You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
Gaza rescuers say children among 8 killed in Israeli strike
134 members of the Oireachtas say they will not nominate McGregor for the presidency
Euromillions: Over 104,000 prize winners in Ireland as Austrian ticket bags record €250m jackpot
The UN Security Council briefing on cooperation between the United Nations and the African Union is held at the UN headquarters in New York on Oct. 2, 2024. Alamy Stock Photo
Debt
Opinion Rich countries need to pay their fair share if Africa is to become debt-free
Radical reform of the global finance system is urgently needed, and Ireland must play a role, says ActionAid Ireland CEO, Karol Balfe.
THE EXTENT OF the global debt crisis is staggering. Low and lower-middle-income countries between them have a total external debt of US$ 1.45 trillion, and in 2023 alone paid US$ 138 billion just to service their debts.
At the beginning of 2025, 54 countries are in debt crisis, at a time of record-breaking humanitarian need and the crippling impacts of climate change. In this topsy-turvy world, debt trumps everything.
Over 75% of all low and lower-middle-income countries spend more on debt servicing than they do on health care, with 55% of these countries spending on debt servicing more than double that of spending on health. Over 50% of lower-income countries are spending more on debt servicing than education.
This has a devastating impact. It means fewer teachers, fewer nurses, larger class sizes, more ill-health, more disease and an inability to respond to climate change. It also means women end up acting as shock absorbers of under-developed public services as they lose access and jobs in those services, and they provide the majority of care in the absence of the state.
We tend to view things through the prism of charity — we support the Global South. Yet rich countries have a climate debt, a history of plunder, current day tax avoidance and profit shifting and unmet aid promises.
It is calculated that rich countries have achieved up to 70% of their economic growth by appropriating more than their fair share of the ‘atmospheric commons’, the concept of the Earth being a shared resource that belongs to everyone equally. Based on the lowest estimates in the definitive study of atmospheric appropriation by Fanning and Hickel in 2023, the climate debt that rich polluting countries are liable to pay to climate vulnerable low and lower-middle income countries is US$ 107 trillion. This is more than 70 times greater than the total external debt of US$ 1.45 trillion that these countries collectively owe.
The unfair system
There is a shocking imbalance of global power that enables the external debts of lower income countries to be brutally enforced by the International Monetary Fund, whilst the climate debts of rich countries go largely unpaid and unenforced. To add to this, two thirds of climate financing was given as loans to countries that in many cases are already facing a debt crisis. This is bizarre. How can giving someone a loan count towards paying back a debt?
The most indebted countries of all tend to be rich countries. However, in practice, rich countries pay much lower interest rates on their debt and almost never come under duress as a result of having to make debt repayments. In contrast, low and lower-middle-income countries, which owe a fraction of the amount owed by rich countries, are forced to sacrifice the health, education, social protection, well-being and future prospects of their citizens, following strict IMF austerity steers.
Demands for reparations are likely to gather momentum in 2025 with the African Union declaring this to be the Year of Reparations, and a major summit starting on February 15th. There is also increasing talk about the need to provide wider reparations for the colonial plunder of resources. India, for example, was estimated to have a 24% share of global GDP in 1700, before British colonial rule, but had just a 4% share of global GDP at independence in 1947.
This colonial plunder of resources is not only a historical matter. It is a very real and ongoing part of the present unjust global economic structure, enabling to this day the continuing extraction of resources from the Global South to the Global North.
The State of Tax Justice report in 2024 shows that multinational corporations are shifting on average US$ 1.13 trillion worth of profit into tax havens, causing governments around the world to lose an average US$294 billion a year in direct tax revenue.
The corporate empires
Ireland’s foreign direct investment policy is a core pillar of our economic model and is part of this wider problem.
Too little attention is paid to the impact that corporate profit-shifting and tax avoidance continue to have on developing countries as a result of Ireland’s model. Revenue is being siphoned away that should be paying for hospitals and schools, prolonging a reliance on aid and keeping people trapped in poverty. And these flows are causing immense climate harms.
Research published by the EU Tax Observatory estimated that Ireland remains the destination of approximately $120-140bn of shifted corporate profits annually, jointly the first-largest destination in the world.
ActionAid Ireland research in 2023 revealed that investment managers registered in Ireland held US$ 6.2 billion in bonds and shares attributable to fossil fuels and agribusiness in the Global South. The top six investments are all oil and gas companies.
Broken promises of development aid also are part of the problem. In 1970 a clear target was agreed in a United Nations resolution that each economically advanced country will reach a minimum net amount of 0.7% of its gross national product by the middle of the decade. Just US$ 223.7 billion was mobilised in 2023 representing an average of 0.37% of the GNP of OECD DAC members.
If this target had been met as promised by the mid-1970s – over 50 years ago – this could have provided a cumulative total of up to US$ 7 trillion in additional revenue for low and lower-middle-income countries. Had this quantity of aid been provided, it is unlikely that any of these countries would have needed to borrow the money that has now left them facing a debt crisis.
Now we can add in the devastating impact of USAID cuts, a whooping almost $70 billion in 2023 alone.
The need for reform is clear, and Ireland must play a role. There must be a fundamental overhaul of the global financial architecture, shifting the power over debt away from colonial institutions like the IMF to a more representative and inclusive UN body through agreeing a UN Framework Convention on Sovereign Debt.
In the face of the climate crisis, governments in lower-income countries need to prioritise urgent investments in public services and a just transition over meeting external debt payments.
African nations at the UN are setting an example, building on their success in shifting oversight of global tax rules from the OECD to the UN, through a new Framework Convention on Tax Cooperation.
It’s time for Ireland and others to unite to call for both debt cancellation and fundamental structural reform to the colonial architecture that perpetuates debt crises.
Karol Balfe is CEO of ActionAid Ireland. ActionAid works to strengthen the capacity and agency of millions of women and girls around the world who face many forms of inequality and violence throughout their lives.
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
To embed this post, copy the code below on your site
79 Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic.
Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy
here
before taking part.
Not having the same heroin issue as other cities….this man and his ilk have been hiding their heads in the sand for years on the drug issue and now with an election coming he makes these statements
Most sellers are just trying to survive themselves….. Statements from this turd are disgraceful…. No family is immune from this disease. Maybe he should go on TV and say bad things about the real barons of this nasty business….. Show pictures…. Be a man, rather than go after those truly affected by it.
Alcohol kills 3 people a day in Ireland!!! Why don’t we hear their stories? Alcohol kills more people here than all illegal drugs put together!! But that’s grand??!!
They don’t die from the drug. The die from the tar and smoke inhalation. People who choose to get their nicotine from cigarettes when they could be getting it from patches or vaping are fools.
1) There will always be a demand for synthetic highs
2) There will always be a supplier of synthetic highs
The only real questions that any government has to ask is:
A) Who will be the supplier?
B) How will lead education? (Dosage etc)
C) What quality control measures will be put in place?
D) How will it be marketed? (obviously capital advertising techniques is not a good idea)
If they decide the black market is to be the supplier then they have to appreciate they have virtually no control over items A) and C) and limited control over items B) and D), instead of having good control over all four.
This seems to be their preferred option. I find it hard to understand why.
Hundreds of thousands of people drink every single day in Ireland. If hundreds of thousands took 25I-NBOMe every day I think we’d have worse problems.
Alcohol is quite a natural substance. It’s found in over ripe fruit. The problem is that people drink too much too often. It’s been a part of our culture for centuries. No way should it be illegal like in most Muslim countries. I wish people would stop asking it to be banned on the journal. Go move to Saudi Arabia if you like to live in an alcohol free society.
No-one is saying alcohol should be banned. We’re using it as an example when people slate illegal drugs as they don’t do as much harm as the legal ones like alcohol, tobacco, pharma drugs etc..
How many overly-ripe wine apples and such would one have to binge on ‘responsibly’, in order to become an overly ‘fond’ yet harmless menace to familial society at large!?!
I’d like to just point out, that the people red tbhumbing here can’t – thus are not – making a counter argument to the controled legalization argument other than emotional, illogical fact free fear mongering and the simple reason is they can’t.
The drug war has failed. Not only does it directly cause MORE deaths because it means whats in drugs are not regulated and dosage is not controlled, but the fight against the criminals who now have the drugs in their hands results in hundreds of thousands (yes, hundreds of thousands) of deaths every year when SWAT teams burst into the wrong apartment and shoot dead the wrong person. In one recent drug raid a flash-bang landed in a babys crib when they busted into the wrong place and gave a newborn baby third degree burns on the face and arms. Nobody seems to mind all these deaths, maybe because they can’t be exploited?
Looking at your argument from the other side for a moment. If the makers of these illegal drugs didn’t make them, then the SWAT teams would have no need to storm into the wrong apartment. So the innocent people would not get hurt if there were not people making the drugs. The fight against drugs is often an information based war, and information is not always correct – which means that you have to wonder who is leaking the information in the first place.
By the way, do you have any evidence that “hundreds of thousands (yes, hundreds of thousands) of deaths every year” are caused by SWAT teams? You talk about “illogical fact free fear mongering” but it looks like you have just pulled figures out of nowhere.
“If the makers of these illegal drugs didn’t make them”…right but the thing is when you are making social policy you have to deal with the world as it is not as we would love it to be. This is where harm reduction came from as a strategy. We can set up a joint needle exchange/safe injection site with medics on site OR we can just tell heroin users they are very bold and not to be bold. In the real world, which one is going to reduce the number of deaths and needles on the streets? in the world we live in NOW? The former. We deal with the world as it is.
As to the SWAT thing I mis-wordded that, I didn’t mean thousands get killed in specifically the SWAT raids (thats 100s) I meant in the tactical aspects of the drug war, the drug war isn’t just SWAT raids and whatnot it’s a LITERAL war in south America and afghantsistan with jets dropping bombs on suspected (suspected…) coke labs etc
The drug war is a combination of local police raids, military strikes and the fighting between gangs, all of which are things that would not be happening if the drugs were produced by say, a state licensed company and sold in a special pharmacy.
The combined death toll of all this is enormous, just in the Mexican theater of the drug war alone “Last week, the Mexican government released new data showing that between 2007 and 2014 — a period that accounts for some of the bloodiest years of the nation’s war against the drug cartels — more than 164,000 people were victims of homicide”….that’s just gangland feuding, not including any of the police raids, airstrikes, DEA/special forces raids, chemical weapons used on farms. 100,000 are dead from the Mexican area in total alone. The drug war is fought militarily in Africa, Asia and parts of eastern europe as well.
*100,000+ Now if US Special Forces, DEA, SWAT teams, the combined police forces and armed forces of the entire planet engaging in a massive global war for 40 years, can’t stop the flow of drugs what the hell else is there to try other than some kind of regulated legalization?
Is this guy for real? Heroin hasn’t effected cork as much as other parts of the country? That just shows how out of touch these tools are. Walk down north main Street and you’ll see. Place is destroyed and the dogs on the street know where it’s coming from.
A death from drugs is nothing new. Multiple deaths as a result of drugs is happening every day of the week. Has Mr K Flynn just copped on whats happening on Cork Streeers for years. Oh, I 4got – there’s an election on the way.
thats the problem james he hasnt copped on. We havent been affected as much as dublin apparently. Seriously these clowns who show their head every 4 years need to go.
Kenneth O’Flynn might be more credible if he said that needs to be done now not soon. Another politician saying what he thinks we want to hear but in reality putting it on the long finger again #allthesame
How many people die every day from the “legal” drugs that keep the government coffers full that the greedy politicians feed from? Who are the real drug pushers!!
Abuse is abuse either way though, Ryan. At least valium, oxy, etc, are regulated & we know what’s in them. The same can’t be said for what killed this poor kid. Some people will abuse drugs regardless – but at least let’s know what’s in them!
Exactly, what happens if the pharmacist sees me buying the box of solphadene every second day. He’s going to say you realize this stuffs dangerous if overused? Educate me on it, advise me on ways to lessen use of it by using alternatives, advise on dosage, ask you what the core problem is that you are using it for.
So when I’m overusing a legal drug I have a healthcare professional with literally a degree in drugs to converse with me and stop be over-using the drug. Now if I go to Makkar de mad Yoke in derelect building C on Parnell St is he going to do any of that? Nope.
Ryan the attitude you and the likes of you have is the problem with drugs people need to take some personal responsibility and only take legal drugs such as solpadeine only when needed and drink a responsible amount and DON’T take illegal drugs or so called legal highs that say not for human consumption on the packaging don’t be always looking for someone else to blame
Ryan it’s your attitude and the likes of you that is the problem with drugs take some personal responsibility, solpadeine will state on the box only take max 8 a day and will specify the reasons you should take them, don’t always look for someone to blame because your not spoon fed information like a baby, Illegal drugs are illegal for a reason DON’T take them and legal should be taken in necessary amounts only when needed or in the case of the likes of alcohol drink a responsible amount if the finger pointing turned round from pointing at every one else to ourselves we would have less of a problem
I suffer from an autoimmune type of disease, before I was fully diagnosed I was prescribed a medication by a consultant after a 10min conversation. I had a terrible reaction to it and it made my condition worse by damaging my internal organs. Im not going to say which drug I was prescribed as its successful for millions of people.
So what Im saying is with the ‘best’ medical care people can still have bad reactions to medication. Education is key.
On another note Dep. Lord Mayor Kenneth O’Flynn, is a disgusting excuse for a human trying to make political capital from the death of a young man, especially as his parents asked for privacy. If the mayor wants to talk about this issue after the election then fine…
“On another note Dep. Lord Mayor Kenneth O’Flynn, is a disgusting excuse for a human trying to make political capital from the death of a young man, especially as his parents asked for privacy. If the mayor wants to talk about this issue after the election then fine”
Then legalise & regulate it. You can’t have it both ways. You can’t have something be illegal, and at the same time expect it to adhere to certain safety standards.
Those who keep them illegal and unregulated don’t give a damn about human life, we need to grow up as a society if we want to prevent these kinds of tragedies from happening in the future.
We need to take our heads out of the sand and realise that drugs like extacy play a massive role in the lives of young adults and have done for years. Mostly it’s a largely positive experimental relationship with a substance which in its proper form is relatively safely consumed for recreational purposes, but by putting it in the hands of criminals who care more for profit than safety leads to a game of Russian roulette that results in the kind of tragedies that we have seen hear.
A mature attitude is needed we can’t naively keep telling kids to just say no, blindly hoping that it will work, when it never has and never will.
Politicians have ended up being the problem here. Statistics tell us time and time again the approach of decriminalsation and regulation has worked in every country it’s been tried yet politicians care more for looking more empathetic than the other. They see a clampdown as the best short term option yet this has never reduced use or availability. The youth will continue to take drugs and the odd one will continue to kill until we change our 1970s drug laws.
See the problem is once you are talking about the death of a young life people loose their minds, they start to think with their emotions instead of their logic. What more could we try with the drug war before we conclude it’s not working? They’re already illegal? What about the death penalty for selling them? we can’t do that, but even in countries that do that – it still hasn’t worked..if the threat of death won’t stop it nothing will. We have to try something new, if that does not work try something else – but constantly doing the same sh-t over and over …
You can’t keep drugs out of a prison, what on earth makes people think you can keep them out of a free society is beyond me.
There is enough information out there now regarding the issue of drugs that anyone who is against decriminalisation or even regulation, has to be seen as nothing more than part of the problem that has killed this young man and countless more.
He was just 18, it wasn’t only his wits that failed him when he took that drug, society did too, the longer that people keep their heads in the sand more and more damage is done.
Ryan. Today is a bad day to be putting up the argument for legalising drugs because a lot of people get emotional after the death of a person . I can see where your arguments are coming from . It brings me back to my childhood when the sneaky fag at the back of the school shed was all the rage. You hated the taste but everyone was at it. Parents blamed a lack of education on that too. We were told they were dangerous but it made no difference. We thought we were cool and everyone was at it . Some got hooked some didn’t. The bit of grass was around then too but I don’t remember too many even trying it. Why? We were too busy doing other adrenaline based activities. My opinion is that there is no excitement in a young persons life anymore because they are allowed to stew in front of TVs because it’s handy for the parents to keep them quiet and their brains are dormant from a very young age so where else are they going to turn for kicks only to some handy chemical based drug for kicks?When did anyone last see a child climbing a tree for instance? Or floating across a lake on a home made raft.?Today’s parents would have heart attack if that happened. Let them loose and free their minds when they are young. It will harden them up for real life and we won’t have soft adults.I will probably be slated for my rant but it’s only my personal opinion.
“See the problem is once you are talking about the death of a young life people loose their minds, they start to think with their emotions instead of their logic. ”
There were several other people who had taken the drug, they didn’t die Ryan, however, when one witness entered the house, he found them naked, cutting themselves with glass, covered in blood and dancing around this young man while he was on the ground dying.
You can control the way drugs are manufactured, you can make them safe – but you cannot control how a person/people will behave when they take them.
Will they drive, will the fall of a roof, out a window?
This can happen when you are drunk and yes alcohol is illegal – but is the solution to make drugs legal?
I’m sorry but society did not fail this lad. At the risk of sounding heartless: he was an adult. He was not forced to take it.
An 18 year old is an adult and is responsible for their own behaviour. His wits did not fail him: he made a choice to take a substance he knew virtually nothing about. Not even enough to tell that he wasn’t even taking what he thought he was taking.
Your own comment makes this painfully clear: there is enough information out there that anyone who decides to use recreational drugs is aware of the risk involved, and aware that they have no way of knowing what exactly they are taking.
The current trend of refusing to portion at least some responsibility for any drug related death to the deceased person is a problem. Society needs to stop the infantilisation of young adults: 18 is not twelve. 18 is old enough to know better and to decide on the risks, and as you say, people are very well informed of those risks, as this lad was. It’s sad that he is dead, but he failed himself, society didn’t.
“I’m sorry but society did not fail this lad. At the risk of sounding heartless: he was an adult. He was not forced to take it.”
I didn’t say society failed him.
“An 18 year old is an adult and is responsible for their own behaviour. His wits did not fail him: he made a choice to take a substance he knew virtually nothing about. Not even enough to tell that he wasn’t even taking what he thought he was taking.”
Which brings me back to my point – we sanitise “recreational” drug use – look at some of the posts here – it’s ok, they are not junkies, it’s for fun.
“Your own comment makes this painfully clear: there is enough information out there that anyone who decides to use recreational drugs is aware of the risk involved, and aware that they have no way of knowing what exactly they are taking.”
I am not sure which post you are referring to – but the opinion from some here relates to “death” , not to behaviour.
“The current trend of refusing to portion at least some responsibility for any drug related death to the deceased person is a problem. ”
No, if we have a society that rejects and looks down on junkies in O’Connell street while saying at the same time “ah, sure they’re only recreational users”, then this is the message we are giving to our youth.
“It’s sad that he is dead, but he failed himself, society didn’t.”
Secondly, I said “The current trend of refusing to portion at least some responsibility for any drug related death to the deceased person is a problem. ”
To which you offered “No, if we have a society that rejects and looks down on junkies in O’Connell street while saying at the same time “ah, sure they’re only recreational users”, then this is the message we are giving to our youth.”
I have no idea where you’re getting the idea that I think we should look down on junkies and excuse “recreational” users, or that I’m not aware that that goes on. I am not of that opinion in the slightest.
Anyway, I think you’ve misunderstood what I’m saying, since you essentially agreed with it in part: excusing “recreational” drug abuse on the grounds that it’s only a bit of fun is an aspect of what I’m getting at: the infantilisation of young adults and refusing to portion responsibility to them when something happens to them as a result of using substances which they know to be dangerous. That’s a problem.
I’m not following your differentiation between death and behaviour either. One is the possible result of the other.
Ultimately what I’m trying to say is that this lad was a victim of his own risky behaviour, as are his friends and family. Sad as his death is, he is responsible for it, and “ah sure he was only 18″ just doesn’t wash. We are all told from a very young age about the dangers of substance abuse, habitual or “recreational”. Therefore it is not society’s fault if he decided to disregard that and unfortunately died as a result.
Personally I would have a little more understanding in that regard for someone who suffered from a long term drug addiction that eventually killed them (ie, the junkies you referred to) than someone who threw caution to the wind for the sake of a session at a gaff party.
He was 18. Of course he did not deserve to die, but I’m sorry, he should’ve known better.
These new sythetix drugs exist to circumvent the existing laws. If LSD was legal no one would make money pedaling this crap. The same with the synthetic weed that has been killing people off. The problem is glaringly obvious. Prohibition has failed. Its not working and never will. Its a terrible tragedy that this young man list his life. Would he have had access to this untested, Chinese lab chemical if he could have bought safe, regulated drugs instead?
This young man believed he bought 2c-b and was sold a different drug. This is a failure of prohibition. Testing facilities and advise of dosage quantities of all drugs need to be rolled out ASAP.
This is not a time for opportunistic politicians to reiterate their ‘hard on drugs’ nonsense that only makes drugs far more dangerous and profitable for criminals. Rest in peace Alex
Mary, 54, picture of dog as Facebook profile pic loves the hard on drugs approach though. Idiots like that politician know this and hope to gain politically from it. It’s horrible.
It’s a good thing they are illegal isn’t it? …oh wait…no…that’s not making THE SLIGHTEST F____G DIFFERENCE so the deaths. Maybe because when they are illegal they are unregulated and we’ve no idea what kind of poison people are taking?
Even the fear of that needs to be put in context, something that never happens, mostly because politicians find this a very easy topic to scare monger on. If they say they’ll be tough on drugs, that sounds good to worried parents, and they think tough approaches = their kids being safe, when in reality it = the total opposite. Sure, with legal regulated, even restricted drugs there would still be deaths, the odd person with have a heart defect, take ecstasy and die, but with dosage and content control the number of deaths would plummet. 90% of drug use is recreational, and in nearly all of those cases nothing happens to the person..that’s the reality when they are illegal, imagine if we regulated the contents? More people die because of the drug war than are saved by it
If drugs were legal, regulated, and taxed, they wouldn’t be “cut” with all kinds of garbage, and dosages would be standardised, and the people selling them wouldn’t be outlaw cowboys.
When something like this happens everybody just keeps saying make them legal , regulate them. It’s never going to happen , we all know that . the only way is to educate and make test kits available for those who want to use them .
Drivers and passengers know the risks of travelling in cars the must have no consideration for their own lives. Ban cars.
And what about mountain climbers and horse riders?? All more dangerous activities than taking drugs (except for tobacco perhaps).
Point is you can’t just ban everything that is dangerous. But we should make everyone aware of the dangers. The only way to do this properly is in a legal context not a black market one.
If these kids had been able to buy this substance in a place where they could have been advised of the dangers, appropriate dosage and made sign a disclaimer form to reinforce the danger to them this tragedy wouldn’t have happened.
RIP to this poor young man and condolences to his family.
I feel sorry for the lad and my heart goes out to his family but I’m sorry, he took drugs. And when you take drugs, you accept the risk of something like this. Recreational use with no history of problems does not protect people from the risk nor does it justify it.
Jimmy I have been trying to think of a way to say exactly that without coming across as cold. You are 200% right and unfortunately nobody forces anyone to try drugs , legal , illegal or otherwise . It is their decision and even with all the coverage of this poor chaps death I’d like to think it would deter some people but it more than likely won’t .
Why has it not been said what form this drug came in? What colour it was? etc etc.. be nice to warn people as it is obviously a lethal drug. I can only guess from what I’ve read it was either a pill crushed up or came as a powder.
the simple fact to me is because they are illegal you shouldn’t be buying them so there for I hate to see the don’t take drugs watered down by saying to people but if you do don’t take this in all the talk about drug problems I am disappointed that I have not seen one person say this is why you shouldn’t take drugs
This death might not be that recent but I think it gained more exposure due to the fact it was the daughter of a gard. I don’t know what you’re looking to prove by asking that question, although I assume you mean to say that those substances have bad reputations they might not deserve, though I’d like to think that that’s not the case.
Don’t know what you’re trying to prove by asking that question, although I could assume that you’re trying to say that those substances have a bad reputation that they might not deserve. I hope that isn’t the case though.
“Most people who use drugs are occasional recreational users, who have no problems – inc many of the models, sportspeople and yes politicians you worship on a daily basis most of whom not only care about their lives but have high ambitions for them.”
Sorry, but I completely disagree – there is no difference between a “recreational” drug user and a junkie on O’Connell street.
Their drugs come from the same place and their money supports criminality, prostitution, murder, violence, trafficking – don’t kid yourself.
We like to sanitise some drug users, because they work or wear nice clothes But if people choose to take drugs as “fun” – then they are part of the problem.
Pat that doesn’t make sense.
Are you trying to say someone who enjoys a few pints once a week or likes to smoke a joint before watching a movie has similar problems to a heroin addict?
A heroin addict has far bigger problems and needs more help than a coffee addict or someone who takes extasy two or three times a year, but maybe no worse than a severe alcoholic
“Are you trying to say someone who enjoys a few pints once a week or likes to smoke a joint before watching a movie has similar problems to a heroin addict?”
No, this is what I said:
“Sorry, but I completely disagree – there is no difference between a “recreational” drug user and a junkie on O’Connell street.”
Alcohol is legal and marijuana is not.
When a person in a suit, with a job and “no problems” buys his illegal drug of choice, his money goes in the same direction as the junkies’s money – this is my point.
The money goes to the drug dealer, the drugs come in the same way, the money supports crime, prostitution, violence and all the other things that come with illegal drugs.
We sanitise this fact and think – it’s ok, I only “use it for recreational purposes” – it is supporting crime.
Pat,
Your heart is in the right place and You are making a very good case for legalisation.
1. If the illegal drugs were legal that money would not go to criminal enterprises.
2. If people could grow their own cannabis money would not go to criminals.
If your distinction as to whether a drug is bad or good is based in its legality you are not really giving our drug problem proper consideration.
You have to ask yourself why are particular drugs illegal?
The intention was a good one, to reduce harm. But what has been discovered by their illegality is that it actually increases harm to users and to society. And bizarrely increases prevalence if these drugs in our society. There is plenty of evidence to back this up.
While I argue for legalisation of all drugs it is not because I wish for increased drug use. I want to see less harm to those unfortunate enough to get caught up in drug use and the criminalisation just makes the problem worse.
We need brave politicians to admit this and do something about it.
“Pat,
Your heart is in the right place and You are making a very good case for legalisation.”
Thanks Joe, but I would disagree.
“1. If the illegal drugs were legal that money would not go to criminal enterprises.”
Hmm, place it in the hands of a state agency? And do you mean all drugs?
“2. If people could grow their own cannabis money would not go to criminals.”
Let’s remove cannabis from the discussion for a moment, considering that this chap did not die from that substance.
“If your distinction as to whether a drug is bad or good is based in its legality you are not really giving our drug problem proper consideration.”
No, I think I have been very clear, I have refused to make a distinction between a junkie and a recreational drug user.
“You have to ask yourself why are particular drugs illegal?”
Very good question.
“The intention was a good one, to reduce harm. But what has been discovered by their illegality is that it actually increases harm to users and to society. ”
I would disagree and refer you to prohibition in the US.
“While I argue for legalisation of all drugs it is not because I wish for increased drug use. I want to see less harm to those unfortunate enough to get caught up in drug use and the criminalisation just makes the problem worse.”
It makes it worse for the cost to the taxpayer in regards to courts, prisons etc. But you are missing the bigger point,.
If we legalise all drugs (and I would make some exception for cannabis on medical grounds), then we have to take a look at addiction, crime and the social costs of making these drugs legal.
If alcohol was invented today – then this too would be deemed illegal – not for what it is, but for what it does, the harm it causes, the social damage, the criminal damage – to justify the legalising of substances that may be safer, but still result in such behaviour is insane – in my opinion.
“The intention was a good one, to reduce harm. But what has been discovered by their illegality is that it actually increases harm to users and to society. ”
I would disagree and refer you to prohibition in the US.
I should clarify this. Prohibition led to a rise in the production of illegal alcohol, crime and all that jazz – we already have this with illegal drugs – so making this legal will not stop this – many think it will, but it won’t – they will adapt as they did with tobacco.
pat. Again you are using examples which argue FOR legalisation.
Alcohol during prohibition was more dangerous (due to poor manufacturing) and created a crime wave which they are still feeling the effects of today.
Once legal dangerously distilled hooch was largely removed from the market. Same would happen with other drugs if legalised.
Play with fire and you run the risk of getting burnt,this young man rolled the dice and paid the ultimate price which is sad.Whether he was a recreational user or not doesn’t matter in the slightest he knew before he took them the Potential risks and therefore it’s hard to have much sympathy for him.
It’s his family I would have sympathy for who not only have to deal with their tragic and avoidable loss but also have to read and hear about it in the news.
That’s an incredibly hard stance Terry, I wonder do you have children, not to pry, but kids think that it’s ok because it’s “recreational”, this is a point that I tried to make earlier – society sanitises the use of recreational use of drugs – we like to think that these users are not like the junkie on O’Connell street killing himself and risking death every time he shoots up.
They’ll never become addicted, recreational use will ever cause them any problems – it’s acceptable, trying drugs is seen as a right of passage, something we all did.
He was not a kid. He was an adult. His family now have to live with the pain of his death and that is his fault.
Sorry but I don’t see how that’s a hard stance to take.
The intelligence of the Cork deputy Mayor is astounding. To say that “those who sell drugs don’t give a damn about human life” is just so profound. May I be equally profound and suggest that those who take illegal drugs without having a clue of what’s in them obviously don’t give a damn about their own lives either.
Oran is not vile, he is colour blind to the full spectrum of emotional intelligence. Like a cat he sees the world in specific colours. Can’t be helped. God bless.
Those who sell drugs don’t give a damn about human life. Correct statement. However… Those who take drugs also do not give a damn about human life. Sorry if it’s cold hearted. But these drugs are illegal and illegal for a reason. He a kid people say. No he’s not he’s am adult. I knew not to take drugs because they were bad for you and illegal. And I don’t want to hear about disadvantaged kids and blah blah blah. At that age you know right from wrong the same as hot from cold.
Not to take away from the pain his family are going through but,
It seems that if these people were not middle class this would not be news worthy.
Similar to the ‘homelessness crisis’, now that it affects middle class families, it is launched into the public eye.
Tragic
…..and those that buy and use (so called recreational drugs) obviously don’t give a damn about their own lives and welfare! Responsibility is begets everybody!
Never mind this aggressive education bull crap, how long have we been educating about drink driving, speed and seatbelt use?
Aggressive enforcement.
Then comes the dail headed paper, saying, “he comes from a good family, please don’t convict him”
He SNORTED a drug that is so strong it really needs to be taken on blotter form. Even if he googled the drug before he took it he could have read that….. or maybe thought it was cocaine?
Alcohol and Cigarettes are legal and we still have customs, government etc. warning people to not buy cheap alcohol or cigarettes as they could contain anything an look like the genuine article, so how would legalizing and regulating help dangerous knock off’s will always exist
Your right people probably will continue to take knock offs. Idiots I’d call them though. If this young man that lost his life had taken the legit substance he thought it was(assuming it was 2cb) then I’d be willing to bet we wouldn’t be having this conversation and he would be alive still.
Whatever we might think about politicians making loud noises on various issues at election time, Kenneth O’Flynn’s point is still very valid. Worth thinking about the next time someone takes chemical highs just for fun is, who benefits from this trade?
Personally, it would be better to decriminalise cannabis and regulate it by allowing licenced growers to produce an organically grown product and not this ‘grow house’ rubbish that’s currently available.
As for chemical drugs such as the ones that caused Alex Ryan’s death and the criminals involved in it’s supply keep them banned and let the Gardai look after the dealers.
I don’t people are saying legalise this poison. Ecstasy for example can be used fairly safely, if these lads knew they could get that would they of taken whatever crap that was? Obviously you shouldn’t be able to walk into a shop and buy haypes of it, but 1 or 2 SAFE doses at a time.
what’s needed is manditory 20 year for selling drugs. There should be no argument about it. If the dealers are locked up the 20 year sentence might. be a good deterrent. Educating people about drugs is pointless as people already know they are bad for you.
so what do we do so . prepare a file and grant free legal aid?? while they still peddle their drugs to kill our children. I would like 20 years sentence. No remission for good behaviour and do the 20 years.. I suppose the bleeding hearts will have a problem with that . Ahh never mind ! we built a new hotel here in cork for them so they won’t complain about conditions
And what would that have done to prevent a tragedy like this poor lad. The drugs were bought on the internet.
In the USA many people are serving life in prison for possession of drugs. Hasn’t solved the drug epidemic over there and it would be no different here.
You will likely find that “dealers arrested” were one of a group of friends who happened to be the one foolish enough to make the purchase for the rest of the group. No one actually manufacturing or importing the stuff will be arrested just some other experimenting teenager whose life will now also be ruined by the associated criminal charges.
Maybe he would maybe he wouldn’t . That’s the thing with drugs , no such thing as a good one . Any one that takes them plays Russian roulette every single time . Regardless of it being the ” real deal” it could still affect different people in different ways . This poor lad did not deserve to die and I just hope to god it might stop it happening again
The Country is a wash with every drug on the market and typical of a politician to give a statement when the horse has bolted. The only way to get these drugs off the streets is with these dogs that can detect drugs and have them on the streets, pubs and clubs24/7 and give the drug squad enough enough of manpower to stay on top of the main dealers .
No country on this planet will ever get drugs off the streets. If it doesn’t work in places where they execute you then it wont work anywhere. You’d have drug units roaming the streets with sniffer dogs and nabbing anyone it picks a scent off? Come off it man. Think outside the box. Legalise & educate. Make it a health issue not a legal one. Then we will see positive results.
Donal it’s impossible to keep drugs out of society. They can’t even keep them out of prisons.
So to think that hundreds of drug squad policemen with dogs stopping and searching people in their homes pubs or on the streets is going to improve society is terribly naive. Just criminalise otherwise good law abiding people.
When dealing with these new substances, education is vital. The NBOMes are active in the sub-milligram range, which means that accurate dosing is essential. I read on IT that the people involved had been snorting the pure powder? If so, then that is thousands of times the usual dosage.
Our government obviously can’t or won’t provide the education, so all users need to read carefully over the available resources on Bluelight and Erowid. That knowledge could save your life.
Who does this O’Flynn scümbag think he is. If he really gave a shïtè he’d be promoting decriminalisation and regulation instead of trying to gain votes of the death of this young man…absolute årsęhôlę!!!
Look most people even teens know the dangers of drugs, you’d have to be living on Mars not to be aware that taking them can lead to bad things i.e. death. You live by the sword, you die by the sword. I don’t have much sympathy, only for his family and friends.
People who take drugs don’t give a damn about life either..its always very easy to blame the seller. You do have a choice to take them or not. Nobody forces you…
Drugs have been in the world long before me and you and will be here long after simple as you may not like it but that is the truth. Educate people of the dangers will help some people but overall my personal opinion is it won’t be as successful as a lot of people like to think. This country is as backward as it comes when gets to dealing with this kind of stuff. Politicians come out and say this and that blah blah,if it serious about drugs ur gonna have to have testing centres in your town like a booth u can go in and test whatever u bought be it from ur local dealer or on the net, these poor kids took something not having a clue how strong it was but maybe just a maybe if they did know how strong it was they might have took less of it? One young lad is here no more and the rest of them there lives sadly might never be the same. Drugs kill yes but in the other side 1000′s of people have good night’s aswell, there like a lucky bag u never know what your getting. Rip to the young lad that died and I hope his friends will get over this in time and get all the help they need,IMO there is nothing you can do about the war on drugs just look at America, it is time to make it as safe as possible to take these because there not going away.
Gaza rescuers say children among 8 killed in Israeli strike
28 mins ago
Áras An Uachtaráin
134 members of the Oireachtas say they will not nominate McGregor for the presidency
30 mins ago
It couldn't be you
Euromillions: Over 104,000 prize winners in Ireland as Austrian ticket bags record €250m jackpot
22 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 161 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 110 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 143 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 113 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 39 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 35 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 134 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 61 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 74 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 37 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 46 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 27 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 92 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 99 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 72 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 53 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 88 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 69 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say