You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Presenter Ray Foley to return to Cork's Red FM

He is set to co-present a special 12 week series on Saturday mornings.

RAY FOLEY IS returning to Cork’s Red FM after leaving 98FM six months ago to concentrate on his television work.

Foley is now set to co-present a special 12 week series every Saturday morning with former colleague KC.

The presenter is currently co-hosting the 7 O’clock Show on TV3.

He announced he was leaving 98FM in December after three years at the Dublin station – citing plans to concentrate on his television work in the New Year.

The presenter joined the station after leaving Today FM back in 2012 after six years with the national station.

Foley said, “I’m delighted to be joining Cork’s number one radio station! I’ve been a fan of Red FM for many years because they’re one of the best radio stations in the country.”

I’ve had many brilliant Friday nights out in Cork city, so I should apologise in advance for waking everybody up on Saturday morning. I promise I’ll be gentle!

0c26a803-2060-4b60-b49a-ddd75d52ee2f

The presenter will be joining his old Today FM colleague Keith Cunningham (KC) at Red FM, saying:

“KC is an old buddy of mine so when he suggested coming on board for Saturday mornings I couldn’t believe it! Of course I said yes”.

The series starts this Saturday and will run until 17 September between 7am and 10am.

Read: Presenter Ray Foley is set to leave 98FM>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

48 Comments
    Mute Wayne O'Fathaigh
    Favourite Wayne O'Fathaigh
    Jun 29th 2016, 5:03 PM

Over rated over hyped and full of his own BS

Mute Ziggy722
    Favourite Ziggy722
    Jun 29th 2016, 5:08 PM

He is ultra zany, manic, happy with absolutely zero personality!

Mute Barry Higgins
    Favourite Barry Higgins
    Jun 29th 2016, 5:31 PM

He’ll fit right in with Prenderville then.

Mute Ger Comings
    Favourite Ger Comings
    Jun 29th 2016, 5:32 PM

The reason for that, Zig is his recent operation – he had a personality bypass, which was highly successful.

Mute Ziggy722
    Favourite Ziggy722
    Jun 29th 2016, 6:02 PM

I was being too harsh, he is not the worst actually and I haven’t heard him on radio too much. Anything he did on telly was awful though. Give me this Ray over that other knob Ray D’arcy any day of the week.

Mute Paul Quigley
    Favourite Paul Quigley
    Jun 29th 2016, 5:11 PM

Brilliant news. Another channel I won’t be able to hear him on.

Mute prop joe
    Favourite prop joe
    Jun 29th 2016, 8:13 PM

Think he’s good to be honest. Who’s your cup of tea?

Mute Neil
    Favourite Neil
    Jun 29th 2016, 5:29 PM

Meanwhile JP makes a KC voodoo doll in his basement.

Mute John Sheahan
    Favourite John Sheahan
    Jun 29th 2016, 6:03 PM

I just clicked and went straight to the comments.

Mute Elma Phudd
    Favourite Elma Phudd
    Jun 29th 2016, 6:43 PM

Is that not what everyone does – all the time?

Mute Paul Furey
    Favourite Paul Furey
    Jun 29th 2016, 4:59 PM

Is red FM owned by the same people as the Journal?

Mute Paul O Sullivan
    Favourite Paul O Sullivan
    Jun 29th 2016, 9:23 PM

I have switched from 96fm. They have turned into long wave radio Atlantic 252 playing the same 5 songs over and over. If I hear “once I was 7 years old” once more I will crash the car.

Mute Dain Flemming
    Favourite Dain Flemming
    Jun 29th 2016, 6:10 PM

Did Cork do something wrong and this is its punishment?

Mute Kizzi Yeates
    Favourite Kizzi Yeates
    Jun 29th 2016, 7:40 PM

They sure did , I got food poisoning twice in that awful dirty place and not even a sorry was directed my way . He will at least in some part torture them .

Mute Dennis Collins
    Favourite Dennis Collins
    Jun 29th 2016, 10:39 PM

Do you usually wait around in restaurants long enough for the poisoning to take effect so that they can apologise to you? Or are you just annoyed that one of us didn’t shout sorry through the cubicle door later in the day?

Mute Joey Byrne
    Favourite Joey Byrne
    Jun 29th 2016, 6:00 PM

What an absolute dose. Good riddance.

Mute John Doyle
    Favourite John Doyle
    Jun 29th 2016, 5:16 PM

Great news. Egotistical gobsheen

Mute Trevor Beacom
    Favourite Trevor Beacom
    Jun 29th 2016, 5:06 PM

So was he with redfm before and is returning to work there? Is it owned by communicorp??

Mute Gavin O'Sullivan
    Favourite Gavin O'Sullivan

Nosedive

Mute Con O Sullivan
    Favourite Con O Sullivan
    Jun 29th 2016, 5:23 PM

How exiting. I could jump for joy at this fantastic news. I presume it will be the first item on the RTE news and on the front page of all the newspapers tomorrow morning. Congratulations Journal for being the first to get this scoop

Mute Dain Flemming
    Favourite Dain Flemming
    Jun 29th 2016, 6:11 PM

The scoop with the poop….

Mute Anonymous Man
    Favourite Anonymous Man

Who?

Mute led
    Favourite led
    Jun 29th 2016, 6:24 PM

he is a knob jockey

Mute Barra O Brien
    Favourite Barra O Brien
    Jun 29th 2016, 7:12 PM

Any chance he’d take a job on the north pole? He’s an irritant of the highest pedigree.

Mute damien o brien
    Favourite damien o brien
    Jun 29th 2016, 6:03 PM

I love red fm..sorry I used to love red fm.

Mute Niall Cassidy
    Favourite Niall Cassidy
    Jun 29th 2016, 6:46 PM

Who gives a af#$k?

Mute aidan kennedy
    Favourite aidan kennedy
    Jun 29th 2016, 5:13 PM

He is a good radio DJ ill give him that but by god he hasnt a face for TV.

Mute Mondoburley
    Favourite Mondoburley
    Jun 29th 2016, 6:38 PM

Eh..Demotion…

Mute Diarmuid Lenihan
    Favourite Diarmuid Lenihan
    Jun 29th 2016, 6:29 PM

Oh Jesus Christ noooooooooooooooooo !!!

Mute Tony Mcgrath
    Favourite Tony Mcgrath
    Jun 29th 2016, 5:38 PM

If he’s not use he should be on half a million like tubridy and D’Arcy.

Mute Richard o Rourke
    Favourite Richard o Rourke
    Jun 29th 2016, 9:40 PM

The drugs and the brazzers must be better down there.

Mute Richie C
    Favourite Richie C
    Jun 29th 2016, 11:05 PM

And the pies.

Mute Geraldine O'Riordan
    Favourite Geraldine O'Riordan
    Jun 29th 2016, 9:16 PM

I gave up listening to 98fm when he joined. Might give them a listen now and see what they’re like again.

Mute Kizzi Yeates
    Favourite Kizzi Yeates
    Jun 29th 2016, 7:42 PM

Maybe we should have a referendum on cork ?

Mute TellingItAsItIs
    Favourite TellingItAsItIs
    Jun 30th 2016, 7:17 AM

Cork’s not far away enough for him. Can anyone persuade Louise Duffy to join him please.

Mute Joan Featherstone
    Favourite Joan Featherstone
    Jun 30th 2016, 6:57 AM

Jesus he’d wreck your head…like that Hector fella.

Mute ken
    Favourite ken
    Jun 29th 2016, 11:53 PM

Being from Cork and living I don’t hear red fm any more. Thank God. Ray Foley was shite on today fm and now is inflicting himself on my home town. In Cork the will definitely call him a larger

Mute mcgoo
    Favourite mcgoo
    Jun 30th 2016, 12:02 AM

Langer presumably?

Mute Michael Griffin
    Favourite Michael Griffin
    Jun 29th 2016, 7:44 PM

Thank God

Mute Robin Basstard
    Favourite Robin Basstard
    Jun 29th 2016, 9:11 PM

Ideally Today FM should get Ray back on air and send fag ash Lil to Cork

Mute blueman79
    Favourite blueman79
    Jun 30th 2016, 9:37 AM

He’s not half as bad as chris nd ciara on 2fm

Mute Noel Kelly
    Favourite Noel Kelly
    Jun 29th 2016, 8:53 PM

neil prendeville

Mute Colm O'Sullivan
    Favourite Colm O'Sullivan
    Jun 30th 2016, 10:20 AM

Foley has never worked for Red FM before, so I don’t know how he can be “returning”. Not a fan of his presenting style in any case.

Mute Abe Brennan
    Favourite Abe Brennan
    Jun 30th 2016, 8:58 AM

Muppet

Mute Abe Brennan
    Favourite Abe Brennan
    Jun 29th 2016, 7:02 PM

Who’s ray foley???

Mute Abe Brennan
    Favourite Abe Brennan
    Jun 30th 2016, 10:01 AM

Dont do this to us in cork ffs.

Mute Donal Mahon
    Favourite Donal Mahon
    Jun 29th 2016, 10:48 PM

I hope they podcast. Ray is hilarious, downloaded his show every day on 98

Mute Abe Brennan
    Favourite Abe Brennan
    Jun 29th 2016, 8:06 PM

Who