You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Jackeen 'A fellow who does very little for a living, and wants to do less'

The term ‘Jackeen’ is levelled against Dubliners, primarily in a sporting context and very much in jest. Read about it and more in Come Here To Me! Volume 2, a book celebrating an unexplored Dublin.

TODAY THE TERM ‘Jackeen’ is levelled against Dubliners primarily in a sporting context and very much in jest.

The popular theory is that it has something to do with pro-British sympathies among Dubliners historically – the ‘Jack’ in the term is believed to come from ‘Union Jack’. Terence Dolan’s great work, A Dictionary of Hiberno-English: the Irish Use of English, says it is a pejorative term for ‘a self-assertive Dubliner with pro British leanings’.

Looking back, however, it seems that the term was first used more generally as a pejorative term for city dwellers of a certain class, and then took on new meaning over time. In the archives, the term appears to have come into popular usage here around the 1840s, when, on the other side of the world, an article in New York’s The Dollar magazine used it too.

Manages to insult every aspect of an ordinary Dubliner’s existence

That article is still good for a laugh and a little indignation, describing a ‘Dublin Jackeen’ as ‘a fellow who does very little for a living, and wants to do less’. Across two pages, the article managed to insult almost every aspect of an ordinary Dubliner’s existence, noting that:

The dialect of a Dublin Jackeen is as peculiar as everything else about him, and as different from that of his countrymen in general, outside of the Circular Roads, as chalk is from cheese, or Bog Latin from Arabic. The Jackeen for instance, says ‘dis’,’dat’, ‘dough’, ‘tunder’ and the like – while all other manner of Irishmen make a great capital out of the th, and stick it like grim death, shoving it even into such words as ‘murther’, ‘sisther’, ‘craythure’ and every place else where they find a convenient chance.

The Dollar seemed to use the term to describe a certain kind of lawless Dubliner of the lower order, claiming that ‘A Dublin Jackeen is the least cosmopolitan of any man in the world’, rarely venturing beyond the chaotic and drunken Donnybrook Fair. The piece, which was clearly written for laughs, made no mention of the term having any kind of political connotations.

Before The Dollar, the always enjoyable Irish Monthly Magazine had given a somewhat different description of what a ‘Jackeen’ was, describing him or her as ‘a personage, who in our metropolitan society, supplies the same place which the conceited cockney does in the great capital of the sister island, or the bourgeois dandy in that of France’.

A ‘Jackeen’ was ‘the affected puppy of the middle ranks’, though someone ‘who will never be mistaken for a gentleman’. Like The Dollar, the term was associated with a certain lawlessness, though the social class was different.

British overtones

One of the earliest references to the term I can find with any kind of British overtones is from The Kerry Examiner of February 1854, where it was noted that ‘During the last general war, Dublin contributed more than its quota to the ranks of the British army and military records could attest that no better soldiers served than the “Jackeens” of the Irish capital.’

Also from Munster, the Cork Constitution suggested seven years later that a ‘Jackeen’ was someone who ‘hates his own country, and is forever making vain and painful efforts to imitate the English, for whom he professes a violent admiration, and by whom is cordially despised’.

As time went on, the term began to refer specifically to a pro-British Dubliner. While it may have been used in earlier times to describe city dwellers in general, by the early twentieth century it had taken on one particular meaning. When John Patrick Henry published A Handbook of Modern Irish with the Gaelic League in 1911, the term ‘Seóinín’ was noted to mean a ‘Shoneen or Jackeen’, described as ‘a West Briton who copies the English and cringes to them’.

One of the few Bureau of Military History witness statements that references the term ‘Jackeen’ comes from Kevin O’Sheil, who also described the peculiarities of those in districts that were more decidedly unionist in outlook:

The typical Rathminesian, and even more so the typical Rathgarian, was a remarkable type. To begin with, he had developed a most peculiar accent which, immediately when he opened his mouth, revealed his venue. It is quite impossible to describe the accent in mere words, and it is greatly to be regretted that it disappeared before the coming of the recording.

In more recent times, ‘Jackeen’ is primarily a term used in jest between GAA fans, but it has also been used politically on occasion still. In 1990, a Dáil deputy told a meeting in Castlebar that ‘The dignity of the people is being trampled on by Dublin “Jackeens” who don’t understand how small farmers in the West of Ireland operate.’ Just like the tired talk of the ‘Dublin media’ and ‘Dublin establishment’, Jim Higgins was merely using the term to differentiate a Dublin-based government from the ‘plain people of Ireland’.

In time, the term ‘West Briton’ (and later ‘West Brit’) became the preferred insult to level against those deemed unionist in political outlook, or somehow ashamed of Irish identity. Unlike ‘Jackeen’, it could be applied to anyone on the island.

In Westminster, the Unionist MP Thomas Spring Rice had made it clear in 1834 that ‘I should prefer the name of West Britain to that of Ireland.’ Captain R. Henderson remembered in his Bureau of Military History witness statement that at the time of the Rising, ‘the West Britons were resentful at this revolt against English domination, the British Army Separation Allowance element in its then ignorance was infuriated against the soldiers of Irish freedom’.

Regardless of what it may have meant in the past to different people at different times, Dubliners would come to embrace the term ironically. In the glory days of 1970s GAA in Dublin, the homemade banners proclaimed that ‘The Jacks Are Back’.

While we’re not entirely sure where it came from, it’s a term that is likely to stick around as a light-hearted jibe towards Dubs.

Donal Fallon is a historian, writer and broadcaster based in Dublin. Come Here To Me! Vol 2 celebrates an unexplored Dublin, is published by New Island and available in bookshops now.

‘Maybe we should slosh our way through the forty days before Easter too’>

Supermarket promotions: ‘Down the road there is a ruinous cost to cheap food’>

original

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

View 71 comments
71 Comments
    Mute Grotmaster
    Favourite Grotmaster
    Dec 17th 2017, 3:18 PM

How do you starve a jackeen? Hide his dole card under his work boots, as the joke used to go.

Mute Derek Poutch
    Favourite Derek Poutch
    Dec 17th 2017, 3:33 PM

@Grotmaster: why would he have work boots if he was on the dole?

Mute Grotmaster
    Favourite Grotmaster
    Dec 17th 2017, 3:54 PM

@Derek Poutch: Need them for the SafePass

Mute Mary Loony Mc Donald
    Favourite Mary Loony Mc Donald
    Dec 17th 2017, 6:02 PM

@Derek Poutch: lost his job…

Mute Patrick
    Favourite Patrick
    Dec 17th 2017, 7:44 PM

@Grotmaster: Whats the difference between a Dub and a Culchie???? A Dub would give you the last penny in his pocket and a Culchie would take it!!! FACT

Mute BlueSkyThinking
    Favourite BlueSkyThinking
    Dec 17th 2017, 8:24 PM

@Patrick: penny’s? We use Euro and cents here. Not the Queens currency, must be a West British thing.

Mute Patrick
    Favourite Patrick
    Dec 17th 2017, 8:33 PM

@BlueSkyThinking: Ah shows your age, remember you should listen to experience young lad! Ill give you another home truth; “a Culchie would live in your ear….and set the other ear out in flats”. Truth hurts, accept it, learn and move on. Dont worry I won’t give you anymore of my sense, or is it cents im not sure ;)

Mute Me Darlin' Dublin
    Favourite Me Darlin' Dublin
    Dec 21st 2017, 1:50 PM

@Grotmaster: ahh me owl Segochia. Ye owl Bollix – y’ill all die of the pox – every jackeens dream.

Mute Tomas
    Favourite Tomas
    Dec 17th 2017, 3:26 PM

When you hear some of the D4 crowd speaking you would think they where straight out of Buckingham Palace.

Mute j4VEpUO8
    Favourite j4VEpUO8
    Dec 17th 2017, 3:32 PM

@Tomas: just D4. Expand Tomas

Mute Brian O'Loughlin
    Favourite Brian O'Loughlin
    Dec 17th 2017, 3:44 PM

@j4VEpUO8: No ones speaks more British than Corks own Rachel Allen

Mute Ciara Baines
    Favourite Ciara Baines
    Dec 17th 2017, 3:46 PM

@Tomas: Yeah, those folks in Ringsend speak just like William and Harry.

Mute j4VEpUO8
    Favourite j4VEpUO8
    Dec 17th 2017, 3:49 PM

@Ciara Baines: Hahahaha

Mute John Cotter
    Favourite John Cotter
    Dec 17th 2017, 3:56 PM

@Brian O’Loughlin: you mean Rachel Allen, the Dubliner who lives in Cork?

Mute Gulliver Foyle
    Favourite Gulliver Foyle
    Dec 17th 2017, 4:10 PM

@j4VEpUO8: I don’t think he understands that the South Dublin accent is completely unique and is more influenced by global variants of english (atlantic/antipodean) than english nobility (which like Irish, use expressions closer to Latin/French).

Mute John Cotter
    Favourite John Cotter
    Dec 17th 2017, 4:15 PM

@Brian O’Loughlin: yeah, the one and the same. A Dubliner, not Cork’s own

Mute Tom Burke
    Favourite Tom Burke
    Dec 17th 2017, 4:43 PM

@John Cotter: Rachel Allen ‘just add some chopped mashrooms “

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Dec 17th 2017, 5:03 PM

@Brian O’Loughlin: wrong Allen

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Dec 17th 2017, 5:09 PM

@Tomas: actually the D4 accent owes more to America than the UK

Mute Kevin O' Brien
    Favourite Kevin O' Brien
    Dec 17th 2017, 6:10 PM

@Brian O’Loughlin: Dublins own Rachel Allen, who married a Corkman…

Mute Kieran Stafford
    Favourite Kieran Stafford
    Dec 17th 2017, 7:00 PM

@Tomas: nothing worse than a country person that’s in Dublin a wet week and thinks that they were raised in d4

Mute Tomás Ó Muireadhaigh
    Favourite Tomás Ó Muireadhaigh
    Dec 17th 2017, 3:16 PM

The term jackeen relates to the Dubliners who prevented the removal of the union Jack fro Dublin after war of independence. But it’s all in the past now it’s just jackeens culchies and nordies

Mute Thomas Blackcat
    Favourite Thomas Blackcat
    Dec 17th 2017, 3:18 PM

@Tomás Ó Muireadhaigh: And those from other countries – including the EU…

Mute Grotmaster
    Favourite Grotmaster
    Dec 17th 2017, 3:20 PM

@Tomás Ó Muireadhaigh: And Tyrrelstown

Mute Kal Ipers
    Favourite Kal Ipers
    Dec 17th 2017, 3:24 PM

@Tomás Ó Muireadhaigh: nope, BS but part of the claims by ignorant boggers

Mute Patrick J. O'Rourke
    Favourite Patrick J. O'Rourke
    Dec 17th 2017, 4:01 PM

@Tomás Ó Muireadhaigh: I was under the impression from some reference years ago that the term came from those waving Union Jacks on Queen Vic’s visit to Dublin.

Mute Gulliver Foyle
    Favourite Gulliver Foyle
    Dec 17th 2017, 4:06 PM

@Tomás Ó Muireadhaigh: completely ignoring the article which states it was a term used since the 1800s. You’re like those people from Kerry who don’t get that “kingdom” was an insult when it was used – ignore all the facts if they don’t agree with the synapses in your head!

Mute Gareth Cooney
    Favourite Gareth Cooney
    Dec 17th 2017, 4:44 PM

@Tomás Ó Muireadhaigh: Ha Ha no such thing, a Jackeen is a scanger wearing a Celtic jersey, standing on the canal bridge holding a sign that says “No Foregin sports in our stadium “.

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Dec 17th 2017, 5:01 PM

@Tomás Ó Muireadhaigh: it predates the war of independence ad clearly stated in the article that you didn’t bother to read.

Mute Pauliebhoy
    Favourite Pauliebhoy
    Dec 17th 2017, 5:32 PM

@Gareth Cooney: At least his spelling of the word foreign was correct and that was without the availability of auto correct

Mute Sean @114
    Favourite Sean @114
    Dec 17th 2017, 6:26 PM

@John Cronin: yeah no farm grants claimed from there by the Dubs.

Mute Kal Ipers
    Favourite Kal Ipers
    Dec 17th 2017, 3:27 PM

Just abusive lying claim all Dubliner are on the Dole yet most of the country’s income comes from here and it isn’t culchies doing the work

Mute selfsustainable
    Favourite selfsustainable
    Dec 17th 2017, 3:56 PM

@Kal Ipers: that’s because the workforce in Dublin are mostly ‘culchies’….Dubs can’t do the work so they have to import from rural areas, so really, the ‘culchies’ are keeping the whole country afloat….mad concept that eh? Bit like yours.

Mute Kal Ipers
    Favourite Kal Ipers
    Dec 17th 2017, 5:24 PM

@selfsustainable: missed where I said it isn’t the culchies doing the work?

Mute Pauliebhoy
    Favourite Pauliebhoy
    Dec 17th 2017, 5:33 PM

@Kal Ipers: Looks like he did

Mute selfsustainable
    Favourite selfsustainable
    Dec 17th 2017, 5:59 PM

@Kal Ipers: didn’t miss it, you just choose to believe we don’t, judging by the comment section , way too many Dubs spend their days here….Monday to Friday ALL day .The ‘culchies’ are too busy keeping the country going. Dublin Journal should be renamed journal.dub at this stage.

Mute Patrick
    Favourite Patrick
    Dec 17th 2017, 7:45 PM

@selfsustainable: Whats the difference between a Dub and a Culchie???? A Dub would give you the last penny in his pocket and a Culchie would take it!!!

Mute Michael Heery
    Favourite Michael Heery
    Dec 18th 2017, 10:19 PM

@Kal Ipers: You never see jackeens over seas its mostly culchies who travel far away.

Mute David Dickson
    Favourite David Dickson
    Dec 19th 2017, 1:30 AM

@Michael Heery: a 3 to 1 ratio, same as in ireland. Of course there are more culchies abroad.

Mute Patrick
    Favourite Patrick
    Dec 17th 2017, 8:12 PM

For those of you who really do not know your History please read some more primary sources. First of all; the majority of those waving Union Jack flags were the Protestant Ascendancy, who let off the serfs (Dubs) during the visit.
    In addition; During Queen Victoria’s visit on the west coast during her visit around famine time, people came out waving the flags also, which I would not blame them as they were hoping to get food from them.
    What everyone fails to mention, during the lockout where Dub families were dying from starvation, they got food parcels from Dock working families in Liverpool and not 1 head of cabbage was sent from our country folk!
    These are facts that cannot be disputed. I often wonder where the jealousy from our countrymen comes from and I believe its a deep rooted shame that they have, perhaps from being envious that Dubs do not really care about money but people.

Mute Michael Heery
    Favourite Michael Heery
    Dec 18th 2017, 10:34 PM

@Patrick: you need to read PADDYS LAMENT or its onther name A PRELUDE TO HATRED. lots of Facts..

Mute Patrick
    Favourite Patrick
    Dec 19th 2017, 11:13 AM

@Michael Heery: Hi Michael, thanks for recommending this book as I have not read it. However, what is your point though. I will read it as it looks interesting.
    I have read an awful lot around the famine. I am a Historian.
    Thanks again.

Mute Tom Burke
    Favourite Tom Burke
    Dec 17th 2017, 3:13 PM

Cromwell said ‘to hell or to Connacht.”

I chose Connacht.

Dec 17th 2017, 3:17 PM

@Tom Burke: i left Connaught, too much rain, cloud, mud…

Mute Kal Ipers
    Favourite Kal Ipers
    Dec 17th 2017, 3:22 PM

@Tom Burke: you are very long lived to remember and lived that

Mute Tom Burke
    Favourite Tom Burke
    Dec 17th 2017, 4:44 PM

@Kal Ipers: actually I read it in a history book. It’s the reason history books are written. You follow?

Mute Kal Ipers
    Favourite Kal Ipers
    Dec 17th 2017, 5:22 PM

@Tom Burke: you didn’t chose is the point

Mute Kate Flaherty
    Favourite Kate Flaherty
    Dec 17th 2017, 3:12 PM

Great read!…

Mute Darach Malone
    Favourite Darach Malone
    Dec 17th 2017, 4:45 PM

They should organise another of those meetings in Castlebar as the Jackeens are still trampling all over their dignity on an annual basis, mostly around September time.

Mute purple rain
    Favourite purple rain
    Dec 17th 2017, 4:12 PM

obsessed with us, we dont care much for them.

Mute Bart
    Favourite Bart
    Dec 17th 2017, 3:19 PM

Speaking as a Corkman who no real interest in GAAlick it’s not said in jest but you jacks love to think it is, say no to drugs

Mute Treabhair Coulahan
    Favourite Treabhair Coulahan
    Dec 17th 2017, 3:59 PM

@Bart: oh look it’s another corkman with a massive chip on his shoulder about Dublin. Now there’s something you don’t see everyday.

Mute Paul Mc Nulty
    Favourite Paul Mc Nulty
    Dec 17th 2017, 11:52 PM

@Bart: Many Cork people have great pride in our Gaelic games . Then there’s people like you. Never achieved much among your peers and try to fill that void with sarcasm.

Mute Seán Mac Brádaigh
    Favourite Seán Mac Brádaigh
    Dec 17th 2017, 3:19 PM

Donal Fallon is a great historian. Everyone should buy his book!

Mute Randy Knights
    Favourite Randy Knights
    Dec 17th 2017, 6:00 PM

What did the jackeen get for Christmas?

Your telly :-) Up the dubs

Mute gerry fallon
    Favourite gerry fallon
    Dec 17th 2017, 4:46 PM

What a complete load of absolute rubbish.Really it is.Did you ever hear the culshies from cork and Kerry trying to speak in a D4 accent.Its hilarious.
    Everyone wants to be a Dub.
    Must be a culshie writing this article ha ha.

Mute Sean @114
    Favourite Sean @114
    Dec 17th 2017, 6:54 PM

@John Cronin: ha, what’s outside Dublin worth seeing?

Mute gerry fallon
    Favourite gerry fallon
    Dec 17th 2017, 7:28 PM

@John Cronin: John,why have all culshies got red necks?
    Because their daddy gave them a belt on the neck and said “get up te Dublin and get a job!”

Mute BlueSkyThinking
    Dec 17th 2017, 8:33 PM

@gerry fallon: the only job I ever got in Dublin began with blow… how is your ma these days?

Mute Peter Coen
    Favourite Peter Coen
    Dec 17th 2017, 5:59 PM

Insulting one section of people who live in an area against another.That in my opinon is devide and conquer.We are all people.

Mute Liam Mac Roibin
    Favourite Liam Mac Roibin
    Dec 17th 2017, 6:45 PM

Dear Boggers, Culchies and Muck Savages.
    Just because we have indoor toilets and a prohibition on incest shouldn’t stop you aspiring to improve your lot by coming into the 20th century. We in the 21st century are confident that you will appreciate the improvements.
    Though the floods of envious tears are rather problematic. It seems to be directly contributing to localised flooding.
    So, be big boys and get the f**k on with it, and stop crying about Dublin.

Mute BlueSkyThinking
    Dec 17th 2017, 8:03 PM

@Liam Mac Roibin: spoken like a true Jackeen!

Mute Tom smith
    Favourite Tom smith
    Dec 17th 2017, 5:43 PM

Behind ever good Jackeen is a culchie
    In reciessions culchies come to Dublin and Jackeens go abroad

Mute Garreth Byrne
    Favourite Garreth Byrne
    Dec 17th 2017, 10:26 PM

Could the word Jackeen also owe something to ‘la jacquerie’, the French peasants who rebelled against feudal rule in 1358? and/or the revolutionary ‘Jaques’ mentioned in the historical novel by Charles Dickens, A Tale of Two Cities?

Mute Alan Leahy
    Favourite Alan Leahy
    Dec 18th 2017, 10:29 AM

@Garreth Byrne: No

Mute eastsmer
    Favourite eastsmer
    Dec 18th 2017, 1:38 AM

When a Corkman goes to Dublin,
    He throws a stone in the Liffey,
    And if the stone floats – he comes back home…

Mute FlopFlipU
    Favourite FlopFlipU
    Dec 17th 2017, 9:26 PM

A lads don’t be like that

Mute Eliza Mac
    Favourite Eliza Mac
    Dec 18th 2017, 1:00 AM

I’m grand with just being Irish. The other lables can feck roigh off.

Mute Stephen Maher
    Favourite Stephen Maher
    Dec 18th 2017, 8:11 AM

Where do the words Culchie and muck savage come from?

Mute Garreth Byrne
    Favourite Garreth Byrne
    Dec 18th 2017, 1:05 PM

@Stephen Maher: Kiltimagh (Coillte Magh) in Mayo. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kiltimagh

Much savage comes from the words ‘muck’ (possibly rhyming with the Gaelic muc meaning pig) and the word ‘savage’.

Mute Sean Beades
    Favourite Sean Beades
    Dec 20th 2017, 5:33 PM

The term “jackeen is a deritive of the word Jacobite as most of King James the second’s army at the Battle of the Boyne came from around Dublin