You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Rugby Union - RBS 6 Nations Championship 2007 - Ireland v England - Croke Park. David Davies via PA Images

Opinion 'Our indifference to our flag and anthem is actually healthy'

Placing legislative restrictions on how our anthem is used would be an unnecessary limitation on our freedom of expression, writes Caoimhín De Barra.

RECENTLY, THE SEANAD Public Consultation Committee announced that they are looking for the public’s views on whether the Irish State should take steps to protect Amhrán na bhFiann.

The copyright to the song expired in 2012, and some members of the Seanad feel that the anthem could be misused unless protective legislation is introduced.

As each country has a national anthem and national flag, we rarely pause to stop and think why it is normal for every State to adopt them, and more interestingly, why many are so insistent that they are shown proper respect and dignity.

Nationalism is modelled on religion

It is amazing that things like a flag or a national anthem could provoke such emotional responses within people, but perhaps not surprising. When revolutionaries in France in the eighteenth century wanted to win widespread support for their ideas, they looked to Christianity for lessons on how to indoctrinate the masses.

They replaced crosses with flags, prayers with anthems, and church holidays with national holidays. Nationalism doesn’t just resemble religion in its use of symbols, it is directly modelled on it.

The outrage in recent weeks over the decision of some NFL players to kneel during the American national anthem is proof of this, with denunciations of the players’ actions approaching something of a religious fervour. The same could be said about the year-long series of street protests by loyalists in 2013, angry at the decision of Belfast City Council to limit the number of days the Union flag flies above Belfast City Hall.

Fanaticism is rare

In the twenty-six counties, however, such fanaticism about our national anthem or flag is rare indeed. The origins for such relative disinterest can be traced back to the Troubles, when overt displays of nationalist sentiment were suspected of condoning, if not encouraging, the carnage that unfolded in Northern Ireland.

Indeed, considerable angst emerged about the role Irish history played in causing the Troubles, with many believing that the memory those who fought for Irish freedom from 1916 to 1921 had sparked the Ulster conflict. Along similar lines, Will Hutton recently argued in the Irish Times that the Spanish constitutional crisis has been created by Catalan nationalists who refuse to forget historical grievances against Spain.

Frankly, such analyses are backwards. The crises in Northern Ireland in 1969 and Spain in 2017 didn’t erupt because nationalists suddenly remembered their history lessons. Rather, both groups sought to legitimise their actions against contemporary problems by linking them to the past. The Provisional IRA certainly claimed to be the spiritual heirs of Patrick Pearse and Michael Collins, but doesn’t mean that it was their legacy that led the Provos to violence in the first place.

At any rate, one of the consequences of the Troubles is that there are still mixed attitudes about how we should behave in relation to our flag and anthem. For a start, it is only recommended, not required, that primary school children be taught the national anthem. Like many Irish citizens, I never learned the national anthem in school. It was only when I left school and decided to learn it for myself that I wondered why I hadn’t been taught it.

We don’t behave properly

We also don’t behave properly when the national anthem is played. At least according to protocols released by the Department of the Taoiseach in the lead-up to the 1916 commemorations. Apparently, “when the National Anthem, Amhrán na bhFiann, is played in the presence of the National Flag, all present should face the National Flag, stand to attention and salute it, remaining at the salute until the last note of the music.”

I don’t think I have ever seen anyone salute the flag during Amhrán na bhFiann. Certainly, nobody is standing to attention until the last note of music, given that we have effectively replaced the last line of the song with collective freestyle screaming and roaring.

We don’t do much better when it comes to respecting the flag. Those Department of the Taoiseach protocols say that: “The National Flag should never be defaced by placing slogans, logos, lettering or pictures of any kind on it, for example at sporting events. The National Flag should not be draped on cars, trains, boats or other modes of transport.”

All of that went out the window at Euro 2016. As Ger Keville pointed out in the Independent, the Irish tri-colour was decorated with, among other things, Clinton Morrison’s bare arse, pictures of convicted drug smugglers, sexual innuendo, an endless supply of Father Ted quotes, and a series of penis jokes.

For comparison, I googled “USA fans World Cup” and looked at pictures from past tournaments. Of the hundreds of images I saw, not one contained an American flag with any writing on it. This was not surprising. No American supporter would dare do something like that to their flag, aware of the backlash they would receive.

Our indifference to our flag and anthem is healthy

However, on balance, I think our relative indifference to our flag and anthem is actually healthy. Demanding an unquestioned reverence for a piece of cloth and a song isn’t just irrational, it is potentially divisive. Just look at the tension generated in the United States from a few guys playing sports adopting the “wrong” body position while someone sings a song before the game.

The national anthem and flag represent us as a nation, but that also means that these things belong to us all equally as citizens of that nation. In a democratic society, we should be free to use these as we see fit without fear of “offending” someone, which brings us back to the Seanad announcement.

The copyright for Amhrán na bhFiann lapsed five years ago, but so far, no disaster has befallen us. Indeed, most national anthems are in the public domain. Many States rely, in the words of the Seanad Public Consultation Committee, “on public opinion to police what is appropriate usage of them.”

It is our anthem, collectively and individually. Placing legislative restrictions on how it is used would be an unnecessary limitation on our freedom of expression.

Caoimhín De Barra is Assistant Professor for Irish History and Culture at Drew University, New Jersey.

Male abuse victims: ‘It is easier to believe that men are Harvey Weinsteins’>

Gucci: ‘Animal fur isn’t “modern”. Wearing fur belongs in the Stone Age’>

Voices

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

82 Comments
    Mute ⚡ Seánie ⚡
    Favourite ⚡ Seánie ⚡
    Oct 23rd 2017, 6:39 AM

I do like how the Americans all have flags outside their houses, be nice to see The Tricolour being flown more over here.

Mute WynnnerZ
    Favourite WynnnerZ
    Oct 23rd 2017, 6:52 AM

@⚡ Seánie ⚡: that’s bloody fanatics, I’m happy at the way things are, you stick the flag out when a match is on

Mute Conor Paddington
    Favourite Conor Paddington
    Oct 23rd 2017, 6:53 AM

@⚡ Seánie ⚡: from a young age they also stand up every morning in school and pledge allegiance to that flag. It’s sinister brainwashing behaviour. Their flag is a religion.

Mute Brian O'Loughlin
    Favourite Brian O'Loughlin
    Oct 23rd 2017, 6:54 AM

@⚡ Seánie ⚡: Why do you need a flag outside your house to show how Irish you are? A rendition of OLE OLE is enough

Mute Patricia Ellis Dunne
    Favourite Patricia Ellis Dunne
    Oct 23rd 2017, 7:17 AM

@Conor Paddington: I think that helps to lead them to their unhealthy love of the military too, thinking they are “feeding the world

Mute Patricia Ellis Dunne
    Favourite Patricia Ellis Dunne
    Oct 23rd 2017, 7:18 AM

@Patricia Ellis Dunne: *freeing the world

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg
    Oct 23rd 2017, 7:23 AM

@⚡ Seánie ⚡: Not a great fan of rabid nationalism, especially the type of nationalism in the US and increasingly in the UK. It’s not healthy.

Mute The Guru
    Favourite The Guru
    Oct 23rd 2017, 7:53 AM

@⚡ Seánie ⚡: rampant nationalism is not healthy. It ends up in things like trying to create empires or invading the Middle East. I think we’re doing fine as we are in that respect.

Mute Whoswho
    Favourite Whoswho
    Oct 23rd 2017, 8:14 AM

This is a terrible article! Placing legislative restriction on the playing of the countries national anthem just so DOB can make millions or billions of pounds from it! A disgrace!

Mute Whoswho
    Favourite Whoswho
    Oct 23rd 2017, 8:17 AM

Newstalk a couple of years back tried to say that our national anthem was tired and not emotional enough as compared to other countries. Obviously with a view so their god (DOB) can purchase the rights of it. Its our country and our national anthem so get ur greasy hands off it!

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Oct 23rd 2017, 10:05 AM

@⚡ Seánie ⚡: I don’t think that we need to continually remind ourselves and everyone else of who we are or which football team we support. Flags and emblems throughout history have been used to intimidate as well as to promote.

Mute Rochelle
    Favourite Rochelle
    Oct 23rd 2017, 11:02 AM

@⚡ Seánie ⚡: I’d imagine that mostly happens in Red states and I think it’s weird to be honest and leads to a superiority complex towards other countries and a general brainwashing to condition people against dissent or protest against the state.
    Pride in you country should be something earned, not issued as a requirement for every citizen.

Mute Charles Williams
    Favourite Charles Williams
    Oct 23rd 2017, 12:01 PM

@⚡ Seánie ⚡: The Donal Trump redneck, racist, pussy grabbing, nig–r hating, poorly educated xenophobe bregade. These are the most likely to be flying the stars and stripes from the front porch in the USA. Do we really this kind of attitude here.?

Mute Paul Coughlan
    Favourite Paul Coughlan
    Oct 23rd 2017, 6:34 PM

@Conor Paddington: haven’t seen a Stars and Stripes religion registered. Can you update

Mute Con Murphy
    Favourite Con Murphy
    Oct 24th 2017, 6:42 AM

@Rochelle:
    Earned by who, the country of the citizen?

Mute Brian O Reilly
    Favourite Brian O Reilly
    Oct 23rd 2017, 6:42 AM

Our indifference to the behaviour of the banking sector is also shameful.

Mute Conor Paddington
    Favourite Conor Paddington
    Oct 23rd 2017, 6:54 AM

@Brian O Reilly: yeah… though entirely unrelated.

Mute Cheeky Bums
    Favourite Cheeky Bums
    Oct 23rd 2017, 7:18 AM

@Brian O Reilly: ZOOOOM! Right off the point.

Mute Daithi Gazeley
    Favourite Daithi Gazeley
    Oct 23rd 2017, 6:46 AM

There needs to be more of our national flag flown outside our houses, pubs,hotels and other buildings.

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg
    Oct 23rd 2017, 7:26 AM

@Daithi Gazeley: Lots of hotels fly our flag. I feel no urge or requirement to do so myself. I know I’m Irish and don’t the need to have to tell everyone.

Mute nelly
    Favourite nelly
    Oct 23rd 2017, 6:53 AM

The journal are beating this flag thing to death. Is this going to be the new feature piece to take over from an Ex Egyptian prisoner story

Mute Nick Allen
    Favourite Nick Allen
    Oct 23rd 2017, 7:35 AM

@nelly:

It’s research for the upcoming series of flag related polls

Mute Tom Newnewman
    Favourite Tom Newnewman
    Oct 23rd 2017, 8:03 AM

@nelly: Articles like this may prompt those who are always looking for something to insult or mock to turn on the flag and anthem. Just like the now spent anti Catholic mockers they would get great support from the same sources.

Mute SteoG
    Favourite SteoG
    Oct 23rd 2017, 10:31 AM

@Tom Newnewman: Who would dare mock any group large or small run by men in silly clothes and hats with a record of misogynistic child abusing behaviour, that believes in talking snakes, zombies and child bearing virgins. Not to mention the money making idolatry of so called saints and their relics. It is total nonsense. At least you can keep your 4skin phew! What could you mock?

Mute Tom Molloy
    Favourite Tom Molloy
    Oct 24th 2017, 5:36 AM

@SteoG: You despise Catholics.

Mute Paul Mc
    Favourite Paul Mc
    Oct 23rd 2017, 7:35 AM

@Erich,
    To be fair GAA is uniquely Irish , so what’s the harm in playing the national anthem at important games.

Mute Erich Butler
    Favourite Erich Butler
    Oct 23rd 2017, 10:48 AM

@Paul Mc: I leave it at this..people were rightly exercised last year by James McClean being forced to stand for God Save the Queen before a friendly and being put under pressure to wear a poppy.
    The GAA shouldn’t be feel the need to play a political anthem before a game.They should make the games as inclusive as possible whether you’re from a Nationalist,Unionist or for example Polish background.Playing the anthem reinforces the belief that it’s an organization catering for only one community.

Mute Cathal S Byrne
    Favourite Cathal S Byrne
    Oct 23rd 2017, 10:56 AM

@Erich Butler: but it’s not a political anthem…its our national anthem.

Mute Joseph Rooney
    Favourite Joseph Rooney
    Oct 23rd 2017, 7:11 PM

@Erich Butler:
    Oh right, we should stop playing the anthem or flying the flag in order not to annoy foreign migrants. You’re rearing them yet, Ireland!

Mute Erich Butler
    Favourite Erich Butler
    Oct 23rd 2017, 7:21 AM

Always wonder why they play the anthem before all inter-county GAA matches and not before League of Ireland games? I can understand them playing it at internationals but I think it’s a very politically charged gesture especially when played in the North. People giving out about the American anthem before NFL games and mixing sport with politics but we do it here too. It doesn’t encourage many Protestants to attend GAA games just like God Save the Queen doesn’t encourage inclusion at Windsor Park.

Mute Niall O'Tuama
    Favourite Niall O'Tuama
    Oct 23rd 2017, 7:37 AM

@Erich Butler: except the gaa is about as Irish as it gets. Hence why the anthem is played. You seem to be one of these far left vermin that woukd grow away your history, culture and national emblems at the throw of a hat. Your on the same side at the joe brollys who seem to think the gaa (an indeginous irish sport / organisation ) founded in times where we irish were discriminated and treated like slaves in our own land by the Brits, shoukd not play the irish national anthem in future as it will “alienate” others. You are vile.

Mute Erich Butler
    Favourite Erich Butler
    Oct 23rd 2017, 8:01 AM

@Niall O’Tuama: The GAA already know it’s as Irish as it can get so what’s the point in playing the anthem to reinforce it?
    If the Brits banned the anthem up in the North that would be a whole different story but they don’t.
    You’d be the first one to complain about the Unionists and their flags & anthem so why lower ourselves to their level and make the GAA a political tool? Playing a national anthem before an inter county game segregates people in the North rather than unites them.

Mute Con Murphy
    Favourite Con Murphy
    Oct 23rd 2017, 8:43 AM

@Erich Butler:
    A Protestant from Wicklow was recently head of the GAA, so there.

Mute Ciaran Rice
    Favourite Ciaran Rice
    Oct 23rd 2017, 8:44 AM

@Erich Butler: I’m a Nationalist from Belfast. I’ve never met a single person who would start supporting NI if they dropped GSTQ.
    There are plenty of Protestants who play GAA. Belfast Boys Model secondary school have a pretty decent Hurling set up. That’s a school in which many of its pupils come from the shankill.

Mute Erich Butler
    Favourite Erich Butler
    Oct 23rd 2017, 9:09 AM

@Ciaran Rice: I’d say even more Protestants would play GAA if you dropped all the overtly nationalistic displays.
    Catholics should be confident enough with their own identity and culture without having to resort to playing an anthem before a GAA game. We don’t need to make the same mistakes as the Unionists by forcing our culture on them.
    Assimilation is the way to a United Ireland.Get them to go to GAA games and stop throwing up roadblocks like an anthem.

Mute filthypete
    Favourite filthypete
    Oct 23rd 2017, 9:27 AM

@Erich Butler: why have you over simplified and inserted protestants for unionist? The popular abbreviated anthem has no reference to any god. The national games at higher levels has the national anthem, it’s cultural. Gone are the days of the bishop throwing the ball in to start a match. Go to GAA clubs now and you’ll see kids of different colours and creeds playing. They pull on the same jerseys. You somehow tried to insert religion into this????? And before you assume further i am an atheistic retired hurler. Forsaken by Jesus and time!!!

Mute Nick Caffrey
    Favourite Nick Caffrey
    Oct 23rd 2017, 10:03 AM

@Niall O’Tuama: Fascistic nationalist rant.

Mute gjpb
    Favourite gjpb
    Oct 23rd 2017, 10:44 AM

@Niall O’Tuama: joe brolly may be a lot of things but he is a staunch supporter of the anthem being played before GAA games

Mute Niall O'Tuama
    Favourite Niall O'Tuama
    Oct 23rd 2017, 6:27 PM

@gjpb: maybe you should read the piece he wrote for a national newspaper in which he stated the gaa shoukd stop playing the national anthem in future to be more “incluslive” . Which is the most obscure thing ever. And if you actually read what I wrote originally you woukd see that I said that

Mute Niall O'Tuama
    Favourite Niall O'Tuama
    Oct 23rd 2017, 6:30 PM

@Nick Caffrey: what I wrote was facts. If you have a problem with irish history then that only shows you ignorance. Scales have fallen, read a book and so will yours.

Mute Joseph Rooney
    Favourite Joseph Rooney
    Oct 23rd 2017, 7:15 PM

@Niall O’Tuama:
    Niall–that attack on Joe Brolly is very unfair. He is a true Gael, far more than many in the GAA.
    What you accuse him of is nonsense.

Mute Con Murphy
    Favourite Con Murphy
    Oct 24th 2017, 6:47 AM

@Erich Butler:
    The Queen song is Royalist nonsense, with a tune borrowed from central Europe, also used in other European Royalist anthems. Our anthem, in our language, is inclusive and patriotic. There can be no equivilance between the two.

Mute qwerty
    Favourite qwerty
    Oct 23rd 2017, 7:56 AM

Welcome to “Fun With Flags” by the Journal !!!

Mute Charles Williams
    Favourite Charles Williams
    Oct 23rd 2017, 6:50 AM

Sadly, we are equally indifferent to more immediate issues such as the homeless crisis, house price inflation, the legacy of debt after the banker/ bondholder bailout, the ED trolley crisis, the health waiting list crisis, the infrastructural deficit in the western side of the country. So in the grand scheme I would be more concerned about these issues.

Mute Joseph Rooney
    Favourite Joseph Rooney
    Oct 23rd 2017, 7:17 PM

@Charles Williams:
    Don’t forget Mass Immigration. Or maybe you don’t see the elephant in the room? House price inflation and homelessness have nothing to do with importing vast numbers of foreigners? You expect them to live on Dollymount Strand?

Mute Con Murphy
    Favourite Con Murphy
    Oct 24th 2017, 6:49 AM

@Joseph Rooney:
    Where is this “Mass” immigration. There is still mass emigrtion out of Ireland, but I don’t see it coming the other way. Stop the scaremongering.

Mute Niall O'Tuama
    Favourite Niall O'Tuama
    Oct 23rd 2017, 7:31 AM

Who writes this rubbish? I think you’ll find the vast majority of irish people love the Irish national anthem and love the tri colour. Its just that irish people have respect for them unlike americans where their flag has been so commercialised its even found on toilet paper. Their sudo faux patratisom is ubiquitous. No irish person is demanding an unquestioned reverence to them. We have history and more importantly we know our history and we respect the flag and anthem

Mute Joseph Rooney
    Favourite Joseph Rooney
    Oct 23rd 2017, 7:18 PM

@Niall O’Tuama:

That guy is an Assistant Professor, that’s the most junior rank at a US university. I suspect he’ll stay on that rank for quite a while.

Mute Con Murphy
    Favourite Con Murphy
    Oct 24th 2017, 6:51 AM

@Joseph Rooney:
    He should get a job in NUIG, they would love him, given their most recent gift to 10 pensions Enda.

Mute Gerald Kelleher
    Favourite Gerald Kelleher
    Oct 23rd 2017, 6:50 AM

The idea that nationalistic symbols replace Christian ones as an exercise in indoctrination is quaint and looks right but the indoctrination bit is where this fella jumps the tracks as it equates a love of country (national instincts) and love of creation (spirituality) with propaganda.

Mute Con Murphy
    Favourite Con Murphy
    Oct 23rd 2017, 7:17 PM

@Gerald Kelleher:
    Easy to see how someone like this manages to “get on” in Irish acedemia.
    One must have the right opinions to please our elites, then you will be showered with titles,positions, grants, burseries etc, regardless of talent or ability. It was ever thus.

Mute Gerald Kelleher
    Favourite Gerald Kelleher
    Oct 23rd 2017, 10:09 PM

@Con Murphy: Peer review is there to rubberstamp the lifestyles and pensions of the ones doing the reviewing so there is this inter-generational chain which is difficult to break . I do not see it as a reason to complain because originality wouldn’t survive in that self-serving atmosphere so, until things improve or change, everyone gets to set or raise their own standards of interpretation.

Mute Enda Reynolds
    Favourite Enda Reynolds
    Oct 23rd 2017, 10:19 AM

An associate professor of Irish history questioning people’s emotional attachment to the Irish tricolor, is this a wind up article?

Mute Con Murphy
    Favourite Con Murphy
    Oct 23rd 2017, 7:13 PM

@Enda Reynolds:
    A “professor”. Wow!
    Love the bit where northern nationalists are “fanatics”.

Mute Con Murphy
    Favourite Con Murphy
    Oct 23rd 2017, 7:13 PM

@Enda Reynolds:
    A “professor”. Wow!
    Love the bit where northern nationalists are “fanatics”.

Mute Joseph Rooney
    Favourite Joseph Rooney
    Oct 23rd 2017, 7:20 PM

@Con Murphy:
    I mentioned this in another post. Assistant Professor is a very junior rank in the US university, the lowest on the totem pole.

Mute Brian O'Loughlin
    Favourite Brian O'Loughlin
    Oct 23rd 2017, 6:41 AM

‘No American supporter would dare to that to their flag…’…are you serious? You can buy anything and I mean anything covered in an American flag from cars, guns, hot pants to sex toys.

Mute Joseph Rooney
    Favourite Joseph Rooney
    Oct 23rd 2017, 7:19 PM

@Brian O’Loughlin:
    Were can I get those toys?

Mute Mick Hennessy
    Favourite Mick Hennessy
    Oct 23rd 2017, 9:32 AM

“I don’t think I’ve ever seen anyone salute the flag during amhrán na bfhiann” yes you have, for a civilian you’re asked to salute by standing up, with your hands by your side, joined in front of you or at the back. The vast majority of the country do it without even thinking about it.

Mute john g mcgrath
    Favourite john g mcgrath
    Oct 23rd 2017, 10:02 AM

@Mick Hennessy: On the subject of anthem that Ireland’s call should be left in the bin.
    We have an anthem and if you don’t like it or have a problem with it don’t make yourself available for selection?

Mute Neil DL
    Favourite Neil DL
    Oct 23rd 2017, 8:57 AM

For 26 counties I assume you mean Republic of Ireland. Incidentally, you did not mention that Peadar Kearney – the composer – wrote the words of the Soldier’s Song in English.

Mute Joseph Rooney
    Favourite Joseph Rooney
    Oct 23rd 2017, 7:22 PM

@Neil DL:

Yes, and I have always believed that people should sing the anthem in English.
    Agus is Gaeilgeoir mé.

Mute Con Murphy
    Favourite Con Murphy
    Oct 23rd 2017, 7:41 PM

@Neil DL:
    “History professor” eh!
    Tool more like it.

Mute Con Murphy
    Favourite Con Murphy
    Oct 24th 2017, 6:56 AM

@Joseph Rooney:
    I think the Irish version is much more elemental than the English version, I wonder who did the translation to our language, they did a great job.
    Loved the Welsh anthem at the soccer game with Ireland. Are the Celtic languages better at expressing emotion than English?

Mute Joseph Rooney
    Favourite Joseph Rooney
    Oct 23rd 2017, 7:09 PM

I wonder how many of the foreigners in the government moonie-style mass naturalization ceremonies know the anthem?
    Just about none, I would think.
    About the same as what they know of Irish history, politics, geography etc.

We have the laxest naturalization requirements in Europe, if not the world. We have an increasigly large minority of citizens who know nothing about the country they have asked to join,

Mute Con Murphy
    Favourite Con Murphy
    Oct 24th 2017, 6:59 AM

@Joseph Rooney:
    Many Irish schools don’t even teach the anthem. Watch the rugger crowd at the Aviva and you will see all the bemused faces and shut mouths,waving the rugby ball and shamrock “Irish” flags.

Mute Ben McArthur
    Favourite Ben McArthur
    Oct 23rd 2017, 8:49 AM

And so begins the leftie climb down from the anthem protests.

Mute Con Murphy
    Favourite Con Murphy
    Oct 23rd 2017, 7:40 PM

Rugby culture really disgusts me. Will play the anthem in one part of our country, but not another, or abroad. Some “pride”.

Mute Conor Sheehan
    Favourite Conor Sheehan
    Oct 23rd 2017, 8:33 PM

@Con Murphy: But they’re representing the island of Ireland abroad, not the Republic of Ireland. There would be more Ulster Unionists infuriated, if Amhrán na bhFiann was played abroad, than Irish nationalists, if it wasn’t.

Mute Con Murphy
    Favourite Con Murphy
    Oct 24th 2017, 7:04 AM

@Conor Sheehan:
    Unionists don’t recognise that an Irish nation exists,why pander to them.
    Ireland is a country, not just an island.
    Why do they then go on about being “proud to be Irish” in rugger circles, an embarrassment.The lady do’t protest too much.

Mute hallelujah
    Favourite hallelujah
    Oct 23rd 2017, 1:10 PM

Ireland is unique in that it seemingly has 2 National anthems, and 2 or 3 National flags. An Irish language anthem one played at GAA and an English language one, we know the one played at Rugby.
    On this island also we have the Ulster red hand flag, the Irish tricolour, and the Union jack and sometiems the EU flag. In US there is usually 2, the state flag and the stars and stripes.

Mute Antony Stack
    Favourite Antony Stack
    Oct 23rd 2017, 11:00 PM

The National Anthem – I like it Irish .
    In English – it would need to be re-written to be , gender equal, gay-friendly etc.

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    Oct 24th 2017, 4:40 AM

@Antony Stack: Turn into a Venga Boys Going to Ireland theme lol.

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    Oct 24th 2017, 4:37 AM

Our real flag is a brown envelope… Why does our flag have green on it when we use to have a great flag that was blue with a golden harp on it? St Patricks colour was blue and not green after all?

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    Oct 24th 2017, 4:38 AM

And our anthem is awful, a soldiers song for a neutral country???

Mute Con Murphy
    Favourite Con Murphy
    Oct 24th 2017, 7:05 AM

@Alois Irlmaier:
    It’s about defending the nation and its people, not invading other countries.

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    Oct 24th 2017, 7:04 PM

@Con Murphy: That is a sad joke when you see what the IMF, Merkel and the banks have done to us, all under the EU flag?

Mute Conor Sheehan
    Favourite Conor Sheehan
    Oct 23rd 2017, 8:29 PM

I think flying the flag from all public buildings is sufficient.

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    Oct 24th 2017, 4:41 AM

@Conor Sheehan: Churches???

Mute Conor Sheehan
    Favourite Conor Sheehan
    Oct 24th 2017, 7:49 PM

@Alois Irlmaier: Ones that are run by the state.

Mute Con Murphy
    Favourite Con Murphy
    Oct 23rd 2017, 8:40 AM

Nonsense. Obviously another guy on a good earner.

Mute Brian O Reilly
    Favourite Brian O Reilly
    Oct 23rd 2017, 9:25 AM

Read the Headline