at last.A sleaze-ball and a poor interviewer.Even last week he was answering the questions put to guests.Full of his own generated self importance.He’s a right one to be pontificating on anyone’s views.Surely there has to be someone with talent who could do the Saturday night show..

Mute bobby deniro
    Favourite bobby deniro
    Nov 16th 2015, 1:43 AM

no wonder himself and John Connors got along so well

both entitled, both smarmy, both convinced they have our support

Mute newbie
    Favourite newbie
    Nov 15th 2015, 5:32 PM

What baffles me is how far will rate let this charade go on until they realise the public don’t want Ray on tv. The TVs ratings don’t reflect the show is popular. What they reflect is the lack of choice on Irish air waves so we have no choice but to watch this rubbish. Ray is over paid and not reflective of the society he is meant to be entertaining. Every week the programmes is getting negative feedback. Brian o Connor fir all his flaws was a lot better than this. If rte have any hope of sending Ray back to today fm they should. Like pat kenny these ‘has beens’ think they have some sort of hold over viewers etc. I don’t want to see Ray in to so please take note and take him off. This is my license fee and I feel it’s not well spent. Give it to some new people who are actually good like Mia dunphy, the ex rose of Tralee Walsh ( sorry do know her first name). A great winter chat show would have been Francis Brennan. He is awkwardly funny and would get everyone watching. At was on a downward trend on today fm and it looks like today fm are the only winners here….. #sackraydarcy

Mute Fionn Cahill
    Favourite Fionn Cahill
    Nov 15th 2015, 12:24 PM

In all fairness she’s made her name and career out of sex tapes, having big tits, her looks and been a sex symbol

Mute Rasputin
    Favourite Rasputin
    Nov 15th 2015, 2:50 PM

True, but outside of her career she’s lived a pretty amazing life and met some pretty hardcore people. Just because she’s famous for her tits it doesn’t mean that’s all there is to her. She’s partied with the best, traveled the world and survived shit that would have left a lot of us dead in the ditch.

Mute TommyRyder
    Favourite TommyRyder

Who’s Pamela Anderton?

Mute TommyRyder
    Favourite TommyRyder
    Nov 15th 2015, 11:06 AM

Is she a feminist icon?

Mute Alkaline
    Favourite Alkaline
    Nov 15th 2015, 4:15 PM

Ray darcy is an ape. A shame really. He started his career with such promise.

Mute Ken O'Neill
    Favourite Ken O'Neill
    Nov 15th 2015, 6:17 PM

Yes, it seemed there was no end to his talent, and no beginning either.

Mute Vladimir Vasyectomy
    Favourite Vladimir Vasyectomy
    Nov 15th 2015, 1:11 PM

Whatever about Pam’s tits, – some little tit deleted my comment.

Mute Ken Pepper
    Favourite Ken Pepper
    Nov 15th 2015, 2:48 PM

Makers Craig Doyle look good….hopefully he will be banished to BT sport too and their 100 viewers

Meow
    Mute Meow
    Favourite Meow
    Nov 15th 2015, 3:41 PM

Sounds like he need to get laid. Cringe

Mute Sharon B
    Favourite Sharon B
    Nov 16th 2015, 12:33 AM

Ray D’Arcy has displayed a lousy attitude to women for years, in approx 1989 he was MC at the crowning of the Derby Rose in Kildare, a friend of mine was a finalist so I was there with her back stage where the girls were introduced to him and given the run down of how the evening would proceed, he was so full of his own importance and his comments back stage were sexist and I remember how uncomfortable he made the contestants feel, they were all young girls and this night was very important to them, I have never been able to enjoy him on radio or television since, I will be very disappointed if his programme is run next year. The only improvement I can see in him in almost 30 years is that he’s had his teeth done!!!

Mute bobby deniro
    Favourite bobby deniro
    Nov 16th 2015, 1:49 AM

Byrne pedo church enabler
    Darcy sexist
    Tubridy coke head hypocrite

the only rose of tralee host i respect is Derek Davis

btw i loved his Training Day RTE spoof

Mute Ivor Hardy
    Favourite Ivor Hardy

This is the interview I watched last night instead of the crap Darcy dishes out. It was brilliant.
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OfSwpT0ehNo

Mute Martin Gallagher
    Favourite Martin Gallagher
    Nov 15th 2015, 6:27 PM

Great link there Ivor Hardy. Really had the feeling of knowing Ronaldo better as a person and not just as a ‘celebrity’. D’Arcy on the other hand, comes across as an arrested adolescent compared to Ross in interview technique.

Mute frank browne
    Favourite frank browne
    Nov 15th 2015, 2:57 PM

IT can be tempting to take a populist opinion on issues, as Ray seems to but if you lack real depth as a person with values and integrity you can end up in the soup?

Mute Conor O'Hanlon
    Favourite Conor O'Hanlon
    Nov 15th 2015, 6:14 PM

QED. He’s an overpaid moron. Don’t watch him.

Mute Mindfulirish
    Favourite Mindfulirish
    Nov 15th 2015, 9:20 PM

Gaybo was 10 times worse and nobody objected. They have a lot in common especially the RTE smugness — they live in their own little world and their catholic values are aired by too many of them.

Mute Sean Kelly
    Favourite Sean Kelly
    Nov 15th 2015, 11:42 AM

Ah Jesus everyone is offended over everything’s nowadays.

Tongue in cheek no?

Lighten up!

Mute TommyRyder
    Favourite TommyRyder
    Nov 15th 2015, 11:47 AM

I know.
    The Twitterati are suffering Paris fatigue and hopped on the opportunity for something less demanding to get outraged about.

Mute Shawn Rahoon
    Favourite Shawn Rahoon
    Nov 15th 2015, 2:07 PM

Too true Sean… Typical questions Johnathon Ross would ask, yet nobody would bath an eye.

Mute Romauld O'Falluin
    Favourite Romauld O'Falluin
    Nov 15th 2015, 2:22 PM

I thought he’d left the country. Plonker.

Mute Martin Gallagher
    Favourite Martin Gallagher
    Nov 15th 2015, 6:03 PM

Didn’t see the interview but after reading the article it seems that Ray ‘Nudge Nudge Wink Wink’ D’Arcy and Borat have quite a lot in common in their mutual admiration of Pamela Anderson

Mute Jeff Bridges
    Favourite Jeff Bridges
    Nov 15th 2015, 8:25 PM

The Republic of Telly guys are the only ones who enjoy this show

Mute Aging Lothario
    Favourite Aging Lothario
    Nov 15th 2015, 9:15 PM

Does Ray Darcy really have his own chat dhow, never even noticed, and even if I did I certainly could think of far better things to do on a Saturday night than watching him.

Mute Armin Tamzarian
    Favourite Armin Tamzarian
    Nov 15th 2015, 12:29 PM

The irony, she was made a star by bay watch and her boobs, not by her personality.

Mute Mer Curial
    Favourite Mer Curial
    Nov 15th 2015, 11:03 PM

She should have retorted to Darcy that a little guy like him wouldn’t be able to measure up against Tommy Lee, that would have shut him up quickly ;)

Mute Mick Costello
    Favourite Mick Costello
    Nov 15th 2015, 11:53 PM

back to radio ray atrocious on tv even played second fiddle to zig n zag

Mute bobby deniro
    Favourite bobby deniro
    Nov 16th 2015, 1:51 AM

@ Mick Costello

yeah nobody wants to listen to him.. so back to radio ray

Mute Niall P Power
    Favourite Niall P Power
    Nov 15th 2015, 11:57 PM

It is so embarrassing that this is the best that RTE can do RD as one of RTE top talent is inept, overpaid , arrogant and condescending think Mario’s parody of Ray tonight was pretty accurate

Mute Jimmy Murphy
    Favourite Jimmy Murphy
    Nov 15th 2015, 11:45 PM

Tool. That is all.

Mute Aaron O Neill
    Favourite Aaron O Neill
    Nov 15th 2015, 4:26 PM

It’s very true Pamela Anderson has a lot more to offer than her boobs. shame on you ray . as an ass man myself I’m shocked you didn’t mention her sexy bubble butt and her legs . shame in you Ray.

Mute David Hefner
    Favourite David Hefner
    Nov 15th 2015, 5:09 PM

Doesn’t bother me too much. World is becoming too PC.

Mute Richard Brogan
    Favourite Richard Brogan
    Nov 15th 2015, 3:41 PM

I think ray is a great presenter.

Mute Larry Doyle
    Favourite Larry Doyle
    Nov 16th 2015, 12:51 AM

Ok,so that’s you, Ray and someone high up in RTE.

Mute álainn
    Favourite álainn
    Nov 15th 2015, 7:48 PM

Ewwwwww what a fupping creep! Dirty old man

Mute Tadgh Smith
    Favourite Tadgh Smith
    Nov 15th 2015, 5:03 PM

Fair play to her for keeping a career going for over a quarter century and counting out her (admittedly formidable) god given assets.

But say what you like, being a son of hers going through 5 years of high school while having to endure the daily jeers of your fellow teenage dirt-bags had to be a tough station. Ray was only within his rights to allude to that.

Mute Rosa Parks
    Favourite Rosa Parks
    Nov 15th 2015, 7:42 PM

How do we know she was offended by this? She can take a joke unlike the Feminists.

Mute Jim Murray
    Favourite Jim Murray
    Nov 16th 2015, 4:37 PM

Cop on Darcy

Mute Alan Clarke
    Favourite Alan Clarke

Why gas everyone git a french flag across their picture. Do we really need to do this to show oyr support for what happend on friday? Jesus wept!!